DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In regards to the two wireless NICs within a repeater device, the newly added reference Wang discloses a device when in relay mode receives and transmits data from one interface to the other bridged by a controller. Similar to the repeater device, the first interface receives data from another computing device and that data gets routed to a second interface that the device has to transmit to a further device. Regarding the location of where the virtual interface gets initialized Balasubramanian discloses a WDS the root AP itself is a repeater device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20220210007 A1, hereinafter Wang) in view of BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. (US 20140177513 A1, hereinafter Balasubramanian).
Regarding claims 1 and 8 Wang discloses:
at a repeater device, implementing a network bridge between a first wireless network interface controller and a second wireless network interface controller of the repeater device; (Paragraph [0039], “The switch board controller (230) is configured such that, if the edge server (200) is in the relay mode (170), data that is received via the first wireless interface is routed to the second wireless interface.” And Fig. 5 discloses a repeater equivalent device with 2 wireless interfaces performing transmission and reception (there must be a WNIC) and its being bridged by the switch board controller)
establishing a connection between the first wireless network interface controller and another communications controller of another computing device; (Paragraph [0039], “The switch board controller (230) is configured such that, if the edge server (200) is in the relay mode (170), data that is received via the first wireless interface…“ There must be a connection established to receive this data.)
establishing a further connection between the second wireless network interface controller and a further communications controller of a further computing device; (Paragraph [0039], “The switchboard then routes the received data via the second wireless interface to at least one other edge server (201).”)
Wang does not disclose:
and in response to establishing the further connection, initializing a virtual interface at the repeater device, the virtual interface corresponding to the further communications controller.
Balasubramanian discloses:
and in response to establishing the further connection, initializing a virtual interface at the repeater device, the virtual interface corresponding to the further communications controller. (Paragraph [0036], “the creation of virtual interfaces 141 and 142 for repeater devices R1 and R2, respectively, allows bridging table 112 to store forwarding information for repeater devices R1 and R2” The creation of the virtual interfaces are at the repeater device.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Wang in view of Balasubramanian to incorporate the creation of virtual interfaces for the repeater devices. One would have been motivated to do this for allow the device better efficiency when it operates multiple roles.
Regarding claims 3 and 9 Wang does not disclose:
The method of claim 1, wherein the virtual interface is associated with the second wireless network interface controller of the repeater device.
Balasubramanian discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the virtual interface is associated with the second wireless network interface controller of the repeater device. (Paragraph [0036], “the creation of virtual interfaces 141 and 142 for repeater devices R1 and R2, respectively, allows bridging table 112 to store forwarding information for repeater devices R1 and R2” The creation of the virtual interfaces are at the repeater device.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Wang in view of Balasubramanian to incorporate the creation of virtual interfaces for the repeater devices. One would have been motivated to do this for allow the device better efficiency when it operates multiple roles.
Regarding claim 4 and 10 Wang does not disclose:
selecting an identifier of the virtual interface.
Balasubramanian discloses:
selecting an identifier of the virtual interface. (Paragraph [0032], “bridging engine 111 is responsible for extracting address information and other routing information from the received packet's header, searching its associated bridging table 112 for a matching entry, and then selectively forwarding the packet to its correct destination in response to the matching entry in bridging table 112.” Along with paragraph [0036] The identifier for the virtual interface must (some sort of mac address) for the bridging engine to forwarding information for the interface.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Wang in view of Balasubramanian to incorporate the creation of virtual interfaces for the repeater devices. One would have been motivated to do this for allow the device better efficiency when it operates multiple roles.
Regarding claims 5 and 11 Wang does not disclose:
selecting the identifier includes selecting the identifier from a predetermined set of virtual interface identifiers.
Balasubramanian discloses:
selecting the identifier includes selecting the identifier from a predetermined set of virtual interface identifiers. (Paragraph [0032], “bridging engine 111 is responsible for extracting address information and other routing information from the received packet's header, searching its associated bridging table 112 for a matching entry, and then selectively forwarding the packet to its correct destination in response to the matching entry in bridging table 112.” And paragraph [0004] “The bridging engine is typically associated with a bridging table that stores routing information corresponding to the Ethernet and WLAN ports, and the WLAN controller is typically associated with its own forwarding table that stores routing information corresponding to the repeater devices and/or STAs connected to the repeater devices.” It selectively forwards packages to its destination by using the identifiers of the virtual interfaces such as the mac address, a predetermined identifier.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Wang in view of Balasubramanian to incorporate the creation of virtual interfaces for the repeater devices. One would have been motivated to do this for allow the device better efficiency when it operates multiple roles.
Regarding claim 6 and 12 Wang does not fully disclose:
selecting the identifier includes retrieving an identifier of the further communications controller, and generating the identifier based on the identifier of the further communications controller.
Balasubramanian discloses:
selecting the identifier includes retrieving an identifier of the further communications controller, and generating the identifier based on the identifier of the further communications controller. (Paragraph [0032], “bridging engine 111 is responsible for extracting address information and other routing information from the received packet's header, searching its associated bridging table 112 for a matching entry, and then selectively forwarding the packet to its correct destination in response to the matching entry in bridging table 112.” In Wang the second interface is used to transmit to another further communications controller. The generation of the bridging table is based off of the source and destination and thus based on the address/identifier of the further communications controller.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Wang in view of Balasubramanian to incorporate the creation of virtual interfaces for the repeater devices. One would have been motivated to do this for allow the device better efficiency when it operates multiple roles.
Regarding claims 7 and 13, Wang does not disclose:
directing frames addressed to the further communications controller via the virtual interface.
Balasubramanian discloses:
directing frames addressed to the further communications controller via the virtual interface. (Paragraph [0032], “bridging engine 111 is responsible for extracting address information and other routing information from the received packet's header, searching its associated bridging table 112 for a matching entry, and then selectively forwarding the packet to its correct destination in response to the matching entry in bridging table 112.” In Wang the second interface is used to transmit to another further communications controller. The generation of the bridging table is based off of the source and destination and thus based on the address/identifier of the further communications controller.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Wang in view of Balasubramanian to incorporate the creation of virtual interfaces for the repeater devices. One would have been motivated to do this for allow the device better efficiency when it operates multiple roles.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAM P. CAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479