DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Capp (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2002/0027175). Regarding claim 1, Capp discloses a method for operating a stand mixer (abstract; figure 1, reference #20) , the stand mixer comprising a housing (reference #24) , a motor disposed in the housing (figure 5, reference #140) , a mixing shaft operably coupled to the motor (figure 5, reference #114; [0079]) , and a controller (figure 5, reference #160; [0060]) , the method comprising: receiving, at the controller, a command indicative of starting an active stir mode (figure 1, reference #182; [0062]; [0077]) ; rotating, by the motor, the mixing shaft in a variable direction in the active stir mode, thereby stirring food contents (figure 2, reference #188; figure 5, arrow above reference #114 indicating variable direction rotation of mixing shaft 114; [0062]; [0077] ; [0079] -[ 0081] ) ; and terminating, by the controller, the active stir mode in response to one of a user input and reaching a predetermined time (figure 1, reference #170, 182 and 186; [0061] -[ 0062]) . Regarding claim 2, Capp discloses wherein the variable direction comprises rotating the mixing shaft in a first direction for a first period of time and, upon reaching the first period of time, rotating the mixing shaft in a second direction opposite the first direction for a second period of time (figure 1, reference #182, 186 and 188; [0062] ; [0066] ) . Regarding claim 3, Capp discloses wherein rotating the mixing shaft in the variable direction comprises rotating the mixing shaft at a constant speed (figure 1, reference #182, 18 4 and 188; [0062]; [0066]). Regarding claim 4, Capp discloses wherein the variable direction may repeat between rotating the mixing shaft in the first direction and rotating the mixing shaft in the second direction until the active stir mode is terminated (figure 1, reference #182, 186 and 188; [0062]; [0066] ; [0077] ; [0091] ). Regarding claim 5, Capp discloses further comprising mixing, during a mixing cycle, food contents in the stand mixer ([00 81 ]; [00 91 ]). Regarding claim 6, Capp discloses wherein the mixing cycle operates at a first constant speed, the active stir mode operating at a second constant speed, the second constant speed of the active stir mode less than the first constant speed of the mixing cycle (figure 1, reference #184; [0062]; [0066]; [0075]; [0077]; [0079]). Regarding claim 7, Capp discloses wherein receiving the command indicative of an active stir mode comprises one or more of reaching an end of the mixing cycle or receiving a user input (figure 1, reference #182, 184, 186, 188; [0062]; [0066]; [0075]; [0077]; [0079] -[ 0081]) . Regarding claim 8, Capp discloses a stand mixer ( abstract; figure 1, reference #20 ) , comprising: a housing ( reference #24 ) ; a motor disposed in the housing (figure 5, reference #140); a mixing shaft operably coupled to the motor ( figure 5, reference #114; [0079]); and a controller (figure 5, reference #160; [0060]), the controller configured to: receive a command indicative of starting an active stir mode ( figure 1, reference #182; [0062]; [0077]); rotate, by the motor, the mixing shaft in a variable direction in the active stir mode, thereby stirring food contents (figure 2, reference #188; figure 5, arrow above reference #114 indicating variable direction rotation of mixing shaft 114; [0062]; [0077]; [0079] -[ 0081]); and terminate the active stir mode in response to one of a user input and reaching a predetermined time (figure 1, reference #170, 182 and 186; [0061] -[ 0062]). Regarding claim 9 , Capp discloses wherein the variable direction comprises the controller configured to rotate the mixing shaft in a first direction for a first period of time and, upon reaching the first period of time, rotate the mixing shaft in a second direction opposite the first direction for a second period of time (figure 1, reference #182, 186 and 188; [0062]; [0066]). Regarding claim 10 , Capp discloses wherein rotating the mixing shaft in the variable direction comprises the controller configured to rotate the mixing shaft at a constant speed (figure 1, reference #182, 184 and 188; [0062]; [0066]). Regarding claim 11 , Capp discloses wherein the variable direction may repeat between rotating the mixing shaft in the first direction and rotating the mixing shaft in the second direction until the active stir mode is terminated (figure 1, reference #182, 186 and 188; [0062]; [0066]; [0077]; [0091]). Regarding claim 12 , Capp discloses wherein the controller is further configured to mix, during a mixing cycle, food contents in the stand mixer ([0081]; [0091]). Regarding claim 13 , Capp discloses wherein the mixing cycle operates at a first constant speed, the active stir mode operating at a second constant speed, the second constant speed of the active stir mode less than the first constant speed of the mixing cycle (figure 1, reference #184; [0062]; [0066]; [0075]; [0077]; [0079]). Regarding claim 14 , Capp discloses wherein the command indicative of an active stir mode comprises one or more of reaching an end of a mixing cycle or receiving a user input (figure 1, reference #182, 184, 186, 188; [0062]; [0066]; [0075]; [0077]; [0079]-[0081]) . Regarding claim 1 5 , Capp discloses a method for operating a stand mixer (abstract; figure 1, reference #20), the method comprising: activating an active stir mode (figure 1, reference #182; [0062]; [0077]); stirring food contents in a variable direction in the active stir mode (figure 2, reference #188; figure 5, arrow above reference #114 indicating variable direction rotation of mixing shaft 114; [0062]; [0077]; [0079] -[ 0081]); and terminating the active stir mode in response to one of a user input and reaching a predetermined time (figure 1, reference #170, 182 and 186; [0061] -[ 0062]). Regarding claim 16 , Capp discloses wherein the variable direction comprises rotating a mixing shaft of the stand mixer in a first direction for a first period of time and, upon reaching the first period of time, rotating the mixing shaft in a second direction opposite the first direction for a second period of time (figure 1, reference #182, 186 and 188; [0062]; [0066]). Regarding claim 17 , Capp discloses wherein rotating the mixing shaft in the variable direction comprises rotating the mixing shaft at a constant speed (figure 1, reference #182, 184 and 188; [0062]; [0066]). Regarding claim 18 , Capp discloses wherein the variable direction may repeat between rotating the mixing shaft in the first direction and rotating the mixing shaft in the second direction until the active stir mode is terminated (figure 1, reference #182, 186 and 188; [0062]; [0066]; [0077]; [0091]). Regarding claim 19 , Capp discloses further comprising mixing, during a mixing cycle, food contents in the stand mixer ([0081]; [0091]). Regarding claim 20 , Capp discloses wherein the mixing cycle operates at a first constant speed, the active stir mode operating at a second constant speed, the second constant speed of the active stir mode less than the first constant speed of the mixing cycle (figure 1, reference #184; [0062]; [0066]; [0075]; [0077]; [0079]). Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mueller (U.S. Patent No. 7,422,169) discloses a method of operating a stand mixer (title; abstract; figure 2) comprising a housing (reference # 1- 3), motor ( figure 1, reference #4; figure 2) , controller (user acts as controller) comprising: receiving, at the controller, a command indicative of starting an active stir mode; rotating, by the motor, the mixing shaft in a variable direction in the active stir mode, thereby stirring food contents; and terminating, by the controller, the active stir mode in response to one of a user input and reaching a predetermined time (column 1, lines 63-67; column 3, lines 19-27 (user manually turns reference #3 to control and start the active stir mode, and rotates reference #3 back and forth in both directions to stir the food in reference #5 for a period of time and then stop rotating reference #3 by user input to terminate the stir mode and controls the speed of rotation in either direction by how fast the user rotates/turn reference #3 back and forth) . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ELIZABETH INSLER whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-0492 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 9:00am-5:00pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Claire X Wang can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-1051 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ELIZABETH INSLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774