DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 3885264 A1 (hereinafter “BURD”).
Regarding Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9 and 10, BURD discloses a galley insert for an aircraft galley, the galley insert comprising: heating equipment (see 104, see also: “The galley compartment 104 houses heat-producing appliances of the galley, including but not limited to ovens, refrigerators, and beverage makers.”); and an exhaust arrangement configured to pass an exhaust air stream out of the galley insert, wherein the exhaust arrangement comprises: a plurality of deflection lamellas (236) configured to adjust a direction of the exhaust air stream, wherein one or more of the deflection lamellas are configured to be angularly adjusted on the basis of a temperature of the exhaust air stream using one or more temperature-dependent actors (see 200; see also the Abstract: “The system includes an actuating assembly (200). The actuating assembly includes a cylinder (204), a heat-expanding material (208) disposed in the cylinder, and a piston disposed in the cylinder, wherein the heat-expanding material is configured to actuate the piston when the heat-expanding material is heated.”; and also see the disclosure: “The mechanism of articulation of the louver blades 236 may be any mechanism known in the art. For example, the louver blades 236 may be configured to rotate relative to the louver frame 232 along a rotational axis (e.g., along the long axis, as in a venetian blind) when the bracket 224 is articulated. In this manner, the rotation of the louver blades 236 may seal the opening 112 shut when the louver blades 236 are arranged in a single plane (e.g., the flat side of each louver blade 236 contacting or nearly contacting the flat end of another louver blade 236). The louver blades 236 may reopen through another rotation of the blades (e.g., a rotation that allows the flat side of the louver blades 236 to assume a position perpendicular to the face of the plenum chamber 108 and/or surface of the galley compartment 104). Similarly, in some embodiments, the louver blades 236 are configured to pivot relative to the louver frame 232 upon the articulation of the connecting rod 220,”); further comprising one or more adjustment rods (220) configured to engage with one or more groups of the plurality of deflection lamellas (236); wherein the one or more adjustment rods (220) are configured to engage with the one or more temperature-dependent actors (200) via one or more mechanical couplings (see 224, 228); wherein the one or more mechanical couplings are one of: a rotatable connection; a rigid connection; a geared coupling; and a rack-and-pinion arrangement (see the disclosure: “In some embodiments, the louver-style valve assembly 124 includes a connecting rod 220 and a bracket 224. The connecting rod is coupled to the piston 212 on one end, and the bracket 224 on the other end. For example, expansion of the heat-expanding material 208 through the addition of heat pushes the piston 212 towards the opening within the cylinder 204. The connecting rod 220 is articulated along with the piston, which then articulates the bracket 224. The movement of the connecting rod may be any range of movement needed to adjust the constriction of the opening. For example, the movement may be up to one centimeter. In another example, the movement may be up to 5 centimeters.
In some embodiments, the louver-style valve assembly 124 includes a louver assembly 228. The louver assembly 228 includes a louver frame 232 and one or more louver blades 236. The louver frame 232 provides a housing for the louver blades 236 and provides the mechanism for the coordinated movement of the louver blades 236. The louver frame also provides an attachment point for the bracket 224. The louver blades 236 are disposed at or near the one or more openings 112. Adjustment of the louver blades (e.g., through movement of the bracket articulated through the action of the articulation assembly) adjust the airflow through the opening.
The mechanism of articulation of the louver blades 236 may be any mechanism known in the art. For example, the louver blades 236 may be configured to rotate relative to the louver frame 232 along a rotational axis (e.g., along the long axis, as in a venetian blind) when the bracket 224 is articulated.”); wherein the one or more temperature-dependent actors (200) are configured to provide a continuous adjustment depending on the temperature (see the disclosure: “In some embodiments, the actuating assembly 200 includes a piston 212. The piston 212 is a disk closely fitting within the cylinder 204 in which the piston moves up or down within the cylinder 204, depending on the expansion of the heat-expanding material 208 (e.g., the piston traps the heat-expanding material within the cylinder 204.)” and “In some embodiments, the actuating assembly includes a return spring 214 disposed between the piston and a side wall of the cylinder 204 (not shown in FIG. 2). The return spring 214 provides a countering force to the heat-expanding material 208, pushing the piston to a default position when the heat-expanding material 208 has cooled.”); wherein the insert is one of: a convection oven; a microwave oven; a steam oven; a bun warmer; a plate warmer; a coffee maker; a beverage maker (see the disclosure: “Many commercial passenger transport vehicles have galleys and/or galley monuments that have multiple food preparation appliances installed. Many of these food preparation appliances produce large amounts of heat, including appliances such as ovens, refrigerators, and beverage makers.”); a water boiler; a water heater; a rice cooker; a coffee warmer; and a hot jug; a method of heating a food or beverage in a galley of an aircraft, the method comprising: using a galley insert according to claim 1 to heat the food or beverage (see again 104, also see again: “The galley compartment 104 houses heat-producing appliances of the galley, including but not limited to ovens, refrigerators, and beverage makers.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BURD in view of US 4715532 A (hereinafter “SARAZEN”).
Regarding Claim 2, BURD does not disclose wherein the one or more temperature dependent actors includes one or more bimetallic coils.
SARAZEN teaches an automatic temperature responsive ventilator comprising a plurality of deflection lamellas wherein the one or more temperature dependent actors includes one or more bimetallic coils (see Col. 4, Lns. 29-32: “As embodied herein and shown for example in FIG. 4, the temperature responsive drive means comprises a thermally responsive coil spring 40. Preferably, coil spring 40 is a bimetallic spring.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify BURD wherein the one or more temperature dependent actors includes one or more bimetallic coils as taught and/or suggested by SARAZEN, since BURD states that “The mechanism of articulation of the louver blades 236 may be any mechanism known in the art.” And furthermore, since both references teach temperature dependent actors used for articulating a plurality of lamellas, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute one temperature dependent actor for the other to achieve the predictable result of articulating a plurality of lamellas based on an airflow temperature.
Regarding Claim 6, BURD does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the deflection lamellas is individually coupled with one of the one or more temperature-dependent actors.
SARAZEN teaches an automatic temperature responsive ventilator comprising wherein at least one of the deflection lamellas (31a) is individually coupled with one of the one or more temperature-dependent actors (40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify BURD wherein at least one of the deflection lamellas is individually coupled with one of the one or more temperature-dependent actors as taught and/or suggested by SARAZEN, since BURD states that “The mechanism of articulation of the louver blades 236 may be any mechanism known in the art.” And furthermore, since both references teach arrangements for deflecting lamellas via one or more temperature-dependent actors, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute one lamella deflection arrangement for the other to achieve the predictable result of articulating a plurality of lamellas based on an airflow temperature.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BURD in view of EP 3550213 A1 (hereinafter “CASTILLO”).
Regarding Claim 8, BURD does not disclose wherein the exhaust stream is generated using an exhaust fan arrangement arranged within a housing of the galley insert.
CASTILLO teaches a galley insert (200) wherein the exhaust stream is generated using an exhaust fan arrangement (see the disclosure: “In some embodiments, the oven 202 may further include an exhaust vent 212 that releases heat from a controller compartment within the oven 202. For example, as shown in FIG. 3, the exhaust vent 212 can be located near a controller compartment that includes a controller 300 for the oven 202. In some embodiments, the oven 202 further includes a fan or other blower that is configured to direct warm air out of the controller compartment through the exhaust vent 212. For example, the controller 300 may be cooled by blowing warm air from around the controller 300 out of the controller compartment through the exhaust vent 212.”) arranged within a housing (202) of the galley insert (200).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify BURD wherein the exhaust stream is generated using an exhaust fan arrangement arranged within a housing of the galley insert as taught and/or suggested by CASTILLO, since such a modification would provide a forced flow of exhaust air to said exhaust arrangement thus ensuring quicker actuation of said exhaust arrangement when compared to a passive convective flow which is dependent on a temperature differential which would thus result in a more delayed response from said exhaust arrangement; furthermore, such a modification would simultaneously provide a cooling airflow to an insert controller as taught by CASTILLO.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because the references are either in the same field of endeavor or are reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned. Please see form PTO-892 (Notice of References Cited) attached to, or included with, this Office Action.
/JORGE A PEREIRO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799