DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claim s 3-4 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3 line 1, “barb extents around” should read “barb extends around” Claim 4 line 1, “barb extents around” should read “barb extends around” Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1-5, 13 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Poncon (US 20140171875) . Regarding Claim 1 , Poncon teaches (Figs 5a-5c) a luer retaining device, comprising: a male luer (20) having a syringe tip (23); a female luer (30) having a bearing (31) for receiving the syringe tip (23); and at least one barb (34) extending from the bearing (31) for engaging the syringe tip (23), wherein the male luer (20) and female luer (30) are in fluid communication when the bearing receives the syringe tip (See Figs 5a-5c, both 20 and 30 are connected and in fluid communication). Regarding Claim 2, Poncon teaches t he luer retaining device of claim 1, further comprising; an inner surface (33) of the bearing (31). Regarding Claim 3, Poncon teaches t he luer retaining device of claim 2, wherein the barb (34) extents around at least a portion of the inner surface (33; see [0042] teaching how 34 extends from 33). Regarding Claim 4, Poncon teaches t he luer retaining device of claim 2, wherein the barb (34) extents around the inner surface (33) of the bearing (31). Regarding Claim 5, Poncon teaches t he luer retaining device of claim 1, wherein the barb (34) extends in a generally helical shape around the bearing (31; see Fig 3 and [0042] teaching 34 is helicodial ). Regarding Claim 13 , Poncon teaches t he luer retaining device of claim 1, wherein the barb (34) comprises a first material (See [0042] teaching material olefins, polyamide, polycarbonate, polyetherketone and combinations thereof) and the syringe tip (23) comprises a second material (see [0036] teaching materials of reservoir 10 as glass or plastic, since 20 is an extension of 10 it is interpreted that 20 and 23 are the same material as 10). Regarding Claim 15, Poncon teaches t he luer retaining device of claim 1, wherein the bearing comprises a plurality of barbs (34; see Fig 3; there are two barbs 34). Regarding Claim 16, Poncon teaches t he luer retaining device of claim 15, wherein the plurality of barbs are evenly spaced apart on the bearing (See Fig 3; two barbs 34 are spaced apart evenly). Regarding Claim 17, Poncon teaches t he luer retaining device of claim 1, wherein the bearing comprises at least one row of barbs (See Fig 3; interpreted that barbs 34 are 'one row'). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim (s) 1-1 3 , 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velde et al. (US 4778447 hereinafter “Velde”) in view of Roy et al. (US 20060025751 hereinafter “Roy”) . Regarding Claim 1, Velde teaches (Figs 5-9) A luer retaining device, comprising: a male luer (70) having a tip (74); a female luer (56) having a bearing (58) for receiving the tip (74); and at least one barb (ridges of threads 68) extending from the bearing (58) for engaging the tip (74), wherein the male luer (70) and female luer (56) are in fluid communication when the bearing (58) receives the tip (74). Velde does not specify that the tip is a syringe tip. Roy teaches (Figs 2a-2c) a male luer (120) having a syringe tip ([0065] teaches male luer could have a syringe cone structure meant to fit within luer cone of female luer 110); a female luer (110) having a bearing (111) for receiving the syringe tip . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tip of Velde such that it is a syringe tip as taught by Roy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as it is a well known configuration of a male luer tip (Roy [0065]). Regarding Claim 2 , the combination of Velde and Roy teaches all elements of claim 1 as described above. Velde further teaches t he luer retaining device further comprising; an inner surface of the bearing (inner surface of 58). Regarding Claim 3 , the combination of Velde and Roy teaches all elements of claim 2 as described above. Velde further teaches t he luer retaining device wherein the barb (ridges of threads 68) extents around at least a portion of the inner surface (See Fig 6; 68 is on inner surface of 58). Regarding Claim 4 , the combination of Velde and Roy teaches all elements of claim 2 as described above. Velde further teaches the luer retaining device wherein the barb (ridges of threads 68) extents around the inner surface of the bearing (See Fig 6; 68 is on inner surface of 58). Regarding Claim 5 , the combination of Velde and Roy teaches all elements of claim 1 as described above. Velde further teaches t he luer retaining device wherein the barb (68) extends in a generally helical shape around the bearing (See Fig 6; 68 is on inner surface of 58; 68 are threads, as such 68 is helical in shape around 58). Regarding Claim 6 , the combination of Velde and Roy teaches all elements of claim 5 as described above. Velde further teaches the luer retaining device wherein the syringe tip is rotatable relative to the bearing to control the engagement of the syringe tip and bearing. (Col 6 line 67 - Col 7 line 13 teaches how 70 and 56 interact/engage through threads; therefore it is interpreted that the modified syringe tip 74 (as described in claim 1) which is a part of 70 is rotatable relative to bearing 58 which is a part of 56 as they are threaded together) Regarding Claim 7 , the combination of Velde and Roy teaches all elements of claim 6 as described above. Velde further teaches the luer retaining device wherein rotation of the syringe tip in a first direction tightens the engagement of the bearing and syringe tip (Col 6 line 67 - Col 7 line 13 teaches how 70 and 56 interact/engage through threads; therefore it is interpreted that the syringe tip 74 which is a part of 70 is rotatable relative to bearing 58 which is a part of 56 as they are threaded together). Regarding Claim 8 , the combination of Velde and Roy teaches all elements of claim 7 as described above. Velde further teaches the luer retaining device wherein rotation of the syringe tip in the first direction locks the bearing relative to the syringe tip (See fig 9, after rotation, 70 and tip 74 are locked within bearing 58). Regarding Claim 9 , the combination of Velde and Roy teaches all elements of claim 6 as described above. Velde further teaches the luer retaining device wherein rotation of the syringe tip in a second direction loosens the engagement of the bearing and syringe tip (See Col 6 line 67 - Col 7 line 13 teaches how 70 and 56 interact/engage through threads; therefore it is interpreted that the rotation in one direction tightens the threaded engagement as seen in Fig 9 and rotation in another direction would loosen the engagement back to the separate pieces as seen in Figs 5-8). Regarding Claim 10 , the combination of Velde and Roy teaches all elements of claim 5 as described above. Velde further teaches the luer retaining device wherein the syringe tip (74) comprises threading (84) on an outer surface (See Figs 7-8; threads 84 are on an outer surface). Regarding Claim 11 , the combination of Velde and Roy teaches all elements of claim 10 as described above. Velde further teaches the luer retaining device wherein the threading (84) extends in a generally helical shape around the syringe tip ( modified 74 as described in claim 1 ; see Fig 7-8, threads are helical around 74). Regarding Claim 12 , the combination of Velde and Roy teaches all elements of claim 11 as described above. Velde further teaches t he luer retaining device wherein the threading (84) is configured to align with the barb (ridges of 68). Regarding Claim 13 , the combination of Velde and Roy teaches all elements of claim 1 as described above. Velde further teaches the luer retaining device wherein the barb (ridges of threading 68) comprises a first material (Col 4 lines 4-5 teaches female cap is LDPE thermoplastic) and the syringe tip (74) comprises a second material (Col 3 lines 55-57 teaches male cap is made of TMX). Regarding Claim 15 , the combination of Velde and Roy teaches all elements of claim 1 as described above. Velde further teaches t he luer retaining device of claim 1, wherein the bearing (58) comprises a plurality of barbs ( multiple ridges due to multiple rounds of threads 68). Regarding Claim 16 , the combination of Velde and Roy teaches all elements of claim 15 as described above. Velde further teaches t he luer retaining device of claim 15, wherein the plurality of barbs (ridges of 68) are evenly spaced apart on the bearing (See Fig 6; 68 is evenly spaced within 58). Regarding Claim 17 , the combination of Velde and Roy teaches all elements of claim 1 as described above. Velde further teaches t he luer retaining device wherein the bearing comprises at least one row of barbs (see Fig 6; ridges of threads 68 are considered at least one row of barbs). Regarding Claim 18 , Velde teaches (Figs 5-9) a luer retaining device, comprising: a male luer (70) having a tip (74) ; a female luer (56) having a bearing (58) for receiving the tip (74) ; and at least one barb (ridges of threads 68) extending from the bearing (58) for engaging the tip (74) , wherein the male luer (70) and female luer (56) are in fluid communication when the bearing (58) receives the tip (74) , wherein the barb (ridges of 68) extends in a generally helical shape around the bearing (58; see Fig 6 threads 68 are helical) , and wherein the tip (74) is rotatable relative to the bearing (58) to control the engagement of the tip and bearing (Col 6 line 67 - Col 7 line 13 teaches how 70 and 56 interact/engage through threads; therefore it is interpreted that the tip 74 which is a part of 70 is rotatable relative to bearing 58 which is a part of 56 as they are threaded together) . Velde does not specify that the tip is a syringe tip. Roy teaches (Figs 2a-2c) a male luer (120) having a syringe tip ([0065] teaches male luer could have a syringe cone structure meant to fit within luer cone of female luer 110); a female luer (110) having a bearing (111) for receiving the syringe tip . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tip of Velde such that it is a syringe tip as taught by Roy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as it is a well known configuration of a male luer tip (Roy [0065]). Regarding Claim 19 , the combination of Velde and Roy teaches all elements of claim 18 as described above. Velde further teaches the luer retaining device wherein rotation of the syringe tip in a first direction tightens the engagement of the bearing and syringe tip (Col 6 line 67 - Col 7 line 13 teaches how 70 and 56 interact/engage through threads; therefore it is interpreted that the syringe tip 74 which is a part of 70 is rotatable relative to bearing 58 which is a part of 56 as they are threaded together; See fig 9, after rotation, 70 and tip 74 are locked within bearing 58) . Regarding Claim 20 , the combination of Velde and Roy teaches all elements of claim 18 as described above. Velde further teaches the luer retaining device wherein rotation of the syringe tip in a second direction loosens the engagement of the bearing and syringe tip (See Col 6 line 67 - Col 7 line 13 teaches how 70 and 56 interact/engage through threads; therefore it is interpreted that the rotation in one direction tightens the threaded engagement as seen in Fig 9 and rotation in another direction would loosen the engagement back to the separate pieces as seen in Figs 5-8) . Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velde (US 4778447) in view of Roy (US 20060025751) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Fangrow (US 9933094) . Regarding Claim 14 , the combination of Velde and Roy teaches all elements of claim 13 as described above. The combination does not specify t he luer retaining device wherein the first material is harder than the second material. Fangrow teaches (Col 3 lines 13-18) that at least one of a first mating surface and a second mating surface of a male luer connector and female luer connector may be constructed of a flexible material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second material of Velde such that it is a flexible material as taught by Fangrow . One of ordinary skill in the art w ould have been motivated to do so as it has been held to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose (see MPEP 2144.07) Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT NEERAJA GOLLAMUDI whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-6449 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Mon-Fri 8-5 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Michael Tsai can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 270-5246 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NEERAJA GOLLAMUDI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /MICHAEL J TSAI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783