DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed February 19th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Claims 12-20 remain withdrawn from consideration as being directed to non-elected group 2. The amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously cited in the Non-Final rejection mailed November 20th, 2025. However, the amendment has raised other issues detailed below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 13: “the first polarity and second polarity” should read “the first polarity and the second polarity”
Claim 2, line 3: “the first polarity and second polarity” should read “the first polarity and the second polarity”
Claim 3, line 9: “the first polarity and second polarity” should read “the first polarity and the second polarity”
Claim 3, line 11: “the first polarity and second polarity” should read “the first polarity and the second polarity”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-3, 5, 8, and 11 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 4 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 3.
Claim 6 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 5.
Claim 7 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 6.
Claim 9 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 8.
Claim 10 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1, line 7 recites, “only one sensor” which is a newly amended negative claim limitation that is not supported by the disclosure. Although, the drawings and specification only discuss one temperature sensor indicated as item 308 in Figures 3-6 and described in the specification as follows, “A sensor 308 may be a circuit located on or integral with the integrated circuit 120 and which senses the junction temperature of the integrated circuit 120 such as a temperature sensor or voltage sensor that outputs a voltage indicative of the junction temperature (Pg. 7, paragraph 18)”, the disclosure does not specify the sensor 308 to be “only one sensor”.
Claim 3, lines 1-6 recite, “wherein a first general purpose input output (GPIO) pin of a processor of the controller is directly connected to a first voltage shifter and a second GPIO pin of the processor of the controller is directly connected to a second voltage shifter, the first terminal of the Peltier element is directly connected to an output of the first voltage shifter and a second terminal of the Peltier element is directly connected to an output of the second voltage shifter”, which is not supported by the disclosure. Although, Figures 3-6 depict GPIOm and GPIOn of MCU 302 to be connected to voltage shifter 304 and voltage shifter 306 via inputs 310 and voltage shifter 304 and voltage shifter 306 to be connected to terminals 126 and 128 of Peltier element 114 via outputs 312, the drawings are not detailed schematics showing all of the electrical connections between components of the controller 136 and cannot be solely relied upon to support direct connections of the electrical components of the system. The closest support for this in the specification is as follows, “Based on the junction temperature indicated by the sensor 308, the controller 136 may output the first signal to the voltage shifter 304 and the second signal to the voltage shifter 306 or vice versa. If the controller 136 outputs the first signal to the voltage shifter 304 and the second signal to the voltage shifter 306, a first and second voltage may be applied to the terminals 126, 128 respectively to produce a first polarity across the terminals and cause a heating of the ceramic substrate 122 and a cooling of the ceramic substate 124. If the controller 136 outputs the first signal to the voltage shifter 306 and the second signal to the voltage shifter 304, the first and second voltage may be applied to the terminals 126, 128 respectively to produce a second polarity across the terminals and cause a heating of the ceramic substrate 124 and a cooling of the ceramic substate 122 where the first and second polarities are opposite such as positive and negative polarities (Pg. 8, paragraph 18).” However, this is only support for the first voltage shifter 304 and the second voltage shifter 306 being in communication with both the controller 136 and the terminals 126, 128 of the Peltier element 114, this is not support for any direct connections. Further, the communications between the GPIOm and GPIOn of MCU 302 and between voltage shifter 304 and voltage shifter 306 and terminals 126 and 128, identified as items 310 and 312, are only referred to as inputs and outputs and are not described by the specification to be any kind of physical connection for electrical communication between the components, “The voltage shifters may have a respective input 310 and output 312. The volage that is output by a voltage shifter at the output 312 may depend on a signal applied to the input 310 of the voltage shifter (Pg. 8, paragraph 18)”.
Claims 2-3, 5, 8, and 11 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 4 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 3.
Claim 6 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 5.
Claim 7 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 6.
Claim 9 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 8.
Claim 10 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the terminals" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the terminals” in line 3 of claim 2 to “the first terminal and the second terminal” which is given proper antecedent basis in lines 1-2 of claim 2. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim as recommended herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20220104387), hereinafter Yang in view of Ramirez et al. (US Patent No. 5,450,727), hereinafter Ramirez.
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a system (Fig. 1) comprising:
an integrated circuit (Fig. 1, electronic component 101; Pg. 2, paragraph 37, The electronic component 101 may include, but not being limited to, an electronic chip, a memory package, capacitor, resistor, inductor, transistor, or any type of electronic component, etc.);
a heatsink which is in contact with packaging of the integrated circuit (Fig. 1, heat sink 105, package lid 103; Pg. 3, paragraph 39, In one embodiment, the thermoelectric element 102 may be disposed inside the heat sink or cold plate 105);
a Peltier element comprising a first surface and a second surface and positioned in a cavity of the heatsink (Fig. 1, thermoelectric element 102; Pg. 3, paragraph 39, In one embodiment, the thermoelectric element 102 may be disposed inside the heat sink or cold plate 105; Pg. 3, paragraph 40, The thermoelectric element (TEE) 102 may operate based on a peltier effect. When a current is flowing in the TEE 102 in a positive direction, the TEE 102 may be used for a cooling purpose, where heat is transferred from a side A to a side B of the TEE 102. When the current is flowing in the TEE 102 in a negative direction, the TEE 102 may be used for a heating purpose, where the heat is transferred from the side B to the side A of the TEE. However, there is a limitation on a maximum temperature difference between the two sides); and
a controller (Fig. 1, controller 106);
wherein based on a first indication from a sensor, the sensor located on the integrated circuit, the controller applies a first polarity to the Peltier element to reduce a temperature of the second surface to cool the integrated circuit and based on a second indication from the sensor, the controller applies a second polarity to the Peltier element to increase the temperature of the second surface to heat the integrated circuit (Fig. 1, electrical circuit 104; Pg. 3, paragraph 39, The thermoelectric element 102 itself may be connected to the external electrical circuit 104 for a current control purpose; Pg. 4, paragraph 51, The controller may control the switches' duty cycles based on the temperature data obtained from one or more temperature sensors coupled to the electronic components (e.g., processor) or coupled to different sides of TEE element 102. Based on the temperature, the control may turn on or off some of the switches to control the current flow direction of a current flowing through TEE 102, which enables the TEE 102 to operate in a cooling mode or a heating mode; Pg. 3, paragraph 40, The thermoelectric element (TEE) 102 may operate based on a peltier effect. When a current is flowing in the TEE 102 in a positive direction, the TEE 102 may be used for a cooling purpose, where heat is transferred from a side A to a side B of the TEE 102. When the current is flowing in the TEE 102 in a negative direction, the TEE 102 may be used for a heating purpose, where the heat is transferred from the side B to the side A of the TEE. However, there is a limitation on a maximum temperature difference between the two sides; Pg. 4, paragraph 61, As illustrated in FIG. 5, the self-regulated controller 106 may have at least two inputs 501, 502 and two outputs 503, 504. The two temperature inputs 501, 502 may be sensed from temperature sensors. For example, a first input 501 may receive the temperature of the first side (side A) of the TEE from a first sensor, and a second input 502 may receive the temperature of the second side (side B) of the TEE from a second sensor. Based on the temperatures of the first side (side A) and the second side (side B), the controller 106 may decide the current flow direction of the bidirectional current based on a logic shown in FIG. 6, which will be described below. This self-regulated controller may be embedded into a core controller);
wherein the first polarity and second polarity are applied to control the temperature measured by the sensor to be within an optimal temperature range which spans an upper temperature and a lower temperature, the optimal temperature range being within an operating range of the integrated circuit defined by a minimum operating temperature and a maximum operating temperature of the integrated circuit (Fig. 6, steps 601-608; Pg. 5, paragraph 65-68, At block 602, the temperature of the first side (side A) of the TEE and the temperature of the second side (side B) of the TEE may be read in, by the controller. At block 603, whether the T_A, the temperature of the first side (side A) of the TEE, is lower than the minimum allowable temperature may be determined by the controller. At block 604, the controller may determine that the T_A is below the minimum allowable temperature and output a command for a direction of a bidirectional current to heat up the electronic component, for example, a negative current direction. The self-regulated heat transfer controller may be configured to determine a current flow direction of a bidirectional current in the TEE is to be in a direction to heat up the electronic component in response to determining that the temperature of the first side of the thermoelectric element is lower than the minimum temperature allowable for the electronic component. In one embodiment, the direction to heat up the electronic component may be the negative current direction. When the T_A is below the minimum allowable temperature, the current flow may be negative such that TEM is acting as a heat pump, to transfer heat from the ambient environment to the electronic component to heat up the electronic component. In this way, high temperature external heating source is not required to transfer heat to the component to heat up the component, thus, eliminating the need of the external heating source. At block 605, the controller may determine whether T_A, the temperature of the first side (side A) of the TEE, is lower than T_target, the target temperature; Pg. 5, paragraph 70-71, At block 607, in response to determining that T_A, the temperature of the first side (side A) of the TEE, is not lower than T_target, the target temperature, the controller may further determine whether T_A, the temperature of the first side (side A) of the TEE, is higher than T_B, the temperature of the second side (side B) of the TEE. At block 608, the controller may output a command for a direction of the bidirectional current to cool the electronic component, for example, a positive current direction, in response to determining that T A, the temperature of the first side (side A) of the TEE, is higher than T_B, the temperature of the second side (side B) of the TEE. In one embodiment, the self-regulated heat transfer controller may be configured to determine the current flow direction of the bidirectional current in the TEE is to be in a direction to cool the electronic component in response to determining that the temperature of the first side of the thermoelectric element is higher than the temperature of the second side of the thermoelectric element; Further, the teachings of Yang as least imply an optimal temperature range which spans an upper temperature and a lower temperature, the optimal temperature range being within an operating range of the integrated circuit defined by a minimum operating temperature and a maximum operating temperature of the integrated circuit it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
However, Yang does not disclose the sensor to be only one sensor.
Ramirez teaches a single temperature sensor for temperature measurements thermoelectric cooling system (Fig. 1, temperature sensor 16; Col. 3, lines 47-51, The temperature sensor 16 is coupled to the thermoelectric cooler 15 and provides a temperature feedback signal that is coupled by way of the buffer and level shift circuit 18 to the 50 operational amplifier 21 of the error amplifier 12; Col. 5, lines 16-22, The temperature (VTEMP) of the thermoelectric cooler 15 is sensed by the temperature sensor 16 and compared with a temperature set point (VSET) which corresponds to the TEMP CMD input signal. The temperature set point is 20 the average of a pulsewidth modulated signal produced by the process controller interface 11).
Yang fails to teach the sensor to be only one sensor, however Ramirez teaches that it is a known method in the art of thermoelectric cooling systems to include a single temperature sensor for temperature measurements. This is strong evidence that modifying Yang as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. maintaining a target to be temperature controlled within a desired temperature range). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang by Ramirez and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of maintaining a target to be temperature controlled within a desired temperature range.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as modified by Ramirez as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of VanHoudt (US 20020121094), hereinafter VanHoudt.
Regarding claim 2, Yang as modified discloses the system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the Peltier element comprises a first terminal and a second terminal, the first polarity or second polarity applied across the terminals (Yang, Fig. 1, electrical circuit 104; Pg. 3, paragraph 39, The thermoelectric element 102 itself may be connected to the external electrical circuit 104 for a current control purpose; Pg. 4, paragraph 51, When the first switch and the third switch are turned on while the second switch and fourth switch are turned off, the current flow direction in a first direction, and wherein when the second switch and the fourth switch are turned on while the first switch and the third switch are turned off, the current flow direction is in a second direction opposite to the first direction).
However, Yang as modified does not disclose the first terminal and the second terminal are coupled to the first surface and the second surface of the Peltier element respectively.
VanHoudt teaches the first terminal and the second terminal are coupled to the first surface and the second surface of the Peltier element respectively (Fig. 1, thermoelectric device 104, first electrical junction contact 106, second electrical junction contact 108, electrical line 120, electrical line 122; Pg. 3, paragraph 33, System 100 further comprises a switch-mode DC power supply 112 and a polarity controller 114 for controlling the direction of electrical current flow through Peltier junction 110. DC power supply 112 is electrically connected to first junction contact 106 and to second junction contact 108 so that it may provide pulse-modulated DC current through Peltier junction 110).
Yang as modified fails to teach the first terminal and the second terminal are coupled to the first surface and the second surface of the Peltier element respectively, however VanHoudt teaches that it is a known method in the art of thermoelectric temperature control to include the first terminal and the second terminal are coupled to the first surface and the second surface of the Peltier element. This is strong evidence that modifying Yang as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing electrical flow through the Peltier element). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang as modified by VanHoudt and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing electrical flow through the Peltier element.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as modified by Ramirez as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Na et al. (US Patent No. 10,424,264, hereinafter Na and Yanagisawa et al. (US Patent No. 11,329,210), hereinafter Yanagisawa.
Regarding claim 3, Yang as modified discloses the system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the controller comprises a processor and is coupled to a first voltage shifter and a second voltage shifter, a first terminal is coupled to the first voltage shifter and a second terminal is coupled to the second voltage shifter (Yang, Fig. 1, electrical circuit 104; Fig. 3, polarity change circuit 302, transistors Q3 303, Q4 304, Q5 305, and Q6 30; Pg. 3, paragraph 39, The thermoelectric element 102 itself may be connected to the external electrical circuit 104 for a current control purpose; Pg. 3, paragraph 43, The circuit 104 may include a buck-boost converter 301 and a polarity change circuit 302 (also referred to as polarity switching circuit); Pg. 3, paragraph 48, Referring to FIG. 3, the polarity change circuit 302 is configured to change a current flow direction of the bidirectional current 110 in the TEE 102. A set of transistors Q3 303, Q4 304, Q5 305 and Q6 305 may come in as a group of switches to form the polarity change circuit 302; Pg. 4, paragraph 51, The controller may control the switches' duty cycles based on the temperature data obtained from one or more temperature sensors coupled to the electronic components (e.g., processor) or coupled to different sides of TEE element 102. Based on the temperature, the control may turn on or off some of the switches to control the current flow direction of a current flowing through TEE 102, which enables the TEE 102 to operate in a cooling mode or a heating mode; Pg. 4, paragraph 51, When the first switch and the third switch are turned on while the second switch and fourth switch are turned off, the current flow direction in a first direction, and wherein when the second switch and the fourth switch are turned on while the first switch and the third switch are turned off, the current flow direction is in a second direction opposite to the first direction;).
However, Yang as modified does not disclose wherein a first general purpose input output (GPIO) pin of a processor of the controller is directly connected to a first voltage shifter and a second GPIO pin of the processor of the controller is directly connected to a second voltage shifter.
Na teaches wherein a first general purpose input output (GPIO) pin of a processor of the controller is directly connected to a first voltage shifter and a second GPIO pin of the processor of the controller is directly connected to a second voltage shifter (Fig. 4, signal controller 100, first driving voltage wire 101, second driving voltage wire 102, first converter 710, second converter 720, first auxiliary driving voltage wire 711, second auxiliary driving voltage wire 721, thermoelectric generation portion 600, first power wire 613, second power wire 614).
Yang as modified fails to teach a first general purpose input output (GPIO) pin of a processor of the controller is directly connected to a first voltage shifter and a second GPIO pin of the processor of the controller is directly connected to a second voltage shifter, however Na teaches that it is a known method in the art of thermoelectric circuitry to include a first general purpose input output (GPIO) pin of a processor of the controller is directly connected to a first voltage shifter and a second GPIO pin of the processor of the controller is directly connected to a second voltage shifter. This is strong evidence that modifying Yang as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing electrical connections between a controller and first and second voltage shifters to allow for control of system operations). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang as modified by Na and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing electrical connections between a controller and first and second voltage shifters to allow for control of system operations.
Further, Yang as modified does not disclose the first terminal of the Peltier element is directly connected to an output of the first voltage shifter and the second terminal of the Peltier element is directly connected to an output of the second voltage shifter, wherein the first GPIO pin outputs a first logic signal to cause the first voltage shifter to output a voltage level or ground to the first terminal and the second GPIO pin outputs a second logic signal to cause the second voltage shifter to output the voltage level or the ground to the second terminal to cause the first polarity or second polarity to be applied to the Peltier element, wherein one of the voltage shifter outputs the voltage level and another of the voltage shifter outputs the ground to cause the first polarity or the second polarity to be applied to the Peltier element.
Yanagisawa teaches the first terminal of the Peltier element is directly connected to an output of the first voltage shifter and the second terminal of the Peltier element is directly connected to an output of the second voltage shifter, wherein the first GPIO pin outputs a first logic signal to cause the first voltage shifter to output a voltage level or ground to the first terminal and the second GPIO pin outputs a second logic signal to cause the second voltage shifter to output the voltage level or the ground to the second terminal to cause the first polarity or second polarity to be applied to the Peltier element, wherein one of the voltage shifter outputs the voltage level and another of the voltage shifter outputs the ground to cause the first polarity or the second polarity to be applied to the Peltier element (Fig. 7, Peltier element 43, variable regulator 81, constant voltage regulator 82; Col. 8-9, lines 31-37, 41-45, 55-67 and 1-2, Thus, the constant voltage regulator 82 is connected to the negative terminal H- side of the Peltier element 43 via the switching unit 84, and the variable regulator 81 is connected to positive terminal H+ side of the Peltier element 43 as illustrated in FIG. 7. While not being illustrated in FIG. 7, the temperature detector 7 is connected to the temperature converter 71… Then, the one-bit signal input to the main unit 32 switches the switching unit 84 connected to the constant voltage regulator 82 on. Accordingly, a constant voltage of 10 V is input from the constant voltage regulator 82 to the negative terminal H- side of the Peltier element 43… Accordingly, the variable regulator 81 outputs, for example, a voltage in a range from O to 20 V, that is, a voltage in a wide range compared with the case where the CQCM sensor 2A is connected, based on the heat regulation voltage. As described above, when the TQCM sensor 2B is used, the 10-V constant voltage is applied from the constant voltage regulator 82 to the negative terminal H- side of the Peltier element 43. Therefore, in the Peltier element 43, the electric potential difference between the positive terminal H+ and the negative terminal H- is regulated to the range from -10 V to +10 V in combination with the range of the drive voltage output from the variable regulator 81 and the drive voltage input from the constant voltage regulator 82, thus regulating the temperature to be output).
Yang as modified fails to teach the first terminal of the Peltier element is directly connected to an output of the first voltage shifter and the second terminal of the Peltier element is directly connected to an output of the second voltage shifter, wherein the first GPIO pin outputs a first logic signal to cause the first voltage shifter to output a voltage level or ground to the first terminal and the second GPIO pin outputs a second logic signal to cause the second voltage shifter to output the voltage level or the ground to the second terminal to cause the first polarity or second polarity to be applied to the Peltier element, wherein one of the voltage shifter outputs the voltage level and another of the voltage shifter outputs the ground to cause the first polarity or the second polarity to be applied to the Peltier element, however Yanagisawa teaches that it is a known method in the art of thermoelectric circuitry to include the first terminal of the Peltier element is directly connected to an output of the first voltage shifter and the second terminal of the Peltier element is directly connected to an output of the second voltage shifter, wherein the first GPIO pin outputs a first logic signal to cause the first voltage shifter to output a voltage level or ground to the first terminal and the second GPIO pin outputs a second logic signal to cause the second voltage shifter to output the voltage level or the ground to the second terminal to cause the first polarity or second polarity to be applied to the Peltier element, wherein one of the voltage shifter outputs the voltage level and another of the voltage shifter outputs the ground to cause the first polarity or the second polarity to be applied to the Peltier element. This is strong evidence that modifying Yang as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing electrical connections between a controller and first and second voltage shifters to allow for control of system operations). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang as modified by Yanagisawa and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing electrical connections between a controller and first and second voltage shifters to allow for control of system operations.
Regarding claim 4, Yang as modified discloses the system of claim 3 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the first voltage shifter is arranged to output a greater voltage than the second voltage shifter to apply the first polarity and the first voltage shifter is arranged to output a voltage less than the second voltage shifter to apply the second polarity (Yang, Fig. 4, flow diagram 400, blocks 401-405; Pg. 3-4, paragraph 49-50, To have a negative current, which is a reverse polarity of the input voltage and current, the switch Q3 303 and the switch Q5 305 may be turned on while the switch Q4 304 and the switch Q6 306 may be turned off. Thus, a current may be flowing from the converter positive output to the switch Q3 303, then a load (the TEE 102), then the switch Q5 305, then back to the converter negative output (e.g., the node coupled to the anode of diode D1). The current flow direction of the bidirectional current 110 in the TEE 102 may be in a negative direction in this case. To have a positive current, the switch Q4 304 and the switch Q6 306 may be turned on while the switch Q3 303 and the switch Q5 305 may be off. The current direction of the bidirectional current 110 in the TEE 102 may be reversed compared to the negative current setting. The current may be flowing from the converter positive output to the switch Q4 304, then the load (the TEE 102), then the switch Q6 306, then back to the converter negative output. The current flow direction of the bidirectional current 110 in the TEE 102 may be in a positive direction in this case; Pg. 5, paragraph 54, FIG. 4 is a flow diagram 400 illustrating a control of a polarity change of an electrical circuit of a cooling and heating system according to some embodiments. The electrical circuit may be the electrical circuit 104 in the cooling and heating system 100 in FIG. 1. As illustrated in FIG. 4, at 401, the system may be started; Pg. 5, paragraph 57-58, At block 404, in response to determining that the negative current is needed, the switch Q3 303 and the switch Q5 305 are turned on while the switch Q4 304 and the switch Q6 306 are turned off. Thus, a current flow direction of the bidirectional current 110 in the TEE 102 is in a negative direction. At block 405, in response to determining that the negative current is not needed, the switch Q4 304 and the switch Q6 306 are turned on while the switch Q3 303 and the switch Q5 305 are turned off. Thus, a current flow direction of the bidirectional current 110 in the TEE 102 is in a positive direction).
Claims 5-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as modified by Ramirez as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mittal et al. (US Patent No. 10,101,756), hereinafter Mittal.
Regarding claim 5, Yang as modified discloses the system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the controller is arranged to apply the first polarity based on the first indication being greater than a high end of an optimal temperature range (Yang, Fig. 6; Pg. 5, paragraph 71, At block 608, the controller may output a command for a direction of the bidirectional current to cool the electronic component, for example, a positive current direction, in response to determining that T_A, the temperature of the first side (side A) of the TEE, is higher than T_B, the temperature of the second side (side B) of the TEE. In one embodiment, the self-regulated heat transfer controller may be configured to determine the current flow direction of the bidirectional current in the TEE is to be in a direction to cool the electronic component in response to determining that the temperature of the first side of the thermoelectric element is higher than the temperature of the second side of the thermoelectric element).
However, Yang as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the first indication indicates a junction temperature of the integrated circuit.
Mittal teaches wherein the first indication indicates a junction temperature of the integrated circuit (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 3-10, One or more sensors (e.g., sensors 212 and 214) may be incorporated to monitor the temperature of the cold-side junction 206 (TC) and the temperature of the hot-side junction 208 (TH). As a chip section 202 consumes power (PBLOCK) during operation of the SoC 100, the junction temperatures (TH and TC) may reach undesirable levels, and thermoelectric cooling may be initiated by applying a voltage or current to the thermoelectric cooler 104).
Yang as modified fails to teach wherein the first indication indicates a junction temperature of the integrated circuit, however Mittal teaches that it is a known method in the art of thermoelectric temperature control to include wherein the first indication indicates a junction temperature of the integrated circuit. This is strong evidence that modifying Yang as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. temperature control based on real-time senor data). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang as modified by Mittal and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of temperature control based on real-time senor data.
Regarding claim 6, Yang as modified discloses the system of claim 5 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 5 above), wherein the first polarity causes the first surface of the Peltier element to heat and the second surface of the Peltier element to cool (Yang, Fig. 6; Pg. 5, paragraph 71, At block 608, the controller may output a command for a direction of the bidirectional current to cool the electronic component, for example, a positive current direction, in response to determining that T_A, the temperature of the first side (side A) of the TEE, is higher than T_B, the temperature of the second side (side B) of the TEE. In one embodiment, the self-regulated heat transfer controller may be configured to determine the current flow direction of the bidirectional current in the TEE is to be in a direction to cool the electronic component in response to determining that the temperature of the first side of the thermoelectric element is higher than the temperature of the second side of the thermoelectric element).
Regarding claim 8, Yang as modified discloses the system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the controller is arranged to apply the second polarity based on the second indication being less than the lower temperature of the optimal temperature range (Yang, Fig. 6; Pg. 5, paragraph 67, At block 604, the controller may determine that the T_A is below the minimum allowable temperature and output a command for a direction of a bidirectional current to heat up the electronic component, for example, a negative current direction. The self-regulated heat transfer controller may be configured to determine a current flow direction of a bidirectional current in the TEE is to be in a direction to heat up the electronic component in response to determining that the temperature of the first side of the thermoelectric element is lower than the minimum temperature allowable for the electronic component. In one embodiment, the direction to heat up the electronic component may be the negative current direction. When the T_A is below the minimum allowable temperature, the current flow may be negative such that TEM is acting as a heat pump, to transfer heat from the ambient environment to the electronic component to heat up the electronic component. In this way, high temperature external heating source is not required to transfer heat to the component to heat up the component, thus, eliminating the need of the external heating source).
However, Yang as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the first indication indicates a junction temperature of the integrated circuit.
Mittal teaches wherein the second indication indicates a junction temperature of the integrated circuit (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 3-10, One or more sensors (e.g., sensors 212 and 214) may be incorporated to monitor the temperature of the cold-side junction 206 (TC) and the temperature of the hot-side junction 208 (TH). As a chip section 202 consumes power (PBLOCK) during operation of the SoC 100, the junction temperatures (TH and TC) may reach undesirable levels, and thermoelectric cooling may be initiated by applying a voltage or current to the thermoelectric cooler 104).
Yang as modified fails to teach wherein the second indication indicates a junction temperature of the integrated circuit, however Mittal teaches that it is a known method in the art of thermoelectric temperature control to include wherein the second indication indicates a junction temperature of the integrated circuit. This is strong evidence that modifying Yang as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. temperature control based on real-time senor data). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang as modified by Mittal and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of temperature control based on real-time senor data.
Regarding claim 9, Yang as modified discloses the system of claim 8 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 8 above), wherein the second polarity causes the first surface of the Peltier element to cool and the second surface of the Peltier element to heat (Yang, Fig. 6; Pg. 5, paragraph 67, At block 604, the controller may determine that the T_A is below the minimum allowable temperature and output a command for a direction of a bidirectional current to heat up the electronic component, for example, a negative current direction. The self-regulated heat transfer controller may be configured to determine a current flow direction of a bidirectional current in the TEE is to be in a direction to heat up the electronic component in response to determining that the temperature of the first side of the thermoelectric element is lower than the minimum temperature allowable for the electronic component. In one embodiment, the direction to heat up the electronic component may be the negative current direction. When the T_A is below the minimum allowable temperature, the current flow may be negative such that TEM is acting as a heat pump, to transfer heat from the ambient environment to the electronic component to heat up the electronic component. In this way, high temperature external heating source is not required to transfer heat to the component to heat up the component, thus, eliminating the need of the external heating source).
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as modified by Ramirez and Mittal as applied to claims 6 and 9 above, respectively and further in view of Suski et al. (US Patent No. 5,419,780), hereinafter Suski.
Regarding claim 7, Yang as modified discloses the system of claim 6 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 6 above).
However, Yang as modified does not disclose further comprising a fan arranged to draw heat from heatsink fins of the heatsink when the fan is enabled.
Suski teaches further comprising a fan arranged to draw heat from heatsink fins of the heatsink when the fan is enabled (Fig. 3, fan 70; Col. 5-6, lines 63-68 and 1-12, As schematically illustrated in FIG. 5, the thermoelectric generator 50 is electrically connected to the fan 70 via a pair of wires 72 so that the voltage and current generated by the thermoelectric generator 50 is conducted to the fan 70. In operation, when the temperature of the integrated circuit 12 rises, a temperature differential ΔT develops across the thermoelectric generator 50 between the integrated circuit 12 and the heatsink 60. When the temperature differential ΔT reaches a sufficient magnitude (e.g., 50 degrees Centigrade), the voltage and current generated by the thermoelectric generator 50 is sufficient to cause the fan 70 to operate. The operation of the fan 70 causes airflow across the fins 64 of the heatsink 60 which reduces the temperature of the heatsink 60 thus causing more heat to be drawn away from the integrated circuit 12 to thereby reduce the temperature of the integrated circuit 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yang as modified to include a fan arranged to draw heat from heatsink fins of the heatsink when the fan is enabled as taught by Suski. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide increased cooling capacity to the heat sink to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 10, Yang as modified discloses the system of claim 9 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 9 above).
However, Yang as modified does not disclose comprising a fan arranged to draw heat from heatsink fins.
Suski teaches further comprising a fan arranged to draw heat from heatsink fins (Fig. 3, fan 70; Col. 5-6, lines 63-68 and 1-12, As schematically illustrated in FIG. 5, the thermoelectric generator 50 is electrically connected to the fan 70 via a pair of wires 72 so that the voltage and current generated by the thermoelectric generator 50 is conducted to the fan 70. In operation, when the temperature of the integrated circuit 12 rises, a temperature differential ΔT develops across the thermoelectric generator 50 between the integrated circuit 12 and the heatsink 60. When the temperature differential ΔT reaches a sufficient magnitude (e.g., 50 degrees Centigrade), the voltage and current generated by the thermoelectric generator 50 is sufficient to cause the fan 70 to operate. The operation of the fan 70 causes airflow across the fins 64 of the heatsink 60 which reduces the temperature of the heatsink 60 thus causing more heat to be drawn away from the integrated circuit 12 to thereby reduce the temperature of the integrated circuit 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yang as modified to include comprising a fan arranged to draw heat from heatsink fins as taught by Suski. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide increased cooling capacity to the heat sink to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as modified by Ramirez as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rangarajan et al. (US 9,297,559), hereinafter Rangarajan.
Regarding claim 11, Yang as modified discloses the system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Yang as modified does not disclose wherein at least a portion of circuitry of the controller is located in the integrated circuit.
Rangarajan teaches disposing wherein at least a portion of circuitry of the controller is located in the integrated circuit (Fig. 1A, processor 110, package 118, TEC controller 120, thermoelectric cooling (TEC) device 130; Col. 3, lines 1-3, In some embodiments, the processor 110 may be mounted on or within a package 118).
Yang as modified fails to teach wherein at least a portion of circuitry of the controller is located in the integrated circuit, however Rangarajan teaches that it is a known method in the art of thermoelectric temperature control to include wherein at least a portion of circuitry of the controller is located in the integrated circuit. This is strong evidence that modifying Yang as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing cooling to circuitry of the controller). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang as modified by Rangarajan and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing cooling to circuitry of the controller.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 6-7 (specifically regarding the amendments to only have one sensor), filed February 19th, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Ramirez et al. (US Patent No. 5,450,727).
Applicant's arguments filed February 19th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Pg 7-8 of the response, “Yang discloses that if the temperature of one side of the TEE is below the minimum allowable temperature, a command is output for a direction of a bidirectional current to heat up the electronic component, for example, a negative current direction. If a temperature of a first side of the TEE is above the minimum allowable temperature and below a target temperature, then no action is taken while if the temperature of the first side is greater than the target and a temperature of a second side of the TEE, then a command is output for a direction of a bidirectional current to cool down the electronic component, for example, a positive current direction. (Para, 68-71). The temperature is adjusted to be greater than the minimum allowable temperature and when one side is greater than the target and greater than another side rather than not defining a target and adjusting the temperature to be within an optimal range of temperatures within an operating temperature range in which the electronic component is to operate greater than the minimum allowable temperature and less than a maximum allowable temperature. The control of the temperature within "an optimal temperature range that spans a first temperature range in which the integrated circuit is to operate and a second temperature range in which the integrated circuit is to operate" allows for a same thermal solution to be used in a hot geography and a cold geography. Accordingly, Yang does not anticipate the limitation "the first polarity and second polarity are applied to control the temperature measured by the sensor to be within an optimal temperature range which spans an upper temperature and a lower temperature, the optimal temperature range being within an operating range of the integrated circuit defined by a minimum operating temperature and a maximum operating temperature of the integrated circuit."” However, this argument is not persuasive as the method of Fig. 6 of Yang explicitly discloses temperature control via the Peltier element to both heat and cool the electronic component to keep it within its predetermined operating range (Yang, Fig. 6, steps 601-608; Pg. 5, paragraph 65-68, At block 602, the temperature of the first side (side A) of the TEE and the temperature of the second side (side B) of the TEE may be read in, by the controller. At block 603, whether the T_A, the temperature of the first side (side A) of the TEE, is lower than the minimum allowable temperature may be determined by the controller. At block 604, the controller may determine that the T_A is below the minimum allowable temperature and output a command for a direction of a bidirectional current to heat up the electronic component, for example, a negative current direction. The self-regulated heat transfer controller may be configured to determine a current flow direction of a bidirectional current in the TEE is to be in a direction to heat up the electronic component in response to determining that the temperature of the first side of the thermoelectric element is lower than the minimum temperature allowable for the electronic component. In one embodiment, the direction to heat up the electronic component may be the negative current direction. When the T_A is below the minimum allowable temperature, the current flow may be negative such that TEM is acting as a heat pump, to transfer heat from the ambient environment to the electronic component to heat up the electronic component. In this way, high temperature external heating source is not required to transfer heat to the component to heat up the component, thus, eliminating the need of the external heating source. At block 605, the controller may determine whether T_A, the temperature of the first side (side A) of the TEE, is lower than T_target, the target temperature; Pg. 5, paragraph 70-71, At block 607, in response to determining that T_A, the temperature of the first side (side A) of the TEE, is not lower than T_target, the target temperature, the controller may further determine whether T_A, the temperature of the first side (side A) of the TEE, is higher than T_B, the temperature of the second side (side B) of the TEE. At block 608, the controller may output a command for a direction of the bidirectional current to cool the electronic component, for example, a positive current direction, in response to determining that T A, the temperature of the first side (side A) of the TEE, is higher than T_B, the temperature of the second side (side B) of the TEE. In one embodiment, the self-regulated heat transfer controller may be configured to determine the current flow direction of the bidirectional current in the TEE is to be in a direction to cool the electronic component in response to determining that the temperature of the first side of the thermoelectric element is higher than the temperature of the second side of the thermoelectric element). See the rejection of claim 1 above.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 8-9, filed February 19th, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Na et al. (US Patent No. 10,424,264) and Yanagisawa et al. (US Patent No. 11,329,210).
The rejection of independent claim 1 is maintained. The rejections of dependent claims 2-11 are also maintained for at least the reasons described herein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 March 10th, 2026
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763