DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the remarks filed on April 14, 2026.
Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are pending.
Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 and 16-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The rejection has been revised and set forth below (See Office Action).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 11, 12, 14, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0174667, hereinafter Lei, in view of Xue et al. U.S. Patent 12,568,486 , hereinafter Xue.
Regarding Claim 1, Lei discloses a method for multiplexing one or more data sources to a set of uplink time and frequency resources by a hardware module (Abstract; Figure 1-4, 6 and 8), the method comprising:
determining one or more patterns, wherein each pattern: indicates a mapping of data from at least one of the one or more data sources to locations in the set of resources is represented by a pattern type associated with pattern parameters (Figure 4 and 8; Paragraph [0141-0143] The receiver receives DCI scheduling a plurality of data channels, wherein the DCI contains a first indicator indicating a first time domain resource allocation pattern selected from a set of predefined time domain resource allocation patterns for time domain resources of the plurality of data channels; Paragraph [0087-0096] a list of time domain resource allocation patterns configured by RRC signalling and the TDRA patterns support different number of PUSCHs scheduled in same slot or contiguous or non-contiguous slots/mini-slots, with same or different mapping types, with same or different lengths. One code point of time domain resource assignment in the DCI indicates one TDRA pattern. Benefits of the arrangement may include full scheduling flexibility and no extra signalling overhead for time domain resource assignment in DCI which avoids PUSCH-specific time domain resource assignment field in DCI);
wherein a pattern type is selected from a set of pre-defined pattern types, and each pre-defined pattern type is associated with a respective pre-defined set of pattern parameters; providing the one or more patterns to the hardware module (Figure 4 and 6; Claims 1-5; Paragraph [0069-0072 and 0082-0118] Pre-defined time domain resource allocation patterns including various mapping types and lengths, locations and subcarrier spacings; The patterns are indicated and one is selected for mapping uplink data utilizing the pre-defined pattern parameters);
and performing, by the hardware module, the mapping indicated by each pattern (Figure 4C, 6 and 806 of Figure 8A; Paragraph [0069] PUSCH Mapping; Paragraph [00084-0114] Mapping of uplink data on PUSCH according to pre-defined patten and pattern parameters indicated including time and frequency resources in which mapping and transmission takes place for multiplexing one or more data sources to a set of uplink time and frequency resources).
Lei readily discloses the limitations of the independent claim and discloses time and frequency resources but may not be explicit on locations in a set of uplink frequency resources.
However, Xue more specifically teaches patterns indicating a mapping of data from at least one or more data sources to locations in a set of uplink time and frequency resources (Figure 10 and 11; Column 22-24; CG-UL 1010 may be associated with multiple PUSCH opportunities configured in different frequency domain resource allocations (FDRAs). In some aspects, CG-UL 1010 may include S=3 PUSCH opportunities configured in different FDRAs (i.e., different locations on y-axis indicating frequency). In some aspects, all or some the opportunities of CG-UL 1010 may be configured in the same FDRA. In some aspects, the S=3 PUSCH opportunities of scheme 1000 may be configured in different TDRAs (i.e., different locations on the x-axis indicating time) as well as different FDRAs (e.g., frequency hopping techniques). In some aspects, all or some the opportunities of CG-UL 1010 may be configured in the same TDRA. In some aspects, all or some the opportunities of CG-UL 1010 may be configured to have the same beamforming configuration. In some aspects, the patterns of each of the FDRAs and/or the beamforming configurations may be different in each period T 1020 and T 1030 of the CG-UL based on a pre-defined rule. In some aspects, for a type 2 CG-UL, the BS may transmit to the UE DCI including information for activating the PUSCH opportunities in the different FDRAs (or different component carriers)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lei with the teachings of Xue. The method enables utilizing the wireless communication device in an effective manner. The method allows the device to communicate with the device in a simple and effective manner, and reduces the power consumption of the device, thus reducing the size and cost of the communication device, and hence improving the performance of the communications device. The device is designed in such a manner that the device can be manufactured in a cost effective manner with reduced size and weight, and can be operated in an easy manner (Xue Abstract; Column 1-2 and 4-6).
Regarding Claim 7, Lei discloses a hardware module for multiplexing one or more data sources to a set of uplink time and frequency resources (Abstract; Figure 1-4, 6 and 8), the hardware module comprising:
a memory, a processing unit, and a plurality of interfaces, wherein the memory is configured to store one or more patterns (Figure 4 and 8; Paragraph [0141-0143] The receiver receives DCI scheduling a plurality of data channels, wherein the DCI contains a first indicator indicating a first time domain resource allocation pattern selected from a set of predefined time domain resource allocation patterns for time domain resources of the plurality of data channels; Paragraph [0087-0096] a list of time domain resource allocation patterns configured by RRC signalling and the TDRA patterns support different number of PUSCHs scheduled in same slot or contiguous or non-contiguous slots/mini-slots, with same or different mapping types, with same or different lengths. One code point of time domain resource assignment in the DCI indicates one TDRA pattern. Benefits of the arrangement may include full scheduling flexibility and no extra signalling overhead for time domain resource assignment in DCI which avoids PUSCH-specific time domain resource assignment field in DCI),
wherein each pattern: indicates a mapping of data from at least one of the one or more data sources to locations in the set of resources; and is represented by a pattern type associated with pattern parameters; wherein a pattern type is selected from a set of pre-defined pattern types, and each pre-defined pattern type is associated with a respective pre-defined set of pattern parameters (Figure 4 and 6; Claims 1-5; Paragraph [0069-0072 and 0082-0118] Pre-defined time domain resource allocation patterns including various mapping types and lengths, locations and subcarrier spacings; The patterns are indicated and one is selected for mapping uplink data utilizing the pre-defined pattern parameters);
the processing unit is configured to perform the mapping indicated by each stored pattern; a first interface of the plurality of interfaces is configured to fetch data from the one or more data sources and a second interface of the plurality of interfaces is configured to output each fetched data with the mapped locations in the set of resources (Figure 4C, 6 and 806 of Figure 8A; Paragraph [0069] PUSCH Mapping; Paragraph [00084-0114] Mapping of uplink data on PUSCH according to pre-defined patten and pattern parameters indicated including time and frequency resources in which mapping and transmission takes place for multiplexing one or more data sources to a set of uplink time and frequency resources).
Lei readily discloses the limitations of the independent claim and discloses time and frequency resources but may not be explicit on locations in a set of uplink frequency resources.
However, Xue more specifically teaches patterns indicating a mapping of data from at least one or more data sources to locations in a set of uplink time and frequency resources (Figure 10 and 11; Column 22-24; CG-UL 1010 may be associated with multiple PUSCH opportunities configured in different frequency domain resource allocations (FDRAs). In some aspects, CG-UL 1010 may include S=3 PUSCH opportunities configured in different FDRAs (i.e., different locations on y-axis indicating frequency). In some aspects, all or some the opportunities of CG-UL 1010 may be configured in the same FDRA. In some aspects, the S=3 PUSCH opportunities of scheme 1000 may be configured in different TDRAs (i.e., different locations on the x-axis indicating time) as well as different FDRAs (e.g., frequency hopping techniques). In some aspects, all or some the opportunities of CG-UL 1010 may be configured in the same TDRA. In some aspects, all or some the opportunities of CG-UL 1010 may be configured to have the same beamforming configuration. In some aspects, the patterns of each of the FDRAs and/or the beamforming configurations may be different in each period T 1020 and T 1030 of the CG-UL based on a pre-defined rule. In some aspects, for a type 2 CG-UL, the BS may transmit to the UE DCI including information for activating the PUSCH opportunities in the different FDRAs (or different component carriers)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lei with the teachings of Xue. The method enables utilizing the wireless communication device in an effective manner. The method allows the device to communicate with the device in a simple and effective manner, and reduces the power consumption of the device, thus reducing the size and cost of the communication device, and hence improving the performance of the communications device. The device is designed in such a manner that the device can be manufactured in a cost effective manner with reduced size and weight, and can be operated in an easy manner (Xue Abstract; Column 1-2 and 4-6).
Regarding Claim 11, Lei in view of Xue disclose the hardware according to Claim 7. Lei further disclose wherein the processing unit comprises a control unit and an execution unit, wherein the control unit is configured to select a pattern to be executed from the stored pattern types; and the execution unit is configured to perform the mapping indicated by the selected pattern (Lei Figure 4C, 6 and 806 of Figure 8A; Paragraph [0069] PUSCH Mapping; Paragraph [00084-0114] Mapping of uplink data on PUSCH according to pre-defined patten and pattern parameters indicated including time and frequency resources in which mapping and transmission takes place for multiplexing one or more data sources to a set of uplink time and frequency resources).).
Regarding Claim 12, Lei in view of Xue disclose the hardware according to Claim 7. Lei in view of Xue further disclose wherein the first interface is configured to fetch data from the one or more data sources including physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) data, PUSCH demodulation reference signal (DMRS), physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) data, PUCCH DMRS, physical random access Channel (PRACH) sequences, sounding reference signals (SRS), zeros (Lei Paragraph [0088-0115]; Xue Figure 10; Column 22-23).
Regarding Claim 14, Lei in view of Xue disclose the hardware according to Claim 7. Lei in view of Xue further disclose a terminal device comprising a hardware module according to claim 7 (Figure 1-4, 6 and 8).
Regarding Claim 19, Lei in view of Xue disclose the hardware module according to Claim 14. Lei in view of Xue further disclose wherein the processing unit comprises a control unit and an execution unit, wherein the control unit is configured to select a pattern to be executed from the stored pattern types; and the execution unit is configured to perform the mapping indicated by the selected pattern (Lei Figure 4C, 6 and 806 of Figure 8A; Paragraph [0069] PUSCH Mapping; Paragraph [00084-0114] Mapping of uplink data on PUSCH according to pre-defined patten and pattern parameters indicated including time and frequency resources in which mapping and transmission takes place for multiplexing one or more data sources to a set of uplink time and frequency resources).
Regarding Claim 21, Lei discloses one or more tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations (Abstract; Figure 1-4, 6 and 8) comprising:
determining one or more patterns, wherein each pattern: indicates a mapping of data from at least one of one or more data sources to locations in a set of uplink time and frequency resources (Figure 4 and 8; Paragraph [0141-0143] The receiver receives DCI scheduling a plurality of data channels, wherein the DCI contains a first indicator indicating a first time domain resource allocation pattern selected from a set of predefined time domain resource allocation patterns for time domain resources of the plurality of data channels; Paragraph [0087-0096] a list of time domain resource allocation patterns configured by RRC signalling and the TDRA patterns support different number of PUSCHs scheduled in same slot or contiguous or non-contiguous slots/mini-slots, with same or different mapping types, with same or different lengths. One code point of time domain resource assignment in the DCI indicates one TDRA pattern. Benefits of the arrangement may include full scheduling flexibility and no extra signalling overhead for time domain resource assignment in DCI which avoids PUSCH-specific time domain resource assignment field in DCI),
is represented by a pattern type associated with pattern parameters, wherein a pattern type is selected from a set of pre-defined pattern types, and each pre-defined pattern type is associated with a respective pre-defined set of pattern parameters (Figure 4 and 6; Claims 1-5; Paragraph [0069-0072 and 0082-0118] Pre-defined time domain resource allocation patterns including various mapping types and lengths, locations and subcarrier spacings; The patterns are indicated and one is selected for mapping uplink data utilizing the pre-defined pattern parameters);
providing the one or more patterns to a hardware module; and performing, by the hardware module, the mapping indicated by each pattern (Figure 4C, 6 and 806 of Figure 8A; Paragraph [0069] PUSCH Mapping; Paragraph [00084-0114] Mapping of uplink data on PUSCH according to pre-defined patten and pattern parameters indicated including time and frequency resources in which mapping and transmission takes place for multiplexing one or more data sources to a set of uplink time and frequency resources).
Lei readily discloses the limitations of the independent claim and discloses time and frequency resources but may not be explicit on locations in a set of uplink frequency resources.
However, Xue more specifically teaches patterns indicating a mapping of data from at least one or more data sources to locations in a set of uplink time and frequency resources (Figure 10 and 11; Column 22-24; CG-UL 1010 may be associated with multiple PUSCH opportunities configured in different frequency domain resource allocations (FDRAs). In some aspects, CG-UL 1010 may include S=3 PUSCH opportunities configured in different FDRAs (i.e., different locations on y-axis indicating frequency). In some aspects, all or some the opportunities of CG-UL 1010 may be configured in the same FDRA. In some aspects, the S=3 PUSCH opportunities of scheme 1000 may be configured in different TDRAs (i.e., different locations on the x-axis indicating time) as well as different FDRAs (e.g., frequency hopping techniques). In some aspects, all or some the opportunities of CG-UL 1010 may be configured in the same TDRA. In some aspects, all or some the opportunities of CG-UL 1010 may be configured to have the same beamforming configuration. In some aspects, the patterns of each of the FDRAs and/or the beamforming configurations may be different in each period T 1020 and T 1030 of the CG-UL based on a pre-defined rule. In some aspects, for a type 2 CG-UL, the BS may transmit to the UE DCI including information for activating the PUSCH opportunities in the different FDRAs (or different component carriers)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lei with the teachings of Xue. The method enables utilizing the wireless communication device in an effective manner. The method allows the device to communicate with the device in a simple and effective manner, and reduces the power consumption of the device, thus reducing the size and cost of the communication device, and hence improving the performance of the communications device. The device is designed in such a manner that the device can be manufactured in a cost effective manner with reduced size and weight, and can be operated in an easy manner (Xue Abstract; Column 1-2 and 4-6).
Claims 2, 3, 5, 8-10, 13, 16-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei in view of Xue as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yasukawa et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0070703, hereinafter Yasukawa.
Regarding Claim 2, Lei in view of Xue disclose the method according to Claim 1. Lei in view of Xue disclose OFDM but may not explicitly disclose determining one or more orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in the set of resources, wherein at least one of the one or more symbols uses at least one of the determined one or more patterns to select data from the at least one of the one or more data sources; associating the respectively used patterns to the at least one of the one or more symbols; providing the one or more symbols to the hardware module; and for each symbol associated with the respectively used patterns, performing by the hardware module the mapping indicated by each used pattern.
However, Yasukawa more specifically teaches determining one or more orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in the set of resources, wherein at least one of the one or more symbols uses at least one of the determined one or more patterns to select data from the at least one of the one or more data sources; associating the respectively used patterns to the at least one of the one or more symbols; providing the one or more symbols to the hardware module; and for each symbol associated with the respectively used patterns, performing by the hardware module the mapping indicated by each used pattern (Paragraph [0008, 0014, 0025-0030] A mobile terminal apparatus that allows an uplink radio access scheme to be switched between clustered DFT-spread OFDM and OFDM; Uplink assignment information (DCI format 0A), in which resource allocation information in a bitmap format is arranged, is formed in the same number of bits as existing uplink assignment information (DCI format 0) defined in LTE. That is to say, a plurality of punctured bitmap patterns that are punctured in RBG units are prepared so that uplink assignment information (DCI format 0A), in which resources are allocated in a bitmap format, is formed with the same number of bits as existing uplink assignment information (DCI format 0), and one of the punctured bitmap patterns is applied to the resource allocation information on DCI format 0; Paragraph [0048-0051 and 0107] It is possible to support uplink resource allocation information, to which clustered DFT-spread OFDM is applied, only by making the resource allocation information RBGs as in the case of downlink RB allocation type 0. It is not necessary to use a plurality of RB arrangement patterns to cover the system band; That is resource allocation for OFDM symbols in the set of resources using at least one determined pattern to select data from one or more data sources and mapping for transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lei in view of Xue with the teachings of Yasukawa. Since the arrangement pattern identification bit identifies resource block arrangement pattern as identification bit to show uplink allocation information, the optimal uplink allocation information structure can be implemented for signaling of the uplink allocation information at the time of allocating several frequency bands to data channel of the uplink even if the downlink allocation information and uplink allocation information are provided in same bit size (Yasukawa Abstract; Paragraph [0008-0013]).
Regarding Claim 3, Lei in view of Xue and Yasukawa disclose the method according to Claim 2. Lei in view of Xue and Yasukawa further disclose wherein associating the respectively used patterns to the at least one of the one or more symbols comprises a bitmap indicating the respectively used patterns (Yasukawa Figure 4; Paragraph [0011, 0026-0027 and 0046-0051] a radio communication system where a plurality of frequency bands are assigned to an uplink data channel on a per user basis (for example, when clustered DFT-spread OFDM, which is agreed on in Release 10, is applied), uplink assignment information, in which resource allocation information to command resource allocation in a bitmap format, is defined, this uplink assignment information is formed in the same bit size as downlink assignment information (for example, DCI format 1), in which resource allocation information to command resource allocation in a bitmap format is arranged, and the interpretation of part of the bits of the downlink assignment information (DCI format 1) is changed, to allow the uplink assignment information of the same bit size to be identified; According to another aspect of the present invention (second invention), uplink assignment information (DCI format 0A), in which resource allocation information in a bitmap format is arranged, is formed in the same number of bits as existing uplink assignment information (DCI format 0) defined in LTE. That is to say, a plurality of punctured bitmap patterns that are punctured in RBG units are prepared so that uplink assignment information (DCI format 0A), in which resources are allocated in a bitmap format, is formed with the same number of bits as existing uplink assignment information (DCI format 0), and one of the punctured bitmap patterns is applied to the resource allocation information on DCI format 0A).
Regarding Claim 5, Lei in view of Xue disclose the method according to Claim 1. Lei in view of Xue disclose patterns corresponding to different types and location information (Lei Figure 4-6) but may not explicitly disclose wherein the pre-defined set of pattern parameters includes at least one of: an identifier of the associated pattern type, one or more identifiers of the one or more data sources respectively, or indicators of locations in the set of resources, wherein the indicators include at least one of: beginning and end locations, offset of locations, stride of locations, a bitmap of locations, or complement usage of locations.
However, Yasukawa more specifically teaches wherein the pre-defined set of pattern parameters includes at least one of: an identifier of the associated pattern type, one or more identifiers of the one or more data sources respectively, or indicators of locations in the set of resources, wherein the indicators include at least one of: beginning and end locations, offset of locations, stride of locations, a bitmap of locations, or complement usage of locations (Yasukawa Figure 4; Paragraph [0011, 0026-0027 and 0046-0051] a radio communication system where a plurality of frequency bands are assigned to an uplink data channel on a per user basis (for example, when clustered DFT-spread OFDM, which is agreed on in Release 10, is applied), uplink assignment information, in which resource allocation information to command resource allocation in a bitmap format, is defined, this uplink assignment information is formed in the same bit size as downlink assignment information (for example, DCI format 1), in which resource allocation information to command resource allocation in a bitmap format is arranged, and the interpretation of part of the bits of the downlink assignment information (DCI format 1) is changed, to allow the uplink assignment information of the same bit size to be identified; According to another aspect of the present invention (second invention), uplink assignment information (DCI format 0A), in which resource allocation information in a bitmap format is arranged, is formed in the same number of bits as existing uplink assignment information (DCI format 0) defined in LTE. That is to say, a plurality of punctured bitmap patterns that are punctured in RBG units are prepared so that uplink assignment information (DCI format 0A), in which resources are allocated in a bitmap format, is formed with the same number of bits as existing uplink assignment information (DCI format 0), and one of the punctured bitmap patterns is applied to the resource allocation information on DCI format 0A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lei in view of Xue with the teachings of Yasukawa. Since the arrangement pattern identification bit identifies resource block arrangement pattern as identification bit to show uplink allocation information, the optimal uplink allocation information structure can be implemented for signaling of the uplink allocation information at the time of allocating several frequency bands to data channel of the uplink even if the downlink allocation information and uplink allocation information are provided in same bit size (Yasukawa Abstract; Paragraph [0008-0013]).
Regarding Claim 8, Lei in view of Xue disclose the hardware module according to Claim 7. Lei in view of Xue disclose OFDM but may not explicitly disclose wherein the memory is further configured to store an association between one or more orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols with the stored one or more patterns, wherein at least one of the one or more symbols uses at least one of the stored one or more patterns to select data from the at least one of the one or more data sources; and the processing unit is further configured to, for each of the at least one of the one or more symbols, perform the mapping indicated by each used pattern.
However, Yasukawa more specifically teaches wherein the memory is further configured to store an association between one or more orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols with the stored one or more patterns, wherein at least one of the one or more symbols uses at least one of the stored one or more patterns to select data from the at least one of the one or more data sources; and the processing unit is further configured to, for each of the at least one of the one or more symbols, perform the mapping indicated by each used pattern (Paragraph [0008, 0014, 0025-0030] A mobile terminal apparatus that allows an uplink radio access scheme to be switched between clustered DFT-spread OFDM and OFDM; Uplink assignment information (DCI format 0A), in which resource allocation information in a bitmap format is arranged, is formed in the same number of bits as existing uplink assignment information (DCI format 0) defined in LTE. That is to say, a plurality of punctured bitmap patterns that are punctured in RBG units are prepared so that uplink assignment information (DCI format 0A), in which resources are allocated in a bitmap format, is formed with the same number of bits as existing uplink assignment information (DCI format 0), and one of the punctured bitmap patterns is applied to the resource allocation information on DCI format 0; Paragraph [0048-0051 and 0107] It is possible to support uplink resource allocation information, to which clustered DFT-spread OFDM is applied, only by making the resource allocation information RBGs as in the case of downlink RB allocation type 0. It is not necessary to use a plurality of RB arrangement patterns to cover the system band; That is resource allocation for OFDM symbols in the set of resources using at least one determined pattern to select data from one or more data sources and mapping for transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lei in view of Xue with the teachings of Yasukawa. Since the arrangement pattern identification bit identifies resource block arrangement pattern as identification bit to show uplink allocation information, the optimal uplink allocation information structure can be implemented for signaling of the uplink allocation information at the time of allocating several frequency bands to data channel of the uplink even if the downlink allocation information and uplink allocation information are provided in same bit size (Yasukawa Abstract; Paragraph [0008-0013]).
Regarding Claim 9, Lei in view of Xue and Yasukawa disclose the hardware module according to Claim 8. Lei in view of Xue and Yasukawa further disclose the hardware module comprises a third interface of the plurality of interfaces for storing at least one of the one or more patterns or the association into the memory (Lei Figure 2; Paragraph [0013-0016 and 0053-0056]).
Regarding Claim 10, Lei in view of Xue and Yasukawa disclose the hardware module according to Claim 8. Lei in view of Xue and Yasukawa further disclose wherein the association between the one or more symbols with the stored one or more patterns comprises a bitmap indicating the at least one of the stored one or more patterns used by the at least one of the one or more symbols (Yasukawa Figure 4; Paragraph [0011, 0026-0027 and 0046-0051] a radio communication system where a plurality of frequency bands are assigned to an uplink data channel on a per user basis (for example, when clustered DFT-spread OFDM, which is agreed on in Release 10, is applied), uplink assignment information, in which resource allocation information to command resource allocation in a bitmap format, is defined, this uplink assignment information is formed in the same bit size as downlink assignment information (for example, DCI format 1), in which resource allocation information to command resource allocation in a bitmap format is arranged, and the interpretation of part of the bits of the downlink assignment information (DCI format 1) is changed, to allow the uplink assignment information of the same bit size to be identified; According to another aspect of the present invention (second invention), uplink assignment information (DCI format 0A), in which resource allocation information in a bitmap format is arranged, is formed in the same number of bits as existing uplink assignment information (DCI format 0) defined in LTE. That is to say, a plurality of punctured bitmap patterns that are punctured in RBG units are prepared so that uplink assignment information (DCI format 0A), in which resources are allocated in a bitmap format, is formed with the same number of bits as existing uplink assignment information (DCI format 0), and one of the punctured bitmap patterns is applied to the resource allocation information on DCI format 0A).
Regarding Claim 13, Lei in view of Xue disclose the hardware module according to Claim 7. Lei in view of Xue briefly disclose the use of IFFT for transmission but may not explicitly disclose wherein the second interface is configured to output each fetched data to an input memory of an IFFT processor at addresses corresponding to the mapped locations in the set of resources.
However, Yasukawa more specifically teaches wherein the second interface is configured to output each fetched data to an input memory of an IFFT processor at addresses corresponding to the mapped locations in the set of resources (Figure 10-12; Paragraph [0084, 0097 and 0107] uplink user data is input from the application section 105 to the baseband signal processing section 104. In the baseband signal processing section 104, retransmission control (HARQ (Hybrid ARQ)) transmission processing, channel coding, DFT processing, IFFT processing and so on are performed. The baseband signal output from the baseband signal processing section 104 is converted into a radio frequency band in the transmission/reception section).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lei in view of Xue with the teachings of Yasukawa. Since the arrangement pattern identification bit identifies resource block arrangement pattern as identification bit to show uplink allocation information, the optimal uplink allocation information structure can be implemented for signaling of the uplink allocation information at the time of allocating several frequency bands to data channel of the uplink even if the downlink allocation information and uplink allocation information are provided in same bit size (Yasukawa Abstract; Paragraph [0008-0013]).
Regarding Claim 16, Lei in view of Xue disclose the terminal device according to Claim 14. Lei in view of Xue disclose OFDM but may not explicitly disclose wherein: the memory is further configured to store an association between one or more orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols with the stored one or more patterns, wherein at least one of the one or more symbols uses at least one of the stored one or more patterns to select data from the at least one of the one or more data sources; and the processing unit is further configured to, for each of the at least one of the one or more symbols, perform the mapping indicated by each used pattern.
However, Yasukawa more specifically teaches wherein: the memory is further configured to store an association between one or more orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols with the stored one or more patterns, wherein at least one of the one or more symbols uses at least one of the stored one or more patterns to select data from the at least one of the one or more data sources; and the processing unit is further configured to, for each of the at least one of the one or more symbols, perform the mapping indicated by each used pattern (Paragraph [0008, 0014, 0025-0030] A mobile terminal apparatus that allows an uplink radio access scheme to be switched between clustered DFT-spread OFDM and OFDM; Uplink assignment information (DCI format 0A), in which resource allocation information in a bitmap format is arranged, is formed in the same number of bits as existing uplink assignment information (DCI format 0) defined in LTE. That is to say, a plurality of punctured bitmap patterns that are punctured in RBG units are prepared so that uplink assignment information (DCI format 0A), in which resources are allocated in a bitmap format, is formed with the same number of bits as existing uplink assignment information (DCI format 0), and one of the punctured bitmap patterns is applied to the resource allocation information on DCI format 0; Paragraph [0048-0051 and 0107] It is possible to support uplink resource allocation information, to which clustered DFT-spread OFDM is applied, only by making the resource allocation information RBGs as in the case of downlink RB allocation type 0. It is not necessary to use a plurality of RB arrangement patterns to cover the system band; That is resource allocation for OFDM symbols in the set of resources using at least one determined pattern to select data from one or more data sources and mapping for transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lei in view of Xue with the teachings of Yasukawa. Since the arrangement pattern identification bit identifies resource block arrangement pattern as identification bit to show uplink allocation information, the optimal uplink allocation information structure can be implemented for signaling of the uplink allocation information at the time of allocating several frequency bands to data channel of the uplink even if the downlink allocation information and uplink allocation information are provided in same bit size (Yasukawa Abstract; Paragraph [0008-0013]).
Regarding Claim 17, Lei in view of Xue and Yasukawa disclose the terminal device according to Claim 16. Lei in view of Xue and Yasukawa further disclose wherein the hardware module comprises a third interface of the plurality of interfaces for storing at least one of the one or more patterns or the association into the memory (Lei Figure 2; Paragraph [0013-0016 and 0053-0056]).
Regarding Claim 18, Lei in view of Xue and Yasukawa disclose the terminal device according to Claim 16. Lei in view of Xue and Yasukawa further disclose wherein the association between the one or more symbols with the stored one or more patterns comprises a bitmap indicating the at least one of the stored one or more patterns used by the at least one of the one or more symbols (Yasukawa Figure 4; Paragraph [0011, 0026-0027 and 0046-0051] a radio communication system where a plurality of frequency bands are assigned to an uplink data channel on a per user basis (for example, when clustered DFT-spread OFDM, which is agreed on in Release 10, is applied), uplink assignment information, in which resource allocation information to command resource allocation in a bitmap format, is defined, this uplink assignment information is formed in the same bit size as downlink assignment information (for example, DCI format 1), in which resource allocation information to command resource allocation in a bitmap format is arranged, and the interpretation of part of the bits of the downlink assignment information (DCI format 1) is changed, to allow the uplink assignment information of the same bit size to be identified; According to another aspect of the present invention (second invention), uplink assignment information (DCI format 0A), in which resource allocation information in a bitmap format is arranged, is formed in the same number of bits as existing uplink assignment information (DCI format 0) defined in LTE. That is to say, a plurality of punctured bitmap patterns that are punctured in RBG units are prepared so that uplink assignment information (DCI format 0A), in which resources are allocated in a bitmap format, is formed with the same number of bits as existing uplink assignment information (DCI format 0), and one of the punctured bitmap patterns is applied to the resource allocation information on DCI format 0A).
Regarding Claim 20, Lei in view of Xue disclose the hardware module according to Claim 14. Lei in view of Xue briefly disclose the use of IFFT for transmission but may not explicitly disclose wherein the second interface is configured to output each fetched data to an input memory of an IFFT processor at addresses corresponding to the mapped locations in the set of resources.
However, Yasukawa more specifically teaches wherein the second interface is configured to output each fetched data to an input memory of an IFFT processor at addresses corresponding to the mapped locations in the set of resources (Figure 10-12; Paragraph [0084, 0097 and 0107] uplink user data is input from the application section 105 to the baseband signal processing section 104. In the baseband signal processing section 104, retransmission control (HARQ (Hybrid ARQ)) transmission processing, channel coding, DFT processing, IFFT processing and so on are performed. The baseband signal output from the baseband signal processing section 104 is converted into a radio frequency band in the transmission/reception section).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lei in view of Xue with the teachings of Yasukawa. Since the arrangement pattern identification bit identifies resource block arrangement pattern as identification bit to show uplink allocation information, the optimal uplink allocation information structure can be implemented for signaling of the uplink allocation information at the time of allocating several frequency bands to data channel of the uplink even if the downlink allocation information and uplink allocation information are provided in same bit size (Yasukawa Abstract; Paragraph [0008-0013]).
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei in view of Xue as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Huang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0150142, hereinafter Huang.
Regarding Claim 4, Lei in view of Xue disclose the method according to Claim 1. Lei in view of Xue may not explicitly disclose wherein the pre-defined pattern types include at least one of: mapping zeros or data from a data source to contiguous locations in the set of resources, mapping data from a data source to noncontiguous locations in the set of resources, or mapping data from a data source to contiguous and noncontiguous locations in the set of resources.
However, Huang more specifically teaches wherein the pre-defined pattern types include at least one of: mapping zeros or data from a data source to contiguous locations in the set of resources, mapping data from a data source to noncontiguous locations in the set of resources, or mapping data from a data source to contiguous and noncontiguous locations in the set of resources (Paragraph [0271-0291] the contiguous time domain resource allocation pattern and the resource set indicated in the DCI or an upper layer signaling, the UE can know that all the time domain resource in the contiguous time domain resource allocation pattern except OFDM symbol index #5 and index #6 are allocated to the UE. The UE receives the scheduled data based on the contiguous time domain resource allocation pattern and rate match around the DL resource set; The scheduled data transmission in each time domain resource allocation pattern starts from the symbol indicated by this field, which may be among a set of values configured by higher layer. For contiguous time domain resource allocation, the time domain resource allocation patterns of entries in the UE-specific table may just provide a time length. For non-contiguous time domain resource allocation, a time domain resource allocation pattern along or combined with a DL resource set (as described above) may indicate which OFDM symbols are allocated to the UE. The UE receives the scheduled data according to the index and the timing indicated in the DCI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lei in view of Xue with the teachings of Huang. Huang provides a solution to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of forward links for the different access terminals. The network is allowed to adjust transmission direction dynamically based on current downlink (DL) and/or uplink (UL) traffic, to utilize radio resources more efficiently (Huang Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0005 and 0027]).
Regarding Claim 6, Lei in view of Xue disclose the method according to Claim 1. Lei in view of Xue disclose 3GPP standards used but may not explicitly disclose wherein determining the one or more patterns is based on 3GPP standards for uplink resource multiplexing.
However, the above limitation is known in the art, as evidenced by Huang. Huang more specifically teaches wherein determining the one or more patterns is based on 3GPP standards for uplink resource multiplexing (Paragraph [0267] multiple time domain resource allocation schemes are proposed in 3GPP. UE-specific table is configured for a UE, and each entry in the table represents a time domain resource allocation pattern possibly comprising a starting OFDM symbol and length or duration for a data channel (PDSCH or PUSCH). A UE receives a scheduling DCI indicating an index of one entry in the UE-specific table for time domain resource allocation of scheduled data transmission (PDSCH or PUSCH)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lei in view of Xue with the teachings of Huang. Huang provides a solution to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of forward links for the different access terminals. The network is allowed to adjust transmission direction dynamically based on current downlink (DL) and/or uplink (UL) traffic, to utilize radio resources more efficiently (Huang Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0005 and 0027]).
Conclusion
IVAN O. LATORRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409
/IVAN O LATORRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409