DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “convex surface,” “Bernoulli gripper,” “constant-force spring,” “rectangular spring,” “torsion spring,” “articulated joint, “elastomer sheet,” “resistive heater,” “ceramic heater,” “semiconductor heater” “positive thermal coefficient heater,” “thick film heater,” “infrared heater,” “apparatus adapted to lifting, translating and lowering the assembly tool,” “apparatus adapted to aligning the assembly tool,” “assembly table,” “convex surface,” “robotic arm,” “gantry,” “mechanical datums,” “machine vision,” “fixed assembly table,” and “assembly table and convex surface translate below a fixed assembly tool” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The following claim limitations lack antecedence in the Specification: “hole,” “Bernoulli gripper,” “constant-force spring,” “rectangular spring,” “torsion spring,” “articulated joint,” “elastomer sheet,” “resistive heater,” “ceramic heater,” “semiconductor heater,” “positive thermal coefficient heater,” “thick film heater,” “infrared heater,” “assembly table,” “robotic arm,” “gantry,” “mechanical datums,” “assembly table,” “fixed assembly tool,” and “assembly table and convex surface translate below a fixed assembly tool.”
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “apparatus adapted to lifting, translating and lowering the assembly tool” and “apparatus adapted to aligning the assembly tool” in claims 9-11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim limitations “apparatus adapted to lifting, translating and lowering the assembly tool” and “apparatus adapted to aligning the assembly tool” are not defined by and clearly linked to sufficient structure within the disclosed Specification or Drawings to perform the claimed function. Consequently, it is unclear that Applicant was in possession of the invention as claimed at the time of filing.
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9 and 12 appear to be independent claims due to their respective preamble being different than the preamble of Claim 1, but the claim body establishes dependance with Claim 1. Thus, it is unclear if Claims 9 and 12 are dependent or independent claims.
Claim 13 is indefinite for the limitation “the additional step of tacking the workpiece to the convex surface.” The claim lacks any structure for performing the claimed step.
Claim 9. The limitations “apparatus adapted to lifting, translating and lowering the assembly tool” and “apparatus adapted to aligning the assembly tool” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jess et al. (US 10,407,262).
Jess discloses;
Claim 1. A pick-and-place assembly tool comprising:
a support frame (22) operably coupled to a plurality of gripper heads (20) formed in an array (12), each gripper head comprising:
a plate (bottom surface of 20) having one or more suction elements (Col. 3, Ln. 52-54); and
one or more connector elements (28), wherein the gripper head is flexibly coupled to at least one adjacent gripper head by one or more connector elements, and wherein the array of gripper heads is adapted to passively conform to a convex surface (18) (Col. 3 and 7-8, and Fig. 1-3).
Claim 2. The assembly tool of claim 1 wherein the suction element is selected from the group consisting of: a hole, a suction cup, and a Bernoulli gripper (Jess discloses that the suction elements can be suction cups, Col. 3, Ln. 52-54).
Claim 3. The assembly tool of claim 1 wherein the one or more connector elements is selected from the group consisting of: a constant-force spring, a rectangular spring, a torsion spring, an articulated joint, and an elastomer sheet (Jess discloses that the connector elements are articulated joints, Col. 9 and Fig. 2-3).
Claim 6. The assembly tool of claim 1 wherein the array comprises a plurality of rows (Fig. 5).
Claim 7. The assembly tool of claim 6 wherein the one or more connector elements restricts the degrees of freedom between the gripper heads.
Claim 8. The assembly tool of claim 7 wherein the one or more connector elements restrict the elongation between the gripper heads within the rows and allow a variable displacement between the rows (in Fig. 2-3, with rows going into and out of the page, the gripper heads within each row maintain the same spacing between each other due to respective connectors and joints, while the connectors and joints illustrated in Fig. 2-3 allow variable displacement between the rows).
Claim 9. A system for picking flat and placing curved comprising: the pick-and-place assembly tool of claim 1; an apparatus (24) adapted to lifting, translating and lowering the assembly tool; and an apparatus (48) adapted to aligning the assembly tool to an assembly table and a convex surface (Col. 8 and 12, and Fig. 2 and 9).
Claim 12. A method of picking flat and placing curved, the method comprising: aligning the assembly tool of claim 1 to an assembly table (16) whereupon a flexible workpiece (14) is disposed; lowering the assembly tool onto the workpiece; engaging the suction of the gripper heads; lifting the assembly tool and captive workpiece; translating the assembly tool to a position over the convex surface; aligning the assembly tool to the convex surface; lowering the assembly tool onto the convex surface; disengaging the suction of the gripper heads; and lifting the assembly tool to a position over the convex surface (Col. 7-10 and Fig. 1-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 10-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jess in view of Petrovsi et al. (US 10,099,385).
Jess is silent to;
Claim 4. The assembly tool of claim 1 wherein each gripper head of the plurality of gripper heads comprises a heating element adapted to supply heat to the workpiece.
Claim 5. The heating element of claim 4 wherein the heating element is selected from the group consisting of: a resistive heater, a forced air heater, a ceramic heater, a semiconductor heater, a positive thermal coefficient heater, a thick film heater, and an infrared heater.
Claim 10. The system of claim 9 wherein apparatus adapted to lifting, translating and lowering the assembly tool is selected from the group consisting of: a robotic arm and a gantry.
Claim 11. The system of claim 9 wherein apparatus adapted to alignment is selected from the group consisting of: mechanical datums and machine vision.
However, Petrovski discloses an assembly tool (132) having a plurality of gripper heads (670) and a positioning device (150), an apparatus adapted to aligning the assembly tool to an assembly table and a convex surface, and a method of picking flat and placing curved, and further teaches;
Claim 4. The assembly tool of claim 1 wherein each gripper head of the plurality of gripper heads comprises a heating element (690) adapted to supply heat to the workpiece (Col. 5 and Fig. 6).
Claim 5. The heating element of claim 4 wherein the heating element is selected from the group consisting of: a resistive heater, a forced air heater, a ceramic heater, a semiconductor heater, a positive thermal coefficient heater, a thick film heater, and an infrared heater (Petrovski discloses heating element 690 is a “thermally shielded heating element, which is understood to be a resistive heater, Col. 5 and Fig. 6).
Claim 10. The system of claim 9 wherein apparatus adapted to lifting, translating and lowering the assembly tool is selected from the group consisting of: a robotic arm and a gantry (Petrovski discloses that the positioning device is a robot, Col. 5 and Fig. 1).
Claim 11. The system of claim 9 wherein apparatus adapted to alignment is selected from the group consisting of: mechanical datums and machine vision (imaging system 134, which is understood to be machine vision, Col. 3, Ln. 26, and Fig. 1).
Claim 13. The method of claim 12 comprising the additional step of tacking the workpiece to the convex surface before disengaging the suction of the gripper heads (Col. 5, Ln. 23-27).
Therefore, in view of Petrovski’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jess’s disclosure with a reasonable expectation of success to include a heating element to insure a ply being placed would adhere to the previous ply, a robot so that the assembly tool could be controllably positioned, and machine vision to provide real-time feedback to the controller to insure proper alignment between the assembly tool and convex surface during placement of the flexible workpiece.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jess in view of Wiedemann et al. (US 7,653,977).
Jess is silent to;
Claim 14. The method of claim 12 wherein the assembly table and convex surface translate below a fixed assembly tool.
However, Wiedemann discloses a method of operating an assembly tool (7) with workpieces (2), and further teaches that the robot is stationary (Col. 3, Ln. 44-46) and the workpieces translate with respect to the robot to provide higher efficiency and better utilization of the assembly tool (Col. 3-4 and Fig. 5).
Therefore, in view of Wiedemann’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jess’ disclosure to include the cited teachings of Wiedemann with a reasonable expectation of success to provide higher efficiency and better utilization of the assembly tool.
With respect to the limitations that have been cited as invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f), the structures cited in the art of record as disclosing or teaching these limitations are either structurally similar to the respective structure in Applicant’s originally filed disclosure or perform the same claimed function.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Boyl-Davis et al. (US 2005/0263949)
Petersen et al. (US 2022/0371292)
Linnemann et al. (US 2006/0143890)
Reinhold et al. (US 2014/0199153)
/RONALD P JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652