DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/30/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive in part. Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the drawing objection of “convex surface,” “apparatus adapted to aligning the assembly tool,” “assembly table,” “fixed assembly table,” and “assembly table and convex surface translate below a fixed assembly tool,” “resistive heater,” “ceramic heater,” “semiconductor heater” “positive thermal coefficient heater,” “thick film heater,” and “infrared heater,” not being shown are persuasive. However, as per the second table (see Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, Pg. 9) Applicant admits that “Bernoulli gripper,” “constant-force spring,” “rectangular spring,” “torsion spring,” “articulated joint, and “machine vision” are not shown, but argues that “such elements are well known in the art and can be understood by their industrial and common meaning,” and further cites MPEP 608.02 as stating, “applicant shall furnish a drawing where necessary for the understanding of the subject matter to be patented.”
The Examiner responds that MPEP § 608.02 (and 35 U.S.C. § 113 and 37 C.F.R. § 1.81(a), as relied upon in Applicant’s arguments) are in reference to Applicant’s disclosure requirements, whereas 37 C.F.R. § 1.83(a) is specifically drawn to drawing requirements and clearly states “[t]he drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims (emphasis added). Thus, Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the drawing objection of these limitations are not persuasive and the drawing objection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the Specification Objections are persuasive.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 9 for the limitation “an apparatus adapted to aligning the assembly tool,” Applicant argues that “one embodiment of this apparatus comprises the locating elements shown in FIGS. 1 and 8A-8F and which are indicated by reference numeral 431.”
The Examiner responds that MPEP 2181(II)(C) states in part, “The structure disclosed in the written description of the specification is the corresponding structure only if the written description of the specification or the prosecution history clearly links or associates that structure to the function recited in a means- (or step-) plus-function claim limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).” MPEP 2181(II)(C) further states, “The requirement that a particular structure be clearly linked with the claimed function in order to qualify as corresponding structure is the quid pro quo for the convenience of employing 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, and is also supported by the requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, that an invention must be particularly pointed out and distinctly claimed.” Applicant’s Specification does not clearly link claimed “apparatus adapted to aligning the assembly tool” with pins 431. Thus, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive and the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of Claim 9 is maintained.
As per Applicant’s arguments, “elastomer sheet” are understood to be disclosed “connector elements 413a, 413b, 414a, and 414b.
Pertaining to the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection, Applicant cites Jess’ disclosures pertaining to different embodiments, such as, “the attractors 20 are limited in their lateral movement with respect to one another,” “the distance between any two individual attractors 20 is not permitted to vary too much,” and then argues that amended Claim 1 “overcomes Jess and that claims 2-3, 6-9, and 12 are allowable by virtue of their dependence thereon.”
The Examiner responds that Jess’ disclosure of “limited in their lateral movement” and “not permitted to vary too much” does not mean there is no lateral movement and, in fact, clearly discloses that some lateral movement between the attractors is a designed feature of Jess’ invention. Thus, the Examiner disagrees that amendments to Claim 1 overcome Jess. As a result, the Examiner maintains the position that Jess anticipates the amended limitation of “at least one connector element allows for variable distance between adjacent gripper heads.”
Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections are based on the assumption that Jess does not anticipate newly amended claim limitations and does not provide any further argument(s) on the combination of references. Given that the Examiner has shown that Jess does, in fact, anticipate independent Claims 1 and 9, no further response to the 35 U.S.C. 103 arguments is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “Bernoulli gripper,” “constant-force spring,” “rectangular spring,” “torsion spring,” “articulated joint, and “machine vision” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: as amended, the second to last phrase of Claim 9 recites, “and too;”. The Examiner believes this is a strike-through error and that “tool” should have been struck through with “the assembly…” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “apparatus adapted to aligning the assembly tool” and “locating elements” in claims 9 and 11 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9. The limitation “apparatus adapted to aligning the assembly tool” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jess et al. (US 10,407,262).
Jess discloses;
Claim 1. A pick-and-place assembly tool comprising:
a support frame (22) operably coupled to a plurality of gripper heads (20) formed in an array (12), each gripper head comprising:
a plate (bottom surface of 20) having one or more suction elements (Col. 3, Ln. 52-54); and one or more connector elements (28) flexibly coupled to an adjacent gripper head at a distance wherein the array of gripper heads is adapted to passively conform to a convex surface (18) while at least one connector element allows for variable distance between adjacent gripper heads (the distance between respective plates of adjacent pairs of 20 changes when joints 36 and 38 bend) (Col. 3 and 7-8, and Fig. 1-3).
Claim 2. The assembly tool of claim 1 wherein the suction element is selected from the group consisting of: a hole, a suction cup, and a Bernoulli gripper (Jess discloses that the suction elements can be suction cups, Col. 3, Ln. 52-54).
Claim 3. The assembly tool of claim 1 wherein the one or more connector elements is selected from the group consisting of: a constant-force spring, a rectangular spring, a torsion spring, an articulated joint, and an elastomer sheet (Jess discloses that the connector elements are articulated joints, Col. 9 and Fig. 2-3).
Claim 6. The assembly tool of claim 1 wherein the array comprises a plurality of rows (Fig. 5).
Claim 7. The assembly tool of claim 6 wherein the one or more connector elements restricts the degrees of freedom between the gripper heads.
Claim 8. The assembly tool of claim 7 wherein the one or more connector elements restrict the elongation between the gripper heads within the rows and allow a variable displacement between the rows (in Fig. 2-3, with rows going into and out of the page, the gripper heads within each row maintain the same spacing between each other due to respective connectors and joints, while the connectors and joints illustrated in Fig. 2-3 allow variable displacement between the rows).
Claim 9. A system for picking flat and placing curved comprising: a pick-and-place assembly tool(48) adapted to aligning the assembly tool to an assembly surface and a convex surface (Col. 8 and 12, and Fig. 2 and 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jess in view of Petrovsi et al. (US 10,099,385).
Jess discloses;
Claim 12. A method of picking flat and placing curved, the method comprising: providing a pick-and-place assembly tool comprising: a support frame (22) operably coupled to a plurality of gripper heads (20) formed in an array (12), each gripper head comprising: a plate (bottom surface of 20) having one or more suction elements (Col. 3, Ln. 52-54); and one or more connector elements (28) flexibly coupled to an adjacent gripper head at a distance, wherein the array of gripper heads is adapted to passively conform to a convex surface while at least one connector element allows for variable distance between adjacent gripper heads (the distance between respective plates of adjacent pairs of 20 changes when joints 36 and 38 bend); aligning the pick-and-place assembly tool to an assembly surface (16) whereupon a flexible workpiece (14) is disposed; lowering the assembly tool onto the workpiece; engaging the suction of the gripper heads; lifting the assembly tool and captive workpiece; translating the assembly tool to a position over the convex surface; aligning the assembly tool to the convex surface; lowering the assembly tool onto the convex surface; disengaging the suction of the gripper heads; and lifting the assembly tool to a position over the convex surface (Col. 7-10 and Fig. 1-4).
Jess is silent to;
Claim 4. The assembly tool of claim 1 wherein each gripper head of the plurality of gripper heads comprises a heating element adapted to supply heat to the workpiece.
Claim 5. The heating element of claim 4 wherein the heating element is selected from the group consisting of: a resistive heater, a forced air heater, a ceramic heater, a semiconductor heater, a positive thermal coefficient heater, a thick film heater, a microwave heater and an infrared heater.
Claim 11. The system of claim 9 wherein apparatus adapted to alignment is selected from the group consisting of: mechanical locating elements and machine vision.
Claim 12. At least one gripper head comprises a heating element adapted to provide heat to a workpiece.
Claim 13. The method of claim 12 comprising the additional step of heat-tacking the workpiece to the convex surface before disengaging the suction of the gripper heads (Col. 5, Ln. 23-27).
However, Petrovski discloses an assembly tool (132) having a plurality of gripper heads (670) and a positioning device (150), an apparatus adapted to aligning the assembly tool to an assembly table and a convex surface, and a method of picking flat and placing curved, and further teaches;
Claim 4. The assembly tool of claim 1 wherein each gripper head of the plurality of gripper heads comprises a heating element (690) adapted to supply heat to the workpiece (Col. 5 and Fig. 6).
Claims 5 and 12. A heating element (690), disclosed as a “thermally shielded heating element,” which is understood to be a resistive heater and provides heat to a workpiece (Col. 5 and Fig. 6).
Claim 11. An imaging system (134), which is understood to be machine vision (Col. 3, Ln. 26, and Fig. 1).
Claim 13. The method of claim 12 comprising the additional step of heat-tacking the workpiece to the convex surface before disengaging the suction of the gripper heads (Col. 5, Ln. 23-27).
Therefore, in view of Petrovski’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jess’s disclosure with a reasonable expectation of success to include a heating element to insure a ply being placed would adhere to the previous ply, and machine vision to provide real-time feedback to the controller to insure proper alignment between the assembly tool and convex surface during placement of the flexible workpiece.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jess in view of Petrovski, and further in view of Wiedemann et al. (US 7,653,977).
Jess is silent to;
Claim 14. The method of claim 12 wherein the assembly surface and convex surface translate below a fixed assembly tool.
However, Wiedemann discloses a method of operating an assembly tool (7) with workpieces (2), and further teaches that the robot is stationary (Col. 3, Ln. 44-46) and the workpieces translate with respect to the robot to provide higher efficiency and better utilization of the assembly tool (Col. 3-4 and Fig. 5).
Therefore, in view of Wiedemann’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jess’ disclosure to include the cited teachings of Wiedemann with a reasonable expectation of success to provide higher efficiency and better utilization of the assembly tool.
With respect to the limitations that have been cited as invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f), the structures cited in the art of record as disclosing or teaching these limitations are either structurally similar to the respective structure in Applicant’s originally filed disclosure or perform the same claimed function.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure; DE 102019130375.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONALD P JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652