DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the empty boxes (e.g. 110, 110’, 120, 122, 201, 202, 210, 212, 240, 120, 222, 420, 411) in figures 1, 2 and 4 should contain symbols or text indicating their functionality. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "vent or opening 668" and "a region 688" (which should be “a region 688” based on Specification; paragraph [0069]) in Figure 6C have both been used to designate 668. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2, third line recites “the DC input”, which should be --a DC input -- because this term was not previously presented in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (US 2015/0098257), hereinafter Wei.
Regarding claim 1, Wei discloses (see figures 1-9) a rectifier assembly (figure 4, part rectifier assembly 2) comprising: a mounting base (figures 17 and 18, part mounting base that received the rectification modules 20 at 2); and one or more rectification modules (figures 4 and 17, part rectification modules 20) configured to be received in the mounting base (figures 17 and 18, part mounting base that received the rectification modules 20 at 2) (paragraph [0049]; FIG. 17 further illustrates installation of three sets of upper and lower IGBT switching devices 20 into the interior 5 of the enclosure 4), each rectification module (figures 4 and 17, part rectification modules 20) comprising: an electronic network (figure 4, part S1-S6 and D1-D6) comprising one or more electronic elements (figure 4, part S1-S6 and D1-D6) configured to convert alternating current (AC) electrical power at an input (figure 4, part AC input at 16) of the rectification module (figures 4 and 17, part rectification modules 20) to direct current (DC) electrical power at an output (figure 4, part DC output at 18) of the rectification module (figures 4 and 17, part rectification modules 20) (paragraph [0031]; A switching circuit 20 is located within the interior 5 of the enclosure 4, and includes switching devices S1-S6 for selective conversion of AC input power to provide DC output power for active (switching) rectifier applications), wherein each of the one or more rectification modules (figures 4 and 17, part rectification modules 20) is configured to be electrically connected to a DC bus (figures 4, 12 and 13, part DC bus DC+/DC- at 18) of a driving apparatus (figures 12 and 13, part driving apparatus generated by inverter and 40) that is separate from and independent of the rectifier assembly (figures 4, 12 and 13, part rectifier assembly 2) (paragraphs [0045]-[0046]; FIG. 12 shows a parallel motor drive system 70 in which a single AC power source 42 is used to provide power to a pair of separate (parallel-connected) power converter modules 2 configured as active rectifiers).
Regarding claim 2, Wei discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Wei discloses (see figures 1-9) a conductor (figures 4, 13, 14 and 17, part upper and lower conductor 18) electrically connected to each rectification module (figures 4, 13, 14 and 17, part rectification modules 20), wherein each conductor (figures 4, 13, 14 and 17, part upper and lower conductor 18) is configured to be electrically connected to the DC input (figures 4, 12 and 13, part DC input of inverter) of the separate and independent driving apparatus (figures 12 and 13, part driving apparatus generated by inverter and 40).
Regarding claim 3, Wei discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Wei discloses (see figures 1-9) each rectification module (figures 4 and 17, part rectification modules 20) further comprises at least one thermal exchange assembly (figure 17, part 21) (paragraph [0049]; IGBT heatsink structures 21).
Regarding claim 4, Wei discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). Further, Wei discloses (see figures 1-9) the thermal exchange assembly (figure 17, part 21) comprises a heat sink (figure 17, part 21) (paragraph [0049]; IGBT heatsink structures 21).
Regarding claim 5, Wei discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 4). Further, Wei discloses (see figures 1-9) the heat sink (figure 17, part 21) (paragraph [0049]; IGBT heatsink structures 21) is thermally coupled to the rectification module (figures 4 and 17, part rectification modules 20).
Regarding claim 13, Wei discloses (see figures 1-9) a driving apparatus (figures 12 and 13, part 70/80) comprising: a rectifier assembly (figures 4, 12 and 13, part rectifier assembly 2) comprising: a mounting base (figures 17 and 18, part mounting base that received the rectification modules 20 at 2); and one or more rectification modules (figures 4 and 17, part rectification modules 20) configured to be received in the mounting base (figures 17 and 18, part mounting base that received the rectification modules 20 at 2) (paragraph [0049]; FIG. 17 further illustrates installation of three sets of upper and lower IGBT switching devices 20 into the interior 5 of the enclosure 4), each rectification module (figures 4 and 17, part rectification modules 20) comprising: an electronic network (figure 4, part S1-S6 and D1-D6) comprising one or more electronic elements (figure 4, part S1-S6 and D1-D6) configured to convert alternating current (AC) electrical power at an input (figure 4, part AC input at 16) of the rectification module (figures 4 and 17, part rectification modules 20) to direct current (DC) electrical power at an output (figure 4, part DC output at 18) of the rectification module (figures 4 and 17, part rectification modules 20) (paragraph [0031]; A switching circuit 20 is located within the interior 5 of the enclosure 4, and includes switching devices S1-S6 for selective conversion of AC input power to provide DC output power for active (switching) rectifier applications); and an inverter (figures 12 and 13, part inverter) configured to connect to the output (figures 4, 12 and 13, part DC output at 18) of the rectification module (figures 4 and 17, part rectification modules 20), wherein the inverter (figures 12 and 13, part inverter) is configured to convert the DC electrical power (figures 12 and 13, part DC input of the inverter) into an AC driving signal (figures 12 and 13, part AC output from inverter to 40) (paragraphs [0045]-[0046]; FIG. 12 shows a parallel motor drive system 70 in which a single AC power source 42 is used to provide power to a pair of separate (parallel-connected) power converter modules 2 configured as active rectifiers… two separate inverters 2 are provided).
Regarding claim 14, Wei discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13). Further, Wei discloses (see figures 1-9) the rectifier assembly (figures 4, 12, 13 and 17, part rectifier assembly 2) is configured to be removed (figure 17, part through 8) from the driving apparatus without damage (figures 12 and 13, part 70/80) (paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 15, Wei discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13). Further, Wei discloses (see figures 1-9) the rectifier assembly (figures 4, 12, 13 and 17, part rectifier assembly 2) and the inverter (figures 12 and 13, part inverter) are configured for installation in a cabinet (paragraph [0038]; the power converter modules 2 as well as the other modules 44, 46 may be commonly housed in a single control cabinet in certain implementations, with suitable environmental controls and interconnections to provide an overall motor drive system in a relatively compact form).
Regarding claim 16, Wei discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13). Further, Wei discloses (see figures 1-9) the rectifier assembly (figures 4, 12, 13 and 17, part rectifier assembly 2) and the inverter (figures 12 and 13, part inverter) are configured to be installed in separate locations (figures 12 and 13, part rectifier assembly 2 and inverter).
Regarding claim 17, Wei discloses (see figures 1-9) a system (figures 1-3) comprising: a structure (figures 1-3, part structure) comprising a mounting platform (figures 1-3, part mounting platform at 4), the mounting platform (figures 1-3, part mounting platform at 4) comprising a vent (figures 1-3, part 12) (paragraph [0047]; the vent 12); and a rectifier assembly (figure 4, part rectifier assembly 2) comprising: a mounting base (figures 17 and 18, part mounting base that received the rectification modules 20 at 2) comprising a mounting wall (figures 17 and 18, part mounting wall of mounting base that received the rectification modules 20 at 2), the mounting wall (figures 17 and 18, part mounting wall of mounting base that received the rectification modules 20 at 2) defining an opening that passes through the mounting wall (figures 17 and 18, part mounting wall of mounting base that received the rectification modules 20 at 2) and the mounting wall (figures 17 and 18, part mounting wall of mounting base that received the rectification modules 20 at 2) configured to attach to the mounting platform (figures 1-3, 17 and 18, part mounting platform at 4) with the opening overlapping the vent (figures 1-3, part 12); one or more rectification modules (figures 4 and 17, part rectification modules 20) configured to be received in the mounting base (figures 17 and 18, part mounting base that received the rectification modules 20 at 2) (paragraph [0049]; FIG. 17 further illustrates installation of three sets of upper and lower IGBT switching devices 20 into the interior 5 of the enclosure 4), each rectification module (figures 4 and 17, part rectification modules 20) comprising: an electronic network (figure 4, part S1-S6 and D1-D6) comprising one or more electronic elements (figure 4, part S1-S6 and D1-D6) configured to convert alternating current (AC) electrical power at an input (figure 4, part AC input at 16) of the rectification module (figures 4 and 17, part rectification modules 20) to direct current (DC) electrical power at an output (figure 4, part DC output at 18) of the rectification module (figures 4 and 17, part rectification modules 20) (paragraph [0031]; A switching circuit 20 is located within the interior 5 of the enclosure 4, and includes switching devices S1-S6 for selective conversion of AC input power to provide DC output power for active (switching) rectifier applications); and one or more active cooling elements (figures 3 and 16, part 14) mounted in the mounting base (figures 17 and 18, part mounting base that received the rectification modules 20 at 2), the active cooling elements (figures 3 and 16, part 14) configured to remove heat from the one or more rectification modules (figures 4 and 17, part rectification modules 20) by directing air over the one or more rectification modules (figures 4 and 17, part rectification modules 20) toward the at least one opening and out of the mounting base (figures 17 and 18, part mounting base that received the rectification modules 20 at 2) (paragraph [0039]; the provision of the blower fan assembly 14 in the interior 5 of the module 2 advantageously provides cooling).
Regarding claim 18, Wei discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17). Further, Wei discloses (see figures 1-9) the structure (figures 1-3, part structure) comprises a cabinet (paragraph [0038]; the power converter modules 2 as well as the other modules 44, 46 may be commonly housed in a single control cabinet in certain implementations, with suitable environmental controls and interconnections to provide an overall motor drive system in a relatively compact form), and the mounting platform (figures 1-3, part mounting platform at 4) comprises an interior wall of the cabinet (paragraph [0038]; the power converter modules 2 as well as the other modules 44, 46 may be commonly housed in a single control cabinet in certain implementations, with suitable environmental controls and interconnections to provide an overall motor drive system in a relatively compact form).
Regarding claim 19, Wei discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17). Further, Wei discloses (see figures 1-9) the one or more active cooling elements (figures 3 and 16, part 14) comprise fans (figures 3 and 16, part 14) (paragraph [0039]; the provision of the blower fan assembly 14 in the interior 5 of the module 2 advantageously provides cooling).
Regarding claim 20, Wei discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17). Further, Wei discloses (see figures 1-9) the rectifier assembly (figure 4, part rectifier assembly 2) further comprises one or more heat sinks (figure 17, part 21) (paragraph [0049]; IGBT heatsink structures 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US 2015/0098257), hereinafter Wei, in view of Loth (US 9,192,079).
Regarding claim 6, Wei discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Wei discloses (see figures 1-9) the mounting base (figures 17 and 18, part mounting base that received the rectification modules 20 at 2) comprises: a first sidewall (figures 1-3, 17 and 18, part first sidewall that received the rectification modules 20 at 2); a second sidewall (figures 1-3, 17 and 18, part second sidewall at back of 4); a third sidewall (figures 1-3, 17 and 18, part third sidewall at front F of 4) substantially parallel to the second sidewall (figures 1-3, 17 and 18, part second sidewall at back of 4); and a fourth sidewall (figures 1-3, 17 and 18, part fourth sidewall at lower side of 4) attached to the first sidewall (figures 1-3, 17 and 18, part first sidewall that received the rectification modules 20 at 2), the second sidewall (figures 1-3, 17 and 18, part second sidewall at back of 4), and the third sidewall (figures 1-3, 17 and 18, part third sidewall at front F of 4). However, Wei does not expressly disclose the first sidewall extends from the fourth sidewall at an angle that is less than 90 degrees.
Loth teaches (see figures 1-23) the first sidewall (figure 3, part incline first sidewall 70) extends from the fourth sidewall (figure 3, part horizontal fourth sidewall 70) at an angle that is less than 90 degrees (figure 3, part angle 80).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the mounting base of Wei with the angle features as taught by Loth and obtain the mounting base comprises: a first sidewall; a second sidewall; a third sidewall substantially parallel to the second sidewall; and a fourth sidewall attached to the first sidewall, the second sidewall, and the third sidewall, and wherein the first sidewall extends from the fourth sidewall at an angle that is less than 90 degrees, because it improves cooling arrangement which provides enhanced air flow characteristics and enhanced heat dissipation (column 1; lines 6-10).
Regarding claim 7, Wei and Loth teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6). Further, Wei discloses (see figures 1-9) one or more heat exchange assemblies (figure 17, part 21) (paragraph [0049]; IGBT heatsink structures 21), and wherein each heat exchange assembly (figure 17, part 21) is associated with one rectification module (figures 4 and 17, part rectification modules 20).
Regarding claim 8, Wei and Loth teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7). Further, Wei discloses (see figures 1-9) each heat exchange assembly (figures 16 and 17, part heat exchange assembly generated by 21 and 14) comprises a passive cooling element (figures 16 and 17, part 21) (paragraph [0049]; IGBT heatsink structures 21) and an active cooling element (figures 16 and 17, part 14), and wherein the active cooling element (figures 16 and 17, part 14) is configured to increase an amount of heat removed from the rectification module (figures 4, 16 and 17, part rectification modules 20) by the passive cooling element (figures 16 and 17, part 21) (paragraph [0039]; the provision of the blower fan assembly 14 in the interior 5 of the module 2 advantageously provides cooling).
Regarding claim 9, Wei and Loth teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8). Further, Wei discloses (see figures 1-9) each passive cooling element (figures 16 and 17, part 21) comprises a heat sink (figures 16 and 17, part 21) (paragraph [0049]; IGBT heatsink structures 21) and each rectification module (figures 4, 16 and 17, part rectification modules 20) is thermally coupled to one of the heat sinks (figures 16 and 17, part 21), and each active cooling element (figures 16 and 17, part 14) comprises a fan (figures 16 and 17, part 14) (paragraph [0039]; the provision of the blower fan assembly 14 in the interior 5 of the module 2 advantageously provides cooling).
Regarding claim 10, Wei and Loth teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9). Further, Wei discloses (see figures 1-9) air drawn by the fan (figures 16 and 17, part 14) toward the heat sinks (figures 16 and 17, part 21). However, Wei does not expressly disclose a baffle configured to direct air.
Loth teaches (see figures 1-23) a baffle (figure 3, part baffle at 70) configured to direct air (figure 3, part 76) drawn by the fan (figure 3, part angle 60) toward the heat sinks (figure 3, part 62) (columns 3 and 4; lines 67 and 1-3; Air entering the open passageway 68 is later forced up into the heatsink 62 by the air directing structure 70 at a location downstream from the control circuitry 50 and the SCRs 32, as illustrated by arrow 76).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the mounting base of Wei with the baffle features as taught by Loth and obtain a baffle configured to direct air drawn by the fan toward the heat sinks, because it improves cooling arrangement which provides enhanced air flow characteristics and enhanced heat dissipation (column 1; lines 6-10).
Regarding claim 12, Wei and Loth teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10). Further, Wei discloses (see figures 1-9) the mounting base (figures 17 and 18, part mounting base that received the rectification modules 20 at 2) comprises one or more mounting openings (figures 17 and 18, part opening of mounting base that received the rectification modules 20 at 2), the one or more mounting openings (figures 17 and 18, part opening of mounting base that received the rectification modules 20 at 2) configured to allow air (figures 16-18, part air from fan 14) directed to exit the mounting base (figures 17 and 18, part mounting base that received the rectification modules 20 at 2). However, Wei does not expressly disclose the baffle.
Loth teaches (see figures 1-23) allow air (figure 3, part 76) directed by the baffle to exit (figure 3, part baffle at 70).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the mounting base of Wei with the baffle features as taught by Loth and obtain the mounting base comprises one or more mounting openings, the one or more mounting openings configured to allow air directed by the baffle to exit the mounting base, because it improves cooling arrangement which provides enhanced air flow characteristics and enhanced heat dissipation (column 1; lines 6-10).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US 2015/0098257), hereinafter Wei, in view of Loth (US 9,192,079), and further in view of Swamy (US 2014/0313800).
Regarding claim 11, Wei and Loth teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10). Further, Wei discloses (see figures 1-9) the rectifier assembly (figures 12 and 13, part rectifier assembly 2) comprises two rectification modules (figures 4 and 17, part rectification modules 20), each of the two rectification modules (figures 4 and 17, part rectification modules 20) comprises six diodes (figures 4 and 17, part rectification modules 20). However, Wei does not expressly disclose three rectification modules, each of the three rectification modules comprises six diodes, and the total eighteen diodes form an 18-pulse rectifier.
Swamy teaches (see figures 1-11) the rectifier assembly (figures 1 and 4, part 16) comprises three rectification modules (figure 4, parts 38-40), each of the three rectification modules (figure 4, parts 38-40) comprises six diodes (figure 4, parts 38-40), and the total eighteen diodes form an 18-pulse rectifier (figures 1 and 4, part 16) (paragraph [0054]; The eighteen-pulse rectifier 16 comprises first, second and third conventional three-phase rectifiers 38, 39 and 40, respectively, each for converting AC power to DC power, as is well known).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the rectifier assembly of Wei with the 18-pulse rectifier features as taught by Swamy and obtain the rectifier assembly comprises three rectification modules, each of the three rectification modules comprises six diodes, and the total eighteen diodes form an 18-pulse rectifier, because it provides more robust and reliable power converter.
Conclusion
/C.O.R. /
Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838