DETAILED ACTION
Responsive to amendments filed 03/23/2026.
Claims 5, 14, and 23 were cancelled. Claims 1-4, 6-13, 15-22, and 24-30 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 03/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to the claims amendments, Applicant argues that the cited reference fails to disclose “receiving a second DCI that includes a dynamic TCI selection field that indicates whether the first unified TCI state or the second unified TCI state is applicable to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception starting from an application time after the second DCI”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Firstly, Applicant recites paragraph 0090 of the specification as filed as support for the amendment. Paragraph 0090 is replicated below:
[0090] In some implementations, when the UE is configured with the multiple TRP mode (e.g., with a unified TCI state for both the first TRP 510 and the second TRP 512) not all PDSCH assignments will use both indicated TCIs. For example, the base station 502 may determine to use a single TRP transmission of the PDSCH 540 from the first TRP 510. A DCI field in a DCI format 1_1/1_2 may be used to indicate which of the indicated joint/DL TCI state(s) the UE shall apply for PDSCH reception starting from an application time (if defined) after the DCI format 1_1/1_2. For instance, the DCI field may be the dynamic TCI selection field 660.
This paragraph does not appear to make any mention of a “second DCI”. This concept is referenced in relation to figure 8, and paragraph 0118. The paragraph makes reference to a UE operating in multi-TRP mode, that has received a DCI and a field in the DCI is used to indicate the UE the TCI state(s) to be applied to receive a scheduled PDSCH starting at an application time, if it has been defined. As best understood, in light of this, it appears that Applicant’s intends to make reference to the teachings of figure 8, for example, and not to the cited paragraph 0090. Proper clarification is respectfully requested.
Now with regards to the cited reference, a UE operating in multi-TRP mode receives multiple DCIs (see for example figures 1-3, 5-8 in the Provisional); where DCIs comprise MAC CE commands/codepoints that are used to indicate to the UE which TCI state(s) to apply to an upcoming PDSCH (page 3 - unified TCI state is indicated by a codepoint in transmission configuration indication field of DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 where a MAC CE command is used to provide codepoint mapping of up to 8 activated unified TCI states. Each of MAC CE codepoints can be mapped to either a joint DL/ULTCI state, or a pair of DL and ULTCI states, or a DL-only TCI state for separate DL/ULTCI states, or an UL-only TCI state for separate DL/ULTCI state; page 16 - a specific TRP would transmit non-UE dedicated PDSCH and that specific TRP is explicitly (i.e. through RRC/MAC CE/DCI) or implicitly indicated to a UE; page 17 - for a single DCI multi TRP transmission scheme, the indicated codepoints by MAC CE command can be either mapped to one TCI state or multiple TCI states to allow dynamic switching between single TRP and multi TRP transmissions), allowing dynamically switching between single and multi TCI (page 17 - for a single DCI multi TRP transmission scheme, the indicated codepoints by MAC CE command can be either mapped to one TCI state or multiple TCI states to allow dynamic switching between single TRP and multi TRP transmissions; schemes described in pages 19-24); and to the application being performed after a beam application time, which can be dictated by parameter “timeDurationForQCL” (page 6 - UE always follows the indicated unified TCI after a beam application time without any beam ambiguity; page 12 - the corresponding ACK transmission of that single DCI can be considered as the time reference to define application time of multi TRP TCI states update as at least Y symbols after the last symbol of that ACK. For multi DCI schemes, one potential solution may be to define new beam application time per TRP where the indicated TCI state of each TRP is applied at least Y symbols after the last symbol of its own corresponding ACK transmission; page 18 - the number of TCI states mapped to the indicated TCI codepoint of scheduling DCI may be an implicit identification to UE whether to use either previously indicated and currently active two TCI states (A,B) or previously indicated and currently active one TCI state (C) for the respective PDSCH 3 reception during the beam application time of this DCI 3). Thus, the reference is believed to meet the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13, 15-22, and 24-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shahmohammadian et al. (US Patent Application 2024/0040652; hereinafter Shahmohammadian; with support from Provisional Application 63/393,772 – citations below are from the Provisional).
Regarding claim 1 Shahmohammadian discloses a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a single downlink control information (DCI) for the UE that is configured with a first unified transmission configuration indication (TCI) state for a first transmit receive point (TRP) and second unified TCI state for a second TRP, wherein the DCI includes at least a first TCI field (page 9, lines 15-35, page 10, lines 3-7, page 19, 4-11; wherein in a single DCI scheme a UE is configured with a unified TCI state, with TCI/TRP association, wherein each TRP is associated with a TCI state);
updating a configuration of at least one of the first unified TCI state to a first updated unified TCI state or the second unified TCI state to a second updated unified TCI state based on the at least one TCI field (page 9, lines 37-39, pages 19-21; UE would separately update indicated unified TCI states of single TRP and multi TRP operations);
receive a second DCI that includes a dynamic TCI selection field that indicates whether the first unified TCI state or the second unified TCI state is applicable to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception starting from an application time after the second DCI (page 4 bottom paragraph; page 12; page 15; page 26, top paragraphs; application of the all multi TRP unified TCI states to all PDCCHs and PDSCHs reception would be based on RRC configuration; application of the indicated unified TCI state to PDCCH and the respective PDSCH reception may be determined per CORESET RRC configuration); and
communicating with at least one of the first TRP or the second TRP based on the first updated unified TCI state or the second updated unified TCI state (page 22, third paragraph; unified TCI states determination for PDSCH transmission, also applicable to PDCCH transmission).
Regarding claim 2 Shahmohammadian discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first TCI field is applicable to one of the first TRP or the second TRP (page 9, lines 15-35, page 10, lines 3-7, page 19, 4-11; TCI applicable to either TRP).
Regarding claim 3 Shahmohammadian discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the single DCI further includes a second field that associates the first TCI field to the one of the first TRP or the second TRP (page 10, lines 8-10; multiple TCI fields in the DCI (i.e. one TCI field per TRP) where each TRP's unified TCI state may be indicated by a separate codepoint in its corresponding TCI field of the DCI), wherein updating the configuration comprises updating only the first TCI state or the second TCI state associated with the first TCI field (page 9, lines 37-39, pages 19-21; UE would separately update indicated unified TCI states of single TRP and multi TRP operations).
Regarding claim 4 Shahmohammadian discloses the method of claim 3, wherein communicating with at least one of the first TRP or the second TRP comprises communicating with both the first TRP and the second TRP (page 13, lines 5-38, pages 23-24; multi TRP transmission).
Regarding claim 6 Shahmohammadian discloses the method of claim 1, wherein communicating with the at least one of the first TRP or the second TRP based on the first updated unified TCI state or the second updated unified TCI state comprises applying a default rule specified in a standards document, regulation, or RRC configuration to select the first unified TCI state, the second unified TCI state, or both for a PDSCH reception (page 4 bottom paragraph; page 12; page 15; page 26, top paragraphs; application of all multi TRP unified TCI states to all PDCCHs and PDSCHs reception would be based on RRC configuration; application of the indicated unified TCI state to PDCCH and the respective PDSCH reception may be determined per CORESET RRC configuration).
Regarding claim 7 Shahmohammadian discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the default rule indicates selecting both the first unified TCI state and the second unified TCI state in an absence of an indication of a single TCI state for the PDSCH reception (page 10; available TCI states indications in this scheme, with k bits per TCI field and two TRPs, the total of up to 22k possible combined codepoints can be signaled only for multi TRP transmission, in the absence of an “X” indicator for single TCI).
Regarding claim 8 Shahmohammadian discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the default rule indicates selection of a configured and activated codepoint with a lowest index value that is associated with two unified TCI states (page 13, pages 15-17, page 25; UE would apply TCI state of the lowest MAC CE codepoint among ones mapped to multiple unified TCI states).
Regarding claim 9 Shahmohammadian discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first unified TCI state or the second unified TCI state is applicable to both a control channel and a shared channel in an uplink direction, a downlink direction, or both the uplink direction and the downlink direction (page 8, page 10, page 13; PDSCH/PDCCH in joint UL/DL or DL or UL).
Regarding claim 10 Shahmohammadian discloses a method of wireless communication at a base station, comprising:
transmitting a single downlink control information (DCI) to a user equipment (UE) that is configured with a first unified transmission configuration indication (TCI) state for a first transmit receive point (TRP) and second unified TCI state for a second TRP, wherein the DCI includes at least a first TCI field (page 9, lines 15-35, page 10, lines 3-7, page 19, 4-11; wherein in a single DCI scheme a UE is configured with a unified TCI state, with TCI/TRP association, wherein each TRP is associated with a TCI state);
updating a configuration of the UE for at least one of the first unified TCI state to a first updated unified TCI state or the second unified TCI state to a second updated unified TCI state based on the at least one TCI field (page 9, lines 37-39, pages 19-21; UE would separately update indicated unified TCI states of single TRP and multi TRP operations);
transmitting a second DCI that includes a dynamic TCI selection field that indicates whether the first unified TCI state or the second unified TCI state is applicable to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception starting from an application time after the second DCI (page 4 bottom paragraph; page 12, top paragraph; page 15; page 26, top paragraphs; application of the all multi TRP unified TCI states to all PDCCHs and PDSCHs reception would be based on RRC configuration; application of the indicated unified TCI state to PDCCH and the respective PDSCH reception may be determined per CORESET RRC configuration); and
communicating with the UE via at least one of the first TRP or the second TRP based on the first updated unified TCI state or the second updated unified TCI state (page 22, third paragraph; unified TCI states determination for PDSCH transmission, also applicable to PDCCH transmission).
Regarding claim 11 Shahmohammadian discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the first TCI field is applicable to one of the first TRP or the second TRP (page 9, lines 15-35, page 10, lines 3-7, page 19, 4-11; TCI applicable to either TRP).
Regarding claim 12 Shahmohammadian discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the single DCI further includes a second field that associates the first TCI field to the one of the first TRP or the second TRP (page 10, lines 8-10; multiple TCI fields in the DCI (i.e. one TCI field per TRP) where each TRP's unified TCI state may be indicated by a separate codepoint in its corresponding TCI field of the DCI), wherein updating the configuration comprises updating only the first TCI state or the second TCI state associated with the first TCI field (page 9, lines 37-39, pages 19-21; UE would separately update indicated unified TCI states of single TRP and multi TRP operations).
Regarding claim 13 Shahmohammadian discloses the method of claim 12, wherein communicating with at least one of the first TRP or the second TRP comprises communicating via both the first TRP and the second TRP (page 13, lines 5-38, pages 23-24; multi TRP transmission).
Regarding claim 15 Shahmohammadian discloses the method of claim 10, wherein communicating via the at least one of the first TRP or the second TRP based on the first updated unified TCI state or the second updated unified TCI state comprises applying a default rule specified in a standards document, regulation, or RRC configuration to select the first unified TCI state, the updated unified TCI state, or both for a PDSCH reception (page 4 bottom paragraph; page 12, top paragraph; page 15; page 26, top paragraphs; application of the all multi TRP unified TCI states to all PDCCHs and PDSCHs reception would be based on RRC configuration; application of the indicated unified TCI state to PDCCH and the respective PDSCH reception may be determined per CORESET RRC configuration).
Regarding claim 16 Shahmohammadian discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the default rule indicates selecting both the first unified TCI state and the second unified TCI state in an absence of an indication of a single TCI state for the PDSCH reception (page 10; available TCI states indications in this scheme, with k bits per TCI field and two TRPs, the total of up to 22k possible combined codepoints can be signaled only for multi TRP transmission, in the absence of an “X” indicator for single TCI).
Regarding claim 17 Shahmohammadian discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the default rule indicates selection of a configured and activated codepoint with a lowest index value that is associated with two unified TCI states (page 13, pages 15-17, page 25; UE would apply TCI state of the lowest MAC CE codepoint among ones mapped to multiple unified TCI states).
Regarding claim 18 Shahmohammadian discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the unified TCI state is applicable to both a control channel and a shared channel in an uplink direction, a downlink direction, or both the uplink direction and the downlink direction (page 8, page 10, page 13; PDSCH/PDCCH in joint UL/DL or DL or UL).
Regarding claim 19 Shahmohammadian discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories, individually or in combination, storing computer-executable instructions (UE 1901 as seen in figure 19 of the printed publication, memory 1930, program 1940); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and (processor 1920 as seen in figure 19 of the printed publication), individually or in combination, configured to:
receive a single downlink control information (DCI) for the UE that is configured with a first unified transmission configuration indication (TCI) state for a first transmit receive point (TRP) and second unified TCI state for a second TRP, wherein the DCI includes at least a first TCI field (page 9, lines 15-35, page 10, lines 3-7, page 19, 4-11; wherein in a single DCI scheme a UE is configured with a unified TCI state, with TCI/TRP association, wherein each TRP is associated with a TCI state);
update a configuration of at least one of the first unified TCI state to a first updated unified TCI state or the second unified TCI state to a second updated unified TCI state based on the at least one TCI field (page 9, lines 37-39, pages 19-21; UE would separately update indicated unified TCI states of single TRP and multi TRP operations);
receive a second DCI that includes a dynamic TCI selection field that indicates whether the first unified TCI state or the second unified TCI state is applicable to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception starting from an application time after the second DCI (page 4 bottom paragraph; page 12, top paragraph; page 15; page 26, top paragraphs; application of the all multi TRP unified TCI states to all PDCCHs and PDSCHs reception would be based on RRC configuration; application of the indicated unified TCI state to PDCCH and the respective PDSCH reception may be determined per CORESET RRC configuration); and
communicate with at least one of the first TRP or the second TRP based on the first updated unified TCI state or the second updated unified TCI state (page 22, third paragraph; unified TCI states determination for PDSCH transmission, also applicable to PDCCH transmission).
Regarding claim 20 Shahmohammadian discloses the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the first TCI field is applicable to one of the first TRP or the second TRP (page 9, lines 15-35, page 10, lines 3-7, page 19, 4-11; TCI applicable to either TRP).
Regarding claim 21 Shahmohammadian discloses the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the single DCI further includes a second field that associates the first TCI field to the one of the first TRP or the second TRP (page 10, lines 8-10; multiple TCI fields in the DCI (i.e. one TCI field per TRP) where each TRP's unified TCI state may be indicated by a separate codepoint in its corresponding TCI field of the DCI), wherein updating the configuration comprises updating only the first TCI state or the second TCI state associated with the first TCI field (page 9, lines 37-39, pages 19-21; UE would separately update indicated unified TCI states of single TRP and multi TRP operations).
Regarding claim 22 Shahmohammadian discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein communicating with at least one of the first TRP or the second TRP comprises communicating with both the first TRP and the second TRP (page 13, lines 5-38, pages 23-24; multi TRP transmission).
Regarding claim 24 Shahmohammadian discloses the apparatus of claim 19, wherein to communicate with the at least one of the first TRP or the second TRP based on the first updated unified TCI state or the second updated unified TCI state, the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are configured to apply a default rule specified in a standards document, regulation, or RRC configuration to select the first unified TCI state, the second unified TCI state, or both for a PDSCH reception (page 4 bottom paragraph; page 12, top paragraph; page 15; page 26, top paragraphs; application of the all multi TRP unified TCI states to all PDCCHs and PDSCHs reception would be based on RRC configuration; application of the indicated unified TCI state to PDCCH and the respective PDSCH reception may be determined per CORESET RRC configuration).
Regarding claim 25 Shahmohammadian discloses the apparatus of claim 24, wherein the default rule indicates selecting both the first unified TCI state and the second unified TCI state in an absence of an indication of a single TCI state for the PDSCH reception (page 10; available TCI states indications in this scheme, with k bits per TCI field and two TRPs, the total of up to 22k possible combined codepoints can be signaled only for multi TRP transmission, in the absence of an “X” indicator for single TCI).
Regarding claim 26 Shahmohammadian discloses the apparatus of claim 25, wherein the default rule indicates selection of a configured and activated codepoint with a lowest index value that is associated with two unified TCI states (page 13, pages 15-17, page 25; UE would apply TCI state of the lowest MAC CE codepoint among ones mapped to multiple unified TCI states).
Regarding claim 27 Shahmohammadian discloses the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the first unified TCI state or the second unified TCI state is applicable to both a control channel and a shared channel in an uplink direction, a downlink direction, or both the uplink direction and the downlink direction (page 8, page 10, page 13; PDSCH/PDCCH in joint UL/DL or DL or UL).
Regarding claim 28 Shahmohammadian discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising:
one or more memories, individually or in combination, storing computer-executable instructions (base station 2010 as seen in figure 20 of the printed publication); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (base station 2010 as seen in figure 20 of the printed publication) and configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to:
transmit a single downlink control information (DCI) to a user equipment (UE) that is configured with a first unified transmission configuration indication (TCI) state for a first transmit receive point (TRP) and second unified TCI state for a second TRP, wherein the DCI includes at least a first TCI field (page 9, lines 15-35, page 10, lines 3-7, page 19, 4-11; wherein in a single DCI scheme a UE is configured with a unified TCI state, with TCI/TRP association, wherein each TRP is associated with a TCI state);
update a configuration of the UE for at least one of the first unified TCI state to a first updated unified TCI state or the second unified TCI state to a second updated unified TCI state based on the at least one TCI field (page 9, lines 37-39, pages 19-21; UE would separately update indicated unified TCI states of single TRP and multi TRP operations);
transmit a second DCI that includes a dynamic TCI selection field that indicates whether the first unified TCI state or the second unified TCI state is applicable to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception starting from an application time after the second DCI (page 4 bottom paragraph; page 12, top paragraph; page 15; page 26, top paragraphs; application of the all multi TRP unified TCI states to all PDCCHs and PDSCHs reception would be based on RRC configuration; application of the indicated unified TCI state to PDCCH and the respective PDSCH reception may be determined per CORESET RRC configuration); and
communicate with the UE via at least one of the first TRP or the second TRP based on the first updated unified TCI state or the second updated unified TCI state (page 22, third paragraph; unified TCI states determination for PDSCH transmission, also applicable to PDCCH transmission).
Regarding claim 29 Shahmohammadian discloses the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the first TCI field is applicable to one of the first TRP or the second TRP (page 9, lines 15-35, page 10, lines 3-7, page 19, 4-11; TCI applicable to either TRP), wherein the single DCI further includes a second field that associates the first TCI field to the one of the first TRP or the second TRP (page 10, lines 8-10; multiple TCI fields in the DCI (i.e. one TCI field per TRP) where each TRP's unified TCI state may be indicated by a separate codepoint in its corresponding TCI field of the DCI), and wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are configured to: update only the first TCI state or the second TCI state associated with the first TCI field; and communicate via both the first TRP and the second TRP (page 9, lines 37-39, pages 19-21; UE would separately update indicated unified TCI states of single TRP and multi TRP operations).
Regarding claim 30 Shahmohammadian discloses the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are configured to apply a default rule specified in a standards document, regulation, or RRC configuration to select both the first unified TCI state and the second unified TCI state in an absence of an indication of a single TCI state for a PDSCH reception (page 4 bottom paragraph; page 12, top paragraph; page 15; page 26, top paragraphs; application of the all multi TRP unified TCI states to all PDCCHs and PDSCHs reception would be based on RRC configuration; application of the indicated unified TCI state to PDCCH and the respective PDSCH reception may be determined per CORESET RRC configuration).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
R4-2120226, “Email discussion summary for [100][231] feMIMO RRM” – which discloses Unified TCI, TCI switching, among other concepts.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/Aixa Guadalupe-Cruz/
Examiner
Art Unit 2466