DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I, claims 1-16 and 20, in the reply filed on May 8, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a single search could encompass both sets of claims from Species I and Species II. This is not found persuasive because claims which inventions defined by different limitations require different search strategies and the time required to consider the relevancy of a collection of references increases proportionally as a result.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 11, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Duan et al. (hereinafter “Duan”) (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0253442 A1).
The applied reference has a common inventor and common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Duan teaches a battery pack 40 in which a first coolant plate 93 is arranged on a second surface 69 of each of a plurality of energy storage cells 54 (right battery cells) and a second coolant plate 95 is arranged on a first surface 80 of each a second plurality energy storage cells 55 (left battery cells). The first coolant plate 93 includes a first substantially planar surface 99 (right face plate) and a second, curvilinear surface 102 (right coolant channel cover plate). The first substantially planar surface 99 is secured to each of the first plurality of energy storage cells 54 through a first adhesive member 103 (right TIM). The first coolant plate 93 includes a first coolant channel 104 (right coolant channel) that extends between a first end 106 arranged at first header 44 and a second end 108 arranged at second header 46 (see paragraph 42; FIGS. 2 and 3).
The second coolant plate 95 includes a first, substantially planar surface section 112 (left face plate) and a second, curvilinear surface section 114 (left coolant channel cover plate) that abuts the second, curvilinear surface 102 of the first coolant plate 93. The first surface section 112 is secured to each of the second plurality of energy storage cells 55 through a second adhesive member 115 (left TIM). The second coolant plate 95 includes a second coolant channel 116 (left coolant channel) that extends between a first end section 118 arranged at first header 44 and a second end section 120 arranged at second header 46 (see paragraph 43).
Regarding claims 2, 6, 7 and 11, Duan teaches that a first coolant inlet conduit 122 extends through first header 44 (top structural channel) and is fluidically connected to first coolant channel 104 at first end 106 (right coolant inlet disposed at proximal end of the right face plate). A first coolant outlet conduit 123 extends through first header 44 and is fluidically connected to second coolant channel 116 at 102 first end section 118 (right coolant outlet disposed at a distal end of the right face plate) (see paragraph 44). A second coolant inlet conduit 124 extends through second header 46 (bottom structural channel) and is fluidically connected to second coolant channel 116 at second end section 120 (left coolant inlet disposed at a proximal end of the left face plate). A second coolant outlet conduit 125 extends through second header 46 and is fluidically connected to second end 108 (left coolant outlet disposed at a distal end of the left face plate) (see paragraph 45).
Regarding claim 3, as illustrated in FIG. 4 of Duan, the curvilinear surfaces 102, 114 of the first and second coolant plates 93, 95 provide each coolant plate with a C- shaped cross section.
Regarding claim 14, Duan teaches that gaps 130 between the first coolant plate 93 and second coolant plate 95 can accommodate an amount of compression developed through operation of battery pack 40 by allowing an amount of deformation of the first and second curvilinear surfaces 102, 114 (see paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 20, Duan teaches that the battery pack 40 may be provided as part of a rechargeable energy storage system 38 of a vehicle 10 (see paragraphs 36 and 37).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10, 12, 13, 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 116646651 A to Chen et al. teaches a liquid cooling plate arranged between a plurality of battery cells 50, wherein the liquid cooling plate includes a liquid cooling plate main body 10 divided into a first cooling cavity 31, a second cooling cavity 32, and a third cooling cavity 33. The first cooling cavity 31 and the second cooling cavity 32 have a curved, arc-shaped structure.
/STEPHAN J ESSEX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727