Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the L3 defined between the first bar junction 132 and second rearmost junction 154 in the claims (claim 3+ & [0026] of written specification) (L3 is shown in figure 3A as between 150 & 154) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the work machine linkage assembly", “the angle”, “the rear portion” in line 1 and “the boom and fore portion” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
It is assumed applicant meant for this claim to depend from another claim.
For sake of examination the claims are interpreted as shown in the art rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6,11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over England (US 8,459,927).
Re claim 1, England teaches (figures 8-10) a work machine 2 comprising: a frame 500 extending longitudinally; a ground-engaging unit 506,508 supporting the frame; an operator cab 700 coupled to the frame; an attachment coupler (shown in figure 10); a boom 600 is pivotally coupled to the attachment coupler at a forward portion of the boom, the boom extending longitudinally and configured to move the attachment coupler from a first position to a second position relative to the frame along a lift path; and a boom lift assembly 602,606,608 coupling a rear portion of the boom to the frame, the boom lift assembly guiding the boom to move the attachment coupler along the lift path, wherein the boom lift assembly includes a [bar] connection area extending longitudinally and connected to the rear portion of the frame, the [bar] connection area having a first bar junction L forward of a second bar junction K, the first bar junction L and the second bar junction K at opposing ends of the [bar] connection area; a lower link 606 extending rearward of the second bar junction K, a first lower link end pivotally coupled to the frame at the second bar junction, a second lower link end pivotally coupled to a rearmost boom junction J; a first distance being defined between the second bar junction K and the rearmost boom junction J; an upper link 602 extending rearward of the first bar junction K, a first upper link end coupled to the frame at an upper link junction H located above the [bar] connection area and between the first bar junction and the second bar junction (as viewed radially about front ground engaging element 506 in figure 10, etc.), a second upper link end pivotally coupled to the boom at a second rearmost boom junction I; and an actuator 608 extending rearward of the first bar junction, a first actuator end pivotally coupled to the frame at the first bar junction L, a second actuator end pivotally coupled to the boom at a third rearmost boom junction M.
Although the embodiment (figures 8-10) does not show the connection area being a bar, the first embodiment teaches this (106, figures 1-3; column 3, lines 25-35) in order to create a connection area of any desired shape that is sufficiently strong for loads placed on it. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified England as claimed in order to create a connection area of any desired shape that is sufficiently strong for loads placed on it and to increase longevity & maintainability.
Re claim 2, England teaches (figures 8-10) a second distance being defined as between the rearmost boom junction and the second rearmost boom junction, a length ratio of the second distance to the first distance appears to be around 0.2 to 0.3 but is not specifically numbered. However, optimization of parameters is already known to be obvious for creating compact size, increased power, etc. (MPEP 2144, In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438, 4 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1929); KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007); Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1848 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified England as claimed in order to create a desired compact size, increased power and/or best operate in a desired operating area / situation.
Re claim 3, England teaches (figures 8-10) a third distance being defined as between the first bar junction and the second rearmost junction, the length ratio of the third distance to the first distance is in a length ratio range that appears to be around 1.1 and 1.2 but is not specifically numbered. However, optimization of parameters is already known to be obvious for creating compact size, increased power, etc. (MPEP 2144, In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438, 4 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1929); KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007); Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1848 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified England as claimed in order to create compact size, increased power and/or best operate in a desired operating area / situation.
Re claim 4, England teaches (figures 8-10) a fourth distance being defined as between the upper link junction and the second bar junction, the length ratio of the fourth distance to the first distance is in the length ratio range that appears to be around 0.4 and 0.5 but is not specifically numbered. However, optimization of parameters is already known to be obvious for creating compact size, increased power, etc. (MPEP 2144, In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438, 4 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1929); KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007); Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1848 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified England as claimed in order to create compact size, increased power and/or best operate in a desired operating area / situation.
Re claim 5, England teaches (figures 8-10) the operator cab is forwardly biased away from a frame center.
Re claims 6,13,16, England teaches (figures 8-10) the boom and the boom lift assembly are mirrored across a longitudinal centerline of the frame, and a support bar 620 transversely oriented from the longitudinal centerline and couples the [lower] links of a left boom lift assembly and a right boom lift assembly. England does not state that the support bar connects the lower links specifically but does state the support bar connects any positions desired to provide rigidity (column 7, lines 35-41) in the lift assemblies. Also rearrangement of parts is known to be obvious (MPEP 2144; In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified England as claimed in order to provide a desired rigidity to handle a given environment / situational need.
Re claims 11,14,17, England teaches (figures 8-10) the angle between the rear portion of the boom and fore portion of the boom appears to be at least 150 degrees but is not specifically numbered. However, optimization of parameters is already known to be obvious for creating compact size, increased power, etc. (MPEP 2144, In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438, 4 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1929); KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007); Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1848 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified England as claimed in order to create compact size, increased power and/or best operate in a desired operating area / situation.
Re claims 12,15, England teaches (figures 8-10) a work machine 2 & its linkage assembly comprising: a frame 500 extending longitudinally; a ground-engaging unit 506,508 supporting the frame; an operator cab 700 coupled to the frame; an attachment coupler (shown in figure 10); a boom 600 is pivotally coupled to the attachment coupler at a forward portion of the boom, the boom extending longitudinally and configured to move the attachment coupler from a first position to a second position relative to the frame along a lift path; and a boom lift assembly 602,606,608 coupling a rear portion of the boom to the frame, the boom lift assembly guiding the boom to move the attachment coupler along the lift path, wherein the boom lift assembly includes a [bar] connection area extending longitudinally and connected to the rear portion of the frame, the [bar] connection area having a first bar junction L forward of a second bar junction K, the first bar junction L and the second bar junction K at opposing ends of the [bar] connection area; a lower link 606 extending rearward of the second bar junction K, a first lower link end pivotally coupled to the frame at the second bar junction, a second lower link end pivotally coupled to a rearmost boom junction J; a first distance being defined between the second bar junction K and the rearmost boom junction J; an upper link 602 extending rearward of the first bar junction K, a first upper link end coupled to the frame at an upper link junction H located above the [bar] connection area and between the first bar junction and the second bar junction (as viewed radially about front ground engaging element 506 in figure 10, etc.), a second upper link end pivotally coupled to the boom at a second rearmost boom junction I; and an actuator 608 extending rearward of the first bar junction, a first actuator end pivotally coupled to the frame at the first bar junction L, a second actuator end pivotally coupled to the boom at a third rearmost boom junction M.
Although the embodiment (figures 8-10) does not show the connection area being a bar, the first embodiment teaches this (106, figures 1-3; column 3, lines 25-35) in order to create a connection area of any desired shape that is sufficiently strong for loads placed on it. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified England as claimed in order to create a connection area of any desired shape that is sufficiently strong for loads placed on it and to increase longevity & maintainability.
England appears to teach (figures 8-10) the length ratios around the figures claimed but does not specifically number these. However, optimization of parameters is already known to be obvious for creating compact size, increased power, etc. (MPEP 2144, In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438, 4 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1929); KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007); Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1848 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified England as claimed in order to create compact size, increased power and/or best operate in a desired operating area / situation.
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over England (US 8,459,927) in view of Haar (US 2014/0158440).
Re claims 7-10, England teaches the ground-engaging unit may comprise track, chains and related drive components as needed (column 6, lines 21-30). Duplication and rearrangement of parts is already known to be obvious in the art (MPEP 2144, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960); In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) ). Also Haar teaches (figure 1) work machines 10 are known to have track chains 16 about an outer periphery of a track frame (figure 1, not numbered) with idler wheels 14,78,48, & an elevated rear drive sprocket 36. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified England in view of known components such as found in Haar as claimed in order to allow having ground engaging units best suited to a desired working environment with the associated power, traction and spacing to best handle mud and other given environmental conditions of the desired work environment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Deneve teaches a work machine and linkage assembly with length ratios and other parameters optimized for performance, visibility and design requirements of given situational needs (column 10, lines 5-25).
MICHAEL S. LOWE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3652
/MICHAEL S LOWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652