DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kogan et al. (2018/0150387).
Regarding claim 1, Kogan discloses a 1.A method, comprising: launching, on an artificial-reality head-mounted device worn by a user, a virtual mobile application on a virtual mobile device in a virtual environment, wherein the virtual mobile application is a virtual representation of a mobile application that is (a) native to an operating system of a physical mobile device and (b) executing on a virtual machine for the operating system (see fig.1, elements 110, 120, fig.2, elements 230, 234, 232, paragraphs [0009], [0011-0013], [0017], [0031-0032], [0035-0036], and its description); receiving sensor data from the artificial-reality head-mounted device, the sensor data corresponding to an instruction, performed by the user in a three-dimensional space, which instructs the virtual mobile application (see fig.1, element 140/100, paragraphs [0011], [0014], [0017] and its description); generating, based on the sensor data, mobile-application-compatible data corresponding to the instruction, the mobile-application-compatible data comprising emulated touch-screen events supported by the operating system (see paragraphs [0014], [0031]); transmitting the mobile-application-compatible data to the mobile application executing on the virtual machine to cause the mobile application to render a frame corresponding to an output of the mobile application in response to the mobile-application-compatible data (see fig,2, elements 230, 236/234, paragraphs [0030-0032], and its description); and outputting, by the artificial-reality head-mounted device, a virtual representation of the frame for display on the virtual mobile device (see fig,2, elements 230, 236/234, paragraphs [0011-0013], [0035-0036], [0040-0043] and its description).
Regarding claim 2, Kogan further discloses wherein said receiving sensor data from the artificial-reality head-mounted device comprises one or more of: receiving, from one or more image sensors, data corresponding to a position, movement, or gesture of a hand or finger of the user (see paragraph [0026]); receiving, from one or more sensors of a hand-held controller associated with the artificial-reality head-mounted device, one or more of: position data, orientation data, gesture data, or button activation data associated with a button, trigger, or joystick of the hand-held controller(see paragraph [0026]); or receiving, from one or more audio sensors, audio data from a user corresponding to an action on mobile device (see paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 3, Kogan further discloses wherein said receiving sensor data from the artificial-reality head-mounted device comprises receiving data indicating a location on the virtual mobile application intersected by the hand-held controller, hand, or finger (see fig.2, element 232, paragraphs [0035-0036] and its description).
Regarding claim 4, Kogan further comprising: receiving text data input by the user on a native virtual keyboard of the artificial-reality head-mounted device (see fig.2, elements 230, 232, 235 paragraph [0031] and its description); and transmitting the text data to the mobile application (see paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 5, Kogan further discloses wherein the mobile-application-compatible data comprises one or more of: a tap event, swipe event, or pinch event (see paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 9, Kogan further comprising: upon a determination that the user is within a predetermined distance from the physical mobile device, transmitting, to the artificial-reality head-mounted device of the user, an invitation to launch the virtual mobile device (see fig.2 elements 230, 232, paragraphs [0030-0032] and its description); and upon receiving a request from the user to launch the virtual mobile device, launching the virtual mobile device on the artificial-reality head-mounted device of the user (see fig.2 elements 234/232, paragraphs [0036-0037] and its description).
Regarding claim 10, Kogan further comprising: in response to a determination that the mobile application received a notification, launching, on the artificial-reality head-mounted device, the virtual mobile application on the virtual mobile device and display a virtual representation of the notification (see fig.2 elements 234/232, 236/232, paragraphs [0036-0037], [0040] and its description).
Regarding claim 11, Kogan further discloses wherein the virtual machine executing the mobile application is on a server (see fig.1, paragraph [0009], [0011] and its description).
Regarding claim 12, 15 and 19, Kogan further comprising: registering the artificial-reality head-mounted device with the physical mobile device (see fig.2, elements 230, 234 and its description); identifying a plurality of mobile applications installed on the physical mobile device; and displaying icons associated with the plurality of mobile applications on the virtual mobile device (see fig.1, elements 122-130/120, paragraphs [0011-0012] and its description).
Regarding claim 13, 16-17 Kogan further discloses wherein said launching of the virtual mobile application on the virtual mobile device is triggered by a detection of a user selection of one of the icons associated with the mobile application (see fig.1, elements 140, paragraphs [0017-0018] and its description).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Kogan discloses all the subject matters described above. However, Kogan fails to explicitly or implicitly teach or disclose all the limitations cited in depended claims 6-8 and 20.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20230291740-A1
US-20180293041-A1
UNITED STATES PATENT AND TRADEMARK OFFICE
/CONGVAN TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647