DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action responds to the Application filed on 11/01/2023 and IDS filed on 11/01/2023. Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krucinski et al. (U.S. 2020/0369167 A1).
As per claim 1, Krucinski discloses:
A method for operating a charging station configured to charge a traction battery of a motor vehicle with electric energy, the method comprising:
detecting by at least one sensor a displacement of a charging cable of the charging station and/or a position of a user of the charging station making use of the charging cable (See Para [0050], i.e. based on a determination of the direction(s) the user is at least attempting and/or intending to displace the charging connector 110 via information provided through the user's interaction with the input device 206, or sensors 206… force sensor(s) 206, to the controller 208 can also be used to determine a duration that the actuator(s) 200a, 200b is/are to be actuated and/or the distance that the suspension arm 114 is to be displaced about the post joint 150 and/or arm joint 172); and
moving a charging arm of the charging station in a motorized manner in the direction of the displacement of the charging cable and/or in the direction of the position of the user (See Figure 8 & Para [0050], i.e. the degree of force and/or duration of time that the user exerts at least a predetermined level of force on the sensors 206 can be used by the controller 208 to determine, or otherwise predict, the extent, degree, and/or duration that the actuator(s) 200a, 200b is/are to be actuated to displace the suspension arm 114 along the post joint 150 and/or arm joint 172), wherein the charging cable is held by the charging arm of the charging station (See Figure 8, i.e. cable 108 is held by arm 114, See Para [0042]-[0050]).
As per claim 2, Krucinski discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above wherein Krucinski also discloses wherein the charging arm travels in a linear motion along at least one displacement axis and/or is rotated about at least one axis of rotation (See Figure 8, i.e. rotate at 150, See Para [0042]-[0050], i.e. suspension arm 114 can pivotally coupled to the post joint 150 and/or the support post 112 such that the entire suspension arm 114 can pivot or rotate in a direction that at least adjusts the vertical distance between the second end 118b of the suspension arm 114 and the ground 176).
As per claim 3, Krucinski discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above wherein Krucinski also discloses wherein the displacement of the charging cable occurs relative to a base device of the charging station, and wherein the charging cable is electrically connected to the base device (See Figure 8 & Para [0050], i.e. the degree of force and/or duration of time that the user exerts at least a predetermined level of force on the sensors 206 can be used by the controller 208 to determine, or otherwise predict, the extent, degree, and/or duration that the actuator(s) 200a, 200b is/are to be actuated to displace the suspension arm 114 along the post joint 150 and/or arm joint 172).
As per claim 4, Krucinski discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above wherein Krucinski also discloses wherein the at least one sensor is selected from the group consisting of a force sensor, a torque sensor, an acceleration sensor, a strain sensor, a position sensor and an optical sensor (See Para [0050], i.e. based on a determination of the direction(s) the user is at least attempting and/or intending to displace the charging connector 110 via information provided through the user's interaction with the input device 206, or sensors 206… force sensor(s) 206, to the controller 208 can also be used to determine a duration that the actuator(s) 200a, 200b is/are to be actuated and/or the distance that the suspension arm 114 is to be displaced about the post joint 150 and/or arm joint 172)
As per claim 5, Krucinski discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above wherein Krucinski also discloses wherein the at least one sensor is arranged on any of the charging arm, the charging cable and the base device (See Figure 8, i.e. 148a & 148b & Figure 9, i.e. sensor 206 within 110 & Para [0050], i.e. a force sensor(s) 206, to the controller 208 can also be used to determine a duration that the actuator(s) 200a, 200b is/are to be actuated and/or the distance that the suspension arm 114 is to be displaced about the post joint 150 and/or arm joint 172).
As per claim 6, Krucinski discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above wherein Krucinski also discloses changing the length of a region of the charging cable protruding beyond the charging arm based on the displacement of the charging cable and/or the position of the user (See Para [0033], i.e. the charging cable 108 can have a sufficient length to accommodate at least some movement of the charging connector 110 as the user displaces…Moreover, such swinging displacement can accommodate displacement of the charging connector 110 and suspended portion of the charging cable 108 in generally circular, non-circular, linear, and non-linear directions, as well as movement simultaneously along a plurality of axes, including simultaneously along at three axes of movement).
As per claim 8, Krucinski discloses:
A charging station for charging a traction battery of a motor vehicle with electric energy, the charging station comprising:
a charging arm (See Figure 8, i.e. 114); and
a charging cable, the charging cable held by the charging arm of the charging station (See Figure 8, i.e. cable 108 & arm 114),
wherein the charging station is configured to detect, by at least one sensor, a displacement of the charging cable and/or a position of a user of the charging station making use of the charging cable (See Para [0050], i.e. based on a determination of the direction(s) the user is at least attempting and/or intending to displace the charging connector 110 via information provided through the user's interaction with the input device 206, or sensors 206… force sensor(s) 206, to the controller 208 can also be used to determine a duration that the actuator(s) 200a, 200b is/are to be actuated and/or the distance that the suspension arm 114 is to be displaced about the post joint 150 and/or arm joint 172)
and to move the charging arm in a motorized manner in the direction of the displacement of the charging cable and/or in the direction of the position of the user (See Figure 8 & Para [0050], i.e. the degree of force and/or duration of time that the user exerts at least a predetermined level of force on the sensors 206 can be used by the controller 208 to determine, or otherwise predict, the extent, degree, and/or duration that the actuator(s) 200a, 200b is/are to be actuated to displace the suspension arm 114 along the post joint 150 and/or arm joint 172).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krucinski et al. (U.S. 2020/0369167 A1) in view of MacDonald (U.S. Pat. No. 11,975,625 B2).
As per claim 7, Krucinski discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above.
Krucinski does not teach: holding the charging arm in a starting position by a locking device.
However, MacDonald teach: holding the charging arm in a starting position by a locking device (See Col 4; Lines 4-18, i.e. a secure stow away of the cable when not in use preventing access to unauthorised users, See Figure 2-5 & Col 9; Lines 14-35, See Col 6; Line 1 to Col 7; Line 53, See Col 8; Lines 62-67, i.e. The housing 60 is arranged to enclose the cable support 10 such that the elongate supporting structure 40, the boom arm 20 and the slidable pivot 30 are enclosed within the housing 60 when the boom arm 20 is stowed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the
art at the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of MacDonald
into the teaching of Krucinski because it would allow for the vehicle charger to be
compact form that have minimum impact on the usage on the land they are installed
(See Col 1; Lines 20-45).
7. Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacDonald (U.S. Pat. No. 11,975,625 B2) in view of Krucinski et al. (U.S. 2020/0369167 A1).
As per claim 9, MacDonald discloses:
A building arrangement comprising
a wall (See Figure 1, i.e. charging equipment locate on wall mounted & Col 5; Lines 15-29, i.e. cable support 10 is located on the front wall of a building and the vehicle is located on the street ) and a charging station arranged on the wall for the charging of a traction battery of a motor vehicle with electric energy (See Figure 1, i.e. charging equipment locate on wall mounted, Col 5; Lines 15-49, i.e. cable support 10 is located on the front wall of a building and the vehicle is located on the street… able 70 comprises an electrical supply cable which is used to supply electricity from a charging point to a vehicle, for example, an electric vehicle (EV). In some embodiments, the electricity supplied is used to charge internal batteries)
, wherein the charging station comprises a charging arm (See Figures 1-15, i.e. charge arm 20 and cable 70 & Col 6; Lines 18-28, i.e. cable support 10 comprises a boom arm 20 for supporting a cable 70) and a charging cable (See Figures 1-15, i.e. charge arm 20 and cable 70 & Col 6; Lines 18-28, i.e. cable support 10 comprises a boom arm 20 for supporting a cable 70), the charging cable held by the charging arm of the charging station (See Figures 1-15, i.e. charge arm 20 and cable 70 & Col 6; Lines 18-28, i.e. cable support 10 comprises a boom arm 20 for supporting a cable 70).
MacDonald does not teach: wherein the charging station is configured to detect, by at least one sensor, a displacement of the charging cable and/or a position of a user of the charging station making use of the charging cable and to move the charging arm in motorized manner in the direction of the displacement of the charging cable and/or in the direction of the position of the user.
However, Krucinski teach: wherein the charging station is configured to detect, by at least one sensor, a displacement of the charging cable and/or a position of a user of the charging station making use of the charging cable (See Para [0050], i.e. based on a determination of the direction(s) the user is at least attempting and/or intending to displace the charging connector 110 via information provided through the user's interaction with the input device 206, or sensors 206… force sensor(s) 206, to the controller 208 can also be used to determine a duration that the actuator(s) 200a, 200b is/are to be actuated and/or the distance that the suspension arm 114 is to be displaced about the post joint 150 and/or arm joint 172) and to move the charging arm in motorized manner in the direction of the displacement of the charging cable and/or in the direction of the position of the user (See Figure 8 & Para [0050], i.e. the degree of force and/or duration of time that the user exerts at least a predetermined level of force on the sensors 206 can be used by the controller 208 to determine, or otherwise predict, the extent, degree, and/or duration that the actuator(s) 200a, 200b is/are to be actuated to displace the suspension arm 114 along the post joint 150 and/or arm joint 172).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the
art at the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Krucinski
into the teaching of MacDonald because it would assist user to move heavy charge
cable and maneuver the cable into position for charging a vehicle (See Para [0003]).
As per claim 10, MacDonald and Krucinski discloses all of the features of claim 9 as discloses above wherein MacDonald also discloses wherein the charging arm is received in a recess formed in the wall in at least one position (See Figure 15 & Col 10; Lines 11-16, i.e. pipe is twin-walled, in which case, the pipe 200 has an interior inner cavity 201 (for example, through which water can flow) which is separated by an inner wall from an outer cavity 211 within which the cable 70 and/or support structure is located).
Conclusion
/NHA T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851