DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson et al (US 2017/0092054) in view of Kreloff et al (US 2008/0096659) and Steam (with reliance on Steam Support :: Steam Guard Mobile Authenticator).
Re claim 1, Petersen discloses a system comprising: a processor circuit and memory (fig. 4, 1010 and 1016) causing the processor circuit to: obtain, by a mobile player device associated with a player (fig. 2B, 10), site controller information from a local site controller associated with a video lottery terminal (par. [0122], mobile device 10 communicates with the EGM 50 via Wi-Fi or Bluetooth, with the EGM operating with management system 60 to communicate data from servers 70, 80, and 90);
transmit, by the mobile player device, a network request to a remote server for player information from a player database ([0124] to [0128], [0036], the player engages with the EGM and provides identifying information which prompts the EGM to communicate with severs to access player tracking information);
receive, by the mobile player device from the remote server, the player information, and provide, by the mobile player device, the player information in an encoded format to the local site controller ([0222], the player provides encoded player identification information to the system via their mobile phone).
However, Petersen does not explicitly disclose the local site controller can only access the player information via the mobile player device. Kreloff teaches a wireless gaming system wherein player mobile devices are capable of encryption and decryption (fig. 2, 54). Encoded data being sent to a device server is decrypted/decoded using decryption software ([0050]), thereby providing a secure channel of communication for data between the wireless gaming device and server. By implementing the encryption/decryption software on the wireless gaming device, the server is only able to access secure data directly from the wireless gaming device due to the need for decryption/decoding. It would have been obvious to implement the encryption/decryption techniques of Kreloff with Petersen in order to increase the security of important and private data being transferred in the system.
Petersen is further silent on the player obtaining site controller information in response to a transaction request from a video lottery terminal of a retail environment, and wherein the player database has no network connection with the local site controller. Steam teaches a method of logging into a player account by having the player scan a displayed QR code on their phone (see section “How do I log in using the QR code sign in?”). After the player scans the QR code, the player’s app on their phone displays a confirmation page and allows the player to approve the request to complete the login. Since the player’s account information is not related to the device displaying the QR code (i.e. Steam’s database is stored on Steam’s own servers rather than locally on the player’s network), it is not in network communication with the local site controller.
It would have been obvious to provide a QR code to initiate access to player data and secure communications as taught by Steam in order to enhance security by introducing additional layers of security (i.e. two-factor authentication), ensuring both player data and server integrity remains intact and free from malicious access.
Re claim 2, Petersen discloses obtaining the site controller information from the local site controller comprises scanning, by the mobile player device, a machine-readable code comprising the site controller information ([0033], [0124] to [0128]).
Re claim 3, Petersen discloses display of a machine-readable code comprising the player information on a display device of the mobile player device (fig. 1A, 1B, and 1C).
Re claim 4, Petersen discloses displaying the player information on the display device only in response to a player input at the mobile player device after receipt of the player information from the remote server ([0052], the player first logs into their casino loyalty account by interfacing with the gaming machine, fig. 1D, upon which player loyalty account data is communicated and after confirmation of the player’s identity, displays player information).
Re claim 5, Petersen discloses receiving the site controller information by the mobile player device wirelessly (fig. 2A, wireless device 10 communicates to the EGM via a wireless communication protocol, see [0036]).
Re claim 6, Petersen discloses wireless transmission of the player information in the encoded format by the mobile player device to the local site controller ([0108] and [0121], the wireless communication between devices are encrypted for privacy and security, encryption being considered a form of encoding).
Re claim 7, Petersen discloses receipt of the player information in the encoded format from the remote server ([0039], [0108], [0121], and [0146], encrypted data is sent and received encrypted).
Re claim 8, Petersen discloses the processor circuit encoding the player information received from the remote server into the encoded format ([0108], [0121]).
Re claim 9, Petersen discloses provision of the player information in an encrypted format ([0108], [0121]).
Re claim 10, Petersen discloses the player information comprises the player’s name and account number ([0223]).
Re claim 20, see the rejection to claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/KEVIN Y KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715