DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 11/01/2023.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claims 5-8, 13-16 and 19 are objected to.
Claims 1, 9 and 17 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
7. Claim 1 recites the limitation "the frequencies" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
8. Claim 9 recites the limitation "the frequencies" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
9. Claim 17 recites the limitation "the frequencies" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-8 depend on claim 1, thus they are rejected for the same reason.
Claims 10-16 depend on claim 9, thus they are rejected for the same reason.
Claims 18-20 depend on claim 17, thus they are rejected for the same reason.
10. Claim 4 recites the limitation "the base station" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
11. Claim 12 recites the limitation "the base station" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claims 1-2, 9-10, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toshiro SAWAMOTO et al. (US 2012/0083202 A1), hereinafter SAWAMOTO, in view of Alfons Dussmann et al. (US 2021/0044347 A1), hereinafter Dussmann.
For claim 1, SAWAMOTO teaches a non-regenerative relay control method in a communication system in which a relay station non-regeneratively relays a signal from a transmitting station to a first receiving station (SAWAMOTO, Fig. 1, base station 1, Relay 2, and Mobile Station 7; See also [0043] teaches "As depicted in Fig. 4, a relay station 21 is a non-regenerating type relay apparatus"), the method comprising:
in a case where the relay station performs the non-regenerative relay using a first resource block that is assigned to the relay station and the first receiving station for the non-regenerative relay and a second resource block (SAWAMOTO, [0003-0004] provides more background, a first resource block is taught because this is the resource block that the relay receives from base station, and a second resource block is taught because this second resource bloc is transmitted from relay to destination, or result of relaying ), determining, by an information processing apparatus (Sawamoto, Fig. 4, judger 24), which is made based on information indicating a reception signal strength of a signal received by the relay station from a second receiving station other than the first receiving station, as to whether or not interference with the second receiving station is allowable (SAWAMOTO, Fig. 5, Steps 11, S13 Generate List of nearby mobile stations, S16, no-amplification = non-regenerative; [0047-0049]; See also Fig. 8, Table 35 shows mobile station A to C with various SIR values); and
assigning, by the information processing apparatus, the second resource block to the relay station and the first receiving station as an additional resource block for the non-regenerative relay when it is determined that the interference is allowable (SAWAMOTO, Fig. 5, Step 14, and S16 No-Amplification, [0062]).
SAWAMOTO does not explicitly teach the second resource block is a baseband signal obtained by inverting the frequencies of a baseband signal relating to the first resource block (Giving broader interpretation, the claimed 2nd resource block is the output of inverting the frequency of a baseband signal of the first resource block).
However, Dussmann teaches a second resource block that uses a baseband signal obtained by inverting the frequencies of a baseband signal relating to the first resource block (Dussmann, Fig. 1, element 106, [0034] teaches this process; [0020] teaches the benefits of this system e.g. reason to combine).
Non-regenerative relays are cheaper to implement and have less power requirements because they do not need to amplify the received signal and thus has less power draw. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the signal inversion method of Dussmann for repeaters into the relay system of Sawamoto, due to the benefit of improved public safety (Dussmann, [0019 - 0020]).
For claim 2, SAWAMOTO and Dussmann further teach the non-regenerative relay control method according to claim 1, wherein the determining as to whether or not the interference is allowable includes determining whether or not the interference is allowable based on information indicating the reception signal strength in the relay station of a signal transmitted by the second receiving station using the second resource block assigned to the second receiving station (SAWAMOTO, Fig. 5, Steps 11, S13 Generate List of nearby mobile stations, S16, no-amplification = non-regenerative; [0047-0049]; See also Fig. 8, Table 35 shows mobile station A to C with various SIR values).
For claim 9, SAWAMOTO teaches an information processing apparatus that controls non-regenerative relay in a communication system in which a relay station non-regeneratively relays a signal from a transmitting station to a first receiving station (SAWAMOTO, Fig. 1, base station 1, Relay 2, and Mobile Station 7; See also [0043] teaches "As depicted in Fig. 4, a relay station 21 is a non-regenerating type relay apparatus"), the information processing apparatus comprising a controller (SAWAMOTO, Fig. 3, judger 14) that executes:
in a case where the relay station performs the non-regenerative relay using a first resource block that is assigned to the relay station and the first receiving station for the non-regenerative relay and a second resource block (SAWAMOTO, [0003-0004] provides more background, a first resource block is taught because this is the resource block that the relay receives from base station, and a second resource block is taught because this second resource bloc is transmitted from relay to destination, or result of relaying ), determining which is made based on information indicating a reception signal strength of a signal received by the relay station from a second receiving station other than the first receiving station, as to whether or not interference with the second receiving station is allowable (SAWAMOTO, Fig. 5, Steps 11, S13 Generate List of nearby mobile stations, S16, no-amplification = non-regenerative; [0047-0049]; See also Fig. 8, Table 35 shows mobile station A to C with various SIR values); and
assigning the second resource block to the relay station and the first receiving station as an additional resource block for the non-regenerative relay when it is determined that the interference is allowable (SAWAMOTO, Fig. 5, Step 14, and S16 No-Amplification, [0062]).
SAWAMOTO does not explicitly teach the second resource block is a baseband signal obtained by inverting the frequencies of a baseband signal relating to the first resource block (Giving broader interpretation, the claimed 2nd resource block is the output of inverting the frequency of a baseband signal of the first resource block).
However, Dussmann teaches a second resource block that uses a baseband signal obtained by inverting the frequencies of a baseband signal relating to the first resource block (Dussmann, Fig. 1, element 106, [0034] teaches this process; [0020] teaches the benefits of this system e.g. reason to combine).
Non-regenerative relays are cheaper to implement and have less power requirements because they do not need to amplify the received signal and thus has less power draw. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the signal inversion method of Dussmann for repeaters into the relay system of Sawamoto, due to the benefit of improved public safety (Dussmann, [0019 - 0020]).
For claim 10, SAWAMOTO and Dussmann further teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the controller determines whether or not the interference is allowable based on information indicating the reception signal strength in the relay station of a signal transmitted by the second receiving station using the second resource block assigned to the second receiving station (SAWAMOTO, Fig. 5, Steps 11, S13 Generate List of nearby mobile stations, S16, no-amplification = non-regenerative; [0047-0049]; See also Fig. 8, Table 35 shows mobile station A to C with various SIR values).
For claim 17, SAWAMOTO teaches a communication system comprising:
a relay station that non-regeneratively relays a signal from a transmitting station to a first receiving station; and an information processing apparatus that controls the non-regenerative relay (SAWAMOTO, Fig. 1, base station 1, Relay 2, and Mobile Station 7; See also [0043] teaches "As depicted in Fig. 4, a relay station 21 is a non-regenerating type relay apparatus" and SAWAMOTO, Fig. 3, judger 14 ), wherein the information processing apparatus executes:
in a case where the relay station performs the non-regenerative relay using a first resource block that is assigned to the relay station and the first receiving station for the non-regenerative relay and a second resource block (SAWAMOTO, [0003-0004] provides more background, a first resource block is taught because this is the resource block that the relay receives from base station, and a second resource block is taught because this second resource block is transmitted from relay to destination, or result of relaying ), determining which is made based on information indicating a reception signal strength of a signal received by the relay station from a second receiving station other than the first receiving station, as to whether or not interference with the second receiving station is allowable (SAWAMOTO, Fig. 5, Steps 11, S13 Generate List of nearby mobile stations, S16, no-amplification = non-regenerative; [0047-0049]; See also Fig. 8, Table 35 shows mobile station A to C with various SIR values); and
assigning the second resource block to the relay station and the first receiving station as an additional resource block for the non-regenerative relay when it is determined that the interference is allowable (SAWAMOTO, Fig. 5, Step 14, and S16 No-Amplification, [0062]).
SAWAMOTO does not explicitly teach the second resource block is a baseband signal obtained by inverting the frequencies of a baseband signal relating to the first resource block (Giving broader interpretation, the claimed 2nd resource block is the output of inverting the frequency of a baseband signal of the first resource block).
However, Dussmann teaches a second resource block that uses a baseband signal obtained by inverting the frequencies of a baseband signal relating to the first resource block (Dussmann, Fig. 1, element 106, [0034] teaches this process; [0020] teaches the benefits of this system e.g. reason to combine).
Non-regenerative relays are cheaper to implement and have less power requirements because they do not need to amplify the received signal and thus has less power draw. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the signal inversion method of Dussmann for repeaters into the relay system of Sawamoto, due to the benefit of improved public safety (Dussmann, [0019 - 0020]).
For claim 20, SAWAMOTO and Dussmann further teach the communication system according to claim 17, wherein the relay station comprises:
an antenna (SAWAMOTO, Fig.4 item 29);
a receiver (SAWAMOTO, Fig. 4 item 26) that converts a signal from the transmitting station, received by the antenna, into a first baseband signal (SAWAMOTO, [0003-0004] provides more background);
a baseband circuit (SAWAMOTO, Fig. 4 item 25, See also Dussmann, Fig. 1 item 109) that generates a second baseband signal relating to the second resource block by obtaining a complex conjugate of the first baseband signal (Dussmann, Fig. 1, [0027]); and
a transmitter (SAWAMOTO, Fig. 4 item 27) that converts a signal combining the first baseband signal and the second baseband signal into a wireless signal to be non-regeneratively relayed to the first receiving station (SAWAMOTO, Fig. 4 item 25, [0047-0049], See also Dussmann, Fig. 1 item 109).
16. Claims 3, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toshiro SAWAMOTO et al. (US 2012/0083202 A1), hereinafter SAWAMOTO, in view of Alfons Dussmann et al. (US 2021/0044347 A1), hereinafter Dussmann and Akira KAMEI et al. (US 2020/0015168 A1), hereinafter KAMEI.
For claim 3, SAWAMOTO and Dussmann teach the non-regenerative relay control method according to claim 1, further comprising: execution timing and instruction to measure the reception signal strength in the relay station of the signal transmitted by the second receiving station at the timing; and receiving, by the information processing apparatus, from the relay station, information indicating the reception signal strength in the relay station of the signal transmitted by the second receiving station, the reception signal strength having been acquired by the relay station by measurement (SAWAMOTO, Fig. 5, Steps 11, S13 Generate List of nearby mobile stations, S16, no-amplification = non-regenerative; [0047-0049]; See also Fig. 8, Table 35 shows mobile station A to C with various SIR values).
SAWAMOTO and Dussmann do not explicitly teach transmitting, to the relay station, information indicating a timing and an instruction.
However, KAMEI explicitly teaches transmitting, by the information processing apparatus, to the relay station, information indicating a timing and an instruction for measuring a strength received from the one of the relay stations (KAMEI, Fig. 1A and paragraph 33 teach a timing setter that sets, to a communication terminal and one of relay stations, a timing at which the communication terminal measures a strength of a signal received from the one of the relay stations that relay communication between the communication terminal and the communication processing apparatus.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in SAWAMOTO and Dussmann with transmitting, by the information processing apparatus, to the relay station, information indicating a timing and an instruction for measuring a strength received from the one of the relay stations taught in KAMEI to have method of transmitting, by the information processing apparatus, to the relay station, information indicating a timing for the second receiving station to transmit a signal using the second resource block, and an instruction to measure the reception signal strength in the relay station of the signal transmitted by the second receiving station at the timing; and receiving, by the information processing apparatus, from the relay station, information indicating the reception signal strength in the relay station of the signal transmitted by the second receiving station, the reception signal strength having been acquired by the relay station by measurement; thereby reducing the measurement count of the strength of the received signal. [KAMEI: paragraph 88], in the analogous art of relay communication system.
For claim 11, SAWAMOTO and Dussmann teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein further comprising: execution timing and instruction to measure the reception signal strength in the relay station of the signal transmitted by the second receiving station at the timing; and receiving, by the information processing apparatus, from the relay station, information indicating the reception signal strength in the relay station of the signal transmitted by the second receiving station, the reception signal strength having been acquired by the relay station by measurement (SAWAMOTO, Fig. 5, Steps S11, S13 Generate List of nearby mobile stations, S16, no-amplification = non-regenerative; [0047-0049]; See also Fig. 8, Table 35 shows mobile station A to C with various SIR values).
SAWAMOTO and Dussmann do not explicitly teach transmitting, to the relay station, information indicating a timing and an instruction.
However, KAMEI explicitly teaches transmitting, by the information processing apparatus, to the relay station, information indicating a timing and an instruction for measuring a strength received from the one of the relay stations (KAMEI, Fig. 1A and paragraph 33 teach a timing setter that sets, to a communication terminal and one of relay stations, a timing at which the communication terminal measures a strength of a signal received from the one of the relay stations that relay communication between the communication terminal and the communication processing apparatus.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in SAWAMOTO and Dussmann with transmitting, by the information processing apparatus, to the relay station, information indicating a timing and an instruction for measuring a strength received from the one of the relay stations taught in KAMEI to have method of transmitting, to the relay station, information indicating a timing for the second receiving station to transmit a signal using the second resource block, and an instruction to measure the reception signal strength in the relay station of the signal transmitted by the second receiving station at the timing; and receiving, from the relay station, information indicating the reception signal strength in the relay station of the signal transmitted by the second receiving station, the reception signal strength having been acquired by the relay station by measurement; thereby reducing the measurement count of the strength of the received signal. [KAMEI: paragraph 88], in the analogous art of relay communication system.
For claim 18, SAWAMOTO and Dussmann teach the communication system according to claim 17, wherein further comprising: execution timing and instruction to measure the reception signal strength in the relay station of the signal transmitted by the second receiving station at the timing; and transmitting, to the information processing apparatus, information indicating the reception signal strength in the relay station of the signal transmitted by the second receiving station, the reception signal strength having been acquired by the relay station by measurement (SAWAMOTO, Fig. 5, Steps S11, S13 Generate List of nearby mobile stations, S16, no-amplification = non-regenerative; [0047-0049]; See also Fig. 8, Table 35 shows mobile station A to C with various SIR values).
SAWAMOTO and Dussmann do not explicitly teach receiving, from the information processing apparatus, information indicating a timing and an instruction.
However, KAMEI explicitly teaches receiving, from the information processing apparatus, information indicating a timing and an instruction for measuring a strength received from the one of the relay stations (KAMEI, Fig. 1A and paragraph 33 teach a timing setter that sets, to a communication terminal and one of relay stations, a timing at which the communication terminal measures a strength of a signal received from the one of the relay stations that relay communication between the communication terminal and the communication processing apparatus.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in SAWAMOTO and Dussmann with receiving, from the information processing apparatus, information indicating a timing and an instruction for measuring a strength received from the one of the relay stations taught in KAMEI to have method of receiving, from the information processing apparatus, information indicating a timing for the second receiving station to transmit a signal using the second resource block, and an instruction to measure the reception signal strength in the relay station of the signal transmitted by the second receiving station at the timing; and transmitting, to the information processing apparatus, information indicating the reception signal strength in the relay station of the signal transmitted by the second receiving station, the reception signal strength having been acquired by measurement in accordance with the measurement instruction; thereby reducing the measurement count of the strength of the received signal. [KAMEI: paragraph 88], in the analogous art of relay communication system.
17. Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toshiro SAWAMOTO et al. (US 2012/0083202 A1), hereinafter SAWAMOTO, in view of Alfons Dussmann et al. (US 2021/0044347 A1), hereinafter Dussmann and Katsumi Tanoue et al. (US 2006/0019661 A1), hereinafter Tanoue.
For claim 4, SAWAMOTO and Dussmann teach all the limitations of parent claim 1. SAWAMOTO and Dussmann do not explicitly teach determining whether or not propagation loss between the second receiving station and the relay station exceeds a threshold, the propagation loss having been calculated based on information indicating the reception signal strength in the base station of a transmission signal transmitted by the second receiving station using the second resource block, and a transmission power value used by the second receiving station to transmit the transmission signal. However, Tanoue explicitly teaches determining whether or not propagation loss between the second receiving station and the relay station exceeds a threshold (Tanoue, Fig. 5 and paragraph 57 teach by using determination threshold value curve 42 that is provided between area 45 and area 46, mobile station 15 can be determined to be within service area 17 of repeater 14 when the relation between propagation delay and propagation loss is on the area-46 side of determination threshold value curve 42, and mobile station 15 can be determined to be within service area 16 of Node B 13 when the relation is on the area-45 side of determination threshold value curve 42.), the propagation loss having been calculated based on information indicating the reception signal strength in the base station of a transmission signal transmitted by the second receiving station using the second resource block, and a transmission power value used by the second receiving station to transmit the transmission signal (Tanoue, Fig. 4 and paragraph 47 teach Radio base station (Node B) 13 first transmits report information that includes transmission power value information of the primary common pilot channel (PCPICH) to mobile station 15 (Step 201). Mobile terminal 15 then measures the reception power of the primary common pilot channel that it has received (Step 202), whereupon mobile station 15 calculates the propagation loss from the difference between the reception power value of the primary common pilot channel that mobile station 15 has received and the transmission power value information of the primary common pilot channel that is included in the report information received from Node B 13 (Step 203), and reports the propagation loss value that has been calculated to Node B 13 (Step 204).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in SAWAMOTO and Dussmann with determining whether or not propagation loss between the second receiving station and the relay station exceeds a threshold, the propagation loss having been calculated based on information indicating the reception signal strength in the base station of a transmission signal transmitted by the second receiving station using the second resource block, and a transmission power value used by the second receiving station to transmit the transmission signal taught in Tanoue to have wherein the determining as to whether or not the interference is allowable includes determining whether or not propagation loss between the second receiving station and the relay station exceeds a threshold, the propagation loss having been calculated based on information indicating the reception signal strength in the base station of a transmission signal transmitted by the second receiving station using the second resource block, and a transmission power value used by the second receiving station to transmit the transmission signal. Because all SAWAMOTO, Dussmann and Tanoue teach repeater in wireless communication system, Tanoue explicitly teach how to calculate propagation loss.
For claim 12, SAWAMOTO and Dussmann teach all the limitations of parent claim 9. SAWAMOTO and Dussmann do not explicitly teach determining whether or not propagation loss between the second receiving station and the relay station exceeds a threshold, the propagation loss having been calculated based on information indicating the reception signal strength in the base station of a transmission signal transmitted by the second receiving station using the second resource block, and a transmission power value used by the second receiving station to transmit the transmission signal. However, Tanoue explicitly teaches determining whether or not propagation loss between the second receiving station and the relay station exceeds a threshold (Tanoue, Fig. 5 and paragraph 57 teach by using determination threshold value curve 42 that is provided between area 45 and area 46, mobile station 15 can be determined to be within service area 17 of repeater 14 when the relation between propagation delay and propagation loss is on the area-46 side of determination threshold value curve 42, and mobile station 15 can be determined to be within service area 16 of Node B 13 when the relation is on the area-45 side of determination threshold value curve 42.), the propagation loss having been calculated based on information indicating the reception signal strength in the base station of a transmission signal transmitted by the second receiving station using the second resource block, and a transmission power value used by the second receiving station to transmit the transmission signal (Tanoue, Fig. 4 and paragraph 47 teach Radio base station (Node B) 13 first transmits report information that includes transmission power value information of the primary common pilot channel (PCPICH) to mobile station 15 (Step 201). Mobile terminal 15 then measures the reception power of the primary common pilot channel that it has received (Step 202), whereupon mobile station 15 calculates the propagation loss from the difference between the reception power value of the primary common pilot channel that mobile station 15 has received and the transmission power value information of the primary common pilot channel that is included in the report information received from Node B 13 (Step 203), and reports the propagation loss value that has been calculated to Node B 13 (Step 204).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in SAWAMOTO and Dussmann with determining whether or not propagation loss between the second receiving station and the relay station exceeds a threshold, the propagation loss having been calculated based on information indicating the reception signal strength in the base station of a transmission signal transmitted by the second receiving station using the second resource block, and a transmission power value used by the second receiving station to transmit the transmission signal taught in Tanoue to have wherein the determining as to whether or not the interference is allowable includes determining whether or not propagation loss between the second receiving station and the relay station exceeds a threshold, the propagation loss having been calculated based on information indicating the reception signal strength in the base station of a transmission signal transmitted by the second receiving station using the second resource block, and a transmission power value used by the second receiving station to transmit the transmission signal. Because all SAWAMOTO, Dussmann and Tanoue teach repeater in wireless communication system, Tanoue explicitly teach how to calculate propagation loss.
Allowable Subject Matter
18. Claims 5-8, 13-16 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable (subject to correction of the above noted 112 issues) if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
19. Claims 5-8, 13-16 and 19 are considered allowable because the prior art does not teach limitations including:
"the threshold is calculated using the maximum transmission power allowed by the relay station, the noise level of the second receiving station, a value indicating a desired downlink quality between the transmitting station and the second receiving station, and a margin" in addition to other claim limitations as recited in dependent claims 5, 8, 13 and 16.
"transmitting, by the information processing apparatus, to the relay station, information indicating one, two, or more second receiving stations that are intending to transmit uplink signals at an identical timing to the timing at which the relay station transmits a signal using the first resource block, and information indicating resource blocks used respectively by the one, two, or more second receiving stations to transmit the uplink signals; and receiving, by the information processing apparatus, from the relay station, information indicating reception signal strengths in the relay station of the uplink signals transmitted by the one, two, or more second receiving stations, the reception signal strengths having been acquired by the relay station by measurement" in addition to other claim limitations as recited in dependent claims 6 and 14.
" determining whether or not propagation loss between each of the one, two, or more second receiving stations and the relay station exceeds a threshold, the propagation loss having been calculated based on information indicating the reception signal strengths in the relay station of the uplink signals transmitted respectively by the one, two, or more second receiving stations and transmission power values respectively used by the one, two, or more second receiving stations to transmit the uplink signals; and the information processing apparatus assigns the second resource block to the second receiving station with the largest propagation loss, among the second receiving stations in which the propagation loss exceeds the threshold, as the resource block to be used for transmission at the same timing as the timing at which the relay station performs transmission using the first resource block." in addition to other claim limitations as recited in dependent claims 7 and 15.
“receives, from the information processing apparatus, information indicating one, two, or more second receiving stations that are intending to transmit uplink signals at an identical timing to the timing at which the relay station transmits a signal using the first resource block, and information indicating resource blocks used respectively by the one, two, or more second receiving stations to transmit the uplink signals; and transmits, to the information processing apparatus, information indicating reception signal strengths in the relay station of the uplink signals transmitted by the one, two, or more second receiving stations, the reception signal strengths having been acquired by the relay station by measurement” in addition to other claim limitations as recited in dependent claim 19.
Conclusion
/WILL W LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412