Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “rotation driving unit”, and “feed driving unit” in claims 1, and 7, “control unit” in claims 1-8, and “machine learning unit” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Structural support is not found in the specification for “rotation driving unit”, “feed driving unit”, “control unit” , and “machine learning unit”.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Structural support is not found in the specification for “rotation driving unit”, “feed driving unit”, “control unit” , and “machine learning unit”, making it unclear whether these “units” are a processor performing different functions, or physical different devices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakaya et al. (US20200156200, herein Nakaya).
Regarding claim 1, Nakaya teaches A machine tool comprising: a rotation driving unit adapted to rotate a spindle gripping a workpiece; a feed driving unit adapted to feed at least one object along a feed axis, the object comprising the spindle and a tool for cutting the workpiece; and a control unit adapted to control the object to be fed with a vibration along the feed axis to cut the workpiece, the vibration comprising a cutting feed in a direction cutting into the workpiece and a returning feed in a direction opposite to the direction cutting into the workpiece ([0040] As shown in FIG. 1, a machine tool 100 includes a spindle 110, a cutting tool 130 such as a tool bit for machining a workpiece W, and a control device 180, [0006] control device for a machine tool comprises a feeding means for feeding a relatively rotating cutting tool and material, and a control means for controlling the rotation and operation of the feeding means, the control means performing control such that cutting is performed with vibrating the cutting tool relative to the material by combining a forward feed movement in the machining direction, in which the cutting tool machines the material, and a return movement in the counter-machining direction different from the machining direction, wherein the control device includes a return position calculation means for calculating a return position of the cutting tool at time when one vibration is completed on the basis of the number of vibrations and an amount of feed that are predetermined for one rotation of the cutting tool or the material, a forward feed setting means for setting the forward feed movement on the basis of one or more change point setting values that determine a change point from the machining direction to the counter-machining direction, and making the cutting tool reach the determined change point, and a return movement setting means for setting a pulse-like signal that is output as a command for the return movement so that the cutting tool reaches the calculated return position at time when one vibration is completed); wherein the control unit acquires a feed speed of the object to be fed without the vibration (Fa), a number of rotations of the spindle required for a single cycle of the vibration (K), and a returning amount (R) representing a distance of the returning feed per the single cycle of the vibration, according to the feed speed of the object (Fa), the number of rotations of the spindle (K), and the returning amount (R), ([0094] machining direction and the movement in the machining direction by the forward feed command are combined into the forward feed movement, these movement can be arbitrary. By setting the forward feed command as a forward feed command for moving the cutting edge onto the substantial feed line G, because the substantial feed line G is the same as a line determined by the amount of feed F in general cutting without above-mentioned vibration (conventional cutting), the forward movement F′ can be obtained by adding the pulse-like signal P to the conventional cutting, [0073] The rotation amount of the spindle during the forward and backward movement of the cutting tool 130 is a rotation amount E of the spindle per vibration of the cutting tool. Further, the rotation amount of the spindle during the backward movement of the cutting tool 130 is a rotation amount R of the spindle in the return movement (backward movement) of the cutting tool 130, [0064] The return movement setting section 193 is configured to output a movement command for moving the cutting tool 130 in the counter-machining direction as a pulse-like signal P at a predetermined interval) the control unit decides at least one parameter among a cutting amount (D) representing a distance of a change in a position of the object per the single cycle of the vibration, a cutting feed speed (F) representing a speed of the object in the cutting feed, and a returning feed speed (B) representing a speed of the object in the returning feed ([0061] On the basis of the number of vibrations D and the amount of feed F, the return position calculation section 191 calculates a position on the substantial feed line G, at which the cutting tool 130 is located at the time when one vibration is completed, as the return position, [0063] the direction change point A1, at which the forward movement switches to the backward movement, is on a straight line (amplitude line QF) that is obtained by offsetting the actual feed line G by the amplitude Q*F) , and the control unit controls the position of the object to be fed with the vibration at least according to the decided parameter (Fig. 2, [0006] control device for a machine tool comprises a feeding means for feeding a relatively rotating cutting tool and material, and a control means for controlling the rotation and operation of the feeding means, the control means performing control such that cutting is performed with vibrating the cutting tool relative to the material by combining a forward feed movement in the machining direction, in which the cutting tool machines the material, and a return movement in the counter-machining direction different from the machining direction, wherein the control device includes a return position calculation means for calculating a return position of the cutting tool at time when one vibration is completed on the basis of the number of vibrations and an amount of feed that are predetermined for one rotation of the cutting tool or the material, [0066] The pulse-like signal of the movement command for moving the cutting tool 130 in the counter-machining direction, which is a periodic pulse-like command from the return movement setting section 193, has a period so that the backward movement F″ is started from each change point A).
Regarding claim 2, Nakaya teaches The machine tool of claim 1, wherein the control unit decides the cutting amount (D), the cutting feed speed (F), and the returning feed speed (B) according to the feed speed of the object (Fa), the number of rotations of the spindle (K), and the returning amount (R), and the control unit controls the position of the object to be fed with the vibration according to the decided parameters (Fig. 3, [0052] As shown in FIG. 3, the control device 180 moves the cutting tool 130 relative to the workpiece W along the feed direction by a predetermined amount of the forward movement toward the machining direction, [0078] the forward movement and the backward movement are at the same speed, the forward feed setting section 192 sets a line C of 540 degrees of the phase of the spindle as the axis of symmetry, sets a point that is line symmetrical with respect to the change point B1 as the symmetry point B1′, and sets the straight line passing through 0 degree of the phase of the spindle and the symmetry point Br as the forward feed movement. The control section 181 outputs a forward feed command for moving the cutting edge along the forward feed movement, [0006] control device for a machine tool comprises a feeding means for feeding a relatively rotating cutting tool and material, and a control means for controlling the rotation and operation of the feeding means, the control means performing control such that cutting is performed with vibrating the cutting tool relative to the material by combining a forward feed movement in the machining direction, in which the cutting tool machines the material, and a return movement in the counter-machining direction different from the machining direction, wherein the control device includes a return position calculation means for calculating a return position of the cutting tool at time when one vibration is completed on the basis of the number of vibrations and an amount of feed that are predetermined for one rotation of the cutting tool or the material, a forward feed setting means for setting the forward feed movement on the basis of one or more change point setting values that determine a change point from the machining direction to the counter-machining direction, and making the cutting tool reach the determined change point, and a return movement setting means for setting a pulse-like signal that is output as a command for the return movement so that the cutting tool reaches the calculated return position at time when one vibration is completed))).
Regarding claim 3, Nakaya teaches The machine tool of claim 1, wherein, upon receipt of the number of rotations of the spindle (K) of greater than a single rotation ([0058] the number of rotations of the spindle and the amount of feed F are specified in advance for example by specifying them in a machining program), the control unit sets a difference in rotation angle of the spindle to 360 degrees between a first change point and a second change point, where the first change point is a point that the cutting feed changes to the returning feed in the single cycle of the vibration and the second change point is a point that the returning feed changes to the cutting feed in the single cycle of the vibration ([0073] The rotation amount of the spindle during the forward and backward movement of the cutting tool 130 is a rotation amount E of the spindle per vibration of the cutting tool. Further, the rotation amount of the spindle during the backward movement of the cutting tool 130 is a rotation amount R of the spindle in the return movement (backward movement) of the cutting tool 130, [0076] FIG. 8 shows the return positions in two vibrations as direction change points B1 and B2 at which the backward movement changes to the forward movement. The vibration waveform in FIG. 8 is expressed on a workpiece basis, and the return position of the cutting tool 130 at the time when one vibration is completed is a position of the phase of the spindle on the substantial feed line G (indicated by a dashed chain line in FIG. 9A) obtained by multiplying the angle of one rotation of the spindle (360 degrees) by the rotation amount E of the spindle. As shown in FIG. 9B, in the present embodiment, the change point B1 is at a position where the phase of the spindle is 720 degrees. Thereafter, each change point is a position on the substantial feed line G with an interval of an angle corresponding to two rotations of the workpiece W, and in the case of the present embodiment, the change point B2 on the substantial feed line G is in a position where the phase of the spindle is 1440 degrees. As described above, the return position calculation section 191 can calculate each return position on the bases of the rotation amount E of the spindle and the amount of feed F at the time when one vibration is completed).
Regarding claim 4, Nakaya teaches The machine tool of claim 2, wherein, upon receipt of the number of rotations of the spindle (K) of greater than a single rotation ([0058] the number of rotations of the spindle and the amount of feed F are specified in advance for example by specifying them in a machining program), the control unit sets a difference in rotation angle of the spindle to 360 degrees between a first change point and a second change point, where the first change point is a point that the cutting feed changes to the returning feed in the single cycle of the vibration and the second change point is a point that the returning feed changes to the cutting feed in the single cycle of the vibration ([0073] The rotation amount of the spindle during the forward and backward movement of the cutting tool 130 is a rotation amount E of the spindle per vibration of the cutting tool. Further, the rotation amount of the spindle during the backward movement of the cutting tool 130 is a rotation amount R of the spindle in the return movement (backward movement) of the cutting tool 130, [0076] FIG. 8 shows the return positions in two vibrations as direction change points B1 and B2 at which the backward movement changes to the forward movement. The vibration waveform in FIG. 8 is expressed on a workpiece basis, and the return position of the cutting tool 130 at the time when one vibration is completed is a position of the phase of the spindle on the substantial feed line G (indicated by a dashed chain line in FIG. 9A) obtained by multiplying the angle of one rotation of the spindle (360 degrees) by the rotation amount E of the spindle. As shown in FIG. 9B, in the present embodiment, the change point B1 is at a position where the phase of the spindle is 720 degrees. Thereafter, each change point is a position on the substantial feed line G with an interval of an angle corresponding to two rotations of the workpiece W, and in the case of the present embodiment, the change point B2 on the substantial feed line G is in a position where the phase of the spindle is 1440 degrees. As described above, the return position calculation section 191 can calculate each return position on the bases of the rotation amount E of the spindle and the amount of feed F at the time when one vibration is completed).
Regarding claim 5, Nakaya teaches The machine tool of claim 1, wherein, upon receipt of the number of rotations of the spindle (K) having a denominator of an odd number of three or more and a numerator of two ([0058] the number of rotations of the spindle and the amount of feed F are specified in advance for example by specifying them in a machining program, [0062] The phase of the spindle at the return position of the cutting tool 130 is obtained by multiplying the angle of one rotation of the workpiece W (360 degrees) by the inverse number (⅔) of the number of vibrations D. As shown in FIG. 6B, in the present embodiment, the change point B1 is at a position where the phase of the spindle is 240 degrees), the control unit sets a difference in rotation angle of the spindle to {(K/2) × 360} degrees between a first change point and a second change point, where the first change point is a point that the cutting feed changes to the returning feed in the single cycle of the vibration and the second change point is a point that the returning feed changes to the cutting feed in the single cycle of the vibration ([0063] the position of each change point A is on the amplitude line QF, and an interval between each change point A is determined by multiplying the angle between adjoining change points B by ½. For example, in the case of the present embodiment, the change point A2 is at an intermediate position (where the phase of the spindle is 360 degrees) from 240 degrees, which is the phase of the spindle of the change point B1, to 480 degrees, which is the phase of the spindle of the change point B2, and the change point A3 is at an intermediate position (where the phase of the spindle is 540 degrees) from 480 degrees, which is the phase of the spindle of the change point B2, to 720 degrees, which is the phase of the spindle of the change point B3. As described above, the change point A1 is determined using the amount of feed F, the amplitude feed ratio Q, and the number of vibrations D as parameters (change point setting values). The forward feed setting section 192 sets a straight line passing through the 0 degree of the phase of the spindle and the change point A1 as forward feed movement, and the control section 181 outputs a forward feed command for moving the cutting edge along the forward feed movement).
Regarding claim 6, Nakaya teaches The machine tool of claim 2, wherein, upon receipt of the number of rotations of the spindle (K) having a denominator of an odd number of three or more and a numerator of two ([0058] the number of rotations of the spindle and the amount of feed F are specified in advance for example by specifying them in a machining program, [0062] The phase of the spindle at the return position of the cutting tool 130 is obtained by multiplying the angle of one rotation of the workpiece W (360 degrees) by the inverse number (⅔) of the number of vibrations D. As shown in FIG. 6B, in the present embodiment, the change point B1 is at a position where the phase of the spindle is 240 degrees), the control unit sets a difference in rotation angle of the spindle to {(K/2) × 360} degrees between a first change point and a second change point, where the first change point is a point that the cutting feed changes to the returning feed in the single cycle of the vibration and the second change point is a point that the returning feed changes to the cutting feed in the single cycle of the vibration ([0063] the position of each change point A is on the amplitude line QF, and an interval between each change point A is determined by multiplying the angle between adjoining change points B by ½. For example, in the case of the present embodiment, the change point A2 is at an intermediate position (where the phase of the spindle is 360 degrees) from 240 degrees, which is the phase of the spindle of the change point B1, to 480 degrees, which is the phase of the spindle of the change point B2, and the change point A3 is at an intermediate position (where the phase of the spindle is 540 degrees) from 480 degrees, which is the phase of the spindle of the change point B2, to 720 degrees, which is the phase of the spindle of the change point B3. As described above, the change point A1 is determined using the amount of feed F, the amplitude feed ratio Q, and the number of vibrations D as parameters (change point setting values). The forward feed setting section 192 sets a straight line passing through the 0 degree of the phase of the spindle and the change point A1 as forward feed movement, and the control section 181 outputs a forward feed command for moving the cutting edge along the forward feed movement).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakaya et al. (US20200156200, herein Nakaya), in view of Ogawa et al. (US20190275629, herein Ogawa)
Regarding claim 7, Nakaya teaches A machine tool comprising a rotation driving unit adapted to rotate a spindle gripping a workpiece; a feed driving unit adapted to feed at least one object along a feed axis, the object comprising the spindle and a tool for cutting the workpiece; a control unit adapted to control the object to be fed with a vibration along the feed axis to cut the workpiece, the vibration comprising a cutting feed in a direction cutting into the workpiece and a returning feed in a direction opposite to the direction cutting into the workpiece ([0040] As shown in FIG. 1, a machine tool 100 includes a spindle 110, a cutting tool 130 such as a tool bit for machining a workpiece W, and a control device 180, [0006] control device for a machine tool comprises a feeding means for feeding a relatively rotating cutting tool and material, and a control means for controlling the rotation and operation of the feeding means, the control means performing control such that cutting is performed with vibrating the cutting tool relative to the material by combining a forward feed movement in the machining direction, in which the cutting tool machines the material, and a return movement in the counter-machining direction different from the machining direction, wherein the control device includes a return position calculation means for calculating a return position of the cutting tool at time when one vibration is completed on the basis of the number of vibrations and an amount of feed that are predetermined for one rotation of the cutting tool or the material, a forward feed setting means for setting the forward feed movement on the basis of one or more change point setting values that determine a change point from the machining direction to the counter-machining direction, and making the cutting tool reach the determined change point, and a return movement setting means for setting a pulse-like signal that is output as a command for the return movement so that the cutting tool reaches the calculated return position at time when one vibration is completed); …a feed speed of the object to be fed without the vibration (Fa), a number of rotations of the spindle required for a single cycle of the vibration (K), and a returning amount (R) representing a distance of the returning feed per the single cycle of the vibration we well as ([0094] machining direction and the movement in the machining direction by the forward feed command are combined into the forward feed movement, these movement can be arbitrary. By setting the forward feed command as a forward feed command for moving the cutting edge onto the substantial feed line G, because the substantial feed line G is the same as a line determined by the amount of feed F in general cutting without above-mentioned vibration (conventional cutting), the forward movement F′ can be obtained by adding the pulse-like signal P to the conventional cutting, [0073] The rotation amount of the spindle during the forward and backward movement of the cutting tool 130 is a rotation amount E of the spindle per vibration of the cutting tool. Further, the rotation amount of the spindle during the backward movement of the cutting tool 130 is a rotation amount R of the spindle in the return movement (backward movement) of the cutting tool 130, [0064] The return movement setting section 193 is configured to output a movement command for moving the cutting tool 130 in the counter-machining direction as a pulse-like signal P at a predetermined interval) a determination result (E) representing whether or not a position of the object at a first change point overlaps a position of the object at a second change point ([0055] In the overlap period of the routes of the cutting edge in which the route of the cutting edge of the n+1th rotation is included in the route of the cutting edge of the nth rotation, portions to be machined in the workpiece W has already been machined by the machining of the nth rotation. Therefore, the cutting tool 130 and the workpiece W do not contact in the feed direction. Thus, there is an air-cut period in which the cutting tool 130 substantially does not machine the workpiece W, and chips generated on the workpiece W are divided into segmented chips. The cutting tool 130 machines the workpiece W while vibrating by being reciprocated relative to the workpiece W. This vibration cutting makes it possible to machine the workpiece smoothly with segmenting chips), the first change point being a point that the cutting feed changes to the returning feed while the second change point being a point that the returning feed changes to the cutting feed,… a computer to decide the number of rotations of the spindle (K) and the returning amount (R) that generates an overlap between the positions of the object at the first change point and the second change point according to the number of rotations of the spindle per unit time (S) and the feed speed of the object (Fa) ([0061] On the basis of the number of vibrations D and the amount of feed F, the return position calculation section 191 calculates a position on the substantial feed line G, at which the cutting tool 130 is located at the time when one vibration is completed, as the return position, [0063] the direction change point A1, at which the forward movement switches to the backward movement, is on a straight line (amplitude line QF) that is obtained by offsetting the actual feed line G by the amplitude Q*F, [0055] In the overlap period of the routes of the cutting edge in which the route of the cutting edge of the n+1th rotation is included in the route of the cutting edge of the nth rotation, portions to be machined in the workpiece W has already been machined by the machining of the nth rotation. Therefore, the cutting tool 130 and the workpiece W do not contact in the feed direction. Thus, there is an air-cut period in which the cutting tool 130 substantially does not machine the workpiece W, and chips generated on the workpiece W are divided into segmented chips. The cutting tool 130 machines the workpiece W while vibrating by being reciprocated relative to the workpiece W. This vibration cutting makes it possible to machine the workpiece smoothly with segmenting chips).
Nakaya does not teach and a machine learning unit adapted to generate a learned model through application of a machine learning according to a number of rotations of the spindle per unit time (S)… and the learned model allowing
Ogawa teaches and a machine learning unit adapted to generate a learned model through application of a machine learning according to a number of rotations of the spindle per unit time (S)… and the learned model allowing ([0040] The machining condition data S1 among the state variables S observed by the state observation unit 106 may be acquired as the machining conditions for the cutting. Examples of the machining conditions for the cutting include an actual cutting feed speed, a number of rotation of the spindle, a cutting depth, a rake angle, and the like in the machining by the machine tool 2, [0053] learning by the learning unit 110 is made usable, the decision making unit 122 outputs the machining conditions for the cutting (such as the cutting feed speed, the number of rotation of the spindle, the cutting depth, and the rake angle). The machining conditions for the cutting outputted from the decision making unit 122 are machining conditions on which a cutting force that allows holding of the workpiece within a range of clamping force from the jig is exerted on the workpiece. The decision making unit 122 determines the appropriate machining conditions for the cutting based on the state variables S and the results of the learning by the learning unit 110, [0011] a machine learning device that observes machining condition data indicating machining conditions for cutting of a workpiece clamped on a machining jig by a tool, spindle torque data indicating spindle torque during the cutting, and cutting force component direction data indicating cutting force component direction information on cutting resistance against a cutting force, as state variables representing a current state of an environment, and that carries out learning or decision making with use of a learning model modelling the machining conditions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakaya’s teaching of a control device for a machine tool performing cutting with vibration with Ogawa’s teaching of using a learning model for modelling the machining conditions for the cutting . The combined teaching provides an expected result of a control device for a machine tool performing cutting with vibration using a learning model for modelling the machining conditions for the cutting. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve the accuracy of the system by incorporating machining learning to the calculations.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Nakaya and Ogawa teach The machine tool of claim 7, wherein the control unit acquires the number of rotations of the spindle (K) and the returning amount (R) by …an input of the number of rotations of the spindle per unit time (S) and the feed speed of the object (Fa) (Nakaya, [0058] the number of rotations of the spindle and the amount of feed F are specified in advance for example by specifying them in a machining program, [0078] the forward movement and the backward movement are at the same speed, the forward feed setting section 192 sets a line C of 540 degrees of the phase of the spindle as the axis of symmetry, sets a point that is line symmetrical with respect to the change point B1 as the symmetry point B1′, and sets the straight line passing through 0 degree of the phase of the spindle and the symmetry point Br as the forward feed movement. The control section 181 outputs a forward feed command for moving the cutting edge along the forward feed movement), according to the feed speed of the object (Fa), the number of rotations of the spindle (K), and the returning amount (R), the control unit decides at least one parameter among a cutting amount (D), a cutting feed speed (F), and a returning feed speed (B), where the cutting amount (D) represents a distance of a change in the position of the object per the single cycle of the vibration, the cutting feed speed (F) represents a speed of the object in the cutting feed, and the returning feed speed (B) represents a speed of the object in the returning feed (Fig. 2, [0061] On the basis of the number of vibrations D and the amount of feed F, the return position calculation section 191 calculates a position on the substantial feed line G, at which the cutting tool 130 is located at the time when one vibration is completed, as the return position, [0063] the direction change point A1, at which the forward movement switches to the backward movement, is on a straight line (amplitude line QF) that is obtained by offsetting the actual feed line G by the amplitude Q*F) , and the control unit controls the position of the object to be fed with the vibration at least according to the decided parameter (Fig. 2, [0006] control device for a machine tool comprises a feeding means for feeding a relatively rotating cutting tool and material, and a control means for controlling the rotation and operation of the feeding means, the control means performing control such that cutting is performed with vibrating the cutting tool relative to the material by combining a forward feed movement in the machining direction, in which the cutting tool machines the material, and a return movement in the counter-machining direction different from the machining direction, wherein the control device includes a return position calculation means for calculating a return position of the cutting tool at time when one vibration is completed on the basis of the number of vibrations and an amount of feed that are predetermined for one rotation of the cutting tool or the material, [0066] The pulse-like signal of the movement command for moving the cutting tool 130 in the counter-machining direction, which is a periodic pulse-like command from the return movement setting section 193, has a period so that the backward movement F″ is started from each change point A).
Ogawa further teaches executing the learned model according to ([0011] a machine learning device that observes machining condition data indicating machining conditions for cutting of a workpiece clamped on a machining jig by a tool, spindle torque data indicating spindle torque during the cutting, and cutting force component direction data indicating cutting force component direction information on cutting resistance against a cutting force, as state variables representing a current state of an environment, and that carries out learning or decision making with use of a learning model modelling the machining conditions).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Sagasaki (US20210382455) discloses a control device controlling a spindle as a rotation axis using a machine learning device.
/YVONNE TRANG FOLLANSBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117