Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/07/2026 have been carefully and fully considered. With respect to applicant’s argument regarding the rejections which recites:
“With the above amendments, it has become clear that “rotation driving unit”, “feed driving unit”, “control unit”, and “machine learning unit” are physically different devices.”
Examiner notes that the 112b rejection and 112f intepretation has been removed.
“Accordingly, in Nakaya, the controlled positions are limited strictly to change point A and change point B. There is no disclosure or suggestion of intermediate position control during the forward or return feed movement. Therefore, Nakaya fails to disclose or render obvious the feature of controlling the position of the object based on calculated values D, F, and B over the entire feed path, as claimed.”
Examiner notes that the claim language in claim 1 does not require intermediate position control during the forward or return feed movement. Nakaya discloses a returning feed speed and a cutting feed speed as required by the claim language, examiner points to Nakaya [0063] the direction change point A1, at which the forward movement switches to the backward movement, is on a straight line (amplitude line QF) that is obtained by offsetting the actual feed line G by the amplitude Q*F, [0073] the movement route of the cutting tool 130, the forward movement and the backward movement are performed at the same speed. The cutting tool 130 advances with forward movement in the first rotation of the spindle 110, switches from forward movement to backward movement at the position of 180 degrees in the last rotation of the multiple rotations of the spindle 110 (in the second rotation of the spindle 110 in the present example), and moves backward toward the substantial feed line G).
“the learning model of the machine learning device in Ogawa is generated based on “machining condition data S1 indicating the spindle torque during the cutting”, and “cutting force component direction data S3 indicating the cutting force component direction information on the cutting resistance against a cutting force exerted on the workpiece.” It has no relation to the feature of “the object to be fed with a vibration along the feed axis to cut the workpiece, the vibration comprising a cutting feed in a direction cutting into the workpiece and a returning feed in a direction opposite to the direction cutting into the workpiece” of claim 7 of the present application. Since Ogawa does not disclose vibration cutting, nor does it incorporate the returning amount or the returning feed speed in the returning feed into the input/output of the machine learning. Therefore, the combination of Nakaya and Ogawa is unobvious.
Examiner notes that Ogawa is not relied upon to teach vibration cutting, the primary Nakaya is relied upon for the vibration cutting, and therefore the combination of Nakaya and Ogawa is used in teaching the claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakaya et al. (US20200156200, herein Nakaya).
Regarding claim 1, Nakaya teaches A machine tool comprising: a rotation driving unit including a motor and adapted to rotate a spindle gripping a workpiece; a feed driving unit including a servo motor and adapted to feed at least one object along a feed axis, the object comprising the spindle and a tool for cutting the workpiece; and a control unit including a processor and adapted to control the object to be fed with a vibration along the feed axis to cut the workpiece, the vibration comprising a cutting feed in a direction cutting into the workpiece and a returning feed in a direction opposite to the direction cutting into the workpiece ([0040] As shown in FIG. 1, a machine tool 100 includes a spindle 110, a cutting tool 130 such as a tool bit for machining a workpiece W, and a control device 180, [0006] control device for a machine tool comprises a feeding means for feeding a relatively rotating cutting tool and material, and a control means for controlling the rotation and operation of the feeding means, the control means performing control such that cutting is performed with vibrating the cutting tool relative to the material by combining a forward feed movement in the machining direction, in which the cutting tool machines the material, and a return movement in the counter-machining direction different from the machining direction, wherein the control device includes a return position calculation means for calculating a return position of the cutting tool at time when one vibration is completed on the basis of the number of vibrations and an amount of feed that are predetermined for one rotation of the cutting tool or the material, a forward feed setting means for setting the forward feed movement on the basis of one or more change point setting values that determine a change point from the machining direction to the counter-machining direction, and making the cutting tool reach the determined change point, and a return movement setting means for setting a pulse-like signal that is output as a command for the return movement so that the cutting tool reaches the calculated return position at time when one vibration is completed, [0041] rotationally driven by the power of a spindle motor (for example, a built-in motor), [0042] feeding table 163 is moved by the drive of linear servomotor 164); wherein the control unit acquires a feed speed of the object to be fed without the vibration (Fa), a number of rotations of the spindle required for a single cycle of the vibration (K), and a returning amount (R) representing a distance of the returning feed per the single cycle of the vibration, according to the feed speed of the object (Fa), the number of rotations of the spindle (K), and the returning amount (R), ([0094] machining direction and the movement in the machining direction by the forward feed command are combined into the forward feed movement, these movement can be arbitrary. By setting the forward feed command as a forward feed command for moving the cutting edge onto the substantial feed line G, because the substantial feed line G is the same as a line determined by the amount of feed F in general cutting without above-mentioned vibration (conventional cutting), the forward movement F′ can be obtained by adding the pulse-like signal P to the conventional cutting, [0073] The rotation amount of the spindle during the forward and backward movement of the cutting tool 130 is a rotation amount E of the spindle per vibration of the cutting tool. Further, the rotation amount of the spindle during the backward movement of the cutting tool 130 is a rotation amount R of the spindle in the return movement (backward movement) of the cutting tool 130, [0064] The return movement setting section 193 is configured to output a movement command for moving the cutting tool 130 in the counter-machining direction as a pulse-like signal P at a predetermined interval) the control unit decides each of the parameters: a cutting amount (D) representing a distance of a change in a position of the object per the single cycle of the vibration ([0053] The number of reciprocal movements of the cutting tool 130 in one rotation of the workpiece W is D. FIG. 4 shows an example in which the number of vibrations D is 1.5 (times/r). A virtual line (dashed line) passing through the valley of the wavelike waveform is a feed straight line indicating the amount of feed, and a position where the phase of the spindle is 360 degrees in the feed straight line corresponds to the amount of feed F per one rotation of the workpiece W), a cutting feed speed (F) representing a speed of the object in the cutting feed, and a returning feed speed (B) representing a speed of the object in the returning feed ([0061] On the basis of the number of vibrations D and the amount of feed F, the return position calculation section 191 calculates a position on the substantial feed line G, at which the cutting tool 130 is located at the time when one vibration is completed, as the return position, [0063] the direction change point A1, at which the forward movement switches to the backward movement, is on a straight line (amplitude line QF) that is obtained by offsetting the actual feed line G by the amplitude Q*F, [0073] the movement route of the cutting tool 130, the forward movement and the backward movement are performed at the same speed. The cutting tool 130 advances with forward movement in the first rotation of the spindle 110, switches from forward movement to backward movement at the position of 180 degrees in the last rotation of the multiple rotations of the spindle 110 (in the second rotation of the spindle 110 in the present example), and moves backward toward the substantial feed line G) , and the control unit controls the position of the object to be fed with the vibration according to the decided parameters (Fig. 2, [0006] control device for a machine tool comprises a feeding means for feeding a relatively rotating cutting tool and material, and a control means for controlling the rotation and operation of the feeding means, the control means performing control such that cutting is performed with vibrating the cutting tool relative to the material by combining a forward feed movement in the machining direction, in which the cutting tool machines the material, and a return movement in the counter-machining direction different from the machining direction, wherein the control device includes a return position calculation means for calculating a return position of the cutting tool at time when one vibration is completed on the basis of the number of vibrations and an amount of feed that are predetermined for one rotation of the cutting tool or the material, [0066] The pulse-like signal of the movement command for moving the cutting tool 130 in the counter-machining direction, which is a periodic pulse-like command from the return movement setting section 193, has a period so that the backward movement F″ is started from each change point A).
Regarding claim 3, Nakaya teaches The machine tool of claim 1, wherein, upon receipt of the number of rotations of the spindle (K) of greater than a single rotation ([0058] the number of rotations of the spindle and the amount of feed F are specified in advance for example by specifying them in a machining program), the control unit sets a difference in rotation angle of the spindle to 360 degrees between a first change point and a second change point, where the first change point is a point that the cutting feed changes to the returning feed in the single cycle of the vibration and the second change point is a point that the returning feed changes to the cutting feed in the single cycle of the vibration ([0073] The rotation amount of the spindle during the forward and backward movement of the cutting tool 130 is a rotation amount E of the spindle per vibration of the cutting tool. Further, the rotation amount of the spindle during the backward movement of the cutting tool 130 is a rotation amount R of the spindle in the return movement (backward movement) of the cutting tool 130, [0076] FIG. 8 shows the return positions in two vibrations as direction change points B1 and B2 at which the backward movement changes to the forward movement. The vibration waveform in FIG. 8 is expressed on a workpiece basis, and the return position of the cutting tool 130 at the time when one vibration is completed is a position of the phase of the spindle on the substantial feed line G (indicated by a dashed chain line in FIG. 9A) obtained by multiplying the angle of one rotation of the spindle (360 degrees) by the rotation amount E of the spindle. As shown in FIG. 9B, in the present embodiment, the change point B1 is at a position where the phase of the spindle is 720 degrees. Thereafter, each change point is a position on the substantial feed line G with an interval of an angle corresponding to two rotations of the workpiece W, and in the case of the present embodiment, the change point B2 on the substantial feed line G is in a position where the phase of the spindle is 1440 degrees. As described above, the return position calculation section 191 can calculate each return position on the bases of the rotation amount E of the spindle and the amount of feed F at the time when one vibration is completed).
Regarding claim 5, Nakaya teaches The machine tool of claim 1, wherein, upon receipt of the number of rotations of the spindle (K) having a denominator of an odd number of three or more and a numerator of two ([0058] the number of rotations of the spindle and the amount of feed F are specified in advance for example by specifying them in a machining program, [0062] The phase of the spindle at the return position of the cutting tool 130 is obtained by multiplying the angle of one rotation of the workpiece W (360 degrees) by the inverse number (⅔) of the number of vibrations D. As shown in FIG. 6B, in the present embodiment, the change point B1 is at a position where the phase of the spindle is 240 degrees), the control unit sets a difference in rotation angle of the spindle to {(K/2) × 360} degrees between a first change point and a second change point, where the first change point is a point that the cutting feed changes to the returning feed in the single cycle of the vibration and the second change point is a point that the returning feed changes to the cutting feed in the single cycle of the vibration ([0063] the position of each change point A is on the amplitude line QF, and an interval between each change point A is determined by multiplying the angle between adjoining change points B by ½. For example, in the case of the present embodiment, the change point A2 is at an intermediate position (where the phase of the spindle is 360 degrees) from 240 degrees, which is the phase of the spindle of the change point B1, to 480 degrees, which is the phase of the spindle of the change point B2, and the change point A3 is at an intermediate position (where the phase of the spindle is 540 degrees) from 480 degrees, which is the phase of the spindle of the change point B2, to 720 degrees, which is the phase of the spindle of the change point B3. As described above, the change point A1 is determined using the amount of feed F, the amplitude feed ratio Q, and the number of vibrations D as parameters (change point setting values). The forward feed setting section 192 sets a straight line passing through the 0 degree of the phase of the spindle and the change point A1 as forward feed movement, and the control section 181 outputs a forward feed command for moving the cutting edge along the forward feed movement).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakaya et al. (US20200156200, herein Nakaya), in view of Ogawa et al. (US20190275629, herein Ogawa)
Regarding claim 7, Nakaya teaches A machine tool comprising a rotation driving unit including a motor and adapted to rotate a spindle gripping a workpiece; a feed driving unit including a servo motor and adapted to feed at least one object along a feed axis, the object comprising the spindle and a tool for cutting the workpiece; a control unit including a processor and adapted to control the object to be fed with a vibration along the feed axis to cut the workpiece, the vibration comprising a cutting feed in a direction cutting into the workpiece and a returning feed in a direction opposite to the direction cutting into the workpiece ([0040] As shown in FIG. 1, a machine tool 100 includes a spindle 110, a cutting tool 130 such as a tool bit for machining a workpiece W, and a control device 180, [0006] control device for a machine tool comprises a feeding means for feeding a relatively rotating cutting tool and material, and a control means for controlling the rotation and operation of the feeding means, the control means performing control such that cutting is performed with vibrating the cutting tool relative to the material by combining a forward feed movement in the machining direction, in which the cutting tool machines the material, and a return movement in the counter-machining direction different from the machining direction, wherein the control device includes a return position calculation means for calculating a return position of the cutting tool at time when one vibration is completed on the basis of the number of vibrations and an amount of feed that are predetermined for one rotation of the cutting tool or the material, a forward feed setting means for setting the forward feed movement on the basis of one or more change point setting values that determine a change point from the machining direction to the counter-machining direction, and making the cutting tool reach the determined change point, and a return movement setting means for setting a pulse-like signal that is output as a command for the return movement so that the cutting tool reaches the calculated return position at time when one vibration is completed); a computer ([0049] The control section 181 is composed of a CPU or the like) … wherein the control unit acquires a feed speed of the object to be fed without the vibration (Fa), a number of rotations of the spindle required for a single cycle of the vibration (K), and a returning amount (R) representing a distance of the returning feed per the single cycle of the vibration, according to the feed speed of the object (Fa), the number of rotations of the spindle (K), and the returning amount (R), ([0094] machining direction and the movement in the machining direction by the forward feed command are combined into the forward feed movement, these movement can be arbitrary. By setting the forward feed command as a forward feed command for moving the cutting edge onto the substantial feed line G, because the substantial feed line G is the same as a line determined by the amount of feed F in general cutting without above-mentioned vibration (conventional cutting), the forward movement F′ can be obtained by adding the pulse-like signal P to the conventional cutting, [0073] The rotation amount of the spindle during the forward and backward movement of the cutting tool 130 is a rotation amount E of the spindle per vibration of the cutting tool. Further, the rotation amount of the spindle during the backward movement of the cutting tool 130 is a rotation amount R of the spindle in the return movement (backward movement) of the cutting tool 130, [0064] The return movement setting section 193 is configured to output a movement command for moving the cutting tool 130 in the counter-machining direction as a pulse-like signal P at a predetermined interval) the control unit decides at least one parameter among a cutting amount (D) representing a distance of a change in a position of the object per the single cycle of the vibration, a cutting feed speed (F) representing a speed of the object in the cutting feed, and a returning feed speed (B) representing a speed of the object in the returning feed ([0061] On the basis of the number of vibrations D and the amount of feed F, the return position calculation section 191 calculates a position on the substantial feed line G, at which the cutting tool 130 is located at the time when one vibration is completed, as the return position, [0063] the direction change point A1, at which the forward movement switches to the backward movement, is on a straight line (amplitude line QF) that is obtained by offsetting the actual feed line G by the amplitude Q*F) , and the control unit controls the position of the object to be fed with the vibration at least according to the decided parameters (Fig. 2, [0006] control device for a machine tool comprises a feeding means for feeding a relatively rotating cutting tool and material, and a control means for controlling the rotation and operation of the feeding means, the control means performing control such that cutting is performed with vibrating the cutting tool relative to the material by combining a forward feed movement in the machining direction, in which the cutting tool machines the material, and a return movement in the counter-machining direction different from the machining direction, wherein the control device includes a return position calculation means for calculating a return position of the cutting tool at time when one vibration is completed on the basis of the number of vibrations and an amount of feed that are predetermined for one rotation of the cutting tool or the material, [0066] The pulse-like signal of the movement command for moving the cutting tool 130 in the counter-machining direction, which is a periodic pulse-like command from the return movement setting section 193, has a period so that the backward movement F″ is started from each change point A) …a feed speed of the object to be fed without the vibration (Fa), a number of rotations of the spindle required for a single cycle of the vibration (K), and a returning amount (R) representing a distance of the returning feed per the single cycle of the vibration we well as ([0094] machining direction and the movement in the machining direction by the forward feed command are combined into the forward feed movement, these movement can be arbitrary. By setting the forward feed command as a forward feed command for moving the cutting edge onto the substantial feed line G, because the substantial feed line G is the same as a line determined by the amount of feed F in general cutting without above-mentioned vibration (conventional cutting), the forward movement F′ can be obtained by adding the pulse-like signal P to the conventional cutting, [0073] The rotation amount of the spindle during the forward and backward movement of the cutting tool 130 is a rotation amount E of the spindle per vibration of the cutting tool. Further, the rotation amount of the spindle during the backward movement of the cutting tool 130 is a rotation amount R of the spindle in the return movement (backward movement) of the cutting tool 130, [0064] The return movement setting section 193 is configured to output a movement command for moving the cutting tool 130 in the counter-machining direction as a pulse-like signal P at a predetermined interval) a determination result (E) representing whether or not a position of the object at a first change point overlaps a position of the object at a second change point ([0055] In the overlap period of the routes of the cutting edge in which the route of the cutting edge of the n+1th rotation is included in the route of the cutting edge of the nth rotation, portions to be machined in the workpiece W has already been machined by the machining of the nth rotation. Therefore, the cutting tool 130 and the workpiece W do not contact in the feed direction. Thus, there is an air-cut period in which the cutting tool 130 substantially does not machine the workpiece W, and chips generated on the workpiece W are divided into segmented chips. The cutting tool 130 machines the workpiece W while vibrating by being reciprocated relative to the workpiece W. This vibration cutting makes it possible to machine the workpiece smoothly with segmenting chips), the first change point being a point that the cutting feed changes to the returning feed while the second change point being a point that the returning feed changes to the cutting feed,… a computer to decide the number of rotations of the spindle (K) and the returning amount (R) that generates an overlap between the positions of the object at the first change point and the second change point according to the number of rotations of the spindle per unit time (S) and the feed speed of the object (Fa) ([0061] On the basis of the number of vibrations D and the amount of feed F, the return position calculation section 191 calculates a position on the substantial feed line G, at which the cutting tool 130 is located at the time when one vibration is completed, as the return position, [0063] the direction change point A1, at which the forward movement switches to the backward movement, is on a straight line (amplitude line QF) that is obtained by offsetting the actual feed line G by the amplitude Q*F, [0055] In the overlap period of the routes of the cutting edge in which the route of the cutting edge of the n+1th rotation is included in the route of the cutting edge of the nth rotation, portions to be machined in the workpiece W has already been machined by the machining of the nth rotation. Therefore, the cutting tool 130 and the workpiece W do not contact in the feed direction. Thus, there is an air-cut period in which the cutting tool 130 substantially does not machine the workpiece W, and chips generated on the workpiece W are divided into segmented chips. The cutting tool 130 machines the workpiece W while vibrating by being reciprocated relative to the workpiece W. This vibration cutting makes it possible to machine the workpiece smoothly with segmenting chips).
Nakaya does not teach and a machine learning program corresponding to a machine learning unit stored in a storage device of the computer and/or a storage device of a NC apparatus… the machine learning unit being adapted to generate a learned model through application of a machine learning according to a number of rotations of the spindle per unit time (S)… and the learned model allowing
Ogawa teaches and a machine learning program corresponding to a machine learning unit stored in a storage device of the computer and/or a storage device of a NC apparatus… the machine learning unit being adapted to generate a learned model through application of a machine learning according to a number of rotations of the spindle per unit time (S)… and the learned model allowing ([0040] The machining condition data S1 among the state variables S observed by the state observation unit 106 may be acquired as the machining conditions for the cutting. Examples of the machining conditions for the cutting include an actual cutting feed speed, a number of rotation of the spindle, a cutting depth, a rake angle, and the like in the machining by the machine tool 2, [0053] learning by the learning unit 110 is made usable, the decision making unit 122 outputs the machining conditions for the cutting (such as the cutting feed speed, the number of rotation of the spindle, the cutting depth, and the rake angle). The machining conditions for the cutting outputted from the decision making unit 122 are machining conditions on which a cutting force that allows holding of the workpiece within a range of clamping force from the jig is exerted on the workpiece. The decision making unit 122 determines the appropriate machining conditions for the cutting based on the state variables S and the results of the learning by the learning unit 110, [0011] a machine learning device that observes machining condition data indicating machining conditions for cutting of a workpiece clamped on a machining jig by a tool, spindle torque data indicating spindle torque during the cutting, and cutting force component direction data indicating cutting force component direction information on cutting resistance against a cutting force, as state variables representing a current state of an environment, and that carries out learning or decision making with use of a learning model modelling the machining conditions, [0030] The programs and the various types of data that are stored in the nonvolatile memory 14 may be expanded in the RAM 13 for execution/use).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakaya’s teaching of a control device for a machine tool performing cutting with vibration with Ogawa’s teaching of using a learning model for modelling the machining conditions for the cutting . The combined teaching provides an expected result of a control device for a machine tool performing cutting with vibration using a learning model for modelling the machining conditions for the cutting. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve the accuracy of the system by incorporating machining learning to the calculations, support from Ogawa is shown in [0013] use of a machine learning technique and without use of expensive equipment, so that accurate machining may be attained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Sagasaki (US20210382455) discloses a control device controlling a spindle as a rotation axis using a machine learning device.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YVONNE TRANG FOLLANSBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ALICIA M. CHOI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117