DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to amendment filed on 02/17/2026. The Examiner has acknowledged the amended claims 1, 8 and 15 have been amended. Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination and are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument, filed on 02/17/2026 has been entered and carefully considered.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection of Claims1, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 112, first paragraph, as falling to comply with the written description requirement have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection necessitated by Applicant's amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-10, 11-12 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fok et al. (WO 2006105301 hereinafter Fok) in view of Rothwell et al. (US 20030088627 hereinafter Rothwell).
With respect to claims 1, 8 and 15 , Fok teaches a method for providing an anti-spam service, the method comprising:
receiving a message at a user equipment (UE) corresponding to a user (Fok, see FIG. 11 and paragraph [00125] a method of spam detection on a wireless device 102 may include receiving, at step 302, at least a portion of an anti-spam engine 138 onto wireless device 102);
causing display of text corresponding to the message within a text interface of the UE (Fok, see paragraph [00134] although user manager anti-spam module 190 may generate report 205, the user manager 110 and its corresponding components may be operable to present a view of spam related information collected from the wireless device 102 in any form, such as tables, maps, graphics views, plain text, interactive programs or web pages, or any other display or presentation of the data);
receiving a selection, by the user, of a portion of the text corresponding to the message; forwarding the portion of the text selected by the user to the message to an anti-spam engine to determine if the message is spam(Fok, see paragraph [0074] all or a selected portion 173 of the given content 160 and/or information associated with the content, including but not limited to: the calculated filter test result 188; the content destination 172; and source information 186 identifying the originator of the content and including, for example, a URL, a telephone number, a MAC address, an E-mail address of the spam generator 122, …Paragraph [0075] discloses furthermore, for content 160 classified as spam content 163 and stored in a separate quarantine folder 188, anti-spam engine 138 may alert a user of wireless device 102 of their presence in order to initiate review of these content );
receiving, at the UE, a response from the anti-spam engine (Fok, see paragraph [00118] at step 381, a message may be received by the wireless device 102 in response to the transmitted spam log 184. The message may comprise a control command 185 instructing the wireless device 102 to receive and upload an update to content filter configuration 170);
causing display of the response from the anti-spam engine within the text interface of the UE, wherein the response comprises an analysis of the portion of the text (Fok, see paragraphs [00134-00135] although user manager anti-spam module 190 may generate report 205 (i.e., report form analysis), the user manager 110 and its corresponding components may be operable to present a view of spam related information collected from the wireless device 102 in any form, such as tables, maps, graphics views, plain text, interactive programs or web pages, or any other display or presentation of the data. For example, user manager anti-spam module 190 may present content authorization related information on a monitor or display device, and/or may transmit this information, such as via electronic mail, …); and
prompting the user, at the text interface of the UE, to select an action to perform corresponding to the message(Fok, see paragraphs [00135-00137] at step 318, an authorized user of operator workstation 114 may analyze report 205 and decide, for example, to contact message center 118. In one aspect, the operator workstation 114 may transmit, at step 320, an appropriately composed message to the user manager 110, to be forwarded, at step 322, to the message center 118...).
Fok yet fails to explicitly discloses an anti-spam artificial intelligence service.
However, Rothwell discloses an anti-spam artificial intelligence service (Rothwell, see paragraphs [0040-0041] the statistical analysis ends at this point and this data is passed to the Neural Network engine to determine patterns in statistics and words, and use these to determine whether the message is SPAM based on comparing the patterns to patterns predetermined to be SPAM or non-SPAM. The greater the number of variables in the statistics table, the easier it is for the Artificial Intelligence engine (AI) to "learn" to differentiate between SPAM and genuine messages).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Fok with the teaching of Rothwell to provide the method for an anti-spam artificial intelligence (AI) service offers significant advantages over traditional rule-based filters by providing real-time, adaptive, and highly accurate protection against increasingly sophisticated threats like phishing, ransomware, and business email compromise.
With respect to claims 2, 9 and 16, Fok-Rothwell teaches the method, wherein the action is to ignore, delete, or read the message (Leddy, see paragraph [0072] if classified as spam content 163, anti-spam engine 138 may then store the content in quarantine folder 164 and/or may automatically delete the content depending upon storage limit 176. If not classified as spam, then anti-spam engine 138 initiates the delivery of content 160 to the intended content destination 172).
With respect to claims 3, 10 and 17, Fok-Rothwell teaches the method, wherein forwarding text corresponding to the message to an anti-spam engine comprises:
forwarding the text corresponding to the message to a server; and instructing the server to make an application programming interface (API) call to the anti-spam engine, the API call including the text corresponding to the message (Fok, see paragraphs [0057] processing subsystems 150 may include any subsystem components that receive data reads and data writes from API 146 on behalf of the resident anti-spam engine 138 and any other memory resident client application 140).
With respect to claims 4, 11 and 18, Fok-Rothwell teaches the method, further comprising receiving an indication, at the UE, the message is likely a scam message (Fok, see paragraph [0065] Host-based and rule-based filters, for example, examine content for "spam-markers" such as common spam subjects, known spammer addresses, known mail forwarding machines, or simply common spam phrases, hi one aspect, such as in cases when the content comprises a message, the header and/or the body of the message may be examined for these markers).
With respect to claims 5, 12 and 19, Fok-Rothwell teaches the method, further comprising receiving a selection made by the user, at the UE, that causes the text corresponding to the message to be forwarded to the anti-spam engine (Fok, see paragraph [0074] all or a selected portion 173 of the given content 160 and/or information associated with the content, including but not limited to: the calculated filter test result 188; the content destination 172; and source information 186 identifying the originator of the content and including, for example, a URL, a telephone number, a MAC address, an E-mail address of the spam generator 122, and a an identification of the generating client application 140 on the wireless device. Paragraph [0075] discloses furthermore, for content 160 classified as spam content 163 and stored in a separate quarantine folder 188, anti-spam engine 138 may alert a user of wireless device 102 of their presence in order to initiate review of these content).
Claims 6-7, 13-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fok et al. (WO 2006105301 hereinafter Fok) in view of Rothwell et al. (US 20030088627 hereinafter Rothwell) further discloses Richardson et al. (US 20240314164 hereinafter Richardson).
With respect to claims 6 and 13, Fok-Rothwell teaches the method, yet fails to explicitly discloses further comprising receiving a selection made by the user, at the UE, that causes the text corresponding to the message to be forwarded to a cybersecurity service.
However, Richardson discloses further comprising receiving a selection made by the user, at the UE, that causes the text corresponding to the message to be forwarded to a cybersecurity service (Richardson, see paragraphs [0027-0028] one or more detection models (i.e., interpreted as being equivalent to cybersecurity service) can be trained to accurately identify spear phishing email messages for specific categories of recipients. Multiple models can leverage generative artificial intelligence (AI) to multiple types (or modalities) of content to be included in these training communications, such as may include various AI generators to generate or synthesize text (including hyperlinks), images, and file attachments. … Paragraphs [0211-0217] further discloses the processor of clause, wherein the at least one filtering criterion includes detection of generation by an artificial intelligence (AI) generator or detection as a phishing attempt. Train the spear phishing detection model using a training dataset including the training communication; Provide a received communication as input to the spear phishing model).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Fok-Rothwell with the teaching of Richardson to provide the method for receiving a user-initiated selection at the User Equipment (UE) to forward message text to a cybersecurity service offers several key advantages, primarily centered on enabling rapid, user-driven threat detection and improving organizational security posture.
With respect to claims 7, 14 and 20, Fok-Rothwell-Richardson teaches the method, further comprising, upon the cybersecurity service being unable to determine if the text corresponding to the message is spam, causing the cybersecurity service to make an application programming interface (API) call to the anti-spam engine, the API call including the text corresponding to the message (Richardson, see paragraphs [0027-0028] one or more detection models (i.e., cybersecurity service) can be trained to accurately identify spear phishing email messages for specific categories of recipients. Content from these various modalities can be combined (or otherwise used) to form sample spear phishing communications, which can then be passed through one or more filters (to check for standard phishing content or AI-generated content) to determine whether the communication can be viewed as a good example of a spear phishing email. Paragraph [0247] further discloses oneAPI and/or oneAPI programming model is utilized to interact with various accelerator, GPU, processor, and/or variations thereof, architectures).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
PG. Pub. US 20050076084 A1 Message classification method in computer communication network, involves applying machine learning technique to recognized pattern of incoming messages, to classify messages.
EP 1675332 A1 Spam messages blocking method for use in telecommunication network, involves determining whether message is transmitted from source to destination or blocked, based on stored black or white list.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
02/19/2026
/ELIZABETH KASSA/Examiner, Art Unit 2457
/ARIO ETIENNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2457