The amendment filed 2/9/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Claims 1-30 stand rejected.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,848,803 in view of Breiling et al. (Pub. No.: US 20170163452 A1), hereafter referred to as Breiling. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both conflicting claims recite the UE to: obtain channel information for a sidelink channel between the UE and a receiving device; perform, based on the channel information, a pre-equalization process on a signal to be transmitted to the receiving device to obtain a pre-equalized signal; and transmit, through the sidelink channel, the pre-equalized signal to the receiving device.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,848,803 fails to clearly recite An apparatus of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, is configured to cause the UE, wherein the UE is configured to perform at least a portion of processing offloaded from the receiving device.
Breiling teaches An apparatus of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (user equipment 10, Para. 77, FIG. 3), comprising: at least one memory (machine readable carrier, Para. 365); and at least one processor (signal processor 68, Para. 86, FIG. 3) coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to (program code being operative for performing one of the methods when the computer program product runs on a computer. The program code may for example be stored on a machine readable carrier, Para. 365).
Breiling teaches, wherein the UE (FIG. 3 shows a basic transceiver 5 of a user equipment 10. The transceiver 5 comprises a frontend channel estimator 20, Para. 77, FIG. 3) is configured to perform at least a portion of processing (The frontend channel estimator 20 is configured to perform a channel estimation based on the frontend evaluation signal 45 in order to reduce distortions caused by using the extremely-high frequencies, Para. 78, FIG. 3. The channel estimation stage 20 of the transceiver 5 is configured to adapt receiving parameters and signal processing parameters in accordance to an actual SNR (signal-to-noise ratio) and/or actual channel characteristic like the Doppler change rate, Para. 87, FIG. 3) offloaded from the receiving device (SUDAC 30 comprising a frontend channel pre-equalizer 92 which is configured to pre-equalize the inbound signal 105 to reduce the distortions, based on the configuration signal 46 received from a frontend channel estimator 20 of the user equipment 10. The SUDAC 30 with the frontend channel pre-equalizer 92 being remotely configured by the user equipment 10. Therefore, the user equipment 10 may transmit a configuration signal 46 in a frontend control portion 40 to the SUDAC 30. The SUDAC 30 extracts the configuration signal 46 comprising e. g. filter coefficients or filter indices, which can be applied by the frontend channel pre-equalizer 92, Para. 94, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Breiling with the limitations of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,848,803 since Breiling provides a technique for user equipment to perform a channel estimation and adapt receiving parameters and signal processing parameters for configuring a channel pre-equalizer of a separate device, which can be introduced into the limitations of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,848,803 to permit a first device to perform certain pre-equalization techniques that generate values, which can be utilized by a second device conducting communications with the first device.
Claim 27 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,848,803 in view of Breiling et al. (Pub. No.: US 20170163452 A1), hereafter referred to as Breiling. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both conflicting claims recite A method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: obtaining channel information for a sidelink channel between the UE and a receiving device; performing, based on the channel information, a pre-equalization process on a signal to be transmitted to the receiving device to obtain a pre-equalized signal; and transmitting, through the sidelink channel, the pre-equalized signal to the receiving device.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,848,803 fails to clearly recite wherein the UE is configured to perform at least a portion of processing offloaded from the receiving device.
Breiling teaches wherein the UE (FIG. 3 shows a basic transceiver 5 of a user equipment 10. The transceiver 5 comprises a frontend channel estimator 20, Para. 77, FIG. 3) is configured to perform at least a portion of processing (The frontend channel estimator 20 is configured to perform a channel estimation based on the frontend evaluation signal 45 in order to reduce distortions caused by using the extremely-high frequencies, Para. 78, FIG. 3. The channel estimation stage 20 of the transceiver 5 is configured to adapt receiving parameters and signal processing parameters in accordance to an actual SNR (signal-to-noise ratio) and/or actual channel characteristic like the Doppler change rate, Para. 87, FIG. 3) offloaded from the receiving device (SUDAC 30 comprising a frontend channel pre-equalizer 92 which is configured to pre-equalize the inbound signal 105 to reduce the distortions, based on the configuration signal 46 received from a frontend channel estimator 20 of the user equipment 10. The SUDAC 30 with the frontend channel pre-equalizer 92 being remotely configured by the user equipment 10. Therefore, the user equipment 10 may transmit a configuration signal 46 in a frontend control portion 40 to the SUDAC 30. The SUDAC 30 extracts the configuration signal 46 comprising e. g. filter coefficients or filter indices, which can be applied by the frontend channel pre-equalizer 92, Para. 94, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Breiling with the limitations of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,848,803 since Breiling provides a technique for user equipment to perform a channel estimation and adapt receiving parameters and signal processing parameters for configuring a channel pre-equalizer of a separate device, which can be introduced into the limitations of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,848,803 to permit a first device to perform certain pre-equalization techniques that generate values, which can be utilized by a second device conducting communications with the first device.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,237,952 in view of Breiling et al. (Pub. No.: US 20170163452 A1), hereafter referred to as Breiling. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both conflicting claims recite An apparatus of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: obtain channel information for a sidelink channel between the UE and a receiving device; perform, based on the channel information, a pre-equalization process on a signal to be transmitted to the receiving device to obtain a pre-equalized signal; and transmit, through the sidelink channel, the pre-equalized signal to the receiving device.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,237,952 fails to clearly recite wherein the UE is configured to perform at least a portion of processing offloaded from the receiving device.
Breiling teaches wherein the UE (FIG. 3 shows a basic transceiver 5 of a user equipment 10. The transceiver 5 comprises a frontend channel estimator 20, Para. 77, FIG. 3) is configured to perform at least a portion of processing (The frontend channel estimator 20 is configured to perform a channel estimation based on the frontend evaluation signal 45 in order to reduce distortions caused by using the extremely-high frequencies, Para. 78, FIG. 3. The channel estimation stage 20 of the transceiver 5 is configured to adapt receiving parameters and signal processing parameters in accordance to an actual SNR (signal-to-noise ratio) and/or actual channel characteristic like the Doppler change rate, Para. 87, FIG. 3) offloaded from the receiving device (SUDAC 30 comprising a frontend channel pre-equalizer 92 which is configured to pre-equalize the inbound signal 105 to reduce the distortions, based on the configuration signal 46 received from a frontend channel estimator 20 of the user equipment 10. The SUDAC 30 with the frontend channel pre-equalizer 92 being remotely configured by the user equipment 10. Therefore, the user equipment 10 may transmit a configuration signal 46 in a frontend control portion 40 to the SUDAC 30. The SUDAC 30 extracts the configuration signal 46 comprising e. g. filter coefficients or filter indices, which can be applied by the frontend channel pre-equalizer 92, Para. 94, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Breiling with the limitations of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,237,952 since Breiling provides a technique for user equipment to perform a channel estimation and adapt receiving parameters and signal processing parameters for configuring a channel pre-equalizer of a separate device, which can be introduced into the limitations of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,237,952 to permit a first device to perform certain pre-equalization techniques that generate values, which can be utilized by a second device conducting communications with the first device.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,237,952 in view of Horn et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220231890 A1) and Breiling et al. (Pub. No.: US 20170163452 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Horn and Breiling. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both conflicting claims recite An apparatus of wireless communication at a receiving device, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, is configured to cause the receiving device to: receive, from a user equipment (UE), a dedicated reference signal; transmit, to the UE based on the dedicated reference signal, channel information for a sidelink channel between the UE and the receiving device; receive, from the UE, a pre-equalized signal.
Claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,237,952 fails to clearly recite process the pre-equalized signal using a simplified receive process, wherein the simplified receive process skips an equalization process for the pre-equalized signal.
Horn teaches process the pre-equalized signal using a simplified receive process (Pre-equalization may be an efficient method due to the second device being able to efficiently determine the original signal, Para. 89, FIG. 1. Pre-equalization may be an efficient method due to the receiving device being able to efficiently determine and decode the original signal, without itself performing equalization techniques, Para. 100, FIG. 2A. Based on the received report, a receiver of the pre-equalized signal may efficiently deconvolve the applied pre-equalization, Para. 106, FIG. 2A. The device 805 may support techniques for improved user experience related to reduced processing, and improved utilization of processing capability, Para. 175, FIG. 8), wherein the simplified receive process skips an equalization process for the pre-equalized signal (Pre-equalization may be an efficient method due to the receiving device being able to efficiently determine and decode the original signal, without itself performing equalization techniques, Para. 100, FIG. 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Horn with the limitations of claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,237,952 since Horn provides a technique for receiving signals without performing equalization with respect to pre-equalization, which can be introduced into the limitations of claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,237,952 to permit lower processing requirements at receivers.
Claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,237,952 fails to clearly recite wherein the UE is configured to perform at least a portion of processing offloaded from the receiving device.
Breiling teaches, wherein the UE (FIG. 3 shows a basic transceiver 5 of a user equipment 10. The transceiver 5 comprises a frontend channel estimator 20, Para. 77, FIG. 3) is configured to perform at least a portion of processing (The frontend channel estimator 20 is configured to perform a channel estimation based on the frontend evaluation signal 45 in order to reduce distortions caused by using the extremely-high frequencies, Para. 78, FIG. 3. The channel estimation stage 20 of the transceiver 5 is configured to adapt receiving parameters and signal processing parameters in accordance to an actual SNR (signal-to-noise ratio) and/or actual channel characteristic like the Doppler change rate, Para. 87, FIG. 3) offloaded from the receiving device (SUDAC 30 comprising a frontend channel pre-equalizer 92 which is configured to pre-equalize the inbound signal 105 to reduce the distortions, based on the configuration signal 46 received from a frontend channel estimator 20 of the user equipment 10. The SUDAC 30 with the frontend channel pre-equalizer 92 being remotely configured by the user equipment 10. Therefore, the user equipment 10 may transmit a configuration signal 46 in a frontend control portion 40 to the SUDAC 30. The SUDAC 30 extracts the configuration signal 46 comprising e. g. filter coefficients or filter indices, which can be applied by the frontend channel pre-equalizer 92, Para. 94, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Breiling with the limitations of claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,237,952 in view of Horn since Breiling provides a technique for user equipment to perform a channel estimation and adapt receiving parameters and signal processing parameters for configuring a channel pre-equalizer of a separate device, which can be introduced into the limitations of claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,237,952 in view of Horn to permit a first device to perform certain pre-equalization techniques that generate values, which can be utilized by a second device conducting communications with the first device.
Claim 27 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,237,952 in view of Breiling et al. (Pub. No.: US 20170163452 A1), hereafter referred to as Breiling. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both conflicting claims recite A method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: obtaining channel information for a sidelink channel between the UE and a receiving device; performing, based on the channel information, a pre-equalization process on a signal to be transmitted to the receiving device to obtain a pre-equalized signal; and transmitting, through the sidelink channel, the pre-equalized signal to the receiving device.
Claim 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,237,952 fails to clearly recite wherein the UE is configured to perform at least a portion of processing offloaded from the receiving device.
Breiling teaches wherein the UE (FIG. 3 shows a basic transceiver 5 of a user equipment 10. The transceiver 5 comprises a frontend channel estimator 20, Para. 77, FIG. 3) is configured to perform at least a portion of processing (The frontend channel estimator 20 is configured to perform a channel estimation based on the frontend evaluation signal 45 in order to reduce distortions caused by using the extremely-high frequencies, Para. 78, FIG. 3. The channel estimation stage 20 of the transceiver 5 is configured to adapt receiving parameters and signal processing parameters in accordance to an actual SNR (signal-to-noise ratio) and/or actual channel characteristic like the Doppler change rate, Para. 87, FIG. 3) offloaded from the receiving device (SUDAC 30 comprising a frontend channel pre-equalizer 92 which is configured to pre-equalize the inbound signal 105 to reduce the distortions, based on the configuration signal 46 received from a frontend channel estimator 20 of the user equipment 10. The SUDAC 30 with the frontend channel pre-equalizer 92 being remotely configured by the user equipment 10. Therefore, the user equipment 10 may transmit a configuration signal 46 in a frontend control portion 40 to the SUDAC 30. The SUDAC 30 extracts the configuration signal 46 comprising e. g. filter coefficients or filter indices, which can be applied by the frontend channel pre-equalizer 92, Para. 94, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Breiling with the limitations of claim 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,237,952 since Breiling provides a technique for user equipment to perform a channel estimation and adapt receiving parameters and signal processing parameters for configuring a channel pre-equalizer of a separate device, which can be introduced into the limitations of claim 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,237,952 to permit a first device to perform certain pre-equalization techniques that generate values, which can be utilized by a second device conducting communications with the first device.
Claim 29 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 30 of U.S. Patent No. 12,237,952 in view of Horn et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220231890 A1) and Breiling et al. (Pub. No.: US 20170163452 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Horn and Breiling. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both conflicting claims recite A method of wireless communication at a receiving device, comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a dedicated reference signal; transmitting, to the UE based on the dedicated reference signal, channel information for a sidelink channel between the UE and the receiving device; receiving, from the UE, a pre-equalized signal.
Claim 30 of U.S. Patent No. 12,237,952 fails to clearly recite processing the pre-equalized signal using a simplified receive process, wherein the simplified receive process skips an equalization process for the pre-equalized signal.
Horn teaches processing the pre-equalized signal using a simplified receive process (Pre-equalization may be an efficient method due to the second device being able to efficiently determine the original signal, Para. 89, FIG. 1. Pre-equalization may be an efficient method due to the receiving device being able to efficiently determine and decode the original signal, without itself performing equalization techniques, Para. 100, FIG. 2A. Based on the received report, a receiver of the pre-equalized signal may efficiently deconvolve the applied pre-equalization, Para. 106, FIG. 2A. The device 805 may support techniques for improved user experience related to reduced processing, and improved utilization of processing capability, Para. 175, FIG. 8), wherein the simplified receive process skips an equalization process for the pre-equalized signal (Pre-equalization may be an efficient method due to the receiving device being able to efficiently determine and decode the original signal, without itself performing equalization techniques, Para. 100, FIG. 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Horn with the limitations of claim 30 of U.S. Patent No. 12,237,952 since Horn provides a technique for receiving signals without performing equalization with respect to pre-equalization, which can be introduced into the limitations of claim 30 of U.S. Patent No. 12,237,952 to permit lower processing requirements at receivers.
Claim 30 of U.S. Patent No. 12,237,952 fails to clearly recite wherein the UE is configured to perform at least a portion of processing offloaded from the receiving device.
Breiling teaches, wherein the UE (FIG. 3 shows a basic transceiver 5 of a user equipment 10. The transceiver 5 comprises a frontend channel estimator 20, Para. 77, FIG. 3) is configured to perform at least a portion of processing (The frontend channel estimator 20 is configured to perform a channel estimation based on the frontend evaluation signal 45 in order to reduce distortions caused by using the extremely-high frequencies, Para. 78, FIG. 3. The channel estimation stage 20 of the transceiver 5 is configured to adapt receiving parameters and signal processing parameters in accordance to an actual SNR (signal-to-noise ratio) and/or actual channel characteristic like the Doppler change rate, Para. 87, FIG. 3) offloaded from the receiving device (SUDAC 30 comprising a frontend channel pre-equalizer 92 which is configured to pre-equalize the inbound signal 105 to reduce the distortions, based on the configuration signal 46 received from a frontend channel estimator 20 of the user equipment 10. The SUDAC 30 with the frontend channel pre-equalizer 92 being remotely configured by the user equipment 10. Therefore, the user equipment 10 may transmit a configuration signal 46 in a frontend control portion 40 to the SUDAC 30. The SUDAC 30 extracts the configuration signal 46 comprising e. g. filter coefficients or filter indices, which can be applied by the frontend channel pre-equalizer 92, Para. 94, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Breiling with the limitations of claim 30 of U.S. Patent No. 12,237,952 since Breiling provides a technique for user equipment to perform a channel estimation and adapt receiving parameters and signal processing parameters for configuring a channel pre-equalizer of a separate device, which can be introduced into the limitations of claim 30 of U.S. Patent No. 12,237,952 to permit a first device to perform certain pre-equalization techniques that generate values, which can be utilized by a second device conducting communications with the first device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 17-21 and 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220231890 A1) in view of Breiling et al. (Pub. No.: US 20170163452 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Horn and Breiling.
In regard to Claim 1, Horn teaches An apparatus of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (First device 305 may be an example of a UE, Para. 116, FIG. 3), comprising: at least one memory (memory 830, Para. 171, FIG. 8); and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory (The memory 830 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 835 including instructions that, when executed by the processor 840, cause the device 805 to perform various functions, Para. 171, FIG. 8), the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: obtain channel information (channel estimation procedures may include the transmitting device transmitting one or more reference signals to the receiving device, where the receiving device may measure the one or more reference signals and transmit information about the one or more measurements to the transmitting device, Para. 99, FIG. 2A. At 315, the first device 305 may determine a condition of a channel, Para. 117, FIG. 3) for a sidelink channel (With reference to FIG. 2A, first device 205-a may be an example of a UE, second device 210-a may be an example of a UE, Para. 96, FIG. 2A. Communications link 230-a (e.g., a sidelink communications link), Para. 99, FIG. 2A. First device 305 may be an example of a UE and second device 310 may be an example of a UE, Para. 116, FIG. 3) between the UE and a receiving device (a channel between the first device 305 and a second device 310, Para. 117, FIG. 3).
Horn teaches perform, based on the channel information (pre-equalization techniques may include the transmitting device applying channel inversion coefficients, applying power scaling, and so forth, to the signal based on information about the channel, Para. 99, FIG. 2A. The one or more pre-equalization parameters may be based on the condition of the channel, Para. 119, FIG. 3), a pre-equalization process on a signal to be transmitted to the receiving device to obtain a pre-equalized signal (To mitigate the power consumption at a receiving device (e.g., second device 210-a), the transmitting device (e.g., first device 205-a) may perform pre-equalization on the signal prior to transmission that accounts for (e.g., counteracts) the channel environment, Para. 99, FIG. 2A. At 325, the first device 305 may apply pre-equalization to the signal, Para. 119, FIG. 3).
Horn teaches transmit, through the sidelink channel, the pre-equalized signal to the receiving device (At 335, the first device 305 may transmit, to the second device 310, the pre-equalized signal over the channel, Para. 123, FIG. 3).
Horn fails to teach wherein the UE is configured to perform at least a portion of processing offloaded from the receiving device.
Breiling teaches wherein the UE (FIG. 3 shows a basic transceiver 5 of a user equipment 10. The transceiver 5 comprises a frontend channel estimator 20, Para. 77, FIG. 3) is configured to perform at least a portion of processing (The frontend channel estimator 20 is configured to perform a channel estimation based on the frontend evaluation signal 45 in order to reduce distortions caused by using the extremely-high frequencies, Para. 78, FIG. 3. The channel estimation stage 20 of the transceiver 5 is configured to adapt receiving parameters and signal processing parameters in accordance to an actual SNR (signal-to-noise ratio) and/or actual channel characteristic like the Doppler change rate, Para. 87, FIG. 3) offloaded from the receiving device (SUDAC 30 comprising a frontend channel pre-equalizer 92 which is configured to pre-equalize the inbound signal 105 to reduce the distortions, based on the configuration signal 46 received from a frontend channel estimator 20 of the user equipment 10. The SUDAC 30 with the frontend channel pre-equalizer 92 being remotely configured by the user equipment 10. Therefore, the user equipment 10 may transmit a configuration signal 46 in a frontend control portion 40 to the SUDAC 30. The SUDAC 30 extracts the configuration signal 46 comprising e. g. filter coefficients or filter indices, which can be applied by the frontend channel pre-equalizer 92, Para. 94, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Breiling with the teachings of Horn since Breiling provides a technique for user equipment to perform a channel estimation and adapt receiving parameters and signal processing parameters for configuring a channel pre-equalizer of a separate device, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Horn to permit a first device to perform certain pre-equalization techniques that generate values, which can be utilized by a second device conducting communications with the first device.
In regard to Claim 2, Horn teaches a transceiver (transceiver 815, Para. 170, FIG. 8) coupled to the at least one processor (processor 840, Para. 171, FIG. 8. The communications manager 820 may be configured to perform various operations (e.g., receiving, monitoring, transmitting) using or otherwise in cooperation with the transceiver 815, Para. 176, FIG. 8. FIG. 8 shows transceiver 815 connected to processor 840 and communications manager 820 through connection 845), wherein to obtain the channel information, the at least one processor is configured to obtain the channel information (At 315, the first device 305 may determine a condition of a channel, Para. 117, FIG. 3) via the transceiver (perform various operations (e.g., receiving, monitoring, transmitting) using or otherwise in cooperation with the transceiver 815, Para. 176, FIG. 8), and wherein to transmit the pre-equalized signal, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: transmit the pre-equalized signal (At 335, the first device 305 may transmit, to the second device 310, the pre-equalized signal over the channel, Para. 123, FIG. 3) via a set of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) (Signal waveforms transmitted over a carrier may be made up of multiple subcarriers (e.g., using multi-carrier modulation (MCM) techniques such as orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) or discrete Fourier transform spread OFDM (DFT-S-OFDM)), Para. 75) symbols (In a system employing MCM techniques, a resource element may include one symbol period, Para. 75) using a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) scheme or a frequency division duplex (FDD) scheme (A UE 115 may be configured with multiple downlink component carriers and one or more uplink component carriers according to a carrier aggregation configuration. Carrier aggregation may be used with both frequency division duplexing (FDD) and time division duplexing (TDD) component carriers, Para. 74, FIG. 1).
In regard to Claim 3, Horn teaches the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: transmit, to the receiving device, a pre-equalization indicator (At 330, the first device 305 may transmit, to the second device 310, a report indicating the one or more pre-equalization parameters associated with the pre-equalized signal. First device 305 may receive, from the second device 310, a configuration message indicating one or more pre-equalization parameters to include in the report, Para. 120, FIG. 3) indicating the receiving device to process the pre-equalized signal using a simplified receive process (Pre-equalization may be an efficient method due to the second device being able to efficiently determine the original signal, Para. 89, FIG. 1. Pre-equalization may be an efficient method due to the receiving device being able to efficiently determine and decode the original signal, without itself performing equalization techniques (e.g., when pre-equalization is not applied), Para. 100, FIG. 2A. Based on the received report, a receiver of the pre-equalized signal may efficiently deconvolve the applied pre-equalization, Para. 106, FIG. 2A. The device 805 may support techniques for improved user experience related to reduced processing, and improved utilization of processing capability, Para. 175, FIG. 8).
Horn teaches, wherein the simplified receive process skips an equalization process on the pre-equalized signal (Pre-equalization may be an efficient method due to the receiving device being able to efficiently determine and decode the original signal, without itself performing equalization techniques (e.g., when pre-equalization is not applied), Para. 100, FIG. 2A).
Horn teaches the pre-equalization indicator further includes a method indicator indicating the pre-equalization process and side information for the simplified receive process (the first device 305 may determine a level of self-interference at the first device 305 based on the first device operating according to a full-duplex communications mode. The first device 305 may apply pre-equalization to a signal based on the determined level of self-interference at the first device, and transmit, to the second device 310, a second report indicating a second set of one or more pre-equalization parameters. The second set of one or more pre-equalization parameters may be based on the level of self-interference at the first device 305, Para. 122, FIG. 3).
In regard to Claim 4, Horn teaches the pre-equalization indicator is transmitted via one or more of: a radio resource control (RRC) configuration (the pre-equalization report may be transmitted via a radio resource control (RRC) message, Para. 109), downlink control information (DCI), or a medium access control (MAC) – control element (MAC-CE) (the pre-equalization report may be transmitted via a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) message, Para. 109).
In regard to Claim 5, Horn teaches the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from the receiving device, a receiver capability indicator indicating a support of the pre-equalization process on the receiving device (the transmitting device (e.g., first device 205-a) may perform pre-equalization on the signal prior to transmission that accounts for (e.g., counteracts) the channel environment. The receiving device may measure the one or more reference signals and transmit information about the one or more measurements to the transmitting device, Para. 99, FIG. 2A. First device 305 may receive, from the second device 310, a configuration message indicating one or more pre-equalization parameters, Para. 120, FIG. 3), and wherein to perform the pre-equalization process, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: perform, in response to the receiver capability indicator (The receiving device may measure the one or more reference signals and transmit information about the one or more measurements to the transmitting device, Para. 99, FIG. 2A), the pre-equalization process (perform pre-equalization on the signal prior to transmission that accounts for (e.g., counteracts) the channel environment, Para. 99, FIG. 2A. At 325, the first device 305 may apply pre-equalization to the signal, Para. 119, FIG. 3).
In regard to Claim 6, Horn teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: transmit, to the receiving device, a dedicated reference signal, wherein the channel information is based on the dedicated reference signal (channel estimation procedures may include the transmitting device transmitting one or more reference signals to the receiving device, where the receiving device may measure the one or more reference signals and transmit information about the one or more measurements to the transmitting device, Para. 99).
In regard to Claim 17, Horn teaches An apparatus of wireless communication at a receiving device (second device 310 may be an example of a UE, Para. 116, FIG. 3), comprising: at least one memory (memory 830, Para. 171, FIG. 8); and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory (The memory 830 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 835 including instructions that, when executed by the processor 840, cause the device 805 to perform various functions, Para. 171, FIG. 8), the at least one processor is configured to cause the receiving device to: receive, from a user equipment (UE), a dedicated reference signal (channel estimation procedures may include the transmitting device transmitting one or more reference signals to the receiving device, Para. 99, FIG. 2A. At 315, the first device 305 may determine a condition of a channel, Para. 117, FIG. 3).
Horn teaches transmit, to the UE based on the dedicated reference signal, channel information (where the receiving device may measure the one or more reference signals and transmit information about the one or more measurements to the transmitting device, Para. 99, FIG. 2A. At 315, the first device 305 may determine a condition of a channel, Para. 117, FIG. 3) for a sidelink channel (With reference to FIG. 2A, first device 205-a may be an example of a UE, second device 210-a may be an example of a UE, Para. 96, FIG. 2A. Communications link 230-a (e.g., a sidelink communications link), Para. 99, FIG. 2A. First device 305 may be an example of a UE and second device 310 may be an example of a UE, Para. 116, FIG. 3) between the UE and the receiving device (a channel between the first device 305 and a second device 310, Para. 117, FIG. 3).
Horn teaches receive, from the UE, a pre-equalized signal (At 335, the first device 305 may transmit, to the second device 310, the pre-equalized signal over the channel, Para. 123, FIG. 3).
Horn teaches process the pre-equalized signal using a simplified receive process (Pre-equalization may be an efficient method due to the second device being able to efficiently determine the original signal, Para. 89, FIG. 1. Pre-equalization may be an efficient method due to the receiving device being able to efficiently determine and decode the original signal, without itself performing equalization techniques, Para. 100, FIG. 2A. Based on the received report, a receiver of the pre-equalized signal may efficiently deconvolve the applied pre-equalization, Para. 106, FIG. 2A. The device 805 may support techniques for improved user experience related to reduced processing, and improved utilization of processing capability, Para. 175, FIG. 8), wherein the simplified receive process skips an equalization process for the pre-equalized signal (Pre-equalization may be an efficient method due to the receiving device being able to efficiently determine and decode the original signal, without itself performing equalization techniques, Para. 100, FIG. 2A).
Horn fails to teach wherein the UE is configured to perform at least a portion of processing offloaded from the receiving device.
Breiling teaches wherein the UE (FIG. 3 shows a basic transceiver 5 of a user equipment 10. The transceiver 5 comprises a frontend channel estimator 20, Para. 77, FIG. 3) is configured to perform at least a portion of processing (The frontend channel estimator 20 is configured to perform a channel estimation based on the frontend evaluation signal 45 in order to reduce distortions caused by using the extremely-high frequencies, Para. 78, FIG. 3. The channel estimation stage 20 of the transceiver 5 is configured to adapt receiving parameters and signal processing parameters in accordance to an actual SNR (signal-to-noise ratio) and/or actual channel characteristic like the Doppler change rate, Para. 87, FIG. 3) offloaded from the receiving device (SUDAC 30 comprising a frontend channel pre-equalizer 92 which is configured to pre-equalize the inbound signal 105 to reduce the distortions, based on the configuration signal 46 received from a frontend channel estimator 20 of the user equipment 10. The SUDAC 30 with the frontend channel pre-equalizer 92 being remotely configured by the user equipment 10. Therefore, the user equipment 10 may transmit a configuration signal 46 in a frontend control portion 40 to the SUDAC 30. The SUDAC 30 extracts the configuration signal 46 comprising e. g. filter coefficients or filter indices, which can be applied by the frontend channel pre-equalizer 92, Para. 94, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Breiling with the teachings of Horn since Breiling provides a technique for user equipment to perform a channel estimation and adapt receiving parameters and signal processing parameters for configuring a channel pre-equalizer of a separate device, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Horn to permit a first device to perform certain pre-equalization techniques that generate values, which can be utilized by a second device conducting communications with the first device.
In regard to Claim 18, Horn teaches a transceiver (transceiver 815, Para. 170, FIG. 8) coupled to the at least one processor (processor 840, Para. 171, FIG. 8. The communications manager 820 may be configured to perform various operations (e.g., receiving, monitoring, transmitting) using or otherwise in cooperation with the transceiver 815, Para. 176, FIG. 8. FIG. 8 shows transceiver 815 connected to processor 840 and communications manager 820 through connection 845), wherein to receive the dedicated reference signal, the at least one processor is configured to receive the dedicated reference signal (channel estimation procedures may include the transmitting device transmitting one or more reference signals to the receiving device, where the receiving device may measure the one or more reference signals, Para. 99, FIG. 2A) via the transceiver (perform various operations (e.g., receiving, monitoring, transmitting) using or otherwise in cooperation with the transceiver 815, Para. 176, FIG. 8), and wherein to receive the pre-equalized signal, the at least one processor is configured to cause the receiving device to: receive the pre-equalized signal (At 335, the first device 305 may transmit, to the second device 310, the pre-equalized signal over the channel, Para. 123, FIG. 3) via a set of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) (Signal waveforms transmitted over a carrier may be made up of multiple subcarriers (e.g., using multi-carrier modulation (MCM) techniques such as orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) or discrete Fourier transform spread OFDM (DFT-S-OFDM)), Para. 75) symbols (In a system employing MCM techniques, a resource element may include one symbol period, Para. 75) using a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) scheme or a frequency division duplex (FDD) scheme (A UE 115 may be configured with multiple downlink component carriers and one or more uplink component carriers according to a carrier aggregation configuration. Carrier aggregation may be used with both frequency division duplexing (FDD) and time division duplexing (TDD) component carriers, Para. 74, FIG. 1).
In regard to Claim 19, Horn teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the receiving device to: receive, from the UE, a pre-equalization indicator (At 330, the first device 305 may transmit, to the second device 310, a report indicating the one or more pre-equalization parameters associated with the pre-equalized signal. First device 305 may receive, from the second device 310, a configuration message indicating one or more pre-equalization parameters to include in the report, Para. 120, FIG. 3) indicating the simplified receive process for the pre-equalized signal (Pre-equalization may be an efficient method due to the second device being able to efficiently determine the original signal, Para. 89, FIG. 1. Pre-equalization may be an efficient method due to the receiving device being able to efficiently determine and decode the original signal, without itself performing equalization techniques (e.g., when pre-equalization is not applied), Para. 100, FIG. 2A. Based on the received report, a receiver of the pre-equalized signal may efficiently deconvolve the applied pre-equalization, Para. 106, FIG. 2A. The device 805 may support techniques for improved user experience related to reduced processing, and improved utilization of processing capability, Para. 175, FIG. 8)
Horn teaches, wherein the pre-equalization indicator further includes a method indicator indicating a pre-equalization process performed on the pre-equalized signal and side information for the simplified receive process (the first device 305 may determine a level of self-interference at the first device 305 based on the first device operating according to a full-duplex communications mode. The first device 305 may apply pre-equalization to a signal based on the determined level of self-interference at the first device, and transmit, to the second device 310, a second report indicating a second set of one or more pre-equalization parameters. The second set of one or more pre-equalization parameters may be based on the level of self-interference at the first device 305, Para. 122, FIG. 3).
In regard to Claim 20, Horn teaches the pre-equalization indicator is received via one or more of: a radio resource control (RRC) configuration (the pre-equalization report may be transmitted via a radio resource control (RRC) message, Para. 109), downlink control information (DCI), or a medium access control (MAC) – control element (MAC-CE) (the pre-equalization report may be transmitted via a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) message, Para. 109).
In regard to Claim 21, Horn teaches the at least one processor, individually or in combination, is further configured to cause the receiving device to: transmit, to the UE, a receiver capability indicator indicating a support of the pre-equalization process (the transmitting device (e.g., first device 205-a) may perform pre-equalization on the signal prior to transmission that accounts for (e.g., counteracts) the channel environment. The receiving device may measure the one or more reference signals and transmit information about the one or more measurements to the transmitting device, Para. 99, FIG. 2A. First device 305 may receive, from the second device 310, a configuration message indicating one or more pre-equalization parameters, Para. 120, FIG. 3).
In regard to Claim 27, Horn teaches A method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (First device 305 may be an example of a UE, Para. 116, FIG. 3), comprising: obtaining channel information (channel estimation procedures may include the transmitting device transmitting one or more reference signals to the receiving device, where the receiving device may measure the one or more reference signals and transmit information about the one or more measurements to the transmitting device, Para. 99, FIG. 2A. At 315, the first device 305 may determine a condition of a channel, Para. 117, FIG. 3) for a sidelink channel (With reference to FIG. 2A, first device 205-a may be an example of a UE, second device 210-a may be an example of a UE, Para. 96, FIG. 2A. Communications link 230-a (e.g., a sidelink communications link), Para. 99, FIG. 2A. First device 305 may be an example of a UE and second device 310 may be an example of a UE, Para. 116, FIG. 3) between the UE and a receiving device (a channel between the first device 305 and a second device 310, Para. 117, FIG. 3).
Horn teaches performing, based on the channel information (pre-equalization techniques may include the transmitting device applying channel inversion coefficients, applying power scaling, and so forth, to the signal based on information about the channel, Para. 99, FIG. 2A. The one or more pre-equalization parameters may be based on the condition of the channel, Para. 119, FIG. 3), a pre-equalization process on a signal to be transmitted to the receiving device to obtain a pre-equalized signal (To mitigate the power consumption at a receiving device (e.g., second device 210-a), the transmitting device (e.g., first device 205-a) may perform pre-equalization on the signal prior to transmission that accounts for (e.g., counteracts) the channel environment, Para. 99, FIG. 2A. At 325, the first device 305 may apply pre-equalization to the signal, Para. 119, FIG. 3).
Horn teaches transmitting, through the sidelink channel, the pre-equalized signal to the receiving device (At 335, the first device 305 may transmit, to the second device 310, the pre-equalized signal over the channel, Para. 123, FIG. 3).
Horn fails to teach wherein the UE is configured to perform at least a portion of processing offloaded from the receiving device.
Breiling teaches wherein the UE (FIG. 3 shows a basic transceiver 5 of a user equipment 10. The transceiver 5 comprises a frontend channel estimator 20, Para. 77, FIG. 3) is configured to perform at least a portion of processing (The frontend channel estimator 20 is configured to perform a channel estimation based on the frontend evaluation signal 45 in order to reduce distortions caused by using the extremely-high frequencies, Para. 78, FIG. 3. The channel estimation stage 20 of the transceiver 5 is configured to adapt receiving parameters and signal processing parameters in accordance to an actual SNR (signal-to-noise ratio) and/or actual channel characteristic like the Doppler change rate, Para. 87, FIG. 3) offloaded from the receiving device (SUDAC 30 comprising a frontend channel pre-equalizer 92 which is configured to pre-equalize the inbound signal 105 to reduce the distortions, based on the configuration signal 46 received from a frontend channel estimator 20 of the user equipment 10. The SUDAC 30 with the frontend channel pre-equalizer 92 being remotely configured by the user equipment 10. Therefore, the user equipment 10 may transmit a configuration signal 46 in a frontend control portion 40 to the SUDAC 30. The SUDAC 30 extracts the configuration signal 46 comprising e. g. filter coefficients or filter indices, which can be applied by the frontend channel pre-equalizer 92, Para. 94, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Breiling with the teachings of Horn since Breiling provides a technique for user equipment to perform a channel estimation and adapt receiving parameters and signal processing parameters for configuring a channel pre-equalizer of a separate device, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Horn to permit a first device to perform certain pre-equalization techniques that generate values, which can be utilized by a second device conducting communications with the first device.
In regard to Claim 28, Horn teaches transmitting the pre-equalized signal comprises: transmitting the pre-equalized signal (At 335, the first device 305 may transmit, to the second device 310, the pre-equalized signal over the channel, Para. 123, FIG. 3) via a set of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) (Signal waveforms transmitted over a carrier may be made up of multiple subcarriers (e.g., using multi-carrier modulation (MCM) techniques such as orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) or discrete Fourier transform spread OFDM (DFT-S-OFDM)), Para. 75) symbols (In a system employing MCM techniques, a resource element may include one symbol period, Para. 75) using a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) scheme or a frequency division duplex (FDD) scheme (A UE 115 may be configured with multiple downlink component carriers and one or more uplink component carriers according to a carrier aggregation configuration. Carrier aggregation may be used with both frequency division duplexing (FDD) and time division duplexing (TDD) component carriers, Para. 74, FIG. 1).
In regard to Claim 29, Horn teaches A method of wireless communication at a receiving device (second device 310 may be an example of a UE, Para. 116, FIG. 3), comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a dedicated reference signal (channel estimation procedures may include the transmitting device transmitting one or more reference signals to the receiving device, Para. 99, FIG. 2A. At 315, the first device 305 may determine a condition of a channel, Para. 117, FIG. 3).
Horn teaches transmitting, to the UE based on the dedicated reference signal, channel information (where the receiving device may measure the one or more reference signals and transmit information about the one or more measurements to the transmitting device, Para. 99, FIG. 2A. At 315, the first device 305 may determine a condition of a channel, Para. 117, FIG. 3) for a sidelink channel (With reference to FIG. 2A, first device 205-a may be an example of a UE, second device 210-a may be an example of a UE, Para. 96, FIG. 2A. Communications link 230-a (e.g., a sidelink communications link), Para. 99, FIG. 2A. First device 305 may be an example of a UE and second device 310 may be an example of a UE, Para. 116, FIG. 3) between the UE and the receiving device (a channel between the first device 305 and a second device 310, Para. 117, FIG. 3).
Horn teaches receiving, from the UE, a pre-equalized signal (At 335, the first device 305 may transmit, to the second device 310, the pre-equalized signal over the channel, Para. 123, FIG. 3).
Horn teaches processing the pre-equalized signal using a simplified receive process (Pre-equalization may be an efficient method due to the second device being able to efficiently determine the original signal, Para. 89, FIG. 1. Pre-equalization may be an efficient method due to the receiving device being able to efficiently determine and decode the original signal, without itself performing equalization techniques, Para. 100, FIG. 2A. Based on the received report, a receiver of the pre-equalized signal may efficiently deconvolve the applied pre-equalization, Para. 106, FIG. 2A. The device 805 may support techniques for improved user experience related to reduced processing, and improved utilization of processing capability, Para. 175, FIG. 8), wherein the simplified receive process skips an equalization process for the pre-equalized signal (Pre-equalization may be an efficient method due to the receiving device being able to efficiently determine and decode the original signal, without itself performing equalization techniques, Para. 100, FIG. 2A).
Horn fails to teach wherein the UE is configured to perform at least a portion of processing offloaded from the receiving device.
Breiling teaches wherein the UE (FIG. 3 shows a basic transceiver 5 of a user equipment 10. The transceiver 5 comprises a frontend channel estimator 20, Para. 77, FIG. 3) is configured to perform at least a portion of processing (The frontend channel estimator 20 is configured to perform a channel estimation based on the frontend evaluation signal 45 in order to reduce distortions caused by using the extremely-high frequencies, Para. 78, FIG. 3. The channel estimation stage 20 of the transceiver 5 is configured to adapt receiving parameters and signal processing parameters in accordance to an actual SNR (signal-to-noise ratio) and/or actual channel characteristic like the Doppler change rate, Para. 87, FIG. 3) offloaded from the receiving device (SUDAC 30 comprising a frontend channel pre-equalizer 92 which is configured to pre-equalize the inbound signal 105 to reduce the distortions, based on the configuration signal 46 received from a frontend channel estimator 20 of the user equipment 10. The SUDAC 30 with the frontend channel pre-equalizer 92 being remotely configured by the user equipment 10. Therefore, the user equipment 10 may transmit a configuration signal 46 in a frontend control portion 40 to the SUDAC 30. The SUDAC 30 extracts the configuration signal 46 comprising e. g. filter coefficients or filter indices, which can be applied by the frontend channel pre-equalizer 92, Para. 94, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Breiling with the teachings of Horn since Breiling provides a technique for user equipment to perform a channel estimation and adapt receiving parameters and signal processing parameters for configuring a channel pre-equalizer of a separate device, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Horn to permit a first device to perform certain pre-equalization techniques that generate values, which can be utilized by a second device conducting communications with the first device.
In regard to Claim 30, Horn teaches receiving the pre-equalized signal comprises: receiving the pre-equalized signal (At 335, the first device 305 may transmit, to the second device 310, the pre-equalized signal over the channel, Para. 123, FIG. 3) via a set of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) (Signal waveforms transmitted over a carrier may be made up of multiple subcarriers (e.g., using multi-carrier modulation (MCM) techniques such as orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) or discrete Fourier transform spread OFDM (DFT-S-OFDM)), Para. 75) symbols (In a system employing MCM techniques, a resource element may include one symbol period, Para. 75) using a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) scheme or a frequency division duplex (FDD) scheme (A UE 115 may be configured with multiple downlink component carriers and one or more uplink component carriers according to a carrier aggregation configuration. Carrier aggregation may be used with both frequency division duplexing (FDD) and time division duplexing (TDD) component carriers, Para. 74, FIG. 1).
Claim(s) 7-9 and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn in view of Breiling, and further in view of Arool Emmanuel et al. (Patent No.: US 11863359 B1), hereafter referred to as Arool.
In regard to Claim 7, Horn teaches the channel information includes receive (Rx) channel information associated with the sidelink channel (channel estimation procedures may include the transmitting device transmitting one or more reference signals to the receiving device, where the receiving device may measure the one or more reference signals and transmit information about the one or more measurements to the transmitting device, Para. 99).
Although Horn in view of Breiling teaches receive (Rx) channel information associated with the sidelink channel, Horn in view of Breiling fails to teach channel state information (CSI).
Arool teaches receive (Rx) channel state information (CSI) (a client device requires channel state information (CSI) feedback to the transmitter, Col. 2, lines 44-49. The subcarrier pre-equalization logic 102 receives feedback data 111 from a second device with which the electronic device 100 is communicating. Using the feedback data 111, the subcarrier pre-equalization logic 102 adjusts the specific subcarriers' amplitudes corresponding to the second device's instantaneous feedback, Col. 4, lines 40-50. Values or gain code coefficients can be sent in the feedback data 111, Col. 8, lines 58-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Arool with the teachings of Horn in view of Breiling since Arool provides a technique to utilize CSI feedback data for pre-equalization logic to adjust signals for transmission, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Horn in view of Breiling to permit a second device to send CSI feedback data within a configuration message to inform a first device to begin utilizing certain pre-equalization parameters.
In regard to Claim 8, Horn teaches to obtain the channel information, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: receive, from the receiving device, a set of receiving samples (The time intervals for the UEs 115 may be expressed in multiples of a basic time unit which may, for example, refer to a sampling period of TS=1/(Δƒmax . Nƒ) seconds, Para. 76, FIG. 1. Each frame may include a variable number of slots. Each slot may include a number of symbol periods. Each symbol period may contain one or more (e.g., Nƒ) sampling periods, Para. 77) based on the dedicated reference signal (channel estimation procedures may include the transmitting device transmitting one or more reference signals to the receiving device, where the receiving device may measure the one or more reference signals and transmit information about the one or more measurements to the transmitting device, Para. 99).
Horn teaches identify, based on the set of receiving samples (The time intervals for the UEs 115 may be expressed in multiples of a basic time unit which may, for example, refer to a sampling period of TS=1/(Δƒmax . Nƒ) seconds, Para. 76, FIG. 1. Each frame may include a variable number of slots. Each slot may include a number of symbol periods. Each symbol period may contain one or more (e.g., Nƒ) sampling periods, Para. 77), the Rx channel information associated with the sidelink channel (the receiving device may measure the one or more reference signals and transmit information about the one or more measurements to the transmitting device, Para. 99).
Although Horn in view of Breiling teaches identify, based on the set of receiving samples, the Rx channel information associated with the sidelink channel, Horn in view of Breiling fails to teach Rx CSI.
Arool teaches identify, based on the set of receiving samples (The block of N output samples from the N-point IFFT 312 make up a single OFDM symbol, Col. 9, lines 31-33. When the N-point IFFT 312 is completely loaded, the Inverse FFT is computed, giving a set of complex time-domain samples representing the combined OFDM subcarrier waveform, Col. 10, lines 4-7. The outputs of the IFFT are time-domain samples, Col. 16, line 9), the Rx CSI (a client device requires channel state information (CSI) feedback to the transmitter, Col. 2, lines 44-49. The subcarrier pre-equalization logic 102 receives feedback data 111 from a second device with which the electronic device 100 is communicating. Using the feedback data 111, the subcarrier pre-equalization logic 102 adjusts the specific subcarriers' amplitudes corresponding to the second device's instantaneous feedback, Col. 4, lines 40-50. Values or gain code coefficients can be sent in the feedback data 111, Col. 8, lines 58-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Arool with the teachings of Horn in view of Breiling since Arool provides a technique to utilize CSI feedback data for pre-equalization logic to adjust signals for transmission, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Horn in view of Breiling to permit a second device to send CSI feedback data within a configuration message to inform a first device to begin utilizing certain pre-equalization parameters.
In regard to Claim 9, Horn teaches to obtain the channel information, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: receive, from the receiving device, the Rx channel information associated with the sidelink channel, wherein the Rx channel information is based on the dedicated reference signal (channel estimation procedures may include the transmitting device transmitting one or more reference signals to the receiving device, where the receiving device may measure the one or more reference signals and transmit information about the one or more measurements to the transmitting device, Para. 99).
Although Horn in view of Breiling teaches receiving device, the Rx channel information associated with the sidelink channel, wherein the Rx channel information is based on the dedicated reference signal, Horn fails to teach Rx CSI.
Arool teaches Rx CSI (a client device requires channel state information (CSI) feedback to the transmitter, Col. 2, lines 44-49. The subcarrier pre-equalization logic 102 receives feedback data 111 from a second device with which the electronic device 100 is communicating. Using the feedback data 111, the subcarrier pre-equalization logic 102 adjusts the specific subcarriers' amplitudes corresponding to the second device's instantaneous feedback, Col. 4, lines 40-50. Values or gain code coefficients can be sent in the feedback data 111, Col. 8, lines 58-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Arool with the teachings of Horn in view of Breiling since Arool provides a technique to utilize CSI feedback data for pre-equalization logic to adjust signals for transmission, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Horn in view of Breiling to permit a second device to send CSI feedback data within a configuration message to inform a first device to begin utilizing certain pre-equalization parameters.
In regard to Claim 22, Horn teaches the channel information includes receive (Rx) channel information associated with the sidelink channel (channel estimation procedures may include the transmitting device transmitting one or more reference signals to the receiving device, where the receiving device may measure the one or more reference signals and transmit information about the one or more measurements to the transmitting device, Para. 99).
Although Horn in view of Breiling teaches the channel information includes receive (Rx) channel information associated with the sidelink channel, Horn in view of Breiling fails to teach channel state information (CSI).
Arool teaches receive (Rx) channel state information (CSI) (a client device requires channel state information (CSI) feedback to the transmitter, Col. 2, lines 44-49. The subcarrier pre-equalization logic 102 receives feedback data 111 from a second device with which the electronic device 100 is communicating. Using the feedback data 111, the subcarrier pre-equalization logic 102 adjusts the specific subcarriers' amplitudes corresponding to the second device's instantaneous feedback, Col. 4, lines 40-50. Values or gain code coefficients can be sent in the feedback data 111, Col. 8, lines 58-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Arool with the teachings of Horn in view of Breiling since Arool provides a technique to utilize CSI feedback data for pre-equalization logic to adjust signals for transmission, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Horn in view of Breiling to permit a second device to send CSI feedback data within a configuration message to inform a first device to begin utilizing certain pre-equalization parameters.
In regard to Claim 23, Horn teaches the at least one processor is further configured to cause the receiving device to: obtain, based on the dedicated reference signal (channel estimation procedures may include the transmitting device transmitting one or more reference signals to the receiving device, where the receiving device may measure the one or more reference signals, Para. 99), a set of receiving samples (The time intervals for the UEs 115 may be expressed in multiples of a basic time unit which may, for example, refer to a sampling period of TS=1/(Δƒmax . Nƒ) seconds, Para. 76, FIG. 1. Each frame may include a variable number of slots. Each slot may include a number of symbol periods. Each symbol period may contain one or more (e.g., Nƒ) sampling periods, Para. 77), wherein to transmit the channel information (transmit information about the one or more measurements to the transmitting device, Para. 99), the at least one processor is configured to cause the receiving device to: transmit, to the UE, the set of receiving samples (The time intervals for the UEs 115 may be expressed in multiples of a basic time unit which may, for example, refer to a sampling period of TS=1/(Δƒmax . Nƒ) seconds, Para. 76, FIG. 1. Each frame may include a variable number of slots. Each slot may include a number of symbol periods. Each symbol period may contain one or more (e.g., Nƒ) sampling periods, Para. 77).
In regard to Claim 24, Horn teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the receiving device to: estimate, based on the dedicated reference signal, the Rx channel information associated with the sidelink channel, wherein to transmit the channel information, the at least one processor is configured to cause the receiving device to: transmit, to the UE, the Rx channel information (channel estimation procedures may include the transmitting device transmitting one or more reference signals to the receiving device, where the receiving device may measure the one or more reference signals and transmit information about the one or more measurements to the transmitting device, Para. 99).
Although Horn in view of Breiling teaches the Rx channel information associated with the sidelink channel, Horn in view of Breiling fails to teach Rx CSI.
Arool teaches Rx CSI (a client device requires channel state information (CSI) feedback to the transmitter, Col. 2, lines 44-49. The subcarrier pre-equalization logic 102 receives feedback data 111 from a second device with which the electronic device 100 is communicating. Using the feedback data 111, the subcarrier pre-equalization logic 102 adjusts the specific subcarriers' amplitudes corresponding to the second device's instantaneous feedback, Col. 4, lines 40-50. Values or gain code coefficients can be sent in the feedback data 111, Col. 8, lines 58-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Arool with the teachings of Horn in view of Breiling since Arool provides a technique to utilize CSI feedback data for pre-equalization logic to adjust signals for transmission, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Horn in view of Breiling to permit a second device to send CSI feedback data within a configuration message to inform a first device to begin utilizing certain pre-equalization parameters.
Claim(s) 10-12 and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn in view of Breiling, Arool, and further in view of Hadani et al. (Pub. No.: US 20140169385 A1), hereafter referred to as Hadani.
In regard to Claim 10, as presented in the rejection of Claim 7, Horn in view of Breiling and Arool teaches the sidelink channel.
Horn in view of Breiling and Arool fails to teach the channel information further includes channel noise information comprising a noise covariance matrix associated with the sidelink channel.
Hadani teaches the channel information further includes channel noise information comprising a noise covariance matrix associated with the sidelink channel (The pre-equalizer 210 is used to model a pre-distortion transfer function ht that can be used to make up for changing channel conditions in the channel model hc based on feedback received over the channel from the receive side of the model, as determined by measurements made by the receiver/demodulator 260 and/or the post equalizer 270, Para. 116, FIG. 2. A complex Gaussian N dimensional vector with mean 0 and covariance matrix N0Id, representing the white Gaussian noise, Para. 298).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hadani with the teachings of Horn in view of Breiling and Arool since Hadani provides a technique for utilizing values involving a covariance matrix representing noise, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Horn in view of Breiling and Arool to more accurately indicate characteristics of channel information.
In regard to Claim 11, Horn teaches to obtain the channel information, the at least one processor, individually or in combination, is further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from the receiving device, a set of receiving samples (The time intervals for the UEs 115 may be expressed in multiples of a basic time unit which may, for example, refer to a sampling period of TS=1/(Δƒmax . Nƒ) seconds, Para. 76, FIG. 1. Each frame may include a variable number of slots. Each slot may include a number of symbol periods. Each symbol period may contain one or more (e.g., Nƒ) sampling periods, Para. 77) based on the dedicated reference signal (the receiving device may measure the one or more reference signals, Para. 99); and identify, based on the set of receiving samples, the channel noise information (the receiving device may measure the one or more reference signals and transmit information about the one or more measurements to the transmitting device, Para. 99).
In regard to Claim 12, Horn teaches to obtain the channel information, the at least one processor, individually or in combination, is further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from the receiving device, the channel noise information (the receiving device may measure the one or more reference signals and transmit information about the one or more measurements to the transmitting device, Para. 99).
In regard to Claim 25, as presented in the rejection of Claim 22, Horn in view of Breiling and Arool teaches the sidelink channel.
Horn in view of Breiling and Arool fails to teach the channel information further includes channel noise information comprising a noise covariance matrix associated with the sidelink channel.
Hadani teaches the channel information further includes channel noise information comprising a noise covariance matrix associated with the sidelink channel (The pre-equalizer 210 is used to model a pre-distortion transfer function ht that can be used to make up for changing channel conditions in the channel model hc based on feedback received over the channel from the receive side of the model, as determined by measurements made by the receiver/demodulator 260 and/or the post equalizer 270, Para. 116, FIG. 2. A complex Gaussian N dimensional vector with mean 0 and covariance matrix N0Id, representing the white Gaussian noise, Para. 298).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hadani with the teachings of Horn in view of Breiling and Arool since Hadani provides a technique for utilizing values involving a covariance matrix representing noise, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Horn in view of Breiling and Arool to more accurately indicate characteristics of channel information.
In regard to Claim 26, Horn teaches the at least one processor, individually or in combination, is further configured to cause the receiving device to: estimate, based on the dedicated reference signal (the receiving device may measure the one or more reference signals, Para. 99), the channel noise information (the receiving device may measure the one or more reference signals and transmit information about the one or more measurements to the transmitting device, Para. 99).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn in view of Breiling, and further in view of Kons et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240267276 A1), hereafter referred to as Kons.
In regard to Claim 13, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Horn in view of Breiling teaches the pre-equalization process.
Horn in view of Breiling fails to teach the pre-equalization process includes a linear pre-equalization process comprising one or more of: a zero-forcing (ZF) pre-equalization, or a minimum mean square error (MMSE) pre-equalization.
Kons teaches the pre-equalization process includes a linear pre-equalization process comprising one or more of: a zero-forcing (ZF) pre-equalization, or a minimum mean square error (MMSE) pre-equalization (an affine MMSE (minimum mean square error) equalizer, computing the Wiener estimator, Para. 149).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kons with the teachings of Horn in view of Breiling since Kons provides a technique for utilizing minimum mean square error with respect to computation of communications, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Horn in view of Breiling to improve calculations for processing communications.
In regard to Claim 14, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Horn in view of Breiling teaches the pre-equalization process.
Horn in view of Breiling fails to teach the pre-equalization process includes a non-linear pre-equalization process comprising one or more of: a Tomlinson-Harashima (THP) zero-forcing (THP-ZF) pre-equalization, or a THP-minimum mean square error (THP-MMSE) pre-equalization.
Kons teaches the pre-equalization process includes a non-linear pre-equalization process comprising one or more of: a Tomlinson-Harashima (THP) zero-forcing (THP-ZF) pre-equalization, or a THP-minimum mean square error (THP-MMSE) pre-equalization (an affine MMSE (minimum mean square error) equalizer, computing the Wiener estimator, Para. 149).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kons with the teachings of Horn in view of Breiling since Kons provides a technique for utilizing minimum mean square error with respect to computation of communications, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Horn in view of Breiling to improve calculations for processing communications.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn in view of Breiling, and further in view of Fan et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220140912 A1), hereafter referred to as Fan.
In regard to Claim 15, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Horn in view of Breiling teaches the pre-equalization process.
Horn in view of Breiling fails to teach the at least one processor, individually or in combination, is further configured to cause the UE to: evaluate a validity of the channel information for performing the pre-equalization process, wherein to perform the pre-equalization process, the at least one processor, individually or in combination, is configured to cause the UE to: perform, in response the channel information being valid for performing the pre-equalization process, the pre-equalization process, and wherein the at least one processor, individually or in combination, is further configured to cause the UE to: skip, in response to the channel information being invalid for performing the pre-equalization process, the pre-equalization process on the signal; and transmit, in response to the channel information being invalid for performing the pre-equalization process, the signal to the receiving device for the receiving device to perform a regular equalization process on the signal.
Fan teaches the at least one processor, individually or in combination, is further configured to cause the UE to: evaluate a validity of the channel information for performing the pre-equalization process, wherein to perform the pre-equalization process, the at least one processor, individually or in combination, is configured to cause the UE to: perform, in response the channel information being valid for performing the pre-equalization process, the pre-equalization process, and wherein the at least one processor, individually or in combination, is further configured to cause the UE to: skip, in response to the channel information being invalid for performing the pre-equalization process, the pre-equalization process on the signal; and transmit, in response to the channel information being invalid for performing the pre-equalization process, the signal to the receiving device for the receiving device to perform a regular equalization process on the signal (the pre-equalization coefficient is calculated according to the phase responses, and pre-equalization processing is performed on the transmitted signal according to the pre-equalization coefficient, Para. 55. If an accordingly-obtained phase response is used to calculate the pre-equalization coefficient, a pre-equalization performance will be affected, Para. 81. in using the transmitter or the transmitter and filtering module of the transceiver or the transceiver, the apparatus 800 may further include a setting unit (not shown) configured to set the pre-equalizer of the transmitter or the transceiver, so that the pre-equalizer does not work, Para. 111, FIG. 8. If an accordingly-obtained phase response is used to calculate the pre-equalization coefficient, a pre-equalization performance will be affected, Para. 115. in measuring a phase response of the transmitting end, the pre-equalizer of the communication device 1002 is first stopped, and then the transmitter of the communication device 1002 transmits a measurement signal of different frequencies, Para. 118, FIG. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fan with the teachings of Horn in view of Breiling since Fan provides a technique for stopping a pre-equalizer, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Horn in view of Breiling to permit a pre-equalizer to be stopped under certain conditions of communications.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn in view of Breiling, and further in view of Tandai et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190173566 A1), hereafter referred to as Tandai.
In regard to Claim 16, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Horn in view of Breiling teaches the UE.
Horn teaches the at least one processor, individually or in combination, further is configured to cause the UE to: receive communication from a network entity for the receiving device (The UEs 115 may be able to communicate with various types of devices, such as other UEs 115 that may sometimes act as relays, Para. 73, FIGS. 1, 2A, 3).
Although Horn in view of Breiling teaches the at least one processor, individually or in combination, further is configured to cause the UE to: receive communication from a network entity for the receiving device, Horn in view of Breiling fails to teach receive communication from a network entity for the receiving device, wherein the pre-equalized signal from the UE to the receiving device includes the communication from the network entity for the receiving device.
Tandai teaches receive communication from a network entity for the receiving device, wherein the pre-equalized signal from the UE to the receiving device includes the communication from the network entity for the receiving device (The channel estimator 74 further refers to the second pilot signal included in the pilot portion 2 (200), and estimates the channel state H1b(82) between the relay device 1 and the relay device 1b. The pre-equalizing is performed before the transmission to the relay device 1b, Para. 125, FIGS. 2, 4, 6. The channel state is calculated by the pre-equalized pilot signal, and the inverse characteristic is obtained based on the calculated channel state, Para. 126, FIGS. 2, 4, 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tandai with the teachings of Horn in view of Breiling since Tandai provides a technique for performing pre-equalizing by a wireless relay device before transmissions, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Horn in view of Breiling to permit a UE to relay transmissions and to perform pre-equalizing before transmitting signals over sidelinks.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Double Patenting Rejections
Applicant's arguments filed 2/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 11 of the Remarks presents the argument that The Applicant submits herewith Terminal Disclaimers over U.S. Patent No. 11,848,803 and U.S. Patent No. 12,237,952 to overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejection. Accordingly, the Applicant respectfully requests the reconsideration of the Office Action in view of the submitted Terminal Disclaimers. This argument is not persuasive. The incorrect form is filed. Form PTO/AIA /26 may be used when filing a terminal disclaimer in an application where the application in which the terminal disclaimer is submitted was filed on or after September 16, 2012. Resubmit terminal disclaimers with Form PTO/AIA /26. No Fee is due.
II. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 102
Applicant's arguments filed 2/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 11 of the Remarks presents the argument that Applicant respectfully submits that Horn has not been shown to disclose that "obtain channel information for a sidelink channel between the UE and a receiving device, wherein the UE is configured to perform at least a portion of processing offloaded from the receiving device," as recited in amended claim 1. This argument is not persuasive. The limitation introduced by the amendment of Claims 1, 17, 27 and 29, which are not taught by Horn, are taught by Breiling et al. (Pub. No.: US 20170163452 A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
4-15-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477