DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to the amendment filed 02/04//2026. Claims 1-4 and 6-32 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant argument that TSAI reference fails to disclose “a first set of configurations for a cell” and “a second set of configurations for the cell,” the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Tsai discloses the wireless device may determine whether to switch the DRX configuration from a first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration based on an indication. For example, when/after the wireless device receives an indication, the wireless device may switch the DRX configuration from a first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration (see Tsai, ¶ 0415). Tsai further discloses when the wireless device receives the indication indicating an index of the DRX configuration, the wireless device may switch to the DRX configuration based on the index. The indication may indicate information of a MAC entity/DRX group/DRX configuration/Cell Group (MCG/SCG)/cell/serving cell/BWP/set of cells. The indication may indicate the specific DRX cycle. The indication may be a UL grant and/or a DL assignment that schedules XR traffics. The indication may be a DCI received on a PDCCH/search space/CORESET configured for XR traffics. The indication may be a PDCCH/DCI addressed to a specific RNTI (e.g., XR-RNTI). The indication may be a PDCCH/DCI monitored/received on a specific search space/CORESET (e.g., for XR). The indication may be a PDCCH/DCI with a specific DCI format (e.g., for XR) (see Tsai, ¶ 0417). Tsai also discloses when/after the wireless device receives the indication, the wireless device may determine when to switch the DRX configuration from a first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration (see Tsai, ¶ 0418). Tsai further discloses upon receiving the indication to switch the DRX configuration, the wireless device may switch the DRX configuration from a first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration (see Tsai, ¶ 0419). Tsai further discloses after receiving the indication to switch the DRX configuration, the wireless device may switch the DRX configuration from a first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration when a upper layer (e.g., MAC layer) of the wireless device receives an inter-layer indication from an upper layer (e.g., PHY layer) of the wireless device. In an example, the inter-layer indication may indicate the MAC layer to switch the DRX configuration from a first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration after sending the feedback information for the indication (e.g., DCI) (see Tsai, ¶ 0420).
Thus, Tsai discloses “receive downlink control information (DCI) to switch from a first set of configurations for a cell to a second set of configurations for the cell; and switch from the first set of configurations to the second set of configurations” as claimed in claim 1.
Regarding applicant argument that Ly reference fails to disclose “a first set of configurations for a cell” and “a second set of configurations for the cell,” the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Ly discloses UE-group common C-DRX configuration and other C-DRX configurations. Ly further discloses the base station 105 may improve network energy efficiency (e.g., NR power efficiency) and reduce network power consumption (e.g., NR power consumption) based on configuring the one or more UEs 115 with a UE-group common C-DRX configuration. The UE-group common C-DRX configuration may align active durations of the one or more UEs 115 by setting a DRX inactivity timer of the one or more UEs 115 to a common value (e.g., 0). However, unlike other C-DRX configurations, the base station 105 may configure or adjust the UE-group common C-DRX configuration of the UEs 115 via dynamic signaling (e.g., DCI or a MAC-CE), which may enable the base station 105 to adapt the UE-group common C-DRX configuration of the UEs 115 based on a DTX configuration of the base station 105. Thus, configuring the one or more UEs 115 with the UE-group common C-DRX configuration may increase alignment between active durations of the base station 105 and active durations of the one or more UEs 115, which may improve power savings and DTX efficiency at the base station 105, among other benefits (see Ly, ¶ 0086). Ly also discloses the base station 105-a may configure the UEs 115 with UE-specific C-DRX configurations. For example, the base station 105-a may configure the UE 115-a with a first UE-specific C-DRX configuration over a communication link 220-a, may configure the UE 115-b with a second UE-specific C-DRX configuration over a communication link 220-b, and may configure the UE 115-c with a third UE-specific C-DRX configuration over a communication link 220-c. The UE-specific C-DRX configurations may enable the UEs 115 to consume less power by operating in a sleep mode (e.g., a low-power mode) during periods of inactivity (as described with reference to FIG. 1). Similarly, the base station 105-a may be configured with a DTX configuration that enables the base station 105-a to conserve power by operating in a sleep mode during inactive periods (see Ly, ¶ 0088). Ly further discloses the inactivity timer 320 may refer to a time duration for which the UE 115 is configured to remain in an active mode after receiving a PDCCH transmission. For example, the UE 115 may remain in an active mode 330 (e.g., for a time duration that corresponds to the inactivity timer 320) after receiving a PDCCH transmission 315 from the base station 105. In some cases, the inactivity timer 320 may also be referred to as a DRX inactivity timer. The timing offset 335 may refer to a time period between the beginning of a scheduling unit (e.g., frame, subframe, slot) and the first time at which the UE 115 is configured to enter the active mode 325-a. The timing offset 335 may also be referred to as an offset parameter or a frame offset, among other example (see Ly, ¶ 0100). Ly also discloses in accordance with the DRX configuration, the UE 115 may enter a sleep mode during periods of inactivity. For example, if the UE 115 is not configured to be in an active mode 325 and the inactivity timer 320 has expired (e.g., if the UE 115 has not recently received any PDCCH transmissions), the UE 115 may enter a sleep mode to conserve power. The UE 115 may remain in the sleep mode until the UE 115 is scheduled to receive a transmission or until the UE 115 is configured to return to an active mode 325. In some cases, the DRX configuration may be a UE-specific C-DRX configuration (see Ly, ¶ 0101).
Thus, Ly discloses “receive downlink control information (DCI) to switch from a first set of configurations for a cell to a second set of configurations for the cell; and switch from the first set of configurations to the second set of configurations” as claimed in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 8-13, 15-18, 20-26, and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2025/0267758 to Tsai et al. (hereafter Tsai).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see Tsai, Fig 1, UE 156), comprising: one or more memories; and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (see Tsai, ¶ 0221 and ¶ 0222), configured to cause the UE to:
receive downlink control information (DCI) to switch from a first set of configurations for a cell to a second set of configurations for the cell (see Tsai, ¶ 0420: the inter-layer indication may indicate the MAC layer to switch the DRX configuration from a first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration after sending the feedback information for the indication (e.g., DCI); ¶ 0449: The wireless device may indicate an instruction, by the physical layer of the wireless device to a MAC layer of the wireless device, to switch the first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration based on a field of the DCI); and switch from the first set of configurations to the second set of configurations (see Tsai, ¶ 0419: upon receiving the indication to switch the DRX configuration, the wireless device may switch the DRX configuration from a first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration).
Regarding claim 2, Tsai discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DCI indicates activation or deactivation of a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode or a cell discontinuous reception (DRX) mode at a network entity (see Tsai, ¶ 0449)
Regarding claim 4, Tsai discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the cell is a primary cell, and wherein the DCI includes a dormancy indication for one or more secondary cells (see Tsai, ¶ 0392 and ¶ 0394).
Regarding claim 6, Tsai discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein to switch from the first set of configurations to the second set of configurations, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to switch from a first type of configuration to a second type of configuration (see Tsai, ¶ 0420: the wireless device may switch the DRX configuration from a first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration when a upper layer (e.g., MAC layer) of the wireless device receives an inter-layer indication from an upper layer (e.g., PHY layer) of the wireless device; ¶ 0426: the wireless device may switch the DRX configuration from a first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration for a duration/period).
Regarding claim 8, Tsai discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first set of configurations or the second set of configurations includes one or more of a physical uplink control channel configuration or a physical downlink shared channel configuration (see Tsai, ¶ 0421 and ¶ 0422).
Regarding claim 9, Tsai discloses apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first set of configurations or the second set of configurations includes a channel state information reference signal reporting configuration (see Tsai, ¶ 0154-¶ 0156).
Regarding claim 10, Tsai discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first set of configurations or the second set of configurations includes a sounding reference signal configuration (see Tsai, ¶ 0165-¶ 0167: sounding reference signal (SRS)).
Regarding claim 11, Tsai discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first set of configurations or the second set of configurations includes a scheduling request configuration (see Tsai, ¶ 0242; ¶ 0462).
Regarding claim 12, Tsai discloses the apparatus of claim 1, apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first set of configurations or the second set of configurations includes a physical random access channel configuration (see Tsai, ¶ 0182).
Regarding claim 13, Tsai discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DCI indicates deactivation of a cell discontinuous transmission mode or a cell discontinuous reception mode at a network entity, and wherein the second set of configurations includes a default configuration (see Tsai, ¶ 0449).
Regarding claim 15, Tsai discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DCI is a first DCI and indicates activation of a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode or a cell discontinuous reception (DRX) mode at a network entity, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to receive a second DCI that indicates deactivation of the cell DTX mode or the cell DRX mode at the network entity (see TSai, ¶ 0449).
Regarding claim 16, Tsai discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DCI is a first DCI and activates a first cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode or a first cell discontinuous reception (DRX) mode at a network entity, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to receive a second DCI that indicates activation of a second cell DTX mode or a second cell DRX mode at the network entity (see Tsai, ¶ 0449).
Regarding claim 17, Tsai discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (see Tsai, Fig 1, gNB 160), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (see Tsai, ¶ 0221 and ¶ 0222), configured to cause the network entity to:
transmit downlink control information (DCI) to switch from a first set of configurations for a cell or channel to a second set of configurations for a cell or channel (see Tsai, ¶ 0420: the inter-layer indication may indicate the MAC layer to switch the DRX configuration from a first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration after sending the feedback information for the indication (e.g., DCI)); and schedule one or more communications based at least in part on a switch from the first set of configurations to the second set of configurations (see Tsai, ¶ 0421: after receiving the indication to switch the DRX configuration, the wireless device may switch the DRX configuration from a first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration when a upper layer (e.g., MAC layer) of the wireless device receives an inter-layer indication from an upper layer (e.g., PHY layer) of the wireless device. For example, the inter-layer indication may indicate the MAC layer to switch the DRX configuration. The indication to switch the DRX configuration may further schedule a PDSCH transmission; ¶ 0419: upon receiving the indication to switch the DRX configuration, the wireless device may switch the DRX configuration from a first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration).
Regarding claim 18, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 20, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 21, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding claim 22, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 9.
Regarding claim 23, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 10.
Regarding claim 24, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 11.
Regarding claim 25, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 12.
Regarding claim 26, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 13.
Regarding claim 28, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 15.
Regarding claim 29, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 16.
Regarding claim 30, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1. Although phrased as a method claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 1.
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 9, 11-13, 15-17, 20-22, 24-26, and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2023/0007587 to Ly et al. (hereafter Ly).
Regarding claim 1, Ly discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (see Ly, Fig 8, memory 830 and processor 840), configured to cause the UE to:
receive downlink control information (DCI) to switch from a first set of configurations for a cell to a second set of configurations for the cell; and switch from the first set of configurations to the second set of configurations (see Ly, 0086: In the wireless communications system 100, the base station 105 may improve network energy efficiency (e.g., NR power efficiency) and reduce network power consumption (e.g., NR power consumption) based on configuring the one or more UEs 115 with a UE-group common C-DRX configuration. The UE-group common C-DRX configuration may align active durations of the one or more UEs 115 by setting a DRX inactivity timer of the one or more UEs 115 to a common value (e.g., 0). However, unlike other C-DRX configurations, the base station 105 may configure or adjust the UE-group common C-DRX configuration of the UEs 115 via dynamic signaling (e.g., DCI or a MAC-CE), which may enable the base station 105 to adapt the UE-group common C-DRX configuration of the UEs 115 based on a DTX configuration of the base station 105. Thus, configuring the one or more UEs 115 with the UE-group common C-DRX configuration may increase alignment between active durations of the base station 105 and active durations of the one or more UEs 115, which may improve power savings and DTX efficiency at the base station 105, among other benefits).
Regarding claim 6, Ly discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein to switch from the first set of configurations to the second set of configurations, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to switch from a first type of configuration to a second type of configuration (see Ly, ¶ 0086; ¶ 0091).
Regarding claim 8, Ly discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first set of configurations or the second set of configurations includes one or more of a physical uplink control channel configuration or a physical downlink shared channel configuration (see Ly, ¶ 0084).
Regarding claim 9, Ly discloses apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first set of configurations or the second set of configurations includes a channel state information reference signal reporting configuration (see Ly, ¶ 0093).
Regarding claim 11, Ly discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first set of configurations or the second set of configurations includes a scheduling request configuration (see Ly, ¶ 0081 and ¶ 0082).
Regarding claim 12, Ly discloses the apparatus of claim 1, apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first set of configurations or the second set of configurations includes a physical random access channel configuration (see Ly, ¶ 0085).
Regarding claim 13, Ly discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DCI indicates deactivation of a cell discontinuous transmission mode or a cell discontinuous reception mode at a network entity, and wherein the second set of configurations includes a default configuration (see Ly, ¶ 0091 and ¶ 0092).
Regarding claim 15, Ly discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DCI is a first DCI and indicates activation of a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode or a cell discontinuous reception (DRX) mode at a network entity, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to receive a second DCI that indicates deactivation of the cell DTX mode or the cell DRX mode at the network entity (see Ly, ¶ 0095).
Regarding claim 16, Ly discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DCI is a first DCI and activates a first cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode or a first cell discontinuous reception (DRX) mode at a network entity, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to receive a second DCI that indicates activation of a second cell DTX mode or a second cell DRX mode at the network entity (see Ly, ¶ 0094 and ¶ 0095).
Regarding claim 17, Ly discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (see Ly, Fig 8, memory 830 and processor 840), configured to cause the network entity to:
transmit downlink control information (DCI) to switch from a first set of configurations for a cell or channel to a second set of configurations for a cell or channel (see Ly, 0086: In the wireless communications system 100, the base station 105 may improve network energy efficiency (e.g., NR power efficiency) and reduce network power consumption (e.g., NR power consumption) based on configuring the one or more UEs 115 with a UE-group common C-DRX configuration. The UE-group common C-DRX configuration may align active durations of the one or more UEs 115 by setting a DRX inactivity timer of the one or more UEs 115 to a common value (e.g., 0). However, unlike other C-DRX configurations, the base station 105 may configure or adjust the UE-group common C-DRX configuration of the UEs 115 via dynamic signaling (e.g., DCI or a MAC-CE), which may enable the base station 105 to adapt the UE-group common C-DRX configuration of the UEs 115 based on a DTX configuration of the base station 105. Thus, configuring the one or more UEs 115 with the UE-group common C-DRX configuration may increase alignment between active durations of the base station 105 and active durations of the one or more UEs 115, which may improve power savings and DTX efficiency at the base station 105, among other benefits); and
schedule one or more communications based at least in part on a switch from the first set of configurations to the second set of configurations (see Ly, ¶ 0100: The inactivity timer 320 may refer to a time duration for which the UE 115 is configured to remain in an active mode after receiving a PDCCH transmission. For example, the UE 115 may remain in an active mode 330 (e.g., for a time duration that corresponds to the inactivity timer 320) after receiving a PDCCH transmission 315 from the base station 105. In some cases, the inactivity timer 320 may also be referred to as a DRX inactivity timer. The timing offset 335 may refer to a time period between the beginning of a scheduling unit (e.g., frame, subframe, slot) and the first time at which the UE 115 is configured to enter the active mode 325-a. The timing offset 335 may also be referred to as an offset parameter or a frame offset, among other examples).
Regarding claim 21, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding claim 22, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 9.
Regarding claim 24, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 11.
Regarding claim 25, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 12.
Regarding claim 26, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 13.
Regarding claim 29, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 16.
Regarding claim 30, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1. Although phrased as a method claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly in view of US 2024/0237135 to Wu et al. (hereafter Wu).
Regarding claim 2, Ly discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Ly implicitly disclose wherein the DCI indicates activation or deactivation of a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode or a cell discontinuous reception (DRX) mode at a network entity (see Ly, ¶ 0086: The UE-group common C-DRX configuration may align active durations of the one or more UEs 115 by setting a DRX inactivity timer of the one or more UEs 115 to a common value (e.g., 0)).
However, Wu discloses wherein the DCI indicates activation or deactivation of a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode or a cell discontinuous reception (DRX) mode at a network entity (see Wu, ¶ 0353: the network activates and de-activates one of the plurality of sets of cell DTX/DRX configuration parameters via the DCI, and the DCI carrying the activation/de-activation signaling may be a cell common DCI or a UE group DCI).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Wu and incorporate it into the system of Ly reduce the power consumption of a communication base station (see Wu, ¶ 0015).
Regarding claim 3, Ly in view of Wu discloses the discloses the apparatus of claim 2, Ly does not explicitly disclose wherein the DCI indicates an index for a cell DTX configuration and an index for a cell DRX configuration.
However, Wu discloses wherein the DCI indicates an index for a cell DTX configuration and an index for a cell DRX configuration (see Wu, ¶ 0401: 1-to-2-bit indication field for indicating the index number of the applied cell DTX/DRX configuration, e.g., one of the 2 configurations or 4 configurations preconfigured at a high level by the index number).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Wu and incorporate it into the system of Ly to reduce the power consumption of a communication base station (see Wu, ¶ 0015).
Regarding claim 18, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2. Although phrased as a method claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3. Although phrased as a method claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 3.
Claim(s) 4 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly in view of US 2014/0177584 to Ouchi et al. (hereafter Ouchi).
Regarding claim 4, Ly discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the cell is a primary cell, and wherein the first set of configurations or the second set of configurations includes a set of configurations for one or more channels.
However, Ouchi discloses wherein the cell is a primary cell (see Ouchi, ¶ 0201: These configurations may be configured in the primary cell), and wherein the first set of configurations or the second set of configurations includes a set of configurations for one or more channels (see Ouchi, ¶ 0160: parameters related to the first reference signal configuration and the second reference signal configuration as details of the channel state information reference signal. CSI-RS configuration-r10 (CSI-RS-Config-r10) comprises CSI-RS configuration, namely, the first reference signal configuration (csi-RS-r10) and zero transmission power CSI-RS configuration, namely, the second reference signal configuration (zeroTxPowerCSI-RS-r10)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Ouchi and incorporate it into the system of Ly to achieve performance improvements in the communication system (see Ouchi, ¶ 0009).
Regarding claim 31, Ly discloses the method of claim 30, wherein the one or more configurations include at least one of: a discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration for the primary cell, or a configuration for sounding reference signals (SRSs) (see Ly, ¶ 0003: The base station may indicate a set of UE-group common C-DRX configurations to the group of UE via control signaling, such as radio resource control (RRC), downlink control information (DCI), or medium access control-control element (MAC-CE). A UE of the group of UE may select a UE-group common C-DRX configuration from the indicated set of UE-group common C-DRX configurations. The UE may use the selected UE-group common C-DRX configuration to perform wireless communications with the base station).
Ly does not explicitly disclose wherein the cell corresponds to a primary cell, the first set of configurations including one or more configurations that are specific to the primary cell.
However, Ouchi discloses wherein the cell corresponds to a primary cell, the first set of configurations including one or more configurations that are specific to the primary cell (see Ouchi, ¶ 0201: These configurations may be configured in the primary cell; ¶ 0202: A (primary cell) terminal-specific physical configuration is comprised in a terminal-specific radio resource configuration for a primary cell (RadioResourceConfigDedicated)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Ouchi and incorporate it into the system of Ly to achieve performance improvements in the communication system (see Ouchi, ¶ 0009).
Claim(s) 7, 10, 14, 23, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly in view of US 2021/0377852 to Zhou et al. (hereafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 7, Ly discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Ly does not explicitly disclose wherein to switch from the first set of configurations to the second set of configurations, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to increase or decrease a transmit power.
However, Zhou discloses wherein to switch from the first set of configurations to the second set of configurations, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to increase or decrease a transmit power (see Zhou, ¶ 0183-¶ 0185).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Zhou and incorporate it into the system of Ly to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device (see Zhou, ¶ 0240).
Regarding claim 10, Ly discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first set of configurations or the second set of configurations includes a sounding reference signal configuration.
However, Zhou discloses wherein the first set of configurations or the second set of configurations includes a sounding reference signal configuration (see Zhou, ¶ 0088; ¶ 0109; ¶ 0175).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Zhou and incorporate it into the system of Ly to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device (see Zhou, ¶ 0240).
Regarding claim 14, Ly discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the DCI includes one or more indices for the second set of configurations.
However, Zhou discloses wherein the DCI includes one or more indices for the second set of configurations (see Zhou, ¶ 0147; ¶ 0175; ¶ 0214).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Zhou and incorporate it into the system of Ly to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device (see Zhou, ¶ 0240).
Regarding claim 23, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 10. Although phrased as a method claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 10.
Regarding claim 27, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 14. Although phrased as a method claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 14.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly in view of WO 2023/122438 in view of Kwak et al. (hereafter Kwak), see IDS 03/05/2025.
Regarding claim 20, Ly discloses the apparatus of claim 17, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the DCI includes a dormancy indication for one or more secondary cells.
However, Kwak discloses wherein the DCI includes a dormancy indication for one or more secondary cells (see Kwak, ¶ 0076: DCI may indicate an SCell dormancy inside of a C-DRX active time. The DCI may schedule data and provide the SCell dormancy indication. The SCell dormancy indication may be up to five bits, which may correspond to five cell groups. In other words, the SCell dormancy indication may indicate a dormancy of up to five SCells; ¶ 0077: DCI may indicate an SCell dormancy inside of a C-DRX active time. The DCI may not schedule data and may only provide the SCell dormancy indication).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Kwak and incorporate it into the system of Ly to improve cell switching in the communication system (see Wu, ¶ 0002 and ¶ 0005).
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly in view of US 2014/0177584 to Ouchi et al. (hereafter Ouchi) and further in view of WO 2023/122438 in view of Kwak et al. (hereafter Kwak), see IDS 03/05/2025.
Regarding claim 32, Ly in view of Wu discloses the method of claim 31, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the DCI includes a dormancy indication identifying at least one secondary cell that is to go dormant.
However, Kwak discloses wherein the DCI includes a dormancy indication identifying at least one secondary cell that is to go dormant (see Kwak, ¶ 0076: DCI may indicate an SCell dormancy inside of a C-DRX active time. The DCI may schedule data and provide the SCell dormancy indication. The SCell dormancy indication may be up to five bits, which may correspond to five cell groups. In other words, the SCell dormancy indication may indicate a dormancy of up to five SCells; ¶ 0077: DCI may indicate an SCell dormancy inside of a C-DRX active time. The DCI may not schedule data and may only provide the SCell dormancy indication).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Kwak and incorporate it into the system of Ly to improve cell switching in the communication system (see Wu, ¶ 0002 and ¶ 0005).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RASHEED GIDADO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464