DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to the amendment filed 08/13/2026. Claims 1-4 and 6-35 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 and 6-35 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 8-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0267758 to Tsai et al. (hereafter Tsai) in view of US 12,610,425 to Niu et al. (hereafter Niu) and further in view of US 2024/0267987 to Babaei (hereafter Babaei).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see Tsai, Fig 1, UE 156), comprising: one or more memories; and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (see Tsai, ¶ 0221 and ¶ 0222), configured to cause the UE to:
receive downlink control information (DCI) to switch from a first set of configurations for a cell to a second set of configurations for the cell (see Tsai, ¶ 0420: the inter-layer indication may indicate the MAC layer to switch the DRX configuration from a first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration after sending the feedback information for the indication (e.g., DCI); ¶ 0449: The wireless device may indicate an instruction, by the physical layer of the wireless device to a MAC layer of the wireless device, to switch the first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration based on a field of the DCI), wherein the first set of configuration is associated with a cell discontinuous reception (DRX) mode at the network entity and wherein the second set of configurations is associated with the cell DRX mode at the network entity (see Tsai,0449: The wireless device may indicate an instruction, by the physical layer of the wireless device to a MAC layer of the wireless device, to switch the first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration based on a field of the DCI); and switch from the first set of configurations to the second set of configurations (see Tsai, ¶ 0419: upon receiving the indication to switch the DRX configuration, the wireless device may switch the DRX configuration from a first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration).
Tsai does not disclose wherein the first set of configurations is associated with a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode or a cell discontinuous reception (DRX) mode at a network entity and includes a plurality of configurations for one or more channels or one or more bandwidth parts of the cell, and wherein the second set of configurations is associated with the cell DTX mode or the cell DRX mode at the network entity and includes a plurality of configurations for one or more channels or one or more bandwidth parts of the cell.
However, Niu discloses receive downlink control information (DCI) to switch from a first set of configurations for a cell to a second set of configurations for the cell (see Niu, Col 5 lines 35-36: obtaining, from a network device, a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) switching command; Col 5 lines 50-53: multiple cDRX configurations can be configured in the cDRX group. Per cell, multiple cDRX configuration can be configured; Col 6 lines 35-41: A DRX switching command may be a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE), or may be a Downlink Control Information (DCI), including a non-scheduling DCI or scheduling based DCI. The DRX switching command may indicate the second cDRX configuration, e.g., the number or indicator of the new cDRX configuration to be switched on), wherein the first set of configurations is associated with a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode or a cell discontinuous reception (DRX) mode at a network entity, and wherein the second set of configurations is associated with the cell DTX mode or the cell DRX mode at the network entity (see Niu, Col 5 lines 37-48: switching, based on the DRX switching command, from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration, each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of at least one non-default cDRX configuration and a default cDRX configuration. Each non-default cDRX configuration of the at least one non-default cDRX configuration comprises a cDRX periodicity and a cDRX offset corresponding to a periodicity and an offset of a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) or Configured Grant (CG) configuration, respectively; Col 7 lines 52-58: According to some embodiments, in a case where two cDRX groups are configured, obtaining a DRX switching command comprises obtaining DRX switching commands per cDRX group, and switching to a second cDRX configuration comprises, switching, for each cDRX group, from a current first cDRX configuration to a second cDRX configuration; Col 11 lines 54-67: S604, transmitting, based on the activation or deactivation of the SPS or CG configuration, a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) switching command to a user equipment (UE) for the UE to switch from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration, where each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of: a default cDRX configuration; and at least one non-default cDRX configuration, where each non-default cDRX configuration of the at least one non-default cDRX configuration comprises a cDRX periodicity and a cDRX offset corresponding to a periodicity and an offset of the SPS or CG configuration, respectively);
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Niu and incorporate it into the system of Tsai to achieve efficient dynamic configuration switching in the communication system (see Niu, Col 1 lines 15-18).
Niu does not explicitly disclose the first set of configuration includes a plurality of configurations for one or more channels or one or more bandwidth parts of the cell, and the second set of configurations includes a plurality of configurations for one or more channels or one or more bandwidth parts of the cell.
However, Babaei discloses the first set of configuration includes a plurality of configurations for one or more channels or one or more bandwidth parts of the cell, and the second set of configurations includes a plurality of configurations for one or more channels or one or more bandwidth parts of the cell (see Babaei, ¶ 0235: the configuration parameters of the cell may comprise BWP configuration parameters of a plurality of BWPs for the cell. The configuration parameters of a BWP of a cell may comprise a BWP identifier parameter indicating an identifier of the BWP. The DCI may comprise a field with a value indicating the BWP identifier of the BWP of the cell on which the cell DTX pattern and/or the cell DRX pattern is to be activated/applied; ¶ 0242: the configuration parameters of the cell may comprise BWP configuration parameters of a plurality of BWPs for the cell. The configuration parameters of a BWP of a cell may comprise a BWP identifier parameter indicating an identifier of the BWP. The MAC CE may comprise a field with a value indicating the BWP identifier of the BWP of the cell on which the cell DTX pattern and/or the cell DRX pattern is to be activated/applied).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Babaei and incorporate it into the system of Tasi to enhance physical and MAC layer processes for operations of one or more cells according to one or more DTX/DRX patterns (see Babaei, ¶ 0045).
Regarding claim 2, Tsai in view of Niu and Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DCI indicates activation or deactivation of a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode or a cell discontinuous reception (DRX) mode at a network entity (see Tsai, ¶ 0449).
Also, Babaei discloses wherein the DCI indicates activation or deactivation of a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode or a cell discontinuous reception (DRX) mode at a network entity (see Babaei, ¶ 0229; ¶ 0235; ¶ 0250: wherein the DCI indicates activation or deactivation of a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode or a cell discontinuous reception (DRX) mode at a network entity).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Babaei and incorporate it into the system of Tasi to enhance physical and MAC layer processes for operations of one or more cells according to one or more DTX/DRX patterns (see Babaei, ¶ 0045).
Regarding claim 3, Tsai in view of Niu and Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 2, Tsai does not explicitly disclose wherein the DCI indicates an index for a cell DTX configuration and an index for a cell DRX configuration.
However, Babaei discloses wherein the DCI indicates an index for a cell DTX configuration and an index for a cell DRX configuration (see Babaei, ¶ 0238: a first bit in the plurality of bits (e.g., the rightmost bit of the plurality of bits) that are included in the field of the DCI may correspond to a cell that is configured with a cell DTX pattern and/or cell DRX pattern and that has lowest cell index among the cell index(es) of the cell(s) that are configured with cell DTX pattern and/or cell DRX pattern; a second bit that is adjacent to the first bit (e.g., adjacent to the rightmost bit in the plurality of bits) may correspond to a cell that is configured with a cell DTX pattern and/or cell DRX pattern and that has lowest cell index among the cell index(es) of the cell(s) that are configured with cell DTX pattern and/or cell DRX pattern).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Babaei and incorporate it into the system of Tasi to enhance physical and MAC layer processes for operations of one or more cells according to one or more DTX/DRX patterns (see Babaei, ¶ 0045).
Regarding claim 4, Tasi in view of Niu and Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the cell is a primary cell (see Tsai, ¶ 0127: For a downlink BWP in a set of configured downlink BWPs on a primary cell (PCeII), a base station may configure a UE with one or more control resource sets (CORESETs) for at least one search space; ¶ 0228: A wireless device may receive from a base station one or more messages (e.g. RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters of a plurality of cells (e.g. primary cell, secondary cell)), and wherein the first set of configurations or the second set of configurations includes a set of configurations for one or more channels (see Tsai, ¶ 0421: The indication to switch the DRX configuration may further schedule a PDSCH transmission. The UE may switch the DRX configuration from a first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration after sending the feedback information for the PDSCH transmission).
Regarding claim 6, Tsai in view of Niu and Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein to switch from the first set of configurations to the second set of configurations, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to switch from a first type of configuration to a second type of configuration (see Tsai, ¶ 0420: the wireless device may switch the DRX configuration from a first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration when a upper layer (e.g., MAC layer) of the wireless device receives an inter-layer indication from an upper layer (e.g., PHY layer) of the wireless device; ¶ 0426: the wireless device may switch the DRX configuration from a first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration for a duration/period).
Also, Niu discloses wherein to switch from the first set of configurations to the second set of configurations, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to switch from a first type of configuration to a second type of configuration (see Niu, Col 6 lines 42-46; Col 7 lines 56-58; Col 12 lines 6-11).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Niu and incorporate it into the system of Tsai to achieve efficient dynamic configuration switching in the communication system (see Niu, Col 1 lines 15-18).
Regarding claim 8, Tsai in view of Niu and Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first set of configurations or the second set of configurations includes one or more of a physical uplink control channel configuration or a physical downlink shared channel configuration (see Tsai, ¶ 0421 and ¶ 0422).
Regarding claim 9, Tsai in view of Niu and Babaei discloses apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first set of configurations or the second set of configurations includes a channel state information reference signal reporting configuration (see Tsai, ¶ 0154-¶ 0156).
Regarding claim 10, Tsai in view of Niu and Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first set of configurations or the second set of configurations includes a sounding reference signal configuration (see Tsai, ¶ 0165-¶ 0167: sounding reference signal (SRS)).
Regarding claim 11, Tsai in view of Niu and Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first set of configurations or the second set of configurations includes a scheduling request configuration (see Tsai, ¶ 0242; ¶ 0462).
Regarding claim 12, Tsai in view of Niu and Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first set of configurations or the second set of configurations includes a physical random access channel configuration (see Tsai, ¶ 0182).
Regarding claim 13, Tsai in view of Niu and Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DCI indicates deactivation of a cell discontinuous transmission mode or a cell discontinuous reception mode at a network entity, and wherein the second set of configurations includes a default configuration (see Tsai, ¶ 0449).
Also, Niu discloses wherein the DCI indicates deactivation of a cell discontinuous transmission mode or a cell discontinuous reception mode at a network entity, and wherein the second set of configurations includes a default configuration (see Niu, Col 5 lines 37-43; Col 6 lines 35-41; Col 11 lines 54-62).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Niu and incorporate it into the system of Tsai to achieve efficient dynamic configuration switching in the communication system (see Niu, Col 1 lines 15-18).
Regarding claim 14, Tsai in view of Niu and Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Tsai does not explicitly disclose wherein the DCI includes one or more indices for the second set of configurations.
However, Niu discloses wherein the DCI includes one or more indices for the second set of configurations (see Niu, Col 12 lines 48-51).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Niu and incorporate it into the system of Tsai to achieve efficient dynamic configuration switching in the communication system (see Niu, Col 1 lines 15-18).
Regarding claim 15, Tsai in view of Niu and Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DCI is a first DCI and indicates activation of a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode or a cell discontinuous reception (DRX) mode at a network entity, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to receive a second DCI that indicates deactivation of the cell DTX mode or the cell DRX mode at the network entity (see TSai, ¶ 0449).
Also, Babaei discloses wherein the DCI is a first DCI and indicates activation of a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode or a cell discontinuous reception (DRX) mode at a network entity, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to receive a second DCI that indicates deactivation of the cell DTX mode or the cell DRX mode at the network entity (see Babaei, ¶ 0228: the wireless device may receive a L1 command (e.g., a DCI) and/or a L2 command (e.g., a MAC CE) indicating activation or deactivation of the first cell DTX pattern and/or the first cell DRX pattern; ¶ 0229: the L1/L2 command used for activation or deactivation of a cell DTX pattern and/or a cell DRX pattern may be based on a received DCI. In an example, a format associated with the DCI may indicate that the DCI is for/associated with/usable in activation/deactivation of a cell DTX pattern and/or a cell DRX pattern. The wireless device may determine that a received DCI is for/associated with/usable in activation/deactivation of a cell DTX pattern and/or a cell DRX pattern based on the format associated with the received DCI).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Babaei and incorporate it into the system of Tasi to enhance physical and MAC layer processes for operations of one or more cells according to one or more DTX/DRX patterns (see Babaei, ¶ 0045).
Regarding claim 16, Tsai in view of Niu and Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DCI is a first DCI and indicates activation of a first cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode or a first cell discontinuous reception (DRX) mode at a network entity, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to receive a second DCI that indicates activation of a second cell DTX mode or a second cell DRX mode at the network entity (see Tsai, ¶ 0449).
Also, Babaei discloses wherein the DCI is a first DCI and indicates activation of a first cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode or a first cell discontinuous reception (DRX) mode at a network entity, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to receive a second DCI that indicates activation of a second cell DTX mode or a second cell DRX mode at the network entity (see Babaei, ¶ 0228: the wireless device may receive a L1 command (e.g., a DCI) and/or a L2 command (e.g., a MAC CE) indicating activation or deactivation of the first cell DTX pattern and/or the first cell DRX pattern; ¶ 0229: the L1/L2 command used for activation or deactivation of a cell DTX pattern and/or a cell DRX pattern may be based on a received DCI. In an example, a format associated with the DCI may indicate that the DCI is for/associated with/usable in activation/deactivation of a cell DTX pattern and/or a cell DRX pattern. The wireless device may determine that a received DCI is for/associated with/usable in activation/deactivation of a cell DTX pattern and/or a cell DRX pattern based on the format associated with the received DCI).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Babaei and incorporate it into the system of Tasi to enhance physical and MAC layer processes for operations of one or more cells according to one or more DTX/DRX patterns (see Babaei, ¶ 0045).
Regarding claim 17, Tsai discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (see Tsai, Fig 1, gNB 160), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (see Tsai, ¶ 0221 and ¶ 0222), configured to cause the network entity to:
transmit downlink control information (DCI) to switch from a first set of configurations for a cell or channel to a second set of configurations for a cell or channel (see Tsai, ¶ 0420: the inter-layer indication may indicate the MAC layer to switch the DRX configuration from a first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration after sending the feedback information for the indication (e.g., DCI)), wherein the first set of configuration is associated with a cell discontinuous reception (DRX) mode at the network entity and wherein the second set of configurations is associated with the cell DRX mode at the network entity (see Tsai,0449: The wireless device may indicate an instruction, by the physical layer of the wireless device to a MAC layer of the wireless device, to switch the first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration based on a field of the DCI); and
schedule one or more communications based at least in part on the switch from the first set of configurations to the second set of configurations (see Tsai, ¶ 0421: after receiving the indication to switch the DRX configuration, the wireless device may switch the DRX configuration from a first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration when a upper layer (e.g., MAC layer) of the wireless device receives an inter-layer indication from an upper layer (e.g., PHY layer) of the wireless device. For example, the inter-layer indication may indicate the MAC layer to switch the DRX configuration. The indication to switch the DRX configuration may further schedule a PDSCH transmission; ¶ 0419: upon receiving the indication to switch the DRX configuration, the wireless device may switch the DRX configuration from a first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration).
Tsai does not disclose wherein the first set of configurations is associated with a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode or a cell discontinuous reception (DRX) mode at a network entity and includes a plurality of configurations for one or more channels or one or more bandwidth parts of the cell, and wherein the second set of configurations is associated with the cell DTX mode or the cell DRX mode at the network entity and includes a plurality of configurations for one or more channels or one or more bandwidth parts of the cell.
However, Niu discloses receive downlink control information (DCI) to switch from a first set of configurations for a cell to a second set of configurations for the cell (see Niu, Col 5 lines 35-36: obtaining, from a network device, a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) switching command; Col 5 lines 50-53: multiple cDRX configurations can be configured in the cDRX group. Per cell, multiple cDRX configuration can be configured; Col 6 lines 35-41: A DRX switching command may be a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE), or may be a Downlink Control Information (DCI), including a non-scheduling DCI or scheduling based DCI. The DRX switching command may indicate the second cDRX configuration, e.g., the number or indicator of the new cDRX configuration to be switched on), wherein the first set of configurations is associated with a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode or a cell discontinuous reception (DRX) mode at a network entity, and wherein the second set of configurations is associated with the cell DTX mode or the cell DRX mode at the network entity (see Niu, Col 5 lines 37-48: switching, based on the DRX switching command, from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration, each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of at least one non-default cDRX configuration and a default cDRX configuration. Each non-default cDRX configuration of the at least one non-default cDRX configuration comprises a cDRX periodicity and a cDRX offset corresponding to a periodicity and an offset of a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) or Configured Grant (CG) configuration, respectively; Col 7 lines 52-58: According to some embodiments, in a case where two cDRX groups are configured, obtaining a DRX switching command comprises obtaining DRX switching commands per cDRX group, and switching to a second cDRX configuration comprises, switching, for each cDRX group, from a current first cDRX configuration to a second cDRX configuration; Col 11 lines 54-67: S604, transmitting, based on the activation or deactivation of the SPS or CG configuration, a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) switching command to a user equipment (UE) for the UE to switch from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration, where each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of: a default cDRX configuration; and at least one non-default cDRX configuration, where each non-default cDRX configuration of the at least one non-default cDRX configuration comprises a cDRX periodicity and a cDRX offset corresponding to a periodicity and an offset of the SPS or CG configuration, respectively);
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Niu and incorporate it into the system of Tsai to achieve efficient dynamic configuration switching in the communication system (see Niu, Col 1 lines 15-18).
Niu does not explicitly disclose the first set of configuration includes a plurality of configurations for one or more channels or one or more bandwidth parts of the cell, and the second set of configurations includes a plurality of configurations for one or more channels or one or more bandwidth parts of the cell.
However, Babaei discloses the first set of configuration includes a plurality of configurations for one or more channels or one or more bandwidth parts of the cell, and the second set of configurations includes a plurality of configurations for one or more channels or one or more bandwidth parts of the cell (see Babaei, ¶ 0235: the configuration parameters of the cell may comprise BWP configuration parameters of a plurality of BWPs for the cell. The configuration parameters of a BWP of a cell may comprise a BWP identifier parameter indicating an identifier of the BWP. The DCI may comprise a field with a value indicating the BWP identifier of the BWP of the cell on which the cell DTX pattern and/or the cell DRX pattern is to be activated/applied; ¶ 0242: the configuration parameters of the cell may comprise BWP configuration parameters of a plurality of BWPs for the cell. The configuration parameters of a BWP of a cell may comprise a BWP identifier parameter indicating an identifier of the BWP. The MAC CE may comprise a field with a value indicating the BWP identifier of the BWP of the cell on which the cell DTX pattern and/or the cell DRX pattern is to be activated/applied).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Babaei and incorporate it into the system of Tasi to enhance physical and MAC layer processes for operations of one or more cells according to one or more DTX/DRX patterns (see Babaei, ¶ 0045).
Regarding claim 18, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 20, Tsai in view of Niu and Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the DCI includes a dormancy indication for one or more secondary cells (see Tsai, ¶ 0392 and ¶ 0394).
Regarding claim 21, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding claim 22, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 9.
Regarding claim 23, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 10.
Regarding claim 24, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 11.
Regarding claim 25, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 12.
Regarding claim 26, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 13.
Regarding claim 27, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 14.
Regarding claim 28, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 15.
Regarding claim 29, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 16.
Regarding claim 30, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1. Although phrased as a method claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 1.
Regarding claim 31, Tsai in view of Niu and Babaei discloses the method of claim 30, wherein the cell corresponds to a primary cell, the first set of configurations including one or more configurations that are specific to the primary cell (see Tsai, ¶ 0127: For a downlink BWP in a set of configured downlink BWPs on a primary cell (PCeII), a base station may configure a UE with one or more control resource sets (CORESETs) for at least one search space; ¶ 0128: A UE may receive downlink receptions (e.g., PDCCH or PDSCH) in a downlink BWP according to a configured numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing and cyclic prefix duration) for the downlink BWP. The UE may transmit uplink transmissions (e.g., PUCCH or PUSCH) in an uplink BWP according to a configured numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing and cyclic prefix length for the uplink BWP); ¶ 0228: A wireless device may receive from a base station one or more messages (e.g. RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters of a plurality of cells (e.g. primary cell, secondary cell)), and wherein the one or more configurations include at least one of: a discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration for the primary cell, or a configuration for sounding reference signals (SRSs) (see Tsai, ¶ 0420: after receiving the indication to switch the DRX configuration, the wireless device may switch the DRX configuration from a first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration when a upper layer (e.g., MAC layer) of the wireless device receives an inter-layer indication from an upper layer (e.g., PHY layer) of the wireless device. In an example, the inter-layer indication may indicate the MAC layer to switch the DRX configuration from a first DRX configuration to a second DRX configuration after sending the feedback information for the indication (e.g., DCI)).
Regarding claim 32, Tsai in view of Niu and Babaei the discloses the method of claim 31, wherein the DCI includes a dormancy indication identifying at least one secondary cell that is to go dormant (see Tsai, ¶ 0392 and ¶ 0394).
Regarding claim 33, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 17. Although phrased as a method claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 17.
Regarding claim 34, Tsai in view of Niu and Babaei the method of claim 33, Tsai does not explicitly disclose wherein the DCI indicates: activation or deactivation of the cell DTX mode or the cell DRX mode; and an index of a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration or a configured grant (CG) configuration to be activated or deactivated in association with the activation or deactivation of the cell DTX mode or the cell DRX mode.
However, Niu discloses wherein the DCI indicates: activation or deactivation of the cell DTX mode or the cell DRX mode; and an index of a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration or a configured grant (CG) configuration to be activated or deactivated in association with the activation or deactivation of the cell DTX mode or the cell DRX mode (see Niu, Col 11 lines 51-67).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Niu and incorporate it into the system of Tsai to achieve efficient dynamic configuration switching in the communication system (see Niu, Col 1 lines 15-18).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai in view of Niu and Babaei, and further in view of US 2021/0377852 to Zhou et al. (hereafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 7, Tsai in view of Niu and Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Tsai does not explicitly disclose wherein to switch from the first set of configurations to the second set of configurations, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to increase or decrease a transmit power.
However, Zhou discloses wherein to switch from the first set of configurations to the second set of configurations, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to increase or decrease a transmit power (see Zhou, ¶ 0183-¶ 0185).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Zhou and incorporate it into the system of Tsai to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device (see Zhou, ¶ 0240).
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai in view of Niu and Babaei, and further in view of US 2021/0337552 to TAHERZADEH et al. (hereafter Taherzadeh).
Regarding claim 35, Tsai in view of Niu and Babaei discloses the method of claim 33, Tsai does not explicitly disclose further comprising: transmitting one or more channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs) in accordance with the switch to a CSI-RS reporting configuration included in the second set of configurations.
Taherzadeh discloses transmitting one or more channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs) in accordance with the switch to a CSI-RS reporting configuration included in the second set of configurations (see Taherzadeh, ¶ 0126: receiving configuration information indicating two or more channel state information (CSI) report settings for a periodic CSI report; receiving a signal indicating to switch to a selected CSI report setting of the two or more CSI report settings; and transmitting a CSI report in accordance with the selected CSI report setting; ¶ 0173: UE 120 may include means for receiving configuration information indicating two or more channel state information (CSI) report settings for a periodic CSI report; means for receiving a signal indicating to switch to a selected CSI report setting of the two or more CSI report settings; means for transmitting a CSI report in accordance with the selected CSI report setting; means for switching to the selected CSI report setting).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Taherzadeh and incorporate it into the system of Tsai to achieve efficient reporting of channel state information (see Taherzadeh, ¶ 0002).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2020/0037396 to Islam et al. discloses one DRX configuration form set of supported DRX configurations can be active at a given time. One DRX configuration comprises at least the set of parameters indicated in the above list in Table 1. A first DRX configuration is different from a second DRX configuration if at least one parameter is different. Table 2 shows an example that K configurations can be supported for a UE, of which an index referring to one of the configuration can be indicated. Each configuration has one or more parameters from Table 1 and possibly more parameters, such as wake-up signal monitoring duration, offset to start location of wake-up signal monitoring duration, offset to start location of ON duration for control channel e.g., monitoring after wake-up signal is detected etc.
US 2022/0191793 to MURRAY et al. discloses receive, from a second apparatus, information including a plurality of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configurations, wherein one of the plurality of DRX configurations is a first active DRX configuration and other DRX configurations are candidate DRX configurations; perform Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring in accordance with the first active DRX configuration; monitor signaling from the second apparatus for an indication that is used for adapting the first active DRX configuration; receive from the second apparatus an indication for adapting the first active DRX configuration into a second active DRX configuration; based on the indication for adapting the first active DRX configuration into the second active DRX configuration, adapt the first active DRX configuration into the second active DRX configuration; and perform PDCCH monitoring in accordance with the second active DRX configuration.
/RASHEED GIDADO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464