Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-14) in the reply filed on 2/19/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/19/26.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In line 2 of each of these claims, it is not clear what is meant by “the first side wall second side wall”.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedersen (WO 2024/009065, which corresponds to GB 2620424).
Note: although the publication date of Pederson does not predate applicant’s effective filing date, since the document was published in English and designated the US, it meets the eligibility requirements of 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as prior art based on its effective filing date of 7/07/22, via its claim to prior application GB 2210000.2, published as GB 2620424 noted above, which fully supports its disclosure.
Pedersen shows a containment unit 10 comprising: a front wall 18 supporting a winch 40 (note the paragraph spanning pages 7-8); a first side wall 16 having a first port 33 configured to facilitate water flowing into the containment unit or a second side wall 17 having a second port 33 configured to facilitate water flowing into the containment unit (see page 14:6-12); and a pivoting wall 19 opposite the front wall, wherein when the pivoting wall is in a closed position the front wall, the first side wall, the second side wall and the pivoting wall form a watertight container (page 6:4-9).
Pedersen does not disclose explicitly that both side walls have a water inlet port, although it does disclose that the container may comprise “at least one” port 33.
Nevertheless, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Pedersen by providing a port in both side walls, as this would merely be a duplication of parts, which has been held to involve only routine skill in the art (St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8), and which has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is obtained (In re Harza, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400), especially since Pedersen indicates that at least one port may be provided, as this would allow faster filling of the container via simultaneous water flow through both ports, and/or allow either port to be selectively utilized depending on which side of the container was closer or more convenient to an external water source.
Re claim 2, Pedersen discloses a seal between the pivoting wall and each of the first side wall and the second side wall (page 6:4-9).
Re claim 6, the container includes at least one port 73 to allow water to exit the containment unit, which “may be located in the floor … or proximal to the floor” (page 14:24, emphasis added). It would have been obvious to have provided this port in the pivoting wall 19 rather than the floor, as this would have been a mere rearrangement of parts, which has been found to involve only routine skill in the art and would not have modified the operation of the device (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70; In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7) especially since the port is shown immediately adjacent to the pivoting wall.
Re claim 7, since Pedersen discloses that the at least one port extends through the wall for connection to an external water source, when modified as above, the first port would obviously extend through the first side wall and the second port would obviously extend through the second side wall.
Re claim 11, when modified as per claim 1 above with a water inlet port in both side walls, Pedersen’s containment unit would comprise: a front wall 18; a first side wall 16 having at least one port 33 configured to facilitate water flowing into the containment unit; a second side wall 17 having at least one port 33 configured to facilitate water flowing into the containment unit; a winch 40 configured to move an electric vehicle between the first and second sidewalls (page 2:9-11); and a pivoting wall 19 opposite the front wall, wherein when the pivoting wall is in a closed position the front wall, the first side wall, the second side wall and the pivoting wall form a watertight container.
Re claim 12, the winch can be supported by the front wall, as noted above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 13 is treated in the same manner as analogous claim 2 above.
Re claim 14, the seal is disclosed as being positioned between the pivoting wall and ends of the first side wall and the second side wall.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedersen in view of DE 202020101186 (DE 186).
Pedersen does not show a first ladder on a first side of the front wall and a second ladder on a second side of the front wall.
DE 186 shows a substantially similar containment unit 1 for a fire-damaged electric vehicle 18, wherein a front wall 9 of the unit opposite a pivoting wall 15 has a ladder 6 on first and second sides thereof (Figs. 1-2). This allows access of an emergency worker to the damaged vehicle.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Pedersen by providing a first ladder on a first side of the front wall and a second ladder on a second side of the front wall, as taught by DE 186, to allow access of an emergency worker to the damaged vehicle.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedersen in view of DE 202020104825 (DE 825).
Pedersen does not disclose that the front wall includes an aperture through which a cable of the winch passes.
DE 825 shows a substantially similar containment unit 1 for a fire-damaged electric vehicle, wherein a front wall 5 of the unit opposite a pivoting wall 6 has an aperture 11 through which a cable of a winch passes, enabling the winch to be positioned outside the wall.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Pedersen by providing an aperture in the front wall through which a cable of the winch could pass, as taught by DE 825, thereby enabling the winch to be positioned outside the wall without requiring the use of pulleys to redirect the cable.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedersen in view of Lim (US 2023/0124540).
Pedersen does not show that the front wall, the first side wall, the second side wall, and the pivoting wall have a fire resistant material applied to their inner surfaces.
Lim shows a substantially similar containment unit for a fire-damaged electric vehicle, wherein a loading unit 200 (which includes at least a front wall and first and second side walls) and a transfer unit 300 (pivoting wall) each have a fire resistant material applied to their inner surfaces (pars. [0024], [0047]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Pedersen by providing each of the front wall, the first side wall, the second side wall, and the pivoting wall with a fire resistant material applied to their inner surfaces, as taught by Lim, to protect the unit from the effects of heat and fire.
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedersen in view of Ellermann (EP 3263402).
Pedersen does not show a box on the front wall supporting at least one power source to power the winch, or a latching mechanism configured to latch the pivoting wall closed.
Ellermann shows a substantially similar containment unit 1 for a fire-damaged electric vehicle, wherein a box 54 on a front wall 6 of the unit opposite a pivoting wall 12 supports at least one power source to power a winch 38 supported on the front wall (Figs. 4 and 6), as well as a latching mechanism 32 configured to latch the pivoting wall closed (Figs. 2 and 7).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Pedersen by providing a box on the front wall supporting at least one power source to power the winch, and a latching mechanism configured to latch the pivoting wall closed, as the former would provide a convenient manner of powering the winch and the latter would ensure a secure closing of the pivoting wall, thereby preventing unintended release of the extinguishing fluid.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedersen in view of Atkinson et al (US 11,224,772).
Pedersen does not show that the pivoting wall pivots about a vertical axis.
Atkinson shows a containment unit for hazardous products such as batteries prone to catching fire, wherein a door 71 (pivoting wall) pivots about a vertical axis. Also disclosed are a fluid (e.g., water) inlet port 78 on a side wall of the unit and fire-resistant materials or coatings used for the inner surfaces of the walls and door (col. 3:65 to col. 4:6, col. 9:28-35, col. 10:12-17).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Pedersen by configuring the pivoting wall to pivot about a vertical axis, as shown by Atkinson, if the nature of the articles to be brought into the containment unit made the use of a door swinging about a vertical axis more conducive than one swinging about a horizontal axis.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/James Keenan/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3652
3/04/26