DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and SEQ ID No 5 in the reply filed on 6/4/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-20 & 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by Dickinson et al (20200332371)
Dickinson teaches a method of using a split RNAP to produce transcripts and analyzing the transcripts. They teach creating a transcription mixture: i) a first polymerase domain attached to a first interaction component; ii) a second polymerase domain attached to a second interaction component; iii) a nucleic acid construct comprising a reporter gene under the control of a heterologous promoter responsive to polymerase activity from the first and second polymerase domains when the first and second interaction components interact, wherein the first and second polymerase domains are truncated portions of a polymerase; b) assaying for expression of the reporter gene [014].
Dickinson teaches methods for screening for modifications to the interaction of a first and second target by a candidate molecule, comprising: (a) attaching a first polymerase domain to the first target and attaching a second polymerase domain to the second target, wherein the first and second polymerase domains are truncated portions of a polymerase; (b) incubating the candidate molecule with (i) the first polymerase domain attached to the first target; (ii) the second polymerase domain attached to the second target; (iii) a nucleic acid construct comprising a reporter gene under the control of a heterologous promoter responsive to polymerase activity from the first and second polymerase domains when the first and second targets interact, and (c) analyzing expression of the reporter gene relative to a control. In some embodiments, step a) is omitted. [0018]
The reporter gene may be enzymatic, luminescent, color-producing, electrical, radioactive, or fluorescent. In certain embodiments, a reporter gene encodes a luciferase protein. In other embodiments, a reporter gene encodes a RNA nanostructure, an mRNA encoding a reporter protein or an RNAi. [0024]
Dickinson also teaches a method of screening (a) incubating one or more candidate agents with (i) a first polymerase domain attached to the first interaction component; (ii) a second polymerase domain attached to a second interaction component; (iii) a nucleic acid readout construct responsive to polymerase activity from the first and second polymerase domains when the first and second components interact, and (b) analyzing the readout from the nucleic acid readout construct relative to a control. In some embodiments, the nucleic acid readout construct comprises a reporter gene under the control of a heterologous promoter responsive to polymerase activity from the first and second polymerase domains when the first and second targets interact. A candidate inhibitor is identified if the readout indicates the candidate agent is reducing or interfering with the first and second polymerase domains from coming together to generate polymerase activity or function.[0032]
The reference anticipates the claim subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 & 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dickinson et al (20200332371) & Golub et al (2007/0065844).
Dickinson teaches a method of using a split RNAP to produce transcripts and analyzing the transcripts. They teach creating a transcription mixture: i) a first polymerase domain attached to a first interaction component; ii) a second polymerase domain attached to a second interaction component; iii) a nucleic acid construct comprising a reporter gene under the control of a heterologous promoter responsive to polymerase activity from the first and second polymerase domains when the first and second interaction components interact, wherein the first and second polymerase domains are truncated portions of a polymerase; b) assaying for expression of the reporter gene [014].
Dickinson teaches methods for screening for modifications to the interaction of a first and second target by a candidate molecule, comprising: (a) attaching a first polymerase domain to the first target and attaching a second polymerase domain to the second target, wherein the first and second polymerase domains are truncated portions of a polymerase; (b) incubating the candidate molecule with (i) the first polymerase domain attached to the first target; (ii) the second polymerase domain attached to the second target; (iii) a nucleic acid construct comprising a reporter gene under the control of a heterologous promoter responsive to polymerase activity from the first and second polymerase domains when the first and second targets interact, and (c) analyzing expression of the reporter gene relative to a control. In some embodiments, step a) is omitted. [0018]
The reporter gene may be enzymatic, luminescent, color-producing, electrical, radioactive, or fluorescent. In certain embodiments, a reporter gene encodes a luciferase protein. In other embodiments, a reporter gene encodes a RNA nanostructure, an mRNA encoding a reporter protein or an RNAi. [0024]
Dickinson also teaches a method of screening (a) incubating one or more candidate agents with (i) a first polymerase domain attached to the first interaction component; (ii) a second polymerase domain attached to a second interaction component; (iii) a nucleic acid readout construct responsive to polymerase activity from the first and second polymerase domains when the first and second components interact, and (b) analyzing the readout from the nucleic acid readout construct relative to a control. In some embodiments, the nucleic acid readout construct comprises a reporter gene under the control of a heterologous promoter responsive to polymerase activity from the first and second polymerase domains when the first and second targets interact. A candidate inhibitor is identified if the readout indicates the candidate agent is reducing or interfering with the first and second polymerase domains from coming together to generate polymerase activity or function.[0032]
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); >see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.");< ** In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Dickinson doesn’t teach a process using an analyte-specific barcode however it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to use an analyte-specific barcode because Golub teaches using said barcodes in the production and detection of RNAs [0021] for optimization of the process [0165]. Applicant is directed to pages 12-13 of KSR v Teleflex (500 US 398 2007) “ … the Court has held that a “patent for a combination which only unites old elements with no change in their respective functions . . . obviously withdraws what is already known into the field of its monopoly and diminishes the resources available to skillful men.” Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U. S. 147, 152 (1950). This is a principal reason for declining to allow patents for what is obvious. The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one(emphasis added). If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, §103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill.”
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art at the time the invention was filed especially in the absence of evidence
to the contrary.
BLAINE LANKFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 1657
/BLAINE LANKFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657