DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 01/12/2026.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 11, 13, 16, and 18 have been amended; Claims 1-20 remain pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1 relevant to the limitation “wherein the sensing request message for a WTRU comprises the target sensing area” have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1 relevant to the limitation “wherein the sensing request message for a base station comprises a frame structure or resource assignment information” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument on pg. 7 of Applicant Remarks that, in substance, Liu fails to teach or suggest at least “wherein the sensing request message for a base station comprises a frame structure or resource assignment information,” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005) expressly recognized that the USPTO employs the "broadest reasonable interpretation" standard:
The Patent and Trademark Office ("PTO") determines the scope of claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction "in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art." In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364[, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1830] (Fed. Cir. 2004). Indeed, the rules of the PTO require that application claims must "conform to the invention as set forth in the remainder of the specification and the terms and phrases used in the claims must find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description." 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1). See MPEP §2111.
See also In re Suitco Surface, Inc., 603 F.3d 1255, 1259, 94 USPQ2d 1640, 1643 (Fed. Cir. 2010); In re Hyatt, 211 F.3d 1367, 1372, 54 USPQ2d 1664, 1667 (Fed. Cir. 2000).
As mapped in Claim 1 below, the sensing request message includes sensing parameters such as a transmitting frequency of the sensing signal. A transmitting frequency necessarily identifies radio resources allocated for transmission within the wireless system. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), allocation of frequency-domain resources represents resource assignment information, since it defines the communication resources used by the base station to perform the sensing operation.
In conclusion, Liu teaches “wherein the sensing request message for a base station comprises a frame structure or resource assignment information.”
Applicant’s arguments presented with respect to Claim(s) 11 and all dependent claims are substantively the same as those set forth for Claim 1. Accordingly, the same reasoning and supporting explanation provided for Claim 1 are equally applicable to Claim(s) 11 and all dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 10-13, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2024/0406689, previously presented), Liu hereinafter, in view of Yao et al. (US 2024/0236923), Yao hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Liu teaches
a processor and memory configured to (Fig. 18; Fig. 19; Paras. [0274, 0277, 0289, 0291]):
receive a sensing service request message (Fig. 6, S210; Para. [0111] - As shown in FIG. 6, embodiments of the present disclosure provide a method for providing a sensing service, performed by the SF, including: in block S210, receiving a sensing request from an AF or an initiator of the sensing service; in block S220, determining, according to the sensing request, a target base station and a sensing parameter for providing the sensing service; and in block S230, transmitting the sensing parameter to the target base station.),
the sensing service request message comprising
a target sensing area (Para. [0132] - In some embodiments, the sensing request includes target information, the target information indicates an area of a sensing target; See also Paras. [0199,0211, 0243, 0272]),
a requested sensing mechanism (Para. [0138] - In some embodiments, the sensing request further includes: quality of service (QoS) information indicating a QoS of the sensing service, the sensing service query further includes the QoS information; and the target base station is a base station within the area of the sensing target and capable of providing the sensing service of the QoS information; See also Paras. [0132, 0196, 0235, 0243, 0272]),
and a quality of service (QoS) requirement indicating a sensing frequency at which sensing is to be performed (Para. [0211] - AF/Initiator sends a sensing request to an SF directly or via an NEF. The sensing request may include at least one of the followings: ID of the initiator; sensing model information; target information of a sensing target, where the target information includes, but is not limited to, target location, target size and/or target speed; QoS information, indicating a QoS requirement for providing the sensing service; sensing period information, indicating a sensing period; sensing area information, indicating a sensing area; and address information of the AF, the initiator or the target server; See also Para. [0139]),
the requested sensing mechanism comprising at least one of one or more base stations or one or more wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs) to be used for performing a sensing operation in the target sensing area (Para. [0138, 0132, 0196, 0235, 0243, 0272]);
determine coordination information based on the requested sensing mechanism and the QoS requirement (Fig. 6, S220; Para. [0111] - in block S220, determining, according to the sensing request, a target base station and a sensing parameter for providing the sensing service; and in block S230,),
wherein the coordination information is associated with the at least one of the one or more base stations or the one or more WTRUs to be used for performing the sensing operation in the target sensing area (Para. [0138, 0132, 0196, 0235, 0243, 0272]),
and wherein the coordination information indicates a sensing period related to transmission or receipt of sensing signals of a waveform at a specific resource (Para. [0211]);
and send a sensing request message comprising the coordination information to the at least one of the one or more base stations or the one or more WTRUs (Fig. 6, S230; Para. [0111] - transmitting the sensing parameter to the target base station; See also Fig. 3, S110, Para. [0053-0055]; Fig. 17, Para. [0207-0223]),
wherein the sensing request message for a base station comprises a frame structure or resource assignment information (Fig. 6, S230; Para. [0065-0072] - [0065] The sensing parameter may be any parameter required by an executor who provides the sensing service. Specifically, the sensing parameter includes at least one of the following: a transmitting parameter configured for the transmitter to send the sensing signal; a receiving parameter configured for the receiver to receive the sensing signal; a processing parameter configured for the processor to process sensing data corresponding to the sensing signal… [0067] The transmitting parameter includes, but is not limited to, a transmitting power of the sensing signal, and a transmitting frequency of the sensing signal; See also Para. [0065, 0067, 0068, 0083, 0085, 0116, 0142, 0145, 0152, 0207-0217, 0219-0223, 0228]; Para. [0241, 0272], Para. [0138, 0244]),
The Examiner interprets “a transmitting frequency of sensing signal” as resource assignment information.
wherein the sensing request message indicates a role of each of the at least one of the one or more base stations or the one or more WTRUs [Fig. 6, S230; Fig. 17; Para. [0218] - The SF sends the sensing parameter to the target gNB. The sensing parameter may include: a transmitting parameter, a receiving parameter, an area information of a sensing target area, and/or address information of a device that needs to receive sensing data or a sensing result. The device for receiving the sensing data or the sensing result here includes, but is not limited to, the AF, the initiator and/or the target server; See also Para. [0065, 0067, 0068, 0083, 0085, 0116, 0142, 0145, 0152, 0207-0217, 0219-0223, 0228]; Para. [0241, 0272], Para. [0138, 0244]).
wherein the indicated role of each of the at least one of the one or more base stations or the one or more WTRUs is sending sensing signals, receiving sensing signals, collecting sensing measurement data, or calculating sensing results (Fig. 6, S230; Fig. 17; Para. [0218] - The SF sends the sensing parameter to the target gNB. The sensing parameter may include: a transmitting parameter, a receiving parameter, an area information of a sensing target area, and/or address information of a device that needs to receive sensing data or a sensing result. The device for receiving the sensing data or the sensing result here includes, but is not limited to, the AF, the initiator and/or the target server; See also Para. [0065, 0067, 0068, 0083, 0085, 0116, 0142, 0145, 0152, 0207-0217, 0219-0223, 0228]; Para. [0241, 0272], Para. [0138, 0244])
Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one” and “one or more.”
Yet, Liu does not expressly teach wherein the sensing request message for a WTRU comprises the target sensing area.
However, Yao teaches
wherein the sensing request message for a WTRU comprises the target sensing area (Fig. 3, step 305; Para. [0135-0221] - [0136] Step 301: A third-party application function (AF) initiates an environment reconstruction sensing requirement. [0137] The environment reconstruction sensing requirement includes at least: [0138] an area and a scope of environment reconstruction, such as environment reconstruction within X meters near one or more base stations/UEs;… [0161] Step 305: Send the environment reconstruction sensing requirement to the associated base station and/or UE; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0042-0134]; Fig. 4, Para. [0222-0251])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date to combine Liu’s invention of a method and apparatus for providing a sensing service, a communication device, and a storage medium (Liu Para. [0005]) with Yao’s invention of “a sensing positioning method and apparatus, and a communication device” (Yao Para. [0003]) because Yao’s invention provides a sensing positioning method which allows for “obtaining higher sensing accuracy and providing better sensing services” (Yao Para. [0040]).
Regarding Claim 11, Liu teaches
receiving a sensing service request message (Fig. 6, S210; Para. [0111] - As shown in FIG. 6, embodiments of the present disclosure provide a method for providing a sensing service, performed by the SF, including: in block S210, receiving a sensing request from an AF or an initiator of the sensing service; in block S220, determining, according to the sensing request, a target base station and a sensing parameter for providing the sensing service; and in block S230, transmitting the sensing parameter to the target base station.),
the sensing service request message comprising
a target sensing area (Para. [0132] - In some embodiments, the sensing request includes target information, the target information indicates an area of a sensing target; See also Paras. [0199,0211, 0243, 0272]),
a requested sensing mechanism (Para. [0138] - In some embodiments, the sensing request further includes: quality of service (QoS) information indicating a QoS of the sensing service, the sensing service query further includes the QoS information; and the target base station is a base station within the area of the sensing target and capable of providing the sensing service of the QoS information; See also Paras. [0132, 0196, 0235, 0243, 0272]),
and a quality of service (QoS) requirement indicating a sensing frequency at which sensing is to be performed (Para. [0211] - AF/Initiator sends a sensing request to an SF directly or via an NEF. The sensing request may include at least one of the followings: ID of the initiator; sensing model information; target information of a sensing target, where the target information includes, but is not limited to, target location, target size and/or target speed; QoS information, indicating a QoS requirement for providing the sensing service; sensing period information, indicating a sensing period; sensing area information, indicating a sensing area; and address information of the AF, the initiator or the target server.),
the requested sensing mechanism comprising at least one of one or more base stations or one or more wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs) to be used for performing a sensing operation in the target sensing area (Para. [0138, 0132, 0196, 0235, 0243, 0272]);
determining coordination information based on the requested sensing mechanism and the QoS requirement (Fig. 6, S220; Para. [0111] - in block S220, determining, according to the sensing request, a target base station and a sensing parameter for providing the sensing service; and in block S230,),
wherein the coordination information is associated with the at least one of the one or more base stations or the one or more WTRUs to be used for performing the sensing operation in the target sensing area (Para. [0138, 0132, 0196, 0235, 0243, 0272]),
and wherein the coordination information indicates a sensing period related to transmission or receipt of sensing signals of a waveform at a specific resource (Para. [0211]);
and send a sensing request message comprising the coordination information to the at least one of the one or more base stations or the one or more WTRUs (Fig. 6, S230; Para. [0111]; See also Fig. 3, S110, Para. [0053-0055]; Fig. 17, Para. [0207-0223]),
wherein the sensing request message for a base station comprises a frame structure or resource assignment information (Fig. 6, S230; Para. [0065-0072]; See also Para. [0065, 0067, 0068, 0083, 0085, 0116, 0142, 0145, 0152, 0207-0217, 0219-0223, 0228]; Para. [0241, 0272], Para. [0138, 0244]),
wherein the sensing request message indicates a role of each of the at least one of the one or more base stations or the one or more WTRUs [Fig. 6, S230; Fig. 17; Para. [0218]; See also Para. [0065, 0067, 0068, 0083, 0085, 0116, 0142, 0145, 0152, 0207-0217, 0219-0223, 0228]; Para. [0241, 0272], Para. [0138, 0244]).
wherein the indicated role of each of the at least one of the one or more base stations or the one or more WTRUs is sending sensing signals, receiving sensing signals, collecting sensing measurement data, or calculating sensing results (Fig. 6, S230; Fig. 17; Para. [0218]; See also Para. [0065, 0067, 0068, 0083, 0085, 0116, 0142, 0145, 0152, 0207-0217, 0219-0223, 0228]; Para. [0241, 0272], Para. [0138, 0244])
Yet, Liu does not expressly teach wherein the sensing request message for a WTRU comprises the target sensing area.
However, Yao teaches
wherein the sensing request message for a WTRU comprises the target sensing area (Fig. 3, step 305; Para. [0135-0221]; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0042-0134]; Fig. 4, Para. [0222-0251])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date to combine Liu’s invention of a method and apparatus for providing a sensing service, a communication device, and a storage medium (Liu Para. [0005]) with Yao’s invention of “a sensing positioning method and apparatus, and a communication device” (Yao Para. [0003]) because Yao’s invention provides a sensing positioning method which allows for “obtaining higher sensing accuracy and providing better sensing services” (Yao Para. [0040]).
Regarding Claim 2, Liu in view of Yao teaches claim 1.
Liu also teaches
determine a list of the one or more base stations or the one or more WTRUs based on a region where the sensing operation is to be performed and the requested sensing mechanism (Paras. [0132-0135] - [0132] In some embodiments, the sensing request includes target information, the target information indicates an area of a sensing target. Determining, according to the sensing request, the target base station for providing the sensing service includes: transmitting a sensing service query to an access and mobility management function (AMF), where the sensing service query includes the target information; and receiving a sensing service response returned by the AMF, where the sensing service response includes: an identification of the target base station, and the target base station is a base station within the area of the sensing target and capable of providing the sensing service. [0133] The AMF is a common network element that may be used for access and mobility management for the UE, and thus the target base station may be determined by the AMF. [0134] For example, the AMF may select an appropriate target base station for providing the sensing service according to a location of the UE and/or the sensing target involved in the sensing service. [0135] For example, the target base station may be at least one of the followings: a candidate base station closest to the sensing target and capable of providing the sensing service; a candidate base station located in the same sensing area as the sensing target; a candidate base station closest to the UE involved in the sensing service; a candidate base station located in the same sensing area as the UE involved in the sensing service).
Regarding Claims 12, Liu in view of Yao teaches claim 11.
Liu also teaches
determining a list of the one or more base stations or the one or more WTRUs based on a region where the sensing operation is to be performed and the requested sensing mechanism (Paras. [0132-0135]).
Regarding Claims 3, Liu in view of Yao teaches claim 1.
Liu also teaches
receive sensing measurement data from the one or more base stations or the one or more WTRUs (Fig. 11, element 120; Para. [0228] - In some embodiments, the providing module 120 is configured to transmit a sensing signal according to a transmitting parameter included in the sensing parameter; and/or obtain sensing data by receiving, according to a receiving parameter included in the sensing parameter, a signal reflected from a sensing target sensed by the sensing signal; and/or obtain a sensing result by processing the sensing data according to a processing parameter included in the sensing parameter.);
calculate a sensing result using the sensing measurement data (Fig. 11, element 120; Para. [0228] - In some embodiments, the providing module 120 is configured to transmit a sensing signal according to a transmitting parameter included in the sensing parameter; and/or obtain sensing data by receiving, according to a receiving parameter included in the sensing parameter, a signal reflected from a sensing target sensed by the sensing signal; and/or obtain a sensing result by processing the sensing data according to a processing parameter included in the sensing parameter).
Regarding Claim 13, Liu in view of Yao teaches claim 11.
Liu also teaches
receiving sensing measurement data from the one or more base stations or the one or more WTRUs (Fig. 11, element 120; Para. [0228] - In some embodiments, the providing module 120 is configured to transmit a sensing signal according to a transmitting parameter included in the sensing parameter; and/or obtain sensing data by receiving, according to a receiving parameter included in the sensing parameter, a signal reflected from a sensing target sensed by the sensing signal; and/or obtain a sensing result by processing the sensing data according to a processing parameter included in the sensing parameter.);
calculating a sensing result using the sensing measurement data. (Fig. 11, element 120; Para. [0228] - In some embodiments, the providing module 120 is configured to transmit a sensing signal according to a transmitting parameter included in the sensing parameter; and/or obtain sensing data by receiving, according to a receiving parameter included in the sensing parameter, a signal reflected from a sensing target sensed by the sensing signal; and/or obtain a sensing result by processing the sensing data according to a processing parameter included in the sensing parameter).
Regarding Claim 8 and 18, Liu in view of Yao teaches claims 1 and 11.
Liu also teaches
wherein the sensing request message is sent through an access management function (AMF) using a Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) container (Paras. [0060-0061] - [0060] In the embodiments of the present disclosure, the UE firstly sends a sensing request to an access and mobility management function (AMF). In this way, the AMF, as a function for UE access and mobility management, may select an appropriate SF to provide the sensing parameter for the UE as required. [0061] The sensing request may be any request to provide a sensing parameter and/or a sensing service. The sensing request may be a non-access stratum (NAS) message and/or an access stratum (AS) message).
Regarding Claims 10 and 20, Liu in view of Yao teaches claims 1 and 11.
Liu also teaches
wherein the network node is a Sensing Operation Management Function (SOMF) (Fig. 6; Fig. 17; Para. [0048] - Sensing function (SF), a kind of network function, which may be any functional entity on the network side, and according to information/requirements provided by the initiator, determines a sensing model, and determines parameters of a transmitter (also called an emitter or a transmitting machine) and a receiver (also called an acceptor or a receiving machine), where the sensing parameters may at least be needed to coordinate receiving/transmitting parameters of sensing signals between the transmitter and the receiver; See also Para. [0062]).
Claim(s) 4-5, 9, 14-15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Yao, and further in view of Cheng et al. (US 2023/0370820, previously presented), Cheng hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 4, Liu in view of Yao teaches claim 3.
Yet, Liu nor Yao expressly teach send the sensing result to an access management function (AMF).
However, Cheng teaches
send the sensing result to an access management function (AMF) (Para. [0143] - Accordingly, UE 405 may report the sensing results to SnMF 420, which forwards the sensing results to AMF 415, which finally forwards the sensing results to SMAS 430; See also Paras. [0157, 0171]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide send the sensing result to an access management function (AMF) as taught by Cheng, in the combined system of Liu/Yao, so that it would provide methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support sensing mode configuration for wireless sensing (Cheng Para. [0004]) because Cheng’s invention provides mechanisms where the network may configure various sensing configurations to UEs and/or base stations (Cheng Para. [0005]).
Regarding Claim 14, Liu in view of Yao teaches claim 13.
Yet, Liu nor Yao expressly teach sending the sensing result to an access management function (AMF).
However, Cheng teaches
sending the sensing result to an access management function (AMF) (Para. [0143] - Accordingly, UE 405 may report the sensing results to SnMF 420, which forwards the sensing results to AMF 415, which finally forwards the sensing results to SMAS 430; See also Paras. [0157, 0171]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sending the sensing result to an access management function (AMF) as taught by Cheng, in the combined system of Liu/Yao, so that it would provide methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support sensing mode configuration for wireless sensing (Cheng Para. [0004]) because Cheng’s invention provides mechanisms where the network may configure various sensing configurations to UEs and/or base stations (Cheng Para. [0005]).
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Liu in view of Yao teaches claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Liu nor Yao expressly teach wherein the sensing operation comprises at least one of: objective sensing, motion sensing, object tracking, or environment sensing.
However, Cheng teaches
wherein the sensing operation comprises at least one of: objective sensing, motion sensing, object tracking, or environment sensing (Para. [0119] - For example, one UE may report its sensing measurements (e.g., the RF signal metrics) and/or sensing computations (e.g., the object property information) to the sensing server (e.g., SnMF), base station 205 may report the RF signal metrics and/or object properties as part of environmental/contextual sensing, and so forth.)
Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the sensing operation comprises at least one of: objective sensing, motion sensing, object tracking, or environment sensing as taught by Cheng, in the combined system of Liu/Yao, so that it would provide methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support sensing mode configuration for wireless sensing (Cheng Para. [0004]) because Cheng’s invention provides mechanisms where the network may configure various sensing configurations to UEs and/or base stations (Cheng Para. [0005]).
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, Liu in view of Yao teaches claims 1 and 19.
Yet, Liu nor Yao does not expressly teach wherein the coordination information comprises a frame structure or resource assignment information.
However, Cheng teaches
wherein the coordination information comprises a frame structure or resource assignment information (Para. [0059] - The sensing configuration may identify the resources (e.g., time, frequency, spatial, etc., resources), the sensing target(s) (e.g., which object(s) are being sensed), the format for reporting the result of sensing the object(s), etc., that the UE will use to perform sensing operations. The UE may perform the sensing operations according to the sensing configuration; See also Paras. [0114, 0115, 0128]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the coordination information comprises a frame structure or resource assignment information as taught by Cheng, in the combined system of Liu/Yao, so that it would provide methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support sensing mode configuration for wireless sensing (Cheng Para. [0004]) because Cheng’s invention provides mechanisms where the network may configure various sensing configurations to UEs and/or base stations (Cheng Para. [0005]).
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view Yao, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2024/0406690, previously presented), Liu2 hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, Liu in view of Yao teaches claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Liu nor Yao expressly teach wherein the sensing service request message further comprises a list of the one or more base stations or the one or more WTRUs.
However, Liu2 teaches
wherein the sensing service request message further comprises a list of the one or more base stations or the one or more WTRUs (Paras. [0076 - 0084] - The sensing request may include at least one of the following: [0077] identifier (ID) information of the UE; [0078] sensing object information; [0079] service region information of the sensing service; [0080] sensing duration information of the sensing service; [0081] quality of service (QOS) requirement information of the sensing service; [0082] identifier information of a candidate transmitter, in which the candidate transmitter is capable of transmitting the sensing signal; [0083] identifier information of a candidate receiver, in which the candidate receiver is capable of receiving a reflected signal generated by the sensing signal acting on the sensing object and of outputting the sensing data based on the reflection signal; [0084] identifier information of a candidate processor, in which the candidate processor is capable of determining a sensing result based on the sensing data; or candidate sensing model information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the sensing service request message further comprises a list of the one or more base stations or the one or more WTRUs as taught by Liu2, in the combined system of Liu/Yao, so that it would provide a method for providing a sensing service, performed by a UE (Liu2 Para. [0004]) because Liu2’s invention provides enhanced techniques for providing a sensing service performed by a UE (Liu2 Para. [0004]).
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Yao, and further in view of Bayesteh et al. (US 2022/0155435, previously presented), Bayesteh hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Liu in view of Yao teaches claims 1 and 11.
Liu also teaches
determining a sensing period (Para. [02111] - AF/Initiator sends a sensing request to an SF directly or via an NEF. The sensing request may include at least one of the followings: ID of the initiator; sensing model information; target information of a sensing target, where the target information includes, but is not limited to, target location, target size and/or target speed; QoS information, indicating a QoS requirement for providing the sensing service; sensing period information, indicating a sensing period; sensing area information, indicating a sensing area; and address information of the AF, the initiator or the target server.);
Yet, Liu nor Yao expressly teach sending a request for resource assignment for a sensing signal at the sensing period.
However, Bayesteh teaches
sending a request for resource assignment for a sensing signal at the sensing period (Para. [0069] - The request to sense indication may include an indication of detailed sensing signal configuration, which, in the case of RF sensing, may include a sensing waveform indication and its associated parameters, a sensing signal sequence indication, or an indication of sensing signal time/frequency allocation; See also Paras. [0074, 0076, 0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date to combine Liu’s invention of a method and apparatus for providing a sensing service, a communication device, and a storage medium (Liu Para. [0005]) with Bayesteh’s invention of a transmission point (e.g., a base station) with an ability to enlist a user equipment to help sense an environment (Bayesteh §Abstract) because Bayesteh’s invention provides techniques for increasing sensing coverage and sensing diversity (Bayesteh Para. [0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sending a request for resource assignment for a sensing signal at the sensing period as taught by Bayesteh, in the combined system of Liu/Yao, so that it would provide a transmission point (e.g., a base station) with an ability to enlist a user equipment to help sense an environment (Bayesteh §Abstract) because Bayesteh’s invention provides techniques for increasing sensing coverage and sensing diversity (Bayesteh Para. [0008]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468