Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
Limitations of Claim 7 (as applicant shows 5 and 6 as the same element, it does not accurately demonstrate independent relocation of the two elements)
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 5, 8, and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites “the aid of a feedback value” twice. The first instance lacks antecedent basis. Emend to “an aid of a feedback value” or “aid of a feedback value”.
Claim 8 recites “the aid of the eye height” and “the aid of the gripping height”. These limitations lack antecedent basis. Emend to “an aid of the eye height” and “an aid of the gripping height”, or “aid of the eye height” and “aid of the gripping height”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hong et al (KR 102125290 B1)
Independent Claim 1, Hong discloses a method for operating a charging station (140, Figs. [1-3]) designed and provided for charging a traction battery of a motor vehicle with electric energy (abstract, ¶’s [03, 13, 25]), wherein the charging station comprises a display device for displaying information (130, ¶’s [22, 23, 26, 28, 32, 34, 44, 50, 53]) and an operating device for receiving a manual input of a user (120, ¶’s [26, 30, 32, 34, 43, 44, 46, 50, 52, 53]),
the method comprising:
relocating the display device and the operating device at least temporarily in relation to a housing of the charging station (see Fig. 3).
Independent Claim 10, Hong discloses a charging station (140, Figs. [1-3]) for charging a traction battery of a motor vehicle with electric energy (abstract, ¶’s [03, 13, 25]),
the charging station comprising:
a display device for displaying information (130, ¶’s [22, 23, 26, 28, 32, 34, 44, 50, 53, esp. 34]); and
an operating device for receiving a manual input of a user (120, ¶’s [26, 30, 32, 34, 43, 44, 46, 50, 52, 53, esp. 30]),
wherein the charging station is configured to relocate the display device and the operating device at least temporarily in relation to a housing of the charging station (Fig. 3).
Dependent Claim 2, Hong discloses the relocating is done for a height adjustment of the display device and/or the operating device (Fig. 3).
Dependent Claim 3, HOng discloses a target position of the display device and/or a target position of the operating device are determined and an actual position is adjusted to the respective target position by the relocating (Fig. 3, ¶’s [14, 41, 48]).
Dependent Claim 4, Hong discloses the target position is determined with the aid of a feedback value of a control element (180 & 170, ¶’s [10, 12, 13, 35, 36, 43, 44]) of the charging station and/or with the aid of a feedback value of a sensor device of the charging station (sensor 170, camera 20, ¶’s [12, 13, 33, 36, 38, 41-43] are sensors of controller/charging station).
Dependent Claim 5, Hong discloses the sensor device comprises a proximity sensor and/or an optical sensor (camera is known as an optical sensor).
Dependent Claim 8, Hong discloses the feedback value of the sensor device is used to determine an eye height of the user and the target position of the display device is determined with the aid of the eye height, and/or the feedback value of the sensor device is used to determine a gripping height of the user and the target position of the operating device is determined with the aid of the gripping height (¶[48] describes setting it so the user can grasp/grip and see with their naked eye, i.e. grip and eye heights)
Dependent Claim 9, Hong discloses the control element is relocated at least temporarily in relation to the housing of the charging station (¶’s [28-33] describes that the sensor 170 of controller [170, 180] moves up and down with 120 & 130).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al (KR 102125290 B1) in view of Sano et al (USPGPN 20070176891)
Dependent Claim 6, Hong fails to explicitly teach the target position of the display device and/or the target position of the operating device are set to a respective starting position after a certain lapse of time.
Sano teaches the target position of the display device and/or the target position of the operating device are set to a respective starting position after a certain lapse of time (¶’s [19-23, esp. 21, 23], Figs. [3, 5, 8, 9, 13A, 13B] describes that after a preset period of time, it returns to the starting position of the monitor/display-device). Sano, Hong, and the present application are analogous in that they describe the movement of a display device and relate to vehicles (¶[03]). Sano teaches this return serves to enhance the usability (¶’s [21, 23]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hong with Sano to provide improved usability.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al (KR 102125290 B1) in view of King et al (USPGPN 20170196352)
Dependent Claim 7, Hong is silent to the display device and the operating device are relocated at least temporarily independently of each other.
King teaches the display device (12) and the operating device (14) are relocated at least temporarily independently of each other (¶’s [68, 85], where moving column 30 analogously moves both 12 and 14, while the height of keyboard can be moved relative to 30 and the height of the monitor can be moved relative to 30, see Figs. [1-12, esp. 9, 10, while ¶[67] describes a horizontal positioning of the keyboard, where one of ordinary skill in the art understands that the horizontal positioning of King’s keyboard/operating-device is easier on the wrists than the vertical device of Hong, and the improved adaptability can improve user satisfaction [official notice taken]). Sano, Hong, and the present application are analogous in that they describe the movement of a display device and an operating device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hong with King to provide improved satisfaction.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN T TRISCHLER whose telephone number is (571)270-0651. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30A-3:30P (often working later), M-F, ET, Flexible. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 5712722312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859