DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 10, 11, 13, 15, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Centonza et al(US 2023/0231779 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Centonza ‘799 teaches, a user equipment (UE) ([0404]-[0407] and Fig. 28, UE 2830)comprising: at least one transceiver([0404]-[0407] and Fig. 28, UE 2830 comprising radio interface 2837); at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver([0404]-[0407] and Fig. 28, UE 2830 comprising processing circuitry); and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the UE to([0404]-[0407] and Fig. 28, UE 2830 comprising memory for storing computer program): receive, from a base station, information on at least one application layer measurement configuration for application layer measurement configuration identity([0154], [0158], [0169], [0240] and Figs, 19A-B and 20, UE receding RRCconnctionReconfiguration message including a QoE configuration file(measConfigAppLayer) which identifies the measurement using a qoe-reference),
wherein an application layer measurement configuration for an application layer measurement configuration identity includes information indicating a signaling radio bearer (SRB) for transmitting ([0231], [0259], [0302] and Figs. 21, 23, the UE receiving from the network node information identifying the radio bearer for reporting as SRB4 or SRB5)
an application layer measurement report for the application layer measurement configuration identity as an SRB4 or an SRB5([0231], [0259], [0302] and Figs. 21, 23, the UE receiving from the network node information identifying the radio bearer for reporting, specifying SRB4, SRB5 etc. as the bearers to be used),
generate the application layer measurement report for the application layer measurement configuration identity based on the application layer measurement configuration([0154], [0170]-[0179], the UE performing the measurements and generating MeasReportAppLayer message (the report) based on the received parameters), and transmit the application layer measurement report via the SRB4 or the SRB5 indicated by the information ([0176], [0238], [0263], [0305] and Figs. 21-22, UE transmitting the report via specific SRB as instructed by the network node. Transmitting via SRB4 [0176] or an indicated bearer such as SRB5 [0259]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Centonza ‘799 teaches, wherein, if the SRB4 or the SRB5 indicated by the information is not available ([0210], [0250]when the UE is not allowed to send the report or when reporting is suspended making the bearer unavailable for transmission at that time) and a memory for storing the application layer measurement report is full, the application layer measurement report is discarded([0250] and Fig. 22, when the reporting is suspended and the buffer is full or memory for storing is full the UE may delete one or more reports or discard the report).
Regarding claims 5, 10, 15 and 20, Centonza ‘799 teaches, wherein the SRB for transmitting the application layer measurement report is negotiated between a master base station and a secondary base station ([0120]- [0122], [0241] and Figs. 4B, 8, 27, in dual connectivity (DC) the master node (MN) and second node negotiating via X2-C or Xnc).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Centonza ‘799 teaches, a base station( [0348]-[0350] and Figs. 24, 28, network node(base station)) comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver([0348]-[0350] and Figs. 24, 28, base station comprising transceiver coupled to processing circuit 2470) ; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the base station to(([0348]-[0350] and Figs. 24, 28, base station comprising device readable medium (memory) 2480 storing program), transmit, to a user equipment (UE), information on at least one application layer [0154], [0169],[0178]-[0179] and Figs, 19A-B, 20 and 23, transmitting an RRCConnecionReconfiguration message that includes a QoE configuration file and a specific qoe-Reference identity) wherein an application layer measurement configuration for an application layer measurement configuration identity includes information indicating a signaling radio bearer (SRB) for an application layer measurement report for the application layer measurement configuration identity as an SRB4 or an SRB5([0231], [0259], [0302], [0333] and Fig. 23, the base station (network node)identifying the specific bearer to be used by the UE for report transmission by explicitly mentioning options such as SRB4 or SRB5), and
receive, from the UE, the application layer measurement report for the application layer measurement configuration identity based on the application layer measurement configuration ([0059], [00307], [0337] and Figs, 20-23, receiving one or mor QoE measurement reports from the UE according to the configuration), wherein the application layer measurement report is received via the SRB4 or the SRB5 indicated by the information ([0169], [0240]. [0259] and Figs. 21, 23, network node receiving the QoE measurement report over the specific SRB indicated to the UE, on the example provided the UE sends based on the indication via SRB4).
Claims 2, 4, 7, 9, 12, 14, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Centonza ‘799 in view of Liu et al (US 2025/0168085 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 7, 12 and 17, Centonza ‘799 teaches all of the claim limitations, Centonza ‘799 further teaches, wherein the SRB4 is associated with a master base station for the UE and the SRB5 is associated with a secondary base station for the UE([0120], [0381] and Fig. 22, Dual connectivity scenario where a UE is connected to a master node(MN) and a secondary node(SN)), wherein if the information indicates the SRB4, the application layer measurement report is transmitted to the master base station via the SRB4([0241], [0259] and Fig. 22, choice of bearer such as SRB4 corresponds to the destination report, specifically citing transmission to the Master Node).
Centonza ‘799 does not explicitly teach, wherein, if the information indicates the SRB5, the application layer measurement report is transmitted to the secondary base station via the SRB5.
Liu ‘085 teaches, wherein, if the information indicates the SRB5, the application layer measurement report is transmitted to the secondary base station via the SRB5 ([0104], [0105] and Fig. 7, the UE transmitting QoE to secondary node (SN) 720 via SRB5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Dai ‘039, by incorporating the teaching of Liu ‘085, since such modification would enable a MN or and/or an SN may efficiently configure a UE to perform QoE measurements, as suggested by Liu ‘085([0071]).
Regarding claims 4, 9, 14 and 19, Dai ‘039 teaches all of the claim limitations except, transmitting, to the base station, a UE capability message including first information indicating whether the UE supports the application layer measurement configuration in a new radio dual connectivity (NR-DC) and second information indicating whether the UE supports the SRB5 for an application layer measurement reporting.
Liu ‘085 teaches, transmitting, to the base station, a UE capability message including first information indicating whether the UE supports the application layer measurement configuration in a new radio dual connectivity (NR-DC) and second information indicating whether the UE supports the SRB5 for an application layer measurement reporting ([0068]. [0074], [0096], UE transmitting capability information to the SN and MN nodes to indicate the type of connections (i.e. SRB5) and dual connection capability).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Dai ‘039, by incorporating the teaching of Liu ‘085, since such modification would enable a MN or and/or an SN may efficiently configure a UE to perform QoE measurements, as suggested by Liu ‘085([0071]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AWET HAILE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474