DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 12-15, 17-18, 22-23 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gupta et al. (Int. Pub. No. WO 2023/069144 A1), hereinafter referred to as Gupta.
Regarding claim 1, Drapkin discloses a first wireless station (wireless device; See Fig. 8, #810), comprising:
a processing system that includes processor circuitry (processor; See Fig. 17, #1704) and memory circuitry (memory; See Fig. 17, #1706) that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the first wireless station to:
generate a message to be transmitted to a second wireless station that is in a personal area network with the first wireless station (If the QHCI 354 determines that the Bluetooth packet and/or payload is to be transmitted via the XPAN protocol, then the QHCI 354 may route the Bluetooth packet and/or payload to the XPAN AC 356. The XPAN AC 356 may be configured to encapsulate data packets in a manner indicating that the data packets are to be transmitted over a WLAN channel or link using the XPAN protocol; See [0084]), the message including a personal area network control frame and at least one network communication header associated with a second network that is different from the personal area network (the XPAN AC 356 may add, to each data packet that is to be transmitted using the XPAN protocol, a header indicating that the respective data packet is formatted for transmission based on the XPAN protocol, wherein the second network is the WLAN; See [0085]); and
transmit, to the second wireless station, the message via the second network (The WLAN PHY 332 may transmit XPAN packets to, and receive XPAN packets from, a peripheral device over a WLAN channel or link; See [0086]).
Regarding claim 2, Gupta further discloses the first wireless station of claim 1, wherein, to generate the message, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless station to: generate the personal area network control frame at a personal area network application (application block; See Fig. 3, #302), a personal area network kernel module, or a raw socket at the first wireless station.
Regarding claim 3, Gupta further discloses the first wireless station of claim 2, wherein, to generate the message, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless station to:
generate a Layer 3 (L3) header as at least a part of the at least one network communication header, wherein the L3 header pertains to network layer communications, and wherein a combination of the personal area network control frame and the L3 header is an Internet Protocol (IP) encapsulated control frame (To address these limitations, Bluetooth and BLE devices may be configured in accordance with various aspects of the subject matter disclosed herein to operate using an extended Personal Area Network (XPAN) protocol that allows Bluetooth and BLE data to be communicated over wireless networks that are based on, or that are at least compatible with, Internet Protocol (IP) packets and Transmission Control Protocol/IP (TCP/IP) packets. For example, Bluetooth and BLE devices configured in accordance with the present disclosure can transmit and receive Bluetooth/BLE data over one or more channels associated with a wireless local area network (WLAN) by encapsulating Bluetooth/BLE data within packets formatted according to the IEEE 802.11 family of wireless communication standards; See [0052]).
Regarding claim 12, Gupta further discloses the first wireless station of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless station to:
identify a trigger to participate in a personal area network communication with the second wireless station (The QHCI 354 may determine whether a Bluetooth packet is to be transmitted using a traditional Bluetooth protocol or using the XPAN protocol; See [0083]), wherein generation of the message to be transmitted to the second wireless station is based at least in part on identifying the trigger (If the QHCI 354 determines that the Bluetooth packet and/or payload is to be transmitted via the XPAN protocol, then the QHCI 354 may route the Bluetooth packet and/or payload to the XPAN AC 356. The XPAN AC 356 may be configured to encapsulate data packets in a manner indicating that the data packets are to be transmitted over a WLAN channel or link using the XPAN protocol; See [0084]).
Regarding claim 13, Gupta further discloses the first wireless station of claim 12, wherein the trigger includes an identification that the message to be transmitted to the second wireless station is one of a predetermined type of message (the determination of a Bluetooth packet is the trigger; See [0083]).
Regarding claim 14, Gupta further teaches the first wireless station of claim 12, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless station to:
receive data to be forwarded to the second wireless station, wherein receipt of the data is the trigger (the apparatus 1602 includes a reception component 1604 that receives data packets from the AP 1650. The application processor 1606 extracts audio or video data from the data packets received from the AP 1650, attaches or applies a Bluetooth profile to the extracted audio or video data, and routes the extracted audio or video data to the audio subsystem 1608. The audio subsystem 1608 encodes the audio or video data, and routes the encoded audio or video data to the WLAN subsystem 1610. The WLAN subsystem 1610 embeds the encoded audio or video data into Bluetooth frames, and encapsulates the Bluetooth frames within one or more IEEE 802.11 -compliant data packets; See [0161]-[0162]).
Regarding claim 15, Gupta further discloses the first wireless station of claim 1, wherein the personal area network is an extended personal area network (XPAN) (XPAN; See [0083]-[0086]).
Regarding claim 17, Gupta discloses an access point (See Fig. ), comprising:
a processing system (processing system; See Fig. 17, #1714) that includes processor circuitry (processor; See Fig. 17, #1704) and memory circuitry (memory; See Fig. 17, #1706) that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the access point to:
receive a message from a first wireless station that includes a personal area network control frame and at least one network communication header associated with a network including the access point (the wireless device 810 may associate and authenticate with the selected AP (if not already associated), and then transmit Bluetooth data to the peripheral device 820 over the WLAN channel. In the example of Figure 8, the wireless device 810 associates with the AP 830, and then transmits one or more Bluetooth- encoded data frames 860 to the peripheral device 820 over the WLAN channel 845 associated with the AP 830; See [0133] and [0140]); and
forwarding, to a second wireless station, the message based at least in part on the message including the personal area network control frame (the XPAN AC 356 may add, to each data packet that is to be transmitted using the XPAN protocol, a header indicating that the respective data packet is formatted for transmission based on the XPAN protocol, wherein the second network is the WLAN; See [0085] and [0140]), wherein the first wireless station and the second wireless station are within a personal area network associated with the personal area network control frame (Wireless personal area network; See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Gupta further discloses the access point of claim 17, wherein, to receive the message, the processing system is configured to cause the access point to: receive a Layer 3 (L3) header as at least a part of the at least one network communication header, wherein the L3 header pertains to network layer communications, and wherein a combination of the personal area network control frame and the L3 header is an Internet Protocol (IP) encapsulated control frame (To address these limitations, Bluetooth and BLE devices may be configured in accordance with various aspects of the subject matter disclosed herein to operate using an extended Personal Area Network (XPAN) protocol that allows Bluetooth and BLE data to be communicated over wireless networks that are based on, or that are at least compatible with, Internet Protocol (IP) packets and Transmission Control Protocol/IP (TCP/IP) packets. For example, Bluetooth and BLE devices configured in accordance with the present disclosure can transmit and receive Bluetooth/BLE data over one or more channels associated with a wireless local area network (WLAN) by encapsulating Bluetooth/BLE data within packets formatted according to the IEEE 802.11 family of wireless communication standards; See [0052]).
Regarding claim 22, Gupta discloses a first wireless station (peripheral device; See Fig. 8, #820), comprising:
a processing system that includes processor circuitry (processor; See Fig. 17, #1704) and memory circuitry (memory; See Fig. 17, #1706) that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the first wireless station to:
receive a message from a second wireless station that is in a personal area network with the first wireless station (The WLAN PHY 332 may transmit XPAN packets to, and receive XPAN packets from, a peripheral device over a WLAN channel or link; See [0086]), wherein the message includes a personal area network control frame and at least one network communication header associated with a second network that is different from the personal area network, wherein the message is received via the second network (the XPAN AC 356 may add, to each data packet that is to be transmitted using the XPAN protocol, a header indicating that the respective data packet is formatted for transmission based on the XPAN protocol, wherein the second network is the WLAN; See [0085]); and
decode the message based at least in part on the message including the personal area network control frame (Data packets received over the Bluetooth connection 630 or the WLAN channel 640 may be queued or otherwise stored in the receive buffer 622. The data packets may be output from the receive buffer 622 and forwarded to the decoder 624. In some aspects, the decoder 624 may decode data (such as audio and/or video data) carried in the payloads of the queued data packets, and forward the decoded data to upper layers of the protocol stack for processing and playback to a user; See [0098]).
Regarding claim 23, Gupta further discloses the first wireless station of claim 22, wherein, to receive the message, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless station to:
receive a Layer 3 (L3) header as at least a part of the at least one network communication header, wherein the L3 header pertains to network layer communications, and wherein a combination of the personal area network control frame and the L3 header is an Internet Protocol (IP) encapsulated control frame (To address these limitations, Bluetooth and BLE devices may be configured in accordance with various aspects of the subject matter disclosed herein to operate using an extended Personal Area Network (XPAN) protocol that allows Bluetooth and BLE data to be communicated over wireless networks that are based on, or that are at least compatible with, Internet Protocol (IP) packets and Transmission Control Protocol/IP (TCP/IP) packets. For example, Bluetooth and BLE devices configured in accordance with the present disclosure can transmit and receive Bluetooth/BLE data over one or more channels associated with a wireless local area network (WLAN) by encapsulating Bluetooth/BLE data within packets formatted according to the IEEE 802.11 family of wireless communication standards; See [0052]).
Regarding claim 30, Gupta discloses a method for wireless communications at a first wireless station, comprising:
generating a message to be transmitted to a second wireless station that is in a personal area network with the first wireless station (If the QHCI 354 determines that the Bluetooth packet and/or payload is to be transmitted via the XPAN protocol, then the QHCI 354 may route the Bluetooth packet and/or payload to the XPAN AC 356. The XPAN AC 356 may be configured to encapsulate data packets in a manner indicating that the data packets are to be transmitted over a WLAN channel or link using the XPAN protocol; See [0084]), the message including a personal area network control frame and at least one network communication header associated with a second network that is different from the personal area network (the XPAN AC 356 may add, to each data packet that is to be transmitted using the XPAN protocol, a header indicating that the respective data packet is formatted for transmission based on the XPAN protocol, wherein the second network is the WLAN; See [0085]); and
transmitting, to the second wireless station, the message via the second network (The WLAN PHY 332 may transmit XPAN packets to, and receive XPAN packets from, a peripheral device over a WLAN channel or link; See [0086]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 16 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Noh et al. (U.S. PGPub 2012/0163362), hereinafter referred to as Noh.
Regarding claim 4, Gupta fails to teach the first wireless station of claim 3, wherein the L3 header is an IP Version 4 (IPv4) header.
Noh teaches wherein the L3 header is an IP Version 4 (IPv4) header (IPv4 packet; See Fig. 3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Gupta to include wherein the L3 header is an IP Version 4 (IPv4) header taught by Noh in order to optimize routing.
Regarding claim 5, Gupta fails to teach the first wireless station of claim 4, wherein the IPv4 header includes a protocol field which is indicative that the message includes the personal area network control frame.
Noh teaches wherein the IPv4 header includes a protocol field which is indicative that the message includes the personal area network control frame (protocol; See Fig. 3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Gupta to include wherein the IPv4 header includes a protocol field which is indicative that the message includes the personal area network control frame taught by Noh in order to optimize routing.
Regarding claim 16, Gupta fails to teach the first wireless station of claim 1, wherein the personal area network control frame contains a type field, a length of a payload, and the payload.
Noh teaches wherein the personal area network control frame contains a type field (type of service; See Fig. 3), a length of a payload (total length; See Fig. 3), and the payload (data; See Fig. 3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Gupta to include the fields within the personal area network control frame taught by Noh in order to optimize routing.
Regarding claim 24, Gupta fails to teach the first wireless station of claim 23, wherein the L3 header is an IP Version 4 (IPv4) header.
Noh teaches wherein the L3 header is an IP Version 4 (IPv4) header (IPv4 packet; See Fig. 3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Gupta to include wherein the L3 header is an IP Version 4 (IPv4) header taught by Noh in order to optimize routing.
Regarding claim 25, Gupta fails to teach the first wireless station of claim 24, wherein the IPv4 header includes a protocol field which is indicative that the message includes the personal area network control frame.
Noh teaches wherein the IPv4 header includes a protocol field which is indicative that the message includes the personal area network control frame (protocol; See Fig. 3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Gupta to include wherein the IPv4 header includes a protocol field which is indicative that the message includes the personal area network control frame taught by Noh in order to optimize routing.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Del Carpio Vega et al. (U.S. PGPub 2018/0124638), hereinafter referred to as Del Carpio Vega.
Regarding claim 6, Gupta fails to teach the first wireless station of claim 3, wherein the L3 header is an IP Version 6 (IPv6) header.
Del Carpio Vega teaches wherein the L3 header is an IP Version 6 (IPv6) header (IPv6 packet header; See Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Gupta to include wherein the L3 header is an IP Version 6 (IPv6) header taught by Del Carpio Vega in order to optimize routing.
Regarding claim 7, Gupta still fails to teach the first wireless station of claim 6, wherein the IPv6 header includes a next header field which is indicative that the message includes the personal area network control frame.
Del Carpio Vega teaches wherein the IPv6 header includes a next header field which is indicative that the message includes the personal area network control frame (Next header field; See Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Gupta to include wherein the IPv6 header includes a next header field which is indicative that the message includes the personal area network control frame taught by Del Carpio Vega in order to optimize routing.
Claims 8-11, 19-21 and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Divvi et al. (U.S. PGPub 2024/0298176), hereinafter referred to as Divvi.
Regarding claim 8, Gupta fails to teach the first wireless station of claim 3, wherein, to generate the message, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless station to: generate a Layer 2 (L2) header as at least a part of the at least one network communication header, wherein the L2 header pertains to data link layer communications, and is in addition to the IP encapsulated control frame.
Divvi teaches wherein, to generate the message, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless station to: generate a Layer 2 (L2) header as at least a part of the at least one network communication header (encapsulated with an L2 frame format; See Fig. 19, #9020 and #9030), wherein the L2 header pertains to data link layer communications, and is in addition to the IP encapsulated control frame (the VLAN header; See Fig. 19).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Gupta to include wherein, to generate the message, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless station to: generate a Layer 2 (L2) header as at least a part of the at least one network communication header, wherein the L2 header pertains to data link layer communications, and is in addition to the IP encapsulated control frame taught by Divvi in order to optimize routing.
Regarding claim 9, Gupta still fails to teach the first wireless station of claim 8, wherein: the L2 header includes a field indicating an Ethernet type, and the Ethernet type is one of IP Version 4 (IPv4) or IP Version 6 (IPv6).
Divvi teaches wherein: the L2 header includes a field indicating an Ethernet type (Ether type; See Fig. 19), and the Ethernet type is one of IP Version 4 (IPv4) or IP Version 6 (IPv6) (IPv4 or IPv6 IP address assignment pool; See [0112]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Gupta to include wherein: the L2 header includes a field indicating an Ethernet type, and the Ethernet type is one of IP Version 4 (IPv4) or IP Version 6 (IPv6) taught by Divvi in order to optimize routing.
Regarding claim 10, Gupta further teaches the first wireless station of claim 8, wherein, to transmit the message via the second network, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless station to: transmit the message via a same basic service set or an extended service set in an L2-bridged network in accordance with the L2 header, wherein the second network is the L2-bridged network (the first AP and the second AP belong to the same BSS or ESS. In various aspects, the peripheral device includes a first earbud and a second earbud, and the first and second earbuds may be paired with the softAP via at least one of an ACL link, an L2CAP link, an A2DP link, an SCO link, or an ISO link. the communication link 430 may be one or more wireless channels associated with a BSS, a WLAN, and/or an AP; See [0023] and [0088]).
Divvi teaches the L2 header. The motivation for combination has been provided above with respect to claim 8.
Regarding claim 11, Gupta further teaches the first wireless station of claim 8, wherein, to transmit the message via the second network, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless station to: transmit the message via an L3 network in accordance with the L3 header, wherein the second network is the L3 network (transmits one or more Bluetooth- encoded data frames 860 to the peripheral device 820 over the WLAN channel 845 associated with the AP 830; See [0133]).
Regarding claim 19, Gupta fails to teach the access point of claim 18, wherein, to receive the message, the processing system is configured to cause the access point to: receive a Layer 2 (L2) header as at least a part of the at least one network communication header, wherein the L2 header pertains to data link layer communications, and is in addition to the IP encapsulated control frame.
Divvi teaches receive the message, the processing system is configured to cause the access point to: receive a Layer 2 (L2) header as at least a part of the at least one network communication header (encapsulated with an L2 frame format; See Fig. 19, #9020 and #9030), wherein the L2 header pertains to data link layer communications, and is in addition to the IP encapsulated control frame (the VLAN header; See Fig. 19).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Gupta to include receive the message, the processing system is configured to cause the access point to: receive a Layer 2 (L2) header as at least a part of the at least one network communication header, wherein the L2 header pertains to data link layer communications, and is in addition to the IP encapsulated control frame taught by Divvi in order to optimize routing.
Regarding claim 20, Gupta further teaches the access point of claim 19, wherein, to forward the message, the processing system is configured to cause the access point to: forward the message via a same basic service set or an extended service set in an L2-bridged network in accordance with the L2 header, wherein the network is the L2-bridged network (the first AP and the second AP belong to the same BSS or ESS. In various aspects, the peripheral device includes a first earbud and a second earbud, and the first and second earbuds may be paired with the softAP via at least one of an ACL link, an L2CAP link, an A2DP link, an SCO link, or an ISO link. the communication link 430 may be one or more wireless channels associated with a BSS, a WLAN, and/or an AP; See [0023] and [0088]).
Divvi teaches the L2 header. The motivation for combination has been provided above with respect to claim 19.
Regarding claim 21, Gupta further teaches the access point of claim 19, wherein, to forward the message, the processing system is configured to cause the access point to: forward the message via an L3 network in accordance with the L3 header, wherein the network is the L3 network (transmits one or more Bluetooth- encoded data frames 860 to the peripheral device 820 over the WLAN channel 845 associated with the AP 830; See [0133]).
Regarding claim 26, Gupta the first wireless station of claim 24, wherein, to receive the message, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless station to: receive a Layer 2 (L2) header as at least a part of the at least one network communication header, wherein the L2 header pertains to data link layer communications, and is in addition to the IP encapsulated control frame.
Divvi teaches wherein, to receive the message, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless station to: receive a Layer 2 (L2) header as at least a part of the at least one network communication header (encapsulated with an L2 frame format; See Fig. 19, #9020 and #9030), wherein the L2 header pertains to data link layer communications, and is in addition to the IP encapsulated control frame (the VLAN header; See Fig. 19).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Gupta to include wherein, to receive the message, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless station to: receive a Layer 2 (L2) header as at least a part of the at least one network communication header, wherein the L2 header pertains to data link layer communications, and is in addition to the IP encapsulated control frame taught by Divvi in order to optimize routing.
Regarding claim 27, Gupta fails to teach the first wireless station of claim 26, wherein: the L2 header includes a field indicating an Ethernet type, and the Ethernet type is one of IP Version 4 (IPv4) or IP Version 6 (IPv6).
Divvi teaches wherein: the L2 header includes a field indicating an Ethernet type (Ether type; See Fig. 19), and the Ethernet type is one of IP Version 4 (IPv4) or IP Version 6 (IPv6) (IPv4 or IPv6 IP address assignment pool; See [0112]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Gupta to include wherein: the L2 header includes a field indicating an Ethernet type, and the Ethernet type is one of IP Version 4 (IPv4) or IP Version 6 (IPv6) taught by Divvi in order to optimize routing.
Regarding claim 28, Gupta further teaches the first wireless station of claim 26, wherein, to receive the message, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless station to: receive the message via a same basic service set or an extended service set in an L2-bridged network in accordance with the L2 header, wherein the second network is the L2-bridged network (the first AP and the second AP belong to the same BSS or ESS. In various aspects, the peripheral device includes a first earbud and a second earbud, and the first and second earbuds may be paired with the softAP via at least one of an ACL link, an L2CAP link, an A2DP link, an SCO link, or an ISO link. the communication link 430 may be one or more wireless channels associated with a BSS, a WLAN, and/or an AP; See [0023] and [0088]).
Divvi teaches the L2 header. The motivation for combination has been provided above with respect to claim 26.
Regarding claim 29, Gupta further teaches the first wireless station of claim 26, wherein, to receive the message, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless station to:
receive the message via an L3 network in accordance with the L3 header, wherein the second network is the L3 network (transmits one or more Bluetooth- encoded data frames 860 to the peripheral device 820 over the WLAN channel 845 associated with the AP 830; See [0133]).
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/ASHLEY SHIVERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 4/2/2026