DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendments and Remarks filed on 12/19/2025.
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 12-18, and 21-24 are pending for examination.
Response to Amendment
With regards to the 112(f) interpretations to claims 1, 12, 14, and 18 in the previous office action. The amendments made to “sensor unit” in claim 14, “interface communication module” in claim 1 and 18, and “vehicle communication module” in claims 12 and 18 add sufficient structure. Therefore, the 112(f) interpretation to these limitations has been withdrawn.
With regards to the 112(a)-rejection made to claims 1, 12, and 18 in the previous office action. The claims were amended to overcome the 112(a) rejection by adding the structure “transceiver”. However, “transceiver” or equivalent cannot be found within the specification and therefore is considered new matter. Therefore, the amendments made to claims 1, 12, and 18 do not overcome the 112(a) rejections made in the previous office action.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3-5, 9, 10, 12-18, and 21-23 under U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees that the arguments made in these pages overcome the 102 rejections made in the previous office action. Applicant argues that Kelly (GB 2550656 A) and the claimed invention differ because “Kelly does not disclose controlling vehicle movement based on the force magnitude itself, as now expressly required by the claims. In contrast, the present claims require that the magnitude of the electrical signal varies in proportion to the magnitude of applied force, and that vehicle movement is controlled based on that magnitude. Kelly instead describes discrete control outputs such as torque request signals selected by processor logic that is dependent on device orientation, location, and operating mode.”
However, the examiner disagrees that these arguments made overcome the 102 rejection made in the previous office action. Since the claim set provided by the applicant does not specify that said features are not used, Kelly disclosing these additional features does not remove Kelly as eligible prior art.
Additionally, the amendments made to claims 1, 12, and 18 (“wherein a magnitude of the electrical signal varies in proportion to a magnitude of force applied on the one or more pressure sensors via the enclosing member, and wherein the vehicle movement is controlled based on the magnitude of the electrical signal.”) do not overcome the 102 rejection as Kelly teaches said limitation. ([pg. 16 lines 34-36]; “The pressure sensing material can be 35 used to determine a direction (and optionally also a magnitude) of an applied force which is used to generate the external control signal SIN.) One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that if magnitude of an applied force is being read, that typically the output/control would vary depending on the amount of force used.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10, with respect to the 103 rejections made to claims 2, 6, 8, and 24 have been fully considered. However, since the amendments and arguments to independent claims 1, 12, and 18 do not overcome the 102 rejections, claims 2, 6, 8, and 24 also do not over the 103 rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Supporting structure for "transceiver" or equivalent cannot be found within the specification. Therefore, claims 1, 12, and 18 are rejected for introducing new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 9, 10, 12-18, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being obvious in view of Kelly.
Kelly was cited in the previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 1, Kelly discloses:
An interface ([pg. 10 line 16]; “The external control device 3 comprises a user interface 19 for receiving user inputs.”) comprising:
an enclosing member ([Fig.2]; Depicts an outer casing/enclosure that houses the internals of the device); a sensor unit located inside the enclosing member, the sensor unit comprising one or more pressure sensors that generate an electrical signal responsive to pressure applied on the one or more pressure sensors via the enclosing member; and
([pg. 16 lines 10-12]; “In an alternative arrangement, the external control device 3 can comprise a force sensing means operative to detect a force applied by the user in relation to the vehicle V.” [pg. 16 lines 33-37]; “In a variant, the force sensing means could be in the form of a pressure sensing material, for example comprising an array of pressure sensors. The pressure sensing material can be used to determine a direction (and optionally also a magnitude) of an applied force which is used to generate the external control signal SIN. The magnitude of the applied force could be used as a control input, for example to generate a torque request signal.”
Note: One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the external control signal is an electrical signal sent to another device to initiate a command/process)
an interface communication module communicatively coupled with the sensor unit, wherein the interface communication module comprises a transceiver is configured to ([pg. 11 lines 30-32]; “The external control device 3 comprises a first processor in the form of a first central processing unit (CPU) 41, a first system memory 43, a first transceiver 45, and an orientation sensor 47.”):
communicatively couple with a vehicle communication module when the interface is plugged into a slot provided in an exterior surface of a vehicle ([pg. 1, lines 5-7]; “Thus, the device may be operable to control dynamic operation of the vehicle when the device is mounted to the vehicle, and may be non-operative when not mounted to the vehicle.”
[pg. 5, lines 18-20]; “The mounting means may comprise a mechanical mounting device for mounting the external control device to an exterior of the vehicle. The mechanical mounting device could cooperate 20 with an exterior body structure.”); obtain the electrical signal from the sensor unit ([pg. 12 lines 4-6]; “The first CPU 41 is configured to receive user input signals S1N from the user interface 19. The first CPU 41 generates external control signal SOUT in dependence on the user input signals S1N to control dynamic operation of the vehicle V.”); and transmit the electrical signal to the vehicle communication module to cause a vehicle movement based on the electrical signal. ([pg. 12 lines 4-12]; “The at least one external control signal SOUT can comprise one or more of the following:
(a) a braking request signal for controlling operation of a vehicle brake system;
(b) a steering control signal for controlling a steering angle of the vehicle;
(c) a transmission control signal for controlling selection of a transmission gear;
(d) a torque request signal for controlling a torque request to an internal combustion engine or a traction motor;”)
wherein a magnitude of the electrical signal varies in proportion to a magnitude of force applied on the one or more pressure sensors via the enclosing member ([pg. 16 lines 34-36]; “The pressure sensing material can be 35 used to determine a direction (and optionally also a magnitude) of an applied force which is used to generate the external control signal SIN.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that if magnitude of an applied force is being read, that typically the output/control would vary depending on the amount of force used.), and wherein the vehicle movement is controlled based on the magnitude of the electrical signal. ([pg. 12 lines 4-12]; “The at least one external control signal SOUT can comprise one or more of the following:
(a) a braking request signal for controlling operation of a vehicle brake system;
(b) a steering control signal for controlling a steering angle of the vehicle;
(c) a transmission control signal for controlling selection of a transmission gear;
(d) a torque request signal for controlling a torque request to an internal combustion engine or a traction motor;”)
Regarding claim 3, Kelly discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Additionally, Kelly discloses a mounting base, wherein the one or more pressure sensors are disposed on the mounting base. ([pg. 10 lines 4-5]; “As shown in Figure 2, the external control device 3 comprises first and second suction cups 7, 9 for releasably mounting the external control device 3 to an exterior of the vehicle V.”)
Regarding claim 4, Kelly discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Kelly discloses the sensor unit further comprises a rotary position sensing element disposed between a mounting base and the one or more pressure sensors, wherein the sensor unit receives user inputs associated with a vehicle steering wheel rotation via the enclosing member and the rotary position sensing element. ([pg. 16 lines 33-37 and pg. 17 lines 1-2]; “In a variant, the force sensing means could be in the form of a pressure sensing material, for example comprising an array of pressure sensors. The pressure sensing material can be used to determine a direction (and optionally also a magnitude) of an applied force which is used to generate the external control signal SIN- The magnitude of the applied force could be used as a control input, for example to generate a torque request signal. The pressure sensing material could be incorporated into the handle 21 or into the first and second suction cups 7, 9.”)
Regarding claim 5, Kelly discloses all of the limitations of claim 4. Additionally, Kelly discloses the rotary position sensing element is a spring-loaded rotary position sensing element. ([pg. 10 lines 20-21]; “The handle 21 is spring biased towards respective neutral angular and linear positions.”)
Regarding claim 9, Kelly discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Kelly discloses the interface is removably attached to the vehicle exterior surface via a connector that plugs into the slot provided in the vehicle exterior surface. ([pg. 18 lines 11-14]; “The external control device 3 can be configured for mounting to a dedicated mounting point disposed on an exterior of the vehicle. In use, the external control device 3 can be fixedly mounted to the mounting point. The mounting point can, for example, comprise a mechanical connector for cooperating with the external control device 3.”)
Regarding claim 10, Kelly discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Kelly discloses an actuator for activating the sensor unit.
([pg.11 lines 26-28]; “Alternatively, the user can depress a button (not shown) on the vehicle access device 37 to couple the vehicle access device 37 to the external control device 3.” [pg. 11 lines 22-23]; “In the present embodiment, the external control device 3 is operable only when coupled to the vehicle access device 37.”))
Regarding claim 12, Kelly discloses:
A vehicle comprising ([pg. 9 lines 33-36]; “The external vehicle control system 1 comprises an external control device 3 for communicating wirelessly with an onboard control unit 5 (i.e. a control unit disposed in the vehicle) to control dynamic operation of a vehicle V.”):
a vehicle communication module comprising a transceiver and configured to communicatively couple with an interface communication module of an external interface via one of a wired connection or a wireless network
([pg. 11 lines 30-32]; “The external control device 3 comprises a first processor in the form of a first central processing unit (CPU) 41, a first system memory 43, a first transceiver 45, and an orientation sensor 47.”
[pg. 11, lines 34-35]; “The first CPU 41 connected to the first transceiver 45 for communicating wirelessly with the onboard control unit 5. The first transceiver 45 comprises a first antenna 49.”),
the external interface configured to be removably plugged into a slot provided in a vehicle exterior surface ([pg. 10 lines 4-5]; “As shown in Figure 2, the external control device 3 comprises first and second suction cups 7, 9 for releasably mounting the external control device 3 to an exterior of the vehicle V.”
[pg. 5, lines 18-20]; “The mounting means may comprise a mechanical mounting device for mounting the external control device to an exterior of the vehicle. The mechanical mounting device could cooperate 20 with an exterior body structure.”), the vehicle communication module configured to receive user inputs from the interface communication module via the one of the wired connection or the wireless network
([pg. 12 lines 5-6]; “The first CPU 41 generates external control signal SOUT in dependence on the user input signals S1N to control dynamic operation of the vehicle V.” [pg. 13 lines 1-2]; “The at least one external control signals SOUT are transmitted by the first transceiver 45 to the onboard control unit 5 disposed in the vehicle V.”); and
a processor communicatively coupled with the vehicle communication module ([pg. 13 lines 3-5]; “The onboard control unit 5 comprises a second processor in the form of a second central processing unit (CPU) 51 coupled to a second system memory 53.”), wherein the processor is configured to:
obtain the user inputs from the vehicle communication module responsive to determining that the vehicle communication module is communicatively coupled with the interface communication module
([pg. 12 lines 7-10]; “The second CPU 51 is configured to generate at least one dynamic control signal SDYN in dependence on the at least one external control signal SOUT received from the external control device 3. The dynamic control signal(s) S-DYN is output to the respective vehicle systems to control dynamic operation of the vehicle V.” [pg. 14 lines 26-34]; “The first CPU 41 implements a control strategy to inhibit the output of control signals when the external control device 3 is not mounted to the vehicle V. As part of this control strategy, the first CPU 41 checks the state of the first and second micro-switches 15, 17 to check that the first and second actuating levers 11, 13 have been operated to engage the first and second suction cups 7, 9. Alternatively, or in addition, if the location identifying unit 57 determines that the external control device 3 is not mounted to the vehicle V, the second CPU 51 can inhibit the output of the dynamic control signal(s) SDYN- The second CPU 51 could, for example, be configured to control the output of the dynamic control signal(s) SDYN dependent on one or more range thresholds.”); and cause a vehicle movement based on the user inputs ([pg. 12 lines 7-10]; “The second CPU 51 is configured to generate at least one dynamic control signal SDYN in dependence on the at least one external control signal SOUT received from the external control device 3. The dynamic control signal(s) S-DYN is output to the respective vehicle systems to control dynamic operation of the vehicle V.”).
wherein a magnitude of the electrical signal varies in proportion to a magnitude of force applied on the one or more pressure sensors via the enclosing member ([pg. 16 lines 34-36]; “The pressure sensing material can be 35 used to determine a direction (and optionally also a magnitude) of an applied force which is used to generate the external control signal SIN.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that if magnitude of an applied force is being read, that typically the output/control would vary depending on the amount of force used.), and wherein the vehicle movement is controlled based on the magnitude of the electrical signal. ([pg. 12 lines 4-12]; “The at least one external control signal SOUT can comprise one or more of the following:
(a) a braking request signal for controlling operation of a vehicle brake system;
(b) a steering control signal for controlling a steering angle of the vehicle;
(c) a transmission control signal for controlling selection of a transmission gear;
(d) a torque request signal for controlling a torque request to an internal combustion engine or a traction motor;”)
Regarding claim 13, Kelly discloses all of the limitations of claim 12. Additionally, Kelly discloses the external interface comprises a rod that is pluggable into the slot. ([Fig. 2]; The handle of the device is depicted to be rod shaped.)
Regarding claim 14, Kelly discloses all of the limitations of claim 12. Additionally, Kelly discloses the sensor unit is configured to receive the user inputs. ([pg. 10 line 16]; “The external control device 3 comprises a user interface 19 for receiving user inputs.”)
Regarding claim 15, Kelly discloses all of the limitations of claim 14. Additionally, Kelly discloses the sensor unit comprises one or more pressure sensors. ([pg. 16 lines 2-4]; “In an alternative arrangement, the external control device 3 can comprise a force sensing means operative to detect a force applied by the user in relation to the vehicle V.” [pg. 16 lines 16-19]; “Once mounted to the vehicle V, the user would hold the external control device 3 and indicate the intended direction of motion by slight hand movements. The force sensing means detects a force applied to the external control device 3 and outputs an external control signal.” [pg. 16 lines 33-37]; “In a variant, the force sensing means could be in the form of a pressure sensing material, for example comprising an array of pressure sensors. The pressure sensing material can be used to determine a direction (and optionally also a magnitude) of an applied force which is used to generate the external control signal SIN. The magnitude of the applied force could be used as a control input, for example to generate a torque request signal.”)
Regarding claim 16, Kelly discloses all of the limitations of claim 15. Additionally, Kelly discloses the external interface further comprises a mounting base, and wherein the one or more pressure sensors are disposed on the mounting base. ([pg. 10 lines 4-5]; “As shown in Figure 2, the external control device 3 comprises first and second suction cups 7, 9 for releasably mounting the external control device 3 to an exterior of the vehicle V.”)
Regarding claim 17, Kelly discloses all of the limitations of claim 16. Additionally, Kelly discloses the sensor unit further comprises a rotary position sensing element disposed between the mounting base and the one or more pressure sensors, and wherein the sensor unit receives the user inputs associated with the vehicle steering wheel rotation via the rotary position sensing element. ([pg. 16 lines 33-37 and pg. 17 lines 1-2]; “In a variant, the force sensing means could be in the form of a pressure sensing material, for example comprising an array of pressure sensors. The pressure sensing material can be used to determine a direction (and optionally also a magnitude) of an applied force which is used to generate the external control signal SIN- The magnitude of the applied force could be used as a control input, for example to generate a torque request signal. The pressure sensing material could be incorporated into the handle 21 or into the first and second suction cups 7, 9.”)
Claim 18 recites a method claim having broader limitations of claim 12 above, therefore is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding claim 21, Kelly discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Kelly discloses the electrical signal generated by the sensor unit is an electrical current that is transmitted to the interface communication module via a wired connection. ([Fig. 3] One or ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the user interface and the CPU have a wired connection from the schematic shown in figure 3.
[pg. 12, line 4]; “The first CPU 41 is configured to receive user input signals S1N from the user interface 19.”)
Regarding claim 22, Kelly discloses all of the limitations of claim 15. Additionally, Kelly discloses the one or more pressure sensors generate an electrical current in response to the user inputs, and wherein the electrical current is transmitted to the interface communication module via the wired connection. ([pg. 16 lines 33-37]; “In a variant, the force sensing means could be in the form of a pressure sensing material, for example comprising an array of pressure sensors. The pressure sensing material can be used to determine a direction (and optionally also a magnitude) of an applied force which is used to generate the external control signal SIN. The magnitude of the applied force could be used as a control input, for example to generate a torque request signal.”
Note: One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the external control signal is an electrical signal sent to another device to initiate a command/process)
[Fig. 3] One or ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the user interface and the CPU have a wired connection from the schematic shown in figure 3.
[pg. 12, line 4]; “The first CPU 41 is configured to receive user input signals S1N from the user interface 19.”)
Regarding claim 23, Kelly discloses all of the limitations of claim 18. Additionally, Kelly discloses the user inputs are based on pressure applied upon an enclosing member that encloses the sensor unit. ([Fig. 2 & pg. 15, lines 10-11]; “The user rotates the handle 21 to control the steering angle of the vehicle V”
Note: By rotating the handle which is part of the enclosure the user is able to apply pressure to the pressure sensors embedded within the device to enable operation of the vehicle.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious in view of Kelly as evidenced by Quan (CN 209521596 U).
Quan was cited in the previous office action.
Regarding claim 2, Kelly discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Quan discloses the enclosure member is one of a dome-shaped enclosing member or a hollow cuboid enclosing member. ([0054 & Fig. 1]; "According to one aspect of the present disclosure, a vehicle storage device is provided, referring to Figures 1 and 2, the vehicle storage device includes a shell 100 and a cover 110, the interior of the shell 100 is hollow”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kelly with Quan. This modification would have been obvious as Kelly, Quan cover subject matter within the same field of endeavor (mounting device to a vehicle) and it would have been beneficial to utilize the hollow cuboid enclosure disclosed by Quan to protect the device.
Claim 24 recites a method to operate the system of claim 2 above, therefore is rejected for the same reason.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious in view of Kelly as evidenced by Fallak et al. (US 20040216550 A1; hereafter Fallak).
Kelly and Fallak were cited in the previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 6, Kelly discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Fallak in the same field of endeavor teaches the one or more pressure sensors comprise at least one of a force sensitive resistor, a piezoelectric sensor, an inductive sensor and a capacitive sensor. ([0076]; “FIG. 7 shows a sensor unit 70 of a second embodiment example of an electronic throttle control system in exploded view. The sensor unit 70 surrounds an inductive sensor 72 with a rotor unit 75 and a stator unit 76.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kelly with Fallak. This modification would have been obvious as Kelly and Fallak cover subject matter within the same field of endeavor (control of a vehicle) and the use of inductive sensors for control of motor vehicles is well known in the art.
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious in view of Kelly as evidenced by Mehmood et al. (“Material selection for optimum design of MEMS pressure sensors”; hereafter Mehmood).
Kelly and Mehmood were cited in the previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 8, Kelly in combination with Mehmood discloses and teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Kelly discloses the sensor unit further comprises a (Fig. 2 depicts a housing member for the remote control system, which contains the pressure sensors), and wherein the vehicle executes a longitudinal movement in response to a push or pull pressure applied upon at least a portion of the plurality of rubber or plastic membranes, via the enclosing member. ([pg. 17 lines 16-19]; “By way of example, if the handle 21 is mounted at the front of the vehicle and the handle 21 is pulled away from the vehicle V then the vehicle moves forward. If the handle is pushed towards the vehicle V, then the vehicle V will move backwards.”)
Although Kelly does teach the use of pressure sensors, Kelly does not disclose the materials used within the pressure sensors.
However, Mehmood does teach:
pressure sensors and the plurality of rubber or plastic membranes
([pg. 2758 col. 1 pg. 2 and col. 2 pg. 1]; “Among the ceramics silicon with crystal orientation 110 [i.e. (Si (110)] is top ranked, while from the polymers Poly-Di- Methyl-Siloxane (PDMS) and silicone rubber are the most suitable materials for applications requiring maximum deflection of pressure sensor diaphragm.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kelly with Mehmood. This modification would have been obvious as one of ordinary skill would utilize a rubber membrane for use in the pressure sensor as this type of material is along the best choices compared to other materials as described by Mehmood.
Conclusion
/B.S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/JAMES J LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668