DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/30/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-8 and 11-22 remain pending in the application and claims 9-10 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 11-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recited “wherein determining that the predefined condition is met comprises determining, by the vehicle, a location of a user device associated with a user by triangulating wireless signals received from the user device, and determining that the user device is within a predefined distance from the vehicle” and this limitation can’t be find support in the specification. Claim 17 recited “wherein determining that the predefined condition is met comprises determining, by the vehicle, a location of a user device associated with a user by triangulating wireless signals received from the user device, and determining that the user device is within a predefined distance from the vehicle” and this limitation can’t be find support in the specification. Claim 20 recited “wherein determining that the predefined condition is met comprises determining, by the vehicle, a location of a user device by triangulating wireless signals received from the user device, and determining that the user device is within a predefined distance from the vehicle” and this limitation can’t be find support in the specification. Paragraphs 21, 28, 58, 71 and 84 in the specification show the relevant information like “determine the user may be located within a predefined distance from a vehicle” but they do not disclose “a location of a user device associated with a user by triangulating wireless signals received from the user device” as amended in the independent claims 1, 17 and 20. Claims 2-8, 11-16 and 21-22 are further depend on claim 1 and claims 18-19 are further depend on claim 17 so those claims are also rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7 and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly J. GB 2536709 in view of Park et al. US 20150265807 and further in view of Aitken US 20190094884.
Regarding claim 1, Kelly J. teaches A vehicle comprising: a transceiver configured to receive a request to activate an external interface movement mode associated with the vehicle to enable a vehicle movement control via an external interface, (Kelly J. GB 2536709 abstract; page 4 paragraphs 3-6; page 6 paragraphs 2-3; page 7 paragraphs 5-6 page 8 paragraphs 1-5; page 9 paragraphs 2-4; page 10 paragraph 2; page 11 paragraph 3 page 12 paragraphs 2-5; page 13 paragraphs 1-3 and 5; figures 1-4;)
The external control device 3 and/or the first CPU 41 could be modified such that dynamic operation of the vehicle V can be performed only when the external control device 3 is within a predefined operating range of the vehicle V. This configuration would not require that the external control device 3 is physically mounted to the vehicle V, rather that it is only operational when proximal to the vehicle. The operating range could be defined as within one (1) metre of the vehicle V, for example. The operating range would be defined as a distant which is less than a communication range of the transceivers provided in the external control device 3 and the vehicle V. Further aspects of the present invention are set out in the following numbered paragraphs: 1. An external control device for controlling dynamic operation of a vehicle from outside the vehicle, the external control device comprising: a user interface for receiving user inputs; a processor configured to generate at least one external control signal independence on said user inputs; a transmitter coupled to the processor and configured to transmit the at least one external control signal to a control unit disposed in the vehicle for controlling dynamic operation of the vehicle; and mounting apparatus for releasably mounting the external control device to the vehicle; wherein the processor is configured to generate the at least one external control signal only when the external control device is mounted to the vehicle (Kelly J. page 13 par. 5).
wherein the external interface is configured to be removably attached to a vehicle exterior surface;
The mounting means may comprise at least one suction pad or at least one magnetic
15 coupler (Kelly J. page 4 par. 3). The mounting means may comprise a mechanical mounting device for mounting the external control device to an exterior of the vehicle. The mechanical mounting device could cooperate with an exterior body structure. The mechanical mounting device may cooperate with one or more external panels, such as a panel gap, an edge of a panel, a
window opening (Kelly page 4 par. 4).
and a processor communicatively coupled with the transceiver, wherein the processor is configured to: obtain the request from the transceiver;
A schematic representation of the external control device 3 is shown in Figure 3. The external control device 3 comprises a first processor in the form of a first central processing unit (CPU) 41, a first system memory 43, a first transceiver 45, and an orientation sensor 47. The first CPU 41 is configured to execute a set of software instructions held in the first system memory 43. The first CPU 41 connected to the first transceiver 45 for communicating wirelessly with the onboard control unit 5. The first transceiver 45 comprises a first antenna 49 (Kelly J. page 8 par. 5 continue to page 6 par. 1). The operating range would be defined as a distant which is less than a communication range of the transceivers provided in the external control device 3 and the vehicle V. Further aspects of the present invention are set out in the following numbered paragraphs: 1. An external control device for controlling dynamic operation of a vehicle from outside the vehicle, the external control device comprising: a user interface for receiving user inputs; a processor configured to generate at least one external control signal independence on said user inputs; a transmitter coupled to the processor and configured to transmit the at least one external control signal to a control unit disposed in the vehicle for controlling dynamic operation of the vehicle; and mounting apparatus for releasably mounting the external control device to the vehicle; wherein the processor is configured to generate the at least one external control signal only when the external control device is mounted to the vehicle (Kelly J. page 13 par. 5).
activate the external interface movement mode responsive to determining that the predefined condition is met;
The external control device may comprise a visual display for indicating a dynamic
operating mode of the vehicle (Kelly J. page 4 par. 6). The transmission drive selector 29 is a rotary wheel operable to manually select the Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive modes for an automatic transmission. The Reverse and Drive modes can be selected automatically in dependence on the translational movements of the handle 21, for example selecting Drive when the handle 21 is moved towards the front of the vehicle V and selective Reverse when the handle
21 is moved towards the rear of the vehicle. The output display 31 comprises a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) 33A-D selectively illuminated to indicate the current selected transmission mode (Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive) (Kelly J. page 8 par. 1). The external control device 3 and/or the first CPU 41 could be modified such that dynamic operation of the vehicle V can be performed only when the external control device 3 is within a predefined operating range of the vehicle V. This configuration would not require that the external control device 3 is physically mounted to the vehicle V, rather that it is only operational when proximal to the vehicle. The operating range could be defined as within one (1) metre of the vehicle V, for example. The operating range would be defined as a distant which is less than a communication range of the transceivers provided in the external control device 3 and the vehicle V. Further aspects of the present invention are set out in the following numbered paragraphs: 1. An external control device for controlling dynamic operation of a vehicle from outside the vehicle, the external control device comprising: a user interface for receiving user inputs; a processor configured to generate at least one external control signal independence on said user inputs; a transmitter coupled to the processor and configured to transmit the at least one external control signal to a control unit disposed in the vehicle for controlling dynamic operation of the vehicle; and mounting apparatus for releasably mounting the external control device to the vehicle; wherein the processor is configured to generate the at least one external control signal only when the external control device is mounted to the vehicle (Kelly J. page 13 par. 5).
and output a first notification responsive to activating the external interface movement mode;
The external control device may comprise a visual display for indicating a dynamic
operating mode of the vehicle (Kelly J. page 4 par. 6). The transmission drive selector 29 is a rotary wheel operable to manually select the Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive modes for an automatic transmission. The Reverse and Drive modes can be selected automatically in dependence on the translational movements of the handle 21, for example selecting Drive when the handle 21 is moved towards the front of the vehicle V and selective Reverse when the handle
21 is moved towards the rear of the vehicle. The output display 31 comprises a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) 33A-D selectively illuminated to indicate the current selected transmission mode (Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive) (Kelly J. page 8 par. 1). The external control device 3 can comprise controls for other vehicle features. By way of example, the external control device 3 can implement one or more of the following control functions: raise/lower the vehicle suspension; open/close windows; open/close a tailgate; retract/deploy a towing arm; operate lights; and operate an audible warning from a parking sensor (Kelly J. page 13 par. 3).
receive an indication that a forward push occurred on the external interface; cause the vehicle to traverse forward based on the indication that the forward push occurred on the external interface; receive an indication that a backward push occurred on the external interface; and cause the vehicle to traverse backward based on the indication that the backward push occurred on the external interface.
The external control device 3 comprises a user interface 19 for receiving user inputs. In the present embodiment, the user interface 19 comprises a handle 21, a parking brake button 23, an engine start button 25, a headlight control button 27, a transmission drive selector 29, and an output display 31 (Kelly J. page 7 par. 6). The transmission drive selector 29 is a rotary wheel operable to manually select the Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive modes for an automatic transmission. The Reverse and Drive modes can be selected automatically in dependence on the translational movements of the handle 21, for example selecting Drive when the handle 21 is moved towards the front of the vehicle V and selective Reverse when the handle 21 is moved towards the rear of the vehicle. The output display 31 comprises a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) 33A-D selectively illuminated to indicate the current selected transmission mode (Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive) (Kelly J. page 8 par. 1). For example, the function of the handle 21 can be reconfigured such that the torque request signal is generated in dependence on the angular rotation of the handle 21about the longitudinal axis X (equivalent to a motor cycle throttle). Equally, the steering request signal can be generated in dependence on the translation of the handle 21along the longitudinal axis X. Further, the torque request signal and/or steering request signal can be generated in dependence on the pulling and pushing of the handle 21perpendicular to the longitudinal axis X, and in dependence on the external control device 3. By way of example, if the handle 21 is mounted at the front of the vehicle and the handle 21 is pulled away from the vehicle V then the vehicle moves forward. If the handle is pushed towards the vehicle V, then the vehicle V will move backwards (Kelly J page 12 par. 5).
Kelly J. does not explicitly teach and wherein the external interface has a shape of an elongated rod that acts as a joystick; determine that a predefined condition is met responsive to obtaining the request ;wherein determining that the predefined condition is met comprises determining, by the vehicle, a location of a user device associated with a user by triangulating wireless signals received from the user device, and determining that the user device is within a predefined distance from the vehicle.
Park et al. teach and wherein the external interface has a shape of an elongated rod that acts as a joystick; (Park et al. US 20150265807 paragraphs [0013]-[0014]; [0058]; [0074]-[0077]; [0085]; [0088]-[0095]; figures 6-15;)
The joystick 842 may likewise be configured to tilt forward and backward to command the elongate member to insert or retract, respectively. That is, the joystick 842 is a rocker switch but with added granularity allowing finer motion control. The joystick 842 may be spring loaded so that the joystick 842 returns to its upright/vertical, middle position when no external force is applied. The control input (e.g., tilting for insert/retract and/or the rate of return back to the middle position) may be mapped to the rate of increase or decrease as in velocity control. For example, tilting the joystick 842 fully forwards or backwards may insert/retract the elongate member at a greater velocity than slightly tilting the joystick. The rate at which the joystick 842 returns without external force, however, may be a constant velocity (Park et al. par. 89).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute a joystick controller as taught by Park et al. reference into the external control device from Kelly J. reference and the result would be predictable of controlling a vehicle.
The combination of Kelly J. and Park et al. do not explicitly teach determine that a predefined condition is met responsive to obtaining the request.
Aitken teaches determine that a predefined condition is met responsive to obtaining the request ;wherein determining that the predefined condition is met comprises determining, by the vehicle, a location of a user device associated with a user by triangulating wireless signals received from the user device, and determining that the user device is within a predefined distance from the vehicle. (Aitken US 20190094884 abstract; paragraphs [0005]-[0008]; [0020]-[0022]; [0024]-[0031]; [0035]; [0042]; [0047]-[0049]; [0065]-[0071]; [0074]-[0081]; figures 1-8)
Once the vehicle computing system has identified the specific signal(s) as being emitted from the user device (e.g., based on the identifier), the vehicle computing system can triangulate these signal(s) to help determine the location data associated with the user device. For instance, the vehicle computing system can measure the parameters of the signal(s) (e.g., signal strength, the time to reception, etc.) with respect to the antenna(s) onboard the autonomous vehicle (e.g., via multiple-input, multiple-output technology of the communications system). The vehicle computing system can triangulate the signal(s) emitted from the user device and can determine the location data (e.g., location, heading, distance, etc.) associated with the user device based at least in part on the triangulation results. In some implementations, the vehicle computing system can perform triangulation to determine the location of a user device based at least in part on a plurality of signals emitted from the user device. For example, the vehicle computing system can receive a plurality of signals emitted from a user device as the autonomous vehicle travels along a previously determined route towards the user. The vehicle computing system can determine the location of the user device based on the plurality of signals. In some implementations, the vehicle computing system can leverage one or more remote antennas (e.g., another autonomous vehicle, cell phone tower, etc.) to triangulate the location of the user device. For example, the vehicle computing system can receive a signal from a remote antenna corresponding to a signal received by an antenna of the autonomous vehicle (e.g., over a wireless network), and the location of the user device can be determined based on the signal(s) received by the respective antennae. For example, the vehicle computing system can transpose the refined location of the user device within the vehicle's perception of its surrounding environment (e.g., into the vehicle's coordinate system associated with the surrounding environment) to enhance its understanding of the user's location. In some implementations, the results of the triangulation of the user device signal(s) can be the sole basis for determining the refined location of the user device. In some implementations, the results of the triangulation can be one of a plurality of inputs that are provided into an algorithm or model (e.g., machine learned model, etc.) that determines the refined location of the user device with the vehicle's surroundings (Aitken par. 30). At (604), the method 600 can include obtaining one or more signals from the user device 138. For instance, the vehicle computing system 102 can obtain one or more signals 304 emitted by the user device 138. The one or more signals 304 can be indicative of the identifier 202 associated with the user device 138. For example, the vehicle computing system 102 can be within a threshold distance 306 from the user device 138. The vehicle computing system 102 can scan for and/or receive the one or more signals 304 emitted by the user device 138 when the vehicle 104 is within the threshold distance 306 (Aitken par. 80).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute a known technique of apply the triangulating method for determining a location of the user device as taught by Aitken reference into the modify system of Kelly J. and Park et al. and the result of the substitution would be predictable for determine the location of a user that carry the device.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken disclose the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the transceiver receives the request from a user via a user device or a vehicle Human-Machine Interface (HMI).
A schematic representation of the external control device 3 is shown in Figure 3. The external control device 3 comprises a first processor in the form of a first central processing unit (CPU) 41, a first system memory 43, a first transceiver 45, and an orientation sensor 47. The first CPU 41 is configured to execute a set of software instructions held in the first system memory 43. The first CPU 41 connected to the first transceiver 45 for communicating wirelessly with the onboard control unit 5. The first transceiver 45 comprises a first antenna 49 (Kelly J. page 8 par. 5 continue to page 6 par. 1). The operating range would be defined as a distant which is less than a communication range of the transceivers provided in the external control device 3 and the vehicle V. Further aspects of the present invention are set out in the following numbered paragraphs: 1. An external control device for controlling dynamic operation of a vehicle from outside the vehicle, the external control device comprising: a user interface for receiving user inputs; a processor configured to generate at least one external control signal independence on said user inputs; a transmitter coupled to the processor and configured to transmit the at least one external control signal to a control unit disposed in the vehicle for controlling dynamic operation of the vehicle; and mounting apparatus for releasably mounting the external control device to the vehicle; wherein the processor is configured to generate the at least one external control signal only when the external control device is mounted to the vehicle (Kelly J. page 13 par. 5).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken disclose the vehicle of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to: authenticate the user responsive to obtain the request; and determine that the predefined condition is met when the user is authenticated.
The operating mode 108 of the vehicle 104 can be adjusted in a variety of manners. In some implementations, the operating mode 108 of the vehicle 104 can be selected remotely, off-board the vehicle 104. For example, an entity associated with the vehicle 104 (e.g., a service provider) can utilize the operations computing system 106 to manage the vehicle 104 (and/or an associated fleet). The operations computing system 106 can send one or more control signals to the vehicle 104 instructing the vehicle 104 to enter into, exit from, maintain, etc. an operating mode 108. By way of example, the operations computing system 106 can send one or more control signals to the vehicle 104 instructing the vehicle 104 to enter into the fully autonomous operating mode. In some implementations, the operating mode 108 of the vehicle 104 can be set onboard and/or near the vehicle 104. For example, the vehicle computing system 102 can automatically determine when and where the vehicle 104 is to enter, change, maintain, etc. a particular operating mode 108 (e.g., without user input). Additionally, or alternatively, the operating mode 108 of the vehicle 104 can be manually selected via one or more interfaces located onboard the vehicle 104 (e.g., key switch, button, etc.) and/or associated with a computing device proximate to the vehicle 104 (e.g., a tablet operated by authorized personnel located near the vehicle 104). In some implementations, the operating mode 108 of the vehicle 104 can be adjusted based at least in part on a sequence of interfaces located on the vehicle 104. For example, the operating mode 108 may be adjusted by manipulating a series of interfaces in a particular order to cause the vehicle 104 to enter into a particular operating mode 108 (Aitken par. 42). As the vehicle 104 moves closer to the location 456 of the user device 138/user 110 (e.g., the refined location determined using the identifier 202), the vehicle computing system 102 can cause the vehicle 102 to perform a stopping action proximate to the location 456 of the user device 138/user 110 (e.g., a pull over action within close walking distance of the user). In this way, the vehicle 104 can improve its ability to arrive nearby the user 110 such that the user 110 can board the vehicle 104, retrieve an item from the vehicle 104, place an item in the vehicle 104, and/or perform any other user action to begin the requested vehicle service (Aitken par. 71).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the person with the user device 138 is within the proximity distance with the vehicle as a predefine condition met like disclose in the paragraphs 58 and 84 of the specification.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken disclose the vehicle of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a user location in proximity to the vehicle; and determine that the predefined condition is met when the user location is within a predefined distance from the vehicle.
The external control device may comprise a visual display for indicating a dynamic
operating mode of the vehicle (Kelly J. page 4 par. 6). The transmission drive selector 29 is a rotary wheel operable to manually select the Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive modes for an automatic transmission. The Reverse and Drive modes can be selected automatically in dependence on the translational movements of the handle 21, for example selecting Drive when the handle 21 is moved towards the front of the vehicle V and selective Reverse when the handle
21 is moved towards the rear of the vehicle. The output display 31 comprises a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) 33A-D selectively illuminated to indicate the current selected transmission mode (Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive) (Kelly J. page 8 par. 1). The external control device 3 and/or the first CPU 41 could be modified such that dynamic operation of the vehicle V can be performed only when the external control device 3 is within a predefined operating range of the vehicle V. This configuration would not require that the external control device 3 is physically mounted to the vehicle V, rather that it is only operational when proximal to the vehicle. The operating range could be defined as within one (1) metre of the vehicle V, for example. The operating range would be defined as a distant which is less than a communication range of the transceivers provided in the external control device 3 and the vehicle V. Further aspects of the present invention are set out in the following numbered paragraphs: 1. An external control device for controlling dynamic operation of a vehicle from outside the vehicle, the external control device comprising: a user interface for receiving user inputs; a processor configured to generate at least one external control signal independence on said user inputs; a transmitter coupled to the processor and configured to transmit the at least one external control signal to a control unit disposed in the vehicle for controlling dynamic operation of the vehicle; and mounting apparatus for releasably mounting the external control device to the vehicle; wherein the processor is configured to generate the at least one external control signal only when the external control device is mounted to the vehicle (Kelly J. page 13 par. 5).
According to the cited passages and figures above, examiner interpreted a user could be within 1 meter proximity to the vehicle to perform remotely control.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken disclose the vehicle of claim 1 further, comprising one or more vehicle exterior lights and one or more vehicle speakers.
The external control device 3 can comprise controls for other vehicle features. By way of example, the external control device 3 can implement one or more of the following control functions: raise/lower the vehicle suspension; open/close windows; open/close a tailgate; retract/deploy a towing arm; operate lights; and operate an audible warning from a parking sensor (Kelly J. page 13 par. 3).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpreted at least one speaker for operate an audible warning.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken disclose the vehicle of claim 5, wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain command signals from the external interface responsive to activating the external interface movement mode, wherein the command signals are associated with user inputs received on the external interface;
The external control device may comprise a visual display for indicating a dynamic
operating mode of the vehicle (Kelly J. page 4 par. 6). The transmission drive selector 29 is a rotary wheel operable to manually select the Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive modes for an automatic transmission. The Reverse and Drive modes can be selected automatically in dependence on the translational movements of the handle 21, for example selecting Drive when the handle 21 is moved towards the front of the vehicle V and selective Reverse when the handle
21 is moved towards the rear of the vehicle. The output display 31 comprises a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) 33A-D selectively illuminated to indicate the current selected transmission mode (Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive) (Kelly J. page 8 par. 1).
and control a vehicle movement direction, a vehicle speed and a vehicle steering wheel rotation angle based on the command signals.
The external control device 3 can then be used to control dynamic operation of the
vehicle V via the user interface 19. The user rotates the handle 21 to control the
steering angle of the vehicle V; and displaces the handle 21 to select Drive/Reverse
and speed of travel of the vehicle V (Kelly J. page 11 par. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Kelly J. teaches A notification method comprising: obtaining, by a processor, a request to activate an external interface movement mode associated with a vehicle to enable a vehicle movement control via an external interface, (Kelly J. GB 2536709 abstract; page 4 paragraphs 3-6; page 6 paragraphs 2-3; page 7 paragraphs 5-6 page 8 paragraphs 1-5; page 9 paragraphs 2-4; page 10 paragraph 2; page 11 paragraph 3 page 12 paragraphs 2-5; page 13 paragraphs 1-3 and 5; figures 1-4;)
The external control device 3 and/or the first CPU 41 could be modified such that dynamic operation of the vehicle V can be performed only when the external control device 3 is within a predefined operating range of the vehicle V. This configuration would not require that the external control device 3 is physically mounted to the vehicle V, rather that it is only operational when proximal to the vehicle. The operating range could be defined as within one (1) metre of the vehicle V, for example. The operating range would be defined as a distant which is less than a communication range of the transceivers provided in the external control device 3 and the vehicle V. Further aspects of the present invention are set out in the following numbered paragraphs: 1. An external control device for controlling dynamic operation of a vehicle from outside the vehicle, the external control device comprising: a user interface for receiving user inputs; a processor configured to generate at least one external control signal independence on said user inputs; a transmitter coupled to the processor and configured to transmit the at least one external control signal to a control unit disposed in the vehicle for controlling dynamic operation of the vehicle; and mounting apparatus for releasably mounting the external control device to the vehicle; wherein the processor is configured to generate the at least one external control signal only when the external control device is mounted to the vehicle (Kelly J. page 13 par. 5).
wherein the external interface is configured to be removably attached to a vehicle exterior surface;
The mounting means may comprise at least one suction pad or at least one magnetic
15 coupler (Kelly J. page 4 par. 3). The mounting means may comprise a mechanical mounting device for mounting the external control device to an exterior of the vehicle. The mechanical mounting device could cooperate with an exterior body structure. The mechanical mounting device may cooperate with one or more external panels, such as a panel gap, an edge of a panel, a
window opening (Kelly page 4 par. 4).
activating, by the processor, the external interface movement mode responsive to determining that the predefined condition is met;
The external control device may comprise a visual display for indicating a dynamic
operating mode of the vehicle (Kelly J. page 4 par. 6). The transmission drive selector 29 is a rotary wheel operable to manually select the Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive modes for an automatic transmission. The Reverse and Drive modes can be selected automatically in dependence on the translational movements of the handle 21, for example selecting Drive when the handle 21 is moved towards the front of the vehicle V and selective Reverse when the handle
21 is moved towards the rear of the vehicle. The output display 31 comprises a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) 33A-D selectively illuminated to indicate the current selected transmission mode (Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive) (Kelly J. page 8 par. 1). The external control device 3 and/or the first CPU 41 could be modified such that dynamic operation of the vehicle V can be performed only when the external control device 3 is within a predefined operating range of the vehicle V. This configuration would not require that the external control device 3 is physically mounted to the vehicle V, rather that it is only operational when proximal to the vehicle. The operating range could be defined as within one (1) metre of the vehicle V, for example. The operating range would be defined as a distant which is less than a communication range of the transceivers provided in the external control device 3 and the vehicle V. Further aspects of the present invention are set out in the following numbered paragraphs: 1. An external control device for controlling dynamic operation of a vehicle from outside the vehicle, the external control device comprising: a user interface for receiving user inputs; a processor configured to generate at least one external control signal independence on said user inputs; a transmitter coupled to the processor and configured to transmit the at least one external control signal to a control unit disposed in the vehicle for controlling dynamic operation of the vehicle; and mounting apparatus for releasably mounting the external control device to the vehicle; wherein the processor is configured to generate the at least one external control signal only when the external control device is mounted to the vehicle (Kelly J. page 13 par. 5).
and outputting, by the processor, a notification responsive to activating the external interface movement mode;
The external control device may comprise a visual display for indicating a dynamic
operating mode of the vehicle (Kelly J. page 4 par. 6). The transmission drive selector 29 is a rotary wheel operable to manually select the Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive modes for an automatic transmission. The Reverse and Drive modes can be selected automatically in dependence on the translational movements of the handle 21, for example selecting Drive when the handle 21 is moved towards the front of the vehicle V and selective Reverse when the handle 21 is moved towards the rear of the vehicle. The output display 31 comprises a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) 33A-D selectively illuminated to indicate the current selected transmission mode (Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive) (Kelly J. page 8 par. 1). The external control device 3 can comprise controls for other vehicle features. By way of example, the external control device 3 can implement one or more of the following control functions: raise/lower the vehicle suspension; open/close windows; open/close a tailgate; retract/deploy a towing arm; operate lights; and operate an audible warning from a parking sensor (Kelly J. page 13 par. 3).
receiving, by the processor, an indication that a forward push occurred on the external interface; causing the vehicle to traverse forward based on the indication that the forward push occurred on the external interface; receiving, by the processor, an indication that a backward push occurred on the external interface; and causing the vehicle to traverse backward based on the indication that the backward push occurred on the external interface.
The external control device 3 comprises a user interface 19 for receiving user inputs. In the present embodiment, the user interface 19 comprises a handle 21, a parking brake button 23, an engine start button 25, a headlight control button 27, a transmission drive selector 29, and an output display 31 (Kelly J. page 7 par. 6). The transmission drive selector 29 is a rotary wheel operable to manually select the Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive modes for an automatic transmission. The Reverse and Drive modes can be selected automatically in dependence on the translational movements of the handle 21, for example selecting Drive when the handle 21 is moved towards the front of the vehicle V and selective Reverse when the handle 21 is moved towards the rear of the vehicle. The output display 31 comprises a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) 33A-D selectively illuminated to indicate the current selected transmission mode (Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive) (Kelly J. page 8 par. 1). For example, the function of the handle 21 can be reconfigured such that the torque request signal is generated in dependence on the angular rotation of the handle 21about the longitudinal axis X (equivalent to a motor cycle throttle). Equally, the steering request signal can be generated in dependence on the translation of the handle 21along the longitudinal axis X. Further, the torque request signal and/or steering request signal can be generated in dependence on the pulling and pushing of the handle 21perpendicular to the longitudinal axis X, and in dependence on the external control device 3. By way of example, if the handle 21 is mounted at the front of the vehicle and the handle 21 is pulled away from the vehicle V then the vehicle moves forward. If the handle is pushed towards the vehicle V, then the vehicle V will move backwards (Kelly J page 12 par. 5).
Kelly J. do not explicitly teach and wherein the external interface has a shape of an elongated rod that acts as a joystick; determining, by the processor, that a predefined condition is met responsive to obtaining the request; wherein determining that the predefined condition is met comprises determining, by the vehicle, a location of a user device associated with a user by triangulating wireless signals received from the user device, and determining that the user device is within a predefined distance from the vehicle.
Park et al. teach and wherein the external interface has a shape of an elongated rod that acts as a joystick; (Park et al. US 20150265807 paragraphs [0013]-[0014]; [0058]; [0074]-[0077]; [0085]; [0088]-[0095]; figures 6-15;)
The joystick 842 may likewise be configured to tilt forward and backward to command the elongate member to insert or retract, respectively. That is, the joystick 842 is a rocker switch but with added granularity allowing finer motion control. The joystick 842 may be spring loaded so that the joystick 842 returns to its upright/vertical, middle position when no external force is applied. The control input (e.g., tilting for insert/retract and/or the rate of return back to the middle position) may be mapped to the rate of increase or decrease as in velocity control. For example, tilting the joystick 842 fully forwards or backwards may insert/retract the elongate member at a greater velocity than slightly tilting the joystick. The rate at which the joystick 842 returns without external force, however, may be a constant velocity (Park et al. par. 89).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute a joystick controller as taught by Park et al. reference into the external control device from Kelly J. reference and the result would be predictable of controlling a vehicle.
The combination of Kelly J. and Park et al. do not explicitly teach determining, by the processor, that a predefined condition is met responsive to obtaining the request; wherein determining that the predefined condition is met comprises determining, by the vehicle, a location of a user device associated with a user by triangulating wireless signals received from the user device, and determining that the user device is within a predefined distance from the vehicle.
Aitken teaches determining, by the processor, that a predefined condition is met responsive to obtaining the request; wherein determining that the predefined condition is met comprises determining, by the vehicle, a location of a user device associated with a user by triangulating wireless signals received from the user device, and determining that the user device is within a predefined distance from the vehicle. (Aitken US 20190094884 abstract; paragraphs [0005]-[0008]; [0020]-[0022]; [0024]-[0031]; [0035]; [0042]; [0047]-[0049]; [0065]-[0071]; [0074]-[0081]; figures 1-8)
Once the vehicle computing system has identified the specific signal(s) as being emitted from the user device (e.g., based on the identifier), the vehicle computing system can triangulate these signal(s) to help determine the location data associated with the user device. For instance, the vehicle computing system can measure the parameters of the signal(s) (e.g., signal strength, the time to reception, etc.) with respect to the antenna(s) onboard the autonomous vehicle (e.g., via multiple-input, multiple-output technology of the communications system). The vehicle computing system can triangulate the signal(s) emitted from the user device and can determine the location data (e.g., location, heading, distance, etc.) associated with the user device based at least in part on the triangulation results. In some implementations, the vehicle computing system can perform triangulation to determine the location of a user device based at least in part on a plurality of signals emitted from the user device. For example, the vehicle computing system can receive a plurality of signals emitted from a user device as the autonomous vehicle travels along a previously determined route towards the user. The vehicle computing system can determine the location of the user device based on the plurality of signals. In some implementations, the vehicle computing system can leverage one or more remote antennas (e.g., another autonomous vehicle, cell phone tower, etc.) to triangulate the location of the user device. For example, the vehicle computing system can receive a signal from a remote antenna corresponding to a signal received by an antenna of the autonomous vehicle (e.g., over a wireless network), and the location of the user device can be determined based on the signal(s) received by the respective antennae. For example, the vehicle computing system can transpose the refined location of the user device within the vehicle's perception of its surrounding environment (e.g., into the vehicle's coordinate system associated with the surrounding environment) to enhance its understanding of the user's location. In some implementations, the results of the triangulation of the user device signal(s) can be the sole basis for determining the refined location of the user device. In some implementations, the results of the triangulation can be one of a plurality of inputs that are provided into an algorithm or model (e.g., machine learned model, etc.) that determines the refined location of the user device with the vehicle's surroundings (Aitken par. 30). At (604), the method 600 can include obtaining one or more signals from the user device 138. For instance, the vehicle computing system 102 can obtain one or more signals 304 emitted by the user device 138. The one or more signals 304 can be indicative of the identifier 202 associated with the user device 138. For example, the vehicle computing system 102 can be within a threshold distance 306 from the user device 138. The vehicle computing system 102 can scan for and/or receive the one or more signals 304 emitted by the user device 138 when the vehicle 104 is within the threshold distance 306 (Aitken par. 80).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute a known technique of apply the triangulating method for determining a location of the user device as taught by Aitken reference into the modify method of Kelly J. and Park et al. and the result of the substitution would be predictable for determine the location of a user that carry the device..
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken disclose the method of claim 17, wherein obtaining the request comprises obtaining the request from a user via a user device or a vehicle Human-Machine Interface (HMI).
A schematic representation of the external control device 3 is shown in Figure 3. The external control device 3 comprises a first processor in the form of a first central processing unit (CPU) 41, a first system memory 43, a first transceiver 45, and an orientation sensor 47. The first CPU 41 is configured to execute a set of software instructions held in the first system memory 43. The first CPU 41 connected to the first transceiver 45 for communicating wirelessly with the onboard control unit 5. The first transceiver 45 comprises a first antenna 49 (Kelly J. page 8 par. 5 continue to page 6 par. 1). The operating range would be defined as a distant which is less than a communication range of the transceivers provided in the external control device 3 and the vehicle V. Further aspects of the present invention are set out in the following numbered paragraphs: 1. An external control device for controlling dynamic operation of a vehicle from outside the vehicle, the external control device comprising: a user interface for receiving user inputs; a processor configured to generate at least one external control signal independence on said user inputs; a transmitter coupled to the processor and configured to transmit the at least one external control signal to a control unit disposed in the vehicle for controlling dynamic operation of the vehicle; and mounting apparatus for releasably mounting the external control device to the vehicle; wherein the processor is configured to generate the at least one external control signal only when the external control device is mounted to the vehicle (Kelly J. page 13 par. 5).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken disclose the method of claim 18 further comprising: determining a user location in proximity to the vehicle; and determining that the predefined condition is met when the user location is within a predefined distance from the vehicle.
The external control device may comprise a visual display for indicating a dynamic
operating mode of the vehicle (Kelly J. page 4 par. 6). The transmission drive selector 29 is a rotary wheel operable to manually select the Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive modes for an automatic transmission. The Reverse and Drive modes can be selected automatically in dependence on the translational movements of the handle 21, for example selecting Drive when the handle 21 is moved towards the front of the vehicle V and selective Reverse when the handle
21 is moved towards the rear of the vehicle. The output display 31 comprises a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) 33A-D selectively illuminated to indicate the current selected transmission mode (Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive) (Kelly J. page 8 par. 1). The external control device 3 and/or the first CPU 41 could be modified such that dynamic operation of the vehicle V can be performed only when the external control device 3 is within a predefined operating range of the vehicle V. This configuration would not require that the external control device 3 is physically mounted to the vehicle V, rather that it is only operational when proximal to the vehicle. The operating range could be defined as within one (1) metre of the vehicle V, for example. The operating range would be defined as a distant which is less than a communication range of the transceivers provided in the external control device 3 and the vehicle V. Further aspects of the present invention are set out in the following numbered paragraphs: 1. An external control device for controlling dynamic operation of a vehicle from outside the vehicle, the external control device comprising: a user interface for receiving user inputs; a processor configured to generate at least one external control signal independence on said user inputs; a transmitter coupled to the processor and configured to transmit the at least one external control signal to a control unit disposed in the vehicle for controlling dynamic operation of the vehicle; and mounting apparatus for releasably mounting the external control device to the vehicle; wherein the processor is configured to generate the at least one external control signal only when the external control device is mounted to the vehicle (Kelly J. page 13 par. 5).
According to the cited passages and figures above, examiner interpreted a user could be within 1 meter proximity to the vehicle to perform remotely control.
Regarding claim 20, Kelly J. teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereupon which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to: obtain a request to activate an external interface movement mode associated with a vehicle to enable a vehicle movement control via an external interface, (Kelly J. GB 2536709 abstract; page 4 paragraphs 3-6; page 6 paragraphs 2-3; page 7 paragraphs 5-6 page 8 paragraphs 1-5; page 9 paragraphs 2-4; page 10 paragraph 2; page 11 paragraph 3 page 12 paragraphs 2-5; page 13 paragraphs 1-3 and 5; figures 1-4;)
The external control device 3 and/or the first CPU 41 could be modified such that dynamic operation of the vehicle V can be performed only when the external control device 3 is within a predefined operating range of the vehicle V. This configuration would not require that the external control device 3 is physically mounted to the vehicle V, rather that it is only operational when proximal to the vehicle. The operating range could be defined as within one (1) metre of the vehicle V, for example. The operating range would be defined as a distant which is less than a communication range of the transceivers provided in the external control device 3 and the vehicle V. Further aspects of the present invention are set out in the following numbered paragraphs: 1. An external control device for controlling dynamic operation of a vehicle from outside the vehicle, the external control device comprising: a user interface for receiving user inputs; a processor configured to generate at least one external control signal independence on said user inputs; a transmitter coupled to the processor and configured to transmit the at least one external control signal to a control unit disposed in the vehicle for controlling dynamic operation of the vehicle; and mounting apparatus for releasably mounting the external control device to the vehicle; wherein the processor is configured to generate the at least one external control signal only when the external control device is mounted to the vehicle (Kelly J. page 13 par. 5).
wherein the external interface is configured to be removably attached to a vehicle exterior surface;
The mounting means may comprise at least one suction pad or at least one magnetic
15 coupler (Kelly J. page 4 par. 3). The mounting means may comprise a mechanical mounting device for mounting the external control device to an exterior of the vehicle. The mechanical mounting device could cooperate with an exterior body structure. The mechanical mounting device may cooperate with one or more external panels, such as a panel gap, an edge of a panel, a
window opening (Kelly page 4 par. 4).
activate the external interface movement mode responsive to determining that the predefined condition is met;
The external control device may comprise a visual display for indicating a dynamic
operating mode of the vehicle (Kelly J. page 4 par. 6). The transmission drive selector 29 is a rotary wheel operable to manually select the Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive modes for an automatic transmission. The Reverse and Drive modes can be selected automatically in dependence on the translational movements of the handle 21, for example selecting Drive when the handle 21 is moved towards the front of the vehicle V and selective Reverse when the handle
21 is moved towards the rear of the vehicle. The output display 31 comprises a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) 33A-D selectively illuminated to indicate the current selected transmission mode (Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive) (Kelly J. page 8 par. 1). The external control device 3 and/or the first CPU 41 could be modified such that dynamic operation of the vehicle V can be performed only when the external control device 3 is within a predefined operating range of the vehicle V. This configuration would not require that the external control device 3 is physically mounted to the vehicle V, rather that it is only operational when proximal to the vehicle. The operating range could be defined as within one (1) metre of the vehicle V, for example. The operating range would be defined as a distant which is less than a communication range of the transceivers provided in the external control device 3 and the vehicle V. Further aspects of the present invention are set out in the following numbered paragraphs: 1. An external control device for controlling dynamic operation of a vehicle from outside the vehicle, the external control device comprising: a user interface for receiving user inputs; a processor configured to generate at least one external control signal independence on said user inputs; a transmitter coupled to the processor and configured to transmit the at least one external control signal to a control unit disposed in the vehicle for controlling dynamic operation of the vehicle; and mounting apparatus for releasably mounting the external control device to the vehicle; wherein the processor is configured to generate the at least one external control signal only when the external control device is mounted to the vehicle (Kelly J. page 13 par. 5).
and output a notification responsive to activating the external interface movement mode.
The external control device may comprise a visual display for indicating a dynamic
operating mode of the vehicle (Kelly J. page 4 par. 6). The transmission drive selector 29 is a rotary wheel operable to manually select the Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive modes for an automatic transmission. The Reverse and Drive modes can be selected automatically in dependence on the translational movements of the handle 21, for example selecting Drive when the handle 21 is moved towards the front of the vehicle V and selective Reverse when the handle
21 is moved towards the rear of the vehicle. The output display 31 comprises a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) 33A-D selectively illuminated to indicate the current selected transmission mode (Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive) (Kelly J. page 8 par. 1).
receive an indication that a forward push occurred on the external interface; cause the vehicle to traverse forward based on the indication that the forward push occurred on the external interface; receive an indication that a backward push occurred on the external interface; and cause the vehicle to traverse backward based on the indication that the backward push occurred on the external interface.
The external control device 3 comprises a user interface 19 for receiving user inputs. In the present embodiment, the user interface 19 comprises a handle 21, a parking brake button 23, an engine start button 25, a headlight control button 27, a transmission drive selector 29, and an output display 31 (Kelly J. page 7 par. 6). The transmission drive selector 29 is a rotary wheel operable to manually select the Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive modes for an automatic transmission. The Reverse and Drive modes can be selected automatically in dependence on the translational movements of the handle 21, for example selecting Drive when the handle 21 is moved towards the front of the vehicle V and selective Reverse when the handle 21 is moved towards the rear of the vehicle. The output display 31 comprises a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) 33A-D selectively illuminated to indicate the current selected transmission mode (Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive) (Kelly J. page 8 par. 1). For example, the function of the handle 21 can be reconfigured such that the torque request signal is generated in dependence on the angular rotation of the handle 21about the longitudinal axis X (equivalent to a motor cycle throttle). Equally, the steering request signal can be generated in dependence on the translation of the handle 21along the longitudinal axis X. Further, the torque request signal and/or steering request signal can be generated in dependence on the pulling and pushing of the handle 21perpendicular to the longitudinal axis X, and in dependence on the external control device 3. By way of example, if the handle 21 is mounted at the front of the vehicle and the handle 21 is pulled away from the vehicle V then the vehicle moves forward. If the handle is pushed towards the vehicle V, then the vehicle V will move backwards (Kelly J page 12 par. 5).
Kelly J. does not explicitly teach and wherein the external interface has a shape of an elongated rod that acts as a joystick; determine that a predefined condition is met responsive to obtaining the request; wherein determining that the predefined condition is met comprises determining, by the vehicle, a location of a user device by triangulating wireless signals received from the user device, and determining that the user device is within a predefined distance from the vehicle.
Park et al. teach and wherein the external interface has a shape of an elongated rod that acts as a joystick; (Park et al. US 20150265807 paragraphs [0013]-[0014]; [0058]; [0074]-[0077]; [0085]; [0088]-[0095]; figures 6-15;)
The joystick 842 may likewise be configured to tilt forward and backward to command the elongate member to insert or retract, respectively. That is, the joystick 842 is a rocker switch but with added granularity allowing finer motion control. The joystick 842 may be spring loaded so that the joystick 842 returns to its upright/vertical, middle position when no external force is applied. The control input (e.g., tilting for insert/retract and/or the rate of return back to the middle position) may be mapped to the rate of increase or decrease as in velocity control. For example, tilting the joystick 842 fully forwards or backwards may insert/retract the elongate member at a greater velocity than slightly tilting the joystick. The rate at which the joystick 842 returns without external force, however, may be a constant velocity (Park et al. par. 89).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute a joystick controller as taught by Park et al. reference into the external control device from Kelly J. reference and the result would be predictable of controlling a vehicle.
The combination of Kelly J. and Park et al. do not explicitly teach determine that a predefined condition is met responsive to obtaining the request; wherein determining that the predefined condition is met comprises determining, by the vehicle, a location of a user device by triangulating wireless signals received from the user device, and determining that the user device is within a predefined distance from the vehicle.
Aitken teaches determine that a predefined condition is met responsive to obtaining the request; wherein determining that the predefined condition is met comprises determining, by the vehicle, a location of a user device by triangulating wireless signals received from the user device, and determining that the user device is within a predefined distance from the vehicle. (Aitken US 20190094884 abstract; paragraphs [0005]-[0008]; [0020]-[0022]; [0024]-[0031]; [0035]; [0042]; [0047]-[0049]; [0065]-[0071]; [0074]-[0081]; figures 1-8)
Once the vehicle computing system has identified the specific signal(s) as being emitted from the user device (e.g., based on the identifier), the vehicle computing system can triangulate these signal(s) to help determine the location data associated with the user device. For instance, the vehicle computing system can measure the parameters of the signal(s) (e.g., signal strength, the time to reception, etc.) with respect to the antenna(s) onboard the autonomous vehicle (e.g., via multiple-input, multiple-output technology of the communications system). The vehicle computing system can triangulate the signal(s) emitted from the user device and can determine the location data (e.g., location, heading, distance, etc.) associated with the user device based at least in part on the triangulation results. In some implementations, the vehicle computing system can perform triangulation to determine the location of a user device based at least in part on a plurality of signals emitted from the user device. For example, the vehicle computing system can receive a plurality of signals emitted from a user device as the autonomous vehicle travels along a previously determined route towards the user. The vehicle computing system can determine the location of the user device based on the plurality of signals. In some implementations, the vehicle computing system can leverage one or more remote antennas (e.g., another autonomous vehicle, cell phone tower, etc.) to triangulate the location of the user device. For example, the vehicle computing system can receive a signal from a remote antenna corresponding to a signal received by an antenna of the autonomous vehicle (e.g., over a wireless network), and the location of the user device can be determined based on the signal(s) received by the respective antennae. For example, the vehicle computing system can transpose the refined location of the user device within the vehicle's perception of its surrounding environment (e.g., into the vehicle's coordinate system associated with the surrounding environment) to enhance its understanding of the user's location. In some implementations, the results of the triangulation of the user device signal(s) can be the sole basis for determining the refined location of the user device. In some implementations, the results of the triangulation can be one of a plurality of inputs that are provided into an algorithm or model (e.g., machine learned model, etc.) that determines the refined location of the user device with the vehicle's surroundings (Aitken par. 30). At (604), the method 600 can include obtaining one or more signals from the user device 138. For instance, the vehicle computing system 102 can obtain one or more signals 304 emitted by the user device 138. The one or more signals 304 can be indicative of the identifier 202 associated with the user device 138. For example, the vehicle computing system 102 can be within a threshold distance 306 from the user device 138. The vehicle computing system 102 can scan for and/or receive the one or more signals 304 emitted by the user device 138 when the vehicle 104 is within the threshold distance 306 (Aitken par. 80).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute a known technique of apply the triangulating method for determining a location of the user device as taught by Aitken reference into the modify system of Kelly J. and Park et al. and the result of the substitution would be predictable for determine the location of a user that carry the device.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken disclose The vehicle of claim 1, wherein the forward push and backward push are detected by a pressure sensor of the external interface.
In a variant, the force sensing means could be in the form of a pressure sensing material, for example comprising an array of pressure sensors. The pressure sensing material can be used to determine a direction (and optionally also a magnitude) of an applied force which is used to generate the external control signal SIN. The magnitude of the applied force could be used as a control input, for example to generate a torque request signal. The pressure sensing material could be incorporated into the handle 21or into the first and second suction cups 7, 9. Alternatively, or in addition, the pressure sensing material can be used as a user detecting means to determine when the user is contacting the handle 21, for example when they are gripping or holding the handle 21 (Kelly J page 12 par. 3). For example, the function of the handle 21 can be reconfigured such that the torque request signal is generated in dependence on the angular rotation of the handle 21about the longitudinal axis X (equivalent to a motor cycle throttle). Equally, the steering request signal can be generated in dependence on the translation of the handle 21along the longitudinal axis X. Further, the torque request signal and/or steering request signal can be generated in dependence on the pulling and pushing of the handle 21perpendicular to the longitudinal axis X, and in dependence on the external control device 3. By way of example, if the handle 21 is mounted at the front of the vehicle and the handle 21 is pulled away from the vehicle V then the vehicle moves forward. If the handle is pushed towards the vehicle V, then the vehicle V will move backwards (Kelly J page 12 par. 5).
and wherein the external interface is a dome shape.
A virtual ring 926 may be a projection of the catheter tip onto the dome 920 surface and the bead/arrow 928 indicates which direction the ring would move if the controller were engaged. Accordingly, the virtual indicator 906 is always on the dome 920 surface. Pressing the articulation button as described above would move the catheter 908 tip in the direction towards the bead/arrow 928 along the dome 920 surface (Park et al. par. 93).
According to the cited passages and figures, it is obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitution a dome shape as taught in Part et al. reference into enclosure shape of the external control device from Kelly J. reference.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken disclose The vehicle of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive an indication that a clockwise or counterclockwise rotation of the external interface occurred,
The external control device 3 comprises a user interface 19 for receiving user inputs. In the present embodiment, the user interface 19 comprises a handle 21, a parking brake button 23, an engine start button 25, a headlight control button 27, a transmission drive selector 29, and an output display 31 (Kelly J. page 7 par. 6). The transmission drive selector 29 is a rotary wheel operable to manually select the Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive modes for an automatic transmission. The Reverse and Drive modes can be selected automatically in dependence on the translational movements of the handle 21, for example selecting Drive when the handle 21 is moved towards the front of the vehicle V and selective Reverse when the handle 21 is moved towards the rear of the vehicle. The output display 31 comprises a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) 33A-D selectively illuminated to indicate the current selected transmission mode (Reverse, Neutral, Park and Drive) (Kelly J. page 8 par. 1). For example, the function of the handle 21 can be reconfigured such that the torque request signal is generated in dependence on the angular rotation of the handle 21about the longitudinal axis X (equivalent to a motor cycle throttle). Equally, the steering request signal can be generated in dependence on the translation of the handle 21along the longitudinal axis X. Further, the torque request signal and/or steering request signal can be generated in dependence on the pulling and pushing of the handle 21perpendicular to the longitudinal axis X, and in dependence on the external control device 3. By way of example, if the handle 21 is mounted at the front of the vehicle and the handle 21 is pulled away from the vehicle V then the vehicle moves forward. If the handle is pushed towards the vehicle V, then the vehicle V will move backwards (Kelly J page 12 par. 5).
wherein the rotation is detected using a spring-loaded rotary position sensing element of the external interface; and cause a steering wheel of the vehicle to turn based on the indication that the clockwise or counterclockwise rotation of the external interface occurred.
The handle 21 is rotatable about a longitudinal axis X and can also undergo translation along the longitudinal axis X. The handle 21 is spring biased towards respective neutral angular and linear positions. As described herein, rotating the handle 21 in a first direction causes the vehicle V to steer in a first direction; and rotating the handle 21 in a second direction causes the vehicle V to steer in a second direction. The first and second directions correspond to steering the vehicle V to the left or to the right (Kelly J page 8 par. 1).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the vehicle turning to the right as a clockwise and the vehicle turning to the left as a counterclockwise.
Claims 6, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly J. GB 2536709, in view of Park et al. US 20150265807, in view of Aitken US 20190094884 and further in view of Johnson et al. US 20180222381.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken teach all the limitation in the claim 1.
The combination of Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken do not explicitly teach The vehicle of claim 5, wherein the processor outputs the first notification by illuminating the one or more vehicle exterior lights in a first predefined pattern.
Johnson et al. teach the vehicle of claim 5, wherein the processor outputs the first notification by illuminating the one or more vehicle exterior lights in a first predefined pattern. (Johnson et al. US 20180222381 abstract; paragraphs [0004]-[0006]; [0026]; [0042]-[0049]; [0064]-[0075]; figures 1-9;)
According to various embodiments, a light assembly is provided herein. The light assembly includes a pair of light assemblies disposed on opposing sides of a rear portion of a vehicle. Each light assembly includes a housing and a lens. A light source is disposed in the housing and is configured to create a first predefined illumination pattern. A controller is configured to selectively activate the first illumination pattern from one of the pair of housings corresponding to a direction of a vehicle steering wheel rotation. The light assembly may be configured as a vehicle light assembly. Embodiments of the light assembly can include any one and/or a combination of the following features: (Johnson et al. par. 66); the first illumination pattern is configured to emit an excitation light laterally outward of a vehicle turn signal indicator lamp (Johnson et al. par. 70).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to combine Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken with Johnson et al. by comprising the teaching of Johnson et al. into the system of Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken. The motivation to combine these arts to provide variety of light pattern corresponding to the movement of the vehicle from Johnson et al. reference into Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken reference so the system can provide the attracting attention to promote the safe and efficient movement of vehicles and responders.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kelly J., Park et al., Aitken and Johnson et al. disclose The vehicle of claim 7, wherein the processor is further configured to at least one of: output a second notification by illuminating the one or more vehicle exterior lights in a second predefined pattern, wherein the second notification is indicative of the vehicle speed,
the pair of light assemblies emit a first intensity of light when the vehicle is moving below a predefined speed and a second lower intensity when the vehicle exceeds the predefined speed (Johnson et al. par. 68).
Examiner interpreted the light intensity pattern associate with the vehicle speed as the second notification associated with the light pattern.
output a third notification by illuminating the one or more vehicle exterior lights in a third predefined pattern, wherein the third notification is indicative of the vehicle steering wheel rotation angle,
According to various embodiments, a light assembly is provided herein. The light assembly includes a pair of light assemblies disposed on opposing sides of a rear portion of a vehicle. Each light assembly includes a housing and a lens. A light source is disposed in the housing and is configured to create a first predefined illumination pattern. A controller is configured to selectively activate the first illumination pattern from one of the pair of housings corresponding to a direction of a vehicle steering wheel rotation (Johnson et al. par. 66).
According to the cited passage above, examiner interpreted the first illumination pattern from one of the pair of housing corresponding to a direction of a vehicle steering wheel rotation as the third notification illuminate by the light.
or output a fourth notification by illuminating the one or more vehicle exterior lights in a fourth predefined pattern, wherein the fourth notification is indicative of the vehicle movement direction.
According to various embodiments, the illumination pattern 38 may be emitted from the light assembly 34 that corresponds to a direction of rotation of a vehicle steering wheel 52, or other direction altering activity of the vehicle 28. For example, as the steering wheel 52 is rotated to the right, the light assembly 34 proximate a right lateral side 54 of the vehicle 28 may project the illumination pattern 38 therefrom. Conversely, as the steering wheel 52 is rotated to the left, a light assembly 34 proximate a left lateral side 56 of the vehicle 28 may project the illumination pattern 38 (Johnson et al. par. 44).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kelly J., Park et al., Aitken and Johnson et al. disclose the vehicle of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to output at least one of the first notification, the second notification, the third notification and the fourth notification via the one or more vehicle speakers.
The external control device 3 can comprise controls for other vehicle features. By way of example, the external control device 3 can implement one or more of the following control functions: raise/lower the vehicle suspension; open/close windows; open/close a tailgate; retract/deploy a towing arm; operate lights; and operate an audible warning from a parking sensor (Kelly J. page 13 par. 3).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpreted at least one speaker for operate an audible warning.
Claims 12 -15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly J. GB 2536709, in view of Park et al. US 20150265807, in view of Aitken US 20190094884, in view of Golgiri et al. US 20200070721 and further in view of Galliano, III et al. US 20220348137.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken teach all the limitation in the claim 5.
The combination of Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken do not explicitly teach The vehicle of claim 5 further comprising a vehicle sensor unit configured to detect an obstacle presence in proximity to the vehicle, wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain inputs from the vehicle sensor unit responsive to activating the external interface movement mode; determine the obstacle presence in proximity to the vehicle based on the inputs; determine a vehicle exterior light from the one or more vehicle exterior lights or a vehicle speaker from the one or more vehicle speakers that is closest to a user location, responsive to determining the obstacle presence; and output a fifth notification indicating the obstacle presence via the vehicle exterior light or the vehicle speaker.
Golgiri et al. teach the vehicle of claim 5 further comprising a vehicle sensor unit configured to detect an obstacle presence in proximity to the vehicle, wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain inputs from the vehicle sensor unit responsive to activating the external interface movement mode; (Golgiri et al. US 20200070721 abstract; paragraphs [0005]-[0007]; [0025]-[0029]; [0030]-[0038]; [0041]-[0042]; [0046]; [0051]; [0053]; [0057]; [0062]-[0063]; [0087]; figures 1-11;)
In some examples, the sensors 120 are mounted at the front and rear of the vehicle 110. The sensors 120 detect objects (e.g., the trailer 190, the driver 180, etc.) about the vehicle 110. In other words, the sensors 120 generate obstruction information for the vehicle 110 (Goldiri par. 29). In operation, the data receiver 410 receives obstruction information sent by the sensors 120, signals from the mobile device 171, and signals from the key fob 172. More specifically, the data receiver 410 receives images, reflections, and echoes of obstructions behind the vehicle 110 captured by the sensors 120. Additionally, the data receiver 410 receives strengths, arrival times, and arrival angles of the signals from the mobile device 171 and the key fob 172 (Goldiri par. 49).
determine the obstacle presence in proximity to the vehicle based on the inputs;
Using obstruction information provided by the sensors 120, the OBCP 150 determines a path for the vehicle to follow to the trailer 190, determines whether to warn the driver 180 and/or other pedestrians of the vehicle 110's approach toward the trailer 190, and/or determines whether to stop the vehicle 110 before contacting an obstruction (Goldiri par. 34). In other words, the look up table 950 provides predetermined risk assessments 952 and corresponding warnings 953 for a given estimated contact time 951. As shown in the examples of FIG. 9, as the estimated contact times 951 decrease, the corresponding risk assessment values 952 increase and the disruptiveness of the warnings 953 increase. As shown in the example of FIG. 9, an estimated contact time of 25 seconds or less, but more than 20 seconds corresponds to a 0.30 risk assessment value 952 for which the vehicle 110 may flash the lights 132. As shown in the example of FIG. 9, an estimated contact time of 5 seconds or less corresponds to a 0.90 risk assessment value 952 for which the vehicle 110 may stop moving. In some examples, for a given risk assessment value 952, the vehicle 110 may generate the corresponding warning 953 and any of the preceding warnings 953. Thus, in such examples, for the 0.90 risk assessment value 952, the vehicle 110 may stop, flash the lights 132, chirp the horn 131, and/or blast the horn 131. Blasting the horn 131 refers to sounding the horn 131 for an extended period (e.g., 1 or more seconds, etc.) (Goldiri par. 46).
According to the table 950 of figure 9 from Goldiri reference, examiner interpreted the sensors 120 detect the objects in the surrounding of the vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to combine Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken with Golgiri et al. by comprising the teaching of Golgiri et al. into the system of Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken. The motivation to combine these arts to provide sensors to detect any obstruction within the proximity of the vehicle from Golgiri et al. reference into Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken reference so the system can provide the suitable alert to the user to minimize an accident.
However, the combination of Kelly J., Park et al., Aitken and Golgiri et al. do teach the external warning via exterior lights and speaker base on the object detection, but the combination of Kelly J., Park et al., Aitken and Golgiri et al. do not explicitly teach determine a vehicle exterior light from the one or more vehicle exterior lights or a vehicle speaker from the one or more vehicle speakers that is closest to a user location, responsive to determining the obstacle presence; and output a fifth notification indicating the obstacle presence via the vehicle exterior light or the vehicle speaker.
Galliano, III et al. teach determine a vehicle exterior light from the one or more vehicle exterior lights or a vehicle speaker from the one or more vehicle speakers that is closest to a user location, responsive to determining the obstacle presence; and output a fifth notification indicating the obstacle presence via the vehicle exterior light or the vehicle speaker. (Galliano, III et al. US 20220348137 abstract; [0015]-[0020]; [0028]-[0034]; [0039]-[0046]; [0064]-[0065]; [0075]-[0079]; figures 1-8;)
In response to determining that the user 510 is within range of the AV 400, the AV 400 (e.g., the processor 260) instructs one of the speakers 420b to emit an audio notification 520, e.g., a jingle. In this example, the speakers 420a, 420b, and 420c are located at different locations on the AV 400, and the processor 260 selects one of the speakers 420b to emit the audio notification 520 based on a portion of the AV 400 to be accessed by the user 510 and the proximity of the speakers to the portion to be accessed. In this example, the door 410b is to be accessed by the user 510, e.g., if the AV 400 is making a delivery to the user, the item being delivered is located behind the door 410b, or if the AV 400 is picking up the user 510 for a ride, the user 510 is to sit in the seat behind door 410b. The processor 260 selects speaker 420b because it is the closest speaker to the door 410b to be accessed and instructs the speaker 420b to emit the audio notification 520 (Galliano, III et al. par. 65).
Examiner interpreted the processor select the speaker closest to the object for emitting audio alert.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to combine Kelly J., Park et al., Aitken and Golgiri et al. with Galliano, III et al. by comprising the teaching of Galliano, III et al. into the system of Kelly J., Park et al., Aitken and Golgiri et al.. The motivation to combine these arts to provide selection of the speaker closest to the location of the user from Galliano, III et al. reference into Kelly J., Park et al., Aitken and Golgiri et al. reference so the system can provide the high tone attention to promote the safe and efficient movement of vehicles and responders.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kelly J., Park et al., Aitken, Golgiri et al. and Galliano, III et al. disclose the vehicle of claim 12, wherein the processor is further configured to control at least one of a vehicle movement direction, a vehicle speed and a vehicle steering wheel rotation angle based on an obstacle location in proximity to the vehicle, responsive to determining the obstacle presence.
Using obstruction information provided by the sensors 120, the OBCP 150 determines a path for the vehicle to follow to the trailer 190, determines whether to warn the driver 180 and/or other pedestrians of the vehicle 110's approach toward the trailer 190, and/or determines whether to stop the vehicle 110 before contacting an obstruction (Goldiri par. 34). In operation, the trailer detector 330 locates the hitch coupler 191 of the trailer 190 and determines a path for the vehicle 110 to follow to move the towing ball 113 into place for coupling with the hitch coupler 191 based on obstruction information from the sensors 120. The trailer detector 330 communicates with the steering of the vehicle 110 to turn the wheels of the vehicle 110 toward the detected hitch coupler 191 of the trailer 190. The trailer detector 330 communicatively connects the powertrain of the vehicle 110 with the mobile device 171. Thus, the mobile device 171 may remotely control the rotational speed and direction of the wheels of vehicle 110 (Goldiri par. 42).
Examiner interpreted the system determine there is an obstruction in the path of the proximity to vehicle and the system instruct the control system to steering the vehicle to the direction of the path toward to the trailer.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kelly J., Park et al., Aitken, Golgiri et al. and Galliano, III et al. disclose the vehicle of claim 12, wherein the vehicle sensor unit comprises one or more vehicle exterior cameras configured to capture images or videos of a geographical area in proximity to the vehicle.
In the illustrated example, the sensors 120 are object-detecting and range-finding sensors (e.g., a camera, LIDAR, RADAR, ultrasonic, etc.). In some examples, the sensors 120 are mounted at the front and rear of the vehicle 110. The sensors 120 detect objects (e.g., the trailer 190, the driver 180, etc.) about the vehicle 110. In other words, the sensors 120 generate obstruction information for the vehicle 110 (Goldiri par. 29).
Examiner interpreted the sensors 120 include the camera that can capture images of the surround environment of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kelly J., Park et al., Aitken, Golgiri et al. and Galliano, III et al. disclose The vehicle of claim 14 further comprising an exterior vehicle display,
It will be understood that the at least one external control signal SouT can correspond to any control in the vehicle V. The external control device 3 can output information conventionally shown on the main display in the vehicle V, for example to access to the 4x4 information screens and the surround vehicle camera displays. Alternatively or in addition, the external control device 3 can output information from a parking distance warning, for example to facilitate manoeuvring the vehicle V in a restricted space (Kelly J. page 9 par. 3).
wherein the processor is configured to: obtain the images or videos from the one or more vehicle exterior cameras;
In the illustrated example, the sensors 120 are object-detecting and range-finding sensors (e.g., a camera, LIDAR, RADAR, ultrasonic, etc.). In some examples, the sensors 120 are mounted at the front and rear of the vehicle 110. The sensors 120 detect objects (e.g., the trailer 190, the driver 180, etc.) about the vehicle 110. In other words, the sensors 120 generate obstruction information for the vehicle 110 (Goldiri par. 29).
Examiner interpreted the sensors 120 include the camera that can capture images of the surround environment of the vehicle.
and output the images or videos via the exterior vehicle display or an external interface display.
Also, as shown in FIG. 10, the feedback generator 470 communicates warnings to the mobile device 171. More specifically, the feedback generator 470 sends messages 1010 and/or illustrations 1020 for display to the driver 180 via a display 173 of the mobile device 171. The message 1010 may include a text description of the status of the remote-control hitching process, a warning to exit the travel zone, and/or instructions to avoid contact with the vehicle 110. The illustration 1020 may depict the vehicle 110 and the driver 180 in the travel zone (Goldiri par. 63).
Examiner interpreted the sensors 120 include the camera that can capture images of the surround environment of the vehicle. The camera detect the driver in the travel zone of the vehicle and display on the mobile device 171. Examiner interpreted mobile device 171 as an external interface.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly J. GB 2536709, in view of Park et al. US 20150265807, in view of Aitken US 20190094884 and further in view of SRNEC US 20200130645.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken teach all the limitation in the claim 1.
The combination of Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken do not explicitly teach The vehicle of claim 1 further comprising a power transfer interface, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine that an external equipment is connected via a wired connection to the power transfer interface; and disable the external interface movement mode responsive to determining that the external equipment is connected via the wired connection to the power transfer interface.
SRNEC teaches the vehicle of claim 1 further comprising a power transfer interface, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine that an external equipment is connected via a wired connection to the power transfer interface; (SRNEC US 20200130645 abstract; paragraphs [0007]-[0010]; [0024]; [0027]-[0029]; [0031]-[0038]; [0041]-[0042]; [0044]-[0045]; [0047]; [0055]; figures 1-8;)
In another embodiment, the utility power source 260 may be a charging station configured to convert AC utility power to provide DC electric power. The electrical power system 210 is configured to receive external power from a utility power source 260. The electrical power system 210 includes a socket 245, and an external electrical cord 265 for the utility power source 260 is physically connected to the socket 245 to electrically connect the electrical power system 210 and the utility power source 260. In an embodiment, the external electric cord 265 may be automatically connected to the refrigerated transport unit 205 when parked at the facility that includes utility power source 260 (SRNEC par. 35).
Examiner interpreted the utility power source 260 as the external equipment, electrical cord 265 as a wire and a socket 245 as a power transfer interface. Therefore, the utility power source 260 connect with the refrigerated transport unit 205 via electrical cord 265 to the socket 245 for power transfer.
and disable the external interface movement mode responsive to determining that the external equipment is connected via the wired connection to the power transfer interface.
In an embodiment, 480 may include, reporting external to the refrigerated transport unit that the refrigerated transport unit is electrically connected to the utility power source and that a tow vehicle is attached to the refrigerated transport unit. In an embodiment, this may be reported to the facility at which the refrigerated transport unit is parked (e.g., a yard, an overnight stopping location, etc.). For example, the yard facility may include an operator, server, and/or computer configured to monitor operations within the yard. The operator, server, and/or computer may remotely disable the attached tow vehicle to prevent movement of the refrigerated transport unit when the refrigerated transport unit physically electrically connected to the utility power source, and/or when a battery pack (e.g., battery pack 215) is still being charged or needs to be charged (e.g., is below a predetermined amount). The method 400 then proceeds back to 405 (SRNEC par. 55).
Examiner interpreted operator, server, and/or computer as the external interface and it had been disable to prevent the vehicle from moving.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to combine Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken with SRNEC. by comprising the teaching of SRNEC into the system Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken. The motivation to combine these arts to provide disable movement of the vehicle when the vehicle connecting to the external device from SRNEC reference into Kelly J., Park et al. and Aitken reference for safety and the system prevent the vehicle drive off.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the remarks applicant argues in substance:
Applicant argument: Applicant argues that neither alone or in the combination of Kelly J., Paradis et al., Johnson, Golgiri et al., Galliano and SRNEC failed to teach or suggest the amendment as recited in the independent claims 1, 17 and 20.
Examiner response: The presented arguments are rendered moot in view of the new ground rejection necessitated by amendments initiated by applicant. Please see above rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANG D TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686