DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application filed on November 01, 2023 in which claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 12, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 14-15, 27-28 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma Jun et al. US Publication No. 2021/0345392.
Regarding claim 1, Ma Jun et al. disclose “an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to cause the UE to: receive, from a network node, a first stage downlink control information (DCI) associated with a second stage DCI” (See Fig. 3, ref. 310, 340
Fig. 4, ref. 420 Para. 53; FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example 300 of piggyback DCI. A first part of DCI (e.g., a first DCI message), shown by reference number 310, is provided on a PDCCH. [...] For example, in Type 1, the first part of the DCI may include scheduling information or a grant for a PDSCH and scheduling information for the second part of the DCI in the PDSCH (as indicated by the arrow from the first part of the DCI to the second part of the DCI shown by reference number 330); “wherein the first stage DCI comprises information regarding a set of time and frequency resources associated with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)” (See Para. 53 describing in Type 1, the first part of the DCI may include scheduling information or a grant for a PDSCH and scheduling information for the second part of the DCI in the PDSCH (as indicated by the arrow from the first part of the DCI to the second part of the DCI shown by reference number 330). And in Fig. 3, where the arrow 320 indicates the scheduling information of the PDSCH being associated with time/frequency resources); “wherein the second stage DCI includes decoding information associated
with the PDSCH” (See Para. 53 describing the one or more piggyback DCI may include respective DCI that carry information for decoding subsequent PDSCHs (e.g., scheduling information and/or the like), shown by reference numbers 350 and 360); “receive, from the network node based on the information regarding the set
of time and frequency resources, a transmission including the second stage DCI and the PDSCH” (See Figs. 3 and 4 Para. 50 describing In some cases, DCI, or some part of a DCI, can be transmitted on a PDSCH. This is referred to as a piggyback or piggybacked DCI and Para. 53 describing Some techniques and apparatuses described herein include rate matching of the PDSCH associated with the second part of the DCI in accordance with a scaling factor, as described in more detail in connection with FIGS. 4-6); “wherein the second stage DCI is multiplexed with the PDSCH, and wherein the second stage DCI is overlapping in time with the PDSCH”
(See Fig. 3, showing the overlap in time (and frequency) Para. 52 describing Some techniques and apparatuses described herein provide rate matching of a PDSCH that carries one or more piggyback DCI based at least in part on a parameter referred to herein as a scaling factor (e. g., ßoffset). The scaling factor may indicate a portion of available PDSCH REs to be allocated for piggyback DCI, hence the piggybacking refers to multiplexing of DCI on a portion of PDSCH Res Para. 53 The first part of the DCI may include information for decoding a PDSCH that is to carry one or more piggyback DCI, as indicated by the arrow from the first part of the DCI to the PDSCH); and “decode the PDSCH based on the second stage DCI” (See Para. 53 describing for example, the one or more piggyback DCI may include respective DCI that carry information for decoding subsequent PDSCHs (e.g., scheduling information and/or the like), shown by reference numbers 350 and 360).
As per claim 2, Ma Jun et al. disclose “wherein the second stage DCI is multiplexed with the PDSCH based on the PDSCH being rate matched around the second stage DCI” (See Para. 52 describing some techniques and apparatuses described herein provide rate matching of a PDSCH that carries one or more piggyback DCI based at least in part on a parameter referred to herein as a scaling factor (e. g., Boffset). The scaling factor may indicate a portion of available PDSCH REs to be allocated for piggyback DCI).
Regarding claim 14, Ma Jun et al. disclose “an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to cause the network node to: transmit, for a user equipment (UE), a first stage downlink control information (DCI) associated with a second stage DCI” (See Fig. 3, ref. 310, 340 Fig. 4, ref. 420 Para. 53; FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example 300 of piggyback DCI. A first part of DCI (e.g., a first DCI message), shown by reference number 310, is provided on a PDCCH. [...] For example, in Type 1, the first part of the DCI may include scheduling information or a grant for a PDSCH and scheduling information for the second part of the DCI in the PDSCH (as indicated by the arrow from the first part of the DCI to the second part of the DCI shown by reference number 330); “wherein the first stage DCI comprises information regarding a set of time and frequency resources associated with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)” (See Para. 53 describing in Type 1, the first part of the DCI may include scheduling information or a grant for a PDSCH and scheduling information for the second part of the DCI in the PDSCH (as indicated by the arrow from the first part of the DCI to the second part of the DCI shown by reference number 330). And in Fig. 3, where the arrow 320 indicates the scheduling information of the PDSCH being associated with time/frequency resources); “wherein the second stage DCI includes decoding information associated with the PDSCH” (See Para. 53 describing the one or more piggyback DCI may include respective DCI that carry information for decoding subsequent PDSCHs (e.g., scheduling information and/or the like), shown by reference numbers 350 and 360); “transmit, for the UE based on the information regarding the set of time and frequency resources, a transmission including the second stage DCI and the PDSCH” (See Figs. 3 and 4 Para. 50 describing In some cases, DCI, or some part of a DCI, can be transmitted on a PDSCH. This is referred to as a piggyback or piggybacked DCI and Para. 53 describing Some techniques and apparatuses described herein include rate matching of the PDSCH associated with the second part of the DCI in accordance with a scaling factor, as described in more detail in connection with FIGS. 4-6); “wherein the second stage DCI is multiplexed with the PDSCH, and wherein the second stage DCI is overlapping in time with the PDSCH”
(See Fig. 3, showing the overlap in time (and frequency) Para. 52 describing Some techniques and apparatuses described herein provide rate matching of a PDSCH that carries one or more piggyback DCI based at least in part on a parameter referred to herein as a scaling factor (e. g., ßoffset). The scaling factor may indicate a portion of available PDSCH REs to be allocated for piggyback DCI, hence the piggybacking refers to multiplexing of DCI on a portion of PDSCH Res Para. 53 The first part of the DCI may include information for decoding a PDSCH that is to carry one or more piggyback DCI, as indicated by the arrow from the first part of the DCI to the PDSCH; See Para. 53 describing for example, the one or more piggyback DCI may include respective DCI that carry information for decoding subsequent PDSCHs (e.g., scheduling information and/or the like), shown by reference numbers 350 and 360).
As per claim 15, Ma Jun et al. disclose “wherein the second stage DCI is multiplexed with the PDSCH based on the PDSCH being rate matched around the second stage DCI” (See Para. 52 describing some techniques and apparatuses described herein provide rate matching of a PDSCH that carries one or more piggyback DCI based at least in part on a parameter referred to herein as a scaling factor (e. g., Boffset). The scaling factor may indicate a portion of available PDSCH REs to be allocated for piggyback DCI).
Regarding claim 27, Ma Jun et al. disclose “a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a network node, a first stage downlink control information (DCI) associated with a second stage DCI” (See Fig. 3, ref. 310, 340 Fig. 4, ref. 420 Para. 53; FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example 300 of piggyback DCI. A first part of DCI (e.g., a first DCI message), shown by reference number 310, is provided on a PDCCH. [...] For example, in Type 1, the first part of the DCI may include scheduling information or a grant for a PDSCH and scheduling information for the second part of the DCI in the PDSCH (as indicated by the arrow from the first part of the DCI to the second part of the DCI shown by reference number 330); “wherein the first stage DCI comprises information regarding a set of time and frequency resources associated with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)” (See Para. 53 describing in Type 1, the first part of the DCI may include scheduling information or a grant for a PDSCH and scheduling information for the second part of the DCI in the PDSCH (as indicated by the arrow from the first part of the DCI to the second part of the DCI shown by reference number 330). And in Fig. 3, where the arrow 320 indicates the scheduling information of the PDSCH being associated with time/frequency resources); “wherein the second stage DCI includes decoding information associated with the PDSCH” (See Para. 53 describing the one or more piggyback DCI may include respective DCI that carry information for decoding subsequent PDSCHs (e.g., scheduling information and/or the like), shown by reference numbers 350 and 360); “receiving, from the network node based on the information regarding the set of time and frequency resources, a transmission including the second stage DCI and the PDSCH” (See Figs. 3 and 4 Para. 50 describing In some cases, DCI, or some part of a DCI, can be transmitted on a PDSCH. This is referred to as a piggyback or piggybacked DCI and Para. 53 describing Some techniques and apparatuses described herein include rate matching of the PDSCH associated with the second part of the DCI in accordance with a scaling factor, as described in more detail in connection with FIGS. 4-6); “wherein the second stage DCI is multiplexed with the PDSCH, and wherein the second stage DCI is overlapping in time with the PDSCH”
(See Fig. 3, showing the overlap in time (and frequency) Para. 52 describing Some techniques and apparatuses described herein provide rate matching of a PDSCH that carries one or more piggyback DCI based at least in part on a parameter referred to herein as a scaling factor (e. g., ßoffset). The scaling factor may indicate a portion of available PDSCH REs to be allocated for piggyback DCI, hence the piggybacking refers to multiplexing of DCI on a portion of PDSCH Res Para. 53 The first part of the DCI may include information for decoding a PDSCH that is to carry one or more piggyback DCI, as indicated by the arrow from the first part of the DCI to the PDSCH); and “decoding the PDSCH based on the second stage DCI” (See Para. 53 describing for example, the one or more piggyback DCI may include respective DCI that carry information for decoding subsequent PDSCHs (e.g., scheduling information and/or the like), shown by reference numbers 350 and 360).
As per claim 28, Ma Jun et al. disclose “wherein the second stage DCI is multiplexed with the PDSCH based on the PDSCH being rate matched around the second stage DCI” (See Para. 52 describing some techniques and apparatuses described herein provide rate matching of a PDSCH that carries one or more piggyback DCI based at least in part on a parameter referred to herein as a scaling factor (e. g., Boffset). The scaling factor may indicate a portion of available PDSCH REs to be allocated for piggyback DCI).
Regarding claim 30, Ma Jun et al. disclose “a method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising: transmitting, for a user equipment (UE), a first stage downlink control information (DCI) associated with a second stage DCI” (See Fig. 3, ref. 310, 340 Fig. 4, ref. 420 Para. 53; FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example 300 of piggyback DCI. A first part of DCI (e.g., a first DCI message), shown by reference number 310, is provided on a PDCCH. [...] For example, in Type 1, the first part of the DCI may include scheduling information or a grant for a PDSCH and scheduling information for the second part of the DCI in the PDSCH (as indicated by the arrow from the first part of the DCI to the second part of the DCI shown by reference number 330); “wherein the first stage DCI comprises information regarding a set of time and frequency resources associated with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)” (See Para. 53 describing in Type 1, the first part of the DCI may include scheduling information or a grant for a PDSCH and scheduling information for the second part of the DCI in the PDSCH (as indicated by the arrow from the first part of the DCI to the second part of the DCI shown by reference number 330). And in Fig. 3, where the arrow 320 indicates the scheduling information of the PDSCH being associated with time/frequency resources); “wherein the second stage DCI includes decoding information associated with the PDSCH” (See Para. 53 describing the one or more piggyback DCI may include respective DCI that carry information for decoding subsequent PDSCHs (e.g., scheduling information and/or the like), shown by reference numbers 350 and 360); “transmitting, for the UE based on the information regarding the set of time and frequency resources, a transmission including the second stage DCI and the PDSCH” (See Figs. 3 and 4 Para. 50 describing In some cases, DCI, or some part of a DCI, can be transmitted on a PDSCH. This is referred to as a piggyback or piggybacked DCI and Para. 53 describing Some techniques and apparatuses described herein include rate matching of the PDSCH associated with the second part of the DCI in accordance with a scaling factor, as described in more detail in connection with FIGS. 4-6); “wherein the second stage DCI is multiplexed with the PDSCH, and wherein the second stage DCI is overlapping in time with the PDSCH”
(See Fig. 3, showing the overlap in time (and frequency) Para. 52 describing Some techniques and apparatuses described herein provide rate matching of a PDSCH that carries one or more piggyback DCI based at least in part on a parameter referred to herein as a scaling factor (e. g., ßoffset). The scaling factor may indicate a portion of available PDSCH REs to be allocated for piggyback DCI, hence the piggybacking refers to multiplexing of DCI on a portion of PDSCH Res Para. 53 The first part of the DCI may include information for decoding a PDSCH that is to carry one or more piggyback DCI, as indicated by the arrow from the first part of the DCI to the PDSCH; See Para. 53 describing for example, the one or more piggyback DCI may include respective DCI that carry information for decoding subsequent PDSCHs (e.g., scheduling information and/or the like), shown by reference numbers 350 and 360).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma Jun et al. US Publication No. 2021/0345392 in view of MOLAVIANJAZI EBRAHIM ET AL US 2023/0129120 A1.
As per claims 3-4 and 13, most of the limitations of these claims have been noted in the rejection of claim1. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. It is noted however, Ma Jun et al. did not specifically detail the aspects of “wherein the second stage DCI is associated with a search space (SS) set associated with an interleaved control channel element (CCE) to resource element group (REG) mapping, and wherein the second stage DCI is carried in a set of non-consecutive resources; and, wherein the first stage DCI overlaps with the PDSCH, and wherein the PDSCH is rate matched around the first stage DCI” as recited in the instant claims 3-4. On the other hand, MOLAVIANJAZI EBRAHIM ET AL achieved the aforementioned claimed features (See Para. 125 "A UE monitors a set of PDCCH candidates in the configured monitoring occasions in one or more configured Control Resource SETs (CORESETs) according to the corresponding search space configurations; See Para. 126 "A CORESET consists of a set of PRBs with a time duration of 1 to 3 OFDM symbols. The resource units Resource Element Groups (REGs) and Control Channel Elements (CCEs) are defined within a CORESET with each CCE consisting of a set of REGs. Control channels are formed by aggregation of CCE. Different code rates for the control channels are realized by aggregating different number of CCE. Interleaved and non-interleaved CCE-to-REG mapping are supported in a CORESET. See Para. 283 The first-stage DCI format can also indicate a location for a PDCCH providing the second-stage DCI format, such as a PDCCH candidate for a corresponding CCE aggregation level, so that the UE can interpret the contents of the second-stage DCI format or reduce a number of PDCCH receptions). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the teachings of Ma Jun et al. with the method of MOLAVIANJAZI EBRAHIM ET AL because they are both directed to downlink control information in wireless communication and are both from the same field of endeavor. Such combination would have enhanced the versatility of Ma Jun et al. by allowing it to more effectively rate matching for piggyback downlink control information (DCI) while providing acknowledgement information for multi-cell scheduling.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 7-10, 11-12, 16-18, 19 20-23-24 and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma Jun et al. US Publication No. 2021/0345392 in view of MOLAVIANJAZI EBRAHIM ET AL US 2023/0129120 A1 and in further view of WO 2022/133893 A1 (HUAWEI TECH CO LTD [CN]) 30 June 2022 (2022-06-30).
As per claims 5, 7-10, 16-18, 20-23, 25-26 and 29 Ma Jun et al. disclose in Para. 50 "DCI is traditionally transmitted to a UE on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a control resource set (CORESET). This may involve blind decoding, because a UE is given all the information required to decode a PDCCH (e.g., the resource allocation of PDCCH, the aggregation level, and so on), and may use this information to decode according to multiple blind decoding hypotheses until a PDCCH for the UE is discovered." Fig. 3, showing the allocation of the second DCI in a range of frequency and time domain resources.
MOLAVIANJAZI EBRAHIM ET AL disclose in Para. 283 "A UE can determine an association among a number of linked multi-stage PDCCHs/DCIs, such as two
PDCCHs/DCIs, that provide multi-cell scheduling information based on parameters of the linked DCI formats, such as size(s) of the DCI format(s), or RNTI(s) associated with the DCI format(s), or by an explicit indication in some field(s) in the DCI format(s), or based on PDCCH monitoring parameters, such as CORESET, search space, CCEs, or monitoring occasions in which the UE receives the first and the second linked PDCCHs."
It is noted, however, neither Ma Jun et al. and MOLAVIANJAZI EBRAHIM ET AL did not specifically detail the aspects of “wherein a range of frequency domain resources for the
second stage DCI is based on a configuration in a control resource set (CORESET) for
the second stage DCI; wherein a range of frequency domain resources for the
second stage DCI is based on a set of frequency domain resources for the PDSCH.
wherein a set of time domain resources for the second stage DCI is based on a configuration associated with a search space (SS) set for the second stage DCI, and wherein the configuration indicates the set of time domain resources; wherein a first set of time domain resources for the second stage DCI is based on a second set of time domain resources for the PDSCH, wherein the second stage DCI is associated with a search space (SS) set associated with an interleaved control channel element (CCE) to resource element group (REG) mapping, and wherein the second stage DCI is carried in a set of non-consecutive resources, and wherein the first set of time domain resources and the second set of time domain resources overlap in time. wherein the first set of time domain resources and the second set of time domain resources share a same starting symbol”. On the other hand, (HUAWEI TECH CO LTD achieved the aforementioned claimed features by disclosing in Para. 244 "An example of this approach to reduce the latency is shown in Figure 18, which shows the frequency locations (vertical axis) of the second stage DCI 900 and UE data 902 are the same, and shows front loaded RS 904 in the first several symbols of the second stage DCI 900. Figs. 10 and 18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the teachings of Ma Jun et al. and the method of MOLAVIANJAZI EBRAHIM ET AL into the system of HUAWEI TECH CO LTD because they are all directed to downlink control information in wireless communication and are all from the same field of endeavor. Such combination would have further enhanced the versatility of Ma Jun et al. by allowing it to more effectively rate matching for piggyback downlink control information (DCI) while providing reducing latency.
The same reasoning applies, mutatis mutandis, to the subject-matter of the corresponding and interrelated claims 16-18, 20-23 and 26. Therefore, they are rejected as set forth above.
As per claims 6, 11, 12, 19, 24 Ma Jun et al. disclose “wherein the configuration in the CORESET for the second stage DCI comprises a bitmap indicating a set of resource blocks (RBs) as the range of the frequency domain resources for the second stage DCI”; wherein a monitoring occasion associated with the second stage DCI overlaps with a set of resources for the PDSCH, and wherein the second stage DCI is not carried in a resource that overlaps with one or more rate matching resources for the PDSCH;
“wherein a monitoring occasion associated with the second stage DCI overlaps with a set of resources for the PDSCH, and wherein one or more rate matching resources for the PDSCH are removed for the second stage DCI”; “wherein the configuration in the CORESET for the second stage DCI comprises a bitmap indicating a set of resource blocks (RBs) as the range of the frequency domain resources for the second stage DCI”
(See paragraphs [0050], [0052], [0053]; figures 3, 4).
Other Reference(s) Cited
US 20200015202 described Techniques and apparatuses for transmitting downlink control information (dci) on a physical downlink shared channel (pdsch)" "receiving a capability indicator from a user equipment (UE) that indicates a capability of the UE to decode downlink control information (DCI) on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); and" ", or decoding the DCI on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)."
WO 2021154932 A1 described ", transmission from a base station of a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) including a first part of a Downlink Control Information (DCI), and may receive, during the at least one slot" ", while a second DCI portion may be transmitted within a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), a procedure commonly referred to as a DCI piggyback".
US 20220217723 described receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) that provides either the first DCI format scheduling the PUSCH or a second DCI format scheduling the PUSCH" "Methods, user equipment (UE), and base stations for downlink control information (DCI) formats reception or transmission are provided" "the first PDSCH;"
US 11357021 described "receive, based on the DCI, a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a cell configured in an unlicensed band," "receiving an enhanced physical downlink control channel (EPDCCH) carrying downlink control information (DCI); and" "Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)".
US 20200008225 A1 described "receiving, from the BS, downlink control information (DCI) including information related to a PDSCH repetition number based on the second information; and" ", from the base station, second information related to a number of symbols of a control region, receive, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) including information related to a PDSCH repetition number based on the second information" "Method for transmitting and receiving physical downlink shared channel in wireless communication system and device supporting the same".
US 11395319 B2 described information indicated in Downlink Control Information (DCI) scheduling the one or more PDSCH transmissions;" "Method for differentiating multiple physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission schemes" "receiving control signaling from a network for scheduling one or more Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) transmissions".
Conclusion
/FRANTZ COBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459
February 5, 2026