DETAILED ACTION
Continuation Data
This application is a Divisional of application 17/157,938, now U.S. Patent No. 11,856,720, filed January 25, 2021, which claims priority to Provisional application 63/090,110, filed October 9, 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The Information Disclosure Statements filed on January 29, 2024 and July 17, 2024 have been considered. Initialed copies of the Form 1449 are enclosed herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 8, 9, 13-16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (2018/0288208), hereinafter Lee.
With respect to claim 8, Lee teaches an accessory device (cover case, NFC dongle, charger, earphone etc., paragraph 0079 and figures 1 and 5), comprising: a housing (paragraphs 0004 and 0123-0124 and figure 5 discloses the accessory device having a physical structure/cover, that carries the various function components); a magnetic assembly carried by the housing (paragraph 0127 and figure 5 disclose a sensor association unit 530 carried by the accessory device, wherein the sensor association unit includes a magnet or electromagnet for stimulating the Hall-sensor of the electronic device), the magnetic assembly configured to provide first information to an electronic device positioned in the housing (paragraph 0127 discloses that the magnet provides information to the electronic device by enabling the electronic device to determine whether the accessory is connected, the accessory type, mounting/dismounting state, magnetic field strength and polarity, sensing direction; also see paragraphs 0202-0206 and figures 9A and 9B); and a wireless communication circuit carried by the housing (paragraph 0125 and figure 5 discloses a communication module 510 in the accessory device configured for wired or wireless communication; paragraph 0199 and figures 8A and 8B further disclose the accessory including an NFC module 814-1 for NFC communication), the wireless communication configured to provide second information to the electronic device subsequent to the first information (paragraphs 0126, 0128, 0131-0138 and figure 5 disclose the NFC module exchanging information including assessor ID, authentication information; paragraphs 0205-0206 and figure 9A, 903, 905, 907, 909 disclose after activation of the NFC reader, the electronic device receives the NFC signal from the accessory).
With respect to claim 9, Lee teaches the accessory device, wherein: the first information comprises a magnetic field vector detectable by the electronic device (paragraphs 0127 and figure 5 disclose the accessory device including a sensor association unit 530 having a magnet or electromagnet that generates a magnetic field detectable by the electronic device, also see paragraphs 0202-0206 and figure 9A), and the second information comprises one or more characteristics of at least the housing (paragraphs 0125-0138 and figure 5 disclose the accessory device communication module/NFC module providing accessary information to the electronic device, including accessory identification and information and authentication information, paragraphs 0197-0206 and figures 8A and 9A disclose the NFC module exchanging accessory information with the electronic device).
With respect to claim 13, Lee teaches the accessory device, wherein the second information is configured to control a parameter of the electronic device (paragraphs 0072-0078 disclose the electronic device 100 receiving accessory information from the accessory device 110, authenticates or validates the accessory, and controls content or functions of the electronic device based on the received accessory information, also see paragraphs 0005 and 0118-0121).
With respect to claim 14, Lee teaches the accessory device, wherein the housing comprises a plurality of walls configured to receive the electronic device (paragraphs 0004-0006 and figures 16A-16J disclose a cover which houses the electronic device).
With respect to claim 15, Lee teaches the accessory device wherein the plurality of walls comprises a bottom wall and sidewalls extending from the bottom wall, and the magnetic assembly and the wireless communication circuit are positioned in the bottom wall (paragraphs 0004-0006, 0079, 0123-0124 disclose the accessory device being in the form of a cover, which includes the recited plurality of walls).
With respect to claim 16, Lee teaches a method for controlling an operation of an electronic device, the method comprising (paragraphs 0072-0078 and 0202-0206 and figures 9A and 9B disclose); receiving, at an accessory device, the electronic device (paragraphs 0004-0006, 0079, 0123-0124, and figure 5 disclose a cover configured to receive an electronic device); providing, by a magnet of the accessory device, a magnetic field vector (paragraph 0127 and figure 5 disclose a sensor association unit 530 including a magnet or electromagnet that generates a magnetic field detectable by Hall sensors of the electronic device); and providing, by a wireless communication circuit of the accessory device, information related to the accessory device (paragraphs 0125-0138 and figure 5 disclose the accessory including an NFC communication module that transmits accessory information and identification and authentication information; also see paragraphs 0203-0206 and figure 9A).
With respect to claim 19, Lee teaches the method, further comprising authenticating, by the wireless communication circuit, the electronic device (paragraphs 0125-0128 and figure 5 disclose a communication module 510 configured for wireless communication (NFC), an authentication module 520, and authentication information stored in memory for performing authentication between the accessory device and the electronic device. Also see paragraphs 0131-0138, 0203-0206 and figure 9A).
With respect to claim 20, Lee teaches the method, wherein: providing the information is subsequent to providing the magnetic field vector (paragraphs 0197-0206 and figures 8A and 9A disclose the accessory magnet being detected by the Hall sensor, the application processor is awakened, the NFC communication module is activated and receives/transmits accessory information), and the information causes the electronic device to adjust an operation of a circuit (paragraphs 0073-0077 disclose the electronic device authenticating the accessory information, determining functions of content associated with the accessory, controls functions, policies, applications, or content based on the received accessory information. Also see paragraph 0269-0271).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 4, 5, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Ketabdar et al (2011/0190060), hereinafter Ketabdar.
With respect to claim 1, Lee teaches an accessory device suitable for use with an electronic device (paragraphs 0004-0006, 0079, and 0123-0124 disclose an accessory device configured for use with an electronic device, including a cover and other accessory devices configured to communicate with an electronic device), the accessory device comprising: a bottom wall; sidewalls extending from the bottom wall, wherein the bottom wall and the sidewalls combine to define a receptacle for the electronic device (paragraphs 0079, 0123-0124, figures 8A, 8B, 16A-16J); a magnetic assembly disposed in the bottom wall (paragraph 0127, figure 5 and paragraphs 0197-0199 and figures 8A and 8B), the magnetic assembly generating a magnetic field that defines a magnetic field vector (paragraph 0127 discloses that the magnet or electromagnet generates a magnetic field that is detected by Hall sensors of the electronic device and further teaches determining magnetic field strength, magnetic polarity, and sensing direction); and a wireless communication circuit disposed in the bottom wall (communication module 510 disposed in the accessory device, paragraphs 0125-0128, figure 5 and paragraphs 0197-0199 and figures 8A and 8B), the wireless communication circuit configured to communicate with the electronic device (paragraphs 0125-0138 disclose the NFC communication module communicates accessory and authentication information and accessory identification information with the electronic device).
With respect to claim 4, Lee teaches in paragraph 0109, the accessory device, wherein the magnetic assembly is capable of magnetically coupling with an inductive charging receiving coil.
With respect to claim 5, Lee teaches in paragraph 0127, the accessory device, wherein the magnetic field vector extends into the receptacle and is detectable by the electronic device in response to the electronic device being positioned in the receptacle.
Lee’s teachings fails to specifically teach the communication being subsequent to an authentication based upon the magnetic field vector.
With respect to claim 1, Ketabdar teaches in paragraphs 0017, 0029-0030, 0041, and 0047-0049, authentication/verification based upon measured magnetic field characteristics obtained from a magnetic sensor, including magnetic field measurements in three dimensions and extracted magnetic features used to authenticate.
With respect to claim 10, Ketabdar teaches in paragraphs 0017, 0029-0030, 0041, and 0047-0049, the accessory device, wherein the magnetic field vector comprises an authentication to the electronic device.
With respect to claim 17, Ketabdar teaches in paragraphs 0017, 0029-0030, 0041, and 0047-0049, the method, wherein providing the magnetic field vector comprises providing an authentication to the electronic device.
In view of Ketabdar’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the accessory device of Lee to incorporate the magnetic field authentication techniques taught by Ketabdar. One would be motivated to incorporate the basing authentication upon the magnetic field vector in order to improve the reliability and security of communication with the electronic device.
8. Claims 11, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Klinefelter et al (6,386,772), hereinafter Klinefelter.
Lee’s teachings are discussed above. Lee however fails to teach the accessory device, wherein the one or more characteristics comprises a thickness of a wall of the housing or the material makeup of the housing.
With respect to claim 11, Klinefelter discloses in column 6, lines 17-23 and lines 35-49, the accessory device, wherein the one or more characteristics comprises a thickness of a wall (material thickness) of the housing.
With respect to claim 12, Klinefelter discloses in column 6, lines 17-23 and lines 35-49 the accessory device, wherein the one or more characteristics comprises a material makeup (material information) of the housing.
With respect to claim 18, Klinefelter discloses in column 6, lines 17-23 and lines 35-49, the method, wherein the information comprises a thickness or material makeup of the accessory device (material thickness and information).
In view of Klinefelter’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the accessory device of Lee to communicate thickness and material information of the accessory device, as is taught by Klinefelter. One would be motivated to communicate the accessory characteristics to the electronic device to enable the electronic device to adjust its operation based on the physical characteristics of the accessory, as is taught by Klinefelter in order to allow a receiving device to optimize its operating parameters.
9. Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in combination with Ketabdar and in further view of Klinefelter.
Lee’s teachings in combination with the teachings of Ketabdar are discussed above. The combination however fails to teach the accessory device, wherein the one or more information comprises a thickness of a wall of the housing or the material makeup of the housing.
With respect to claim 2, Klinefelter discloses in column 6, lines 17-23 and lines 35-49, the accessory device, wherein the one or more information comprises a thickness of a wall (material thickness) of the housing.
With respect to claim 3, Klinefelter discloses in column 6, lines 17-23 and lines 35-49 the accessory device, wherein the one or more information comprises a material makeup (material information) of the housing.
In view of Klinefelter’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the accessory device of Lee in combination with Ketabdar to communicate thickness and material information of the accessory device, as is taught by Klinefelter. One would be motivated to communicate the accessory information to the electronic device to enable the electronic device to adjust its operation based on the physical characteristics of the accessory, as is taught by Klinefelter in order to allow a receiving device to optimize its operating parameters.
10. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in combination with Ketabdar and in further view of Zhang (2016/0094692).
Lee’s teachings in combination with the teachings of Ketabdar are discussed above. The combination however fails to teach the accessory device, further comprising a phase change material disposed in the bottom wall, the phase change material configured to melt based upon thermal energy received by the electronic device positioned in the receptacle.
With respect to claim 6, Zhang teaches the accessory device, further comprising a phase change material disposed adjacent an electronic device heat source, wherein the phase change material is configured to melt based upon thermal energy received by the electronic device positioned in the receptacle (see abstract and paragraphs 0035-0037, which disclose the phase-change material changing from a solid phase to a melting phase when the temperature of the electronic device reaches the phase-change temperature).
In view of Zhang’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the accessory device of Lee in combination with Ketabdar to incorporate the thermal phase change material taught by Zhang into the bottom wall of Lee’s accessory device. One would be motivated to incorporate the thermal phase change material in order to absorb and conduct thermal energy received from the electronic device, thereby reducing elevated operating temperatures and improving thermal management.
11. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in combination with Ketabdar and in further view of Li et al (10,224,984).
Lee’s teachings in combination with the teachings of Ketabdar are discussed above. The combination however fails to teach the accessory device, wherein the magnetic assembly comprises a circular magnetic assembly, and the wireless communication circuit comprises a circular wireless communication circuit concentric with the circular magnetic assembly.
With respect to claim 7, The accessory device, wherein the magnetic assembly comprises a circular magnetic assembly, and the wireless communication circuit comprises a circular wireless communication circuit concentric with the circular magnetic assembly. Specifically, column 2, lines 40-44, column 5, lines 23-28, lines 41-43, and figures 4 and 5 disclose a wireless charging RX coil in a circular groove, an NFC antenna disposed around the groove and a magnetic plate covering the wireless charging RX coil and the NFC antenna.
In view of Li’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the accessory device of Lee in combination with Ketabdar to arrange the wireless communication circuit concentrically with the circular magnetic assembly as it taught by Li. One would be motivated to incorporate this arrangement in order to provide a compact integrated structure that reduces space requirements while improving wireless charging efficiency and facilitating integration of the wireless communication and charging components.
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: See attached PTO form 892, Refence Cited.
Communications via Internet e-mail regarding this application, other than those under 35 U.S.C. 132 or which otherwise require a signature, may be used by the applicant and should be addressed to [allyson.trail@uspto.gov].
/ALLYSON N TRAIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876
July 16, 2026