DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The reply filed 5/25/2026, amended claims 1-4. Claims 1-13 are pending herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 5/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants’ arguments not rendered moot by the amendments have been addressed below.
On pages 7-10 of the response, Applicants state: “Referring to Figs. 2, 6, and 7 and Column 5, lines 38-46 of Mita, Mita merely discloses that the power transmission mechanism (6 and 7) is arranged to the left of the electric motor (5), and the power conversion device (12/12') is arranged to the rear of the electric motor (5/5'). Applicant respectfully submits that even under the BRI, the rear of a vehicle should not be interpreted as the vehicle width direction. Therefore, Mita does not disclose "the power conversion device and the power transmission mechanism are respectively arranged on one side and another side of the electric motor in the vehicle width direction" of claim 1. Referring to Fig. 7 of Mita, Mita merely discloses that the wirings (al', a2', and a3') are led out from the power conversion device (12') in the front-rear direction. Referring to Fig. 2 of Mita, Mita merely discloses that the wirings al, a2, and a3 are led out from the power transmission mechanism (7 and 6) in the vehicle width direction. Therefore, Mita does not disclose "the connector part is arranged such that the power wiring is led out from the power conversion device in the vehicle width direction" of claim 1.”
Regarding these contentions, the Examiner maintains that the Mita reference provides for the disputed claim limitations based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims. Specifically, while the Mita reference does not specifically recite that the cited components are "led out in the width direction” as amended, it is clear from the disclosure and cited figures that the cited components are arranged in this manner (See, e.g., Mita: Fig.1-8; see below).
One of ordinary skill in the art would not necessarily interpret the disputed limitations as the Applicant argues. Applicants are reminded, that [t]he invention disclosed in [a] written description may be outstanding in its field, but the name of the game is the claim. In re Hiniker Co., 47 USPQ 1523, 1529 (Fed. Cir. 1998). Specifically, if Applicants believe that an invention has differences over the prior art, particularly regarding connections and arrangement of the claimed elements, Applicants must find a way to convey this argument in the claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See, e.g., In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, these arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Objections
The previous objections to the claims are withdrawn in light of the amendments, the objections that remain are detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejections of Claims 1-13 under 35 USC 112 are withdrawn in light of the amendments, the rejections that remain are detailed below.
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1/2/3/4, the claim recites the limitations: “is led out" (Claim 1/2) and “led out” (Claim 3/4) which is unclear and does not appear to be found in the disclosure as originally filed, therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mita et al. (US 6,598,691).
[Claim 1] Regarding Claim 1, Mita discloses: A vehicle driving apparatus (See, e.g. Fig.1-8), integrating an electric motor (See, e.g. Fig.1-8, 5) that is a drive source of a vehicle (See, e.g. Fig.1-8, V), a power conversion device (See, e.g. Fig.1-8, 12’) that is electrically connected to the electric motor (See, e.g. Fig.1-8) and converts electric power supplied to the electric motor and electric power supplied from the electric motor (See, e.g. Fig.1-8), and a power transmission mechanism (See, e.g. Fig.1-8, 7+6) for transmitting rotation of power from the electric motor to a drive wheel side of the vehicle (See, e.g. Fig.1-8), wherein an axial direction of a rotating shaft of the electric motor is arranged in a vehicle width direction of the vehicle (See, e.g. Fig.1-8), the power conversion device and the power transmission mechanism are respectively arranged on one side and another side of the electric motor in the vehicle width direction (See, e.g. Fig.1-8), the power conversion device is provided with a connector part to which power wiring is connected (See, e.g. Fig.1-8, a1+a2+a3+61+62), and the connector part is arranged such that the power wiring is led out from the power conversion device in the vehicle width direction (See, e.g. Fig.1-8).
[Claim 2] Regarding Claim 2, Mita discloses: wherein the connector part is arranged to such that the power wiring is led out from the power conversion device toward the side of the electric motor in the vehicle width direction (See, e.g. Fig.1-8).
[Claim 3/4] Regarding Claim 3/4, Mita discloses: wherein at least a part of a peripheral edge of the power transmission mechanism is provided with a power wiring space for wiring the power wiring led out from the connector part (See, e.g. Fig.1-8, a1+a2+a3+61+62).
[Claim 5/6] Regarding Claim 5/6, Mita discloses: wherein the power wiring space is a space formed by a chamfered part that is formed by chamfering at least a part of an upper end of the power transmission mechanism (See, e.g. Fig.1-8, a1+a2+a3+61+62).
[Claim 7/8] Regarding Claim 7/8, Mita discloses: wherein the power transmission mechanism comprises a final shaft (See, e.g. Fig.1-8, 44+45+40+48) that transmits rotation generated by power of the electric motor to a drive wheel of the vehicle (See, e.g. Fig.1-8, W), and the power wiring space is arranged above the final shaft in the power transmission mechanism (See, e.g. Fig.1-8).
[Claim 9/10/11/12/13] Regarding Claim 9/10/11/12/13, Mita discloses: wherein the power transmission mechanism integrally comprises a component of a parking mechanism for performing parking lock of the vehicle (See, e.g. Fig.1-8, 52), and the component of the parking mechanism is provided on one side of the power transmission mechanism in a front-rear direction of the vehicle (See, e.g. Fig.1-8).
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES M DOLAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613