DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The interpretation of the term “handle” is of great importance in these proceedings. In the field of hand tools, a “handle” is a part of a tool useful for be grasped or manipulated by a user’s hand which is distinct from the operative features of that tool. The handle serves as a means to grip the tool so that a user may have greater control, greater leverage, or apply greater force from their hand through the operative features of the tool. Thus for example a handle of a hammer is distinct from the head of a hammer even though in certain uses a user might grip the head of the hammer. In the field of hand-held rolling tools, the operative features are the rollers. The rest of the tool serves to enable a user to apply great leverage and force via the rollers onto a workpiece. Any portion of the hand-held roller that a user grips to do so is considered here to be part of the “handle.”
Consider Applicant’s tool shown below in which Applicant teaches everything within the bold box to be the “handle” including the portion between identifiers 40 and 44.
Consider next Carder’s tool (US 6,685,609) shown below (rotated for comparison) in which only item 13 is considered a “hand grip.” Item 11 is referred to as a “shaft.”
However, the shaft 11 is a handle. Consider that in the absence of hand grip 13 the tool would be essentially equally useful as a roller because the artisan would instead grasp the shaft 11 to apply leverage and force to a workpiece via the rollers. The shaft 11 does not cease being a handle when grip 13 is applied. Instead, the grip 13 and shaft 11 are considered together the “handle.”
Consider next Chang’s tool (CN 211139964 U) shown below (rotated for comparison) in which only section “5” is referred to as a handle. Sections 3 and 4 are referred to as an “arc-shaped shaft” and “connecting screw” respectively.
Even though sections 3 and 4 serve the named function of connecting section 5 to the connecting seat 2 of frame 1 (which holds the rollers 7), to an artisan in the field, during a rolling operation, sections 3 and 4 are equally as useful to be grasped/gripped as section 5. Sections 3 and 4 part of the tool’s handle even if they are not identified as such. Chang’s “handle” is sections 3, 4 and 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10 and 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carder (US 6,685,609) in view of Osgood (US 2,056,054).
As to claim 1, Carder teaches a handle (shaft 11 and hand grip 13 are together a handle. See Fig 1. See discussion above) for a carpet seam roller (Carder’s tool 10 is a carpet seaming tool, see Abstract), the handle comprising: a first end (the end connected to bracket 14) and a second end (the free end of grip 13), the second end being spaced apart longitudinally from the first end and having an elongated axis extending from the second end toward the first end (as illustrated), wherein the first end is formed at an angle oblique to said elongated axis (as illustrated, the bracket 14 is attached to the shaft 11 oblique to the axis of shaft 11); a top and a bottom spaced apart from each other (as illustrated, the handle is roughly cylindrical and therefore has a top and bottom spaced from each other), the top and bottom each extending from the first end to the second end (as illustrated, the top side of the handle extends along the entire length of the handle. The bottom side extends along the entire length of the handle too); a first side and a second side spaced apart from each other (as illustrated, the handle is roughly cylindrical and therefore has right and left sides spaced from each other), a second recess adapted to receive at least a first portion of a second hand of a user (See annotated Fig 1 below. There is a recess in the handle between the grip 13 and the bracket 14. This is considered a recess because the grip 13 extends above the surface of shaft 11 and bracket 14 extends above the surface of shaft 11. Importantly, this portion of the shaft 11 is considered part of the handle as 1. It is part of the shaft 11 and 2. It is useful for being gripped by a user during the course of using the tool and is distinct from the operative features of the tool (the rollers themselves).), wherein the second recess terminates at a plane formed at an angle oblique to said elongated access (the identified recess terminates at bracket 14, which has a plane formed oblique to the axis of the shaft 11 and grip 13 as discussed above.).
Carder does not teach a first recess adapted to receive at least a first portion of a first hand of a user.
Rather, the shaft 11 and grip 13 of Carder form a handle which is roughly cylindrical and does not include any recess other than the above-identified second recess.
However, Osgood teaches a handle/grip useful for hand tools.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have swapped the grip 13 of Carder for the handle of Osgood. See MPEP § 2143 B which describes the prima facie obviousness of the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. In this case, as both handles are useful for holding hand tools, swapping one for another amounts to a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain the predictable result of a hand tool having a handle. There is motivation to use Osgood’s handle because Osgood teaches it “can be grasped with assurance that slipping movement relatively of the hand and tool will not take place, although only a fairly tight hold is taken of the handle” (Page 1, Col 1, line 17-20).
Combination of Carder and Osgood
Carder in view of Osgood thus teach a longitudinal concaved depression 6 (Osgood Page 1 Col 2 line 30) which is interpreted as the claimed first recess.
As to claim 2, Carder in view of Osgood teaches the handle of claim 1, wherein the first recess extends circumferentially around the handle (the depression 6 of Osgood is circumferential).
As to claim 3, Carder in view of Osgood teaches the handle of claim 1, wherein the second recess extends circumferentially around the handle (the recess identified between the grip 13 and bracket 14 of Carder is circumferential).
As to claim 5, Carder in view of Osgood teaches the handle of claim 1, wherein the top and bottom extend along said elongated axis (as illustrated).
As to claim 6, Carder in view of Osgood teaches the handle of claim 1, wherein the first side and second side extend along said elongated axis (as illustrated).
As to claim 7, Carder in view of Osgood teaches the handle of claim 1, wherein the first side and second side extend from the first end to the second end (as illustrated).
As to claim 8, Carder in view of Osgood teaches the handle of claim 1, wherein the first recess terminates in a first projection offset from said first end toward said second end (as illustrated, the depression 6 is offset from the first end in the direction of the second end).
As to claim 9, Carder in view of Osgood teaches the handle of claim 1, wherein the handle body is of circular cross section (as illustrated).
As to claim 10, Carder in view of Osgood teaches the handle of claim 1, wherein the second recess terminates in a second projection adjacent the first end (the second recess terminates at bracket 14 which is adjacent the first end).
As to claim 12, Carder in view of Osgood teaches the handle of claim 1, wherein said second end is perpendicular to said elongated axis (the butt end 10 of Osgood is curved such that a surface normal to the butt would be perpendicular to the axis of the handle).
As to claim 13, Carder teaches a carpet pile seam roller (Carder’s tool 10 is a carpet seaming tool, see Abstract) comprising: a handle (shaft 11 and hand grip 13 are together a handle. See Fig 1. See Examiner’s interpretation of “handle” above) comprising: a first end (the end connected to bracket 14) and a second end (the free end of grip 13), the second end being spaced apart longitudinally from the first end and having an elongated axis extending from the second end toward the first end (as illustrated), wherein the first end is formed at an angle oblique to said elongated axis (as illustrated, the bracket 14 is attached to the shaft 11 oblique to the axis of shaft 11); a top and a bottom spaced apart from each other (as illustrated, the handle is roughly cylindrical and therefore has a top and bottom spaced from each other), the top and bottom each extending from the first end to the second end (as illustrated, the top side of the handle extends along the entire length of the handle. The bottom side extends along the entire length of the handle too); a first side and a second side spaced apart from each other (as illustrated, the handle is roughly cylindrical and therefore has right and left sides spaced from each other); and a second recess adapted to receive at least a first portion of a second hand of a user (See annotated Fig 1 below. There is a recess in the handle between the grip 13 and the bracket 14. This is considered a recess because the grip 13 extends above the surface of shaft 11 and bracket 14 extends above the surface of shaft 11. Importantly, this portion of the shaft 11 is considered part of the handle as 1. It is part of the shaft 11 and 2. It is useful for being gripped by a user during the course of using the tool and is distinct from the operative features of the tool (the rollers themselves).), wherein the second recess terminates at a plane formed at an angle oblique to said elongated access (the identified recess terminates at bracket 14, which has a plane formed oblique to the axis of the shaft 11 and grip 13 as discussed above.); and a yoke (U-shaped bracket 15), wherein said yoke is attached to said first end of said handle (as shown in Figs 1 and 2, the bracket 14/15 is attached to shaft 11); and a roller (roller 26) mounted for rotation on an axle (shaft 21), wherein the axle is attached to said yoke (the shaft 21 is connected to bracket 14/15 via openings 17 and 18. See Fig 2 and Col 4 lines 61-64).
Carder does not teach a first recess adapted to receive at least a first portion of a first hand of a user.
Rather, the shaft 11 and grip 13 of Carder form a handle which is roughly cylindrical and does not include any recess other than the above-identified second recess.
However, Osgood teaches a handle/grip useful for hand tools.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have swapped the grip 13 of Carder for the handle of Osgood. See MPEP § 2143 B which describes the prima facie obviousness of the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. In this case, as both handles are useful for holding hand tools, swapping one for another amounts to a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain the predictable result of a hand tool having a handle. There is motivation to use Osgood’s handle because Osgood teaches it “can be grasped with assurance that slipping movement relatively of the hand and tool will not take place, although only a fairly tight hold is taken of the handle” (Page 1, Col 1, line 17-20).
Combination of Carder and Osgood
Carder in view of Osgood thus teach a longitudinal concaved depression 6 (Osgood Page 1 Col 2 line 30) which is interpreted as the claimed first recess.
As to claim 14, Carder in view of Osgood teaches the carpet pile seam roller of claim 13, wherein the first recess extends circumferentially around the handle (the depression 6 of Osgood is circumferential).
As to claim 15, Carder in view of Osgood teaches the carpet pile seam roller of claim 13, wherein the second recess extends circumferentially around the handle (the recess identified between the grip 13 and bracket 14 of Carder is circumferential).
As to claim 16, Carder in view of Osgood teaches the carpet pile seam roller of claim 13, wherein the top and bottom extend along said elongated axis (as illustrated).
As to claim 17, Carder in view of Osgood teaches the carpet pile seam roller of claim 13, wherein the first side and second side extend along said elongated axis (as illustrated).
As to claim 18, Carder in view of Osgood teaches the carpet pile seam roller of claim 13, wherein the first side and second side extend from the first end to the second end (as illustrated).
As to claim 19, Carder in view of Osgood teaches the carpet pile seam roller of claim 13, wherein the first recess terminates in a first projection offset from said first end toward said second end (as illustrated, the depression 6 is offset from the first end in the direction of the second end).
As to claim 20, Carder in view of Osgood teaches the carpet pile seam roller of claim 13, wherein the handle body is of circular cross section (as illustrated).
As to claim 21, Carder in view of Osgood teaches the carpet pile seam roller of claim 13, wherein the second recess terminates in a second projection adjacent the first end (the second recess terminates at bracket 14 which is adjacent the first end).
As to claim 21, Carder in view of Osgood teaches the carpet pile seam roller of claim 13, wherein said second end is perpendicular to said elongated axis (the butt end 10 of Osgood is curved such that a surface normal to the butt would be perpendicular to the axis of the handle).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claims 1-10 and 12 are no longer rejected under 35 USC 102 under Osgood. Rather, the claims are rejected under 35 USC 103 under Carder in view of Osgood.
Applicant argues Osgood doesn’t teach a handle having a first end formed at an angle oblique to said elongate axis. Examiner agrees that Osgood’s handle doesn’t end in an oblique end. Rather, this limitation is taught by Carder which has shaft 11 connected to bracket 14 at an angle oblique to the axis of the shaft 11.
Claim 11 had previously been rejected under Osgood in view of Carder. The limitations of claim 11 have been incorporated into claim 1 and thus the arguments in view of claim 11 are applicable to claim 1.
Applicant argues that “neither Osgood nor Carder disclose a tool handle having a recess which terminates at an end of the handle formed at an angle oblique to the handle’s elongated axis.”
Examiner disagrees. As explained in the Claim Interpretation section and the rejection of claims 1 and 13 above, Carder’s tool has a “handle” which is comprised of the grip 13 as well as the shaft 11. The shaft 11 terminates at an angle oblique to the handle’s elongated axis as illustrated in Carder Fig 1. Moreover, at this end of the handle, Carder’s handle forms a recess identified in Examiner’s Figures above. An artisan practicing Carder would find it useful to grasp the tool at shaft 11, and moreover would feel that shaft 11 is recessed below the level of grip 13.
In the rejection above, Osgood is provided insofar as it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have swapped the grip 13 of Carder for the handle of Osgood. The resulting tool is shown in Examiner’s Figure’s above. Such a tool retains the disputed first “recess” on the handle while introducing a second recess (depression 6) useful for gripping the tool.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB J CIGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 3 June 2026