DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page(s) 1, filed 06/17/2026, with respect to the interpretations of claims 1-2, 10, 20, 22, and 24-25 under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The interpretations of claims 1-2, 10, 20, 22, and 24-25 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page(s) 1, filed 06/17/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 23 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 23 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks page(s) 1-4, filed 06/17/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 18, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 2-3 of Remarks, Applicant argues:
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Paragraphs 0067-0068 of Tsubusaki disclose: “FIG. 5A indicates the angle of field obtained when an object is specified according to an object specifying method that is described below. The size of the face tracking frame 500 a at the time of specifying the object is stored, as a reference object size (reference size), into the memory 118…For example, suppose that the size equivalent to 150% of the size of the face tracking frame 500 a serving as the reference object size is set as a start size for the zoom-out operation. When the object tracking frame (face tracking frame) has reached a relation of “face tracking frame 500 b >face tracking frame 500 a ×150%” (the face tracking frame has changed more than a predetermined amount of change relative to the reference size), the automatic zoom control unit 122 determines to start a zoom-out operation”, and 0072 of Tsubusaki further discloses: “For example, suppose that the size equivalent to 50% of the size of the face tracking frame 500 d serving as the reference object size is set as a start size for the zoom-in operation. When the object tracking frame (face tracking frame) has reached a relation of “face tracking frame 500 e <face tracking frame 500 d ×50%” (the face tracking frame has changed more than a predetermined amount of change relative to the reference size), and the face tracking frame 500 e has been set in the zoom-in region ZI, the automatic zoom control unit 122 determines to start a zoom-in operation”. Tsubusaki discloses a first range for a target object’s size based on a reference object size and maximum and minimum object sizes based on ratios of the reference object size, which are determined in order to prevent the target object from moving outside the image frame as disclosed by 0123-0124 of Tsubusaki.
Thus, Tsubusaki discloses: “(3) set a first range based on (a) the target size and (b) a detection limit size at which the subject can be detected; wherein, in a case where the size of the detected subject is inside the first range, the imaging range of the camera is not changed”, and furthermore discloses the limitations: “wherein the setting the first range includes: (a) setting a second range based on the target size; (b) determining the second range as the first range”.
However, Tsubusaki fails to disclose expressly the claim 1 limitations: “wherein the setting the first range includes: (b) in a case where a difference between a lower limit of the second range and the detection size is not less than a predetermined value, determining the second range as the first range; and (c) in a case where the difference between the lower limit of the second range and the detection size is less than the predetermined value, (i) changing the lower limit of the second range so that the difference between the lower limit of the second range and the detection size is not less than the predetermined value and (ii) determining the changed second range as the first range”, which are taught by Kitagawa, as disclosed in arguments, and in the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103, below.
On pages 3-5 of Remarks, Applicant argues:
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
As disclosed in the response to arguments above, Tsubusaki discloses a portion of the above-discussed claimed features. Kitagawa is relied on to disclose the remaining claim features. More specifically, Tsubusaki fails to disclose expressly the claim 1 limitations: “wherein the setting the first range includes: (b) in a case where a difference between a lower limit of the second range and the detection size is not less than a predetermined value, determining the second range as the first range; and (c) in a case where the difference between the lower limit of the second range and the detection size is less than the predetermined value, (i) changing the lower limit of the second range so that the difference between the lower limit of the second range and the detection size is not less than the predetermined value and (ii) determining the changed second range as the first range”. Thus, Tsubusaki fails to disclose the calculation of a difference between a minimum detection limit size and the threshold size value to begin the zoom-in operation. Wherein, if their difference is below a predetermined value, changing the zoom-in operation threshold size value in order for their difference to not be less than the predetermined value.
Paragraph 0044 of Kitagawa discloses “in the present embodiment, the image analysis unit 110 determines that an object (a moving body) of a size smaller than a particular size (a reference size) is noise. Then, the image analysis unit 110 does not make an object that is determined to be noise a tracking target. Accordingly, a size that can be detected is a size that is defined based on the size that is the reference for determining whether not to make it a tracking target.
As per claim(s) 18 and 20, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 1 are analogous.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, 18, 20, 22, and 24-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsubusaki (US-20160021316-A1) in view of Kitagawa (US-20170064180-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tsubusaki discloses: An information processing device (Tsubusaki: Abstract) comprising: one or more memories storing instructions: and one or more processors (Tsubusaki: 0024) executing the instructions to: (1) detect a subject from an image captured by a camera (Tsubusaki: 0041: “The object detection unit 123 detects a desired object region from image data stored in the image memory 108.”);
(2) obtain information on a target size of the detected subject in the captured image (Tsubusaki: 0066-0067: “FIGS. 5A, 5 B, and 5 C illustrate an example in which, when a person serving as an object has approached the digital camera 100 , the digital camera 100 automatically performs a zoom operation in such a way as to set the proportion of the object to the image plane within a predetermined ratio. In FIGS. 5A to 5F, the face tracking frames 500 a to 500 f are displayed in such a way as to surround the face region as a feature region of a person being an object. Accordingly, the following description is made assuming that the size of the face tracking frame is equal to the object size.
FIG. 5A indicates the angle of field obtained when an object is specified according to an object specifying method that is described below. The size of the face tracking frame 500 a at the time of specifying the object is stored, as a reference object size (reference size), into the memory 118.”; Wherein the reference object size constitutes a target size);
(3) set a first range based on (a) the target size and (b) a detection limit size at which the subject can be detected (Tsubusaki: 0051: “The zoom ratio and zoom speed used during the zoom-out operation are previously set according to the size and movement speed of an object. Furthermore, the zoom ratio and zoom speed may be calculated as appropriate according to the size and movement speed of an object. The zoom-out operation is performed according to the set or calculated zoom magnification and zoom speed.”;
0068: “When the object tracking frame (face tracking frame) has reached a relation of “face tracking frame 500 b >face tracking frame 500 a ×150%” (the face tracking frame has changed more than a predetermined amount of change relative to the reference size), the automatic zoom control unit 122 determines to start a zoom-out operation.”;
0072: “When the object tracking frame (face tracking frame) has reached a relation of “face tracking frame 500 e <face tracking frame 500 d ×50%” (the face tracking frame has changed more than a predetermined amount of change relative to the reference size), and the face tracking frame 500 e has been set in the zoom-in region ZI, the automatic zoom control unit 122 determines to start a zoom-in operation.”;
0123-0124: “If, in step S 1002 , the zoom-out operation for preventing an object from moving to outside the frame has not been performed just before (NO in step S 1002 ), the processing proceeds to step S 1006 . In step S 1006 , the automatic zoom control unit 122 compares the size of the object detected in step S 1000 with the object size of the reference object information set in step S 905 or S 914 . If the size of the object detected in step S 1000 is larger than a predetermined number N1 (N1>1) of times the reference object size…the automatic zoom control unit 122 starts a zoom-out operation…In step S 1007, the automatic zoom control unit 122 compares the size of the object detected in step S 1000 with the object size of the reference object information. If the size of the object detected in step S 1000 is smaller than a predetermined number N2 (N2<1) of times the reference object size, i.e., the ratio of the object to the image plane is less than a predetermined value (YES in step S 1007 ), the processing proceeds to step S 1008.”;
Wherein the object size range is based on a reference object size and a maximum and minimum object size detection values based on the reference object size); and
(4) control an imaging range of the camera based on a size of the detected subject and the set first range, wherein, in a case where the size of the detected subject is outside the first range, the imaging range of the camera is changed, and wherein, in a case where the size of the detected subject is inside the first range, the imaging range of the camera is not changed (Tsubusaki: 0068: “When the object tracking frame (face tracking frame) has reached a relation of “face tracking frame 500 b >face tracking frame 500 a ×150%” (the face tracking frame has changed more than a predetermined amount of change relative to the reference size), the automatic zoom control unit 122 determines to start a zoom-out operation.”;
0072: “When the object tracking frame (face tracking frame) has reached a relation of “face tracking frame 500 e <face tracking frame 500 d ×50%” (the face tracking frame has changed more than a predetermined amount of change relative to the reference size), and the face tracking frame 500 e has been set in the zoom-in region ZI, the automatic zoom control unit 122 determines to start a zoom-in operation.”; Wherein if the subject size is between the determined zoom out and zoom in thresholds, then the imaging range is not changed.), and
wherein the setting the first range includes: (a) setting a second range based on the target size; (b) determining the second range as the first range (Tsubusaki: 0123-0124: “If, in step S 1002 , the zoom-out operation for preventing an object from moving to outside the frame has not been performed just before (NO in step S 1002 ), the processing proceeds to step S 1006 . In step S 1006 , the automatic zoom control unit 122 compares the size of the object detected in step S 1000 with the object size of the reference object information set in step S 905 or S 914 . If the size of the object detected in step S 1000 is larger than a predetermined number N1 (N1>1) of times the reference object size…the automatic zoom control unit 122 starts a zoom-out operation…In step S 1007, the automatic zoom control unit 122 compares the size of the object detected in step S 1000 with the object size of the reference object information. If the size of the object detected in step S 1000 is smaller than a predetermined number N2 (N2<1) of times the reference object size, i.e., the ratio of the object to the image plane is less than a predetermined value (YES in step S 1007 ), the processing proceeds to step S 1008.”).
Tsubusaki does not disclose expressly: wherein the setting the first range includes: (a) setting a second range based on the target size; (b) in a case where a difference between a lower limit of the second range and the detection size is not less than a predetermined value, determining the second range as the first range; and (c) in a case where the difference between the lower limit of the second range and the detection size is less than the predetermined value, (i) changing the lower limit of the second range so that the difference between the lower limit of the second range and the detection size is not less than the predetermined value and (ii) determining the changed second range as the first range.
Thus, Tsubusaki does not disclose expressly: calculating a difference between a zoom in threshold value and the minimum detection size that the camera is able to detect. Wherein, if their difference is below a predetermined value, modifying the zoom-in threshold value, such that their difference is above the predetermined value.
Kitagawa discloses: A method for tracking a target, within a video, through the use of an image sensing device, wherein the tracking target is scaled based on a predicted size of the object (Kitagawa: Abstract). Wherein the method comprises: calculating a difference between a detection limit size and a size of which to track a target within an image, and in a case where their difference is less than the predetermined value, changing the tracking target size so that the difference is not less than the predetermined value (Kitagawa: 0044: “ in the present embodiment, the image analysis unit 110 determines that an object (a moving body) of a size smaller than a particular size (a reference size) is noise. Then, the image analysis unit 110 does not make an object that is determined to be noise a tracking target. Accordingly, a size that can be detected is a size that is defined based on the size that is the reference for determining whether not to make it a tracking target. Leaving some leeway, a size that is slightly larger than the reference size for determining noise may be made to be the later described detectable size. For example, a size that is 1.1 times the size that is the reference for determination of noise may be made to be the detectable size.”;
Wherein the size that is 1.1 times the noise determination size constitutes a predetermined size).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the minimum detectable size calculation taught by Kitagawa into the zoom control system disclosed by Tsubusaki in order to set the zoom-in threshold value based on the camera’s the minimum detection limit size. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been “in order to remove noise due to minute changes in brightness of the sensed video, minute vibrations of the mounting portion of the image sensing device, or the like, noise blocks are determined for differential blocks of a small size among the obtained differential blocks. The noise blocks are blocks that are not object detection targets, and the specific object is detected from non-noise blocks…Leaving some leeway, a size that is slightly larger than the reference size for determining noise may be made to be the later described detectable size. For example, a size that is 1.1 times the size that is the reference for determination of noise may be made to be the detectable size.” (Kitagawa: 0043-0044; Wherein noise may be filtered out while ensuring the size to detect the target does not overlap with the size for detecting noise). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Tsubusaki with Kitagawa to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Tsubusaki in view of Kitagawa discloses: The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to switch, from a plurality of speeds including a first speed and a second speed higher than the first speed, a speed at which to change the imaging range of the camera in accordance with the subject size of the detected subject (Tsubusaki: 0149: “FIG. 14 is a graph illustrating an example of setting for the zoom speed relative to the size ratio, in which the abscissa axis indicates the size ratio and the ordinate axis indicates the zoom speed. The size ratio is calculated by dividing the detected size by the reference size when the detected size is larger than the reference size, and is calculated by dividing the reference size by the detected side when the detected size is smaller than the reference size.”), and wherein a size of the detected subject when switching between the first speed and the second speed is determined based on the detection limit size (Tsubusaki: 0149: “In a case where an object that is moving is tracked via the zoom operation, the zoom speed is set as proportional to the size ratio. In a case where the size ratio becomes greater, i.e., an object is moving at a speed higher than the tracking speed by zooming, the zoom speed is set to a higher speed.”; Wherein as the size ratio deviates from the predetermined size ratio, and thus towards the maximum and minimum object size values determined by the detection limit sizes, the zoom speed is adjusted.).
Regarding claim 3, Tsubusaki in view of Kitagawa discloses: The information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to calculate a movement speed of the detected subject, and wherein the speed is switched at a larger size when the calculated movement speed is faster than a predetermined speed than when the calculated movement speed is less than or equal to the predetermined speed (Tsubusaki: 0149: “In a case where the size ratio becomes greater, i.e., an object is moving at a speed higher than the tracking speed by zooming, the zoom speed is set to a higher speed. On the other hand, when zooming has caught up the object and accordingly as the size ratio approaches “1”, the zoom speed is set to a lower speed.”).
Regarding claim 4, Tsubusaki in view of Kitagawa discloses: The information processing device according to claim 3, wherein the one or more memories further store: (1) a first speed table having a change speed for the imaging range, the first speed table being selected when the calculated movement speed is less than or equal to the predetermined speed; and (2) a second speed table having a change speed for the imaging range, the second speed table being selected when the calculated movement speed is faster than the predetermined speed (Tsubusaki: Figure 14; 0149: “In a case where the size ratio becomes greater, i.e., an object is moving at a speed higher than the tracking speed by zooming, the zoom speed is set to a higher speed…Furthermore, in a case where the distance from the digital camera 100 to the object is short, the zoom speed is set to a higher speed, and in a case where the distance is long, the zoom speed is set to a lower speed. This is because as the distance from the digital camera 100 to the object is shorter, the speed of change of the object size on the image plane is higher even when the object moves at the same time.”; Wherein the line graphs in Figure 14 each constitute a speed table, wherein the closer the object is, the faster the object’s movement appears to be.), and
wherein the first speed table has a change speed associated with the detection limit size as a third speed, and the second speed table has a change speed associated with the detection limit subject size as a fourth speed that is faster than the third speed (Tsubusaki: Figure 14:
;
0149: “In a case where the size ratio becomes greater, i.e., an object is moving at a speed higher than the tracking speed by zooming, the zoom speed is set to a higher speed. On the other hand, when zooming has caught up the object and accordingly as the size ratio approaches “1”, the zoom speed is set to a lower speed. Furthermore, in a case where the distance from the digital camera 100 to the object is short, the zoom speed is set to a higher speed, and in a case where the distance is long, the zoom speed is set to a lower speed. This is because as the distance from the digital camera 100 to the object is shorter, the speed of change of the object size on the image plane is higher even when the object moves at the same time.”; Wherein, as shown by Figure 14, the closer the object is to the camera’s detection limit size, the faster the camera’s zoom speed is.).
Regarding claim 5, Tsubusaki in view of Kitagawa discloses: The information processing device according to claim 4, wherein in the second speed table, the change speed associated with each of sizes of the detected subject is faster than the corresponding change speed associated with each of the sizes in the first speed table (Tsubusaki: Figure 14:
;
0149: “In a case where the size ratio becomes greater, i.e., an object is moving at a speed higher than the tracking speed by zooming, the zoom speed is set to a higher speed. On the other hand, when zooming has caught up the object and accordingly as the size ratio approaches “1”, the zoom speed is set to a lower speed. Furthermore, in a case where the distance from the digital camera 100 to the object is short, the zoom speed is set to a higher speed, and in a case where the distance is long, the zoom speed is set to a lower speed. This is because as the distance from the digital camera 100 to the object is shorter, the speed of change of the object size on the image plane is higher even when the object moves at the same time.”; Wherein, as shown by Figure 14, the closer the object is to the camera’s detection limit size, the faster the camera’s zoom speed is.).
Regarding claim 6, Tsubusaki in view of Kitagawa discloses: The information processing device according to claim 4, wherein the second speed table is configured such that the change speed associated with the detection limit size is a fastest change speed in the second speed table (Kitagawa: 0044: “ in the present embodiment, the image analysis unit 110 determines that an object (a moving body) of a size smaller than a particular size (a reference size) is noise. Then, the image analysis unit 110 does not make an object that is determined to be noise a tracking target. Accordingly, a size that can be detected is a size that is defined based on the size that is the reference for determining whether not to make it a tracking target. Leaving some leeway, a size that is slightly larger than the reference size for determining noise may be made to be the later described detectable size. For example, a size that is 1.1 times the size that is the reference for determination of noise may be made to be the detectable size.”).
(Tsubusaki: Figure 14:
;
0068: “When the object tracking frame (face tracking frame) has reached a relation of “face tracking frame 500 b >face tracking frame 500 a ×150%” (the face tracking frame has changed more than a predetermined amount of change relative to the reference size), the automatic zoom control unit 122 determines to start a zoom-out operation.”;
0072: “When the object tracking frame (face tracking frame) has reached a relation of “face tracking frame 500 e <face tracking frame 500 d ×50%” (the face tracking frame has changed more than a predetermined amount of change relative to the reference size), and the face tracking frame 500 e has been set in the zoom-in region ZI, the automatic zoom control unit 122 determines to start a zoom-in operation.”;
0149: “In a case where the size ratio becomes greater, i.e., an object is moving at a speed higher than the tracking speed by zooming, the zoom speed is set to a higher speed. On the other hand, when zooming has caught up the object and accordingly as the size ratio approaches “1”, the zoom speed is set to a lower speed. Furthermore, in a case where the distance from the digital camera 100 to the object is short, the zoom speed is set to a higher speed, and in a case where the distance is long, the zoom speed is set to a lower speed. This is because as the distance from the digital camera 100 to the object is shorter, the speed of change of the object size on the image plane is higher even when the object moves at the same time.”;
Wherein the change speed continues to increase as the size ratio increases until the object reaches the detection limit size and can no longer detect the object.).
Regarding claim 7, Tsubusaki in view of Kitagawa discloses: The information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to calculate a movement speed of the detected subject in a case where the size of the detected subject is smaller than a predetermined size (Tsubusaki: 0130: “The size ratio is calculated by dividing the detected size by the reference size when the detected size is larger than the reference size, and is calculated by dividing the reference size by the detected side when the detected size is smaller than the reference size. In a case where an object that is moving is tracked via the zoom operation, the zoom speed is set as proportional to the size ratio. In a case where the size ratio becomes greater, i.e., an object is moving at a speed higher than the tracking speed by zooming, the zoom speed is set to a higher speed”; Wherein the speed of the object is determined once the object reaches a size it can be detected at.).
Regarding claim 10, Tsubusaki in view of Kitagawa discloses: The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the size is determined based on a ratio of a width of the detected subject to a width of the image captured by the camera (Tsubusaki: 0101: “the automatic zoom control unit 122 determines an image plane size used to calculate the reference size, according to the orientation of the digital camera 100 determined by the orientation detection unit 124 . In the present exemplary embodiment, an example in which the image plane size is Video Graphics Array (VGA) (longer side×shorter side=640×480) is described. However, the image plane size is not restrictive. If the digital camera 100 is held in a normal position (YES in step S 911 ), the automatic zoom control unit 122 calculates, as a reference size, the ratio of the size of a face to the size of the image plane in the shorter side direction.”; Wherein the reference subject size is determined based on a ratio of a width of a subject to a width of the image.).
As per claim(s) 18, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 1 are analogous.
As per claim(s) 20, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 1 are analogous.
Regarding claim 22, Tsubusaki in view of Kitagawa discloses: The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to determine a speed at which to change the imaging range of the camera in accordance with the size of the detected subject (Tsubusaki: 0149: “FIG. 14 is a graph illustrating an example of setting for the zoom speed relative to the size ratio, in which the abscissa axis indicates the size ratio and the ordinate axis indicates the zoom speed…In a case where an object that is moving is tracked via the zoom operation, the zoom speed is set as proportional to the size ratio. In a case where the size ratio becomes greater, i.e., an object is moving at a speed higher than the tracking speed by zooming, the zoom speed is set to a higher speed.”).
Regarding claim 24, Tsubusaki in view of Kitagawa discloses: The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein in a case where a size of the detected subject is larger than the detection limit size and is smaller than the lower limit of the first range, the imaging range of the camera is changed (Kitagawa: 0044: “ in the present embodiment, the image analysis unit 110 determines that an object (a moving body) of a size smaller than a particular size (a reference size) is noise. Then, the image analysis unit 110 does not make an object that is determined to be noise a tracking target. Accordingly, a size that can be detected is a size that is defined based on the size that is the reference for determining whether not to make it a tracking target. Leaving some leeway, a size that is slightly larger than the reference size for determining noise may be made to be the later described detectable size. For example, a size that is 1.1 times the size that is the reference for determination of noise may be made to be the detectable size.”)
(Tsubusaki: 0072: “When the object tracking frame (face tracking frame) has reached a relation of “face tracking frame 500 e <face tracking frame 500 d ×50%” (the face tracking frame has changed more than a predetermined amount of change relative to the reference size), and the face tracking frame 500 e has been set in the zoom-in region ZI, the automatic zoom control unit 122 determines to start a zoom-in operation.”; Wherein if the object being tracked is less than a zoom-in operation threshold, which is determined based on a minimum detection limit size, the zoom in operation constitutes the changing imaging range of the camera ).
Regarding claim 25, Tsubusaki in view of Kitagawa discloses: The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein in a case where a size of the detected subject is larger than the detection limit size and is smaller than the lower limit of the first range, the camera is zoomed in (Kitagawa: 0044: “ in the present embodiment, the image analysis unit 110 determines that an object (a moving body) of a size smaller than a particular size (a reference size) is noise. Then, the image analysis unit 110 does not make an object that is determined to be noise a tracking target. Accordingly, a size that can be detected is a size that is defined based on the size that is the reference for determining whether not to make it a tracking target. Leaving some leeway, a size that is slightly larger than the reference size for determining noise may be made to be the later described detectable size. For example, a size that is 1.1 times the size that is the reference for determination of noise may be made to be the detectable size.”)
(Tsubusaki: 0072: “When the object tracking frame (face tracking frame) has reached a relation of “face tracking frame 500 e <face tracking frame 500 d ×50%” (the face tracking frame has changed more than a predetermined amount of change relative to the reference size), and the face tracking frame 500 e has been set in the zoom-in region ZI, the automatic zoom control unit 122 determines to start a zoom-in operation.”; Wherein if the object being tracked is less than a zoom-in operation threshold, which is determined based on a minimum detection limit size, and thus is also greater than the minimum detection limit size.).
Regarding claim 26, Tsubusaki in view of Kitagawa discloses: The information processing device according to claim 24, wherein the predetermined value is determined based on the target size (Tsubusaki: 0072: “When the object tracking frame (face tracking frame) has reached a relation of “face tracking frame 500 e <face tracking frame 500 d ×50%” (the face tracking frame has changed more than a predetermined amount of change relative to the reference size), and the face tracking frame 500 e has been set in the zoom-in region ZI, the automatic zoom control unit 122 determines to start a zoom-in operation.”).
Regarding claim 27, Tsubusaki in view of Kitagawa discloses: The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the detection limit size is smaller than the target size (Kitagawa: 0044: “ in the present embodiment, the image analysis unit 110 determines that an object (a moving body) of a size smaller than a particular size (a reference size) is noise. Then, the image analysis unit 110 does not make an object that is determined to be noise a tracking target. Accordingly, a size that can be detected is a size that is defined based on the size that is the reference for determining whether not to make it a tracking target. Leaving some leeway, a size that is slightly larger than the reference size for determining noise may be made to be the later described detectable size. For example, a size that is 1.1 times the size that is the reference for determination of noise may be made to be the detectable size.”)
(Tsubusaki: 0072: “When the object tracking frame (face tracking frame) has reached a relation of “face tracking frame 500 e <face tracking frame 500 d ×50%” (the face tracking frame has changed more than a predetermined amount of change relative to the reference size), and the face tracking frame 500 e has been set in the zoom-in region ZI, the automatic zoom control unit 122 determines to start a zoom-in operation.”; Wherein the zoom-in operation threshold is determined to be greater than a minimum detection limit size).
Regarding claim 28, Tsubusaki in view of Kitagawa discloses: The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the target size is designated by a user (Tsubusaki: 0062: “First, the setting of a size (a composition pattern) serving as a reference for an object to be tracked on the image plane is described with reference to FIGS. 6A, 6 B, 6 C, and 6 D…FIG. 6A indicates a screen display in a case where the composition pattern is set to “manual”. At the time of the “manual” setting, the operator performs manual zoom by operating a zoom lever while viewing a person displayed in the image plane, thus changing the size of the face to be tracked, and stores the changed object size (the size of the face), as a reference size, into the memory 118 .”).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsubusaki in view of Kitagawa, and in further view of Yanagi (JP-2013009435-A).
Regarding claim 8, Tsubusaki in view of Kitagawa discloses: The information processing device according to claim 7.
Tsubusaki in view of Kitagawa does not disclose expressly: wherein the predetermined size is included in the first range.
Thus, Tsubusaki in view of Kitagawa does not disclose expressly, the calculation of movement speed when the subject size is smaller than the predetermined subject size included in the first range.
Yanagi discloses: the calculation of the movement speed for any subject being tracked (Yanagi: 0088-0090: “In step S22, the control unit 22 identifies any moving subject within the shooting range captured via the lens unit 12 and the image sensor 13 as a tracking target…In step S23, the control unit 22 starts tracking the subject identified in step S22…In step S24, the control unit 22 detects the speed of the subject being tracked.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the known technique of tracking the speed of subjects prior to determining whether a camera zoom operation is needed disclosed by Yanagi into the method for camera zoom control disclosed by Tsubusaki in view of Kitagawa. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been “Therefore, when the subject is moving at high speed, it may be better to control the zoom out so that it is triggered only by the speed, without taking into account the direction of movement of the subject, as this may provide the user with a quick opportunity to take a photo without causing the subject being tracked to disappear from the display unit 26.” (Yanagi: 0108; Wherein the calculation of speed prior to size allows for the system to make quicker decisions, if needed.). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Tsubusaki in view of Kitagawa with Yanagi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY J RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2672
/SUMATI LEFKOWITZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2672