DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 24, 25 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabella et al (US Pub. No. 2022/0086864 A1 corresponding to PCT Publication No. WO 2020/185794 A1 and PCT/US2020/021914, cited by the foreign office action in the IDS filed June 15, 2026) in view of Seetharaman et al (US Pub. No. 2021/0306938 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Sabella et al teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
computer-implementing network, comprising a plurality of virtualized network functions, to operate an end-to-end slice of a 5G (fifth generation) network, the 5G network comprising a radio access network (RAN), a multi-access edge compute (MEC) network (para [0040]; “The MEC communication infrastructure 100A can include entities from a MEC-based architecture as well as entities from a third-generation partnership project (3GPP) based architecture. For example, the MEC communication infrastructure 100A can include a plurality of MEC hosts such as MEC hosts 102 and 104, a MEC platform manager 106, and a MEC orchestrator 108. The 3GPP based entities can include a centralized core network (CN) 110 coupled to an application server 114 via the network 112 (e.g., the Internet), as well as radio access networks (RANs) represented by base stations 148 and 150 coupled to corresponding user equipments (UEs) 152 and 154.”), and a wide area network (WAN) (para [0182]; “FIG. 9 illustrates a block diagram of a cloud computing network, or cloud 900, in communication with several computing devices, according to an example. The cloud computing network (or “cloud”) 900 may represent the Internet or maybe a local area network (LAN), or a wide area network (WAN), such as a proprietary network for a company.”);
exposing a user interface to enable a user to select a property that is applicable to the end-to-end 5G network slice (para [0129]: “One or more of the functions performed in connection with slice management can be initiated based on user requests (e.g., via a UE), based on a request by a service provider, or maybe triggered automatically in connection with an existing Service Level Agreement (SLA) specifying slice-related performance objectives. In some aspects, the slice management functions in connection with network slices 480 can be facilitated by E2E multi-slice support functions for MEC-enabled 5G deployments, provided by the MEC NFV-SCF 434 within the MEC host 402, the MEC platform manager 406, or within another MEC entity.”);
implementing a slice controller that is operatively coupled to physical infrastructure underlying the RAN including a radio frequency (RF) air interface to user equipment (UE) provided by a radio unit (RU), the slice controller being further operatively coupled to physical infrastructure underlying the MEC network (para [0120]; “A RAN 304G can support differentiated handling of traffic between preconfigured, isolated RAN NSIs (or RAN slices) 308G and 310G. The selection of the RAN slice may be based on IDs (which can be the slice service type and slice differentiator defined above) provided by the device (e.g., UE 302G) or the core network. A RAN NSI may or may not be available at a given location. In some aspects, the RAN 304G (or another network entity within the 5G system, such as a MEC entity when the 5G system is MEC-enabled as discussed hereinbelow) may configure network resources forming an NSI.”) and the WAN, wherein the WAN includes one or more long-haul optical systems (para [0164]; “The backbone links 702 may include any number of wired or wireless technologies, including optical networks, and may be part of a local area network (LAN), a wide area network (WAN), or the Internet. Additionally, such communication links facilitate optical signal paths among both computing devices 704 and gateways 754, including the use of MUXing/deMUXing components that facilitate the interconnection of the various devices.”); and
operating the slice controller to instantiate the end-to-end 5G network slice, the instantiated end-to-end 5G network slice including a slice of the RAN, a slice of the MEC network, and a slice of the WAN, wherein the user-selected property is provisioned across the instantiated 5G network slice from end to end (para [0072]; “…the MEC host 102 includes an MEC NFV-SCF module 121, which is configured according to techniques disclosed herein to provide E2E multi-slice support for configuring network resources associated with network slice instances within MEC-enabled 5G communication systems, to optimize the instantiation of MEC apps and virtualized resources associated with the NSI. In some aspects, the MEC NFV-SCF module 121 can be incorporated as a standalone server or an application running on a virtual machine, which is accessible to the 5G core 306 as well as the MEC host 102. In some aspects, the 5G core 306 can provide slice management functionalities performed by the slice management module 164, as disclosed herein and with the assistance of the MEC NFV-SCF.”; para [0086]; “…the NEF 356 can provide an interface to a MEC host such as MEC host 102, which can be used to process wireless connections with the RAN 304. In some aspects, the MEC host 102 may be used to implement NFV-SCF functions and provide E2E multi-slice support for configuring network resources associated with network slice instances within MEC-enabled 5G communication systems, to optimize the instantiation of MEC apps and virtualized resources associated with the NSI.”).
Sabella et al teaches network slicing in computer implemented network, as discussed above, and differs from the claimed invention in that Sabella et al does not specifically teach that the computer implement network is implemented using software-defined network. Seetharaman et al teaches dynamic network slicing using software-defined network (para [0032]; “Each of the plurality of network segments may include network functions and interconnections. Further, each of the plurality of network segments may also include a domain controller or orchestrator. The RAN network segment 102 may include a RAN Orchestrator 108 and a plurality of Virtual Network Functions (VNFs) 110 and a plurality of Physical Network Functions (PNFs) 112. The VNFs 110 and PNFs 112 may be specific to a RAN slice subnet (102a to 102n) or may be shared across more than one RAN slice subnets 102a to 102n in the RAN network segment 102. The transport/backhaul network segment 104 may include a Software Defined Network Orchestrator (SDNO) 114,…”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the computer implemented method of Sabella et al by providing software-define network, as taught by Seetharaman et al, in order to centralized management and hence provide rapid scalability, robust security, and deep automation.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Sabella et al as modified by Seetharaman et al teaches methods that enable the properties of the 5G network slice to be provisioned across disparate domains (Sabella et al: para [0037]; “Techniques disclosed herein are focused on the role of Multi-access Edge Computing (MEC) in supporting 5G network slicing. In some aspects, techniques disclosed herein can be used to achieve and guarantee E2E latency requirements of a network slice when instantiated in a MEC-enabled 5G deployments using a slice control function (SCF) within a network function virtualization (NFV) domain (also referred to as NFV-SCF). The discussed communication systems incorporate a MEC system, the architecture of which (including the various MEC-related interfaces and reference points) is specified in ETSI GS MEC-003 and ETSI GR MEC-024, deployed in a 5G system (which may or may not be virtualized), the system architecture of which is specified in at least 3GPP TS 23.501. In some aspects, the 5G system may be fully virtualized, with all logical functions (i.e., network functions (NFs) and also application functions (AFs)) being virtualized. Various MEC-related interfaces and reference points discussed herein are further defined in the following ETSI-related technical specifications: ETSI GS MEC-003 and ETSI GR MEC-024 specifications.”).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Sabella et al as modified by Seetharaman et al teaches the user-selected property pertains to a guarantee for one of quality of service (QoS), security, privacy, or customer policy (Sabella et al: para [0293]; “Example 1 is a system configured to track network slicing operations within a Fifth Generation (5G) communication network, the system comprising: memory; and processing circuitry coupled to the memory, the processing circuitry configured to determine a network slice instance (NSI) associated with a quality of service (QoS) flow of a user equipment (UE), the NSI communicating data for a network function virtualization (NFV) instance of a Multi-Access Edge Computing (MEC) system within the 5G communication network; retrieve latency information for a plurality of communication links used by the NSI, the plurality of communication links including a first set of non-MEC communication links associated with a radio access network (RAN) of the 5G communication network and a second set of MEC communication links associated with the MEC system; generate a slice configuration policy based on the retrieved latency information and slice-specific attributes of the NSI; and reconfigure network resources of the 5G communication network used by the NSI based on the generated slice configuration policy.”).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Sabella et al as modified by Seetharaman et al teaches adding an identifier to data packets carried on the 5G network slice to identify data traffic that is subject to the user-selected property (Sabella et al: para [0120]; “A RAN 304G can support differentiated handling of traffic between preconfigured, isolated RAN NSIs (or RAN slices) 308G and 310G. The selection of the RAN slice may be based on IDs (which can be the slice service type and slice differentiator defined above) provided by the device (e.g., UE 302G) or the core network. A RAN NSI may or may not be available at a given location. In some aspects, the RAN 304G (or another network entity within the 5G system, such as a MEC entity when the 5G system is MEC-enabled as discussed hereinbelow) may configure network resources forming an NSI.”).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabella et al (US Pub. No. 2022/0086864 A1) in view of Seetharaman et al (US Pub. No. 2021/0306938 A1) and further in view of Huang et al (US Pub. No. 2022/0225223 A1).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Sabella et al as modified by Seetharaman et al teaches WAN systems (Sabella et al: para [0164]; “The backbone links 702 may include any number of wired or wireless technologies, including optical networks, and may be part of a local area network (LAN), a wide area network (WAN), or the Internet. Additionally, such communication links facilitate optical signal paths among both computing devices 704 and gateways 754, including the use of MUXing/deMUXing components that facilitate the interconnection of the various devices.”) and differs from the claimed invention in that the combination does not specifically teach that the WAN further comprises a satellite link. Huang et al teaches communication system comprising plurality of network system comprising core network including satellite network (para [0025]; “Core network 206 may include a local area network (LAN), a wide area network (WAN), a metropolitan area network (MAN), an optical network, a cable television network, a satellite network, a wireless network, a general packet radio service (GPRS) network, an LTE network (e.g., a 4G network), a 5G network, an ad hoc network, a telephone network, an intranet, or a combination of networks.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the WAN systems of the combination by communicating with satellite system, as taught by Huang et al, in order to increase coverage across vast area.
Claims 23 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabella et al (US Pub. No. 2022/0086864 A1) in view of Seetharaman et al (US Pub. No. 2021/0306938 A1) and further in view of Perry et al (US Pub. No. 2023/0216593 A1).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Sabella et al as modified by Seetharaman et al teaches plurality of networks including 5G network and WAN systems (Sabella et al: para [0120]; “A RAN 304G can support differentiated handling of traffic between preconfigured, isolated RAN NSIs (or RAN slices) 308G and 310G. The selection of the RAN slice may be based on IDs (which can be the slice service type and slice differentiator defined above) provided by the device (e.g., UE 302G) or the core network. A RAN NSI may or may not be available at a given location. In some aspects, the RAN 304G (or another network entity within the 5G system, such as a MEC entity when the 5G system is MEC-enabled as discussed hereinbelow) may configure network resources forming an NSI.”) and wherein the WAN includes one or more long-haul optical systems (para [0164]; “The backbone links 702 may include any number of wired or wireless technologies, including optical networks, and may be part of a local area network (LAN), a wide area network (WAN), or the Internet. Additionally, such communication links facilitate optical signal paths among both computing devices 704 and gateways 754, including the use of MUXing/deMUXing components that facilitate the interconnection of the various devices.”).
The combination differs from the claimed invention in that the combination does not specifically teach the WAN slice comprises a discrete wavelength that is dedicated to data traffic traversing the 5G network slice. Perry et al teaches plurality of networks transitioning between optical network comprising discrete wavelength (para [0021]; “The access terminal 112 can include a digital subscriber line access multiplexer (DSLAM), cable modem termination system (CMTS), optical line terminal (OLT) and/or other access terminal. The data terminals 114 can include personal computers, laptop computers, netbook computers, tablets or other computing devices along with digital subscriber line (DSL) modems, data over coax service interface specification (DOCSIS) modems or other cable modems, a wireless modem such as a 4G, 5G, or higher generation modem, an optical modem and/or other access devices.”; para [0030]; “The optical wavelength converter 210 can convert standard 1310 nm wavelength “gray” optical signals to 1520 nm-1577 nm wavelength “colored” optical signals. For example, transmit modulated data carried on first light with a 1310 nm wavelength can be converted so that the same data is transmit modulated onto second light with a 1550 nm wavelength (or any of the discrete wavelengths in the 1520 nm to 1577 nm ranges that are associated with the DWDM standard. In one embodiment, a DWDM standard system can divide the 1520 nm to 1577 nm range into 40 channels, with each channel centered at a discrete wavelength, such as 1520.25 nm, 1521.20 nm, 1521.79 nm, and so forth, up to 1577.03 nm.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the WAN systems of the combination by providing WAN slice comprises a discrete wavelength, as taught by Perry et al, in order to increase bandwidth by allowing multiple independent discrete wavelengths to travel through optical network.
Regarding claim 27, in view of the above combination, Perry et al teaches allocating optical spectrum, comprising one or more wavelengths, to the WAN slice (para [0030]; “The optical wavelength converter 210 can convert standard 1310 nm wavelength “gray” optical signals to 1520 nm-1577 nm wavelength “colored” optical signals. For example, transmit modulated data carried on first light with a 1310 nm wavelength can be converted so that the same data is transmit modulated onto second light with a 1550 nm wavelength (or any of the discrete wavelengths in the 1520 nm to 1577 nm ranges that are associated with the DWDM standard. In one embodiment, a DWDM standard system can divide the 1520 nm to 1577 nm range into 40 channels, with each channel centered at a discrete wavelength, such as 1520.25 nm, 1521.20 nm, 1521.79 nm, and so forth, up to 1577.03 nm.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 30-40 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 30, Zhang (US Patent No. 11,622,252) teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable memory devices storing computer-executable instructions which, upon execution by one or more processors disposed in a computing device (see col. 20, lines 48-58; “Acts associated with the method described herein can be implemented as coded instructions in plural computer program products. … each computer program product is a computer-readable medium upon which software code is recorded to execute appropriate portions of the method when a computer program product is loaded into memory and executed on the microprocessor of a computing device.”), cause the computing device to:
provide an end-to-end slice of a 5G (fifth generation) network comprising a radio access network (RAN) (see col. 4, line 66 to col. 5, line 3; “The virtualization of network functions is considered to be a foundational technology for the architecture of flexible 5G networks.”; see col. 5,lines 37-61; “With reference to FIG. 1, at the bottom of the figure, there are the radio access network (RAN) infrastructure network providers (RAN infrastructure network providers 111, RAN infrastructure network providers 112, RAN infrastructure network providers 113, RAN infrastructure network providers 114 and RAN infrastructure network providers 115),…”);
exposing a user interface to enable a user to select properties that are applicable to the end-to-end 5G network slice (see col. 5, lines 10-20; “…network slicing is a network architecture that enables the multiplexing of virtualized and independent logical networks on the same physical network infrastructure. Each network slice is an isolated end-to-end network tailored to fulfil diverse requirements requested by a particular application or customer or user. This service-oriented view of the network leverages on the concepts of software defined networks (SDN) and network function virtualization (NFV) that allow for the implementation of flexible and scalable network slices on top of a common network infrastructure.”); and,
implementing a RAN slice (see col. 5, lines 37-61; “FIG. 1 illustrates a potential configuration 100 of at least some of the providers or players associated with wireless communication networks. With reference to FIG. 1, at the bottom of the figure, there are the radio access network (RAN) infrastructure network providers (RAN infrastructure network providers 111, RAN infrastructure network providers 112, RAN infrastructure network providers 113, RAN infrastructure network providers 114 and RAN infrastructure network providers 115), … With further reference to FIG. 1, business service provider 151 uses slices 141 provided by a slice provider (not shown in FIG. 1), which uses RAN infrastructure network provided by RAN infrastructure network provider 111, RAN infrastructure network provider 112 and RAN infrastructure network provider 113. RAN infrastructure network providers 111, 112 and 113 use equipment from equipment providers 161, 162 and 163 and further use the data center from data center provider 131. On the other hand, business service provider 153 uses slices 142 provided by another slice provider (not shown in FIG. 1), which uses RAN infrastructure network provided by RAN infrastructure network providers 113, 114 and 115.”).
Sabella et al (US Pub. No. 2022/0086864 A1) teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
computer-implementing network, comprising a plurality of virtualized network functions, to operate an end-to-end slice of a 5G (fifth generation) network, the 5G network comprising a radio access network (RAN), a multi-access edge compute (MEC) network (para [0040]; “The MEC communication infrastructure 100A can include entities from a MEC-based architecture as well as entities from a third-generation partnership project (3GPP) based architecture. For example, the MEC communication infrastructure 100A can include a plurality of MEC hosts such as MEC hosts 102 and 104, a MEC platform manager 106, and a MEC orchestrator 108. The 3GPP based entities can include a centralized core network (CN) 110 coupled to an application server 114 via the network 112 (e.g., the Internet), as well as radio access networks (RANs) represented by base stations 148 and 150 coupled to corresponding user equipments (UEs) 152 and 154.”), and a wide area network (WAN) (para [0182]; “FIG. 9 illustrates a block diagram of a cloud computing network, or cloud 900, in communication with several computing devices, according to an example. The cloud computing network (or “cloud”) 900 may represent the Internet or maybe a local area network (LAN), or a wide area network (WAN), such as a proprietary network for a company.”);
exposing a user interface to enable a user to select a property that is applicable to the end-to-end 5G network slice (para [0129]: “One or more of the functions performed in connection with slice management can be initiated based on user requests (e.g., via a UE), based on a request by a service provider, or maybe triggered automatically in connection with an existing Service Level Agreement (SLA) specifying slice-related performance objectives. In some aspects, the slice management functions in connection with network slices 480 can be facilitated by E2E multi-slice support functions for MEC-enabled 5G deployments, provided by the MEC NFV-SCF 434 within the MEC host 402, the MEC platform manager 406, or within another MEC entity.”);
implementing a slice controller that is operatively coupled to physical infrastructure underlying the RAN including a radio frequency (RF) air interface to user equipment (UE) provided by a radio unit (RU), the slice controller being further operatively coupled to physical infrastructure underlying the MEC network (para [0120]; “A RAN 304G can support differentiated handling of traffic between preconfigured, isolated RAN NSIs (or RAN slices) 308G and 310G. The selection of the RAN slice may be based on IDs (which can be the slice service type and slice differentiator defined above) provided by the device (e.g., UE 302G) or the core network. A RAN NSI may or may not be available at a given location. In some aspects, the RAN 304G (or another network entity within the 5G system, such as a MEC entity when the 5G system is MEC-enabled as discussed hereinbelow) may configure network resources forming an NSI.”) and the WAN, wherein the WAN includes one or more long-haul optical systems (para [0164]; “The backbone links 702 may include any number of wired or wireless technologies, including optical networks, and may be part of a local area network (LAN), a wide area network (WAN), or the Internet. Additionally, such communication links facilitate optical signal paths among both computing devices 704 and gateways 754, including the use of MUXing/deMUXing components that facilitate the interconnection of the various devices.”); and
operating the slice controller to instantiate the end-to-end 5G network slice, the instantiated end-to-end 5G network slice including a slice of the RAN, a slice of the MEC network, and a slice of the WAN, wherein the user-selected property is provisioned across the instantiated 5G network slice from end to end (para [0072]; “…the MEC host 102 includes an MEC NFV-SCF module 121, which is configured according to techniques disclosed herein to provide E2E multi-slice support for configuring network resources associated with network slice instances within MEC-enabled 5G communication systems, to optimize the instantiation of MEC apps and virtualized resources associated with the NSI. In some aspects, the MEC NFV-SCF module 121 can be incorporated as a standalone server or an application running on a virtual machine, which is accessible to the 5G core 306 as well as the MEC host 102. In some aspects, the 5G core 306 can provide slice management functionalities performed by the slice management module 164, as disclosed herein and with the assistance of the MEC NFV-SCF.”; para [0086]; “…the NEF 356 can provide an interface to a MEC host such as MEC host 102, which can be used to process wireless connections with the RAN 304. In some aspects, the MEC host 102 may be used to implement NFV-SCF functions and provide E2E multi-slice support for configuring network resources associated with network slice instances within MEC-enabled 5G communication systems, to optimize the instantiation of MEC apps and virtualized resources associated with the NSI.”).
However, none of the prior art cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach:
create a WAN (wide area network) slice comprising a selected subset of nodes of a WAN that is utilized as a portion of a transport network of a 5G (fifth generation) network to provide point-to-point transport of 5G network traffic from an entry node to a destination node in an optical domain described by a selected wavelength that is contiguously utilized across the subset of nodes, the WAN slice including at least one intermediate node between the entry node and the destination node;
create a RAN (radio access network) slice comprising a selected subset of physical radio resources that are applicable to an air interface of the RAN slice, wherein the RAN slice is instantiated from a multi-access compute (MEC) network providing access for user equipment (UE) to the air interface;
stitch the created RAN slice and WAN slice together into an end-to-end 5G network slice, from the air interface to the destination node, over which privileged traffic is carried; and
extend a security property to the privileged traffic across the end-to-end 5G network slice.
Regarding claim 35, Zhang (US Patent No. 11,622,252) teaches a computing device operable on a 5G (fifth generation) network (see col. 4, line 66 to col. 5, line 3; “The virtualization of network functions is considered to be a foundational technology for the architecture of flexible 5G networks.”), comprising:
at least one processor (see col. 18, lines 32-36; “…the memory 820 or mass storage 830 may have recorded thereon statements and instructions executable by the processor 810 for performing any of the aforementioned method steps described above.”); and
at least one hardware-based non-transitory computer-readable storage device having computer-executable instructions stored thereon which, when executed by the least one processor (see col. 20, lines 48-58; “Acts associated with the method described herein can be implemented as coded instructions in plural computer program products. … each computer program product is a computer-readable medium upon which software code is recorded to execute appropriate portions of the method when a computer program product is loaded into memory and executed on the microprocessor of a computing device.”), cause the computing device to instantiate a slice controller on the computing device, (see col. 4, line 66 to col. 5, line 3; “The virtualization of network functions is considered to be a foundational technology for the architecture of flexible 5G networks.”);
expose a user interface to the instantiated slice controller that is configured to enable a user to select a property that is applicable to the created 5G network slice (see col. 5, lines 10-20; “…network slicing is a network architecture that enables the multiplexing of virtualized and independent logical networks on the same physical network infrastructure. Each network slice is an isolated end-to-end network tailored to fulfil diverse requirements requested by a particular application or customer or user. This service-oriented view of the network leverages on the concepts of software defined networks (SDN) and network function virtualization (NFV) that allow for the implementation of flexible and scalable network slices on top of a common network infrastructure.”; ); and,
operate a RAN slice (see col. 5, lines 37-61; “FIG. 1 illustrates a potential configuration 100 of at least some of the providers or players associated with wireless communication networks. With reference to FIG. 1, at the bottom of the figure, there are the radio access network (RAN) infrastructure network providers (RAN infrastructure network providers 111, RAN infrastructure network providers 112, RAN infrastructure network providers 113, RAN infrastructure network providers 114 and RAN infrastructure network providers 115), … With further reference to FIG. 1, business service provider 151 uses slices 141 provided by a slice provider (not shown in FIG. 1), which uses RAN infrastructure network provided by RAN infrastructure network provider 111, RAN infrastructure network provider 112 and RAN infrastructure network provider 113. RAN infrastructure network providers 111, 112 and 113 use equipment from equipment providers 161, 162 and 163 and further use the data center from data center provider 131. On the other hand, business service provider 153 uses slices 142 provided by another slice provider (not shown in FIG. 1), which uses RAN infrastructure network provided by RAN infrastructure network providers 113, 114 and 115.”).
Sabella et al (US Pub. No. 2022/0086864 A1) teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
computer-implementing network, comprising a plurality of virtualized network functions, to operate an end-to-end slice of a 5G (fifth generation) network, the 5G network comprising a radio access network (RAN), a multi-access edge compute (MEC) network (para [0040]; “The MEC communication infrastructure 100A can include entities from a MEC-based architecture as well as entities from a third-generation partnership project (3GPP) based architecture. For example, the MEC communication infrastructure 100A can include a plurality of MEC hosts such as MEC hosts 102 and 104, a MEC platform manager 106, and a MEC orchestrator 108. The 3GPP based entities can include a centralized core network (CN) 110 coupled to an application server 114 via the network 112 (e.g., the Internet), as well as radio access networks (RANs) represented by base stations 148 and 150 coupled to corresponding user equipments (UEs) 152 and 154.”), and a wide area network (WAN) (para [0182]; “FIG. 9 illustrates a block diagram of a cloud computing network, or cloud 900, in communication with several computing devices, according to an example. The cloud computing network (or “cloud”) 900 may represent the Internet or maybe a local area network (LAN), or a wide area network (WAN), such as a proprietary network for a company.”);
exposing a user interface to enable a user to select a property that is applicable to the end-to-end 5G network slice (para [0129]: “One or more of the functions performed in connection with slice management can be initiated based on user requests (e.g., via a UE), based on a request by a service provider, or maybe triggered automatically in connection with an existing Service Level Agreement (SLA) specifying slice-related performance objectives. In some aspects, the slice management functions in connection with network slices 480 can be facilitated by E2E multi-slice support functions for MEC-enabled 5G deployments, provided by the MEC NFV-SCF 434 within the MEC host 402, the MEC platform manager 406, or within another MEC entity.”);
implementing a slice controller that is operatively coupled to physical infrastructure underlying the RAN including a radio frequency (RF) air interface to user equipment (UE) provided by a radio unit (RU), the slice controller being further operatively coupled to physical infrastructure underlying the MEC network (para [0120]; “A RAN 304G can support differentiated handling of traffic between preconfigured, isolated RAN NSIs (or RAN slices) 308G and 310G. The selection of the RAN slice may be based on IDs (which can be the slice service type and slice differentiator defined above) provided by the device (e.g., UE 302G) or the core network. A RAN NSI may or may not be available at a given location. In some aspects, the RAN 304G (or another network entity within the 5G system, such as a MEC entity when the 5G system is MEC-enabled as discussed hereinbelow) may configure network resources forming an NSI.”) and the WAN, wherein the WAN includes one or more long-haul optical systems (para [0164]; “The backbone links 702 may include any number of wired or wireless technologies, including optical networks, and may be part of a local area network (LAN), a wide area network (WAN), or the Internet. Additionally, such communication links facilitate optical signal paths among both computing devices 704 and gateways 754, including the use of MUXing/deMUXing components that facilitate the interconnection of the various devices.”); and
operating the slice controller to instantiate the end-to-end 5G network slice, the instantiated end-to-end 5G network slice including a slice of the RAN, a slice of the MEC network, and a slice of the WAN, wherein the user-selected property is provisioned across the instantiated 5G network slice from end to end (para [0072]; “…the MEC host 102 includes an MEC NFV-SCF module 121, which is configured according to techniques disclosed herein to provide E2E multi-slice support for configuring network resources associated with network slice instances within MEC-enabled 5G communication systems, to optimize the instantiation of MEC apps and virtualized resources associated with the NSI. In some aspects, the MEC NFV-SCF module 121 can be incorporated as a standalone server or an application running on a virtual machine, which is accessible to the 5G core 306 as well as the MEC host 102. In some aspects, the 5G core 306 can provide slice management functionalities performed by the slice management module 164, as disclosed herein and with the assistance of the MEC NFV-SCF.”; para [0086]; “…the NEF 356 can provide an interface to a MEC host such as MEC host 102, which can be used to process wireless connections with the RAN 304. In some aspects, the MEC host 102 may be used to implement NFV-SCF functions and provide E2E multi-slice support for configuring network resources associated with network slice instances within MEC-enabled 5G communication systems, to optimize the instantiation of MEC apps and virtualized resources associated with the NSI.”).
However, none of the prior art cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach:
at least one hardware-based non-transitory computer-readable storage device having computer-executable instructions stored thereon which, when executed by the least one processor, cause the computing device to
instantiate a slice controller on the computing device, the computing device being operable in a multi-access edge compute (MEC) network that includes a radio access network (RAN) which provides access to user equipment (UE) to the 5G network, the slice controller being configured to create a 5G network slice from RF (radio frequency) and optical portions of the 5G network;
dynamically operate the slice controller to control slicing of a wide area network (WAN) that provides transport network functionality for the 5G network, in which the WAN slicing comprises provisioning nodes of the WAN to utilize a selected wavelength to carry 5G network traffic in a WAN slice from an entry node, through zero or more intermediate nodes, to a destination node;
dynamically operate the slice controller to control slicing of the RAN by allocating physical resources to a RAN slice for an air interface of the RAN; and
provision a user-selected property on the created 5G network slice comprising the RAN slice and WAN slice.
Conclusion
DALZID E. SINGH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2635
/DALZID E SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635