DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of 1-12 and 20 in the reply filed on 03/03/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the inventions when searched would require searching the same classification areas. This is not found persuasive because the manufacturing method have method limitations that would require different search terms for searching that are not required in the device claims.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/02/2023, 06/03/2024, 10/16/2024, 04/09/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the first sentence is analogous to “the disclosure concerns” or title repeat and should be removed. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-12 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 1, for which claims 2-12 depends, teaches limitations: “a first overlapping portion of the first side conductive line and the first conductive pattern has a first length, a second overlapping portion of the second side conductive line and the first conductive pattern has a second length, and the first length is different from the second length” that is not taught in the prior art areas searched for this action .
HOU (US20220052241) and YU (US10811386) are the closest prior art found during search.
Regarding Claim 1, HOU teaches, in Fig. 1-5, an electronic device, comprising: a first substrate having a first surface (112), a second surface opposite to the first surface (114), and a side surface (116) between the first surface and the second surface (see Fig. 1); a first conductive pattern (122) disposed on the first surface; and a side conductive pattern (*150*,142) disposed on the side surface and the first surface (see Fig. 1-4), wherein the side conductive pattern is electrically connected to the first conductive pattern (see Fig. 1-4), and the side conductive pattern comprises a first side conductive line (150) and a second side conductive line (142), wherein a first overlapping portion of the first side conductive line and the first conductive pattern has a first length (see Fig. 4), a second overlapping portion of the second side conductive line and the first conductive pattern has a second length (see Fig. 4), and the first length is different from the second length (implicit as 142 looks shorter than 150).
However, 150 of HOU is a protection layer and not a side conductive line.
Regarding Claim 1, YU teaches, in Fig. 1-4, an electronic device, comprising: a first substrate having a first surface (not labeled, but top surface of 110 in Fig. 1C), a second surface opposite to the first surface (119), and a side surface (not labeled, but side surface of 110 close to 118 in Fig. 1c) between the first surface and the second surface (see Fig. 1); a first conductive pattern (116) disposed on the first surface; and a side conductive pattern (128,118) disposed on the side surface and the first surface (see Fig. 1-4), wherein the side conductive pattern is electrically connected to the first conductive pattern (see Fig. 1-4), and the side conductive pattern comprises a first side conductive line (128) and a second side conductive line (118).
Yu does not disclose the above allowable limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LU (US20180263123).
Regarding Claim 20. LU teaches, in FIG. 9, 11, an electronic device, comprising: a first substrate having a first surface (top of 130), a second surface (bottom of 130) opposite to the first surface, and a side surface (132) between the first surface and the second surface; a first conductive pattern (166 +{184, 185 on 180b}) disposed on the first surface; and a side conductive pattern (see 162,152) disposed on the side surface (see Fig. 11), wherein the side conductive pattern is electrically connected to the first conductive pattern (see Fig. 11), and the side conductive pattern comprises a first side conductive line (164) ,wherein the first conductive pattern covers a portion of the first side conductive line (see Fig. 11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is presented in the Notice of References Cited.
/MA/Examiner, Art Unit 2848
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2848