DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. The current title “side brush mechanism with novel structure” contains the word “novel” not considered as part of the title of an invention (see MPEP 606). A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: “Side brush mechanism for a tunnel type car washing machine”.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Claim 1 recites one end of a rocker arm actuator mounted on the tunnel type car washing machine. Therefore the tunnel type car washing machine is a claimed feature. Therefore, the tunnel type car washing machine that mounts one end of a rocker arm actuator of a side brush mechanism must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Claim 3 recites a vertical seat bearing. While figure 1 shows a numerical reference 14 directed to the vertical seat bearing, the structure is not clearly shown in the drawing. The term “vertical seat bearing” renders the claim indefinite and therefore the structure of the vertical seat bearing is necessary in order to understand the scope of the invention.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a “reducer, the reducer in driving connection with the side brush assembly to drive the side brush assembly to rotate”. It is noted that the specification does not sufficiently describe the claimed reducer in a way that allows a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand the scope of the claimed reducer. There is no reducing action described in the specification. Therefore the person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to understand a) what is being reduced by the reducer and b) what structure would constitute as the claimed reducer. For purposes of this examination, this limitation is interpreted as a motor capable of driving the side brush assembly to rotate.
Claim 1 recites “a left-right skew actuator … to swing vertically left and right”. It is unclear what is meant by swinging vertically left and right because the vertical direction has no component in the left and right directions.
Claims 2-10 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 3 recites “a vertical seat bearing”. The claim and the specification fails to provide any structures to define the claimed vertical seat bearing. This language can mean a number of different things including a) a seat bearing to bear vertical load, b) a seat bearing for a shaft arranged in the vertical direction, c) a thrust bearing in a seat application or other types of bearings.
Claim 6 recites “the second proximity switch corresponds to a top or bottom surface of the side brush swing arm”. It is unclear what a switch corresponding to a surface is meant in the context of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (Korean Patent Document KR 10-0829416 B1) in view of Rosenberger (European Patent Document EP0980802A2).
As per claim 1, Han discloses a side brush mechanism with a novel structure, used for a tunnel type car washing machine, comprising: a side brush mounting beam (10; figure 2), mounted on a tunnel type car washing machine (as shown; figure 2); a side brush assembly (50) for brushing left and right sides of a vehicle (as shown; figures 4-5); a side brush swing arm (20) with one end rotatably connected to the side brush mounting beam (as shown; figures 4, 5) and the other end rotatably connected to a reducer (connected to motor 59); the reducer in driving connection with the side brush assembly to drive the side brush assembly to rotate (motor 59 rotating side brush 50; machine translation page 7, second paragraph; original text paragraph <18>); a rocker arm actuator (25; figure 7) with one end rotatably connected to the side brush swing arm (20) and the other end mounted on the tunnel type car washing machine (as shown; figure 7) to drive the side brush swing arm to swing horizontally left and right (as shown; figure 6).
Han does not explicitly teach a left-right skew actuator arranged between the side brush swing arm and the reducer and used for driving the reducer and the side brush assembly to swing vertically left and right to adjust a brushing angle.
Rosenberger is a related prior art in that it deals with a tunnel type car washing machine having side brushes. Rosenberger teaches a left-right skew actuator (15; figure 2) arranged between the side brush swing arm (11) and the reducer (6) and used for driving the reducer and the side brush assembly to swing vertically left and right to adjust a brushing angle (inclination device 15 actively bringing the side brushes to an inclination position; paragraph [0015]; figures 2, 4). Rosenberger teaches that an active tilting of the side brush provides relief of the vehicle side surface from the weight force of the inclined side brush (in comparison to passive tilting) (paragraph [0005]) and the regulation of the brush can be made more accurately achieving optimum penetration depth of the brush on the vehicle (paragraph [0006]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Han’s side brush to incorporate Rosenberger’s active tilting actuator at the frame attached to the motor, i.e., incorporating Rosenberger’s active incline device 15 to Han’s tilting bracket 60, because as Rosenberger teaches, an active tilting of the side brush provides relief of the vehicle side surface from the weight force of the inclined side brush (in comparison to passive tilting) (paragraph [0005]) and the regulation of the brush can be made more accurately achieving optimum penetration depth of the brush on the vehicle (paragraph [0006]).
As per claim 2, Han, in view of Rosenberger, discloses the side brush mechanism with a novel structure according to claim 1, and Han further discloses wherein a limit block (35; figure 6) is arranged on the side brush mounting beam (10), and the limit block is used for limiting an opening of a rotation stroke of the side brush swing arm (as shown; figure 6).
As per claim 3, Han, in view of Rosenberger, discloses the side brush mechanism with a novel structure according to claim 1, and Han further discloses wherein a vertical seat bearing is arranged at an end, away from the side brush mounting beam, of the side brush swing arm, the vertical seat bearing is connected to a left-right skew bracket through a left-right skew swing shaft (shaft portion 47 shown to have a bearing (vertical seat shaft) engaging a shaft to pivot to connect the end of arm 20 to bracket 60 (left-right skew bracket); figures 7, 8), and the left-right skew bracket is rotatably connected to the left-right skew actuator (as shown; figures 7, 8).
As per claim 5, Han, in view of Rosenberger, discloses the side brush mechanism with a novel structure according to claim 3, and Han further discloses wherein a first proximity switch bracket (65; figure 7) is arranged on the left-right skew bracket (60), a first proximity switch (80) is arranged on the first proximity switch bracket (as shown; figure 7), and the first proximity switch corresponds to a side surface, away from the side brush mounting beam, of the side brush swing arm and is used for detecting a skew range of the side brush assembly (detecting when the side brush 50 is tilted more than a predetermined range; original text paragraph <24>; machine translation page 7).
As per claim 7, Han, in view of Rosenberger, discloses the side brush mechanism with a novel structure according to claim 1, and Han further discloses wherein the side brush mounting beam (10) is rotatably connected to the side brush swing arm (20) through a side brush swing shaft (31; figure 6), and an anti-falling plate is arranged at a bottom of the side brush swing shaft (fixing bracket 30, which supports shaft 31 is shown to have a bottom plate; figures 2, 7).
As per claim 10, Han, in view of Rosenberger, discloses the side brush mechanism with a novel structure according to claims 3-5, and Han further discloses wherein the reducer is connected to the left-right skew bracket through a reducer adapter flange (motor 59 is shown to have a flange that engages bracket 60; figure 7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Belanger (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2019/0176772) teaches a vehicle wash system having an actuator to pivot the side brush at an angle.
Schleeter (U.S. Patent No. 4,453,284) teaches a rocker arm attached to a side brush mounting beam. However. this rocker arm is different from the claimed invention because it does not have one end rotatably connected to the side brush swing arm and the other end mounted on the tunnel type car washing machine.
Belanger (U.S. Patent No. 9,714,011) teaches a vehicle washing machine side brush having a plurality of segments at different angles.
/SANG K KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745