Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/01/2026 have been carefully and fully considered. With respect to applicant’s argument regarding the rejections which recites:
“Applicant respectfully disagrees with the Office’s obviousness rejection of claim 1 over Loukili in view of Sibley. Contrary to the Office’s position, applicant submits that Loukili does not disclose a control system “configured to detect at least one point of interest” and “to associate said point of interest with location data in a reference frame of the spray boom”… Hence, it fails to disclose a point of interest such as defined in the present invention and fails to disclose the association of location data to said points of interest.”
Examiner notes that Loukili discloses [0020] at a particular rate so that a target quantity of the liquid is applied to the dispersal area, the dispersal area is interpreted as a detected point of interest. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated for improve the system accuracy acquiring more data, Sibley shows support for this [0002] more effectively and efficiently use labor, use tools and machinery, and reduce the amount of chemicals used on plants and cultivated land.
“none of the cited documents nor their combination disclose such condition of activation and deactivation of the nozzles depending on if the location data of a point of interest corresponds to a sprayable zone…none of these documents describe an individual control of each nozzle depending on this condition either, allowing that “the control system controls opening of said spray nozzle to spray said point of interest.”
Examiner notes that the claim language does not require activation and deactivation of the nozzles, the claim language states “the control system controls opening of the spray nozzles(s) corresponding to said sprayable zone”. Loukili discloses generating spray performance data by using field location data identifying dispersal areas directly on plants or between plants, which is interpreted as controlling spray nozzles corresponding to said sprayable zones. Previously Examiner already indicated that Loukili did not disclose the aspect of opening the nozzle and indicated that Sibley was relied upon for this [0092] treatment unit 470 such that when the treatment unit 470 activates and opens a valve for the pressurized liquid to pass from the chemical selection module 480 to the treatment unit 470, a fluid projectile of a desired direction, orientation, and magnitude, from the pressure, will be emitted from the treatment unit 470 at the treatment head 472.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loukili et al. (US20210127567, herein Loukili), in view of Sibley et al. (US20220117211, herein Sibley)
Regarding claim 1, Loukili teaches A localized spray system, comprising a spray boom, at least one spray nozzle arranged on the spray boom, said spray nozzle being associated with a sprayable zone, at least one optical sensor and a control system, each optical sensor having a field of view (Fig. 1, [0004] An agricultural sprayer includes a spray boom supported by a frame, a spraying system comprising a set of spray nozzles spaced along the spray boom, and a control system configured to control the spraying system to spray a liquid based on a target application to an agricultural field, generate a spray performance metric indicative of performance of the spraying system relative to the target application, and generate a control signal to control the agricultural sprayer based on the spray performance metric, [0029] an optical sensor captures images of the spray pattern. In another example, a spray sensor senses electromagnetic radiation (e.g., radio frequency (RF) transmissions, thermal imaging) used to view a change on the agricultural surface or crop upon receiving an applied liquid spray), the control system being configured to process images acquired from the field of view ([0029] imaging sensor that captures images that are processed to detect the spray pattern between the nozzles and the ground), each optical sensor comprising at …location data of the points of interest ([0047] Machine 202 includes a data store 278 configured to store data for use by machine 202, such as field data 280. Examples include field location data that identifies a location of the field to be operated upon by machine 202, field shape information that identifies a shape of the field, and field topology data that defines the topology of the field), the control system being configured to detect at least one point of interest and to associate said point of interest with location data in a reference frame of the spray boom ([0046] controller 266 comprises a closed-loop control system that controls settings of subsystem 260 to reduce the magnitude of instantaneous acceleration at one or more points of interest (e.g., camera, spray nozzles, etc.)), [0042] Location sensor(s) 248 are configured to determine a geographic position of the machine 202 on the field. Location sensor(s) 248 can include, but are not limited to, a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) receiver that receives signals from a GNSS satellite transmitter, [0020] at a particular rate so that a target quantity of the liquid is applied to the dispersal area, [0072] The control signal can also control architecture 200 to store data in data store 278 and/or in remote computing system 214. For instance, this data can indicate the terrain encountered by machine 202, disturbances encountered by machine 202, the performance metrics correlated to the field locations, or any other data) …, and to control said at least one spray nozzle depending on said at least one point of interest, such that, when the location data of the point of interest correspond to a sprayable zone, the control system controls …the spray nozzle(s) corresponding to said sprayable zone to spray the point of interest, each sprayable zone associated with a nozzle or a group of spray nozzles being geometrically and individually adjustable. (Fig. 8, [0004] a control system configured to control the spraying system to spray a liquid based on a target application to an agricultural field, generate a spray performance metric indicative of performance of the spraying system relative to the target application, and generate a control signal to control the agricultural sprayer based on the spray performance metric, [0020] in precision spraying applications, the sprayer is controlled to deliver the liquid to a precise dispersal area, such as directly on a plant (crop or weed), in between plants, or otherwise, at a particular rate so that a target quantity of the liquid is applied to the dispersal area, [0047] store data for use by machine 202, such as field data 280. Examples include field location data that identifies a location of the field to be operated upon by machine 202, field shape information that identifies a shape of the field, and field topology data that defines the topology of the field. Data store 278 can store other items 282 as well ). (i.e. each spray area is associated with a nozzle as each spray area uses a nozzle),
Loukili does not teach least one depth camera configured to allow obtaining three-dimensional location data… the location data being continuously updated via a calculation system of the control system, depending on the movement of said spray boom… opening of
Sibley teaches least one depth camera configured to allow obtaining three-dimensional location data… the location data being continuously updated via a calculation system of the control system, depending on the movement of said spray boom ([0080] The sensing signals from the sensors 432 can also include depth signals from depth sensing cameras, [0108] image features detected that are common between the images, position, depth, localization, and pose related information from image analysis, [0043] including 3D imagery of an agricultural scene such as a tree in an orchard or a row of plants on a farm while the system moves along a path near the crops, [0062] The full frames can be 2D or 3D image showing the images captured directly by one or more cameras and/or rendered by the agricultural treatment system 400, [0092] image analysis of the target plant identified in an image captured in real time, [0118] the computing module can determine a position and orientation for the gimbal assembly to position and orient the treatment head 1120 in real time and make adjustments in the position and orientation).. opening of ([0092] treatment unit 470 such that when the treatment unit 470 activates and opens a valve for the pressurized liquid to pass from the chemical selection module 480 to the treatment unit 470, a fluid projectile of a desired direction, orientation, and magnitude, from the pressure, will be emitted from the treatment unit 470 at the treatment head 472)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Loukili’s teaching of an agricultural sprayer performance control system using sensors with Sibley’s teaching of an autonomous agriculture treatment system using a depth sensor. The combined teaching provides an expected result of an agricultural sprayer performance control system using sensors including a depth sensor. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated for improve the system accuracy acquiring more data, Sibley shows support for this [0002] more effectively and efficiently use labor, use tools and machinery, and reduce the amount of chemicals used on plants and cultivated land.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Loukili and Sibley teach The spray system according to claim 1, comprising a set of nozzles (Loukili, [0004] a spraying system comprising a set of spray nozzles spaced along the spray boom), each of the nozzles being associated with a sprayable zone and each of the nozzles being controlled such that, when the location data of a point of interest correspond to the sprayable zone of a nozzle with which it is associated, the control system controls opening of said spray nozzle to spray said point of interest ([0026] Thus, in this state, each spray nozzle 184 (only four spray nozzles are illustrated in FIG. 3A, but the sprayer can have more or less nozzles) are a similar distance to the field surface 180. The spraying system is configured to pump the liquid to nozzles 184 at a rate that will result in a desired application to the dispersal area, generally represented at 186, based on this distance of nozzles 184. In other words, this configuration provides a target or prescribed amount of liquid chemical to the dispersal area 186, [0144] controlling a spraying system comprising a set of spray nozzles mounted on a spray boom of the agricultural machine to spray a liquid based on a target application to an agricultural field, [0047] store data for use by machine 202, such as field data 280. Examples include field location data that identifies a location of the field to be operated upon by machine 202, field shape information that identifies a shape of the field, and field topology data that defines the topology of the field. Data store 278 can store other items 282 as well, [0021] has multiple nozzles that spray liquid chemical onto the field).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Loukili and Sibley teach The spray system according to claim 1, comprising a set of nozzles forming groups of nozzles corresponding to spray sections, each of the groups of nozzles being associated with a sprayable zone and each of the groups of nozzles being controlled depending on the point of interest associated therewith, such that when the location data of the point of interest correspond to the sprayable zone of a group of nozzles with which it is associated, the control system controls opening of said group of spray nozzles to spray said point of interest (Loukili , Fig. 8, [0004] a control system configured to control the spraying system to spray a liquid based on a target application to an agricultural field, generate a spray performance metric indicative of performance of the spraying system relative to the target application, and generate a control signal to control the agricultural sprayer based on the spray performance metric, [0020] in precision spraying applications, the sprayer is controlled to deliver the liquid to a precise dispersal area, such as directly on a plant (crop or weed), in between plants, or otherwise, at a particular rate so that a target quantity of the liquid is applied to the dispersal area, [0047] store data for use by machine 202, such as field data 280. Examples include field location data that identifies a location of the field to be operated upon by machine 202, field shape information that identifies a shape of the field, and field topology data that defines the topology of the field. Data store 278 can store other items 282 as well, [0026] Thus, in this state, each spray nozzle 184 (only four spray nozzles are illustrated in FIG. 3A, but the sprayer can have more or less nozzles) are a similar distance to the field surface 180. The spraying system is configured to pump the liquid to nozzles 184 at a rate that will result in a desired application to the dispersal area, generally represented at 186, based on this distance of nozzles 184. In other words, this configuration provides a target or prescribed amount of liquid chemical to the dispersal area 186, [0144] controlling a spraying system comprising a set of spray nozzles mounted on a spray boom of the agricultural machine to spray a liquid based on a target application to an agricultural field ).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Loukili and Sibley teach The spray system according to claim 3,
Sibley further teaches comprising a set of nozzles forming groups of nozzles, each group of nozzles being controlled independently of each other by the control system ([0098] the microcontroller receiving instructions and power signals to change an orientation of a treatment unit having a turret 618 based on sending one or more motor commands for changing an axis orientation 614, 616 of a nozzle head of the turret 618. The treatment unit can include a turret 618 that can orient and direct a treatment head supporting a nozzle, with one or more motors that can change axis orientation 614 and 616, [0116] Each treatment unit 1100 may have one or more nozzles for spraying a fluid, [0149] Each treatment system supported by the vehicle 1610 can include treatment units 1653 for emitting a treatment projectile or droplet onto a treatment target 1660 including agricultural objects of interest, [0104] each of the treatment modules 804 can perform actions independently of each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Loukili’s teaching of an agricultural sprayer performance control system using nozzles with Sibley’s teaching of an autonomous agriculture treatment system adjusting motor commands of nozzle heads where each treatment modules performs actions independently . The combined teaching provides an expected result of an agricultural sprayer performance control system adjusting motor commands of nozzles heads where each treatment modules performs action independently. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated for allowing independent control to enhance adaptability in applications.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Loukili and Sibley teach The spray system according to claim 1, wherein the control system is configured to process the images acquired from the field of view, detect at least one point of interest and associate said point of interest with the location data in a reference frame of the spray boom (Loukili , [0029] an optical sensor captures images of the spray pattern. In another example, a spray sensor senses electromagnetic radiation (e.g., radio frequency (RF) transmissions, thermal imaging) used to view a change on the agricultural surface or crop upon receiving an applied liquid spray, [0047] Machine 202 includes a data store 278 configured to store data for use by machine 202, such as field data 280. Examples include field location data that identifies a location of the field to be operated upon by machine 202, field shape information that identifies a shape of the field, and field topology data that defines the topology of the field, [0060] a target or prescribed application to a dispersal area of the agricultural field is identified. This can be done in any of a number of ways… the target application can be determined dynamically during operation of machine 202, such as based on sensor inputs that detect the presence of crops, weeds, or other plant to be sprayed. For instance, imaging sensors can detect the presence of these plants in a path ahead of machine 202.)).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Loukili and Sibley teach The spray system according to claim 2, wherein the control system is configured to process the images acquired from the field of view, detect at least one point of interest and associate said point of interest with the location data in a reference frame of the spray boom (Loukili , [0029] an optical sensor captures images of the spray pattern. In another example, a spray sensor senses electromagnetic radiation (e.g., radio frequency (RF) transmissions, thermal imaging) used to view a change on the agricultural surface or crop upon receiving an applied liquid spray, [0047] Machine 202 includes a data store 278 configured to store data for use by machine 202, such as field data 280. Examples include field location data that identifies a location of the field to be operated upon by machine 202, field shape information that identifies a shape of the field, and field topology data that defines the topology of the field, [0060] a target or prescribed application to a dispersal area of the agricultural field is identified. This can be done in any of a number of ways… the target application can be determined dynamically during operation of machine 202, such as based on sensor inputs that detect the presence of crops, weeds, or other plant to be sprayed. For instance, imaging sensors can detect the presence of these plants in a path ahead of machine 202.))
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Loukili and Sibley teach The spray system according to claim 3, wherein the control system is configured to process the images acquired from the field of view, detect at least one point of interest and associate said point of interest with the location data in a reference frame of the spray boom (Loukili , [0029] an optical sensor captures images of the spray pattern. In another example, a spray sensor senses electromagnetic radiation (e.g., radio frequency (RF) transmissions, thermal imaging) used to view a change on the agricultural surface or crop upon receiving an applied liquid spray, [0047] Machine 202 includes a data store 278 configured to store data for use by machine 202, such as field data 280. Examples include field location data that identifies a location of the field to be operated upon by machine 202, field shape information that identifies a shape of the field, and field topology data that defines the topology of the field, [0060] a target or prescribed application to a dispersal area of the agricultural field is identified. This can be done in any of a number of ways… the target application can be determined dynamically during operation of machine 202, such as based on sensor inputs that detect the presence of crops, weeds, or other plant to be sprayed. For instance, imaging sensors can detect the presence of these plants in a path ahead of machine 202.))
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Loukili and Sibley teach A method for spraying a product to be sprayed by means of a spray system according to claim 1, carried or trailed by an agricultural machine, wherein the control system (Loukili , Fig. 1, [0004] An agricultural sprayer includes a spray boom supported by a frame, a spraying system comprising a set of spray nozzles spaced along the spray boom, and a control system configured to control the spraying system to spray a liquid based on a target application to an agricultural field, generate a spray performance metric indicative of performance of the spraying system relative to the target application, and generate a control signal to control the agricultural sprayer based on the spray performance metric, [0029] an optical sensor captures images of the spray pattern. In another example, a spray sensor senses electromagnetic radiation (e.g., radio frequency (RF) transmissions, thermal imaging) used to view a change on the agricultural surface or crop upon receiving an applied liquid spray): - processes the images acquired from the field of view by the optical sensor ([0029] imaging sensor that captures images that are processed to detect the spray pattern between the nozzles and the ground): - detects at least one point of interest; - associates said point of interest with location data in a reference frame of the spray boom ([0046] controller 266 comprises a closed-loop control system that controls settings of subsystem 260 to reduce the magnitude of instantaneous acceleration at one or more points of interest (e.g., camera, spray nozzles, etc.)), [0042] Location sensor(s) 248 are configured to determine a geographic position of the machine 202 on the field. Location sensor(s) 248 can include, but are not limited to, a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) receiver that receives signals from a GNSS satellite transmitter, [0020] at a particular rate so that a target quantity of the liquid is applied to the dispersal area, [0072] The control signal can also control architecture 200 to store data in data store 278 and/or in remote computing system 214. For instance, this data can indicate the terrain encountered by machine 202, disturbances encountered by machine 202, the performance metrics correlated to the field locations, or any other data);- controls said at least one spray nozzle depending on said at least one point of interest; such that, when the location data of the point of interest correspond to a sprayable zone, the control system controls opening of the corresponding spray nozzle to spray the point of interest considered (Fig. 8, [0004] a control system configured to control the spraying system to spray a liquid based on a target application to an agricultural field, generate a spray performance metric indicative of performance of the spraying system relative to the target application, and generate a control signal to control the agricultural sprayer based on the spray performance metric, [0020] in precision spraying applications, the sprayer is controlled to deliver the liquid to a precise dispersal area, such as directly on a plant (crop or weed), in between plants, or otherwise, at a particular rate so that a target quantity of the liquid is applied to the dispersal area, [0047] store data for use by machine 202, such as field data 280. Examples include field location data that identifies a location of the field to be operated upon by machine 202, field shape information that identifies a shape of the field, and field topology data that defines the topology of the field. Data store 278 can store other items 282 as well, [0060] a target or prescribed application to a dispersal area of the agricultural field is identified. This can be done in any of a number of ways… the target application can be determined dynamically during operation of machine 202, such as based on sensor inputs that detect the presence of crops, weeds, or other plant to be sprayed. For instance, imaging sensors can detect the presence of these plants in a path ahead of machine 202).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Loukili and Sibley teach The spraying method according to claim 8, wherein the control system further associates said point of interest with a dose of product to be sprayed (Loukili , [0060] a target or prescribed application to a dispersal area of the agricultural field is identified. This can be done in any of a number of ways… the target application can be determined dynamically during operation of machine 202, such as based on sensor inputs that detect the presence of crops, weeds, or other plant to be sprayed. For instance, imaging sensors can detect the presence of these plants in a path ahead of machine 202).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Kubacak (US20100175316) discloses a method for a spray system.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YVONNE TRANG FOLLANSBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ALICIA M. CHOI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117