DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 18 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egner-Walter et al (WO publication 2009/132982) in view of Shimoyama et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0225661 A1) and Grasso (EP3210841 A1) as cited by Applicant.
The publication to Egner-Walter discloses the invention as is claimed. Egner-Walter (noted cited English language translation) discloses a wiper blade (5, fig. 1) for a vehicle. The wiper blade coupled to the wiper arm comprising a distribution element (21, 30, 31, fig. 4) including an inlet (Annotated Fig. 4), a supply channel (25, 23) for cleaning liquid (para. 5). First and second spray bars (12) are provided for dispensing the liquid through spray openings (14, fig. 5), wherein the cleaning fluid is configured to flow through the inlet (Annotated Fig. 4) and into the supply channel (23; Fig. 4). Note that a spray bar (12, fig. 4) is provided on each end of an adapter (19, 20) that acts to couple the wiper blade with a wiper arm (1). The supply channel comprises a first supply section (generally area within element 31) and a second supply section (generally area 23) for the cleaning liquid to flow in a first and second longitudinal direction. The second supply section is narrowed, or of a reduce lateral width, compared to the first supply section as can be seen in figure 4. The lateral width within the bellows (31) is clearly greater than the lateral width of the flow channel (23).
Egner-Walter does not explicitly teach a first passage configured for cleaning liquid to flow in a first longitudinal direction and a second passage configured for cleaning liquid to flow in a second longitudinal direction opposite to the first direction, and at least one narrowing is provided in the second passage of the second supply section such that the second passage is narrower than the first passage along at least a portion of the first supply section, such that the cleaning liquid must pass through a narrower area moving along the second longitudinal direction than along the first longitudinal direction; wherein the second spray bar is a proximal spray bar having an end that defines an inner circle when the wiper arm is rotated about an axis, and wherein the first spray bar is a distal spray bar having an end that defines a larger outer circle when the wiper arm is rotated about the axis, wherein the narrowing is configured to reduce an amount of cleaning fluid passing through the first spray bar toward the inner circle.
Grass, however, discloses a first passage (16a) configured for cleaning liquid to flow in a first longitudinal direction (Fig. 2) and a second passage (15a) configured for cleaning liquid to flow in a second longitudinal direction opposite to the first direction (Fig. 2), and at least one narrowing is provided in the second passage (See Fig. 2) of the second supply section (15) such that the second passage is narrower than the first passage along at least a portion of the first supply section (16; Fig. 2), such that the cleaning liquid must pass through a narrower area moving along the second longitudinal direction than along the first longitudinal direction (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade of Egner-Walter to further include a first passage configured for cleaning liquid to flow in a first direction and a second passage configured for cleaning liquid to flow in a second direction opposite to the first direction, as taught by Grasso, to provide a wiper apparatus which further stabilizes the injection-target location of washer fluid thus saving on waste in washing fluid.
Shimoyama further discloses a first passage (138a) configured for cleaning liquid to flow in a first direction and a second passage (138b) configured for cleaning liquid to flow in a second direction, and at least one narrowing is provided in the second passage (138b) of the second supply section such that the second passage (138b) is narrower than the first passage (138a) along at least a portion of the supply section (Fig. 18a), wherein the second spray bar (d1) is a proximal spray bar having an end that defines an inner circle (D2, H2; Figs. 9 and 10) when the wiper arm is rotated about an axis (Fig. 21), and wherein the first spray bar (B1, C1) is a distal spray bar having an end that defines a larger outer circle (A2) when the wiper arm is rotated about the axis (Fig. 21), wherein the narrowing (Fig. 18a) is configured to reduce an amount of cleaning fluid passing through the first spray bar toward the inner circle (supply passage 138a is larger than 138b thus allowing for less fluid to pass through the spray bar, further, the nozzle D1 is designed as an eyeball nozzle, further limiting the outlet of the nozzle D1 as compared to B1 and C1; Fig. 17b; Paragraph [0089]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade of Egner-Walter to further include a first passage configured for cleaning liquid to flow in a first direction and a second passage configured for cleaning liquid to flow in a second direction opposite to the first direction, and at least one narrowing is provided in the second passage of the second supply section such that the second passage is narrower than the first passage along at least a portion of the supply section, wherein the second spray bar is a proximal spray bar having an end that defines an inner circle when the wiper arm is rotated about an axis, and wherein the first spray bar is a distal spray bar having an end that defines a larger outer circle when the wiper arm is rotated about the axis, wherein the narrowing is configured to reduce an amount of cleaning fluid passing through the first spray bar toward the inner circle, as taught by Shimoyama, to provide a wiper apparatus which further stabilizes the injection-target location of washer fluid thus saving on waste in washing fluid.
With respect to claim 2, the distribution element (21, 30, 31) is arranged within the adapter (19, 20).
With respect to claim 3, the second supply section comprises nozzles (21.1), same as applicants, for connection to the spray bars. Note that the narrowing is present at such nozzles, at least as compared with the element (31).
With respect to claim 4, the second supply section (generally 23) has a smaller passage than the first supply section (area within bellows 31).
Egner-Walter does not explicitly teach a first region of the first supply section is parallel to and offset from both the first spray bar and the second spray bar, and wherein a second region of the second supply section is parallel to and offset from both the first spray bar and the second spray bar.
Shimoyama discloses a first region of the first supply section (138a; Fig. 18a) is parallel to and offset from both the first spray bar (B1 and C1; Fig. 17b) and the second spray bar (D1; Fig. 17b), and wherein a second region of the second supply section (138b; Fig. 18a) is parallel to and offset from both the first spray bar (B1 and C1; Fig. 17b) and the second spray bar (D1; Fig. 17b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade of Egner-Walter to further include a first region of the first supply section is parallel to and offset from both the first spray bar and the second spray bar, and wherein a second region of the second supply section is parallel to and offset from both the first spray bar and the second spray bar, as taught by Shimoyama, to provide a wiper apparatus which further stabilizes the injection-target location of washer fluid thus saving on waste in washing fluid.
With respect to claims 5 and 8, the first and second spray bars (12) extend along a longitudinal extension of the wiper blade and comprise a plurality of spray openings (14, figs. 4, 5).
With respect to claim 6, the first and second spray bars (12) extend in opposite directions along the extension from the adapter (19, 20, fig. 4) to free ends of the wiper blade.
With respect to claim 7, the wiper of Egner-Walter includes an inner circle side in the same manner as applicant. At least to the extent that such defines any particular structure for the wiper blade. Note that Egner-Walter will have an inner circle side (side extending from the adapter along the wiper arm) in the same manner as applicant.
Egner-Walter does not explicitly teach the narrowing is located in the second region of the second supply section.
Shimoyama discloses the narrowing is located in the second region of the second supply section (138b; Fig. 18a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade of Egner-Walter to further include the narrowing is located in the second region of the second supply section, as taught by Shimoyama, to provide a wiper apparatus which further stabilizes the injection-target location of washer fluid thus saving on waste in washing fluid.
With respect to claim 9, the spray bars are formed integrally with wind deflection bars (11, fig. 5).
With respect to claim 10, Egner-Walter discloses all parts of the adapter, excluding hinge pin (24), are made of plastics (para. 41).
With respect to claim 11, Egner-Walter, as modified, discloses further comprising an adapter (adapter, 6 with two adapter parts 19/20), wherein the wiper blade (10) is coupled to the wiper arm (28) via the adapter (Paragraph [0042]).
With respect to claim 12, Egner-Walter, as modified, discloses the adapter (6) includes the inlet (Annotated Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 13, Egner-Walter, as modified, discloses wherein the adapter (adapter, 6 with two adapter parts 19/20) includes the first supply section (generally area within element 31) and the second supply section (generally area within element 23).
With respect to claim 14, Egner-Walter, as modified, discloses the adapter (adapter, 6 with two adapter parts 19/20) includes a first nozzle (14; Paragraphs [0031] and [0032]) at a first end of the adapter (6) that is a tubular section inserted into the first spray bar (12, fig. 4) is provided on each end of an adapter (19, 20)
With respect to claim 15, Egner-Walter, as modified, discloses the adapter (adapter, 6 with two adapter parts 19/20) includes a second nozzle (14; Paragraphs [0031] and [0032]) at a second, opposite end of the adapter (6) that is a tubular section inserted into the second spray bar (13).
With respect to claim 16, Egner-Walter, as modified, discloses the adapter (adapter, 6 with two adapter parts 19/20) the adapter (24) includes the inlet (Annotated Fig. 4), the first supply section (generally area within element 31), and the second supply section (generally area within element 23), wherein the first supply section (Fig. 4) extends from the inlet to the first nozzle (14; Paragraphs [0031] and [0032]), and wherein the second supply section (Fig. 4) extends from the inlet to the second nozzle (14; Paragraphs [0031] and [0032]).
With respect to claim 17, Egner-Walter, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 16 as discussed above.
Egner-Walter does not explicitly teach the narrowing is located in the second region of the second supply section.
Shimoyama discloses the narrowing is located in the second region of the second supply section (138b; Fig. 18a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade of Egner-Walter to further include the narrowing is located in the second region of the second supply section, as taught by Shimoyama, to provide a wiper apparatus which further stabilizes the injection-target location of washer fluid thus saving on waste in washing fluid.
With respect to claim 18, Egner-Walter, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above.
Egner-Walter does not explicitly teach the second nozzle has a smaller diameter than the first nozzle, wherein the smaller diameter of the second nozzle defines the narrowing.
Shimoyama discloses the second nozzle (D1) has a smaller diameter than the first nozzle (B1 and C1; Fig. 17), wherein the smaller diameter of the second nozzle (D1) defines the narrowing (Fig. 17).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade of Egner-Walter to further include the second nozzle has a smaller diameter than the first nozzle, wherein the smaller diameter of the second nozzle defines the narrowing, as taught by Shimoyama, to provide a wiper apparatus which further stabilizes the injection-target location of washer fluid thus saving on waste in washing fluid.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated October 17, 2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 – 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
Applicant argues “Grasso is directing fluid to the outer circle and not the smaller inner circle as claimed; however, Grasso was not relied upon to teach this limitation. Shimoyama teaches a narrowing in D1 and further teaches the spraying of said D1 at a location D2 of H2 as shown in Figs. 9 and 10.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723