CTNF 18/500,433 CTNF 101862 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun (US 8748030 B2) in view of Kim (US 20140193696 A1) . Regarding claim 1 , Byun teaches: A power storage cell comprising (Abstract, battery 100): An electrode assembly (Fig. 2, electrode assembly 110); A cell case that accommodates the electrode assembly (Fig 1-2, case 140); An external terminal fixed to an upper surface of the cell case (Col. 5 line 38-43); Cell case has (Fig 1-2, case 140): A main body with electrode assembly (Fig 1-2, case 140); Main body has an opening that opens upward (Figs 1-2, Col. 5 lines 10-25, opening); A lid connected to the main body to close the opening (Figs 1-2, cap plate 151,cap assembly 150); Lid has (Figs 1-2, cap plate 151,cap assembly 150): A lid main body connected to the opening of the case main body and charged positively or negatively in the electrode assembly (Col. 5 lines 10-25, Figs 1-2, case and cap assembly are coupled to each other); An inversion plate connect to the lid main body (Col. 6 lines 45-55, Col. 7 lines 35-50, Figs 1-6B, inverting portion 161); The inversion plate is able to short-circuit the lid main body and external terminal (Abstract, Fig. 3A-3C, short-circuiting member 160, inverting portion 161); Inversion plate has (inverting portion 161): A base portion connected to a portion of the lid main body located below the external terminal (Col 7 lines 27-35, Fig. 3A-3C, short-circuiting member 160, inverting portion 161, edge 161b); Base formed has an annular shape (Col 7 lines 27-35, Fig. 3A-3C, edge 161b); Inversion portion connected to inside of the base portion (Col. 6 lines 45-67, Col. 7 line 1-27; short-circuiting member 160, inverting portion 161); The inversion portion comes into contact with the external terminal (Col. 6 lines 45-67, Col. 7 line 1-27; short-circuiting member 160, inverting portion 161); A low elastic member (Col. 6 lines 45-67, Col. 7 line 1-27; short-circuiting member 160, inverting portion 161): Made of conductive material (Col. 6 line 38-40); Has an elastic modulus smaller than the elastic modulus of the inversion portion (Col. 7 line 4-6; short-circuiting member 160, inverting portion 161); Provided on a surface of the inversion portion facing the external terminal (Col. 6 lines 45-67, Col. 7 line 1-27; short-circuiting member 160, inverting portion 161); Low elastic member is elastically deformed with the low elastic member being sandwiched between the inversion portion and the external terminal when the inversion portion is inverted (Col. 6 lines 45-67, Col. 7 line 1-27; short-circuiting member 160, inverting portion 161). Regarding the shape of the base portion, Byun teaches a base portion (edge 161b) that supports and interfaces with the battery (Col 7 lines 27-35, Fig. 3A-3C, short-circuiting member 160, inverting portion 161, edge 161b). However, Byun does not describe the base portion as having the exact claimed geometry. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the edge portion of Byun to have the shape and configuration of the claimed base plate. The specific shape of the edge/base plate is a matter of design choice, as such structures are routinely adapted to conform to the geometry of the battery and surrounding components. Adjusting the shape to fit battery would have been a predictable variation yielding no unexpected results. Regarding the low elastic member, Byun teaches an inversion portion (inversion portion 161a) comprising a first short circuiting plate and a second short circuiting plate (Col 6 line 38-40). These components are integrally formed as part of the inversion portion and collectively preform the function of accommodating deformation and facilitating short-circuiting behavior under predetermined conditions. The application recites an “inversion portion” and a separate “low elastic member” disposed on the inversion portion. However, the structure identified in the present application as the “low elastic member” corresponds to a portion of the inversion portion (inversion portion 161a) disclosed by Byun, specifically the first and second short circuiting plates which possess elastic properties enabling deformation (Col. 7 line 4-6; short-circuiting member 160, inverting portion 161). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to conceptually or structurally distinguish portions of Byun’s inversion portion into subcomponents, such as defining one portion as a “low elastic member” disposed on another portion (the inversion portion), since such subdivision merely amounts to a relabeling or segmentation of an already disclosed structure. No new or unexpected function is achieved by separately naming or partitioning these regions, as they collectively operate in the same manner as the single inversion portion disclosed by Byun. Further, selecting or designating a portion of the inversion portion as having relatively lower elasticity would have been an obvious matter of design choice, as material properties and structural regions are routinely tailored or described to meet desired deformation characteristics in battery safety components. Regarding claim 2 , Byun teaches the limitation of claim 1, as stated above. Byun further teaches a battery safety structure including a short-circuiting member (short circuiting member 160) comprising an inversion portion (inversion portion 161 a). The short-circuiting member is formed of conductive material (Col 6 line 38-40). As discussed above the inversion portion of Byun corresponds to the claimed inversion portion and low elastic member. However, Byun does not explicitly disclose that the low elastic member (i.e., the short-circuiting member and inversion portion) is made of tin plating. Kim teaches the use of tin plating in battery components to improve corrosion resistance and maintain electrical conductivity over time ([0081], [0087]). Byun and Kim are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to form the short-circuiting plates of Byun with tin plating as taught by Kim in order to enhance corrosion resistance and ensure reliable electrical performance. Such a modification represents the predictable use of a known material for its known purpose. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Tamara Orduna whose telephone number is (571) 431-1457. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:00-5:00 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jennifer Dieterle can be reached at (571) 270-7872. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TAMARA ORDUNA/Examiner, Art Unit 1776 /Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776 Application/Control Number: 18/500,433 Page 2 Art Unit: 1776 Application/Control Number: 18/500,433 Page 3 Art Unit: 1776 Application/Control Number: 18/500,433 Page 4 Art Unit: 1776 Application/Control Number: 18/500,433 Page 5 Art Unit: 1776 Application/Control Number: 18/500,433 Page 6 Art Unit: 1776 Application/Control Number: 18/500,433 Page 7 Art Unit: 1776