Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species A(i): an aminoalkyl; B(i): silica particles; C(ii): a multi-lobal shape; D(ii): the first and second high density polyethylene particles forming a porous structure with a bimodal pore size distribution; and E(i): a non-planar and non-tubular shape, in the reply filed on 11/24/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that examination of all species in the same application would not be overburdensome. This is not found persuasive because of the following reasons.
(a) the species require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries);
(b) the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species.
Applicant further asserts that claim 1 encompasses two or more different embodiments in view of the “mixtures thereof”. Thus, the species restriction is improper because the asserted “species” do not refer to the different embodiments of the invention as stated by MPEP 806.04(e). This is not found persuasive.
Claim 1 is designated a generic claim. However, nothing in the species restriction is specific about a species including a mixture of at least two of components: an aminoalkyl compound, a mercaptoalkyl compound and a thiourea. Applicant is required to elect a single species for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted of no generic claim is finally held to be allowable.
Where two or more species are claimed, a requirement for restriction to a single species is proper if the species are mutually exclusive (MPEP 806.04(f)). Claims 3 and 4 recite an aminoalkyl compound, but not a mercaptoalkyl compound and a thiourea while claims 5 and 6 recite the mercaptoalkyl compound, but not the aminoalkyl compound and the thiourea. Similarly, claim 7 recites the thiourea, but not the aminoalkyl compound and the mercaptoalkyl compound.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Accordingly, claims 1-4, 8-11, 13, 14, 16-18, and 20 are under consideration. Claims 5-7, 12, 15 and 19 have been withdrawn from consideration as being directed to non-elected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear which particles refer to the first high density polyethylene particles. Does Applicant want to convey that the at least one type of high density polyethylene particles are first high density polyethylene particles?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 11, 13, 14, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0048741 to Prince et al. (hereinafter “Prince”).
As to claims 1 and 20, Prince discloses a filtration media comprising functionalized particles distributed throughout a sintered porous matrix which is formed from a combination of three different types of ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene particles (abstract).
The first ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene particles have an average molecular weight ranging from 8 million g/mol to 10 million g/mol (paragraph 38).
The second ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene particles have an average molecular weight ranging from 4 million g/mol to 5.5 million g/mol, and a bulk density of 0.25g/cc or less (paragraph 40). The second ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene particles read on the claimed at least one type high density polyethylene polymer particles.
The third ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene particle has a bulk density less than or equal to 0.33 g/cc (paragraph 42).
The functionalized particles comprise a silica carrier and a scavenger component immobilized on the silica carrier. The functionalized particles include 2-aminoethyl sulfide ethyl silica (SEA), 2-Mercaptoethyl ethyl sulfide silica (SEM26) (paragraph 135).
The filtration media exhibits a complex internal matrix comprising millions of interconnected, multi-directional pores of varying diameters forming a tortuous path obstacle to the through flow of contaminants in fluids (paragraph 155).
As to claims 2 and 4, the functionalized particles comprise a silica carrier and a scavenger component immobilized on the silica carrier. The functionalized particles include 2-aminoethyl sulfide ethyl silica (SEA), 2-Mercaptoethyl ethyl sulfide silica (SEM26) (paragraph 135).
As to claim 8, the second ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene particles have an average molecular weight ranging from 4 million g/mol to 5.5 million g/mol, and a bulk density of 0.25 g/cc or less (paragraph 40).
As to claim 11, the second ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene particles have an average particle size D50 of 28 to 36 microns which is less than 50 microns (paragraph 116).
As to claim 13, the second ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene particles comprise a plurality of non-spherical perforated or porous particles having a second convoluted shape which is described as a popcorn-like morphology (paragraph 111). The second ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene particles thus have a multi-lobal shape.
As to claim 14, the first, second and third ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene particles have different average particle size D50 (paragraph 116; table 2).
As to claim 16, Prince also discloses a filtration media comprising functionalized particles distributed throughout a sintered porous matrix which is formed from a combination of two different types of ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene particles having different average particle sizes d50 (paragraph 118). The first ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene particles have d50 from 50 to 70 microns while the first ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene particles have d50 from 28 to 36 microns (paragraph 116). Difference in the average particle sizes d50 results in the filtration media having a bimodal pore size distribution.
As to claim 17, the functional particles are contained in the filtration media in an amount greater than about 20% by weight (table 2).
As to claim 18, the filtration media is in the form of a block segment having an outer diameter of about 1.45 inches and an inner diameter of about 0.368 inches and a length of 2.3 inches (paragraph 167). The filtration media thus has a non-planar and non-tubular shape.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prince as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2019/0212257 to Wang et al. (hereinafter “Wang”).
Prince discloses the functionalized particles comprising a silica carrier and a scavenger component immobilized on the silica carrier. The functionalized particles include 2-aminoethyl sulfide ethyl silica (SEA), 2-Mercaptoethyl ethyl sulfide silica (SEM26) (paragraph 135).
Prince fails to disclose the functionalized particles comprising pentaamine ethyl sulfide amide silica (SPA5).
Wang, however, discloses a method of detecting one or more metals in a liquid sample. The method includes the step of extracting the metal from the liquid sample and retaining the metal on a binding material (abstract). The binding material comprises SPA5, SEA, or SEM26 (paragraph 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute SPA5 for SEA as chemical scavengers because SPA5 and SEA film have been shown in the art to be recognized equivalent chemical scavengers for removal of metals from the liquid samples and the selection of these known equivalents to be used as chemical scavengers for removal of metals from the liquid samples will be within the level of the ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Prince.
Prince does not explicitly disclose a filtration media having an average pore size of greater than about 4.5 nm and a BET surface area of greater than about 0.5 m2/g. However, it appears that the filtration media of Prince is structurally and chemically the same as the porous substrate of the claimed invention.
The filtration media comprises functionalized particles distributed throughout a sintered porous matrix which is formed from a combination of three different types of ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene particles (abstract).
The first ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene particles have an average molecular weight ranging from 8 million g/mol to 10 million g/mol (paragraph 38).
The second ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene particles have an average molecular weight ranging from 4 million g/mol to 5.5 million g/mol, and a bulk density of 0.25g/cc or less (paragraph 40). The second ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene particles have an average particle size D50 of 28 to 36 microns which is less than 50 microns (paragraph 116). The second ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene particles comprise a plurality of non-spherical perforated or porous particles having a second convoluted shape which is described as a popcorn-like morphology (paragraph 111). The second ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene particles thus have a multi-lobal shape.
The third ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene particle has a bulk density less than or equal to 0.33 g/cc (paragraph 42).
The first, second and third ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene particles have different average particle size D50 (paragraph 116; table 2).
The functionalized particles comprise a silica carrier and a scavenger component immobilized on the silica carrier. The functionalized particles include 2-aminoethyl sulfide ethyl silica (SEA), 2-Mercaptoethyl ethyl sulfide silica (SEM26) (paragraph 135).
The filtration media exhibits a complex internal matrix comprising millions of interconnected, multi-directional pores of varying diameters forming a tortuous path obstacle to the through flow of contaminants in fluids (paragraph 155). The functional particles are contained in the filtration media in an amount greater than about 20% by weight (table 2).
Therefore, the examiner takes the position that the average pore size of greater than 4.5 nm and the BET surface area of greater than about 0.5 m2/g would be inherently present as like material has like property. This is in line with In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) which holds that if the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the claimed properties or functions will be presumed to be inherent. The burden is shifted to the applicant to show unobvious differences between the claimed product and the prior art product.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 8-11, 13, 14, 16-18, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/500,405 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present invention are fully encompassed by those of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 3 and 4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/500,405 (reference application) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Wang.
The reference application discloses that a chemical scavenger comprises scavenger component immobilized on a solid carrier wherein the chemical component is an aminoalkyl compound while the solid carrier is a silica particle (claims 9-12).
The claims of the reference application do not explicitly disclose the chemical scavenger comprising SPA5 or SEA.
Wang, however, discloses a method of detecting one or more metals in a liquid sample. The method includes the step of extracting the metal from the liquid sample and retaining the metal on a binding material (abstract). The binding material comprises SPA5, SEA, or SEM26 (paragraph 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use SPA5 or SEA disclosed in Wang for the chemical scavenger disclosed in the reference application, motivated by the desire to promote extraction of metals from the liquid samples.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/Hai Vo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788