DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
1a. Claims 9-12 are objected to as dependent upon rejected claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Applicant’s Remarks
1a. Applicant’s arguments and remarks, filed on 3/2/2026 (hereinafter Remarks), are acknowledged, and have been fully considered.
Regarding Applicant’s claim amendments “obtain, in a dirty paper coding (DPC) scheme”, the Examiner conduct a new search and finds that Xia (US 20180367191 A1) discloses patentable equivalent features. The Examiner updates the rejections based on Applicant’s amendments. The office action is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2a. Claims 1-4, 8, 14-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 20240137253 A1) in view of Xia (US 20180367191 A1).
2b. Summary of the Cited Prior Art
Wu discloses efficient arithmetic coding for multiple composition distribution matcher.
Xia discloses a method for non-linear precoding.
2c. Claim Analysis
Regarding Claim 1, Wu discloses:
An encoding device, wherein the encoding device is configured to (Fig 7, MCDM Encoding 720):
obtain, in a dirty paper coding (DPC) scheme, symbol probabilities for symbols of a symbol sequence (Fig 6; see: each symbol in the alphabet may have any suitable generation probability such that the probabilities of all symbols in the alphabet add up to 1.0, in [0094)
given an effective interference (see: The non-uniform modulation symbol distribution can increase the maximum transmission capacity for a given SNR, in [0100]) based on a target distribution of symbols of a transmit signal (Fig 7, Distribution Matcher Encoding 720; see: device may perform MCDM encoding to generate a transmission with a non-uniform modulation symbol distribution, in [0100]);
encode, in the (DPC) scheme, a message into the symbol sequence (Fig 4; see: encode a sequence of message data bits into a sequence of symbols, in [0079]) based on the symbol probabilities; and (Fig 6; see: encoding for a sequence Y with three symbols generated from a two-symbol alphabet {a1, a2} with a generation probability of 0.8, in [0094]);
obtain, in the (DPC) scheme, the transmit signal based on a mapping of the symbol sequence (Fig 4, Data bits 402 to Symbols 404; see: a sequence of symbols generated by symbol-level processing and mapping bloc, in [0075]) and the effective interference using a scalar function (see: the scaling factor can be computed based on the modulation symbol distribution, in [0039]).
Wu does not disclose dirty paper coding and effective interference.
However, Xia discloses dirty paper coding and effective interference:
obtain, in a dirty paper coding (DPC) scheme (see: [0056] NL MU-MIMO may be provided. The sum-rate capacity of a downlink MU-MIMO system may be achieved by using dirty paper coding (DPC)) symbol probabilities for symbols of a symbol sequence given an effective interference (Fig 8, Pre-substract interference 846 and 858; see: [0082] Interference cancellation block 842 may include a number of modules that may be used for NL-MU-MIMO. For example, 842 may include user ordering 844, feedback filter coefficients 848, pre-subtract interference 846, pre-subtract interference 850, modulo 852, and/or modulo 854) based on a target distribution of symbols of a transmit signal;
encode, in the (DPC) scheme (see: [0056] NL MU-MIMO may be provided. The sum-rate capacity of a downlink MU-MIMO system may be achieved by using dirty paper coding (DPC)) a message into the symbol sequence based on the symbol probabilities; and
obtain, in the (DPC) scheme (see: [0056] NL MU-MIMO may be provided. The sum-rate capacity of a downlink MU-MIMO system may be achieved by using dirty paper coding (DPC)) the transmit signal based on a mapping of the symbol sequence and the effective interference using a scalar function.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Wu’s method for efficient arithmetic coding for multiple composition distribution matcher with Xia’s method for non-linear precoding with the motivation being to improve data throughput and link range (Xia, [0002]).
Regarding Claim 2, Wu discloses:
wherein for encoding the message into the symbol sequence, the encoding device is configured to (Fig 4):
determine the symbols of the symbol sequence based on the symbol probabilities (Fig 6; see: encoding for a sequence Y with three symbols generated from a two-symbol alphabet {a1, a2} with a generation probability of 0.8, in [0094]) wherein the symbols of the transmit signal have the target distribution (Fig 4; see: into a sequence of n symbols (codewords) with a desired or target probability distribution, in [0035]).
Regarding Claim 3, Wu discloses:
wherein the target distribution of the symbols of the transmit signal is (Fig 4; see: into a sequence of n symbols (codewords) with a desired or target probability distribution, in [0035]) a truncated Gaussian distribution (see: A constellation with a Gaussian distribution, in [0034], Examiner’s Note; truncated Gaussian distribution is a variety of Gaussian distribution).
Regarding Claim 4, Wu discloses:
wherein for encoding the message into the symbol sequence, the encoding device is configured to (see Figs 4 and 7):
select the symbols of the symbol sequence from symbols of a discrete symbol alphabet wherein the symbols of the discrete symbol alphabet have the symbol probabilities depending on the effective interference (Fig 6; see: the alphabet may include any suitable number of symbols (e.g., 3, 4, 5, or more) and each symbol in the alphabet may have any suitable generation probability such that the probabilities of all symbols in the alphabet add up to 1.0, in [0094]).
Wu does not disclose “effective interference”.
However, Xia discloses pre-subtract interference that functions as effective interference:
wherein the symbols of the discrete symbol alphabet have the symbol probabilities depending on the effective interference (Fig 8, Pre-substract interference 846 and 858; see: [0082] Interference cancellation block 842 may include a number of modules that may be used for NL-MU-MIMO. For example, 842 may include user ordering 844, feedback filter coefficients 848, pre-subtract interference 846, pre-subtract interference 850, modulo 852, and/or modulo 854).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Wu’s method for efficient arithmetic coding for multiple composition distribution matcher with Xia’s method for non-linear precoding with the motivation being to improve data throughput and link range (Xia, [0002]).
Regarding Claim 8, Wu discloses:
wherein the effective interference further includes a uniformly distributed dither signal (see: QAM typically employs a uniform constellation map having a uniform (e.g., grid-like) distribution of symbols, in [0077]).
Wu does not disclose “effective interference”.
However, Xia discloses pre-subtract interference that functions as effective interference:
wherein the effective interference (Fig 8, Pre-substract interference 846 and 858; see: [0082] Interference cancellation block 842 may include a number of modules that may be used for NL-MU-MIMO. For example, 842 may include user ordering 844, feedback filter coefficients 848, pre-subtract interference 846, pre-subtract interference 850, modulo 852, and/or modulo 854) further includes a uniformly distributed dither signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Wu’s method for efficient arithmetic coding for multiple composition distribution matcher with Xia’s method for non-linear precoding with the motivation being to improve data throughput and link range (Xia, [0002]).
Regarding Claims 14 and 16, the decoding claims disclose similar features as of Claims 1 and 8, and are rejected accordingly. Further, Claims 14 and 16 disclose the same operations of Claims 1-13, but are performed by a decoder.
Regarding Claim 15, Wu discloses scaling factor, but does not disclose about MMSE.
However, Xia discloses MMSE :
wherein the scaling factor is a minimum mean squared error (MMSE) scaling factor (see: [0178] A STA procedure for estimation of a G may be provided. A STA may finds it's index, i, e.g., from the SIG or in a way it was transmitted. A STA may use the reference (e.g., 1st) and (i+1)th reference LTF to compute G for the sub-carrier using simple division: Gi(k)=LTF(i+1)(k)/LTF1(k), for each sub-carrier k. MMSE estimate may be used. The Gs may be used to decode the rest of the packet. Examiner.s Note: G may function as a factor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Wu’s method for efficient arithmetic coding for multiple composition distribution matcher with Xia’s method for non-linear precoding with the motivation being to improve data throughput and link range (Xia, [0002]).
Regarding Claims 18-20, the encoding method claims disclose similar features as of Claims 1-3, and are rejected accordingly.
3a. Claims 5-7, 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 20240137253 A1) in view of Xia (US 20180367191 A1) and Jang (US 20170331589 A1).
3b. Summary of the Cited Prior Art
Jang discloses a method for interference mitigation.
3c. Claim Analysis
Regarding Claim 5, Wu discloses:
wherein for encoding the message into the symbol sequence, the encoding device is configured to (see Figs 4 and 7):
perform a joint channel coding and probability shaping of the message (see: With probabilistic constellation shaping, which may also be referred to as probabilistic amplitude shaping (PAS), in [0034]) based on the log-likelihood ratios to obtain the symbol sequence
Wu does not disclose log-likelihood ratios.
However, Jang discloses log-likelihood ratios:
convert the symbol probabilities of the symbols of the discrete symbol alphabet into log-likelihood ratios; and (Fig 14, [0075] Specifically, the present disclosure provides a method for calculating the log likelihood ratio (LLR) of a summed symbol in consideration of an expanded constellation in order to detect the summed symbol, and a method for obtaining the LLRs of individual symbols through LLR conversion based on the calculated LLR of the summed symbol),
perform a joint channel coding and probability shaping of the message based on the log-likelihood ratios to obtain the symbol sequence (Fig 14, [0075] Specifically, the present disclosure provides a method for calculating the log likelihood ratio (LLR) of a summed symbol in consideration of an expanded constellation in order to detect the summed symbol, and a method for obtaining the LLRs of individual symbols through LLR conversion based on the calculated LLR of the summed symbol).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Wu’s method for efficient arithmetic coding for multiple composition distribution matcher with Xia’s method for non-linear precoding with the motivation being to improve data throughput and link range (Xia, [0002]) and Jang’s method for interference mitigation with the motivation being to improve system network (Jang, [0003]).
Regarding Claim 6, Wu does not disclose bit labeling.
However, Jang discloses:
wherein the symbols of the discrete symbol alphabet are provided with a bit labelling (see: where the transmitter uses Gray labeling, in [0064]) and wherein the bit labelling comprises a natural labelling or a Gray labelling (see: where the transmitter uses Gray labeling, in [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Wu’s method for efficient arithmetic coding for multiple composition distribution matcher with Xia’s method for non-linear precoding with the motivation being to improve data throughput and link range (Xia, [0002]) and Jang’s method for interference mitigation with the motivation being to improve system network (Jang, [0003]).
Regarding Claim 7, Wu discloses:
wherein for encoding the message into the symbol sequence, the encoding device is configured to (see Figs 4 and 7):
determine the symbols of the symbol sequence based on the bit labelling of the symbols of the discrete symbol alphabet (Fig 6; see: he alphabet may include any suitable number of symbols (e.g., 3, 4, 5, or more).
Wu does not disclose bit labeling.
However, Jang discloses:
determine the symbols of the symbol sequence based on the bit labelling of the symbols of the discrete symbol alphabet (see: where the transmitter uses Gray labeling, in [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Wu’s method for efficient arithmetic coding for multiple composition distribution matcher with Xia’s method for non-linear precoding with the motivation being to improve data throughput and link range (Xia, [0002]) and Jang’s method for interference mitigation with the motivation being to improve system network (Jang, [0003]).
Regarding Claim 13, Wu discloses:
wherein encoding the message into the symbol sequence comprises polar encoding (Fig 6; see: encoding for a sequence Y with three symbols generated from a two-symbol alphabet {a1, a2} with a generation probability of 0.8, in [0094]), and the encoding device is further configured to (see Figs 4 and 7):
notify a receiver at least one of a number of shaping bits or an allocation of the shaping bits (see: With probabilistic constellation shaping, which may also be referred to as probabilistic amplitude shaping (PAS), in [0034]; Examiner’s Note: constellation amplitude shaping requires signaling and configuring parameters, including number of shaping bit and resources between transmitter and receiver).
Wu does not disclose polar encoding.
However, Jang discloses:
wherein encoding the message into the symbol sequence comprises polar encoding (Fig 10; see: A polar code is applied based on the assumption that N=2n, in [0116]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Wu’s method for efficient arithmetic coding for multiple composition distribution matcher with Xia’s method for non-linear precoding with the motivation being to improve data throughput and link range (Xia, [0002]) and Jang’s method for interference mitigation with the motivation being to improve system network (Jang, [0003]).
Regarding Claim 17, the decoding claim disclose similar features as of Claims 13, and are rejected accordingly. Further, Claim 17 disclose the same operations of Claim 13, but are performed by a decoder.
Conclusion
HIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUNG LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473