DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final communication is in response to Application No. 18/500,448 filed 11/2/2023. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scott et al. (US 10,444,949 B2, hereinafter “Scott”).
Regarding claim 1, Scott teaches a method comprising:
receiving, via a processor of a human machine interface (HMI) communicatively coupled to an industrial automation device, an indication of a user identifier from an input device, wherein the HMI is configured to present one or more visualizations that communicate sensed data, a status, or both associated with an operation of the industrial automation device. More specifically, dashboards (HMI) are used to communicate operations of a process plant and its devices (industrial automation devices) to a user including sensors and statuses (Scott, abstract, col 9, line 25 – col 10, line 3; col 11, lines 31-53). Upon logon to the application 20 or the system in which the application 20 is used, as determined by a user authentication system 112, the user may be provided with a dashboard or display to use in viewing the operation of the plant 10 at any particular time according to an identified user and user role (Scott, col 19, line 56 – col 20, line 29).
identifying, via the processor, a user type corresponding to the user identifier based on a user type data structure, wherein the user type data structure is configured to characterize a dataset stored in a memory component accessible to the processor, and wherein each of a plurality of user identifiers are categorized with respect to a plurality of user types comprising an operator user type, a set-up user type, an engineer user type, a maintenance user type, an administrator user type, or any combination thereof. More specifically, the dashboards are provided according to user roles (type) such as operator roles, maintenance roles, configuration engineer roles, business manager or plant manager (administrator) roles, etc. (Scott, col 19, line 56 – col 20, line 29).
generating, via the processor, HMI visualization data based on the user type, the user identifier, and a presentation priority data structure, wherein the presentation priority data structure comprises presentation priority data corresponding to the user type and the user identifier. More specifically, the dashboard for the identified user is retrieved from the dashboard library and then the primary display interface logic 102 may receive or obtain many different kinds of process and plant information from various different sources within the process plant 10 or control system 22 to which the application 20 is connected, in order to fill out or generate the display on the user screen or interface 30 (Scott, col 17, lines 10-29). The computing environment may filter and organize (priority data structure) engineering tools/screens and information according to the role of the user in the corresponding organization (Scott, col 26, line 61 – col 27, line 18). Additionally, each user can be automatically provided favorite/likely useful displays and screens to be presented upon login (Scott, col 19, line 56 – col 20, line 29).
sending, via the processor, a control signal to a display to cause presentation of the HMI visualization data. More specifically, at least Figures 4 and 12 depict resultant displays of dashboards (Scott, Figures 4 and 12, col 21, lines 30-50; col 24, line 39- col 25, line 12).
Regarding claim 2, Scott teaches the method of claim 1, wherein generating the HMI visualization data based on the user type comprises determining a subset of presentation priority data corresponds to preferences determined by the processor while the user identifier was logged into the HMI, wherein the subset of presentation priority data is different from another subset of presentation priority data corresponding to a different user type, a different user identifier, or both. More specifically, the computing environment may filter and organize (priority data structure) engineering tools/screens and information according to the role of the user (user type) in the corresponding organization (Scott, col 26, line 61 – col 27, line 18). Additionally, each user (different user identifier) can be automatically provided favorite/likely useful (gain data) displays and screens to be presented upon login (Scott, col 19, line 56 – col 20, line 29).
Regarding claim 3, Scott teaches the method of claim 1, comprising reading the presentation priority data structure, wherein the presentation priority data comprises: an indication of a percentage of time a respective screen is presented in association with the user identifier; an indication of a quadrant placement of a respective screen in association with the user identifier; an indication of a frequency of inputs received via a respective screen in association with the user identifier; an indication of a total set of screens selected in association with the user identifier; or any combination thereof. More specifically, the favorites (gain data) can be set based on the last or most used (time presented) displays by the user (Scott, col 20, lines 40-51).
Regarding claim 4, Scott teaches the method of claim 3, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein generating the HMI visualization data comprises: reading gain data associated with each of the presentation priority data; and selecting a subset of screens to present via the display while the user identifier is logged into the HMI based on the gain data, the presentation priority data, the user identifier, and the user type. More specifically, each user (user identifier) can be automatically provided favorite/likely useful (gain data) displays and screens to be presented upon login (Scott, col 19, line 56 – col 20, line 29).
Regarding claim 5, Scott teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the subset of screens corresponding to the user identifier is different from another subset of screens previously selected in association with another user identifier being logged into the HMI. More specifically, the favorites for each user can be manually set (Scott, col 15, line 8-22; col 20, line 47-51).
Regarding claim 6, Scott teaches the method of claim 4, comprising transmitting, via the processor, an indication of the subset of screens to a computing device external to the HMI, wherein the computing device external to the HMI is configured to generate additional HMI visualization data corresponding to the HMI visualization data for presentation on a display of the computing device. More specifically, computers 40 connect via the data highway 54 to the controllers 40 (HMI) (Scott, col 2, line 3-42; col 9, line 55 – col 10, line 3).
Regarding claim 7, Scott teaches a tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by a processor, causes a human machine interface (HMI) terminal to perform operations comprising:
receiving an indication of a first user identifier from an input device of an industrial automation device while a first visualization is presented that communicates sensing data, a status, or both associated with an operation of the industrial automation device. More specifically, dashboards (HMI) are used to communicate operations of a process plant and its devices (industrial automation devices) to a user including sensors and statuses (Scott, abstract, col 9, line 25 – col 10, line 3; col 11, lines 31-53). Upon logon to the application 20 or the system in which the application 20 is used, as determined by a user authentication system 112, the user may be provided with a dashboard or display to use in viewing the operation of the plant 10 at any particular time according to an identified user and user role (Scott, col 19, line 56 – col 20, line 29). Figure 2 depicts the processes of the system which includes the depiction of a loop going from user interface 30 to user authentication 112 to user files 110 to display applications 20, and back to the user interface 30, which suggests that a second user can log in (first user identifier) and have their displays/dashboard generated at any time, including after a first user has been logged in with their displays/dashboard (first visualization) displayed (Scott, Figure 2).
identifying a first user type corresponding to the first user identifier based on a user type data structure, wherein the user type data structure is configured to characterize a dataset stored in a memory component accessible to the processor, and wherein each of a plurality of user identifiers are categorized with respect to a plurality of user types comprising an operator user type, a set-up user type, an engineer user type, a maintenance user type, an administrator user type, or any combination thereof; More specifically, the dashboards are provided according to user roles (type) such as operator roles, maintenance roles, configuration engineer roles, business manager or plant manager (administrator) roles, etc. (Scott, col 19, line 56 – col 20, line 29). Figure 2 depicts the processes of the system which includes the depiction of a loop going from user interface 30 to user authentication 112 to user files 110 to display applications 20, and back to the user interface 30, which suggests that a second user can log in (first user identifier) and have their displays/dashboard generated at any time, including after a first user has been logged in with their displays/dashboard (first visualization) displayed (Scott, Figure 2).
generating first HMI visualization data configured to cause presentation of a second visualization generated based on the first user type, the first user identifier, and a presentation priority data structure, wherein the presentation priority data structure comprises first presentation priority data corresponding to the first user type and the first user identifier. More specifically, the dashboard for the identified user is retrieved from the dashboard library and then the primary display interface logic 102 may receive or obtain many different kinds of process and plant information from various different sources within the process plant 10 or control system 22 to which the application 20 is connected, in order to fill out or generate the display on the user screen or interface 30 (Scott, col 17, lines 10-29). The computing environment may filter and organize (priority data structure) engineering tools/screens and information according to the role of the user in the corresponding organization (Scott, col 26, line 61 – col 27, line 18). Additionally, each user can be automatically provided favorite/likely useful (gain data) displays and screens to be presented upon login (Scott, col 19, line 56 – col 20, line 29). Figure 2 depicts the processes of the system which includes the depiction of a loop going from user interface 30 to user authentication 112 to user files 110 to display applications 20, and back to the user interface 30, which suggests that a second user can log in (first user identifier) and have their displays/dashboard generated at any time, including after a first user has been logged in with their displays/dashboard (first visualization) displayed (Scott, Figure 2).
sending a control signal to a display to cause presentation of the first HMI visualization data. More specifically, at least Figures 4 and 12 depict resultant displays of dashboards (Scott, Figures 4 and 12, col 21, lines 30-50; col 24, line 39- col 25, line 12).
Regarding claim 8, Scott teaches the tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 7, the operations comprising: receiving an indication of a second user identifier from the input device while the second visualization is presented; and generating second HMI visualization data configured to cause presentation of a third visualization based on the second user identifier, a second user type, and the presentation priority data structure that comprises second presentation priority data corresponding to the second user type and the second user identifier, wherein the second visualization and the third visualization are different. More specifically, the dashboard for the identified user is retrieved from the dashboard library and then the primary display interface logic 102 may receive or obtain many different kinds of process and plant information from various different sources within the process plant 10 or control system 22 to which the application 20 is connected, in order to fill out or generate the display on the user screen or interface 30 (Scott, col 17, lines 10-29). The computing environment may filter and organize (priority data structure) engineering tools/screens and information according to the role of the user in the corresponding organization (Scott, col 26, line 61 – col 27, line 18). Figure 2 depicts the processes of the system which includes the depiction of a loop going from user interface 30 to user authentication 112 to user files 110 to display applications 20, and back to the user interface 30, which suggests that a third user can log in (second user identifier) and have their displays/dashboard (third visualization) generated at any time, including after a different user has been logged in with their displays/dashboard (second visualization) displayed (Scott, Figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, Scott teaches the tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 7, wherein the second visualization corresponds to the first user type comprising the operator user type, wherein the second visualization prioritizes presentation at least a production data screen over one or more other screens of a plurality of screens based on the operator user type. More specifically, Scott discloses role-dependent views such as an operator role responsible for supervising process parameters such as flow, level, temperature, pressure, etc., monitoring events related to process control loops, and generally assuring accuracy of control logic implemented in the process plant (production data) (Scott, col 20, lines 2-14; col 28, lines 4-50).
Regrading claim 10, Scott teaches the tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 7, wherein the second visualization is configured to sort indications of keywords configured to be presented as part of a keyword list visualization based on the first user type and a plurality of indications of screens selected to be presented for the first user type. More specifically, Figures 9 and 10 depict visualizations of a list of gadgets (screens) sorted by name (keywords) (Scott, col 23, lines 17-50).
Regarding claim 11, Scott teaches the tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 7, wherein the first presentation priority data comprising: an indication of a percentage of time a respective screen is presented in association with the first user identifier; an indication of a quadrant placement of a respective screen in association with the first user identifier; an indication of a frequency of inputs received via a respective screen in association with the first user identifier; an indication of a total set of screens selected in association with the first user identifier; or any combination thereof. More specifically, the favorites (gain data) can be set based on the last or most used (time presented) displays by the user (Scott, col 20, lines 40-51).
Regarding claim 12, Scott teaches the tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 7, the operations comprising determining the second visualization to comprise a second set of screens to be different from a first set of screens of the first visualization. More specifically, the computing environment may filter and organize (priority data structure) engineering tools/screens and information according to the role of the user (user type) in the corresponding organization (Scott, col 26, line 61 – col 27, line 18). Additionally, each user (different user identifier) can be automatically provided favorite/likely useful (gain data) displays and screens to be presented upon login (Scott, col 19, line 56 – col 20, line 29).
Regarding claim 13, Scott teaches the tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the second set of screens are respectively presented via one of four quadrants of the display, and wherein each screen of the second set of screens corresponds to a respective visualization data file. More specifically, Figure 7 depicts the configuration of the dashboards which includes a 4x4 quadrant-style selection which is then filled in by visualizations (Scott, Figure 7, col 22, lines 16 – col 23, line 3).
Regarding claim 14, Scott teaches a tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by a processor, causes an industrial control device to perform operations comprising:
generating first visualization data configured to cause presentation of a first visualization comprising a first set of screens, wherein the first visualization communicates sensing data, a status, or both associated with an operation of an industrial automation device. More specifically, dashboards (visualizations) are used to communicate operations of a process plant and its devices (industrial automation devices) to a user including sensors and statuses (Scott, abstract, col 9, line 25 – col 10, line 3; col 11, lines 31-53).
receiving an indication of a user identifier from an input device of an industrial automation device while the first visualization is presented. More specifically, Upon logon to the application 20 or the system in which the application 20 is used, as determined by a user authentication system 112, the user may be provided with a dashboard or display to use in viewing the operation of the plant 10 at any particular time according to an identified user and user role (Scott, col 19, line 56 – col 20, line 29). Figure 2 depicts the processes of the system which includes the depiction of a loop going from user interface 30 to user authentication 112 to user files 110 to display applications 20, and back to the user interface 30, which suggests that a second user can log in (first user identifier) and have their displays/dashboard generated at any time, including after a first user has been logged in with their displays/dashboard (first visualization) displayed (Scott, Figure 2).
identifying a user type corresponding to the user identifier based on a user type data structure, wherein the user type data structure is configured to characterize a dataset stored in a memory component accessible to the processor, and wherein each of a plurality of user identifiers are categorized with respect to a plurality of user types comprising an operator user type, a set-up user type, an engineer user type, a maintenance user type, an administrator user type, or any combination thereof. More specifically, the dashboards are provided according to user roles (type) such as operator roles, maintenance roles, configuration engineer roles, business manager or plant manager (administrator) roles, etc. (Scott, col 19, line 56 – col 20, line 29). Figure 2 depicts the processes of the system which includes the depiction of a loop going from user interface 30 to user authentication 112 to user files 110 to display applications 20, and back to the user interface 30, which suggests that a second user can log in (first user identifier) and have their displays/dashboard generated at any time, including after a first user has been logged in with their displays/dashboard (first visualization) displayed (Scott, Figure 2).
determining a second set of screens based on the user type, the user identifier, and a presentation priority data structure, wherein the presentation priority data structure comprises presentation priority data corresponding to the user type and the user identifier; and generating second visualization data configured to cause presentation of a second visualization comprising the second set of screens. More specifically, the dashboard for the identified user is retrieved from the dashboard library and then the primary display interface logic 102 may receive or obtain many different kinds of process and plant information from various different sources within the process plant 10 or control system 22 to which the application 20 is connected, in order to fill out or generate the display on the user screen or interface 30 (Scott, col 17, lines 10-29). The computing environment may filter and organize (priority data structure) engineering tools/screens and information according to the role of the user in the corresponding organization (Scott, col 26, line 61 – col 27, line 18). Additionally, each user can be automatically provided favorite/likely useful (gain data) displays and screens to be presented upon login (Scott, col 19, line 56 – col 20, line 29). Figure 2 depicts the processes of the system which includes the depiction of a loop going from user interface 30 to user authentication 112 to user files 110 to display applications 20, and back to the user interface 30, which suggests that a second user can log in (first user identifier) and have their displays/dashboard generated at any time, including after a first user has been logged in with their displays/dashboard (first visualization) displayed (Scott, Figure 2). At least Figures 4 and 12 depict resultant displays of dashboards (Scott, Figures 4 and 12, col 21, lines 30-50; col 24, line 39- col 25, line 12).
Regarding claim 15, Scott, teaches the tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 14, the operations comprising determining the second set of screens to be different from the first set of screens based on the presentation priority data. More specifically, Scott discloses role-dependent views such as an operator role responsible for supervising process parameters such as flow, level, temperature, pressure, etc., monitoring events related to process control loops, and generally assuring accuracy of control logic implemented in the process plant (production data) (Scott, col 20, lines 2-14; col 28, lines 4-50).
Regarding claim 16, Scott teaches the tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 14, the operations comprising: reading a memory to access the presentation priority data structure; and generating second level input data based on the user type, the user identifier, and indication of a plurality of input selections and respective timestamps of each input selection of the plurality of input selections that were received during a session corresponding to the user identifier. More specifically, each user (user identifier) can be automatically provided favorite/likely useful (second level input data) displays and screens to be presented upon login (Scott, col 19, line 56 – col 20, line 29). The automatic determination of favorites is done by tracking previous usages (times) of displays or dashboards (Scott, col 15, 8-22).
Regarding claim 17, Scott teaches the tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 16, the operations comprising generating the presentation priority data to overwrite preexisting presentation priority data stored in the presentation priority data structure in association with the user identifier, the user type, or both. More specifically, at least the favorites can be manually adjusted (overwritten) by an operator (Scott, col 15, 8-22; col 16, lines 10-18).
Regarding claim 19, Scott teaches the tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 16, the operations comprising generating the second level input data to comprise one or more of: a percentage of time a respective screen is presented; a quadrant placement of a respective screen; a frequency of inputs received via a respective screen; a total set of screens selected during the session corresponding to the user identifier; or any combination thereof. More specifically, the favorites (gain data) can be set based on the last or most used (time presented) displays by the user (Scott, col 20, lines 40-51).
Regarding claim 20, Scott teaches the tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the industrial control device comprises a human machine interface. More specifically, computers 40 connect via the data highway 54 to the controllers 40 (HMI) (Scott, col 2, line 3-42; col 9, line 55 – col 10, line 3).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
Jayathirtha (US 2022/0398665 A1) - discloses providing a dashboard visualization for a portfolio of assets (e.g., equipment). In this regard, a request to obtain asset data for a dashboard visualization associated with a portfolio of assets is transmitted to a server system. The request comprises an asset descriptor and a user identifier. In response to the request, the asset data is received from the server system. The asset data is configured based on the asset descriptor and the user identifier, and the asset data comprising prioritized actions for the portfolio of assets (Jaya, [abstract, [0037]). An ordering of prioritized actions may be different for Energy Optimization than Digitized Maintenance (JY, [0039]). The user identifier is associated with a user role (e.g., a manager, an executive, a maintenance engineer, a process engineer, etc.) (Jaya, [0089]). The rendering the dashboard visualization comprises configuring a layout of the interactive display elements based on the prioritized actions and the user identifier (Jaya, [0128].
Forstall (US 7,707,514 B2) - a widget manager facilitating management of widgets in a dashboard layer (Forstall, abstract). The widgets can be presented according to several criteria including at least usage information (e.g., when a widget was last activated) as well as and user privilege information (Forstall, col 22, line 62 – col 23, line 15; col 23, line 45 – col 24, line 3).
Conclusion
/PATRICK F RIEGLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171