DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the ejector configured to transiently engage an insert to drive the mobile device case away from the mobile device mount must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11,17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levy(US20190198212) in view of Aspinall et al.(US9651069).
[claim 10] Levy teaches a mobile device mount(100) comprising a body(1006), an induction coil(229) integrated into the body, a set of magnetic elements(1022) in the body capable of locking a mobile device to the body(ABS), a set of locking jaws(1068), and a locking control with a lever or pushbutton(1072) extending laterally from the mount configured to release the set of locking jaws, the mobile device mount configured to support wireless charging of a mobile device. Levy teaches a mobile device mount as detailed above, with a locking control configured to release the set of locking jaws, however Levy does not teach the use of an ejector with the locking control that is configured to transiently engage with an insert in a back surface of a mobile device case to drive the mobile device case away from the mobile device mount. Aspinall teaches a similar mobile device mount, with a locking control(400,600) with an ejector(10) and a lever or pushbutton(440,640) extending laterally from the mount configured to release a set of locking jaws(420,620) and configured to transiently engage the ejector with an insert in a back surface of a mobile device case(100) to drive the mobile device case away from the mobile device mount(fig 6d). The ejector aids in disengaging and separating the mobile device from the mount with a biasing force from spring(50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use the ejector and locking control of Aspinall with the mobile device mount of Levy, as this would provide a means to aid a user in separating the mobile device case from the mount as taught by Aspinall.
[claim 11] wherein the set of magnetic elements is outside the wireless charging area of a mobile device(see para[0048-0049]).
[claim 17] Levy further teaches an emplacement mechanism(306, fig 3, see also figures 4-7) configured to affix the mobile device mount to a surface.
[claim 18] wherein the emplacement mechanism affixes the mobile device to a vehicle air vent, a vehicle dashboard(see para[0050]), a bicycle frame, bicycle or motorcycle handlebars, a wall, a desk, a table, an armband, a belt or a waistband.
[claim 19] further comprising one or more pivot mechanisms(342) to maneuver a mobile device relative to the emplacement mechanism and an adjoining surface.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levy in view of Aspinall as applied to claims 10,17 and 19 above, and further in view of Khodapanah et al.(US10125921).
[claim 20] Levy in view of Aspinall teach a mobile device mount as detailed above, with an emplacement mechanism(306) having one or more pivot mechanisms(342). Levy however does not specifically teach that the pivot mechanisms comprise ball and socket joints. The use of ball and socket joints in mobile device mounts is well known, with Khodapanah teaching a similar mobile device mount, and teaching one example of a mobile device mount(fig 7b) comprising a ball and socket joint(702). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use a ball and socket joint with the device mount of Levy in view of Aspinall, as this would provide greater adjustability to the joint of Levy, as taught by Khodapanah.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/15/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First with regards to the Drawings, Applicant has amended the specification and Drawings to provide support for the claimed ejector and locking control. However there is still no ejector shown in any of the figures that is able to transiently engage with an insert in a back surface of the mobile device case, the ejector(200) newly labeled in fig 5B, does not appear capable of transiently engaging the insert of the device case.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 10,11,17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY DUCKWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632