Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
Claim 20 relates to a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream a generated by a particular encoding method. Since the claims relate to a bitstream which is stored on a computer readable medium after all coding functions have been performed the bitstream no longer has any functional relationship with a processor or other machine, but instead relates to e.g. a video stored on a hard drive. The purpose of the stored bitstream is only to convey meaning to a human viewer of the coded bitstream and is thus non-functional descriptive material. Non-functional descriptive material used only to convey messages or meaning is given little patentable weight (See MPEP 2111.05). For the purposes of examination the examiner will interpret the claim as relating only to a computer readable medium storing data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng et al (2013/0114717).
In regard to claim 20 Zheng discloses a computer readable medium storing a bitstream (Zheng Fig. 1 and pars 35-36 note channel 16 carrying encoded video data may include non-transitory computer readable media such as a DVD).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-5, 7 and 15-19 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Independent claims 1, 18 and 19 relate to converting a current block between a bitstream and a video where the block is coded with a geometric partitioning mode, the geometric partitioning mode being a prediction mode wherein the prediction candidates are determined using a pairwise average candidate, the pairwise average candidate being generated using a pair of candidates having indices 0 and 1 in a regular merge list, the pairwise candidate being calculated separately for each reference picture list, determining a candidate index that is included in the bitstream and is smaller than a maximum allowed number of candidates, converting the current block using the candidate list and candidate index, the geometric partitioning mode including first and second motion information based on the candidate list and having a weighting process based on a weighted sum of the samples derived from the first and second motion information.
The closest arts are Zhang, Lee and Guo. Zhang discloses a geometric partitioning mode in which a current block is partitioned into non-rectangular prediction units. Zhang further discloses that prediction units may be coded using a merge mode including a merge index into a candidate list that indicates motion information for each PU. However, Zhang discloses that geometric partitioning is independent of prediction mode and does not require that geometric partitioning be based on a regular merge list including a pairwise average candidate. Lee discloses generating additional merge candidates based on an average of pairs of other merge candidates. Guo discloses weighted blending along the boundaries of prediction units predicted using first and second motions. However, neither Lee no Guo remedy the deficiency of Zheng tying the geometric partitioning mode to a specific prediction mode including a pairwise average candidate as required by the independent claims.
Conclusion
/JEREMIAH C HALLENBECK-HUBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481