Detailed Action
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to application No. 18/500,498 filed on 02 November 2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-20 have been rejected as follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02 November 2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim priority for foreign applications KR10-2023-0072316, filed on 05 June 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “a first substrate configured to measure at least one of an external temperature or an external humidity of a fuel cell stack enclosure including a fuel cell stack;” and “a second substrate configured to measure at least one of an internal temperature or an internal humidity of the fuel cell stack enclosure;”. The claims lack written description – the specification describes the substrate having elements capable of measurement on the substrate, but the substrate itself does not measure. Therefore, the specification lacks written description to support the limitation of a first and second substrate configured to measure.
Claims 2-10 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 7-10, 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claim 7-10 is directed to a method of monitoring a fuel cell stack and claim 11 is directed to method. Therefore, claims 1 and 11 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claims 7-10, 11-20 include limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and claim 1 will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection.
Claim 7 recites:
The fuel cell stack sensor of claim 6, wherein the measurement controller is configured to:
calculate a first relative humidity value based on the external temperature and the external humidity; and
calculate a second relative humidity value based on the internal temperature and the internal humidity.
The examiner submits that the foregoing statements bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, “calculating...” in the context of this claim encompasses a person looking at data collected and performing basic mental math. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, there are no additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea. When the limitations of the claim are added to claim 1, they do not provide additional limitations that eliminate the abstract idea.
Thus, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative claim 7 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Dependent claim(s) 8-10, 12-20 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application Therefore, subsequent claims 8-10, 11-20 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of claim 7.
Therefore, claim(s) 7-20 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 as being unpatentable over Ancimer (US 12381238 B2).
Regarding claim 11, Ancimer teaches comparing a first temperature value indicating an external temperature of a fuel cell stack enclosure including a fuel cell stack with a second temperature value indicating an internal temperature of the fuel cell stack enclosure; (see at least Ancimer [41]; "Since the fuel cell 20 or fuel cell stack 12 temperature may be controlled to a target cathode outlet temperature by controlling the coolant inlet temperature, in the embodiment described above, the cathode outlet temperature may be near the coolant outlet temperature. ") Ancimer outlines a comparison between temperatures relating to the external and internal conditions of the fuel cell stack.
comparing a first humidity value indicating an external humidity of the fuel cell stack enclosure with a second humidity value indicating an internal humidity of the fuel cell stack enclosure; and (see at least Ancimer [8]; "More specifically, this disclosure relates to measuring the relative humidity of the fuel stream entering the anode of a fuel cell or fuel cell stack and comparing it to the dry primary fuel as a reference point.") Ancimer teaches the comparison of humidity values relating to the internal and external conditions of the fuel cell stack.
determining an operation of the fuel cell stack sensor based on comparison results of the first and second temperature values and of the first and second humidity values. (see at least Ancimer [59]; "If the target relative humidity (RH) and the target operating pressure of the fuel cell 20 or fuel cell stack 12 are specified, the target temperature for the fuel cell 20 or fuel cell stack 12 operation may be determined.") Ancimer teaches determining an operation based on the comparison results of humidity and temperature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Edamama (US 20220216490 A1) in view of Sinha (US 20190379074 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Edamana discloses a first substrate configured to measure at least one of an external temperature or an external humidity of a fuel cell stack enclosure including a fuel cell stack; (see at least [23]; The sensors S may include a first sensor 44 providing a temperature measurement of the fuel cell stack 16 and a second sensor 46 for relative humidity. The sensors S may include a third sensor 48 providing an ambient temperature measurement. ") Edamana describes a sensor to measure the ambient temperature external to the fuel cell stack.
a second substrate configured to measure at least one of an internal temperature or an internal humidity of the fuel cell stack enclosure; and (see at least [23]; "The sensors S may include a first sensor 44 providing a temperature measurement of the fuel cell stack 16 and a second sensor 46 for relative humidity. The sensors S may include a third sensor 48 providing an ambient temperature measurement. ") Edamana describes another substrate to measure the internal temperature and humidity of the fuel cell stack enclosure.
Edamana does not explicitly disclose a hydrogen sensing element disposed on the second substrate configured to detect hydrogen inside the fuel cell stack enclosure
However, Sinha teaches a hydrogen sensing element disposed on the second substrate configured to detect hydrogen inside the fuel cell stack enclosure. (see at least [37, 39]; " With continued reference to FIG. 1, the system 10 and device 12 also include a controller 52 in communication with the fuel cell stack 14, having a processor 54, and configured to maintain operation of the fuel cell stack 14… As described below, the input values (arrows 60) may be relayed to the controller 52 by at least one temperature sensor, pressure sensor, flow sensor, hydrogen concentration model 62, hydrogen concentration sensor 162, ") Sinha describes a hydrogen sensing element combined with an internal temperature sensor to detect hydrogen inside the fuel cell stack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Edamana to incorporate teachings of Sinha which teaches a hydrogen sensing element within the fuel cell stack in order to be able to determine whether hydrogen is within it’s operating parameters for a hydrogen engine.
Regarding claim 2, Edamana and Sinha, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Edamana discloses a first temperature element disposed on the first substrate and configured to measure the external temperature of the fuel cell stack enclosure, and (see at least [23]; The sensors S may include a first sensor 44 providing a temperature measurement of the fuel cell stack 16 and a second sensor 46 for relative humidity. The sensors S may include a third sensor 48 providing an ambient temperature measurement. ")
a second temperature element disposed on the second substrate and configured to measure the internal temperature of the fuel cell stack enclosure. (see at least [23]; "The sensors S may include a first sensor 44 providing a temperature measurement of the fuel cell stack 16 and a second sensor 46 for relative humidity. The sensors S may include a third sensor 48 providing an ambient temperature measurement. ")
Regarding claim 3, Edamana and Sinha, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Edamana discloses a second humidity element disposed on the second substrate and configured to measure the internal humidity of the fuel cell stack enclosure. (see at least [23]; The sensors S may include a first sensor 44 providing a temperature measurement of the fuel cell stack 16 and a second sensor 46 for relative humidity.")
Edamana does not explicitly disclose a first humidity element disposed on the first substrate and configured to measure the external humidity of the fuel cell stack enclosure.
However, Sinha teaches a first humidity element disposed on the first substrate and configured to measure the external humidity of the fuel cell stack enclosure; and (see at least [0039]; "As described below, the input values (arrows 60) may be relayed to the controller 52 by at least one temperature sensor, pressure sensor, flow sensor, hydrogen concentration model 62, hydrogen concentration sensor 162, nitrogen concentration sensor, relative humidity sensors, electric current sensors, fuel cell stack power output sensors, and the like, and may include, e.g., the first pressure 20, the second pressure 22, the relative humidity 58 within the cathode 24,")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Edamana to incorporate teachings of Sinha which teaches a humidity element externally to the fuel cell stack to analyze operating conditions of the fuel cell stack and surrounding counterparts to ensure efficient operation of the motor.
Regarding claim 4, Edamana and Sinha, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Edamana discloses a measurement controller configured to receive: a first temperature value measured by the first temperature element; (see at least [0023]; "The controller 50 is specifically configured to execute the blocks of method 100 and may receive input from one or more sensors S configured to obtain respective sensor data, as shown in FIG. 1. The sensors S may include a first sensor 44 providing a temperature measurement of the fuel cell stack 16 and a second sensor 46 for relative humidity. The sensors S may include a third sensor 48 providing an ambient temperature measurement.")
a second temperature value measured by the second temperature element; (see at least [0023]; "The controller 50 is specifically configured to execute the blocks of method 100 and may receive input from one or more sensors S configured to obtain respective sensor data, as shown in FIG. 1. The sensors S may include a first sensor 44 providing a temperature measurement of the fuel cell stack 16 and a second sensor 46 for relative humidity. The sensors S may include a third sensor 48 providing an ambient temperature measurement.")
data including a first humidity value measured by the first humidity element; and (see at least [0023]; "The controller 50 is specifically configured to execute the blocks of method 100 and may receive input from one or more sensors S configured to obtain respective sensor data, as shown in FIG. 1. The sensors S may include a first sensor 44 providing a temperature measurement of the fuel cell stack 16 and a second sensor 46 for relative humidity. The sensors S may include a third sensor 48 providing an ambient temperature measurement.")
Edamana does not explicitly disclose data including a second humidity value measured by the second humidity element.
However, Sinha teaches data including a second humidity value measured by the second humidity element. (see at least [0039]; "As described below, the input values (arrows 60) may be relayed to the controller 52 by at least one temperature sensor, pressure sensor, flow sensor, hydrogen concentration model 62, hydrogen concentration sensor 162, nitrogen concentration sensor, relative humidity sensors, electric current sensors, fuel cell stack power output sensors, and the like, and may include, e.g., the first pressure 20, the second pressure 22, the relative humidity 58 within the cathode 24,")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Edamana to incorporate teachings of Sinha which teaches multiple humidity elements to analyze operating conditions of the fuel cell stack and surrounding counterparts to ensure efficient operation of the motor.
Regarding claim 5, Edamana and Sinha, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Edamana does not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement controller is configured to further receive data including a hydrogen concentration value detected by the hydrogen sensing element.
However, Sinha teaches wherein the measurement controller is configured to further receive data including a hydrogen concentration value detected by the hydrogen sensing element. (see at least [37, 39]; " With continued reference to FIG. 1, the system 10 and device 12 also include a controller 52 in communication with the fuel cell stack 14, having a processor 54, and configured to maintain operation of the fuel cell stack 14… As described below, the input values (arrows 60) may be relayed to the controller 52 by at least one temperature sensor, pressure sensor, flow sensor, hydrogen concentration model 62, hydrogen concentration sensor 162, ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Edamana to incorporate teachings of Sinha which teaches a controller configured to receive readings from the hydrogen sensing element in order to determine whether the hydrogen levels are within the safe operating parameters for the vehicle.
Regarding claim 6, Edamana and Sinha, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Edamana discloses a measurement controller configured to control: the first temperature element to measure the external temperature of the fuel cell stack enclosure; (see at least [23]; "The controller 50 is specifically configured to execute the blocks of method 100 and may receive input from one or more sensors S configured to obtain respective sensor data, as shown in FIG. 1. The sensors S may include a first sensor 44 providing a temperature measurement of the fuel cell stack 16 and a second sensor 46 for relative humidity. The sensors S may include a third sensor 48 providing an ambient temperature measurement.")
the second temperature element to measure the internal temperature of the fuel cell stack enclosure; (see at least [23]; "The controller 50 is specifically configured to execute the blocks of method 100 and may receive input from one or more sensors S configured to obtain respective sensor data, as shown in FIG. 1. The sensors S may include a first sensor 44 providing a temperature measurement of the fuel cell stack 16 and a second sensor 46 for relative humidity. The sensors S may include a third sensor 48 providing an ambient temperature measurement.")
the second humidity element to measure the internal humidity of the fuel cell stack enclosure; and (see at least [23]; "The controller 50 is specifically configured to execute the blocks of method 100 and may receive input from one or more sensors S configured to obtain respective sensor data, as shown in FIG. 1. The sensors S may include a first sensor 44 providing a temperature measurement of the fuel cell stack 16 and a second sensor 46 for relative humidity. The sensors S may include a third sensor 48 providing an ambient temperature measurement.")
Edamana does not explicitly disclose the first humidity element to measure the external humidity of the fuel cell stack enclosure; the hydrogen sensing element to measure a hydrogen concentration inside the fuel cell stack enclosure.
However, Sinha teaches the first humidity element to measure the external humidity of the fuel cell stack enclosure; (see at least [0039]; " As part of the method 16, the controller 52 may be programmed to determine a set of input values (arrows 60) and, using the received input values (arrows 60), to control operation of the fuel cell stack 14, system 10, and/or device 12. As described below, the input values (arrows 60) may be relayed to the controller 52 by at least one temperature sensor, pressure sensor, flow sensor, hydrogen concentration model 62, hydrogen concentration sensor 162, nitrogen concentration sensor, relative humidity sensors, electric current sensors, fuel cell stack power output sensors, and the like, and may include, e.g., the first pressure 20, the second pressure 22, the relative humidity 58 within the cathode 24,")
the hydrogen sensing element to measure a hydrogen concentration inside the fuel cell stack enclosure. (see at least [0039]; " As part of the method 16, the controller 52 may be programmed to determine a set of input values (arrows 60) and, using the received input values (arrows 60), to control operation of the fuel cell stack 14, system 10, and/or device 12. As described below, the input values (arrows 60) may be relayed to the controller 52 by at least one temperature sensor, pressure sensor, flow sensor, hydrogen concentration model 62, hydrogen concentration sensor 162, nitrogen concentration sensor, relative humidity sensors, electric current sensors, fuel cell stack power output sensors, and the like, and may include, e.g., the first pressure 20, the second pressure 22, the relative humidity 58 within the cathode 24,")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Edamana to incorporate teachings of Sinha which teaches a humidity element to measure external humidity and a hydrogen sensing element in order to determine the operating conditions of the motor are within safe operating conditions.
Regarding claim 7, Edamana and Sinha, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Edamana discloses discloses calculate a second relative humidity value based on the internal temperature and the internal humidity. (see at least [0023]; "The sensors S may include a first sensor 44 providing a temperature measurement of the fuel cell stack 16 and a second sensor 46 for relative humidity. ")
Edamana does not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement controller is configured to: calculate a first relative humidity value based on the external temperature and the external humidity.
However, Sinha teaches wherein the measurement controller is configured to: calculate a first relative humidity value based on the external temperature and the external humidity; and (See at least [0041]; "Further, concurrent to decreasing 72, the method 16 may include maintaining 74 the relative humidity 58 of less than the threshold relative humidity in the cathode 24 via the controller 52.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Edamana to incorporate teachings of Sinha which teaches calculating a relative humidity value based on the temperature and humidity to have a comparison point to gauge the operating conditions of the motor are within safe parameters.
Regarding claim 12, Edamana and Sinha, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Edamana discloses in response to determination that the first temperature value and the second temperature value are the same and the first humidity value and the second humidity value are the same, repeating, after a predetermined time period, comparing the first humidity value with the second humidity value.. (see at least [Fig. 3, Fig. 4]) Edamana shows repeated comparison of the humidity values.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Edamama (US 20220216490 A1) in view of Sinha (US 20190379074 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Motayed (WO 2022046096 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Edamana and Sinha, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Edamana does not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement controller is configured to determine that volatile organic compound (VOC) poisoning has occurred in the fuel cell stack sensor when the external temperature and the internal temperature are the same and the external humidity and the internal humidity are different.
However, Motayed teaches wherein the measurement controller is configured to determine that volatile organic compound (VOC) poisoning has occurred in the fuel cell stack sensor when the external temperature and the internal temperature are the same and the external humidity and the internal humidity are different. (see at least [0316]; "For example, one product can be a NO2 and CO2 sensor on one chip as an indoor air quality monitoring device. For another example, another product could be a CI2 and HCI sensor for toxic industrial chemical detection. ..sensors which can selectively detect compounds without being effected by the presence of other interfering gases, sensors which are robust with respect to temperature and humidity changes, ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Edamana to incorporate teachings of Motayed which teaches volatile organic compound poisoning based on humidity and temperature values in order to determine whether the fuel stack is a potential hazard.
Regarding claim 9, Edamana and Sinha, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Edamana does not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement controller is configured to compare the external humidity and the internal humidity again after a predetermined time has elapsed when the external temperature and the internal temperature are the same and the external humidity and the internal humidity are the same, wherein the measurement controller is configured to determine that a leak has occurred inside the fuel cell stack enclosure when the external humidity and the internal humidity are different after the predetermined time has elapsed.
However, Motayed teaches wherein the measurement controller is configured to compare the external humidity and the internal humidity again after a predetermined time has elapsed when the external temperature and the internal temperature are the same and the external humidity and the internal humidity are the same, and (see at least [0316]; "For example, one product can be a NO2 and CO2 sensor on one chip as an indoor air quality monitoring device. For another example, another product could be a CI2 and HCI sensor for toxic industrial chemical detection. ..sensors which can selectively detect compounds without being effected by the presence of other interfering gases, sensors which are robust with respect to temperature and humidity changes, ")
wherein the measurement controller is configured to determine that a leak has occurred inside the fuel cell stack enclosure when the external humidity and the internal humidity are different after the predetermined time has elapsed. (see at least [0316]; "For example, one product can be a NO2 and CO2 sensor on one chip as an indoor air quality monitoring device. For another example, another product could be a CI2 and HCI sensor for toxic industrial chemical detection. ..sensors which can selectively detect compounds without being effected by the presence of other interfering gases, sensors which are robust with respect to temperature and humidity changes, ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Edamana to incorporate teachings of Motayed which teaches a leak has occured based on humidity values in order to determine whether the fuel stack is a potential hazard.
Regarding claim 10, Edamana and Sinha, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Edamana does not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement controller is configured to determine that a leak has occurred inside the fuel cell stack enclosure when the external temperature and the internal temperature are different and the external humidity and the internal humidity are different.
However, Motayed teaches wherein the measurement controller is configured to determine that a leak has occurred inside the fuel cell stack enclosure when the external temperature and the internal temperature are different and the external humidity and the internal humidity are different. (see at least [0316]; "For example, one product can be a NO2 and CO2 sensor on one chip as an indoor air quality monitoring device. For another example, another product could be a CI2 and HCI sensor for toxic industrial chemical detection. ..sensors which can selectively detect compounds without being effected by the presence of other interfering gases, sensors which are robust with respect to temperature and humidity changes, ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Edamana to incorporate teachings of Motayed which teaches a leak has occurred based on humidity and temperature values in order to determine whether the fuel stack is a potential hazard.
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ancimer in further view of Higgins (US 10693165 B1).
Regarding claim 13, Ancimer discloses the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Ancimer does not explicitly disclose determining that the fuel cell stack sensor is poisoned by volatile organic compounds (VOCs) when the first temperature value and the second temperature value are the same, and the first humidity value and the second humidity value are different.
However, Higgins teaches wherein determining the operation of the fuel cell stack sensor comprises: determining that the fuel cell stack sensor is poisoned by volatile organic compounds (VOCs) when the first temperature value and the second temperature value are the same, and the first humidity value and the second humidity value are different. (see at least [0041]; "Illustratively, a main inlet 820 brings air through a particle filter 1010, and through a pump 1020 to pressurize the airflow through the sensors that follow. In particular, such sensors may comprise (and in any order) a temperature (T) and relative humidity (RH) sensor 1030, NO and NO.sub.2 sensors 1040 (which may or may not be collocated), H.sub.2S and SO.sub.2 sensors 1050 (again, which may or may not be collocated), a photoionization detector (PID) sensor 1060 (e.g., using light, such as ultraviolet light, to measure volatile organic compounds, VOCs)")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ancimer to incorporate teachings of Higgins which teaches determining the fuel cell stack is poisoned by volatile organic compounds based on humidity and temperature readings in order to relay to the user that the fuel stack is in a hazardous condition.
Regarding claim 14, Ancimer discloses the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Ancimer does not explicitly disclose in response to determining that the first temperature value and the second temperature value are different and the first humidity value and the second humidity value are the same, providing a user with a signal indicating that the fuel cell stack enclosure and the fuel cell stack sensor are normally operating.
However, Higgins teaches wherein determining the operation of the fuel cell stack sensor comprises: in response to determining that the first temperature value and the second temperature value are different and the first humidity value and the second humidity value are the same, providing a user with a signal indicating that the fuel cell stack enclosure and the fuel cell stack sensor are normally operating. (see at least [0060]; "For instance, assuming that the server is always operational in step 1905 to receive communication, then once there is a received communication in step 1910, the data is saved (1915) and checked to confirm that the data is valid (1920), such as by checking for all 0's or all 1's, or other mechanism to detect false or erroneous data. Valid data is then checked in step 1925 to determine whether any of the data is above a corresponding threshold, where if so, then in step 1930 a message may be sent to a user (e.g., an alarm condition).")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ancimer to incorporate teachings of Higgins which teaches determining the fuel cell stack is normally operating based on temperature and humidity values in order to convey to the user the vehicle is operating safely and properly.
Regarding claim 15, Ancimer discloses the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Ancimer does not explicitly disclose in response to determining that the first temperature value and the second temperature value are different and the first humidity value and the second humidity value are different, determining that a leak has occurred inside the fuel cell stack enclosure.
However, Higgins teaches wherein determining the operation of the fuel cell stack sensor comprises: in response to determining that the first temperature value and the second temperature value are different and the first humidity value and the second humidity value are different, determining that a leak has occurred inside the fuel cell stack enclosure. (see at least [57]; "Notably, depending on some preset levels for different gases, the storage device 1730 may be configured to adjust from a default logging rate to a fast rate (e.g., every 2 s) automatically. The storage device may be configured to log and report any number of available data points, such as, e.g., fuel cell current, fuel cell voltage, fuel cell coolant outlet temperature, fuel cell state of operation, fuel cell faults, fuel cell alarms, fuel cell system fan pulse width modulation (PWM), fuel cell system water pump control PWM, fuel cell system air flow, fuel cell system air flow required, fuel cell cathode stoichiometry, fuel cell run meter (total RUN time for fuel cell), energy produced by the fuel cell, fuel cell voltage min/max/average, fuel cell blower PWM, H.sub.2 concentration from a leak sensor located next to the fuel cell, D")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ancimer to incorporate teachings of Higgins which teaches determining the fuel cell stack has a leak based on humidity and temperature readings in order to relay to the user that the fuel stack is in a hazardous condition.
Regarding claim 16, Ancimer discloses the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Ancimer does not explicitly disclose in response to determining that the first temperature value and the second temperature value are the same, and the first humidity value and the second humidity value are the same and, even after the predetermined time has elapsed, the first humidity value and the second humidity value are the same, providing a user with a signal indicating that an inside of the fuel cell stack enclosure and the fuel cell stack sensor are normally operating.
However, Higgins teaches wherein determining the operation of the fuel cell stack sensor comprises: in response to determining that the first temperature value and the second temperature value are the same, and the first humidity value and the second humidity value are the same and, even after the predetermined time has elapsed, the first humidity value and the second humidity value are the same, providing a user with a signal indicating that an inside of the fuel cell stack enclosure and the fuel cell stack sensor are normally operating. (see at least [0060]; "For instance, assuming that the server is always operational in step 1905 to receive communication, then once there is a received communication in step 1910, the data is saved (1915) and checked to confirm that the data is valid (1920), such as by checking for all 0's or all 1's, or other mechanism to detect false or erroneous data. Valid data is then checked in step 1925 to determine whether any of the data is above a corresponding threshold, where if so, then in step 1930 a message may be sent to a user (e.g., an alarm condition).")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ancimer to incorporate teachings of Higgins which teaches determining the fuel cell stack is normally operating based on temperature and humidity values in order to convey to the user the vehicle is operating safely and properly.
Regarding claim 17, Ancimer discloses the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Ancimer does not explicitly disclose in response to determining that the first temperature value and the second temperature value are the same, and the first humidity value and the second humidity value are the same and, after the predetermined time has elapsed, the first humidity value and the second humidity value are different, determining that a leak has occurred inside the fuel cell stack enclosure.
However, Higgins teaches in response to determining that the first temperature value and the second temperature value are the same, and the first humidity value and the second humidity value are the same and, after the predetermined time has elapsed, the first humidity value and the second humidity value are different, determining that a leak has occurred inside the fuel cell stack enclosure. (see at least [57]; "Notably, depending on some preset levels for different gases, the storage device 1730 may be configured to adjust from a default logging rate to a fast rate (e.g., every 2 s) automatically. The storage device may be configured to log and report any number of available data points, such as, e.g., fuel cell current, fuel cell voltage, fuel cell coolant outlet temperature, fuel cell state of operation, fuel cell faults, fuel cell alarms, fuel cell system fan pulse width modulation (PWM), fuel cell system water pump control PWM, fuel cell system air flow, fuel cell system air flow required, fuel cell cathode stoichiometry, fuel cell run meter (total RUN time for fuel cell), energy produced by the fuel cell, fuel cell voltage min/max/average, fuel cell blower PWM, H.sub.2 concentration from a leak sensor located next to the fuel cell, D")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ancimer to incorporate teachings of Higgins which teaches determining the fuel cell stack has a leak based on time spaced humidity and temperature readings in order to relay to the user that the fuel stack is in a hazardous condition.
Regarding claim 18, Ancimer discloses the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Ancimer does not explicitly disclose outputting, by the fuel cell stack sensor, a second hydrogen concentration value using the second temperature value, the second humidity value, and a first hydrogen concentration value corresponding to a hydrogen concentration inside the fuel cell stack enclosure when the operation of the fuel cell stack sensor is provided to a user with a signal indicating that an inside of the fuel cell stack enclosure and the fuel cell stack sensor are normally operating.
However, Higgins teaches outputting, by the fuel cell stack sensor, a second hydrogen concentration value using the second temperature value, the second humidity value, and a first hydrogen concentration value corresponding to a hydrogen concentration inside the fuel cell stack enclosure when the operation of the fuel cell stack sensor is provided to a user with a signal indicating that an inside of the fuel cell stack enclosure and the fuel cell stack sensor are normally operating. (see at least [0060]; "For instance, assuming that the server is always operational in step 1905 to receive communication, then once there is a received communication in step 1910, the data is saved (1915) and checked to confirm that the data is valid (1920), such as by checking for all 0's or all 1's, or other mechanism to detect false or erroneous data. Valid data is then checked in step 1925 to determine whether any of the data is above a corresponding threshold, where if so, then in step 1930 a message may be sent to a user (e.g., an alarm condition).")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ancimer to incorporate teachings of Higgins which teaches determining the fuel cell stack is normally operating based on temperature, humidity values and hydrogen concentration in order to convey to the user the vehicle is operating safely and properly.
Regarding claim 20, Ancimer discloses the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Ancimer does not explicitly disclose outputting, by the fuel cell stack sensor, a second hydrogen concentration by using the second temperature value, the first humidity value, and a first hydrogen concentration value corresponding to a hydrogen concentration inside the fuel cell stack enclosure, when the operation of the fuel cell stack sensor indicates that the fuel cell stack sensor is poisoned by volatile organic compounds (VOCs).
However, Higgins teaches outputting, by the fuel cell stack sensor, a second hydrogen concentration by using the second temperature value, the first humidity value, and a first hydrogen concentration value corresponding to a hydrogen concentration inside the fuel cell stack enclosure, when the operation of the fuel cell stack sensor indicates that the fuel cell stack sensor is poisoned by volatile organic compounds (VOCs). (see at least [0041]; "Illustratively, a main inlet 820 brings air through a particle filter 1010, and through a pump 1020 to pressurize the airflow through the sensors that follow. In particular, such sensors may comprise (and in any order) a temperature (T) and relative humidity (RH) sensor 1030, NO and NO.sub.2 sensors 1040 (which may or may not be collocated), H.sub.2S and SO.sub.2 sensors 1050 (again, which may or may not be collocated), a photoionization detector (PID) sensor 1060 (e.g., using light, such as ultraviolet light, to measure volatile organic compounds, VOCs)")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ancimer to incorporate teachings of Higgins which teaches determining the fuel cell stack has been poisoned based on humidity, temperature readings, and hydrogen concentration in order to relay to the user that the fuel stack is in a hazardous condition.
Claims 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ancimer in further view of Mason (US 20240085365 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Ancimer discloses the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Ancimer does not explicitly disclose generating, by the fuel cell stack sensor, a diagnostic trouble code (DTC) to control a vehicle when the operation of the fuel cell stack sensor indicates that a leak has occurred inside the fuel cell stack enclosure.
However, Mason teaches generating, by the fuel cell stack sensor, a diagnostic trouble code (DTC) to control a vehicle when the operation of the fuel cell stack sensor indicates that a leak has occurred inside the fuel cell stack enclosure. (See at least [0018]; " The output or signal could be sent to some form of control module to affect a change in the wider system the sensor device is a part of. In a fuel cell, this could result in the fuel cell being turned off because the presence of a fuel gas in at the sensor would indicate a potentially dangerous gas leak and/or a fuel wasting gas leak.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ancimer to incorporate teachings of Mason which teaches an indicator for a leak in order to relay to the user that the fuel stack is in a hazardous condition.
Conclusion
/HANA VICTORIA HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664