DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, on page 10, that Group IDs are not readable on the claimed identifier of the network, However, LG Electronics also discloses in section 2.1 a group of SNPNs (identified by GID).).Therefore, LG Electronics teaches broadcasting the network ID. Applicant argues further, on page 10, that the cited portion is silent on whether such supported group IDs are broadcasted in SIB!. However, LG electronics also discloses in proposal 1 N CHs per SNPN requires up to N*12 NIDs signaling space, and discloses in option 2 A cell broadcasts in SIB1 a list of CHs for each SNPN. Thus, LG Electronics as a whole teaches the first system information block as claimed. In response to applicant's arguments against a reference citation individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking a reference citation individually where the rejections are based on combinations of reference citations. The reference as whole should be considered.
Applicant argues, on page 11 that Option 1 and Option 3 are not properly combinable but are mutually exclusive, and concludes on page 12 that a POSA would not combine them without resorting to hindsight. The examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Nothing in the reference precludes combining option 1 and option 3 and nothing in the reference states that the options are mutually exclusive. The options discuss the impact of the size of the SIB block. If the SIB1 size is not sufficient for carrying the set of CHS and a list of linkage between each SNPN and CHs with a bitmap, a POSA would broadcast the information in a new SIB, or distribute the information on two SIBs, thus combining option 1 and option 3. Therefore, claim 1 and each of independent claims 7 and 13 would have been obvious in view of LG Electronics.
Applicant argues, on page 12, that dependent claims 2-4, 6, 8-10, 12, 14-16, and 18 are patentable for depending from claims 1, 7, or 13. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Since independent claims 1, 7, and 13 are maintained rejected, dependent claims 2-4, 6, 8-10, 12, 14-16, and 18 are not patentable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 12-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LG Electronics Inc. (Resolving issues for SNPN with subscription or credentials by a separate entity, 3GPP TSG-RAN2 #113e, R2-2102935, April 2, 2021 for Electronic meeting, May 12 – May 20, 2021).
Regarding claim 1, LG Electronics Inc. teaches A communication apparatus (SNPN cell), comprising:, comprising:
a processor (Note: inherent in a cell apparatus); and
a non-transitory computer-readable medium including computer-executable instructions processor (Note: inherent in a cell apparatus) that, when executed by the processor, cause the communication apparatus to carry out a method including:
determining a first system information block of a cell, wherein
the first system information block comprises information about n networks (1. Introduction the new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted in SIB1), where n is an integer greater than 0 (1. Introduction the indicator is broadcasted per SNPN in network sharing scenarios Note: indicates information about at least one network):,
the information comprises, for each network of the n networks, an identifier of the network (1. Introduction The supported Group IDs are broadcasted, 2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID)., Proposal 1: Given that a cell can support max 12 SNPNs, N CHs per SNPN requires up to N * 12 NIDs signalling space.) and first indication information corresponding to the network (1. Introduction the indicator is broadcasted per SNPN), and
the first indication information indicates that the network supports a terminal device in performing access by using a credential of a credential holder (1. Introduction the new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted, 2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs)),
determining a second system information block of the cell (2.1 - Option1: Introduce a new SIB to signal CHs per SNPN), and
sending the first system information block and the second system information block to a terminal device(1. Introduction A new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted ...In the UE, AS reports to NAS about the following broadcasted new parameters),
wherein the second system information block comprises:
(a) identifiers of m credential holder groups (2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID).) and n bitmaps,(2.1 - Option3: A cell broadcast in SIB1 a set of CHs and a list of linkage between each SNPN and CHs with e.g., bitmap. ) where m is an integer greater than 0 (2.1 a set of CHs), wherein
the n bitmaps (5. Annex 6 bitmaps. Note: i.e. n=6) are sequentially in a one-to-one correspondence with the identifiers of the n networks comprised in the first system information block (Annex the following example for association between CHs and SNPNs:
- SNPN#1 is associated with CH #A,#B, #C
- SNPN#2 is associated with CH #B,#C
- SNPN#3 is associated with CH #A,#D, #E
- SNPN#4 is associated with CH #A,#D
- SNPN#5 is associated with CH #B,#C,
- SNPN#6 is associated with CH #A,#D, Note: the 6 identifiers SNPN#1, SNPN#2, SNPN#3, SNPN#4, SNPN#5, SNPN#6), and
each bitmap of the n bitmaps comprises m bits (5. Annex 6 bitmaps of length 5. Note: i.e., m=5), the m bits are sequentially in a one-to- one correspondence with the identifiers of the m credential holder groups, each bit of the m bits indicates whether the network with the identifier corresponding to the bitmap supports the credential holder group corresponding to the bit (5. Annex ) -
Bitmap for SNPN#1 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 11100
Bitmap for SNPN#2 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 01100
Bitmap for SNPN#3 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10011
Bitmap for SNPN#4 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10010
Bitmap for SNPN#5 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 01100
Bitmap for SNPN#6 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10010).
It is noted that LG Electronics Inc. teaches broadcasting the bitmaps in SIB1 in option3, but also teaches introducing a new SIB in option 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified LG Electronics Inc. by combining option 1 with option 3 as an obvious design choice to broadcast the bitmaps on the new SIB arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have reduced the amount of bits of SIB1 and reducing signaling overhead of the new SIB.
Regarding claim 2, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first system information block is a system information block 1 (1. Introduction the new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted in SIB1).
Regarding claim 3, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second system information block is a system information block other than the system information block 1 (Option1: Introduce a new SIB to signal).
Regarding claim 4, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the second system information block further comprises second indication information (2.1 Option 3 A cell broadcast in SIB1 a set of CHs and a list of linkage between each SNPN and CHs with e.g., bitmap),
the second indication information indicates to use a bitmap to indicate a credential holder group supported by a network that supports the terminal device (6.2.3.2.1 if a PLMN ID and NID in the list matches the PLMN ID and NID of an available SNPN, then the UE selects that SNPN) in performing access by using the credential of the credential holder (2.2 UE NAS may select a SNPN supporting a CH stored in the UE), and
the second system information block comprises the identifiers of the m credential holder groups and the n bitmaps (2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID).) and n bitmaps,(2.1 - Option3: A cell broadcast in SIB1 a set of CHs and a list of linkage between each SNPN and CHs with e.g., bitmap. ).
Regarding claim 6, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the network is a standalone non-public network (SNPN) (1. Introduction the indicator is broadcasted per SNPN).
Regarding claim 7, LG Electronics Inc. teaches A communication method, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device, a first system information block (1. Introduction the new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted in SIB1) and a second system information block from an access network device (2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID).); and
performing, by the terminal device, network selection based on the first system information block (6.2.3.2.1 if a PLMN ID and NID in the list matches the PLMN ID and NID of an available SNPN, then the UE selects that SNPN) and the second system information block (2.2 UE NAS may select a SNPN supporting a CH stored in the UE),
wherein
the first system information block comprises information about n networks (1. Introduction the new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted in SIB1, 2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID)., Proposal 1: Given that a cell can support max 12 SNPNs, N CHs per SNPN requires up to N * 12 NIDs signalling space), where n is an integer greater than 0 (1. Introduction the indicator is broadcasted per SNPN in network sharing scenarios Note: indicates information about at least one network):,
the information comprises, for each network of the n networks, an identifier of the network (1. Introduction The supported Group IDs are broadcasted, , 2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID)., Proposal 1: Given that a cell can support max 12 SNPNs, N CHs per SNPN requires up to N * 12 NIDs signalling space.) and first indication information corresponding to the network (1. Introduction the indicator is broadcasted per SNPN), and
the first indication information indicates that the network supports a terminal device in performing access by using a credential of a credential holder (1. Introduction the new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted, 2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs)),
determining a second system information block of the cell (2.1 - Option1: Introduce a new SIB to signal CHs per SNPN), and
sending the first system information block and the second system information block to a terminal device(1. Introduction A new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted ...In the UE, AS reports to NAS about the following broadcasted new parameters),
wherein the second system information block comprises:
( identifiers of m credential holder groups (2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID).) and n bitmaps,(2.1 - Option3: A cell broadcast in SIB1 a set of CHs and a list of linkage between each SNPN and CHs with e.g., bitmap. ) where m is an integer greater than 0 (2.1 a set of CHs), wherein
the n bitmaps (5. Annex 6 bitmaps. Note: i.e. n=6) are sequentially in a one-to-one correspondence with the identifiers of the n networks comprised in the first system information block (Annex the following example for association between CHs and SNPNs:
- SNPN#1 is associated with CH #A,#B, #C
- SNPN#2 is associated with CH #B,#C
- SNPN#3 is associated with CH #A,#D, #E
- SNPN#4 is associated with CH #A,#D
- SNPN#5 is associated with CH #B,#C,
- SNPN#6 is associated with CH #A,#D, Note: the 6 identifiers SNPN#1, SNPN#2, SNPN#3, SNPN#4, SNPN#5, SNPN#6), and
each bitmap of the n bitmaps comprises m bits (5. Annex 6 bitmaps of length 5. Note: i.e., m=5), the m bits are sequentially in a one-to- one correspondence with the identifiers of the m credential holder groups, each bit of the m bits indicates whether the network with the identifier corresponding to the bitmap supports the credential holder group corresponding to the bit (5. Annex ) -
Bitmap for SNPN#1 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 11100
Bitmap for SNPN#2 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 01100
Bitmap for SNPN#3 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10011
Bitmap for SNPN#4 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10010
Bitmap for SNPN#5 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 01100
Bitmap for SNPN#6 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10010).
It is noted that LG Electronics Inc. teaches broadcasting the bitmaps in SIB1 in option3, but also teaches introducing a new SIB in option 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified LG Electronics Inc. by combining option 1 with option 3 as an obvious design choice to broadcast the bitmaps on the new SIB arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have reduced the amount of bits of SIB1 and reducing signaling overhead of the new SIB.
Regarding claim 8, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The method according to claim 7, wherein the first system information block is a system information block 1 (1. Introduction the new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted in SIB1). .
Regarding claim 9, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The method according to claim 7, wherein the second system information block is a system information block other than the system information block 1 (Option1: Introduce a new SIB to signal).
Regarding claim 10, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The method according to claim 7, wherein
the second system information block further comprises second indication information (2.1 Option 3 A cell broadcast in SIB1 a set of CHs and a list of linkage between each SNPN and CHs with e.g., bitmap),
the second indication information indicates to use a bitmap to indicate a credential holder group supported by a network that supports the terminal device (6.2.3.2.1 if a PLMN ID and NID in the list matches the PLMN ID and NID of an available SNPN, then the UE selects that SNPN) in performing access by using the credential of the credential holder (2.2 UE NAS may select a SNPN supporting a CH stored in the UE), and
the second system information block comprises the identifiers of the m credential holder groups and the n bitmaps (2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID).) and n bitmaps,(2.1 - Option3: A cell broadcast in SIB1 a set of CHs and a list of linkage between each SNPN and CHs with e.g., bitmap. ).
Regarding claim 12, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The method according to claim 7, wherein the network is a standalone non- public network (SNPN) (1. Introduction the indicator is broadcasted per SNPN). .
Regarding claim 13, LG Electronics Inc. teaches A communication apparatus (UE), comprising:
a processor (Note: inherent in a UE); and
a non-transitory computer-readable medium including computer-executable instructions (Note: inherent in a UE) that, when executed by the processor, cause the communication apparatus to carry out a method including:
receiving a first system information block (1. Introduction the new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted in SIB1) and a second system information block from an access network device (2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID).); and
performing network selection based on the first system information block (6.2.3.2.1 if a PLMN ID and NID in the list matches the PLMN ID and NID of an available SNPN, then the UE selects that SNPN) and the second system information block (2.2 UE NAS may select a SNPN supporting a CH stored in the UE),
wherein
the first system information block comprises information about n networks (1. Introduction the new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted in SIB1), where n is an integer greater than 0 (1. Introduction the indicator is broadcasted per SNPN in network sharing scenarios Note: indicates information about at least one network):,
the information comprises, for each network of the n networks, an identifier of the network (1. Introduction The supported Group IDs are broadcasted, , 2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID)., Proposal 1: Given that a cell can support max 12 SNPNs, N CHs per SNPN requires up to N * 12 NIDs signalling space.) and first indication information corresponding to the network (1. Introduction the indicator is broadcasted per SNPN), and
the first indication information indicates that the network supports a terminal device in performing access by using a credential of a credential holder (1. Introduction the new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted, 2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs)),
determining a second system information block of the cell (2.1 - Option1: Introduce a new SIB to signal CHs per SNPN), and
sending the first system information block and the second system information block to a terminal device(1. Introduction A new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted ...In the UE, AS reports to NAS about the following broadcasted new parameters),
wherein the second system information block comprises:
identifiers of m credential holder groups (2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID).) and n bitmaps,(2.1 - Option3: A cell broadcast in SIB1 a set of CHs and a list of linkage between each SNPN and CHs with e.g., bitmap. ) where m is an integer greater than 0 (2.1 a set of CHs), wherein
the n bitmaps (5. Annex 6 bitmaps. Note: i.e. n=6) are sequentially in a one-to-one correspondence with the identifiers of the n networks comprised in the first system information block (Annex the following example for association between CHs and SNPNs:
- SNPN#1 is associated with CH #A,#B, #C
- SNPN#2 is associated with CH #B,#C
- SNPN#3 is associated with CH #A,#D, #E
- SNPN#4 is associated with CH #A,#D
- SNPN#5 is associated with CH #B,#C,
- SNPN#6 is associated with CH #A,#D, Note: the 6 identifiers SNPN#1, SNPN#2, SNPN#3, SNPN#4, SNPN#5, SNPN#6), and
each bitmap of the n bitmaps comprises m bits (5. Annex 6 bitmaps of length 5. Note: i.e., m=5), the m bits are sequentially in a one-to- one correspondence with the identifiers of the m credential holder groups, each bit of the m bits indicates whether the network with the identifier corresponding to the bitmap supports the credential holder group corresponding to the bit (5. Annex ) -
Bitmap for SNPN#1 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 11100
Bitmap for SNPN#2 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 01100
Bitmap for SNPN#3 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10011
Bitmap for SNPN#4 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10010
Bitmap for SNPN#5 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 01100
Bitmap for SNPN#6 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10010).
It is noted that LG Electronics Inc. teaches broadcasting the bitmaps in SIB1 in option3, but also teaches introducing a new SIB in option 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified LG Electronics Inc. by combining option 1 with option 3 as an obvious design choice to broadcast the bitmaps on the new SIB arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have reduced the amount of bits of SIB1 and reducing signaling overhead of the new SIB.
Regarding claim 14, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the first system information block is a system information block 1 (1. Introduction the new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted in SIB1). .
Regarding claim 15, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the second system information block is a system information block other than the system information block 1 (Option1: Introduce a new SIB to signal).
Regarding claim 16, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 13, wherein
the second system information block further comprises second indication information (2.1 Option 3 A cell broadcast in SIB1 a set of CHs and a list of linkage between each SNPN and CHs with e.g., bitmap),
the second indication information indicates to use a bitmap to indicate a credential holder group supported by a network that supports the terminal device (6.2.3.2.1 if a PLMN ID and NID in the list matches the PLMN ID and NID of an available SNPN, then the UE selects that SNPN) in performing access by using the credential of the credential holder (2.2 UE NAS may select a SNPN supporting a CH stored in the UE), and
the second system information block comprises the identifiers of the m credential holder groups and the n bitmaps (2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID).) and n bitmaps,(2.1 - Option3: A cell broadcast in SIB1 a set of CHs and a list of linkage between each SNPN and CHs with e.g., bitmap. ).
Regarding claim 18, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the network is a standalone non-public network (SNPN) (1. Introduction the indicator is broadcasted per SNPN).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: .
Regarding claim 18, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 1, but does not teach wherein
the second indication information is other than the identifiers of the m credential holder groups and the n bitmaps.
Regarding claim 20, LG Electronics Inc. does not teach The communication apparatus according to claim 19, wherein the second indication information is 1 bit.
Regarding claim 21, LG Electronics Inc. teaches the method according to claim 10, but does not teach wherein
the second indication information is other than the identifiers of the m credential holder groups and the n bitmaps.
Regarding claim 22, LG Electronics Inc. does not teach The method according to claim 21, wherein the second indication information is 1 bit.
Regarding claim 23, LG Electronics Inc teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 16, but does not teach wherein
the second indication information is other than the identifiers of the m credential holder groups and the n bitmaps.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAID M ELNOUBI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2644