DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, on page 10 second paragraph, that LG Electronics does not disclose or suggest "the n bitmaps are sequentially in a one-to- one correspondence with the identifiers of the n networks comprised in the first system information block, such that an i-th bitmap of the n bitmaps corresponds to an i-th network of the n networks," as claimed.. The examiner respectfully disagrees. LG Electronics Appendix in option 3 shows six bitmaps in six rows sequentially in a one-to- one correspondence with the six networks such that the i-th bitmap in the i-th row corresponds to SNPN # i.
Applicant argues, on page10 third paragraph, that In LG Electronics' Option 3, both the network identifiers and the bitmaps are included in the same SIB (SIB 1). However, distributing the information on several system blocks is a common knowledge to one of ordinary skill in the art as published in several 3GPP documents and is also suggested by LG Electronics Inc. Option 1 suggesting a new SIB. Therefore, combining only option 1 suggestion of introducing a new SIB and option 3 SIB format of broadcasting a list of GIDs and a bitmap, it would have been obvious to a POSA to distribute the information on two SIBs by broadcasting the network identifiers in SIB1 and the bitmaps on SIB2, as an obvious design option, thus arriving at the invention.
Applicant argues, on page 10 fourth paragraph, that Option 1 of LG Electronics does not establish any implicit sequential correspondence between the new SIB and SIB1. However, Option 3 shows sequential correspondence between the SNPN and its bitmap in the table in the appendix where the i-th bitmap in the i-th row corresponds to SNPN # i. Dividing the table by broadcasting the bits representing the 6 network identifiers in SIB1 and the six bitmaps in SIB2 as an obvious design option, there would be an implicit sequential correspondence between SIB1 and SIB2.
Applicant argues, on page 10 last paragraph to page 11 first paragraph, that neither Option 1 nor Option 3 (individually or in combination) discloses or suggests establishing an implicit correspondence between bitmaps in a second system information block and network identifiers in a first system information block through their respective sequential ordering. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Option 3 discloses “A cell broadcast in SIB1 a set of GIDs and linkage between the GID set and SNPN with bitmap”. The example of Option 3 in the appendix shows correspondence between the SNPN and the bitmap in the table where the i-th bitmap of the six bitmaps in the i-th row corresponds to SNPN # i in a sequential ordering of bit maps of the six networks. As explained above, dividing the table by broadcasting the bits representing the 6 network identifiers in SIB1 and the six bitmaps in SIB2 as an obvious design option, there would be an implicit sequential correspondence between SIB1 and SIB2. Therefore, claims 1, 7, and 13 are obvious in view of LG Electronics and common knowledge of a POSA.
Applicant argues, on page 11 sixth paragraph, that Claims 2-4, 6, 8-10, 12, 14-16 and 18 distinguish over the applied reference for depending from claim 1, 7 or 13. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Since claims 1, 7 and 13 are maintained rejected, Claims 2-4, 6, 8-10, 12, 14-16 and 18 do not distinguish over the applied reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-16, 18-19, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LG Electronics Inc. (Resolving issues for SNPN with subscription or credentials by a separate entity, 3GPP TSG-RAN2 #113e, R2-2102935, April 2, 2021 for Electronic meeting, May 12 – May 20, 2021).
Regarding claim 1, LG Electronics Inc. teaches A communication apparatus (SNPN cell), comprising:, comprising:
a processor (Note: inherent in a cell apparatus); and
a non-transitory computer-readable medium including computer-executable instructions processor (Note: inherent in a cell apparatus) that, when executed by the processor, cause the communication apparatus to carry out a method including:
determining a first system information block of a cell, wherein
the first system information block comprises information about n networks (1. Introduction the new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted in SIB1), where n is an integer greater than 0 (1. Introduction the indicator is broadcasted per SNPN in network sharing scenarios Note: indicates information about at least one network):,
the information comprises, for each network of the n networks, an identifier of the network (1. Introduction The supported Group IDs are broadcasted, 2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID)., 3. Conclusion Proposal 2: -Option 3 : A cell broadcast in SIB1 a set of GIDs.) and first indication information corresponding to the network (1. Introduction the indicator is broadcasted per SNPN), and
the first indication information indicates that the network supports a terminal device in performing access by using a credential of a credential holder (1. Introduction the new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted, 2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs)),
determining a second system information block of the cell (2.1 - Option1: Introduce a new SIB to signal CHs per SNPN), and
sending the first system information block and the second system information block to a terminal device(1. Introduction A new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted ...In the UE, AS reports to NAS about the following broadcasted new parameters),
wherein the second system information block comprises:
(a) identifiers of m credential holder groups (2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID).) and n bitmaps (2.1 - Option3: A cell broadcast in SIB1 a set of CHs and a list of linkage between each SNPN and CHs with e.g., bitmap. ) where m is an integer greater than 0 (2.1 a set of CHs), wherein
the n bitmaps (5. Annex 6 bitmaps. Note: i.e. n=6) are sequentially in a one-to-one correspondence with the identifiers of the n networks comprised in the first system information block (Annex In option3, we need to signal 5 CHs and 6 bitmaps of length 5 bitmap, which occupies 44*5+6*5 = 250 bits, i.e. the cell broadcasts in SIB1:
- CH_set = { CH #1, CH #B, CH #C, CH #D, CH #E}
Bitmap for SNPN#1 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 11100
Bitmap for SNPN#2 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 01100
Bitmap for SNPN#3 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10011
Bitmap for SNPN#4 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10010
Bitmap for SNPN#5 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 01100
Bitmap for SNPN#6 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10010. Note: the 6 identifiers SNPN#1, SNPN#2, SNPN#3, SNPN#4, SNPN#5, SNPN#6) such that an i-th bitmap of the n bitmap corresponds to an i-th network of the n networks (Note: the Appendix association table above shows the i-th bitmap in the i-th row corresponds to SNPN # i), and
each bitmap of the n bitmaps comprises m bits (5. Annex 6 bitmaps of length 5. Note: i.e., m=5), the m bits are sequentially in a one-to- one correspondence with the identifiers of the m credential holder groups, each bit of the m bits indicates whether the network with the identifier corresponding to the bitmap supports the credential holder group corresponding to the bit (5. Annex -
Bitmap for SNPN#1 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 11100
Bitmap for SNPN#2 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 01100
Bitmap for SNPN#3 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10011
Bitmap for SNPN#4 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10010
Bitmap for SNPN#5 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 01100
Bitmap for SNPN#6 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10010).
It is noted that LG Electronics Inc. Option 3 proposes a cell broadcast in SIB1, a set of GIDs as the network identifiers (44*5 bits) and a list of linkage between each network (SNPN) and CHs as bitmaps (6*5 bits). The mere difference between the claim and LG Electronics Inc. Option 3 is that the claim divide the information between SIB 1 and SIB2. If the SIB1 size is not sufficient for carrying the set of network identifiers and a list of linkage between each SNPN and CHs with a bitmap, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application would distribute the information on two SIBs. Distributing the information on several system blocks is a common knowledge to one of ordinary skill in the art as published in several 3GPP documents and is suggested by LG Electronics Inc. Option 1. Therefore, combining only option 1 suggestion of introducing a new SIB and option 3 SIB format of broadcasting a list of GIDs and a bitmap, it would be obvious to a POSA to distribute the information on two SIBs by broadcasting the network identifiers in SIB1 and the bitmaps on SIB2, as an obvious design option, thus arriving at the invention. For example, broadcasting the 44*6 bits representing the identifiers of the six SNPN’s in SIB1 and broadcasting the 6*5 bits of the 6 bitmaps in SIB2 as an obvious design option.
The motivation of doing so would have reduced the amount of bits of SIB1 and reducing signaling overhead of the new SIB.
Regarding claim 2, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first system information block is a system information block 1 (1. Introduction the new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted in SIB1).
Regarding claim 3, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second system information block is a system information block other than the system information block 1 (Option1: Introduce a new SIB to signal).
Regarding claim 4, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the second system information block further comprises second indication information (2.1 Option 3 A cell broadcast in SIB1 a set of CHs and a list of linkage between each SNPN and CHs with e.g., bitmap),
the second indication information indicates to use a bitmap to indicate a credential holder group supported by a network that supports the terminal device (6.2.3.2.1 if a PLMN ID and NID in the list matches the PLMN ID and NID of an available SNPN, then the UE selects that SNPN) in performing access by using the credential of the credential holder (2.2 UE NAS may select a SNPN supporting a CH stored in the UE), and
the second system information block comprises the identifiers of the m credential holder groups and the n bitmaps (2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID).) and n bitmaps,(2.1 - Option3: A cell broadcast in SIB1 a set of CHs and a list of linkage between each SNPN and CHs with e.g., bitmap. ).
Regarding claim 6, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the network is a standalone non-public network (SNPN) (1. Introduction the indicator is broadcasted per SNPN).
Regarding claim 7, LG Electronics Inc. teaches A communication method, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device, a first system information block (1. Introduction the new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted in SIB1) and a second system information block from an access network device (2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID).); and
performing, by the terminal device, network selection based on the first system information block (6.2.3.2.1 if a PLMN ID and NID in the list matches the PLMN ID and NID of an available SNPN, then the UE selects that SNPN) and the second system information block (2.2 UE NAS may select a SNPN supporting a CH stored in the UE),
wherein
the first system information block comprises information about n networks (1. Introduction the new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted in SIB1, 2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID)., Proposal 1: Given that a cell can support max 12 SNPNs, N CHs per SNPN requires up to N * 12 NIDs signalling space), where n is an integer greater than 0 (1. Introduction the indicator is broadcasted per SNPN in network sharing scenarios Note: indicates information about at least one network):,
the information comprises, for each network of the n networks, an identifier of the network (1. Introduction The supported Group IDs are broadcasted, , 2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID).,3. Conclusion Proposal 2: -Option 3 : A cell broadcast in SIB1 a set of GIDs) and first indication information corresponding to the network (1. Introduction the indicator is broadcasted per SNPN), and
the first indication information indicates that the network supports a terminal device in performing access by using a credential of a credential holder (1. Introduction the new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted, 2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs)),
determining a second system information block of the cell (2.1 - Option1: Introduce a new SIB to signal CHs per SNPN), and
sending the first system information block and the second system information block to a terminal device(1. Introduction A new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted ...In the UE, AS reports to NAS about the following broadcasted new parameters),
wherein the second system information block comprises:
( identifiers of m credential holder groups (2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID).) and n bitmaps,(2.1 - Option3: A cell broadcast in SIB1 a set of CHs and a list of linkage between each SNPN and CHs with e.g., bitmap. ) where m is an integer greater than 0 (2.1 a set of CHs), wherein
the n bitmaps (5. Annex 6 bitmaps. Note: i.e. n=6) are sequentially in a one-to-one correspondence with the identifiers of the n networks comprised in the first system information block (Annex In option3, we need to signal 5 CHs and 6 bitmaps of length 5 bitmap, which occupies 44*5+6*5 = 250 bits, i.e. the cell broadcasts in SIB1:
- CH_set = { CH #1, CH #B, CH #C, CH #D, CH #E}
Bitmap for SNPN#1 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 11100
Bitmap for SNPN#2 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 01100
Bitmap for SNPN#3 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10011
Bitmap for SNPN#4 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10010
Bitmap for SNPN#5 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 01100
Bitmap for SNPN#6 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10010. Note: the 6 identifiers SNPN#1, SNPN#2, SNPN#3, SNPN#4, SNPN#5, SNPN#6) such that an i-th bitmap of the n bitmap corresponds to an i-th network of the n networks (Note: the Appendix association table above shows the i-th bitmap in the i-th row corresponds to SNPN # i), and
each bitmap of the n bitmaps comprises m bits (5. Annex 6 bitmaps of length 5. Note: i.e., m=5), the m bits are sequentially in a one-to- one correspondence with the identifiers of the m credential holder groups, each bit of the m bits indicates whether the network with the identifier corresponding to the bitmap supports the credential holder group corresponding to the bit (5. Annex ) -
Bitmap for SNPN#1 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 11100
Bitmap for SNPN#2 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 01100
Bitmap for SNPN#3 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10011
Bitmap for SNPN#4 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10010
Bitmap for SNPN#5 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 01100
Bitmap for SNPN#6 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10010).
It is noted that LG Electronics Inc. Option 3 proposes a cell broadcast in SIB1, a set of GIDs as the network identifiers (44*5 bits) and a list of linkage between each network (SNPN) and CHs as bitmaps (6*5 bits). The mere difference between the claim and LG Electronics Inc. Option 3 is that the claim divide the information between SIB 1 and SIB2. If the SIB1 size is not sufficient for carrying the set of network identifiers and a list of linkage between each SNPN and CHs with a bitmap, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application would distribute the information on two SIBs. Distributing the information on several system blocks is a common knowledge to one of ordinary skill in the art as published in several 3GPP documents and is suggested by LG Electronics Inc. Option 1. Therefore, combining only option 1 suggestion of introducing a new SIB and option 3 SIB format of broadcasting a list of GIDs and a bitmap, it would be obvious to a POSA to distribute the information on two SIBs by broadcasting the network identifiers in SIB1 and the bitmaps on SIB2, as an obvious design option, thus arriving at the invention. For example, broadcasting the 44*6 bits representing the identifiers of the six SNPN’s in SIB1 and broadcasting the 6*5 bits of the 6 bitmaps in SIB2 as an obvious design option.
The motivation of doing so would have reduced the amount of bits of SIB1 and reducing signaling overhead of the new SIB.
Regarding claim 8, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The method according to claim 7, wherein the first system information block is a system information block 1 (1. Introduction the new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted in SIB1). .
Regarding claim 9, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The method according to claim 7, wherein the second system information block is a system information block other than the system information block 1 (Option1: Introduce a new SIB to signal).
Regarding claim 10, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The method according to claim 7, wherein
the second system information block further comprises second indication information (2.1 Option 3 A cell broadcast in SIB1 a set of CHs and a list of linkage between each SNPN and CHs with e.g., bitmap),
the second indication information indicates to use a bitmap to indicate a credential holder group supported by a network that supports the terminal device (6.2.3.2.1 if a PLMN ID and NID in the list matches the PLMN ID and NID of an available SNPN, then the UE selects that SNPN) in performing access by using the credential of the credential holder (2.2 UE NAS may select a SNPN supporting a CH stored in the UE), and
the second system information block comprises the identifiers of the m credential holder groups and the n bitmaps (2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID).) and n bitmaps,(2.1 - Option3: A cell broadcast in SIB1 a set of CHs and a list of linkage between each SNPN and CHs with e.g., bitmap. ).
Regarding claim 12, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The method according to claim 7, wherein the network is a standalone non- public network (SNPN) (1. Introduction the indicator is broadcasted per SNPN). .
Regarding claim 13, LG Electronics Inc. teaches A communication apparatus (UE), comprising:
a processor (Note: inherent in a UE); and
a non-transitory computer-readable medium including computer-executable instructions (Note: inherent in a UE) that, when executed by the processor, cause the communication apparatus to carry out a method including:
receiving a first system information block (1. Introduction the new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted in SIB1) and a second system information block from an access network device (2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID).); and
performing network selection based on the first system information block (6.2.3.2.1 if a PLMN ID and NID in the list matches the PLMN ID and NID of an available SNPN, then the UE selects that SNPN) and the second system information block (2.2 UE NAS may select a SNPN supporting a CH stored in the UE),
wherein
the first system information block comprises information about n networks (1. Introduction the new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted in SIB1), where n is an integer greater than 0 (1. Introduction the indicator is broadcasted per SNPN in network sharing scenarios Note: indicates information about at least one network):,
the information comprises, for each network of the n networks, an identifier of the network (1. Introduction The supported Group IDs are broadcasted, , 2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID)., 3. Conclusion Proposal 2: -Option 3 : A cell broadcast in SIB1 a set of GIDs.) and first indication information corresponding to the network (1. Introduction the indicator is broadcasted per SNPN), and
the first indication information indicates that the network supports a terminal device in performing access by using a credential of a credential holder (1. Introduction the new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted, 2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs)),
determining a second system information block of the cell (2.1 - Option1: Introduce a new SIB to signal CHs per SNPN), and
sending the first system information block and the second system information block to a terminal device(1. Introduction A new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted ...In the UE, AS reports to NAS about the following broadcasted new parameters),
wherein the second system information block comprises:
identifiers of m credential holder groups (2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID).) and n bitmaps,(2.1 - Option3: A cell broadcast in SIB1 a set of CHs and a list of linkage between each SNPN and CHs with e.g., bitmap. ) where m is an integer greater than 0 (2.1 a set of CHs), wherein
the n bitmaps (5. Annex 6 bitmaps. Note: i.e. n=6) are sequentially in a one-to-one correspondence with the identifiers of the n networks comprised in the first system information block ((Annex In option3, we need to signal 5 CHs and 6 bitmaps of length 5 bitmap, which occupies 44*5+6*5 = 250 bits, i.e. the cell broadcasts in SIB1:
- CH_set = { CH #1, CH #B, CH #C, CH #D, CH #E}
Bitmap for SNPN#1 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 11100
Bitmap for SNPN#2 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 01100
Bitmap for SNPN#3 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10011
Bitmap for SNPN#4 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10010
Bitmap for SNPN#5 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 01100
Bitmap for SNPN#6 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10010. Note: the 6 identifiers SNPN#1, SNPN#2, SNPN#3, SNPN#4, SNPN#5, SNPN#6) such that an i-th bitmap of the n bitmap corresponds to an i-th network of the n networks (Note: the Appendix association table above shows the i-th bitmap in the i-th row corresponds to SNPN # i), and
each bitmap of the n bitmaps comprises m bits (5. Annex 6 bitmaps of length 5. Note: i.e., m=5), the m bits are sequentially in a one-to- one correspondence with the identifiers of the m credential holder groups, each bit of the m bits indicates whether the network with the identifier corresponding to the bitmap supports the credential holder group corresponding to the bit (5. Annex ) -
Bitmap for SNPN#1 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 11100
Bitmap for SNPN#2 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 01100
Bitmap for SNPN#3 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10011
Bitmap for SNPN#4 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10010
Bitmap for SNPN#5 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 01100
Bitmap for SNPN#6 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 10010).
It is noted that LG Electronics Inc. Option 3 proposes a cell broadcast in SIB1, a set of GIDs as the network identifiers (44*5 bits) and a list of linkage between each network (SNPN) and CHs as bitmaps (6*5 bits). The mere difference between the claim and LG Electronics Inc. Option 3 is that the claim divide the information between SIB 1 and SIB2. If the SIB1 size is not sufficient for carrying the set of network identifiers and a list of linkage between each SNPN and CHs with a bitmap, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application would distribute the information on two SIBs. Distributing the information on several system blocks is a common knowledge to one of ordinary skill in the art as published in several 3GPP documents and is suggested by LG Electronics Inc. Option 1. Therefore, combining only option 1 suggestion of introducing a new SIB and option 3 SIB format of broadcasting a list of GIDs and a bitmap, it would be obvious to a POSA to distribute the information on two SIBs by broadcasting the network identifiers in SIB1 and the bitmaps on SIB2, as an obvious design option, thus arriving at the invention. For example, broadcasting the 44*6 bits representing the identifiers of the six SNPN’s in SIB1 and broadcasting the 6*5 bits of the 6 bitmaps in SIB2 as an obvious design option.
The motivation of doing so would have reduced the amount of bits of SIB1 and reducing signaling overhead of the new SIB.
Regarding claim 14, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the first system information block is a system information block 1 (1. Introduction the new indicator that "access using credentials from a separate entity is supported" is broadcasted in SIB1). .
Regarding claim 15, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the second system information block is a system information block other than the system information block 1 (Option1: Introduce a new SIB to signal).
Regarding claim 16, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 13, wherein
the second system information block further comprises second indication information (2.1 Option 3 A cell broadcast in SIB1 a set of CHs and a list of linkage between each SNPN and CHs with e.g., bitmap),
the second indication information indicates to use a bitmap to indicate a credential holder group supported by a network that supports the terminal device (6.2.3.2.1 if a PLMN ID and NID in the list matches the PLMN ID and NID of an available SNPN, then the UE selects that SNPN) in performing access by using the credential of the credential holder (2.2 UE NAS may select a SNPN supporting a CH stored in the UE), and
the second system information block comprises the identifiers of the m credential holder groups and the n bitmaps (2.1 the SNPN cell should broadcast the supported Credential Holders (CHs) (previously referred to as Home-SP). CH can be a form of individual SNPN (identified by nid) or a group of SNPNs (identified by GID).) and n bitmaps,(2.1 - Option3: A cell broadcast in SIB1 a set of CHs and a list of linkage between each SNPN and CHs with e.g., bitmap. ).
Regarding claim 18, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the network is a standalone non-public network (SNPN) (1. Introduction the indicator is broadcasted per SNPN).
Regarding claim 19, LG Electronics Inc. teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 4, wherein
the second indication information (2.2 the indication “access using credentials from a separate entity is supported” being introduced) is other than the identifiers of the m credential holder groups and the n bitmaps (Appendix Option 3 CH_set = { CH #1, CH #B, CH #C, CH #D, CH #E}).
Regarding claim 21, LG Electronics Inc. teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein
the second indication information (2.2 the indication “access using credentials from a separate entity is supported” being introduced) is other than the identifiers of the m credential holder groups and the n bitmaps (Appendix Option 3 CH_set = { CH #1, CH #B, CH #C, CH #D, CH #E}).
Regarding claim 23, LG Electronics Inc teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 16, wherein
the second indication information (2.2 the indication “access using credentials from a separate entity is supported” being introduced) is other than the identifiers of the m credential holder groups and the n bitmaps (Appendix Option 3 CH_set = { CH #1, CH #B, CH #C, CH #D, CH #E}).
Claims 20 and 22, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LG Electronics Inc. (Resolving issues for SNPN with subscription or credentials by a separate entity, 3GPP TSG-RAN2 #113e, R2-2102935, April 2, 2021 for Electronic meeting, May 12 – May 20, 2021) in view of Shih et al. (US 20190110244 A1).
Regarding claim 20, LG Electronics Inc. teach The communication apparatus according to claim 19, but does not teach
wherein the second indication information is 1 bit.
In a similar endeavor, Shih et al. teach
wherein the second indication information is 1 bit (Shih [0083] CSG-Indication is one bit to indicate whether the cell supports CSG capability, Shih [0099] The csg-Indication may also be one Boolean bit to indicate whether such cell supports CSG capability).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified LG Electronics Inc. by incorporating Shih one bit indication to indicate whether “access using credentials from a separate entity is supported or not” to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have reduced signalling overhead.
Regarding claim 22, LG Electronics Inc. teach The method according to claim 21, but does not teach
wherein the second indication information is 1 bit.
In a similar endeavor, Shih et al. teach
wherein the second indication information is 1 bit (Shih [0083] CSG-Indication is one bit to indicate whether the cell supports CSG capability, Shih [0099] The csg-Indication may also be one Boolean bit to indicate whether such cell supports CSG capability).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified LG Electronics Inc. by incorporating Shih one bit indication to indicate whether “access using credentials from a separate entity is supported or not” to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have reduced signalling overhead.
Conclusion
/SAID M ELNOUBI/Examiner, Art Unit 2644