Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 11-16, 18, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 20250071648) in view of Shih et al. (US 11564262 B2).
Regarding claims 1, 11, 14, Hong discloses:
A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: ([0098] Referring to FIG. 8, in a method of performing a cell change operation, the UE may perform the step of receiving an upper layer message including one or more candidate target cell configuration information for an LTM operation (S810).)
receiving, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including a configuration for one or more candidate cells associated with layer 1 (L1)/layer 2 (L2) triggered mobility (LTM); ([0099] According to an embodiment, the UE may receive an RRC message including one or more candidate target cell configuration information from a base station or a TRP. The RRC message may include one or more pieces of candidate target cell configuration information, and each piece of candidate target cell configuration information may be separately included for each candidate target cell.)
transmitting, to the base station, an RRC reconfiguration complete message; ([0140] The UE may transmit an RRC reconfiguration complete message to the base station)
transmitting, to the base station, a report for an L1 measurement associated with the one or more candidate cells; ([0102] The UE may perform the step of transmitting the L1 measurement result for the candidate target cell based on the higher layer message (S820).)
receiving, on a serving cell from the base station, a cell switch command medium access control control element (MAC CE) associated with the LTM; ([0106] The UE may perform the step of receiving a medium access control control element (MAC CE) indicating to perform an LTM operation to the target cell (S830); [0109] Through the MAC CE, the UE should obtain information about the target cell to instruct to perform an LTM operation and to perform the cell change. [0183] A MAC CE may be defined to indicate/trigger/link/support the LTM operation. The corresponding MAC CE may include one or more the following information pieces: … and RACH-only configuration information.)
and performing a contention free random access (CFRA) procedure towards a target cell based on the cell switch command MAC CE associated with the LTM, ([0110] The UE may perform a cell change operation without RRC reconfiguration by applying the candidate target cell configuration information for the target cell based on the MAC CE (S840); [0183] A MAC CE may be defined to indicate/trigger/link/support the LTM operation. The corresponding MAC CE may include one or more the following information pieces: … and RACH-only configuration information. [0188] RACH-only configuration information (rach-ConfigDedicated, e.g., RA occasion for contention free random access, msgA-PUSCH-Resource-Index, ra-PreambleIndex, SSB-index, etc.) indicates random access configuration information used for cell change.)
wherein the cell switch command MAC CE associated with the LTM includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) index and a random access preamble index, ([0110] The UE may perform a cell change operation without RRC reconfiguration by applying the candidate target cell configuration information for the target cell based on the MAC CE (S840); [0183] A MAC CE may be defined to indicate/trigger/link/support the LTM operation. The corresponding MAC CE may include one or more the following information pieces: … and RACH-only configuration information. [0188] RACH-only configuration information (rach-ConfigDedicated, e.g., RA occasion for contention free random access, msgA-PUSCH-Resource-Index, ra-PreambleIndex, SSB-index, etc.) indicates random access configuration information used for cell change.)
Hong does not disclose:
and wherein performing the CFRA procedure towards the target cell includes:
in case that the random access preamble index is explicitly provided in the cell switch command MAC CE associated with the LTM and an SSB with a synchronization signal (SS) reference signal received power (SS-RSRP) above a threshold is available, the SSB corresponding to the SSB index in the cell switch command MAC CE associated with the LTM: setting an index of a random access preamble to the random access preamble index indicated by the cell switch command MAC CE associated with the LTM; and selecting the SSB corresponding to the SSB index in the cell switch command MAC CE associated with the LTM.
However, Shih discloses:
and wherein performing the CFRA procedure towards the target cell includes:
in case that the random access preamble index is explicitly provided in the cell switch command MAC CE associated with the LTM and an SSB with a synchronization signal (SS) reference signal received power (SS-RSRP) above a threshold is available, the SSB corresponding to the SSB index in the cell switch command MAC CE associated with the LTM: (Col 10 row 12-20: if the contention-free Random Access Resources associated with SSBs have been explicitly provided in rach-ConfigDedicated (e.g., RA occasion for contention free random access, msgA-PUSCH-Resource-Index, ra-PreambleIndex, SSB-index, etc.) and at least one SSB with SS-RSRP above rsrp-ThresholdSSB amongst the associated SSBs is available)
setting an index of a random access preamble to the random access preamble index indicated by the cell switch command MAC CE associated with the LTM; (Col 10 row 12-20: set the PREAMBLE_INDEX to a ra-Preambleindex corresponding to the selected SSB.)
and selecting the SSB corresponding to the SSB index in the cell switch command MAC CE associated with the LTM. (Col 10 row 12-20: select an SSB with SS-RSRP above rsrp-ThresholdSSB amongst the associated SSBs)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the LTM cell switch procedure of Hong with the CFRA SSB-selection and threshold evaluation logic of Shih. While Shih describes applying this threshold evaluation logic to CFRA resources explicitly provided via RRC signaling (rach-ConfigDedicated), Hong teaches providing these same CFRA resources dynamically via a MAC CE to support low-latency LTM cell switching. It would have been obvious to apply the standard CFRA threshold evaluation logic of Shih to the MAC CE-provided CFRA resources of Hong. The motivation would have been to ensure the reliability of the contention-free random access procedure during a fast cell switch by verifying that the target beam (SSB) indicated by the network maintains sufficient signal quality (SS-RSRP above a threshold) to support uplink transmission, thereby preventing RACH failures and minimizing interruption time.
Regarding claims 2, 12, 16, Hong discloses:
wherein the cell switch command to MAC CE associated with the LTM triggers a change from the serving cell to the target cell. ([0106] The UE may perform the step of receiving a medium access control control element (MAC CE) indicating to perform an LTM operation to the target cell (S830); [0109] Through the MAC CE, the UE should obtain information about the target cell to instruct to perform an LTM operation and to perform the cell change; [0260] Further, when the MAC CE is received, the controller 1410 may identify the target cell to perform cell change based on the corresponding MAC CE; [0162] the cell change may be triggered/initiated/executed when all activated TCI states indicated through the MAC CE and/or DCI are associated with one target cell/candidate cell/second TRP/cell associated with the second TRP/non-serving cell.)
Regarding claims 4, 18, 20, Hong discloses:
wherein the cell switch command MAC CE associated with the LTM further includes ([0110] The UE may perform a cell change operation without RRC reconfiguration by applying the candidate target cell configuration information for the target cell based on the MAC CE (S840); [0183] A MAC CE may be defined to indicate/trigger/link/support the LTM operation. The corresponding MAC CE may include one or more the following information pieces: … and RACH-only configuration information. [0188] RACH-only configuration information (rach-ConfigDedicated, e.g., RA occasion for contention free random access, msgA-PUSCH-Resource-Index, ra-PreambleIndex, SSB-index, etc.) indicates random access configuration information used for cell change.)
Hong does not disclose:
…a mask index indicating random access channel (RACH) occasions for the CFRA procedure
wherein performing the CFRA procedure towards the target cell further includes determining a next available physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion from PRACH occasions corresponding to the selected SSB permitted by restrictions given by the mask index in the cell switch command MAC CE associated with the LTM.
However, Shih discloses:
a mask index indicating random access channel (RACH) occasions for the CFRA procedure, (Col 7 row 31-33: ra-ssb-OccasionMaskindex: defines PRACH occasion(s) associated with an SSB in which the MAC entity may transmit a Random Access Preamble)
wherein performing the CFRA procedure towards the target cell further includes determining a next available physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion from PRACH occasions corresponding to the selected SSB permitted by restrictions given by the mask index in the cell switch command MAC CE associated with the LTM. (Col 11 row 55-59: 1> else if an SSB is selected above (Note: an SSB is selected within a procedure having contention-free random access resources): 2> determine the next available PRACH occasion from the PRACH occasions corresponding to the selected SSB permitted by the restrictions given by the rassb-OccasionMasklndex if configured)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings
of Hong with the teachings of Shih to include a mask index indicating random access channel (RACH) occasions for the CFRA procedure, wherein performing the CFRA procedure towards the target cell further includes determining a next available physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion from PRACH occasions corresponding to the selected SSB permitted by restrictions given by the mask index in the cell switch command MAC CE associated with the LTM. The motivation would have been to determine to use coverage enhancement in a Random Access (RA) procedure in a wireless communication system (Shih Col 1 row 19-21).
Regarding claims 5, 21, Hong discloses:
performing the CFRA procedure towards the target cell further includes:
transmitting, to the target cell, the random access preamble in selected RO associated with the CFRA procedure based on the cell switch command MAC CE associated with the LTM. ([0183] A MAC CE may be defined to indicate/trigger/link/support the LTM operation. The corresponding MAC CE may include one or more the following information pieces: … and RACH-only configuration information. [0188] RACH-only configuration information (rach-ConfigDedicated, e.g., RA occasion for contention free random access, msgA-PUSCH-Resource-Index, ra-PreambleIndex, SSB-index, etc.) indicates random access configuration information used for cell change; [0109] Through the MAC CE, the UE should obtain information about the target cell to instruct to perform an LTM operation and to perform the cell change;)
Hong does not discloses:
transmitting, to the target cell, the random access preamble in selected RO associated with the CFRA procedure
However, Shih discloses:
transmitting, to the target cell, the random access preamble in selected RO associated with the CFRA procedure (Col 13 row 60-67: 1> if the Random Access Preamble was not selected by the MAC entity among the contention-based Random Access Preamble(s): 2> select a PUSCH occasion from the PUSCH occasions configured in msgA-CFRA-PUSCH corresponding to the PRACH slot of the selected PRACH 65 occasion, according to msgA-PUSCH-resource-Index corresponding to the selected SSB)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings
of Hong with the teachings of Shih to include transmitting, to the target cell, the random access preamble in selected RO associated with the CFRA procedure. The motivation would have been to determine to use coverage enhancement in a Random Access (RA) procedure in a wireless communication system (Shih Col 1 row 19-21).
Regarding claims 6, 13, 15, Hong discloses:
wherein performing the CFRA procedure towards the target cell further includes selecting an uplink (UL) carrier for performing the CFRA procedure towards the target cell, based on the cell switch command MAC CE associated with the LTM, (Claim 26. The method of claim 20, wherein the MAC CE includes a field for indicating whether a contention free random access resource and a carrier to transmit the contention free random access resource is a supplementary uplink (SUL) or a normal uplink (NUL); [0184] The SUL indicates/denotes whether the MAC CE (or any field included in the MAC CE) is applied to the NUL carrier or the SUL carrier (it is set to 1 for the SUL carrier configuration and to 0 for the NUL carrier configuration).
wherein the cell switch command message MAC CE associated with the LTM further includes information indicating the UL carrier, (Claim 26. The method of claim 20, wherein the MAC CE includes a field for indicating whether a contention free random access resource and a carrier to transmit the contention free random access resource is a supplementary uplink (SUL) or a normal uplink (NUL); [0184] The SUL indicates/denotes whether the MAC CE (or any field included in the MAC CE) is applied to the NUL carrier or the SUL carrier (it is set to 1 for the SUL carrier configuration and to 0 for the NUL carrier configuration).
wherein, in case that the information indicating the UL carrier indicates a supplementary UL (SUL) carrier, the SUL carrier is selected as the UL carrier, ([0184] The SUL indicates/denotes whether the MAC CE (or any field included in the MAC CE) is applied to the NUL carrier or the SUL carrier (it is set to 1 for the SUL carrier configuration and to 0 for the NUL carrier configuration))
and wherein, in case that the information indicating the UL carrier indicates a normal UL (NUL) carrier, the NUL carrier is selected as the UL carrier. ([0184] The SUL indicates/denotes whether the MAC CE (or any field included in the MAC CE) is applied to the NUL carrier or the SUL carrier (it is set to 1 for the SUL carrier configuration and to 0 for the NUL carrier configuration).)
Claims 3, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 20250071648) in view of Shih et al. (US 11564262 B2) further in view of Abedini et al. (US 20190394738).
Regarding claims 3, 17, 19, Hong discloses:
wherein, in case that the cell switch command MAC CE associated with the LTM does not include a timing advance (TA) value of the target cell ([0227] stop all timers (if being operated) [0228] Consider that time alignment timers (timeAlignmentTimers) have expired… [0243] The MAC partial reset may be replaced with any other name (e.g. MAC configuration, MAC reconfiguration, MAC maintenance, MAC switching, MAC reconfiguration, MAC restart, LTM MAC procedure etc.)… [0244] the corresponding procedure may reset the random access procedure/beam failure procedure-related parameter; [0131] Through the MAC CE, the UE may obtain information about the target cell to instruct to perform an LTM operation and to perform the cell change. For example, the MAC CE may include at least one of (Note: does not have to include timing advance command) identification information for candidate target cell configuration information, the TCI state ID, bandwidth part identification information, and the timing advance command.)
Combination of Hong and Shih does not disclose:
…and no valid TA value is available, the CFRA procedure is initiated.
However, Abedini discloses:
and no valid TA value is available, the CFRA procedure is initiated. (Fig. 7 & [0194]: UE may receive a pre-configured resource allocation or configuration at 725 (e.g., configure CFRA resource), identifying that a timer associated with a TA has expired at 735, and initiate a CFRA procedure at 740)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings
of Combination of Hong and Shih with the teachings of Abedini to include no valid TA value is available, the CFRA procedure is initiated. The motivation would have been to improved methods, systems, devices, or apparatuses that support a timing alignment (TA) timer in a wireless communication network (Abedini ¶ [0006]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NHU PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479