Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergdoll et al. (U.S. Patent 3,118,498) in view of Gilbert (U.S. Patent 8,893,319).
Regarding claim 1, Bergdoll teaches a heat exchanger (element 11), comprising: an inlet header (one of element 18) defining an inlet opening (opening of element 28) and opposing inlet walls (sidewalls shown that elements 13 pass through) extending therefrom; an outlet header (opposite element 18) aligned with the inlet header along a central longitudinal axis (per fig. 1-2) and defining an outlet opening (opening element 28) and opposing outlet walls (sidewalls shown that elements 13 pass through) extending therefrom; and a plurality of coaxially arranged bent tubes (elements 13 of elements 11) defining first tube portions extending from one of the opposing inlet walls to one of the opposing outlet walls and second tube portions (elements 13 of element 12) extending from the other of the opposing inlet walls to the other of the opposing outlet walls, wherein a cross-sectional area of the inlet header varies along the central longitudinal axis such that the opposing inlet walls converge (per fig. 7 there is convergence at 25) and the cross-sectional area of the inlet header decreases in a direction away from the inlet opening (per fig. 7), and a cross-sectional area of the outlet header varies along the central longitudinal axis such that the opposing outlet walls converge (per fig. 7 there is convergence at 25)and the cross-sectional area of the outlet header decreases in a direction away from the outlet opening (per fig. 7).
Bergdoll does not teach at least one of the plurality of bent tubes being non-coplanar relative to at least one of remaining bent tubes. Gilbert teaches heat exchange being non-coplanar (fig. 6-7), it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing to modify Bergdoll to stagger some of the heat exchanger tubes such that some are non-coplanar as taught by Gilbert, the motivoant would be to improve thermal mixing (col. 28, ln 1-4).
Regarding claim 2, Bergdoll teaches the first tube portions are arranged on a first side of the inlet header and the outlet header (per fig. 1-2), and the second tube portions are arranged on a second side of the inlet header and the outlet header (per fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Bergdoll teaches the inlet header defines a plurality of inlet ports to enable a flow of a fluid to the plurality of bent tubes (per fig. 2), and the outlet header defines a plurality of outlet ports to facilitate an exit of the fluid from the plurality of bent tubes (per fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Bergdoll teaches each of the plurality of bent tubes extends arcuately around a central axis of the heat exchanger (per fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 17, Bergdoll teaches a heat exchanger (element 11), comprising: an inlet header (one of element 18) defining an inlet opening (opening of element 28) and opposing inlet walls (sidewalls shown that elements 13 pass through) extending therefrom; an outlet header (opposite element 18) arranged diametrically opposite to the inlet header (per fig. 1-2), the outlet header defining an outlet opening (opening of element 28) and opposing outlet walls (sidewalls shown that elements 13 pass through) extending therefrom; and a plurality of coaxially arranged bent tubes defining first tube portions (elements 13 of elements 11) extending from one of the opposing inlet walls to one of the opposing outlet walls (per fig. 1-2) and second tube portions (elements 13 of element 12) extending from the other of the opposing inlet walls to the other of the opposing outlet walls (per fig. 1-2), a cross-sectional area of the inlet header varies along a length of the inlet header (per fig. 7) such that the opposing inlet walls converge and the cross-sectional area of the inlet header decreases in a direction away from the inlet opening (at element 25 fig. 7), and a cross-sectional area of the outlet header varies along a length of the outlet header (per fig. 7) such that the opposing outlet walls converge and the cross-sectional area of the outlet header decreases in a direction away from the outlet opening (at element 25 fig. 7).
Bergdoll does not teach at least one of the plurality of bent tubes being non-coplanar relative to at least one of remaining bent tubes. Gilbert teaches heat exchange being non-coplanar (fig. 6-7), it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing to modify Bergdoll to stagger some of the heat exchanger tubes such that some are non-coplanar as taught by Gilbert, the motivoant would be to improve thermal mixing (col. 28, ln 1-4).
Regarding claim 18, Bergdoll teaches the first tube portions are arranged on a first side of the inlet header and the outlet header (per fig. 1-2), and the second tube portions are arranged on a second side of the inlet header and the outlet header (per fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 19, Bergdoll teaches the inlet header defines a plurality of inlet ports to enable a flow of a fluid to the plurality of bent tubes (per fig. 2), and the outlet header defines a plurality of outlet ports to facilitate an exit of the fluid from the plurality of bent tubes (per fig. 2).
Claims 8 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergdoll et al. (U.S. Patent 3,118,498) in view of Gilbert (U.S. Patent 8,893,319), and further view of Hiroshi (JP2009-068742).
Regarding claim 8, Bergdoll does not teach a diameter of at least one of the plurality of bent tubes is different from a diameter of at least one of remaining bent tubes.
Hiroshi teaches tubes having different passage sizes (Fig. 3-4).it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Bergdoll bent tubes to include the difference passage sizes by modifying the passage diameters taught by Hiroshi, the motivation would have been balance the refrigerant flow (para. 0026).
Regarding claims 21 and 22, Bergdoll does not teach wherein first tube portions define first diameters, the first diameters vary along the central longitudinal axis such that an outermost first tube portion of the first tube portions defines a largest first diameter and an innermost first tube portion of the first tube portions defines a smallest first diameter, and second tube portions define second diameters, the second diameters vary along the central longitudinal axis such that an outermost second tube portion of the second tube portions defines a largest second diameter and an innermost second tube portion of the second tube portions defines a smallest second diameter.
Hiroshi teaches the tube sizes become smaller furthest away from the inlet and largest closest to the outlet (fig. 1-3). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the tubes of Bergdoll such that the internal diameter of the tubes varies as claimed, the motivation would have been balance the refrigerant flow (para. 0026).
Double Patenting
Claims are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim of copending Application No. 18/500558 in view of claims of the current application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments on amendments overcoming the 112 rejections are agreed with, and those rejections have been removed due to the amendment.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) and prior art have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763