DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in reply communication filed on 11/02/2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8 and 15-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recited, “transmitting and/or receiving a signal based on the first configuration information” in line 8-9. For clarity, it is suggested to rewritten the limitation “and/or” to either “transmitting and receiving” or “transmitting or receiving” or “at least one of transmitting or receiving”.
Claim 15 recited, “transmit and/or receive a signal based on the first configuration information” in lines 10-11. For clarity, it is suggested to rewritten the limitation “and/or” to either “transmitting and receiving” or “transmitting or receiving” or “at least one of transmitting or receiving”.
Dependent claims 2-8 and 16-20 are also objected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIM (US 2023/0034163).
Regarding claim 8, KIM discloses a method performed by a second node in a communication system [Fig. 7, ¶¶ 132-153; a method performed by a serving base station 704 (mTRP L2/L2 entity)/(second node) in a communication system], the method comprising:
receiving a first message from a first node, the first message including information related to a state in which the first node is [Fig. 7, ¶ 142; step S703, receiving a measurement result or control message /(first message) from terminal 703/(first node); which included the information on the neighboring TRP(s) and/or candidate TRP(s) satisfies the mTRP function support condition(s) is detected in the step S702 (¶¶ 136-141, corresponding condition of the terminal 703/(first node))]; and
transmitting a second message to the first node, the second message including first configuration information related to signal transmission or reception by the first node [Fig. 7, ¶ 146; step S705, transmitting a control message (or, primitive information)/second message, to the terminal 703/(first node), the second message including configuration information related to signal transmission or reception by the terminal 703/first node (wherein the configuration information of uplink radio resources including PUCCH, configuration information of reference signals such as CRS, TRS, DMRS, and SRS, beam configuration (or TCI state configuration) information, and/or the like))].
Regarding claim 9, KIM discloses the method of claim 8.
KIM further discloses wherein the information related to the state in which the first node includes at least one of: information identifying that the first node is in a state in which a cell/carrier frequency/node is detected [¶ 142; S703, identifier(s) of one or more detected TRP(s), cell identifier(s) (e.g., PCI) of the one or more detected TRPs, and/or one or more beam identifier(s) (e.g., SSB and/or downlink RS identifier) together with the measurement result/information].
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LIU et al. (US 2022/0159566).
Regarding claim 11, LIU discloses a method performed by a third node in a communication system [Fig. 5, ¶¶ 161-165; a method performed by a second node 530/(third node) in a communication system], the method comprising:
receiving, from a second node, a first request message including information related to a state in which a first node is [Fig. 5, ¶ 162; S503, receiving, from a second node 530/second node, a modification request message (DRX switch indication set to false) including the information related to the state in which the first node is]; and
transmitting, to the second node, a first response message including first configuration information related to signal transmission or reception performed at the first node [Fig. 5, ¶ 162; S505, sending, to first node 520/second node, a modification request acknowledge message including a new DRX configuration related to signal transmission or reception performed at the first node (DRX configuration such that the UE has a sufficient idle period, see ¶ 52)].
Regarding claim 12, LIU discloses the method of claim 11.
LIU further discloses wherein the first request message is transmitted by the second node in response to receiving a first message from a first node [Fig. 5, ¶ 161; step 502, wherein the first request message is transmitted by the first node 520/second node in response to receiving a measurement report (CGI report)/first message from a first node/UE], and wherein the first message includes the information related to the state in which the first node is [Fig. 6, ¶ 170; wherein the measurement report (CGI report)/first message included the information on best detected SSB beam indexes or more than one strongest detected beam indexes of the target cell in the measurement report].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-3, 6, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over KIM (US 2023/0034163) in view of WANG et al. (US 2023/0345268) (referred as WANG’s 286).
Regarding claim 1, KIM discloses a method performed by a first node in a communication system [Fig. 7, ¶¶ 132-153; a method performed by a terminal 703/(first node) in a communication system], the method comprising:
transmitting a first message, to a second node, the first message including information related to a state in which the first node is [Fig. 7, ¶ 142; step S703, transmitting measurement result or control message /(first message) to the serving base station 704 (mTRP L2/L2 entity)/(second node); which included the information on the neighboring TRP(s) and/or candidate TRP(s) satisfies the mTRP function support condition(s) is detected in the step S702 (¶¶ 136-141, corresponding condition of the terminal 703/(first node))];
receiving a second message, from the second node, the second message including first configuration information related to signal transmission or reception by the first node [Fig. 7, ¶ 146; step S705, receiving a control message (or, primitive information)/second message, from the base station 704 (mTRP L2/L2 entity)/second node, the second message including configuration information related to signal transmission or reception by the terminal 703/first node (wherein the configuration information of uplink radio resources including PUCCH, configuration information of reference signals such as CRS, TRS, DMRS, and SRS, beam configuration (or TCI state configuration) information, and/or the like))]; and
transmitting and/or receiving a signal [Fig. 7, ¶¶ 150-151; step S707, performing downlink reception of scheduling information/data, also transmitting uplink packets (data/control information) to the TRP1 and TRP2 (S708)],
KIM does not explicitly disclose transmitting and/or receiving a signal based on the first configuration information.
However, WANG’s 286 discloses transmitting and/or receiving a signal based on the first configuration information [Figs. 6, ¶ 107; Step 603, terminal communicates with the first access network device based on the first configuration information].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “transmitting and/or receiving a signal based on the first configuration information,” as taught by WANG’s 286 in the system of KIM, so that it would to allow for compatibility with a protocol layer that may be specified in a subsequent communication standard and a protocol layer that has been specified in an existing communication standard is a technical problem that needs to be resolved [see WANG’s 286, ¶ 4].
Regarding claim 2, the combined system of KIM and WANG’s 286 discloses the method of claim 1.
KIM further discloses wherein the information related to the state in which the first node includes at least one of: information identifying that the first node is in a state in which a cell/carrier frequency/node is detected [¶ 142; S703, identifier(s) of one or more detected TRP(s), cell identifier(s) (e.g., PCI) of the one or more detected TRPs, and/or one or more beam identifier(s) (e.g., SSB and/or downlink RS identifier) together with the measurement result/information].
Regarding claim 3, the combined system of KIM and WANG’s 286 discloses the method of claim 1.
KIM further discloses wherein, the first configuration information related to the signal transmission or reception by the first node includes at least one of: first target indication information for indicating a target to which a signal received or transmitted by the first node belongs [¶ 146; when the control message of the step S705 is an RRC message, the mTRP L2/L2 entity of the active TRP may generate and transmit configuration information for the mTRP function support including the above-described related physical layer parameters for providing the mTRP function to the termina].
Regarding claim 6, the combined system of KIM and WANG’s 286 discloses the method of claim 3.
KIM further discloses, wherein the first target indication information includes at least one of: information related to a node to which a signal received or transmitted by the first node belongs, information related to a cell to which the signal received or transmitted by the first node belongs, indication information related to a type of the cell to which the signal received or transmitted by the first node belongs, or information indicating a carrier frequency where the signal received or transmitted by the first node is located, wherein the first signal configuration information includes at least one of: information identifying a set of configurations of the signal received or transmitted by the first node, information indicating a type of the signal received or transmitted by the first node, information indicating resources used for receiving or transmitting the signal, cell timing information indicating a timing offset between different cells, configuration information on beams required by the signal reception or transmission by the first node, information on a sequence included in the signal received or transmitted by the first node, information indicating a timing advance required when a user equipment (UE) transmits the signal, or information indicating a valid time of configuration information included in the first configuration information on signal [¶ 153; information on scheduling identifiers (e.g., C-RNTIs) for scheduling information transmission may be delivered to the terminal in form of the RRC message or MAC CE of the step S705], and
wherein the first signal reception or transmission configuration information includes at least one of: information identifying a set of configurations required by the signal reception or transmission by the first node, information indicating a time range for the signal reception or transmission by first node, information indicating behaviors of the first node, information indicating a type of the signal received or transmitted by the first node, or information indicating a condition for the signal reception or transmission by the first node [¶¶ 156-161; when a quality of radio channel(s) between the TRP(s) and the terminal is less than a reference value until a predefined timer (e.g., mTRP_MaintainTimer) expires].
Regarding claims 15, 16, and 17, the claims recite the wireless communication device of claim 9 to perform the functions of the wireless communication device recited as in claims 1, 2, and 3 respectively; therefore, claims 15, 16, and 17 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 1, 2, and 3 respectively.
Claims 4, 7, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over KIM (US 2023/0034163) in view of WANG et al. (US 2023/0345268) (referred as WANG’s 286), and further in view of WANG et al. (US 2020/0120735) (referred as WANG’s 735).
Regarding claim 4, the combined system of KIM and WANG’s 286 discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: receiving a third message from the second node, the third message including second configuration information related to the signal transmission or reception by the first node, wherein the signal transmission or reception includes the signal transmission or reception based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information.
However, WANG’s 735 discloses further comprising: receiving a third message from the second node, the third message including second configuration information related to the signal transmission or reception by the first node [Fig. 6, ¶ 285; S620, sends configuration information (denoted as second configuration information for ease of differentiation and description) of the first serving cell set to the first DU], wherein the signal transmission or reception includes the signal transmission or reception based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information [Fig. 6, ¶¶ 300-301, wherein the signal transmission or reception includes the signal transmission or reception based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information (the second indication information and the second configuration information may be carried in a same message)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “further comprising: receiving a third message from the second node, the third message including second configuration information related to the signal transmission or reception by the first node, wherein the signal transmission or reception includes the signal transmission or reception based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information” as taught by WANG’s 735 in the combined system of KIM and WANG’s 286, so that it would to implement for the terminal device in a new network architecture, and this helps provide the terminal device with a larger transmission bandwidth [see WANG’s 735, ¶ 114].
Regarding claim 7, the combined system of KIM, WANG’s 286, and WANG’s 735 discloses the method of claim 4.
The combined system of KIM and WANG’s 286 does not explicitly disclose
wherein the second configuration information related to the signal transmission or reception by the first node includes at least one of: related information indicating a configuration required by the signal reception or transmission by the first node; related information indicating a node to which the signal received or transmitted by the first node belongs; related information indicating a cell to which the signal received or transmitted by the first node belongs; information indicating a carrier frequency to which the signal received or transmitted by the first node belongs; information indicating a configuration for the signal received or transmitted by the first node; related information indicating a configuration required by reception or transmission of the signal by the first node; related information indicating a configuration required by the signal reception or transmission by the first node; related information indicating a configuration required by a condition of the signal reception or transmission by the first node; information indicating beams required by the signal reception or transmission by the first node; or information indicating a timing advance required for transmitting an uplink signal.
However, WANG’s 735 discloses wherein the second configuration information related to the signal transmission or reception by the first node includes at least one of: related information indicating a configuration required by the signal reception or transmission by the first node [¶¶ 206-214; wherein the second configuration information related to the signal transmission or reception by the first node includes at least one of: related information indicating a configuration required by the signal reception or transmission by the first node].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the second configuration information related to the signal transmission or reception by the first node includes at least one of: related information indicating a configuration required by the signal reception or transmission by the first node” as taught by WANG’s 735 in the combined system of KIM and WANG’s 286, so that it would to implement for the terminal device in a new network architecture, and this helps provide the terminal device with a larger transmission bandwidth [see WANG’s 735, ¶ 114].
Regarding claim 18, the combined system of KIM and WANG’s 286 discloses the network node of claim 15, but does not explicitly further comprising: receiving a third message from the second node, the third message including second configuration information related to the signal transmission or reception by the first node, wherein the signal transmission or reception includes the signal transmission or reception based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information.
However, WANG’s 735 discloses further comprising: receiving a third message from the second node, the third message including second configuration information related to the signal transmission or reception by the first node [Fig. 6, ¶ 285; S620, sends configuration information (denoted as second configuration information for ease of differentiation and description) of the first serving cell set to the first DU], wherein the signal transmission or reception includes the signal transmission or reception based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information [Fig. 6, ¶¶ 300-301, wherein the signal transmission or reception includes the signal transmission or reception based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information (the second indication information and the second configuration information may be carried in a same message)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “further comprising: receiving a third message from the second node, the third message including second configuration information related to the signal transmission or reception by the first node, wherein the signal transmission or reception includes the signal transmission or reception based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information” as taught by WANG’s 735 in the combined system of KIM and WANG’s 286, so that it would to implement for the terminal device in a new network architecture, and this helps provide the terminal device with a larger transmission bandwidth [see WANG’s 735, ¶ 114].
Claims 5 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over KIM (US 2023/0034163) in view of WANG et al. (US 2023/0345268) (referred as WANG’s 286), and further in view of LIU et al. (US 2022/0159566).
Regarding claim 5, the combined system of KIM and WANG’s 286 discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein, in response to the first message transmitted to the second node, a first request message including the information related to the state, in which the first node is, is transmitted from the second node to a third node, and wherein a first response message including the first configuration information is transmitted from the third node to the second node.
However, LIU discloses wherein, in response to the first message transmitted to the second node, a first request message including the information related to the state, in which the first node is, is transmitted from the second node to a third node [Fig. 5, ¶ 162; S503, first node 520 may send a modification request message (DRX switch indication set to false) to the second node 530/third node; which included the information on the neighboring TRP(s) and/or candidate TRP(s) satisfies the mTRP function support condition(s) is detected in the step S702 (¶¶ 136-141, corresponding condition of the terminal 703/(first node))], and wherein a first response message including the first configuration information is transmitted from the third node to the second node [Fig. 5, ¶ 162; S505, the second node 530/ third node send a modification request acknowledge message to the first node 520/second node including a new DRX configuration].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein, in response to the first message transmitted to the second node, a first request message including the information related to the state, in which the first node is, is transmitted from the second node to a third node, and wherein a first response message including the first configuration information is transmitted from the third node to the second node” as taught by LIU in the combined system of KIM and WANG’s 286, so that it would to provide higher quality of service [see LIU, ¶ 3].
Regarding claim 19, the combined system of KIM and WANG’s 286 discloses the network node of claim 17, but does not explicitly disclose wherein, in response to the first message transmitted to the second node, a first request message including the information related to the state, in which the first node is, is transmitted from the second node to a third node, and wherein a first response message including the first configuration information is transmitted from the third node to the second node.
However, LIU discloses wherein, in response to the first message transmitted to the second node, a first request message including the information related to the state, in which the first node is, is transmitted from the second node to a third node [Fig. 5, ¶ 162; S503, first node 520 may send a modification request message (DRX switch indication set to false) to the second node 530/third node; which included the information on the neighboring TRP(s) and/or candidate TRP(s) satisfies the mTRP function support condition(s) is detected in the step S702 (¶¶ 136-141, corresponding condition of the terminal 703/(first node))], and wherein a first response message including the first configuration information is transmitted from the third node to the second node [Fig. 5, ¶ 162; S505, the second node 530/ third node send a modification request acknowledge message to the first node 520/second node including a new DRX configuration].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein, in response to the first message transmitted to the second node, a first request message including the information related to the state, in which the first node is, is transmitted from the second node to a third node, and wherein a first response message including the first configuration information is transmitted from the third node to the second node” as taught by LIU in the combined system of KIM and WANG’s 286, so that it would to provide higher quality of service [see LIU, ¶ 3].
Regarding claim 20, the combined system of KIM, WANG’s 286, and LIU discloses the network node of claim 19.
KIM further discloses, wherein the first target indication information includes at least one of: information related to a node to which a signal received or transmitted by the first node belongs, information related to a cell to which the signal received or transmitted by the first node belongs, indication information related to a type of the cell to which the signal received or transmitted by the first node belongs, or information indicating a carrier frequency where the signal received or transmitted by the first node is located, wherein the first signal configuration information includes at least one of: information identifying a set of configurations of the signal received or transmitted by the first node [¶ 153; information on scheduling identifiers (e.g., C-RNTIs) for scheduling information transmission may be delivered to the terminal in form of the RRC message or MAC CE of the step S705], and
wherein the first signal reception or transmission configuration information includes at least one of: information identifying a set of configurations required by the signal reception or transmission by the first node, information indicating a time range for the signal reception or transmission by first node, information indicating behaviors of the first node, information indicating a type of the signal received or transmitted by the first node, or information indicating a condition for the signal reception or transmission by the first node [¶¶ 156-161; when a quality of radio channel(s) between the TRP(s) and the terminal is less than a reference value until a predefined timer (e.g., mTRP_MaintainTimer) expires].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over KIM (US 2023/0034163) in view of LIU et al. (US 2022/0159566).
Regarding claim 10, KIM discloses the method of claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: in response to the first message received from the first node, transmitting, to a third node, a first request message including the information related to the state in which the first node is; and receiving a first response message including the first configuration information from the third node.
However, LIU discloses further comprising: in response to the first message received from the first node, transmitting, to a third node, a first request message including the information related to the state in which the first node is [Fig. 5, ¶ 162; S503, first node 520 may send a modification request message (DRX switch indication set to false) to the second node 530/third node including the information related to the state in which the first node is; which included the information on the neighboring TRP(s) and/or candidate TRP(s) satisfies the mTRP function support condition(s) is detected in the step S702 (¶¶ 136-141, corresponding condition of the terminal 703/(first node))]; and receiving a first response message including the first configuration information from the third node [Fig. 5, ¶ 162; S505, the second node 530/ third node send a modification request acknowledge message to the first node 520/second node including a new DRX configuration].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “further comprising: in response to the first message received from the first node, transmitting, to a third node, a first request message including the information related to the state in which the first node is; and receiving a first response message including the first configuration information from the third node” as taught by LIU in the system of KIM, so that it would to provide higher quality of service [see LIU, ¶ 3].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over LIU et al. (US 2022/0159566) in view of KIM (US 2023/0034163), and further in view of WANG et al. (US 2023/0345268) (referred as WANG’s 286).
Regarding claim 13, LUI discloses the method of claim 12, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a second message is transmitted from the second node to the first node, wherein the second message includes the first configuration information related to the signal transmission or reception performed at the first node, and wherein the signal transmission or reception is performed by the first node based on the first configuration information.
However, KIM discloses wherein a second message is transmitted from the second node to the first node [Fig. 7, ¶ 146; step S705, wherein a control message (or, primitive information)/second message is transmitted from the base station 704 (mTRP L2/L2 entity)/second node to the terminal 703/first node, wherein the second message includes the first configuration information related to the signal transmission or reception performed at the first node [Fig. 7, ¶ 146; step S705, wherein the configuration information of uplink radio resources including PUCCH, configuration information of reference signals such as CRS, TRS, DMRS, and SRS, beam configuration (or TCI state configuration) information, and/or the like];
wherein the signal transmission or reception is performed by the first node [Fig. 7, ¶¶ 150-151; step S707, performing downlink reception of scheduling information/data, also transmitting uplink packets (data/control information) to the TRP1 and TRP2 (S708)],
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein a second message is transmitted from the second node to the first node, wherein the second message includes the first configuration information related to the signal transmission or reception performed at the first node” as taught by KIM in the system of LIU, so that it would to providing services to a terminal by using a plurality of wireless access points (e.g., TRP, RRH, relay, repeater, etc.) belonging to network nodes (e.g., eNB, gNB, cell, etc.) identified by different identifiers [see KIM, ¶ 5].
The combined system of LIU and KIM does not explicitly disclose wherein the signal transmission or reception is performed by the first node “based on the first configuration information”.
However, WANG’s 286 discloses wherein the signal transmission or reception is performed by the first node “based on the first configuration information” [Figs. 6, ¶ 107; Step 603, terminal communicates with the first access network device based on the first configuration information].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the signal transmission or reception is performed by the first node based on the first configuration information” as taught by WANG’s 286 in the combined system of LIU and KIM, so that it would to allow for compatibility with a protocol layer that may be specified in a subsequent communication standard and a protocol layer that has been specified in an existing communication standard is a technical problem that needs to be resolved [see WANG’s 286, ¶ 4].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
In additional to references cited that are used for rejection as set forth above, ABEDINI et al. (US 2023/0337081) is also considered as relevant prior arts for rejection of in claims 1, 8, 11, and 15 for limitation “receiving a second message, from the second node, the second message including first configuration information related to signal transmission or reception by the first node” (Figs. 1, 2, ¶¶ 108-118, 133, 140).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHONG LA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469