DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 02/13/2026 and Information Disclosure Statements filed on 02 November 2023, 09 December 2024 and 24 September 2025.
Claims 1-4, 6-18 are pending for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/13/2026 have been entered. The claims have been amended, original as follows:
Claims are amended: 1-2, 7-8, 10-15, 17-18.
Claims are original: 3-4, 6, 16.
Claims are cancelled: 5.
Claims 1-4, 6-18 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, Pages 9-13, filed 02/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 9-14 and 16-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. I 03 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 20140072001 Al) in view of Tarighat et al (US 20160150542 Al). have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 20140072001 A1) in view of Tarighat et al (US 20160150542 A1) and further view of Thompson et al. (US 20190379409 A1). I). Applicant’s argument that neither that neither Chang nor Tarighat describes a configuration where both the first and second FEMs are electrically connected to both the first and second RFICs. Applicant asserts that if each secondary RFIC in Tarighat is connected to a different FEM, then each FEM would only be connected to one RFIC, not connected to any of the transmission chains included in the first FEM and the second FEM.Examiner agrees that Chang and Tarighat not teaching second RFIC only receive receives from first and second FEM. However, new included prior art Thompson architecture teaching as applicant amended as claim 1. Thompson FIG. 1 step 134 Receiver system as same as instant app second RFIC, and this receiver system electronically connected to first diplexer and second diplexer, these are same as FEMs as claimed.
Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 and 12 U.S.C. 103 over Chang et al. (US 20140072001 A1) in view of Tarighat et al (US 20160150542 A1) and further view of Thompson et al. (US 20190379409 A1) is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 9-14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 20140072001 A1) in view of Tarighat et al (US 20160150542 A1) and further view of Thompson et al. (US 20190379409 A1). With regarding Claim 1, Chang disclose communication circuitry comprising: a first radio frequency integrated circuit (RFIC) configured to process a transmission signal and a reception signal having a plurality of frequency bands (See FIG. 3 and ¶[0017], [0030]-[0031], [0024]-[0026], [0049]. Disclosed RF transceiver IC as explained as back-end 370(on an RFIC) does both TX and RX and is designed to operate across multiple bands(low/mid/high)); a second RFIC configured to process the reception signal having the plurality of frequency bands; a first front end module (FEM) electrically connected to the first RFIC and electrically connected to the second RFIC (See FIG. 3 and ¶[0019], [0024]-[0026], [0031], [0042]. Disclosed module 320 is therefore a front-end module (FEM) connected via RF lines and switches 468 to back-end 370.); and a second FEM electrically connected to the first RFIC and electrically connected to the second RFIC (See FIG. 3 and ¶[0019], [0024], [0037], [0042], [0045]-[0046]. Disclosed a second FEM electrically connected to RFIC-implemented back-end.), wherein the first RFIC is connected to at least two reception chains, among a plurality of reception chains included in the first FEM and the second FEM (See ¶[0026]-[0028], [0037], [0042], [0045]-[0046], [0083]-[0084]. Disclosed that each FEM includes multiple transmission chains and multiple reception chains. The RFIC based back-end module is connected to some the reception chains(the first outputs of LNAs) across both FEM 320 and FEM 322, while the FEMs also include transmission chains for the same bands.), wherein the first RFIC is connected to all of a plurality of transmission chains included in the first FEM and the second FEM (See ¶[0025]-[0026], [0030]. Disclosed that front end module 320 includes multiple power amplifiers 330a-330k (transmission chains), while the second front -end module 322 includes only MIMO LNA wherein the second RFIC is connected to at least two other reception chains, among the plurality of reception chains included in the first FEM and the second FEM, different from the at least two reception chains connected to the first RFIC, wherein the second RFIC is not connected to any of the plurality of transmission chains included in the first FEM and the second FEM, and wherein a frequency band of a first reception signal capable of being processed by the first RFIC is identical to a frequency band of a second reception signal capable of being processed by the second RFIC. Chang may not explicitly disclose a second RFIC configured to process the reception signal having the plurality of frequency bands; wherein the second RFIC is connected to some other reception chains, among the plurality of reception chains included in the first FEM and the second FEM and different from the at least some reception chains connected to the first RFIC, and wherein a frequency band of a first reception signal capable of being processed by the first RFIC is identical to a frequency band of a second reception signal capable of being processed by the second RFIC. However, in analogous art, Tarighat disclose a second RFIC configured to process the reception signal having the plurality of frequency bands (See ¶[0027]-[0030], [0036]. Disclosed second RFICs 210-A-E are separate chips that receive RF signals (from their antennas) at the same bands used by the primary RFIC.); wherein the second RFIC is connected to some other reception chains, among the plurality of reception chains included in the first FEM and the second FEM and different from the at least some reception chains connected to the first RFIC (See ¶[0020], [0027]-[0030], [0036], [0064]. Disclosed Primary RFIC 208 sees RF from multiple secondary RFICs, each secondary RFIC 210A-E is tied to its own subset of antenna-element Rx chains, so a second RFIC connected to a different subset of RX chains than the first RFIC), and wherein a frequency band of a first reception signal capable of being processed by the first RFIC is identical to a frequency band of a second reception signal capable of being processed by the second RFIC (See ¶[0020]-[0022], [0027]-[0030], Disclosed the frequency band of a first reception signal processed by the first RFIC is identical to the frequency band of second reception signal processed by the second RFIC.). Chang and Tarighat may not explicitly disclose wherein the second RFIC is not connected to any of the plurality of transmission chains included in the first FEM and the second FEM. However, in analogous art, Thompson disclose wherein the second RFIC is not connected to any of the plurality of transmission chains included in the first FEM and the second FEM (See FIG. 1 and ¶[0028]-[0033]. Disclosed that the 134 receiver system same as second RFIC architecture only receives first Diplexer as first FEM and second Diplexer is same as second FEM, this are electrical connected as a receiver connections as step 112, and 122.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tarighat to modify Chang teachings.. Chang teaches the overall communication circuitry structure as two FEMs 320, 322 each with multiple Tx and Rx chains per band. A multi-band back-end 370 handing Tx/Rx for low/mid/high bands. Switch/LO/downconverter architecture that supports both carrier aggregation and same-band receive diversity, Tarighat teaches multi-RFIC implementation as one or more primary and multiple secondary RFICs. All operating at the same RF frequency. Primary RFIC does IF to RF conversion, secondary RFICs connect to different sets of RF receiver paths (antenna elements) and forward to the primary, and Thompson architecture supports the second RFIC connections. This combination ensure the Ca receiver for higher performance (more diversity ports, beamforming, modularity, easier PCB routing, RF power distribution) with multi-RFIC. With regarding Claim 2, Chang, Tarighat and Thompson disclose the communication circuitry of claim 1, Chang may not explicitly disclose wherein a frequency band corresponding to the at least two other reception chains connected to the second RFIC includes a frequency band corresponding to the at least two reception chains connected to the first RFIC. However, in analogous art, Tarighat disclose wherein a frequency band corresponding to a plurality of reception chains connected to the second RFIC comprises a frequency band corresponding to a plurality of reception chains connected to the first RFIC (See FIG. 2, 6 and ¶[0035]-[0037], [0062]-[0065], [0027]-[0030]. Disclosed the frequency band corresponding to a plurality of reception chains connected to the second RFIC includes the frequency band corresponding to a plurality of reception chains connected to the first RFIC, both sets of chains are operating at the same RF frequency). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tarighat to modify Chang teachings.. Chang teaches the overall communication circuitry structure as two FEMs 320, 322 each with multiple Tx and Rx chains per band. A multi-band back-end 370 handing Tx/Rx for low/mid/high bands. Switch/LO/downconverter architecture that supports both carrier aggregation and same-band receive diversity. And Tarighat teaches multi-RFIC implementation as one or more primary and multiple secondary RFICs. Primary and secondary RFICs are designed to run on the same RF carrier to support phased-array beamforming. Therefore any plurality of reception chains feeding the secondary RFICs and any plurality if reception chains feeding the primary RFIC are by design, in the same RF band. This combination ensure multiple frequency bands, and connect to any antenna elements through phase shifters and amplifiers.
With regarding Claim 3, Chang, Tarighat and Thompson disclose the communication circuitry of claim 1, Chang may not explicitly disclose wherein the first RFIC is configured to receive a primary reception signal (PRx) or a signal having a primary component carrier (PCC) band. However, in analogous art, Tarighat disclose wherein the first RFIC is configured to receive a primary reception signal (PRx) or a signal having a primary component carrier (PCC) band (See ¶[0029]-[0031], [0035]-[0036]. Disclosed the Primary RFIC 208 is described as including low noise amplifiers 408, receive phase shifters 406 and Tx/Rx switches 412, so all the receiving chain elements integrated ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tarighat to modify Chang teachings. Chang teaches the overall communication circuitry structure as two FEMs 320, 322 each with multiple Tx and Rx chains per band. A multi-band back-end 370 handing Tx/Rx for low/mid/high bands. Switch/LO/downconverter architecture that supports both carrier aggregation and same-band receive diversity, and Tarighat teaches a primary RFIC that serves as the main RFIC for link to baseband, and that RFIC is expressly configured receive RF signals, down convert them to IF, and pass them to baseband. This combination ensure that primary RFIC as the PRx/PCC path, consistent with standard LTE/NR carrier aggregation practice. With regarding Claim 6, Chang, Tarighat and Thompson disclose the communication circuitry of claim 1, Chang may not explicitly disclose wherein the second RFIC is configured to receive a reception signal having a frequency band consisting of the reception signal. However, in analogous art, Tarighat disclose wherein the second RFIC is configured to receive a reception signal having a frequency band consisting of the reception signal (See FIG. 3 and ¶[0029]-[0030], [0053]-[0055]. Disclosed carrier aggregation across different frequencies. Fig. 2-3 teaching how certain frequency bands can be dedicated to specific reception purpose.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tarighat to modify Chang teachings. Chang teaches the overall communication circuitry structure as two FEMs 320, 322 each with multiple Tx and Rx chains per band. A multi-band back-end 370 handing Tx/Rx for low/mid/high bands. Switch/LO/downconverter architecture that supports both carrier aggregation and same-band receive diversity, and Tarighat teaches how certain frequency bands can be dedicated to specific reception purpose. This combination address the circuitry, including power efficiency, signal reliability, circuit complexity and physical space constrains in mobile device this are work together to improve overall performance. With regarding Claim 9, Chang, Tarighat and Thompson disclose the communication circuitry of claim 1, Chang may not explicitly disclose wherein a frequency band of a transmission signal capable of being processed by the first RFIC is identical to a frequency band of a transmission signal capable of being processed by the second RFIC. However, in analogous art, Tarighat disclose wherein a frequency band of a transmission signal capable of being processed by the first RFIC is identical to a frequency band of a transmission signal capable of being processed by the second RFIC (See FIG. 4A and ¶[0028], [0035]-[0036], [0030]-[0031]. Disclosed first RFIC and secondary RFIC are both capable of processing transmission signals in the same RF band.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tarighat to modify Chang teachings. Chang teaches a dual-FEM, multi-chain RF front-end for a CA, with multiple Tx and Rx chains per band and RFIC-based back-end 370¶[0054]. Tarighat teaches specific internal implementation of the multiple RFICs. This combination ensure the CA/ multi-band RF architecture with multi RFICs phased-array design. With regarding Claim 10, Chang, Tarighat and Thompson disclose the communication circuitry of claim 1, Chang disclosed wherein the first FEM comprises: a first transmission chain configured to process a transmission signal having a first frequency band, a second transmission chain configured to process a transmission signal having the first frequency band, (See FIG. 4A and ¶[0017], [0024]-[0026], [0030]. Disclosed FEM 320 inherently includes a first transmission chain and second transmission chain, both configured to process Tx signals in the same band group(first frequency band)); a first reception chain configured to process a reception signal having the first frequency band; and a second reception chain configured to process a reception signal having the first frequency band, (See ¶[0045]-[0046], [0054], [0083]-[0084]. Disclosed two distinct reception chains (two Rx paths from the same MIMO LNA for the same band), i.e. a first reception chain and second reception chain both processing a receive signal in the same first frequency band.); Chang may not explicitly disclose wherein the first transmission chain, the second transmission chain, and the first reception chain are connected to the first RFIC, and wherein the second reception chain is connected to the second RFIC. However, in analogous art, Tarighat disclose wherein the first transmission chain, the second transmission chain, and the first reception chain are connected to the first RFIC,(See FIG. 2 and ¶[0031]-[0035]. Disclosed Primary RFIC 208 can handle multiple transmission paths to different antennas; and, wherein the second reception chain is connected to the second RFIC (See FIG. 13 and ¶[0031]-[0036] . Disclosed one or more of the secondary RFICs 210A-E may be used for redundancy and/or can handle identical frequency bands). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tarighat to modify Chang teachings. Chang teaches a dual-FEM, multi-chain RF front-end for a CA, with multiple Tx and Rx chains per band and RFIC-based back-end 370. and Tarighat teaches multi-stream RFIC architecture and specific allocation of transmission/reception chains across multiple RFICs. This combination ensure the efficient power consumption while supporting multiple frequency bands and diversity reception. With regarding Claim 11, Chang, Tarighat and Thompson disclose the communication circuitry of claim 1, wherein the second FEM includes: a third transmission chain configured to process a transmission signal having a second frequency band, (See FIG. 2, 4A and ¶[0025], [0030], [0037], [0045], [0055], [0075], [0081] . Disclosed as FEM channel set 220 that function as second FEM, the sub-FEM channel set 220 includes multiple sub FEM channels, such as the sub-FEM channels 220-1 to sub-FEM channels 220-N2 in Figure 2, and sub-FEM channel 220-3 can support n41, sub-FEM channel 220-4 support n28.); a fourth transmission chain configured to process a transmission signal having the second frequency band (See FIG. 4A and ¶[0044], [0031], [0029]. Disclosed that for each frequency band, there are corresponding channels in both FEM sets: the channels supporting a certain frequency band include one main FEM channel in the main FEM channel set 210 and one sub-FEM channel in the sub-FEM channel set 220. As figure 4A shows multiple sub-FEM channels (220-1 to 220-5) supporting same frequency bands. ), a third reception chain configured to process a reception signal having the second frequency band (See FIG. 3A and ¶[0053], [0029], [0046]. Each main FEM channel and each sub-FEM channel include respective low noise amplifier (LNA) and filters 222. These component s are essential for reception functionality within each sub-FEM channel), and a fourth reception chain configured to process a reception signal having the second frequency band (See FIG. 4B or 4C and ¶[0077], [0029], [0046]. Disclosed the system’s capability to use multiple sub-FEM channels for the same frequency band), wherein the third transmission chain, the fourth transmission chain, and the third reception chain are connected to the first RFIC (See FIG. 3A, 4A and ¶[0069], [0077]. Disclosed flexible connectivity: sub-FEM channel 220-3 can be connected to 3B or 4B via the second switch group 244 and sub-FEM channel 220-4 can be connected to 4B or 5B via the second switch group 244. And the first SIM card can be connected to 14A of radio frequency channel 230-1 and 2A of radio frequency channel 230-2 through switch 241 through main FEM channel 210-3 and channel 210-4 respectively), and Chang may not explicitly disclose wherein the fourth reception chain is connected to the second RFIC. However, in analogous art, Tarighat disclose wherein the fourth reception chain is connected to the second RFIC (See FIG. 2 and ¶[0021], [0030]-[0031], [0036], [0096]. Disclosed the one or more RFICs/ at least one secondary RFIC and each one or more RFICs is configured to receive an intermediate frequency (IF) signal from baseband process, upconvert the IF signal to a RF signal, and transmit the RF signal to one or more secondary RFICs. The secondary RFICs under each of the one or more primary RFICs are configured to receive the RF signal from the corresponding primary RFIC, Phase shift and amplify the RF signal and transmit the RF signal via plurality of antenna elements.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tarighat to modify Chang teachings. Chang teaches a dual-FEM, multi-chain RF front-end for a CA, with multiple Tx and Rx chains per band and RFIC-based back-end 370, and Tarighat teaches RFIC partitioning would create a system that can dynamically allocate reception chains between different RFICs based on frequency band requirements. This combination ensure that multiple transmission and reception chains for the same frequency band, with these chains flexibly connected to different RFICs from Tarighat based on operational requirements. With regarding Claim 12 Chang disclose communication circuitry comprising: a first radio frequency integrated circuit (RFIC) configured to process a transmission signal and a reception signal having a plurality of frequency bands (See FIG. 3 and ¶[0017], [0030]-[0031], [0024]-[0026], [0049]. Disclosed RF transceiver IC as explained as back-end 370(on an RFIC) does both TX and RX and is designed to operate across multiple bands(low/mid/high)); a second RFIC configured to process the reception signal having the plurality of frequency bands; a first front end module (FEM) electrically connected to the first RFIC and electrically connected to the second RFIC (See FIG. 3 and ¶[0019], [0024]-[0026], [0031], [0042]. Disclosed module 320 is therefore a front-end module (FEM) connected via RF lines and switches 468 to back-end 370.); and a second FEM electrically connected to the first RFIC and electrically connected to the second RFIC (See FIG. 3 and ¶[0019], [0024], [0037], [0042], [0045]-[0046]. Disclosed a second FEM electrically connected to RFIC-implemented back-end.), wherein the first RFIC is connected to at least two reception chains, among a plurality of reception chains included in the first FEM and the second FEM (See ¶[0026]-[0028], [0037], [0042], [0045]-[0046], [0083]-[0084]. Disclosed that each FEM includes multiple transmission chains and multiple reception chains. The RFIC based back-end module is connected to some the reception chains(the first outputs of LNAs) across both FEM 320 and FEM 322, while the FEMs also include transmission chains for the same bands.), wherein the first RFIC is connected to all of a plurality of transmission chains included in the first FEM and the second FEM (See ¶[0025]-[0026], [0030]. Disclosed that front end module 320 includes multiple power amplifiers 330a-330k (transmission chains), while the second front -end module 322 includes only MIMO LNA wherein the second RFIC is connected to at least two other reception chains, among the plurality of reception chains included in the first FEM and the second FEM, different from the at least two reception chains connected to the first RFIC, wherein the second RFIC is not connected to any of the plurality of transmission chains included in the first FEM and the second FEM, and wherein a frequency band of a first reception signal capable of being processed by the first RFIC is identical to a frequency band of a second reception signal capable of being processed by the second RFIC. Chang may not explicitly disclose a second RFIC configured to process the reception signal having the plurality of frequency bands; wherein the second RFIC is connected to some other reception chains, among the plurality of reception chains included in the first FEM and the second FEM and different from the at least some reception chains connected to the first RFIC, and wherein a frequency band of a first reception signal capable of being processed by the first RFIC is identical to a frequency band of a second reception signal capable of being processed by the second RFIC. However, in analogous art, Tarighat disclose a second RFIC configured to process the reception signal having the plurality of frequency bands (See ¶[0027]-[0030], [0036]. Disclosed second RFICs 210-A-E are separate chips that receive RF signals (from their antennas) at the same bands used by the primary RFIC.); wherein the second RFIC is connected to some other reception chains, among the plurality of reception chains included in the first FEM and the second FEM and different from the at least some reception chains connected to the first RFIC (See ¶[0020], [0027]-[0030], [0036], [0064]. Disclosed Primary RFIC 208 sees RF from multiple secondary RFICs, each secondary RFIC 210A-E is tied to its own subset of antenna-element Rx chains, so a second RFIC connected to a different subset of RX chains than the first RFIC), and wherein a frequency band of a first reception signal capable of being processed by the first RFIC is identical to a frequency band of a second reception signal capable of being processed by the second RFIC (See ¶[0020]-[0022], [0027]-[0030], Disclosed the frequency band of a first reception signal processed by the first RFIC is identical to the frequency band of second reception signal processed by the second RFIC.). Chang and Tarighat may not explicitly disclose wherein the second RFIC is not connected to any of the plurality of transmission chains included in the first FEM and the second FEM. However, in analogous art, Thompson disclose wherein the second RFIC is not connected to any of the plurality of transmission chains included in the first FEM and the second FEM (See FIG. 1 and ¶[0028]-[0033]. Disclosed that the 134 receiver system same as second RFIC architecture only receives first Diplexer as first FEM and second Diplexer is same as second FEM, this are electrical connected as a receiver connections as step 112, and 122.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tarighat to modify Chang teachings.. Chang teaches the overall communication circuitry structure as two FEMs 320, 322 each with multiple Tx and Rx chains per band. A multi-band back-end 370 handing Tx/Rx for low/mid/high bands. Switch/LO/downconverter architecture that supports both carrier aggregation and same-band receive diversity, Tarighat teaches multi-RFIC implementation as one or more primary and multiple secondary RFICs. All operating at the same RF frequency. Primary RFIC does IF to RF conversion, secondary RFICs connect to different sets of RF receiver paths (antenna elements) and forward to the primary, and Thompson architecture supports the second RFIC connections. This combination ensure the Ca receiver for higher performance (more diversity ports, beamforming, modularity, easier PCB routing, RF power distribution) with multi-RFIC. With regarding Claim 13, Chang, Tarighat and Thompson disclose the communication circuitry of claim 12, Chang disclosed wherein the communication processor is configured to: control the first RFIC so that the transmission signal is transmitted to the first RFIC and the transmission signal is transmitted to a transmission chain, among the plurality of transmission chains included in the first FEM and the second FEM (See ¶[0041], [0038]-[0039], [0024]-[0026], [0031], [0045]-[0046]. Disclosed that the controller controls the operation of transceiver circuits, which include RFICs and their connection to transmission chains.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tarighat to modify Chang teachings..Chang teaches the back-end RFIC outputs a TX RF signal that is routed to one PA chain, the first FEM 320 or second FEM 322 depends on how the device is configured. Tarighat teaches communication processor controls which transmission paths are used by providing power control information to RFICs, effectively selecting which transmission chains in the FEMs are active ¶[0033]. This combination of Chang architecture with Tarighat’s RFIC control techniques represents flexible antenna/FEM selection for transmission using same RFIC core.
With regarding Claim 14, Chang, Tarighat and Thompson disclose the communication circuitry of claim 12, Chang disclosed wherein the communication processor is configured to: receive, from the first RFIC, at least one of a primary reception signal (PRx) (See FIG. 10 and ¶[0032], [0023], [0027], [0036] Disclosed back-end 370 and FEM 320 implement a structure where one serving path is the main path for control and primary downlink.),or Chang may not explicitly disclose a reception signal having a primary component carrier (PCC) band, which is received through a reception chain of the first FEM.
However, in analogous art, Tarighat a reception signal having a primary component carrier (PCC) band, which is received through a reception chain included in the first FEM (See ¶[0026], [0028], [0073], [0090], [0128]-[0131] Disclosed the architecture for carrier aggregation, detail multi-stream capabilities). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tarighat to modify Chang teachings. Chang teaches data processor/controller 380 that receives the downconverter receives signal from RFIC-based back-end 370 and Tarighat teaches multi-stream capabilities to support carrier aggregation. This combination strengthened by the need for power-efficient RF architectures and may improve resource utilization. With regarding Claim 16, Chang, Tarighat and Thompson disclose the communication circuitry of claim 12, Chang may not explicitly disclose wherein the first RFIC and the second RFIC are implemented as a single chip.
However, in analogous art, Tarighat disclosed wherein the first RFIC and the second RFIC are implemented as a single chip (See ¶[0026], [0030], [0059]-[0060], [0022], [0007], [0035]. Disclosed chip integrations, implementing multiple RFICs on chip) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tarighat to modify Chang teachings. Chang teaches flexible switching architecture and Tarighat teaches chip integrations. This combination improve both technical and economical design considerations. With regarding Claim 17, Chang, Tarighat and Thompson disclose the communication circuitry of claim 12, Chang disclosed wherein at least one transmission chain included in the first FEM, among the plurality of transmission chains included in the first FEM and the second FEM outputs, through a first antenna, a transmission signal received from the first RFIC, (See ¶[0025]-[0026], [0019], [0030]. Disclosed a transmission chain in the first FEM outputs a Tx signal a Tx signal from the first RFIC to the first antenna,) and wherein at least one transmission chain included in the second FEM, among the plurality of transmission chains, outputs, through a first a transmission signal received from the first RFIC through a second antenna (See ¶[0025]-[0026], [0019], [0030] transmission chain in the second FEM outputs a Tx signal from the same first RFIC to the second antenna). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tarighat to modify Chang teachings.Chang teaches dual-FEM, dual- antenna Tx structure and Tarighat teaches first and second RFICs and same- band capabilities[0035]. Both addressed first RFICs TX output is used across the two FEMs and antennas. This combination improves wireless communication systems with multiple antennas and carrier aggregation capabilities. With regarding Claim 18, Chang, Tarighat and Thompson disclose the communication circuitry of claim 12, Chang may not explicitly disclose wherein the first RFIC and the second RFIC are same circuits having a same capability in processing the transmission signal and in processing the reception signal. However, in analogous art, Tarighat disclosed wherein the first RFIC and the second RFIC are same circuits having a same capability in processing the transmission signal and in processing the reception signal (See ¶[0021], [0026], [0073], [0058]. Disclosed the first RFFF 232 and the second RFFF 234 may be implemented as a single chip or at least a part of single package.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tarighat to modify Chang teachings. Chang teaches flexible switching architecture and Tarighat teaches the integration of identical circuitry in a single implementation. This combination ensure more efficient and cost-efficient, and flexible communication. 9. Claim(s) 4, and 7-8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. and Thompson in view of et al. Tarighat in further view of Wloczysiak et al (US 20180351628 A1).
With regarding Claim 4, Chang, Thompson, and Tarighat disclose the communication circuitry of claim 1, Chang, Tarighat and Thompson may not explicitly disclose wherein the second RFIC is configured to receive a diversity reception signal (DRx) or a signal having a secondary component carrier (SCC) band. However, in analogous art, Wloczysiak disclose wherein the second RFIC is configured to receive a diversity reception signal (DRx) or a signal having a secondary component carrier (SCC) band (See FIG. 1-3 and ¶[0017], [0029]-[0036]. Disclosed DRx module/front end handling diversity reception across multiple bands. That corresponding to multiple frequency bands.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wloczysiak to modify Chang teachings. Chang teaches the overall communication circuitry structure as two FEMs 320, 322 each with multiple Tx and Rx chains per band. A multi-band back-end 370 handing Tx/Rx for low/mid/high bands. Switch/LO/downconverter architecture that supports both carrier aggregation and same-band receive diversity. And Tarighat teaches multi-RFIC implementation as one or more primary and multiple secondary RFICs. All operating at the same RF frequency. Primary RFIC does IF to RF conversion, secondary RFICs connect to different sets of RF receiver paths (antenna elements) and forward to the primary, and Wloczysiak teaches a diversity receiver (DRx) configuration configured to support carrier aggregation. The DRx configuration includes a diversity receiver bands. This combination ensure second RFIC be wired to the diversity set or DRx module. With regarding Claim 7 Chang, Tarighat and Thompson disclose the communication circuitry of claim 1, wherein the communication circuitry further comprises a third FEM connected to the second RFIC and comprising a plurality of reception chains, and wherein the second RFIC is configured to receive, through the third FEM, a reception signal having a frequency band consisting of the reception signal (See FIG. 4A and ¶[0052], [0073]-[0077], [0064]-[0065]. Disclosed through the multiple-pole multi-throw switch, a flexible connection between the FEM channel and the RFIC of transceiver can be achieved). Chang, Tarighat and Thompson may not explicitly teach third FEM. However, in analogous art, Wloczysiak disclose third FEM. ((See FIG. 2-3, and ¶[0033]-[0034], [0039], [0043]. Disclosed DRx FEM concept, have diversity reception signal from an antenna, routes it through the plurality of reception chains, and filters/processes the signal to a specific, respective frequency band before providing the processed reception signal to the downstream transceiver/RF module.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wloczysiak to modify Chang teachings. Chang teaches the overall communication circuitry structure as two FEMs 320, 322 each with multiple Tx and Rx chains per band. A multi-band back-end 370 handing Tx/Rx for low/mid/high bands. Switch/LO/downconverter architecture that supports both carrier aggregation and same-band receive diversity. And Tarighat teaches multi-RFIC implementation as one or more primary and multiple secondary RFICs. All operating at the same RF frequency. Primary RFIC does IF to RF conversion, secondary RFICs connect to different sets of RF receiver paths (antenna elements) and forward to the primary. And Wloczysiak teaches a dedicated DRx FEM (third FEM), with multiple RX paths, and receive single band diversity signals that corresponding to a single frequency band.
With regarding Claim 8 Chang, Tarighat , Thompson and Wloczysiak disclose the communication circuitry of claim 7, Chang, Tarighat and Thompson may not explicitly disclose wherein the third FEM is not connected to the first RFIC. However, in analogous art, Wloczysiak disclose wherein the third FEM is not connected to the first RFIC (See FIG. 1-2 and ¶[0029]-[0034], [0087]. Disclosed dedicated DRx FEM 210 that is only on the diversity/second-RFIC side structurally separate from the primary FEM 114.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wloczysiak to modify Chang teachings. Chang teaches the overall communication circuitry structure as two FEMs 320, 322 each with multiple Tx and Rx chains per band. A multi-band back-end 370 handing Tx/Rx for low/mid/high bands. Switch/LO/downconverter architecture that supports both carrier aggregation and same-band receive diversity. And Tarighat teaches multi-RFIC implementation as one or more primary and multiple secondary RFICs. All operating at the same RF frequency. Primary RFIC does IF to RF conversion, secondary RFICs connect to different sets of RF receiver paths (antenna elements) and forward to the primary. And Wloczysiak teaches first RFIC as primary RF front end (RF module 114 and its associated RFIC section). And Second RFIC as diversity/Rx side (D-DF module 116 and Rx portion of transceiver). And a third FEM(DRx FEM 210) is connects only to the diversity RF path/second RFIC side, has no line into the primary FEM 114. This combination teaches that third FEM not connected to the primary FEM. With regarding Claim 15 Chang, Tarighat and Thompson the electronic device of claim 12, wherein the communication processor is configured to (See ¶[0107],[0097]. Disclosed processor controlling RFIC connections, The RFIC channel resource pool through the switching device to enable communication with the first SIM card.): receive, from the second RFIC, a diversity reception signal (DRx) or a reception signal having a secondary component carrier (SCC) band, which is received through a reception chain of the second FEM (See ¶[0060]. The reception chain concept through the sub-FEM channels(second FEM)). Chang may not explicitly disclose receive, from the second RFIC, a diversity reception signal (DRx) or a reception signal having a secondary component carrier (SCC) band, However, in analogous art, Wloczysiak disclose receive, from the second RFIC, a diversity reception signal (DRx) or a reception signal having a secondary component carrier (SCC) band(See ¶[0031]-[0035]. Disclosed Diversity receiver(DRx) configurations, diversity reception and foundation for carrier aggregation signals). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wloczysiak to modify Chang teachings. Chang teaches the overall communication circuitry structure as two FEMs 320, 322 each with multiple Tx and Rx chains per band. A multi-band back-end 370 handing Tx/Rx for low/mid/high bands. Switch/LO/downconverter architecture that supports both carrier aggregation and same-band receive diversity. And Tarighat teaches multi-RFIC implementation as one or more primary and multiple secondary RFICs. All operating at the same RF frequency. Primary RFIC does IF to RF conversion, secondary RFICs connect to different sets of RF receiver paths (antenna elements) and forward to the primary. And Wloczysiak teaches routes diversity reception signals (DRx) through the second FEM to the second RFIC. This combination yields the communication processor that receives diversity reception signals from the second RFIC, where those signals were received through reception chains of the second FEM.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Kim et al. (US-20210296758-A1). Teaching both frequency bands third RF modules 1230c and second module 1230b See FIG. 9-10 ¶[0024], [0290]-[0294], the modules are physically separate and coupled to different antennas (e.g., ANT4 vs ANT5) to achieve 4x4 DL-MIMO, the second RF module (1230b) as a diversity receive module configured strictly to amplify and receive, while the first RF module (1230c) is the sole module configured to receive and transmit. Thus, the second RFIC is inherently devoid of and not connected to any transmission chains. Because the other modules are receive-only, the first RFIC(1230c) inherently connects to all available transmission chains in FEM architecture See¶[0258], [0261]-[0266].
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SHIVAKRISHNA . VALLAMDASU
Examiner
Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468