DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Notes
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 09/23/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue burden on the Examiner to consider all Species in the single application and Examiner did not explain why there would be a serious search and/or examination burden on the examiner if restriction is not required. This is not found persuasive because Species A and Species B are patentably distinct from each other as outlined in the Requirement for Restriction/Election dated on 06/23/2025, a serious search and/or examination burden exists based upon the reasons set forth on page 2-3 (There is a search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply: the species require a different field of search; and/or the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species; and/or the species are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and /or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 2, 5-7, and 15 are canceled. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 09/23/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PARK (Maximum Power Transfer Tracking in a Solar USB Charger for Smartphones).
Regarding claim 1, PARK teaches a photovoltaic construction (see Fig. 1) comprising:
a photovoltaic module comprising a plurality of photovoltaic cells (see the solar panel with a plurality of solar cells) (see Fig. 1); and
outgoing photovoltaic wiring (see the outgoing photovoltaic wiring in Fig. 1 attached below) directly coupled electrically and mechanically to the photovoltaic module (see Fig. 1 attached below);
wherein the outgoing photovoltaic wiring comprises a universal serial bus (USB) cable (see the USB cable) (see Fig. 1 attached below);
wherein the USB cable is configured to harvest power from the photovoltaic module (Since the USB cable receives the power from the solar panel, the USB cable harvest power from the solar panel) (see Fig. 1 attached below).
Regarding claim 3, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
PARK teaches the USB cable is configured to harvest the power through only two of four conductors within the USB cable (Since the USB cable consists of two data wires and two power wires, the power is necessarily collected through the two power wires in order to properly transfer the power) (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
PARK teaches the USB cable feeds the power into one of a capacitor or a battery (The USB cable feeds the power into the battery of the phone) (see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK (Maximum Power Transfer Tracking in a Solar USB Charger for Smartphones) as applied to claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 4, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 3.
PARK teaches the USB cable is configured to harvest between 1-71 watts through each conductor that harvests the power (see >2.5 W in Fig. 1; Given the teachings above, it would have been obvious to have selected power within the disclosed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP § 2144.05, I.).).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK (Maximum Power Transfer Tracking in a Solar USB Charger for Smartphones) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of HE (US 20220195157 A1) and JEFF (Magnet Mount for Solar Panels).
Regarding claim 9, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
Regarding the claimed “a back plate coupled over a first side of the photovoltaic module, a cover coupled over a second side of the photovoltaic module”, HE discloses a PV module, wherein Fig. 1 shows a backsheet (rear encapsulant film) coupled over a first side of the PV module, a top layer (front encapsulant film) coupled over a second side of the PV module (see Fig. 1), and encapsulant films offer insulation and environmental protection for electrical components in a PV module [0002]. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the backsheet on the first side of the solar panel and the top layer on the second side of the solar panel in PARK as taught by HE, because the backsheet and the top layer offer insulation and environmental protection for electrical components in the solar panel.
Regarding the claimed “a plurality of magnets directly coupled to the back plate”, JEFF discloses a solar panel, wherein the pictures shows the plurality of magnets directly coupled to the back plate of the solar panel, and the plurality of magnets are useful for attaching panels on the metal surface such as a roof or a car. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the plurality of magnets directly coupled to the back plate of the solar panel in PARK as taught by JEFF, because the plurality of magnets are useful for attaching the solar panel on the metal surface such as a roof or a car.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GARCIA (Illuminated shelf to charge devices through a solar panel).
Regarding claim 10, GARCIA teaches a light fixture (see Fig. 1), wherein the photovoltaic module (see the solar panel in Fig. 1) is configured to couple within a light fixture (see Fig. 1).
Regarding the claimed limitations required by claim 1 on which claim 10 depends, GARCIA teaches a photovoltaic construction (see the solar panel & LDR & Interrupter & USB charger in Fig. 1) comprising:
a photovoltaic module (see the solar panel in Fig. 1) comprising a plurality of photovoltaic cells (The panel uses UNISOL PV-43, wherein the solar panel delivers maximum power to the 24 V bus, see III. Description and IV. Modules; It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the plurality of solar cells serially interconnected in the solar panel of GARCIA, because the solar panel delivers maximum power to the 24 V bus); and
outgoing photovoltaic wiring (see the LDR & Interrupter & USB charger in Fig. 1) directly coupled electrically and mechanically to the photovoltaic module (see Fig. 1);
wherein the outgoing photovoltaic wiring comprises a universal serial bus (USB) cable (see the USB charger) (see Fig. 1);
Claims 11-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WAN (US 20100294328 A1) in view of PARK (Maximum Power Transfer Tracking in a Solar USB Charger for Smartphones).
Regarding claim 11, WAN teaches a photovoltaic light fixture (see Fig. 1) comprising:
a housing (see the housing 21 & the light shade 11) configured to receive a lightbulb (see the illuminating unit (LED bulbs) 12; [0016] The unit (12) can be selected from a light emitting diode (LED)) (see Fig. 1); and
a photovoltaic construction (see the panel 22 & the power outlet 201) comprising a photovoltaic module (see the panel 22) ([0017] The panel 22 is selected from existing solar panels, such as single-crystal silicon solar panel) comprising a plurality of photovoltaic cells (see the plurality of photovoltaic cells in the panel 22) and outgoing photovoltaic wiring (see the power outlet 201) directly coupled electrically and mechanically to the photovoltaic module (see Fig. 1);
wherein the outgoing photovoltaic wiring comprises a universal serial bus (USB) cable (WAN teaches the power outlet, but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “a universal serial bus (USB) cable”. However, PARK discloses a usb cable for the power outlet, which transfer less than 2.5 W power (see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the usb cable for the outlet , which transfer less than 2.5 W power, in the device of WAN as taught by PARK, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144)).
wherein the photovoltaic module is configured to generate electricity using visible light emitted from the lightbulb ([0017] The panel 22 is selected from existing solar panels, such as single-crystal silicon solar panel; [0021] Light emitted from the illuminating unit (12) is reflected and diffused by the reflecting surface provided inside the lighting module (10) and directed to the surface of the panel (22) of the photovoltaic module (20). The light ray is transformed by the panel (22) into power and transmitted to the power supply unit (30); The panel 22 generates electricity using the light emitted from the illuminating unit 12. Since the single-crystal silicon solar panel primarily absorbs light wavelengths in the range of 300 to 1100 nm, the illuminating unit 12 in the properly working device necessarily emits light with at least some of or whole wavelengths in the range of 300 to 1100 nm, which includes visible light).
wherein the USB cable is configured to harvest power from the photovoltaic module (Since the USB cable receives the power from the panel 22, the USB cable harvest power from the panel 22) (see Fig. 1 and the discussion above).
Regarding claim 12, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 11.
WAN teaches the photovoltaic module generates electricity when exposed to light having a wavelength between 380-750 nanometers (see the rejection of claim 11; Given the teachings above, it would have been obvious to have selected wavelength within the disclosed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP § 2144.05, I.).
Regarding claim 13, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 11.
WAN teaches the photovoltaic construction further comprises a second photovoltaic module (see Fig. 1; Alternatively, left two columns of the panel 22 are correspond to the claimed “a photovoltaic module” and right three columns of the panel 22 are correspond to the claimed “a second photovoltaic module”).
Regarding claim 14, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 11.
Modified WAN teaches the USB cable is configured to harvest the power through only two of four conductors within the USB cable (Since the USB cable consists of two data wires and two power wires, the power is necessarily collected through the two power wires in order to properly transfer the power).
Regarding claim 16, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 11.
Modified WAN teaches the USB cable is configured to harvest between 1-71 watts through each conductor that is configured to harvest the power in the USB cable (see the USB cable which transfer less than 2.5 W power; Given the teachings above, it would have been obvious to have selected power within the disclosed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP § 2144.05, I.)).
Regarding claim 17, WAN teaches a photovoltaic light fixture (see Figs. 1-4) comprising:
a housing (see the housing 21 & the light shade 11) comprising a plurality of sidewalls (see the two side walls of the housing 21 & the two side walls of the light shade 11) and a base (see the base of the housing 21) (see Fig. 1);
one or more bulb connectors (see the bulb connector in Fig. 1 attached below) coupled to the housing and configured to couple to a lightbulb (see the illuminating unit (LED bulbs) 12; [0016] The unit (12) can be selected from a light emitting diode (LED)) (see Figs. 1-4);
electrical wiring coupled to the one or more bulb connectors and configured to carry electrical current to the one or more bulb connectors (see Fig. 1 attached below); and
a photovoltaic construction (see the panel 22 & the power outlet 201) directly coupled to the base (see Fig. 1), the photovoltaic construction comprising a photovoltaic module (see the panel 22) ([0017] The panel 22 is selected from existing solar panels, such as single-crystal silicon solar panel) comprising a plurality of photovoltaic cells (see the plurality of photovoltaic cells in the panel 22) and outgoing photovoltaic wiring (see the power outlet 201) directly coupled electrically and mechanically to the photovoltaic module (see Fig. 1);
wherein the outgoing photovoltaic wiring comprises a universal serial bus (USB) cable (WAN teaches the power outlet, but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “a universal serial bus (USB) cable”. However, PARK discloses a usb cable for the power outlet, which transfer less than 2.5 W power (see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the usb cable for the outlet , which transfer less than 2.5 W power, in the device of WAN as taught by PARK, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144));
wherein the photovoltaic module is configured to generate electricity using visible light emitted from the lightbulb ([0017] The panel 22 is selected from existing solar panels, such as single-crystal silicon solar panel; [0021] Light emitted from the illuminating unit (12) is reflected and diffused by the reflecting surface provided inside the lighting module (10) and directed to the surface of the panel (22) of the photovoltaic module (20). The light ray is transformed by the panel (22) into power and transmitted to the power supply unit (30); The panel 22 generates electricity using the light emitted from the illuminating unit 12. Since the single-crystal silicon solar panel primarily absorbs light wavelengths in the range of 300 to 1100 nm, the illuminating unit 12 in the properly working device necessarily emits light with at least some of or whole wavelengths in the range of 300 to 1100 nm, which includes visible light);
wherein the USB cable is configured to harvest power from the photovoltaic module (Since the USB cable receives the power from the panel 22, the USB cable harvest power from the panel 22) (see Fig. 1 and the discussion above); and
wherein the USB cable is configured to feed the power to one of a battery or a capacitor ([0015] the module (20) transforms the light emission into electricity for being consumed by the electrical devices and recharging the battery (13) simultaneously).
Regarding claim 18, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 17.
WAN teaches the housing is configured to receive four linear light bulbs (see the four linear illuminating unit (LED bulbs) 12 from the left) (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 17.
WAN teaches the lightbulb is an LED lightbulb (see the illuminating unit (LED bulbs) 12).
Regarding claim 20, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 17.
Modified WAN teaches the USB cable is configured to harvest between 1-71 watts through each conductor that is configured to harvest the power in the USB cable (see the USB cable which transfer less than 2.5 W power; Given the teachings above, it would have been obvious to have selected power within the disclosed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP § 2144.05, I.)).
Contact Information
/TAE-SIK KANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728